Our 4-star design hotel, located in the city center, commands 40 rooms, five suites and an annex featuring 21 rooms. All our rooms are individually designed to provide you with several features for the modern conveniences. Incorporating a modern and comfortable design, our room decor reflects the clean, uncluttered feel of the hotel as a whole. All our rooms and suites here at the Best Western Plus Grand Hotel Victor Hugo are equipped with high-speed Internet, interactive digital television, air conditioning and hairdryers. The sauna as well as the fitness room is synonymous with wellness and offer vitality, relaxation and energy! Our hotel bar "La Plume" provides the ideal setting to relax and unwind. The perfect place for guests to enjoy lively conversations, have a cool beer or aperitif or take the opportunity to taste one of our exotic cocktail creations.
Best Western Plus
We spent three very comfortable, quiet nights in the Best Western Hotel Victor Hugo. It is just a short taxi ride from the central railroad station, away from the central part of the city, but still within walking distance (if you like to walk) to the area and to the older section of town. We used the trams to get around. Buy a ticket that is good for 4 hours and you can use it over and over again within the 4 hour time frame. Close to the hotel, just around the corner, is a very nice restaurant, and another one is located kitty-corner from the hotel. Breakfast, consisting of eggs, cold cuts and cheeses, bacon and sausages, sweet rolls, juices and coffee, was excellent. Service was excellent as well, but you won't find a concierge who can help you arrange tours of the city or surrounding areas. You'll be referred to the rain station for tourist info by the hotel staff.
This hotel is right in Luxembourg City and convenient to everything. Very nice accommodations with friendly staff. Was a little tricky to find since the sign is on the side of the bldg...we passed it a time or two. Parking is free but space is at a premium. We had to park up the street a ways but were able to move the car closer the next morning.
I have stayed here for a few days. Since I was alone, they booked a one person room for me. The room was VERY tiny. You basically could not open the drawers or could not really sit next to the desk since there was literally no space in the room, all was taken up by the bed. Also the floor is covered with tiles that I do not like since it is cold but this is a personal preference. The breakfast however was nice and the staff is very helpful. Anyhow, I think a four star hotel should have (lot) bigger rooms.
It's clean but it's really below what you would expect from a 4 star hotel The rooms and the bathroom are large but real basic with no decoration. I was on the 4th floor on the street side and it was surprisingly not too noisy. But beware of your neighbors as the walls are pretty thin! I did not try the breakfast but it looked like the rest standard.
We stayed a night at this place during our road trip from Switzerland to Amsterdam. There's a open parking near the hotel but due to the construction around the hotel area it's kind of tricky to get there. The parking is hourly but it's free overnight. It does not calculate the off-peak. Another tricky thing is the hotel itself. There's a building across the hotel on the other side of the street with the same name, which belongs to Best Western but does not have a reception. You want to make sure you enter to the right building.( I made a mistake!) Our room was spacious and very clean. It's about 10-15 walk walk from major attractions in town. I highly recommend the place. It's simple and sweet.
Hi Folks. The BW Victor Hugo is a lovely big city hotel. It is well cared for and well staffed. The rooms are clean. If you like the sound of a city at night, leave the windows open. The location is near everything. Luxembourg City is wonderful. Regards, OldeBear
I especially asked while checking in, if the room was quiet and if they had a quiet room but the man said it was perfectly quiet so when we arrived, we did like the room, very large especially for European standards, very nice restroom and lovely shower but when we turned the lights and the tv off the room was still illuminated from the street lights and the street noise was bad, I tried to fix the external blinds but they only covered half the window but the worst was the jackhammers cranking up at 6:30 in the morning, from then on there was no sleep for anyone. When I mentioned this to front desk in the morning, the lady said, oh yes it is very noisy on that side. I do not recommend this hotel even though the room is nice.
