ROOM 1
ROOM 2
ROOM 3
Promotion code

Best Western Hotel Bretagne Montparnasse, Paris

3.5/5  - basé sur 618 notations.
33 Rue Raymond Losserand, 75014, Paris, France - See map
Best Western Bretagne Montparnasse - Standard Double Bed Room The Best Western Bretagne Montparnasse is ideally located in the center of Paris. Come and experience our hotel near the major tourist attractions. Best price guaranteed and exclusive deals.

The Best Western Bretagne Montparnasse is located on the left bank close to the TGV Atlantic terminal in the heart of the Quartier Montparnasse. Beginning of the century painters lived and worked here. The hotel is located near the city centre, in the Montparnasse area, at the Peripherique Exit Porte Brancion/Porte Vanves/Poste d'Orleans. The Best Western Bretagne Montparnasse, totally renovated to a very high standard offers 45 non-smoking and air-conditioning rooms, 11 of them accommodate either three, four or five people. Special offer for children under 12, please indicate in the comments part of your booking form the number of children traveling with you and their age. We offer special equipment for babies (crib, baby bathtub, warm feeding bottle). Please ask for the equipment at the booking time.

Best Western

Hotel Bretagne Montparnasse

LABEL_ITINERAIRE

LABEL_DEPART:

LABEL_ARRIVEE:

Hotel advantages

  • Air conditioning
    Air conditioning
  • 24-hour front desk
    24-hour front desk
Show More Show Less

Guest reviews

In partnership with tripadvisor fr
based on 618 guest reviews
NOTE ISSUED
Excellent
132
Very Good
268
Average
126
Poor
60
Terrible
32
REFER TO NOTICE
Business Business
143
Couples Couples
173
Family Family
154
Friends getaway Friends getaway
61
Solo travel Solo travel
36
SUMMARY NOTES
Cleanliness
Location
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Value

"A basic hotel - ( only just )"

2
06/11/2018

We stayed here for 3 nights The hotel is small with extremely small bedroom The hallway is a bit smelly of old / unclean The noise from bedrooms near and above was unbelievable We were awakened each morning and the sound of every footstep from above along with the cleaner and doors banging were simply amazing The hotel bedroom was clean and the hotel is located a short walk to Gaîté metro but apart from that it's the least nice hotel we ever used in Paris .

"Nice Place"

4
15/10/2018

Very clean and comfortable. We had a room on the top floor that had a loft for the kids (teen and preteen). Ideal arrangement for a family because they had their own twin beds. Also it is not on a main road so there was no noise from traffic.

"Great Staff, Good Location"

5
26/09/2018

Stayed in this hotel for four nights and found it comfortable and convenient. The staff is very helpful and I was even given a free upgrade. My room was comfortable, spacious and well-maintained even though some of the furniture placement choices made it seem a bit cramped around the bathroom area. The complementary mini bar - water and cold bevvies - was a nice treat. Close to transport though the walk to Gare Montparnasse is a bit long.

"So dreadfully average"

3
13/09/2018

Not much to recommend this place except the front desk people. They were very friendly. Other than that: housekeeping were terrible, taking a long time to leave the room not quite clean, and never replacing the complimentary coffee, water and soft drinks. Thankfully the front desk folks did so happily when we asked. The lights in the hallways don't stay on long enough. I could have easily fallen down the stairs each time they suddenly went out. Don't fall for the ‘have a look, this is the standard room, you can upgrade for 20 euros more per night with mini bar' spiel. The mini bar consists of water and coke. They'll give those to you at the front desk. Free. Even the upgraded room was super small. The lobby was lovely, though, and you can have coffee (from a machine) all day long. The area it is in is very friendly with lots of decent shops and eateries. And it's close to two different train stations. It would have been a better two star hotel if it had been cleaner and offered even a continental breakfast. Or a cookie with your coffee. Yes, I consider this a two star.

"Good location, mostly nice staff, but not a 4* hotel"

3
18/07/2018

The Best Western Bretagne Montparnasse is close to a lot of cafés, restaurants, bistros, but not really in walking distance to the many sights of Paris. Public transportation is at some 200 yards down the street and, of course, there's always the option of using taxis and Uber. The rather affordable rate of the rooms becomes less inexpensive, though, when you calculate the fares in. The rooms are small, which is to be expected when in Paris, clean and a bit outdated. The beds are very comfortable. Most people at reception were very nice, welcoming, and helpful, except for one working the late/night shift. Both reception and lobby are small, but big enough; and breakfast is ok, but a little overpriced. (Scrambled eggs, hard-boiled eggs, small choice of cold cuts and cheese, jam, honey, butter, baguette) - I was quite disappointed that the hotel denied providing gluten-free bread. We were informed we could bring it ourselves. And it is that last bit of let-down as well as the rather outdated status of the house and rooms that makes the experience a satisfactory one. The experience didn't meet the expectations I'd associate with a 4-star Best Western Hotel in Europe.

"Vacation "

1
08/07/2018

Do Not Do Not Stay Here!!!! Never posted before on anything but feel so bad about this hotel I had too. It's one of the worst hotels we ever stayed in. Air conditioner didn't work, bath room small and didn't drain, rude guy at desk, bad area bad bed, dirty, breakfast terrible, Don't stay here, find another hotel.

