ROOM 1
ROOM 2
ROOM 3
Promotion code

Best Western Hotel Le Montparnasse, Paris

3.5/5  - basé sur 341 notations.
37 Boulevard Montparnasse, 75006, Paris, France - See map

The Best Western Hotel Le Montparnasse is a 5-minute walk from the Paris-Montparnasse TGV (high-speed train) station and the Air France terminal, with direct links to the Roissy Charles de Gaulle and Orly airports. Nearby is the Tour Eiffel, the Jardin du Luxembourg, the Rue de Rennes and many restaurants and shops where you can stroll at your leisure. Not far from St Germain des prés and Eiffel Tower area. The Best Western Hotel Le Montparnasse was fully refurbished in 2010 so you can enjoy the new design and high-end services: individual air-conditioning, free Wi-Fi access throughout the hotel, soft quilts for a refreshing night's sleep. You will also enjoy the "extras": Espresso machines, iPod dock and 32-inch LED TV. The bathrooms feature: relaxing "rain" showers, handy hairdryers and anti-steam mirrors to save time. You will be welcomed by a dedicated team attentive to your needs, so you can taste Parisian life and fully enjoy your stay on the Left Bank, in a district with a multitude of great restaurants and shops. The Best Western Hotel Le Montparnasse is at your service for business trips or tourism breaks to the French capital. Nearby: the Montparnasse Tower, the Rue de Rennes, Saint Germain des Prés, Les Invalides, the Eiffel Tower, etc.

Best Western

Hotel Le Montparnasse

LABEL_ITINERAIRE

LABEL_DEPART:

LABEL_ARRIVEE:

Hotel advantages

  • Air conditioning
    Air conditioning
  • 24-hour front desk
    24-hour front desk
Show More Show Less

Guest reviews

In partnership with tripadvisor fr
based on 341 guest reviews
NOTE ISSUED
Excellent
60
Very Good
136
Average
83
Poor
36
Terrible
26
REFER TO NOTICE
Business Business
71
Couples Couples
149
Family Family
49
Friends getaway Friends getaway
32
Solo travel Solo travel
25
SUMMARY NOTES
Cleanliness
Location
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Value

"Perfect location for a true Parisian experience!"

5
04/07/2018

On my second trip to Paris, we elected to stay at a less expensive hotel than the boutique hotel from my first visit. We chose the Best Western Le Montparnasse for our 2 week stay. Montparnasse is central to the popular tourist attractions and close to the main metro lines. We decided that all we needed was a bed and a bathroom because we planned on being out unless we were showering or sleeping. This hotel was perfect for that. The staff was very friendly, the bed was super comfortable, and the room was always clean when we returned for the evening. Honestly, who goes to Paris for the hotel room?! If you don't set unreasonable expectations for a room that Paris simply doesn't have at a reasonable price, then you will not be disappointed. There are several close cafes with different kinds of food and drink that allow a true local Parisian experience. There's a shopping mall a block away and many major retailers close by in this charming district of Paris. On our next visit to Paris, we will definitely be staying with these wonderful folks again!

Caroline J, Directeur général at Best Western Hotel Le Montparnasse, responded to this review
Dear Deanna, You have lived a real Parisian experience, if you knew how much we enjoy reading that our hotel has met your needs! Our 3-star hotel is good value for money and has an ideal location. We do not pretend to be as perfect as you mention, but we redouble our efforts to ensure everyone has a comfortable stay! Thank you very much for sharing your satisfaction on our functional rooms. The team will see you soon for a future Parisian trip ?? Caroline JeanBaptiste General Manager of the hotel Best Western Le Montparnasse +33 1 45 44 85 37

"Excellent hotel close to everything"

5
06/06/2018

excellent service Recommend it to couples Excellent hotel close to everything The rooms are clean and the staff are really nice and help any question there is The price was excellent The rooms are large

Caroline J, Directeur général at Best Western Hotel Le Montparnasse, responded to this review
Dear Michael, A thousand thanks for covering us with such a beautiful opinion. As you say so well, we accompany our guests every day to make them spend the best possible stay. Our excellent location allows you to enjoy all of Paris thanks to the metro stations nearby or to the Montparnasse train station. Know that we will be delighted to receive you when you decide to continue your visit of our beautiful capital. Caroline JeanBaptiste Director of the Best Western Le Montparnasse hotel 01 45 44 85 37

"OK, but nothing special"

3
18/05/2018

Not surprised that any hotel in this good location would be pricey. The room was very small -- not as shown on the web site. Two people with two suitcases could barely fit in the elevator. The manager was cordial and gave us coffee while we waited to check in early. And the location was very convenient. The nearest restaurant was smokey, but Le 51 was very nice and we enjoyed our meal.