You will struggle to get a better value hotel than this. 5 - 10 mins from town centre. Good restaurants and bars nearby too. I have stayed here a few times and this is my hotel of choice Staff recognise me now too Very clean and modern. Rooms are a good size - bathrooms very clean and showers are great. Pleasant staff. Nice bar. I have not eaten here so cannot rate that side
I visited Luxembourg because I needed airline points and this was the cheapest destination. I didn't fancy sleeping at the airport (I was staying for 36 hours!), and I didn't fancy sleeping in a neighbouring country, so Victor Hugo was the cheapest hotel of a decent standard I could find. I arrived well before check-in time and although early access to the room was not available, the hotel were happy to hold my bag and gave a receipt as you would expect. I spent a few hours exploring the city (Maps may make the hotel look distant, but it's a small city - the hotel is at most a 20 minute walk from the shopping centre). I then came back and checked in - staff were polite and helpful. I stayed in the “annexe” My room was marketed as a single bed - I incorrectly assumed this would be a double bed with single occupancy, or perhaps just a smaller double - no, it was actually a single bed. I got what I paid for - fair enough. The room had a view of the wall of another building a meter away, but at least there was a window. The room was small but adequate with a disproportionately large TV mounted high on the wall making it only really watchable when you were lying in bed. Heating and cooling were a bit tough to master, one unit appeared to heat and cool so I tried that, but after a cold 30 minutes I tried the radiator which did warm me up. The room had a kettle, some coffee but no tea and apparently some free biscuits - of course they weren't free but had been placed so as to to cover up the minibar price list! As the room was absolutely freezing when I arrived, and after hours walking around the city, so was I, I took a shower. The stall is a rather old fashioned square one with two movable doors, one of whom was off its runner, making it rather tight. There were only 2 rather small towels and a floor mat along with an odd assortment of accessories but shower gel and soap were provided. The shower pressure was amazing - i stayed in there for 10 minutes to warm myself up, then another 10 just to enjoy the experience! The local area is probably very busy during the week, but lots of the popular locations seemed to be closed at the weekend, The hotel offered breakfast but it wasn't included so I decided to see what I could get outside. There was also a tiny restaurant on the ground floor of the annex, but it seemed to be closed. In the afternoon some bars and restaurants did open and they were pretty cool places. There were also two supermarkets within a 5 minute walk of the hotel, one a bit like WholeFoods, the other more Asda. Unfortunately the Annexe was not without its issues. The front door had a card reader but was left unlocked - I mentioned this when I checked out and was told that it should have been locked at night but perhaps it had been forgotten. Solid floors throughout meant that one person talking in the corridor was audible from inside other rooms not just on their floor, but on other floors too. Added to that, the building had a staircase at either end, the fire doors to which had been left open and didn't even seem to have an auto closer. I didn't notice if there were sprinklers installed, but leaving the fire doors open at both ends seems pretty unsafe to me (I closed the one at the end by my room!) Another problem was that the “double” lock on the door to the room didn't work (the lever didn`t move even slightly) there was also no spy hole in the door. I know there is little crime in Luxembourg, but why fit the locks if they don`t work and why fit a safe in the room if you don`t fit a spyhole? All in all though I was satisfied with the hotel and would stay here again if the price was competitive and I happened to need to visit Luxembourg for a second time.
This hotel is in a good location only 10 minutes walk to the centre. The room was a twin room for myself and my daughter, clean and spacious. The bathroom large and had a great shower and complimentary toiletries. Breakfast was varied and plentiful. We enjoyed our stay which was enhanced by the helpful gentleman on the reception who gave us a map of the area and explained the best routes to take to see all that Luxembourg has to offer.
Twin room for one night £60 It was spotlessly clean, rooms were a good size and came with a selection of teas and coffees and a kettle. Nice toiletries and a great hot shower All for £60 I don't think you could ask for better value. Staff were also really helpful. Fantastic!
This hotel has 2 parts (opposite is the dependance), I recommend the fantastic breakfast, the hotel is located near the centre. There is an electric kettle in the room with coffee and tea. The bathroom is clean with good cosmetics.
Nice stay in this hotel... Room is big enough... We were upgraded because they was a problem in the siphon in the first room... Comfortable bed... Big restroom and clean... Excellent service and friendly staff...the hotel is in 10 minutes walking from the downtown area... It is highly recommended
The room was small, clean and in good order. I was in a single room across the road from the main lobby, but was aware of this when booking. The hotel is only a ten minute walk from the main centre. There was a decent supermarket just around the corner to cater to snacks and drinks. The room was very small and the bed was a single, but it catered for a quick two night stay. Just a word of warning, like southern Europe, Luxembourgians vacate the city in August, they're all off enjoying the sunnier climates in the Mediterranean, so this means all the top restaurants are shut and the place is a ghost town.