"So accommodating"

5
30/06/2018

Three of us ended up with nowhere to stay in pris due to another hotel mucking us around. We booked last minute and were greeted with a lovely gentleman that provided us with local information and was very cheerful after our long day. Our room was amazing, very clean, air conditioned and with everything we needed for a comfortable stay. The breakfast window is 6 hours so nicely spread out. They arranged a taxi for us which arrived promptly and nothing was too much trouble. We will be staying there every time we visit paris.

BW-Bretagne, Reception at Best Western Bretagne Montparnasse, responded to this review
Dear Mellie, All the staff thanks you for your comments! We hope to see you again for your next stay in Paris. Have a nice day! Reception team

"Basic Hotel that doesn't warrant its price"

3
12/06/2018

The hotel was clean with friendly staff in a very good part of Paris, with lots happening. However, the bathroom was on the small side, there was no breakfast option and the room I was given was on the first floor facing a very busy street. Needless to say that I didn't sleep well.

BW-Bretagne, Responsable réception at Best Western Bretagne Montparnasse, responded to this review
Dear guest, We thank you for having left your comments and apologize not to have been able to satisfy all your expectation. We are surprised by your remark concerning the breakfast as we propose every morning from 5.30am to 11.30am a buffet breakfast with a lot of products. You could appreciate it during a next stay in our hotel! We wish you a pleasant day. Best regards Catherine M.

"BAB, BAD, BAD, do not stay here"

1
28/05/2018

This hotel is disgusting. From start to finish our experience was awful. I was traveling Europe with my three adult daughters. I know Best Western is not the fanciest hotel to stay at but surely this Bretagne Montparnasse is below standards even for a budget hotel. First and foremost, it appears ancient and it is filthy. Everywhere you look there's dead bugs, flies and ants. We were so worried about bed bugs too. It looks more like a brothel than a hotel. The area it is located in is seedy too. I did not feel safe at all. The check-in area is super congested and small, the furniture is filthy and the staff is unfriendly and rude. On the morning we were checking out, they started knocking on our door nearly an hour before check-out time. At one point, the maid unlocked our room door and started shouting at me in French. As I stood there in my underwear totally shocked, she kept yelling at me and would not close the door and leave. It was an awful experience and surely there are better places to stay. Stay away from this hotel please.

BW-Bretagne, Responsable réception at Best Western Bretagne Montparnasse, responded to this review
Dear Susan, We first of all apologize not to have been able to satisfy your expectation. Would you be able to send me more details by email to [email protected] (room number, date of stay…) so that I can investigate. I look forward to hearing from you. Best regards Catherine

"Our Personal Items went missing"

1
12/03/2018

We were on Euro Trip & Figured out post our Return back Home that our Handy cam with few Gift items were last seen in Paris Hotel Room,will b our Last Visit 2 such Shady Place.they claim its our fault

BW-Bretagne, Responsable réception at Best Western Bretagne Montparnasse, responded to this review
Dear Sir, Once again we are sorry about the lost of your Handy cam and Gift items. As indicated in our emails last Monday, we have not understood why you have us call up 1 week after your departure on this matter. You told us that you spent 4 days in Roma after your stay in Paris, before returning to your country, and that you did not check your bags untill then. We are really sorry but we found nothing in your room in which case we would have contacted you to return you the Handy cam and Gifts items. Do not hesitate to contact us if you need any further information. Best regards C.

"Not worthy of Best Western name"

2
07/02/2018

Tiny hotel near Montoarnasse station. It's best asset is it's staff. Reception very helpful and friendly.. Room tiny and basic. Tv only had French channels. Worst mix of drinks in room I have seen. The hot water bent the plastic spoon in a second. Bed comfy enough. Minuscule bathroom. Breakfast was appalling. Coffee in flasks laid out since 0530. Tasted like instant and probably was. Hot items were scrambled egg and bacon. Looked congealed. Awful

"Deceptively awesome hotel beats the 5 stars in tonier districts."

4
16/01/2018

To be honest, on check-in, I didn't really want to like this hotel. I didn't really understand the neighborhood or area of Paris where the hotel was located and the lobby is hardly a dazzler. But for the nightly rate for a family of five, we were happy to be here. After six days, I was grateful that we made the choice. The neighborhood is great and festive. The Pernety Metro stop on line 13 is an easy two block walk and never crowded with easy transfer access to most lines in Paris. This was a concern ahead of time that was immediately allayed. The rooms were fine. The hotel needs some freshening and the management seems to be working on it. We didn't do breakfast but the staff was super helpful and there were fresh apples and coffee available 24/7 in the lobby. I'd stay here again in a heartbeat and highly recommend it over some of the pricier alternatives where I've stayed (cough, cough Westin Vendome).

"Amazing location. Great front desk staff."

4
08/01/2018

Do not be put off by reviews on the size of the rooms here. Yes they are small. But you are in Paris. Rooms are well equipped with what is needed to be comfortable. We walked to the Eiffel Tower the first night and were not the least bit worried. Totally safe. Also walked to the Louvre from here. Both locations 45 - 60 mins based on your pace. Staff at front desk are amazing. Always happy to help. They were a joy to talk to every time.