Caroline J, Directeur général at Best Western Hotel Le Montparnasse, responded to this review
Dear Madam, Dear Sir, You understand: we offer comfortable rooms that have excellent value for money. We are located close to Montparnasse station and close to many metro stations, which allows our guests to easily discover the city. Our rooms and our facilities can seem small as everywhere in Paris and I am sorry that it has inconvenienced you. In any case, a dedicated and attentive team awaits you and will be happy to make you enjoy another gourmet break, if you return to our beautiful capital. Caroline JeanBaptiste General Manager of the hotel Best Western Le Montparnasse +33 1 45 44 85 37

"Short stay"

4
29/04/2018

The lady on the front desk and the evening reception gentleman was very helpful and gave us information on where to go. The room was very clean and tidy but very small, the twin bed were touching each other but OK for a short stay. The room was facing a main road which was very noisy at night. Good location next to underground. Would stay again for a short stay.

Caroline J, Directeur général at Best Western Hotel Le Montparnasse, responded to this review
Dear Robert, The whole team thanks you warmly for this nice comment. Informing our guests about all the activities to do around the hotel is our daily routine. Our hotel is located along Boulevard Montparnasse in an old Parisian building. Our rooms allow a comfortable stay after a day of escape in our beautiful capital thanks to the metro stations very close to our hotel. We will be happy to receive you during your next stay in Paris! See you soon Caroline JeanBaptiste General Manager of the hotel Best Western Le Montparnasse +33 1 45 44 85 37

"Not bad for a short stay"

3
27/04/2018

We thought this was fine, it had a funky wardrobe and a nesspresso machine but the twin beds were close together and there wasn't all that much space for 2 people. The shower looked impressive but the reality was water filled up the sink and flooded the floor when using the large shower head. It was close to the station so a good stop over gap before catching our train to Bordeaux we ate breakfast at one of the many cafes and restaurants outside which was much cheaper than the hotel.

Caroline J, Directeur général at Best Western Hotel Le Montparnasse, responded to this review
Dear Madam, dear sir, Thank you for choosing us during your stay in Paris. Our rooms have adapted to the present architecture of the building and can sometimes look small but not more than elsewhere in Paris. To provide a comfortable stay for our guests, we provide a Nespresso coffee machine and walk-in showers to relax after a day full of sightseeing. I hope you have enjoyed this Parisian life where breakfast on the terrace and visits rhyme with the constant passage of the metro. Did you visit the Montparnasse Tower? A magnificent point of view is there and allows everyone to observe Paris. Come back soon, we are already waiting for you! Caroline JeanBaptiste Directrice de l'hôtel Best Western Le Montparnasse 01 45 44 85 37

"Ideal for short stay"

3
26/03/2018

I recently stayed solo at Hotel Le Montparnasse. I chose the hotel for its proximity to Gare du Montparnasse and ease of access from numerous metro lines. The team on duty made me feel very welcome and offered some local recommendations for dinner. I have read others' complaints about the size of the elevator (what are they taking about, this is classic Parisian bijou) and will not waste energy on that. The room was highly functional and - not typical in this star category - there was a Nespresso machine adjacent. The price was good and neighbourhood safe. For those not familiar with Paris, the Metro is a triumph of public mobility and all sectors of this fabulous city can be accessed in < 30 minutes as you whizz along. The furnishings (at least in my room) were very tired. This regular room was quiet and warm (very cold out, grateful for the heating system), but too small for a couple. There is no drawer facility beyond a small closet if you are staying more than a night. The bed was cosy and nice bedding, but carpets permanently stained and the bathroom/shower had some verdigris, suggesting poor cleaning habits and leaks. Breakfast was express (continental-style) and regular - I chose the former. Again, the staff were most hospitable and helpful to assist guests to a seating spot and guide to the facilities. There is a limited lobby for sitting and folks went straight to their rooms on check-in/after meals. 5* staff, 2* hotel, prices competitive. Best Western Hotel Le Montparnasse is well-run, but needs refurbishment and a deep clean. It is perfect for a solo traveler staying one night.

Caroline J, Directeur général at Best Western Hotel Le Montparnasse, responded to this review
Dear Sir, It is testimonies like yours that encourage us to get up every morning. We are not perfect and we work every day to improve ourselves: thank you for taking the time to leave these very detailed remarks. You have understood, it is our team and its investment which are the soul of our establishment. To read that you felt that it's more than a reward for the whole team. We look forward to welcoming you again on your next visit to Paris. Caroline JeanBaptiste General Manager of the hotel Best Western Le Montparnasse +33 1 45 44 85 37

"Great location/emplacement génial"

4
02/03/2018

This hotel in the heart of Paris is central to so much. The staff is very friendly and professional. Our room was small but well planned with everything we needed for a short stay. The breakfast was adequate. Would definitely recommend. Bien placé au coeur de Paris. Personnel aimable, professionnel et attentif. Chambre petite mais très confortable et bien équipée - machine Nespresso une jolie surprise. Beaucoup de restaurants et cafés dans le coin, quartier très animé.

Caroline J, Directeur général at Best Western Hotel Le Montparnasse, responded to this review
Chère Madame, cher Monsieur, merci d'avoir témoigné de votre expérience en français : nous vous rendons donc la pareille en vous répondant dans la langue de Molière ! A l'hôtel le Best Western le Montparnasse, nous aimons ponctuer vos séjours de petites surprises : un accueil tout en convivialité, une machine Nespresso dans la chambre ou encore un bar à goûter pour des après-midis douces et gourmandes. Chaque membre de l'équipe espère vous revoir au coeur du boulevard du Montparnasse pour un nouveau séjour typiquement parisien. Caroline JeanBaptiste Directrice de l'hôtel Best Western Le Montparnasse 01 45 44 85 37

"Great location"

5
28/02/2018

It's a small hotel with very friendly staffs. The location it's great as it's located to one of the biggest train stations in Paris the Montparnasse station. It's a clean hotel and the staffs are always there to help you. Even though our bedroom was facing the street we couldn't hear any traffic at all.