Good hotel, we were staying in the annex which was fine, but the layout was a little odd. On the first floor, climbing up the stairs the first door opens up onto the stairs, meaning you have to sweeze past it on the way in and out if staying on the first floor. Because that firedoor was always open, it could be noisey at night with people coming back late as the sound echoed up and down the stairs. There was too much furniture in the room. Could of done with one chair instead of two, a smaller table and moving the luggage rack elsewhere as walking round to the other side of the bed was difficult without bumping into something. Also the room got very hot. We were staying in December and had the heating turned off yet would wake up in the night feeling ill due to how warm it was. We would open the window but then would be woken early by noises outside. The staff are nice, 24 hour reception, nice bar, great wifi. Checking was good as provided us with everything we needed including a map of the city. I would stay here again, but would maybe pay a little more and see what that gets us. The bathroom was fab though, good shower! To be honest, we got th room fairly cheap so can't complain too much.
The venue is not located not in the very city centre but the centre can be reached easily by foot. The hotel has no own parking lot but the underground parking at the Schuman square is very near. The overall installation of the hotel is new and of good quality. We had a really spacious room for little money and was to the inner courtyard. Sleeping was good. The breakfast was not bad but it was freezing cold in there. Check-in was -out was quick and kind.
Had been looking for ages for a hotel in Luxembourg but glad settled for this one in the end (I'm very fussy :) ). Stayed in annexe across the road and room was very clean and had everything you needed in it. Only 10 minutes walk to centre so was a great location and five minutes walk to bus stop for airport. Staff were very helpful too and nothing was too much trouble. Only small gripe was cleaners knocked on door at 9am to clean room which in my mind too early when you are on a weekend away and then they were very noisy outside but as said a minor gripe and most people would be up and at breakfast at this time. Overall recommend this hotel.
Spent four nights here whilst visiting Luxembourg City. Well placed for Old City and local transport links, including No 16 bus to the Airport. Room was clean and well appointed with comfy bed, good shower/toilet room and led tv (only one channel in English tho'). On a bed only basis, so never tried the restaurant or the bar. But good WiFi throughout and very helpful staff.
The location of this hotel is simple great! It's a 10 minutes walk to the city center, and the route is lovely! Very clean place with friendly staff as well! Highly recommend this place for your visit!
The best part about this hotel is its location! It is a 10 minute (very simple) walk from the city centre and a 3 minute walk to a bus stop, which will take you anywhere! (Also public transport is free on the weekend so the bus is very handy). The staff in the reception were very friendly and the rooms were very clean! The hotel is very basic and the price is fairly steep as it is so basic but the location makes it worth it - we did book a 'supreme' room but I couldn't say anything that made it different from what you'd expect in a basic room. The one let down is that you have to pay extra for breakfast which is £15 per person per day, which we felt was too much. So we didn't bother and just did the 10 minute walk into town every morning to get breakfast! There's also some quieter cafes round the corner from the hotel as an option! Overall a satisfactory stay in a beautiful city!
We arrived at the hotel too early to check in but the staff helpfully agreed to hold our bags while we went out for the day. When we returned we were expecting to get put in the annexe part but were pleasantly surprised we were in the main hotel. Our room was fine with a comfy bed and air conditioning which was really handy and it was about 35 degrees when we were there! The Wifi worked perfectly and there was a selection of drinks plus a mini bar, The shower was good and the hotel itself was only a short walk away from the centre of Luxembourg. We chose not to have breakfast as we felt that at £14 each it was a bit pricey.
I booked this with a group of friends for a weekend in Luxembourg. We booked via Hotels.com and the others booked direct and we were placed in the Annex. The hotel staff kindly upgraded us to stay in the same side as our friends in the main hotel which was the first part of the excellent service we received - but do be aware there is another part to the hotel across the road. The room was spacious, the shower was powerful and there was a mini bar & fridge too. My friends stayed in larger rooms with a sofa area and a bigger bathroom too which were lovely. There were external shutters too which blocked all light and was ideal for a good night sleep. The whole hotel was clean, very safe and the location was extremely close to the city centre, less than a 10 minute walk and the on street parking outside is free. The number 16 bus drops off right by the hotel from the airport and is €2. I was ill on the final night and the staff let me check out late and couldn't have been more helpful. I'd stay again just for the lovely team on the front desk. Very well located, great bar/club Hitch just down the road, close to town, quiet area and very safe. Highly recommended.