"Best western"

4
12/10/2017

Small hotel, in a quiet area close to the Metro. Away from the noise of central paris. The rooms were nice sized and we got upgraded to a king size bed since my hubby is a super diamond member. The elevator was fast but tiny. Only 4 people or 1 person with luggage. The staff was very helpful. Told us the mall/underground way into tbe Louvre. Skipped all the lines. Breakfast of eggs, bacon, ham, pastries, etc was generous. Very tidy hotel and well managed. Really enjoyed it.

"Very small hotel, minimal service."

3
11/09/2017

I stayed at this hotel for one night and assessed the followings: Pros: Located in a small but very quiet street. Even though my room was on the first floor, I did not hear any street noise. Affordable price. Cons: Cold reception at check in, even though the next day clerk was friendlier and more helpful. Very old and stuffy room, can hear others taking showers and flushing toilets. Overall, it was a forgettable experience and I do not look forward to a return visit.

"Tiny rooms, ok location"

3
02/09/2017

The rooms were absolutely tiny! I mean they pretty much only fit the bed, and the desk nearly right next to it. A small bathroom and that is it. However, I will say, the bed was super comfortable. The location is nice - it is right close by Jardin de Luxembourg which is my favorite place in Paris!! It's walking distance from almost everything - we walked everywhere and we didn't mind it!

"Great family hotel"

5
17/08/2017

We found this hotel was perfect for our needs. We had a king bed (very comfortable, and rare for Paris) and two bunk beds , for our teenage children. We found the room spacious and a great value for our money. Check in was painless, and staff were very friendly and helpful. We loved the complimentary mini bar fridge in our room, which was stocked daily with water, soft drinks, and a nice cold beer. Also the free coffee(espresso) tea and hot chocolate in the lobby was excellent. We did not eat breakfast downstairs, since the area has great patisseries close by, which added to our Paris adventure. We were 3km from almost all the attractions, and we walked to the Eiffel Tower for sunsets, and felt perfectly safe walking back to the hotel at night. The hotel is close to the Pernety metro 13 line, which gets you close to the Louvre, and most attractions. We will definitely stay here again, when we plan our next trip to Paris.

"Absolutely loved the customer service and very nice for families to have memories in"

5
16/08/2017

Hotel was very nice for families to enjoy! Absolutely 100% great customer service they were a big help. Breakfast was wonderful as well except not included with hotel. Greatest way to get to the city fast and cheaply would be using the bus station or uber the uber really helped us out and was much cheaper that taxis. Our stay was wonderful there and hope some of these tips help out on your stay!!!!!

"Great family room in convenient location "

5
03/08/2017

We stayed here 4 nights as a family of 4 and loved it! The room was large, well laid out and had bunk beds for the kids. We loved the hot chocolate and coffee machine in the lobby. We're travelling for an extended period of time so the close proximity of the laundromat was also helpful. There was a metro stop very close and many grocery stores, restaurants and bakeries nearby. Would suggest this hotel and especially the family rooms to anyone travelling with children.

"Clean rooms and very small. Quaint."

3
07/07/2017

The rooms were clean, There is a lift but very small. The concierge at the lobby desk were very, very nice. Every day the maids left us one less towel. They also took the toilet paper and left only a few sheets on one. We had to go to the lobby to ask for more. The towels that were left one day were damp. I hope they were clean and just weren't in the dryer long enough. No free breakfast but free coffee and apples and sometimes croissants in the lobby.

"Terrible service, small rooms and poor breakfast"

2
04/07/2017

The rooms are small, very small, and old. You clearly hear the neighbors above taking a shower, speaking or flushing the toilet. Towels are taken from the floor by the cleaning lady and put back together with the fresh ones, instead of being replaced. The thermos coffee, croissant and two types of muesli for breakfast is not worth the hassle of paying, rather go to the local bakery next doors. Speaking of paying is a disaster. I had to pay my room upon arrival (that's fine) but they couldn't give me a hotel receipt for the stay when paying. Receipts could only be given on the day of checkout, even if everything was already paid! I even tried the night before (as is common for ALL hotels to clear your bill the night before to have a quicker checkout) to get a receipt, but except of being rude it was all but impossible for the reception lady to issue a receipt. Luckily I speak some French, as the level of English was also non-existent. If you are unlucky to stay here, be aware that the hotel only has ONE iron and only a table iron board (a normal ironing board wouldn't fit in the room!). The reception couldn't bring me the iron, I had to come and pick it up myself. Being a Diamond Select member gave me absolutely no extra treatment, not even the slightest recognition. All in all, the hotel is old, rooms are small, breakfast is barely mediocre and I personally received very poor client service. The second star is only because it's a ten minute walk to Montparnasse, but there are far better hotels in the area.

"Beautiful family room - perfect location! "

5
26/06/2017

Absolutely loved this hotel! Laundromat across the road, local cakes two doors down, a free hot chocolate machine in the hotel foyer as well as water and fruit! After we were overcharged by a taxi driver on our arrival, the hotel reception ensured it didn't happen again when we departed! Would recommend this hotel to everyone and would only ever stay here when returning to Paris - thank you for a wonderful stay!!!

"Old hotel,but client oriented"

4
10/06/2017

Hotel is really old, but reception desk was really oriented to clients - recommended coffee on the basic floor,cause of quality, proposed and gave new towels and toilet paper in the evening, when room service was finished.