"Perfect for a city break! "

5
27/12/2017

I stayed in this hotel for two nights / three days in July of this year. The hotel room was very clean and quiet, even though I stayed in a room facing the street (which I had asked for). Even though the rooms were rather small, the beds were extremely comfortable and had everything needed for a short break. The rooms are also equipped with air con - a must-have for summer in Paris! The staff in the hotel were very friendly and helpful, providing information about Paris and answering all my questions. The hotel location was brilliant too, a short walk from a metro station, Gare Montparnasse and certain tourist attractions such as Les Jardins de Luxembourg. As well as that, the area seemed very safe and there were many cafes, restaurants and small supermarkets nearby. It really is an ideal hotel for a Paris city break, especially considering the price!

"Reasonably spacious for Paris"

4
27/10/2017

Fairly typical of a Parisian hotel but the room is relatively spacious with a good sized double bed, a small desk to work on and a ok sized bathroom. The WiFi was very good and free. Shower was hot and towels ok sized. Lift is typically small but fast. Breakfast is strictly continental but there is plenty and hot drinks are served freshman English is spoken but they paid me the compliment of speaking French.

"Easily accessible and ideal for short stay"

5
19/10/2017

We have stayed at this hotel for 2 days. Its a small room but that dint matter to us much since we were out most of the time touring Paris and back to room in nights. We have got a room facing the road so high noise levels. Bed was comfortable.

"Beautifully small hotel"

4
01/10/2017

A safe hotel within downtown Paris with incredibly kind and helpful multi-lingual staff. The hotel room is small, yet it has enough room to store your luggage, sleep (the bed was comfortable), drink coffee (the room includes a mini espresso machine) and walk to the bathroom.

Caroline J, Directeur général at Best Western Hotel Le Montparnasse, responded to this review
Dear Joe, Thank you so much for sharing your beautiful experience and highlighting the staff. They are very invested in customer satisfaction and returns like yours really make them happy. We hope to welcome you back to the heart of Paris. Caroline Jeanbaptiste General manager of the hotel Best Western Le Montparnasse +33 (0)1 45 44 85 37

"Ah, the metro underground!"

3
11/09/2017

We had a last minute deal for a very fair price. The hotel's location was fantastic, and the room was tidy, functional and good. However, the room (#17 on the first floor) vibrated every time the metro passed underground. This was really irritating, and when I requested the reception for a change of room, they had mentioned that all rooms have the same problem. That's a complete bummer, but other than that there's nothing to complain.

Caroline J, Directeur général at Best Western Hotel Le Montparnasse, responded to this review
Dear Vignesh, Thank you for sharing your experience (twice ! we also saw your identical comment on Google). You have chosen our hotel for its perfect location in our beautiful capital: close to public transport and the Montparnasse train station. Like many buildings in Paris, it is indeed possible to feel the vibrations of the metro: it is a very typical Parisian experience! I confess that the locals do not even feel them anymore but I understand your astonishment and I am sorry that it irritated you. Thank you for your positive comments. The whole team hopes to see you again during your next stay in Paris. Caroline JeanBaptiste General manager of the hotel Best Western Le Montparnasse +33 (0)1 45 44 85 37

"excellent city break hotel"

5
06/08/2017

arrived room ready. clean and tidy. staff excellent with knowledge and very helpful. perfectly situated for paris sight seeing. recommend the metro to get about. air conditioning worked perfectly was grateful was very hot. would recommend

"You get what you pay for"

3
14/07/2017

It is what it is an inexpensive hotel. A little old and tired but ok. It is a very small hotel, like very small barely two people with one suitcase each fit in the elevator. I didn't like that when the offered to store my luggage before and after check out that it was not in a secured location

Caroline J, Directeur général at Best Western Hotel Le Montparnasse, responded to this review
Cher James, Je vous remercie de partager votre avis et de lire que votre séjour vous a convenu. Nous ne prétendons pas être un grand hôtel mais simplement un établissement à taille humaine, qui propose des prestations avec un rapport qualité prix adéquate. Nos réceptionnistes sont très vigilants pour la surveillance des effets personnels des clients qui leur confient. Je suis navrée que vous ne l'ayez pas perçu. Ce sera un plaisir de vous accueillir à nouveau lors de votre prochaine visite à Paris. Caroline JeanBaptiste Directrice de l'hôtel Best Western Le Montparnasse +33 1 45 44 85 37

"Great location, friendly staff"