I reserved a single room with a single bed.. very small room, however I didn't miss anything: the room was comfortable and quite with a 42" TV .... The hotel is close by the bus stop and walking distance from downtown. Suggested! Special thanks to Ali at the desk!
My partner and I bought a room for two nights in this hotel on hotels.com. We did pay a discounted rate (not by much) so didn't expect their finest rooms, but the one we got was disappointing. We were escorted to an annex which in principle is fine, but I think permits less than four star quality if not attached to the main hotel. The double bed was two twins pushed together, we faced a cement wall, and there was a generator tuning on and off all night making quite an unpleasant sound! We both have bad backs from the mattress quality (despite being in our twenties!). Despite this, it was a nice, clean room, and the bathroom was lovely as were the products provided.
I have rarely seen such a great hotel. The rooms are very clean and arranged so nicely. Their is nothing to say about the staff ( very kind, very helpful, very professional). The rates are ok. The Breakfast offers a large choice of food.
I booked a single room which was not located in the main building but in an annex on the other side of the street. My room was very big and comfy and clean. Toilet was clean too. The staff was very kind. Prices are high but Luxembourg city is extremely expensive. Good location just 6-7 minutes walking from the city center.
Good hotel for our last minute trip planned to Luxembourg. Nothing fancy about this property but it does the trick for a simple stay. It is about a 15 minute walk to the city and parking is 5 minutes away.
Hotels in Luxembourg tend to be expnsive, hence this is probably a gem for the price paid. We were placed in an annex across the road which was only a 30m walk so not too bad, but possbly not ideal if you havbe a need to visit reception on a regular basis. Breakfast would have been 15 EURO but we did not try it. The location is very handy for the number 16 bus directly to the airport and for buses to the city centre and main railway station. The rooms were clean and tidy but probably only just up to 4 star standard. However the price was relatively cheap compared to comparable hotels.
The top things about this hotel is that it is affordable and nicely located at walking distance to the inner centre. Furthermore, it was very clean, has all the amenities you need, and if you come here at the weekend, there is free parking right at the door. If you want to have a nice view, you may want to check the rooms before you take one, because ours had a window right next to a blind wall of the building next to it. It didn't really bother us because we were out most of the time, but you may prefer a nicer view.
It redefines the phrase 'rubbish hotel'. I should have known when I stepped into the corridor - mustiness, I think it is. But first you encounter a surly receptionist. I'm tempted say if you don't want a job, leave. Then there is a slow and tiny lift - don't bring a bag or, if you do, leave your spouse at home, you can't fit both in at the same time - and a tiny room (though to be fair I can only just touch opposite walls of the room at the same time). There is no air conditioning, the single bed is narrow, the bathroom is a mish-mash of items apparently bought in a sale, the window is tiny, the room airless. And it's 32 degrees today. There is a Dan which you can plug in. But if you turn off the room lights at the switch on the wall the fan also switches off. The bedside light works though. Great engineering chaos. As unappealing a combination of charmless elements as I have ever seen. You could write a book about it and call it 'How not to run a hotel'. Truly dreadful. Why BEST Western. What is it 'best' compared to? I'm being charged to stay here. They should be paying me.
The best thing about this hotel is the friendly, enthusiastic staff; the second best is the free parking on the street outside. We found the rooms clean and well prepared, but the decor in the room itself rather dated - it felt very mid-1990s - though at least the bathroom was more modern. Most irritatingly, though, the air con was about as effective as a wasp's fart, which wasn't helpful as we were staying on one of the warmest nights of the year so far. So we slept rather fitfully. Comfortable beds, mind you, and the big screen TV was a nice touch - easier to watch than the tiny little thing you usually get. And the location was another strong point - about a 10-minute walk through parkland to the city centre. All in all, then, a decent experience, but one I'd more readily associate with a three-star hotel than four.