"Short and pleasant stay "

5
17/05/2017

We stayed two nights and we loved our stay we had the family mezzanine room . Friendly staff very helpful . The area is full of restaurants and just about everything you need . You can catch the metro right up the road . They also have a coffee and cappuccino machine in the lobby . Will definitely go back to this place .

"Adequate at Best"

3
15/05/2017

Having stayed in Best Western hotels before I was positive I would have a lovely experience. Although I wasn't wrong, the hotel was perfectly adequate and was okay for what I needed, I was slightly disappointed upon arrival. One big thing to note is do not expect what you see in the professional pictures. The rooms are much smaller than you expect and the bathrooms are even smaller. Yes, there was enough room (just) for two if you lived out of your suitcase and everything had it's own place. The wardrobe was tiny with enough room to hang 5 - 6 items of clothing. I suggest you pack light if you plan to stay here. The bed was extremely comfy - like sleeping on a cloud. Add the blackout curtains and you're sleeping for a whole 8 hours! Our room was on the third floor overlooking the street and we experienced very little noise and disruption. The bathroom is small but adequate. The shower was fine with good temperature control. If you're tall be wary that you may bang your hands a few times while washing your hair. Ladies - pack a hairdryer! There is a hairdryer in the bathroom but it's very weak and it will take some time to fry your hair using it. I made this mistake. The hotel is located perfectly. On the same street there is a supermarket, pharmacies, patisseries and other shops. We wandered down to the patisserie each morning for a fresh €1 croissant and baguette. There are also several restaurants located near the hotel. I recommend the Chinese/Japanese restaurant. Their sushi is fantastic and the meals are good value for money. A big bowl of vermicelli with your choice of meat will cost you €8.50. The nearest metro is Pernety and is a 3 minute walk from the hotel. We found it cheaper to buy a "carnet" of 10 tickets for €14.50. Each ticket is valid for 1 journey, however the 1 ticket will cover you should you need to change lines within the metro system. We were using 2-4 tickets each per day so a carnet of 10 tickets would last 2 days. These tickets will allow you to travel by metro, bus or RER within zones 1 & 2. To get from the airport you will need to buy a one off train ticket to get you into Paris this is €10 or the Bus Direct is €17. I enjoyed my stay in Paris very much. I was pleased with the hotel's locality and the amenities near it. I just wished the room was a little more modern and bigger.

"May have been 4 star in the 80s but certainly not now."

2
15/05/2017

We spent 3 nights at this hotel and is was not at all what I was expecting for an apparently 4 star hotel. Having stayed at a few best westerns this is a real let down to the brand. The hotel is very dated the bathroom has a bath not a shower the room is very small witch is normal for a low cost hotel I expected this one to be a little bigger because we had paid up on it! If you're looking for a hotel that's in a good location has all the amenities close by and is only 3 minute walk from a metro station but is very dated and you don't mind paying up then this is your hotel.

"Business "

2
26/04/2017

Room 39 bears no resemblance to the photos on the website the bathroom is old fashioned and not nice with a shower curtain that is yellow at the bottom. Pillow smelt sweaty. Don't let them book you a taxi take uber their firm charged me 17.50 euro was 15 minutes late and threw a tantrum when I asked for a receipt... for the same trip uber was 7.25 .staff polite and helpful in the hotel. No nice views not a super area

"Unusual"

4
12/04/2017

Stayed two nights in the hotel, great location, very close to the subway station, there is boulangeries, supermarkets and nice restaurants nearby! Had a little awkward situation in our check-in, when we went inside the room there was a luggage inside from the previous guest. Also found some old pizza in the fridge, and a pizza box outside the window. The room, besides that was clean. The room we got was tiny, but everything very cosy. Nice bathroom. The breakfast had the most amazing croissant i ever had, and everything else was super tasty and delicious. I don't speak french, and the staff that didn't speak english so well, were always very kind to try to understand! Above all, would stay again and recommend!

"Convenient and Cute..but in need of a little attention!"

3
24/03/2017

The hotel is located in a very quiet and convenient neighborhood. The streets were filled with bakeries, supermarkets, small cafes, pubs, and restaurants of all varieties. The Metro was within steps of the hotel. So, for late nights in the center of Paris it was convenient to come out of the Metro within steps of your hotel. Very friendly staff, but a few did not speak English or English well which made for a little bit of a mix up at times. Other than that, the staff was friendly. The hotel was clean and bright especially in the lobby area. There were very few perks, such as coffee or water that was not openly free. It was off to the side along with the things that you had to pay for, so I did not know it was free (still don't). Everything seemed to have a price, I stayed at another hotel within Paris (vicinity) that had quite a few perks and was less money. I never used the restaurant, but smelled the food as I had to go downstairs. The food smelled good, but who pays for breakfast in the hotel when you can eat at one of the many cafes and choices right down the street. The breakfast should have been free. The room we stayed in was the "Family Room". The room consisted of a King size bed and bunk beds. I really liked the set up of the room which allowed for privacy of both parents and kids. I did not, however, like the darkness of the room. The decor should be changed to a lighter color to make up for the lack of view to brighten the room, also would help it look bigger. I felt sleepy and lazy all the time in there because of the lack of light. The decor was a dated and the rug a little run down, but it was very clean. It seems as though the bathroom was updated but the rest was not. The TV took an Engineering Degree to figure out, but once on it was the search for channels that spoke English that was the kicker. I was not a fan of the placing of our room near the staircase. Small step to the side before opening the door and you are falling down 4 flights of stairs. It was right next to a stair case that had no protective gate or something on the opening for small kids. SOOO watch the baby or the toddler when going and coming out of the room...All in all it was a comfortable room for a few nights, but I would not have stayed long term.