5
05/06/2017

If you are going to travel by train from the Gare Montparnasse, the 3-star Best Western Hotel le Montparnasse in the 6th arrondissement, is a very convenient place to stay. Location is perfect. Within a two-block radius, you have the train station, metro stops, a covered shopping mall anchored by one of the two most well-known department stores in Paris, the shopping street Rue de Rennes, pharmacies, banks, post office, etc. There is a mini-mart just steps away and a larger market across the street that stays open late. The neighborhood is vibrant with many cafés and restaurants, some of which were made famous by artists of the 20th century. Also, you can take Le Bus Direct, #4 (the former Air France Shuttle) from CDG airport to the train station for about half of a taxi fare. If you don't want to walk the two blocks to the train station, the hotel can also arrange a shuttle back to the airport with pick up at the hotel. The cost for two people is 36 euros (compared to 60+ for a taxi). If you understand that personal space is defined differently in Europe, then you would be fine in this hotel. The hallways are narrow. The rooms are tiny but have everything: air conditioning, comfortable beds, a safe, and a small closet with about ten hangers. The bathroom is small but modern. Despite its size, it has a spacious shower area with both a rain and a hand-held shower head, and space for your toiletries, The staff is very courteous and accommodating. I speak fluent French but not my husband. They spoke English with him and were just as nice and helpful to him. They provided us with extra pillows, and even stored a big bag for us while we traveled to the southwest for 10 days. We've always asked for a room in the back side of the building. Amazingly enough, even with the window open, there is no traffic noise. It faces a courtyard with lots of greenery. You do hear the muffled sound of the metro, but that is the case nearly anywhere in Paris if you want to have the convenience of being near a metro stop. I have stayed in this hotel several times and will do so again. If you are taking trains from Montparnasse (or even if you are not), the location, as well as the very nice and accommodating personnel, can't be beat.

Caroline J, Directeur général at Best Western Hotel Le Montparnasse, responded to this review
Dear Sir Madam, At first, seeing this long text surprised us and it is with pleasure that we read all of it. We find here a sincere and helpful review, which gives so many truthful details to the readers. A big thank you to share your experience that way. I remember you and your stay with us, and it was still a pleasure for our team to welcome you and serve you. When customers dare to come and tell our receptionnists what they think or need, it's only natural to do their utmost for their comfort. I hope the pillows were cozy, and that you slept peacefully. Thank you again to clarify your appreciations of the location and the calm of your room view on courtyard. It is true that we often get feedback about the subway. As you point out, all parisian hotels near the metro benefit from its advantages and disadvantages. We are touched by your loyalty and we will receive you next time with great pleasure. See you soon, Caroline Jeanbaptiste General Manager of The Best Western Le Montparnasse

"Really small. A/C not working"

2
03/05/2017

Shocked to find a Best Western hotel in Europe with such a lack of quality. First of all we are a family of 5 and were supposed to stay in adjacent rooms sadly there were no such rooms in this hotel, besides the rooms were really small even for Paris kind of Hotels. The other major issue was that the weather was kind of hot during our stay but the A/C didn't work, it was only for heating so we had to sleep with the window open with the constant noise of the Montparnasse traffic including constant police and ambulance sirens (very often by the way). Cleaning service was really bad by the way, some days I found no towels in the room. Never again

Caroline J, Directeur général at Best Western Hotel Le Montparnasse, responded to this review
Dear Sir, We are sincerely sorry to read your dissatisfaction. There was an mistake in the allocation of your rooms, I admit, and I apologize for that. Our rooms respect the Best Western standards to be classified in 3 stars, we have been audited by an independent organization and have been classified with success. For your information, each room is equipped with an adjustable thermostat, you just have to adjust the desired temperature by yourself. For any question / need, do not hesitate to call reception! We could have found a solution to this and palliate the lack of towels in your room. We hope you enjoyed discovering Paris. Caroline JeanBaptiste General manager of the hotel

"Amazing Location, Great Price"

5
11/04/2017

Walking out of the Best Western Le Montparnasse and seeing the Eiffel Tower was one of the best experiences of our Paris trip! There are several restaurants, subway stops, shops, and grocery locations very close (same block) to the hotel. The subways and train stations are all within a short walking distance that can get you to almost any tourist location quickly. The room is not large, but is on par with other European room sizes. The modern decor in the rooms is newer and the staff is friendly.

, Directeur général at Best Western Hotel Le Montparnasse, responded to this review
Dear Amanda K, Thank you for taking the time to describe your experience with such precision! It is a pleasure to read your opinions, actually we are 3km from the Eiffel Tower and we are always amazed to see it, especially at night when it is illuminated. Thank you for your compliments on the staff and to have chosen us for your stay, do not hesitate to call us on your next visit to Paris, we will be delighted to welcome you once again! Caroline JeanBaptiste General Manager of the Hôtel Best Western Le Montparnasse

"Disappointing from a brand name "

3
08/04/2017

I choose the best western as it is a brand name, somewhere I could trust to be everything it said it was. My partner finds it uncomfortable to sleep unless the room temperature is low, either with air conditioning or a fan, one of the main reasons I booked this hotel. We were checked in and opened the room to a gust of hot air, immediately I opened the window and set upon the air conditioning unit but nothing kicked in. I rang reception and the kind gentleman came up, took a look, told us it would cool down and left saying if we needed to move rooms we could. Instead we decided to give the system a chance and headed out. We came back, room still hot and the traffic of the day still hadn't died down. All we could hear was police cars chasing up and down the street with sirens, traffic, people, rubbish collection lorries and that on top of the heat was unbearable! I asked for a fan which the gentleman on reception said he didn't have and advised the reason why the air conditioning wasn't working was because the fans had been turned off for winter. I'd like to add the temperature was 24c during the day and only dropping to around 20c at night, I would hardly call that winter conditions!