The hotel has great location. The anex on the opposite side of the street is not a problem. The room is comfortable and wide. Breakfast has also many options. The best is the staff, that is very kind and attentive. It'a a good choice in the town.
We stayed at the annex part of the hotel across the street from the main building. There is a busy road next so the traffic noise might disturb sleep. The city centre is very near. The room was compact and clean. The receptionist was friendly.
The hotel is expertly located just a 10 min walk from the centre. In terms of the price we had a very large room as well as a balcony! I read several reviews about noise from the annexe side of the hotel but me and my partner did not notice this...I had mentioned when booking that it was a surprise trip for my partners birthday and they provided us with a drink voucher upon arrival too! Overall extremely happy with our stay here.
A room here over the Easter holidays was cheaper than in comparable hotels in the city center. The distance to the center was less than 1 km so it was not bad. There were some restaurants, two supermarkets and a bakery close to the hotel. The museums in Park Dräi Eechelen were a bit over 1 km away. A major bus stop (Foundation Pescatore) was a few hundred meters away with buses e.g. to the airport, the railway station and even many villages outside the Luxembourg City. Overall the location was good even though it wasn't in the center. Our room faced the inner yard and it was clean and quiet. It was a business suite, which was small for a suite, but we knew that at the time of booking. On the other hand the bathroom was large, about as big as the bedroom. The sofa in the living room was not a sofa bed and there was no TV in the living room. Breakfast was available for 15 euros per person. It was ok, but not fancy. Service was friendly and helpful.
This is a well located hotel in the city, walking distance to the city centre. The hotel is modern, clean and the rooms are comfortable. The shower however is in the bath and cramped and the rooms facing the road are very noisy. There's a good selection of food for breakfast but the fruit salad still had frozen bits in it.
Good location to see the wonderful sights in Luxembourg, we enjoyed our stay in the annexe building across the road from the main hotel, room was clean and comfortable, only small niggles, the main door banged shut every time anyone came in or out of the building at all times of night, a soft close on the door would stop this, so simple to solve. The maids also started work very early so noisy in the mornings. Can't fault location or the extra touches in the room and nice staff, we would return as the city is so lovely, it's a great choice for a weekend break.
This hotel is located on a very busy road , so if you have a room at road side this is not the best . The hotel is located not in the best area of the city . Streets are not clean and is a different style as the centre. Hotel does not have a parking but there is a big public parking on 5 min walk. 1€ per hour from 8 am till 6 pm. The hotel room is clean with locker and wide screen tv . The bed is not that good, old wooden frame making noises with every move . The shower was good with strong beam . Internet was free . The breakfast was like the most in France a bit sober not that much choice. The reception was really friendly with good service and a smile . There is a fitness although this is a very small room in the basement . Price is about 170€ per night which is for this hotel a bit to high . But in Luxembourg you only find cheaper around 10 km outside city centre . This hotel is about 15 minutes walk to centre .
Just had a short break in luxembourg staying at this hotel. A lovely hotel with great staff very clean, would stay here again perfect location 10 mins walk from centre where there restaurants and bars.
Stayed in main hotel (not annex), very fast and friendly check in. Modern room with queen bed and quiet at night. Lobby bar not busy, drinks are a bit pricey for the area. Limited services nearby. Walk to city centre was about 5 blocks and bus stop from airport about 1 block. Overall a good place to stay.
Great central location, nice and clean hotel with welcoming and helpful staff. Only a 10 min stroll through local park into the main centre. You are offered a breakfast but €15 per head you are better off walking to the centre and having a much cheaper alternative. Loads of choice in the centre too. Will happily recommend the hotel. If you have the choice ask for your room to be on the non-road side as traffic noise was considerable even though there's such little traffic in Luxembourg over the weekend.
Easy to find with pay by day public parking near by. Staff very friendly and helpful. Our air con didn't work but they quickly supplied us with a fan...and we got a free breakfast which was excellent. Everything was clean...It was a good stay.
Fine for a business stopover when just needing a room and breakfast. Mine was in the annexe, which is over the street from the main hotel. It had its own breakfast lounge, quite small and poky, though some might say 'intimate'. Honestly, it was fine, and the bedroom was quite big. Not much to do around there, and not a great choice of places to eat out within walking distance (that I could find anyway), but if you're here on business and watching the expense account then this fits the bill.