"Family of 7"

4
24/02/2017

This hotel was pretty good , it had a 2nd floor in our room! Beds were comfortable & it also included a wet bar fridge , all for free! Nice & dark curtains, so it stayed dark while we slept. Checkin was easy, but there was no parking at all. The area is so packed & crowded, it was a bit odd how the hotel blends in to the shops. We got 1/2 price breakfast for being a platinum member, bonus. Unfortunately, it wasn't the greatest , very minimal items, lucky we only paid half price. Better for guests who don't have a vehicle. There website needs to state, no parking as well.The lift ( elevator) can only carry 2 people at a time when luggage, very tiny.

"Family Holiday To Paris"

5
21/02/2017

We chose the hotel because it was located near to a Metro station but still on a walkable route to the centre. We had the Mezzanine room for the 4 of us. It was perfect. It gave the kids their own space whilst still being in the same room. It was reasonably priced, the breakfast is quite expensive, but we filled up on the first day, this allowed us to explore the area and plan our breakfasts for the next 2 days. The patisseries/boulangeries on Rue Losserand serve the most delicious pastries and cakes. We would stay there again tomorrow. I would also recommend a visit to the Tour de Montparnasse, the view was incredible, we were able to ice skate at the top of the building, a moment none of us will forget.

BW-Bretagne, Responsable réception at Best Western Bretagne Montparnasse, responded to this review
Dear Madam and Sir, We thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay at our property. Your business is very important to us and we value your comments. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come back and see us again soon. We wish you a very pleasant day. Sincerely, Catherine Mangiapanelli Front office manager Best Western Bretagne Montparnasse

"Noting worked"

2
13/01/2017

We arrived around 20:00, got a very small room on the 5 th floor. Aircondition/heating didn't work and was not able to be adjusted. So the room was extremely warm all night through. Toilet did not flush and the bed was so short I was lying with my feet on the outside. And I'm not that tall just 187 cm. Breakfast was ok, but no refill of scrambled egg and bacon. The boiled egg was so over boiled that is was green inside. We notified about the toilet and the heat just after our arrival but nothing was done. I would not recommend this to anyone.

BW-Bretagne, Responsable réception at BEST WESTERN Bretagne Montparnasse, responded to this review
Dear Madam and Sir, We first of all thank you for having published your comments. On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we offer a better experience for guests in the future. I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience. Do not hesitate to contact us directly by email if you need any information. Sincerely, Catherine

"Average"

3
11/11/2016

Stayed in the hotel 3 nights due to my business trip. Location is quite OK - many small restaurants around as everywhere, staff nice (during breakfast, at the reception), rooms very small (but it's not anything atypical in Paris), breakfast fine - you find what you need.

"Quaint and quiet neighborhood, friendly staff, safe location"

5
23/10/2016

Location: Near the metro station, the train station (with a few blocks of walking), and the bus from the airport also drops you off at that train station which makes getting to and from the airport easy A number of very good local restaurants nearby. Staff: Friendly and helpful. I really wanted to go see the "modern version" of Don Giovanni at the opera house. The website said the performance for the night was sold out, when the concierge called her people and they told her the tickets were sold out, but I told her how much I wanted to see that particular opera and asked her to call the opera house for me to confirm, she called and learned that there was a glitch on the website and there were still a handful of seats available. The performance was magically wonderful, and I couldn't thank Benedictine more for her hospitality, kindness, and helpfulness, Room: Functional, it is a bit small but it is Paris all the hotel rooms are small! The bathroom is bigger, and the beds are very comfortable. Overall, I would return to this hotel when I visit Paris next time.

"First Night in France"

4
18/10/2016

A last minute change to a business trip had me arriving in Paris on a Sunday evening. After a taxi ride from CDG airport, a little traffic, and a few turns down the narrow streets we arrived at the hotel. My first introduction to the 'classic' French culture was having to wait at the check-in desk while a hotel patron argued with the host about something on his bill for about 10 minutes (not speaking French but catching a few words here-and-there, it sounded like a debate over beds in the room)--it was not too loud, a little animated, and mostly just entertaining as I watch the back-and-forth exchange. The host handled the debate well and the other patron at least seemed satisfied in the end (no hard feelings?). After I had my chance to check-in, I was given a 'large room' on the first floor, found by passing through a door marked with a stairs placard at the back of the small social lobby. Our host was polite and spoke English well, checking two of us in on a Sunday evening with reasonable efficiency. The room was definitely a classic, quaint, European-style accommodation. It had a large queen-size bed plus two doubles in a bunk-bed arrangement. There was a WC separate from a very modern and good-sized shower / wash room. The space included a small working desk combined with a clothes cabinet and was paired with a strong wifi connection for getting work done. European outlets at the desk and by the bed were convenient for both computer and mobile charging. Chocolates on the bed were and always will be a nice touch. The hotel is within walking distance of Gare Montparnasse (the train station), which was the reason for choosing this place for our one-night stay. We walked to dinner that evening, heading up Rue Raymond Losserand, Avenue du Maine, and Rue de la Gaite before settling on --Cafe de la Place-- for a nice, light dinner with wine. Overall a convenient stay with a nice room at a good price. Definitely a good place to rest-up for the night and I am sure a family with a couple of kids would love this room.