"Great Friendly, Very Helpful staff and the Perfect location"

5
13/02/2017

Stayed here for a quick weekend trip to Paris. Perfect location and walk to everything. We were booked for 2 nights and the staff bent over backwards to help us with a stolen passport. We ended up having to stay a third night and they were very accommodating. I definitely would stay there again.

"Very nice"

5
19/01/2017

Great location, close to train stations, shopping sites, and tourist places by a few metro stops. That was the best. Tiny rooms but nice for the time we spent inside. Price/quality relation is ok for Paris. Excellent service from Andres.

"Great Location"

5
15/10/2016

Check in was faultless and friendly. There are several supermarkets close by and a galleries Lafayette. In addition there are many restaurants of varying cuisines. If you need to get the bus back to CdeG it is about a 10 -15 minute walk. The breakfast was good with lots of coffee too! I would stay here again.

"Great location for a short stay."

3
03/10/2016

The rooms had all the facilities and amenities required, but were a little compact. We were only there for an overnight stay, but the staff went out of their way to help. The Hotel does have a small Breakfast Room for Continental Breakfasts, although there are plenty of places locally to eat, drink and shop.

"room robbed and passports lost"

1
02/10/2016

we booked 2 rooms for the family for 5 days, on our 3rd day, we returned back at 10.00pm to find our room robber, the safe was completely removed from the wardrobe and took away. we lost 5 passports and a lot of money (over 2,000 euros), and the hotel staff was so relaxed and only helped by calling the police. there were no cameras, and no any support from the hotel staff. they promised they will re contact us for any compensation, but nothing happened over 6 months till now. and it ruined our vacation.

"Great location but tiny room"

4
30/08/2016

Great location at Montparnasse, nearby restuarants, delis and coffee stores. Rooms are very small, but very clean and comfortable. Very modern architecture and furniture. We can see that it´s a old hotel but has been refurbished recently and offers great instalations even ther are a little tiny.

"Decent for Paris Prices"

4
19/08/2016

Good location and decent room. Only bad thing was the bed was SO hard like crazy hard. Staff was super friendly and very helpful. Good ac and close to train station. Easy to walk to Notre dame and Eiffel tower about 30 minutes, we like to walk though.

"Scam Artists"

1
28/07/2016

I provisionally booked a room for November 2016 at this hotel, with free cancellation until 5 days prior to arrival. They took £100 from my bank account as pre- authorisation and I have yet to receive it back from them 6 days later. DO NOT BOOK!!!!

"Terreible"

1
17/07/2016

I am in the hotel now with my mother, it is our last Night. When we arrived at the evening our luggage was broken into and our money was stoled, about 750 euros. It was happening at sunday and the staff could not do nothing for us, tomorow we are going to the police, and I thing that nobody can do anithing for us, so I dont recomend this hotel even for my ennemy. Be carefull and dont choose this hotel.

"Great staff"

3
05/07/2016

Pricy for what you get, the metro won't let sleep, specially in the lower floors. I do have to say thumbs up for the super nice staff friendly and helpful, nice breakfast too and the young people at the front desk 100%. Great location; hop on hop off bus stop half a block from the hotel entrance. A small but complete super market down the street. With freshly baked baguettes was a plus. Rooms are time and dated.

"Clean hotel but elements really dated"

3
30/06/2016

Entrance is very small and nondescript. I did not have breakfast but looking at the space you will be crammed into the back of reception Lift is tiny - 2 is a squeeze. Lift is also very dated and door shuts on anyone in way when you press the button. Stairs are equally uninviting Room was plain but very clean. Bathroom too (new and clean) but the shower was partially blocked so I nearly flooded the place. Room 46 should Best Western read this. This hotel needs a facelift on the ground floor with more space but rooms are simple and clean. I would probably stay here again should I be in the neighbourhood

Caroline J, Directeur général at BEST WESTERN Le Montparnasse, responded to this review
Dear Smeg1, Firstly we would like to thank you for choosing our BEST WESTERN Hôtel Le Montparnasse for your visit to Paris and for sharing your feedback on your recent trip experience among us. Thank you again for your visit and very kind recommendation; we hope you will return to Paris and provide us with another opportunity to welcome you back in a not too distant future. Best Regards. Caroline J.

"creepy hotel"

2
12/06/2016

The staff was nice. But for $10 extra you can stay at a much better hotel. The Elevator in the size of a very small closet. It was only big enough for me and my 15yr daughter and she only weighs 120 pounds! They offered me the stairs to walk up, however they were so small and the hallway of the stairs were so tight it wasnt worth it. If you plan on just needing a clean place to lay your head... its OK. But if you are like me and like a nice place to relax keep looking!