If I would visit Luxemburg I will book the same hotel again. Clean, friendly, acceptable breakfast, convenient with urban buses, quite spacious rooms excellent for the price. The bathtub was good, the quality of the interior decoration nice and the double bed and bed linen were excellent.
I am a diamond member of the BW and expect a high level of standard. So when I stayed at 2 BW twice in a space of 2 weeks and found that both times I was cheated and lied to, I had to write a review about it. My parents were travelling with me and I opted for the BW because I was promised an upgrade upon arrival. When checking in, i was proudly informed that I was upgraded. but at check out, once again, the staff member was bewildered as to why I was informed about my 'upgrade' but was still in a standard room. My AC unit again was not working (a week before in dusseldorf BW, I had the same problem), but this time the staff member huffed and puffed, touched my AC vent and proclaimed that it was working. My old parents slept all night in sweat patches because of the 27 degree heat. The parking situation is 'street parking' and the staff was not sure if it was free. I had to take a picture of the meter and show it to them to confirm. The distance of the hotel from central is about a 20 minute walk. It has a nice jap restaurant acorss the hotel and some other food places, so in that sense it was a decent location. No 'shops' as such nearby, for that you must go into center. only things near by are coffee shops and food places like kebab houses and subway. Room was shabby and there is trick to drawing the curtains, so don't assume its not working, ask receptionist on how to operate the shutters. TV was a tiny 12 inch monitor and not user friendly. We were stuck on watching the same channel all weekend. Probably would not stay here again. Pay a little extra and go somewhere else.
Guiseppe D, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Grand Hotel Victor Hugo, responded to this review
Dear client, Thank you for taking the time and completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our property. On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we offer a better experience for guests in the future. We have blinds to fully dark the room, unfortunately you didnt find them but our staff explained to you how to use it. The AC problem is solved in our hotel. I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience. If I can provide any assistance, please don't hesitate to contact me directly at +352 26 27 440. BEST regards Viktoria Hübert
Very good hotel, with good rooms, good breakfast and an excellent staff. Clean, renewed and close to the centre (ten minutes walk) and to the business area (15 minutes walk). It's really a great choice to stay in Luxembourg.
When you take a room on the front side which is facing the street Victor Hugo it can be very loud. The isolation of the windows is not adequate and there is during the night and in particular in the morning too much traffic. On the flip side, I arrived late and the Portier was very nice. I asked for a glass of wine, and he really did lots of efforts to find a nice one for me.
I arrived late and the Porter was ready with my key. I was in the room within minutes. Room was simple and clean. With the hard floor I was concerned about the noise but I can honestly say I didn't really hear much noise. I had twin beds - I would of preferred double but I did not book this room - it was done for me. Shower was great - only gripe is I had a shower one night, put the settings right, but the maid must of changed them to was the shower - it was on Max temp so I nearly got burnt Bar is nice and simple 10 mins walk into town centre as well Recommended - I will be back
I stay here often for work visits. All the staff here are excellent, especially the front desk, Halim, Sandra, Siriya and Viktoria (Halim's restaurant recommendations are fantastic). The rooms are excellent and each room has "shut-out" blinds so you can get a good nights sleep. The breakfast has a wide choice of things to eat, and the WIFI has a good signal and is fast. Its only a 5 minute walk to the city centre, although most of the best places to eat are around the hotel in the Limpertsberg area. Would strongly recommend.
I had the pleasure to stay in the hotel 2 times this year and looking forward to the next good opportunity. The hotel is quite central from my point of view as you get access not only to a huge parking for free from 19:00 to 08:00 at place glacis but also benefit for the bus station Fondation Pescatore in walking distance with direct connection to the airport (Bus 18) via the Avenue Kennedy with all the EU, banking and legal offices or to the train station. You have a supermarket around the corner a good burger restaurant Hitch - where Food Meets Party :-) and other bistro, cafe, restaurants in walking distance. And if you decide to take a walk to the city center and the palace and enjoy in these surroundings some great places for food and/or drink it would not take more than 20 min. So no real need for a taxi unless your health condition does not allow it. The ways are flat no ups and downs unless you decide to walk to the Grund...but also there you have the option to take an elevator to get down in Grund. The Best Western on avenue Hugo is very good equipped, very clean and the staff is very friendly and helpful. My personal appreciation to HALIM at the reception desk who was so helpful during the last 2 stays either by managing and extension of my stay or even finding and booking my bonus points with the Best Western program. It is great to know that one can rely on people, get help when needed and be treated politeful and respectful. Many thanks! Looking forward to the next stay in the hotel.