"Good enough but look elsewhere "

2
06/09/2016

Pleasant check in, pleasant check out. The location is quite good, with laundry right across the street and plenty of places to eat nearby. The desk attendant in the later hours was cold and seemed put out when we asked for ice for a foot injury. Room was clean but smelled of cigarette smoke, despite it being a non-smoking hotel. On the first night, cigarette smoke blew through our air conditioning vent all night stinking up our room and clothes. Thankfully, the woman Sarah at the front desk helped to address this issue with kindness and the second night was smoke-free (though the smell lingered for our whole stay). Shower is small and cramped with a strange glass door that did little to keep the water contained. Too small for a 6 foot man to shower comfortably. Overall, it was just average and I would probably look elsewhere for our next visit to Montparnasse. The smoke issue was a real let down.

"Fantastic"

5
25/08/2016

We travelled by Eurostar and caught the metro to the hotel. I suggest you get a pass for however many days you are staying as this works out very cost effective. We arrived at the hotel to a warm welcome, went to the beautifully air conditioned room. It was perfect for a family of 4. Everything in the fridge was free and allowed us to top up with treats from the local supermarket a few doors down. There are great patisseries a few doors in either direction. Metro 14 is a lovely restaurant opposite the Pernity metro station less than 5 minutes from the hotel. Would highly recommend this area and hotel which is 15 mins from the Eiffel Tower. They also kindly kept our bags from checking out at 11am until after 6pm so we could really enjoy our last day before travelling home.

"Stop over in Paris for sightseeing."

5
13/08/2016

Awesome experience. After taking the bus from the Main train station we travelled for 20 mins and walked for 10 mins to the hotel. Directions given by hotel was accurate. The room was very comfortable, the service was great. The elevator was not working when we arrived. The hotel is within walking distance from the Train station , the hop on hop off tour buses and local buses in the area, which can take you to all sites

"Very cozy"

4
02/07/2016

Nice service, small cozy rooms, very Parisian! Had a nice experience with staff, very helpful and willing to communicate. We're very nice to me!:) Rooms are tiny, but it's not a bad thing. You can feel Parisian spirit. Very nice neighborhood around. Safe to walk after 10pm. Had a small issue with my personal belongings been thrown away by cleaning lady but I also admit my own fault since its was probably left by me in the floor.

"Perfect"

4
11/06/2016

Best value for money. Great location, small but good enough rooms, friendly staff, free coffee at the lobby and mineral water in the room. Everything functions smoothly. Best value for money. Metro station is nearby so you can commute easily everywhere. Restaurants and bars on the street so it's perfect

"Pleasantly surprised"

5
01/06/2016

We spent a few weeks in France and kept seeing Best Westerns everywhere. We found ourselves staying a few nights at the end of our trip. Clean, comfortable rooms. Super friendly staff (Anthony was great), free coffee and fruit in the lobby. Amenities in the room such as a retractable clothesline and teas, hot cocoa. Within walking distance of the Montparnasse station, cemetery and catacombs. Good, local neighborhood with a market and boulangeries nearby. Would stay there again and wished I'd stayed earlier!

"Hit and Miss with Staffing"

3
24/05/2016

Depends who you get to assist you, the hotel is good overall with little non functioning items in the room. (Washroom door does not lock, the air conditioning is very weak (not very cold) & upper bunk bed light is not working). There is a staff member is who you would have to be VERY CAREFUL with... he tried a few times to rip us off; buying a wall converter from him, making us book a taxi with him for a higher price than the stated fixed amount, and not taking ownership for any problem in the hotel. No names but I am sure the hotel will know who I am talking about and if you see him, you will know. Washroom is fairly small, however fairly clean in general.

"small, and ok for one night"

3
10/05/2016

As usual Paris hotel rooms are small. This one was no diff. Located in a narrow street, close to the Pernety Metro, this hotel is OK for a short biz stay, but not comfortable for long stays. Like a regular Best Western, it had the basic amenities, but nothing much else. having a higher floor room did help though. I was here only for 1 night and I paid EU85.

"Average hotel"

3
28/03/2016

I gave three stars because of the location, the free coffee in the reception room, and also because of the service provided by Anthony. Apart from that , this hotel deserves one star. All other staff was indifferent towards me and my family and unhelpful. A lady that I couldn't identify was very rude when I asked why the room was so hot. It was spring but she said the temperature was set according to the winter rules and there was nothing they could do about it. I asked then to leave the windows opened , but of course, they didnt. When I got back the room was boiling. Had to leave the windows open to sleep, which was a bit annoying because of the noise on the street. No way this was the hotel of the year on 2015.