Caroline J, Directeur général at BEST WESTERN Le Montparnasse, responded to this review
Dear Heather L, Thank you for the time you have taken out of your day to write and share your concerns relating to your recent holiday with us for the readers of Tripadvisor. We apologize for not having managed to exceed your expectations regarding the size of the room. The room size is 14-16 m2 and the lift can accomodate 3 people. Must of the lift in the old hotel In paris can just accomodtae 1 person. We appreciate the time you took to share your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the future. Best Regards. Caroline J.

"Lovely staff"

5
19/05/2016

The staff was very helpful when we had a bit of a crisis, specially Elsa at the front desk who went out of her way to give us special information, a late check-out and directions to get to an airport while there was a strike. We are very grateful to her. People like her make all the difference.

Caroline J, Directeur général at BEST WESTERN Le Montparnasse, responded to this review
Dear Dany, Firstly we would like to thank you for choosing our BEST WESTERN Hôtel Le Montparnasse for your visit to Paris and for sharing your feedback on your recent trip experience among us. Moreover we thank you for your wonderful comments on service which of course have been shared with the entire team. It is always a great source of motivation for our staff to hear that our guests appreciated their services and attention to detail. Thank you again for your visit and very kind recommendation; we hope you will return to Paris and provide us with another opportunity to welcome you back in a not too distant future. Caroline J.

"a good 3* hotel"

3
18/05/2016

clean and well maintained, nearby places have great coffee, and food to eat. great hot chocolate machine on the main floor. Tiny elevator just big enough for 1person and luggage, or 2 people with carry on luggage

Caroline J, Directeur général at BEST WESTERN Le Montparnasse, responded to this review
Dear Nita, Thank you for your review of our Best Western Hôtel Le Montparnasse. It does indeed sound from what you described, that some aspects of your stay did not meet our Best Western standard. We apologize if our service was inconsistent and appreciate you taking the time to bring this matter to our attention. We do appreciate your comments as they can help us to improve. We hope to see you again in the near future and to have the opportunity to offer you a very enjoyable experience with us. Best Regards. Caroline.

"Nice hotel"

4
21/03/2016

The hotel was very reasonably priced and the location wasn't bad. Staff were friendly and helpful. We went out one evening and didn't return until the early hours and the area felt safe- plenty of nice bars close by. Short walk to the tour Montparnasse, which is well worth a visit. Room was basic but clean and suited us just fine. Little noisy from the metro below but you get used to it. If you want a good hotel but don't want to spend ££££ then this is a great choice.

Caroline J, Directeur général at BEST WESTERN Le Montparnasse, responded to this review
Dear Jodiejo, Firstly we would like to thank you for choosing our BEST WESTERN Hôtel Le Montparnasse for your visit to Paris and for sharing your feedback on your recent trip experience among us. Moreover we thank you for your wonderful comments on service which of course have been shared with the entire team. It is always a great source of motivation for our staff to hear that our guests appreciated their services and attention to detail. Thank you again for your visit and very kind recommendation; we hope you will return to Paris and provide us with another opportunity to welcome you back in a not too distant future. Best Wishes Caroline J.

"Clean rooms, small but OK, missing only service!"

3
13/01/2016

We booked directly at a better price then any website offered us! The rooms are very clean, a bit small, but price quality top! Nearby you have a hop on hop of bus station. You can get metro etc, so location is super. The only item that was not OK was the service of the personel. They never have been able to help us or give us correct information about location like a parking or a Starbucks coffee... Breakfast was simple but ok and certainly for the price charged. You can hear the metro below, but once asleep we never had any problem with that. Rooms on higher floors have less problems with nise, but we slept on 1st floor, did hear metro when awake, but slept well anyway. Very good beds! Nice shower!

Caroline J, Directeur général at BEST WESTERN Le Montparnasse, responded to this review
Dear Jan, Cher Jan, Merci d'avoir partagé votre expérience sur la toile. Vos compliments sur notre hôtel et nos chambres nous touche énormément. C'est vrai, je l'avoue je ne connais pas la situation exacte de la très célèbre attraction parisienne le starbuck Café... En revanche pour le parking c'est beaucoup plus simple il n'y en a que deux dans le quartier, le premier se situe rue de rennes et le second est en dessous de la Gare Montparnasse. Nous ne pouvons pas vous indiquer précisément la tarification car tout dépend de la durée du stationnement. Toute l'équipe vous souhaite un agréable retour. Caroline, La directrice.

"Ok for one night"

3
16/12/2015

Reasonably priced hotel for the area. Rooms are clean, but bathrooms are showing the age. Good beds, but if you are a light sleeper passing trains will be a challenge - you hear them all. They did not have gluten free bread, but offered to buy it for me for breakfast, which was nice.

Caroline J, Directeur général at BEST WESTERN Le Montparnasse, responded to this review
Dear Evelyne, Chère Evelyne, Firstly we would like to thank you for choosing our BEST WESTERN Hôtel Le Montparnasse for your visit to Paris and for sharing your feedback on your recent trip experience among us. Moreover we thank you for your wonderful comments on service which of course have been shared with the entire team. It is always a great source of motivation for our staff to hear that our guests appreciated their services and attention to detail.we are glad to read your satisfaction about the situation of the hotel. Thank you again for your visit and very kind recommendation; we hope you will return to Paris and provide us with another opportunity to welcome you back in a not too distant future. Caroline, The Manager.