"Average Hotel"

3
28/03/2016

The hotel was good overall. Great location, very confortable bed. Not so clean, a few hairs on the bathroom floor when we arrived. One of the ladies at the reception in the morning was very rude. There were always two ladies and we tried to ask one of them a few questions but the other intervened twice being very very very rude even though we were not speaking to her directly. On the other hand there was a very nice guy in the evening named Anthony. He was very attentive and pleasant, smiling at all times, helping us with everything we needed and also he was very polite. He was the only one of the staff who deserves being mentioned here, all the others were indiferent and not so happy to be working there and having to help the guests. The hotel is a good place to stay when you don't want to spend too much and just want a good shower and a good night of sleep. The location was amazing for us and the price was fair. I'd recommend this hotel.

"Ideal base for sightseeing. Mezzanine room ideal for family"

4
12/02/2016

We wanted a hotel with a family room but not with two double beds or sofa beds. We went for the mezzanine room. It's ideal with a comfy double bed downstairs and a double and single bed upstairs. Very small, compact bathroom but nicely kitted out. The only thing wrong is the lock is on the outside of the door. My son found it very amusing being able to lock me in the bathroom! Tea and coffee supplies in the room were a bit limited. There is a fridge, flatscreen TV downstairs. No TV upstairs. Lift access to rooms. Just as well as we were on 5th floor. Would return again due to mezzanine room option.

"Good value"

4
15/01/2016

We booked the king room which has a fold out single included. Very handy, and those rooms are very quiet. Plenty to eat and drink right out the door. Staff very kind and accommodating. The lift gave out for our stay, however.

"Perfect location delightful staff. "

4
29/12/2015

If you would like to experience a very "local" trip to Paris I recommend this brilliant hotel. The street is gorgeous with boulangeries, creperies, butchers and fruit shops on all corners. The location was perfect if you are happy to walk or take the train anywhere you like. The staff were incredibly polite and helpful (especially as they were working over Christmas when we stayed). There is complimentary fruit and coffee daily. We loved our stay here and would definitely stay again! Pictures taken from the from of the hotel and from the montparnass tower.

BW-Bretagne, Responsable réception at BEST WESTERN Bretagne Montparnasse, responded to this review
Dear Madam ans Sir, All the staff thank you for your comments and wish you a happy New Year! We hope to welcome you again during your nest visit in Paris. Best regards Catherine

"Base camp"

4
04/10/2015

This was booked on the spur of the moment and we were not disappointed. The hotel was clean and the staff welcoming and very helpful. We did not eat here as there are a number of restaurants in the area but there was free coffee and tea and apples in a small seating area? The breakfast smelt lovely, all in all a very good stay

BW-Bretagne, Responsable réception at BEST WESTERN Bretagne Montparnasse, responded to this review
All the staff of the BEST WESTERN Bretagne Montparnasse thanks you for your comments. We wish you a very pleasant da. Best regards Catherine M.

"Another Great Stay"

4
03/10/2015

We returned to this hotel in Paris because the last time we stayed it was ideal for what we wanted in addition to the friendly service. We were not disappointed as, again, the rooms were clean, the staff didn't hesitate to help whenever needed, and the location was ideal for good restaurants and the metro if you want to travel around.

BW-Bretagne, Responsable réception at BEST WESTERN Bretagne Montparnasse, responded to this review
Thank you again for your comments! Do not hesitate to contact us directly if you want to book another stay in Paris. Have a nice stay! Catherine M.

"Exeptional Service"

4
02/10/2015

I stayed here with family for 4 nights. The purpose of the trip was mainly sightseeing. The hotel is very clean to start with (which is an important criteria for me and my family). The service is outstanding and everything is delivered to you with a smile which is highly appreciable. The location is in Montparnasse and the hotel is very near to the Montparnasse tower. The room was kind of small, however, it is the case with most hotels in Europe in general and Paris to be specific. The location is not near to most touristic attractions, where most of such attractions required a kind of lengthy commute by metro. The breakfast was good but certainly not worth the 13EUR fee (I am on a student budget :]). I loved the fact that the guests could take apples from the lobby anytime for free, not to mention that the free coffee machine in the lobby is a nice touch as well, also the free wifi all over the hotel is great (you get up to 6 devices; which you can link to the wifi network). I would recommend people to stay in this hotel if they have work in the area, or if they do not mind staying a bit far from the attractions. Personally, I would only stay in this hotel again if I have work in the area, however, the excellent service attracted me to check out other hotels of the chain.

BW-Bretagne, Responsable réception at BEST WESTERN Bretagne Montparnasse, responded to this review
Dear Sir, We really thank you for your comments concerning your last stay in our hotel. Do not hesitate to contact us directly to make you next reservation in the future. We wish you a very pleasant day. Best regards Catherine M.

"Amazingly comfortable"

5
18/09/2015

Amazingly comfortable hotel, metro is 4 minutes away by walking. Also there's a supermarket, a boulangerie and a crêperie, all within the radius of 2-min-walking. Upscale, quiet area in Paris. Receptionists are friendly especially the Tunisian girl. It is air-conditioned and that was THE most important facility in the summer which lacked in other hotels. Room is clean. VALUE FOR MONEY.. I would definitely recommend it.