"Really good place and location for such a price"

4
16/11/2015

The hotel location is wonderful located in the center and not far from the railway station Montparnasse. Rooms are small, but clean and light, the assistance is perferct so don't mind to ask anything you need. If you want an amazing city view you won't sleep deeply as there are a lot of car even at night, but you'll enjoy Paris charm. And we enjoyed breakfast, first time that happend to me in Paris :)

"Small room, good location"

4
11/11/2015

My boyfriend and I travelled to Paris for the first time in September 2015 for my birthday. Our short, spur of the moment trip lasted about 4 days. If I can recall, the hotel had a fairly reasonable price when we initially booked. The location is quite ideal. We took public transportation to the hotel from Charles-de-Gaulle airport, and it was fairly easy for us to find it. There are nearby restaurants and bars. Metro stations are also not that far away from the hotel. We walked to the Eiffel tower on our first day, which took us around 30 minutes to get there. The room is small, but going into this trip, we knew that Paris is known for having small rooms. Hence, we didn't have such high expectations. Despite the lack in size, the room has a modern feel to it and is nice and clean. There's a keurig in the room, so you can have some coffee in the morning if you choose, but we did clean the machine a bit as we weren't sure if it was properly cleaned prior to our arrival. The elevators are just as tiny, probably only 2 or 3 people can fit at a time. The staff were kind and helpful to us. Overall, a good experience. Would return if I had the chance, but would also like to explore a different area of Paris next time we decide to go.

"The best hotel ever"

5
25/10/2015

I have been going to this hotel quite alot as I have to visit necker hospital which is across the road! I have to say the staff are the nicest most friendliest people ever and if you need anything just ask and they will be happy to help! And the beds are mega comfy too! I will be back soon!

Caroline J, Directeur général at BEST WESTERN Le Montparnasse, responded to this review
Rachel, So many thanks for your comments ! See you very soon. Regards. Caroline.

"Compact, quite pricey but basically OK; and this is Paris"

3
20/10/2015

Paris is renowned for expensive hotels, and small rooms. Step up this hotel. It is expensive compared with many EU capitals, and the rooms are small compared with many EU capitals. But for Paris it is perfectly in order and quite in keeping with average value for money. Double bed in my room with 1m on one side and 50cm on the other. Small shower room. Free wifi. Teeny desk. Basic breakfast served on an outdoor, covered and heated terrasse (fine in October). Very convenient for Metro Montparnasse Bienvenue and Hopital Necker + tour de Montparnasse. I thought it was fine. You definitely get rumbling from the metro underneath. Lasts 10 seconds as each train passes but stops around midnight and it's never intrusive or bothersome. Rooms on back are very quiet, on the front noisy with traffic (like so much of Paris) unless the windows are kept shut (which might be an issue in July and August heat). Not really a business hotel but we managed - more mid range touristique.

"Tiny room, nice (non-central) area but expensive"

3
05/10/2015

The hotel is a little out of the way (in Montparnasse), but the metro was quite easy to use and there were several stops within 5 minutes of the hotel that allowed us to visit different parts of the city with ease. The room was TINY and the bathroom (despite being quite modern) looked like it was in a converted closet (not as small as you'd think, but the door had holes underneath that did not allow for much privacy). Very clean however. The elevator was incredibly small (max 3 people on the sign...) and makes very strange noises - we took the stairs to our room on the 4th floor every day... The staff were friendly but not that knowledgable about tourism within the city. The young lady at the desk sent us to a different and unfamiliar part of the city for the best crepes, with only a metro stop for guidance; we got off the metro to see only apartment buildings and had to wander for quite a while (and distance) before we found any cafes. Definitely not worth the price we paid for the hotel. It's very small and non-central.

"Montparnesse"

4
28/09/2015

Very quaint, Euro smallish, yet not tiny. Room was low end for the hotel and was very nice. Over the street, nice sound proofing on the windows. ez walk to the Tour, artists quarters, Seine. Great location with excellent eateries and Metro to everywhere nearby. Staff was very nice and the Hotel is uber clean. After my third business trip to Paris only one other Hotel was better and it is a Best Western too. I think that was because of the free upgrade at the other. Very good value. And it makes Paris life ez.

"Perfect hotel for sightseeing "

5
02/09/2015

First time in Paris, we stayed at this fantastic hotel right in the centre of Montparnasse. It's close to the metro, and is easy to access if you want to get to St Germain or the city centre. The street is also home to lots of restaurants, bars and cafes if you're feeling peckish. The lift is small (can only fit 1 person and one suitcase) but it does the job. Make sure you get a room facing the street for a great view and a nice breeze. TLDR; Pro's - close to metro, extremely helpful staff (they are available 24/7), good price for what you pay for, and the location is excellent for getting around, fridge in room, modern bathroom Con's - no window or fan in the bathroom (although it's quite modern!)

"Great service"

4
19/08/2015

The service received from the different people at the front counter was always five stars. Incredibly helpful and friendly. Hotel room itself was nothing out of the ordinary (no good nor bad surprises), internet worked and was pretty fast most of the time.