BW-Bretagne, Responsable réception at BEST WESTERN Bretagne Montparnasse, responded to this review
All the staff of the BEST WESTERN Bretagne Montparnasse thanks you for all your comments! We wish you a very pleasant day. Best regards Catherine

"Great service"

4
02/09/2015

Convenient location , marche close by for food , wine. Close to metro for subway to anywhere you need to be. I would return. Coffee down stairs in lobby was a great place to sit and eat breakfast baking from local Boulanger . Fruit provided. Welcome beer and drinks in mini bar. Parking two blocks away underground at a cost.

BW-Bretagne, Responsable réception at BEST WESTERN Bretagne Montparnasse, responded to this review
All the staff thanks you for your comments. Do not hesitate to contact us for your next visit! We wish you a nice day. Best regards Catherine M.

"Great Stay"

4
25/08/2015

Wonderful staff. The management was very helpful with metro directions. Small but very clean modern room. The hotel is very close to 2 metro stations Not a tourist neighborhood, which we enjoyed. Felt very safe.

BW-Bretagne, Reception at BEST WESTERN Bretagne Montparnasse, responded to this review
Nous vous remercions pour vos commentaires et vous souhaitons une excellente bonne journée. A très bientôt... Tout le personnel du BEST WESTERN Bretagne Montparnasse

"Service makes the difference "

5
13/08/2015

Great hotel, clean and comfortable. But the service makes the difference. I stayed there for 3 days with friends and left early on a Sunday morning. Alas stupidly I left my laptop behind. Nightmare scenario but thanks to the great staff at hotel it was couriered back to me at a very reasonable price and I had it within 3 days. Can't thank them enough. Superb!!

BW-Bretagne, Responsable réception at BEST WESTERN Bretagne Montparnasse, responded to this review
Dear Sir, All our staff really thanks you for your comments. It is a pleasure to do a service and we are very happy to have been able to answer all your expectations. We do hope to see you again during a next stay in Paris and we wish you a very pleasant day. Best regards Catherine

"Great family room!"

4
10/08/2015

Hotel is tucked away in 14th district, a quieter part of the city. Loved the 'local' feel, great dining and proximity to metro stations. Front desk team, very helpful and courteous. We will definitely be back!

BW-Bretagne, Responsable réception at BEST WESTERN Bretagne Montparnasse, responded to this review
Thank you very much for your comments! Do not hesitate to contact us directly for your next stay in Paris. We wish you a pleasant day. Best regards Catherine M.

"Nice accommodation for families, and free drinks!"

4
09/08/2015

Although this hotel is not in a touristy area of Paris, it is clean, modern (some painting going on at the moment), comfortable, friendly, and affordable. I booked this hotel for 1. location - within walking distance of Montparnasse where our train was coming into Paris, 2. Availability of family rooms, hard to find in Paris. We had a king bed and our teenage daughters had bunk beds! 3. In general I trust the Best Western brand internationally and their rates are good. In addition to the above reasons, I was pleasantly surprised by the wifi, fast, reliable, and you only had to sign on once and then your device would automatically pick it up each time you returned, I'm growing to appreciate this feature! I also appreciated that the drinks in the fridge were complimentary! I have never seen this before! The sodas, tea and bottles of water came in handy everyday. Also the apples in the lobby were a great snack. We did not take breakfast in the hotel so I can't comment on that, but the coffee/espresso machine in the lobby was amazing and free all day. There is a "lavarie" self serve laundry right across the street which was also very handy- as we have been traveling in France for a while. And actually, Pernety is the closest metro station if that helps.

BW-Bretagne, Responsable réception at BEST WESTERN Bretagne Montparnasse, responded to this review
All the staff of the BEST WESTERN Bretagne Montparnasse thanks you for your comments. We whish you a very pleasant day and hope to see you again during your next trip to Paris. Kind regards Catherine M.

"First trip to Paris"

4
02/08/2015

Hotel on quite small street near metro and many good bistros and market. Staff was friendly, professional and helpful. The room was clean, somewhat spartan, but commensurate with price. The biggest plus for us was proximity to Montparnasse Station.

BW-Bretagne, Responsable réception at BEST WESTERN Bretagne Montparnasse, responded to this review
All the staff thanks you for your comments! We wish you a pleasant day. Best regards Catherine M.

"Loved Paris"

5
10/04/2015

This hotel was very nice and clean with very helpful staff that spoke perfect English. King bed with bunk bed room. Comfortable for family of 4. Has an elevator. Although small with just enough room for 4 of us but is better than walking the stairs. Location was out of the touristy area's. We felt safe and more like a local Parisian. Short walk to many modes of transport so was very easy to get to anywhere in and out of Paris. They made it a very enjoyable and easy trip for us first time Paris travelers.

BW-Bretagne, Responsable réception at BEST WESTERN Bretagne Montparnasse, responded to this review
All the staff of the BEST WESTERN Bretagne Montparnasse thank you for your comments. We wish you a pleasant day and hope to welcome you for your next stay in Paris. Best regards Catherine

"A very good hotel"

4
19/05/2014

Really good hotel. Small rooms, but this is Paris. The rooms are very clean. Mini bar in the room was for free. Two types of breakfast, fast and normal. Good service. Near the metro. good price for a 4 stars hotel in Paris.

BW-Bretagne, Responsable réception at BEST WESTERN Bretagne Montparnasse, responded to this review
Thank you for all your comments. Have a nice day. Catherine