"Average hotel"

3
18/06/2015

average hotel where the rooms are very small and poor breakfast, served on the terrace where you will be cold Ideal location of the hotel is a short walk from all the sights otherwise quite pricey hotel

"One to recommend"

4
24/05/2015

We stayed here 2 nights in may 2015. Attracted by the Best Western name (never disappointed) and the location. Good room (aircon, minibar, Nespresso machine) and bathroom (rainshower with separate handheld showerhead). Streetside, room 36. Boul Montparnasse is busy but we're used to the city soundscape. Only drawback was the width of the double bed, quite small. Other reports mention the subway sounds and vibrations. I had to do my best to try and observe it. But who wants to stay in Paris and than complain about subway sounds? It is a welcome sign of a nearby form of transport.

"Excellent location & Professional Staff"

4
18/05/2015

Stayed 5 nights. Excellent location in Montparnasse - close to Metro, shops, restaurants. This is France! The rooms are small (but, hey-did you see anyone driving giant SUV's? ) but efficient layout & I thought the bathroom was spacious compared to others in France. Clean. Modern - pictures on previous posts are accurate. I appreciated the desk staff helping to arrange the shuttle to CDG airport and letting one of our travelers who arrived ahead of us get into the room early. Yes, you can hear the Metro, but We basically went to our room after 10pm most nights and crashed-plus the Metro does not run 24hours so not an issue. It is same quality as Best Western in USA. I would recommend if you wanted this for location.

"Great Staff, Poor Accommodation"

3
18/04/2015

I stayed in this hotel for a business trip as the hospital where I needed to be was across the street. I must say, the exterior of this hotel is very nice, if you were walking down the street, you would think it was just another set of apartments if it did not have the subtle Best Western sign on the wall. You need to hit a buzzer to get in the door which is fine as this is a small hotel, and if there were no staff on the front desk it is good to know that nobody can just walk in off the street and head straight for the rooms. Check in very smooth and quick and I headed to my room located on the second floor. There is an elevator in this hotel, but you would be very lucky to fit two adults and one large suitcase in it. There is also a spiral staircase which is quite tight, but I recommend you use this if on one of the lowers floors 1-3, as waiting times for the lift can be quite long. Once I got to my room I was quite disappointed by the size. It was tiny. My double bed was two single beds pushed together, with single duvets and sheets. There was however a nice set of french doors that opened up and the view was out onto Boulevard du Montparnasse, which is a very busy street with a lot of bars, cafes and restaurants. The room also had a small light up wardrobe, a Dolce Gusto coffee machine, air conditioning, a small desk area, Samsung flatscreen TV and a small bathroom with walk in shower. The room was quite warm so I left the air conditioning on whilst I was out for a few hours. On my return I found that the air conditioning unit was leaking water and it had dripped all over my change of clothes which were now drenched. After this I went for a shower, which had a fluctuating temperature, which would either freeze you or burn you. Also with the positioning of the shower, a lot of water leaked out onto the bathroom floor and into the actual room carpet. So again I had to waste towels cleaning up the watery mess. I think on the TV there is maybe one channel that you can covert to english language but it takes a while of fiddling with the settings to work this out. I have to say even though my bed was two singles, the one side I slept on was very comfortable, nice and firm, and good linens and pillows for comfort. The hotels wifi was very slow once connected and would drop fairly often, quite frustrating really. There is a Metro station 5 minutes walk down the street, and the Eiffel Tower can be easily accessed from here, as well as other attractions, but unfortunately this trip was business and not pleasure. As always I like to rate staff, and this hotels staff were always courteous, friendly and willing to help where possible. I just wish the facilities matched up to the staff.

"Montparnasse Hotel"

4
05/12/2014

Montparnasse Hotel is Very Good!!!! Good service and bed, clean rooms common areas and a good location. The rooms and bathrooms are very tiny, but functional. If i came back to Paris this should be an option.... We recommend!!!

"perfect stay 10 for 10"

5
27/10/2014

I stayed at the best western on montparnasse avenue during a trade show. the employees were very helpful in finding all sorts of things for me, laundry, best foie gras, best bakery open, safest route a 3 am to walk to another part of town. I completely reccomend this place

"Noisy Maids; Front Desk Unknowledgeable"

2
20/07/2014

This hotel needs better management. The maid service was a big issue - starting early, noisy. The staff was not as knowledgeable as they should be for leisure guests. The hot breakfast was cold. The elevator needs to be cleaned and upgraded for safety.

Caroline J, Directeur général at BEST WESTERN Le Montparnasse, responded to this review
Dear Jane, Although we are very sorry to read your disappointment with your stay in our hotel BEST WESTERN Hotel Le Montparnasse, thank you for taking the time to share an appreciation because it allows us to continue our policy of continuous improvement services that we offer to our customers. Our first goal at BEST WESTERN is the satisfaction of our customers and I am sad to read that we can't answer to all your request regarding the city. Thank you again for your visit and very kind recommendation; we hope you will return to PARIS and provide us with another opportunity to welcome you back in a not too distant future. Best Regards. Caroline J, the manager and her Team.