Excellent hotel. Really looked after us (Cricket team from UK on tour). Staff were brilliant. Rooms really clean. Helped us with directions and taxi's whenever we needed them. Only down side was the lack of staff especially in reception.
Booked three rooms in the annexe with the family to see my son, the staff are very friendly,we were recommended the room for me and my wife on the same floor as the rest of the family to our dismay the room was very dark,when going to the window we found that we faced a wall and the only day light you had was to lean out the window and look up. As it was a short trip we decided to just grin and bear it but once we went to bed we could hear the generator from next doors bar going off making a loud humming and then the bar staff would come out and throw empty bottles in the bin! Even with the window closed you could hear this we didn't have one nights good sleep shame as the rest of the family did I don't think I'll stay again.
The staff really helped us out with parking, and a lot of other stuff. We came here duting the Luxembourg National Day celebrations, great view of the fireworks from the hotel room. We will definitely stay here again.
Guiseppe D, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Grand Hotel Victor Hugo, responded to this review
Dear Bjorn, many thanks for your comment. We are glad to hear that you liked our hotel and your room. It was a pleasure having you in our hotel and we hope to welcome you back soon.
We were initially booked for 2 nights but could only stay 1 due to our mistake in not booking a dedicated disabled room for my brother. Halim went beyond the call of duty in trying to locate another suitable hotel for us! He couldn't do enough for us, so kind and helpful so due to his remarkable assistance we shall return ourselves one day to further explore the lovely city and surrounds.
Guiseppe D, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Grand Hotel Victor Hugo, responded to this review
Dear Jenny, many thanks for your postive comment. it was a pleasure having you in our hotel. Good to hear that Halim could assist you with your requests and provided a good service, we are glad to have him in our team. We hope to welcome you in our hotel again.
Pluses - quite good location, helpful staff and tasty breakfast. The bed was not so comfortable . The room was quite noisy . I agree with the other comments on this site - not really a 4 stars hotel .
As I walked to the Hotel, leaving the city center I got a bit concerned about what I'd signed up for. Though a short distance from the lovely part of Luxembourg, the streets just around this hotel seem dirtier and sketchier. Once in the hotel, things were clean, nicely decorated and well taken care of. There were the necessary amenties and comforts one would expect from a hotel room like toilettries and a fitness room. I agree with other comments on this site that it is a surprise to see 4 stars on this hotel, though the service was lovely and I was not lacking for anything. One particular point: I like to have total darkness in my room and in my room there are thin drapes that let through the sunlight and thicker curtains but that don't close. With the light on in my room,people in the street can see me walking around in my PJs. Not so reassuring. :-/
The hotel was located just outside the city center, an easy walk to the old town. The staff were very pleasant, the breakfast was tasty, and the room was clean. There was absolutely no character, but I don't expect character in a BW. It was a very nice budget room in an expensive city, and I would definitely return if visiting again. The only drawback was the road the hotel was on had a lot of bus traffic, which was noisy.
The bed was very umconfortable, the room was not well isolated from street noise, and the TV was not well positionned (without remote control). Located at 10 minutes by feet from the center, staff very, nice and nice decoration.
Hotel well located, close to tourist area and the business center. Spent 4 nights and the staff was always helpful. Great buffet-style breakfast. The room was nice, modern and clean, a bit small but in line with European standards. Air conditioning can be a bit noisy. Rooms a bit pricey but price seems to be in line with other hotels in Luxembourg. I recommend this hotel.
Hotel room was clean, but bed was small. Breakfast is the same everyday and rather limited in selection - no fresh juice, and small selection of fresh fruit. Wifi was good and staff friendly. No bottles of water provided in room. The location is ok, a short walk to city center, but not much of interest right close by and not close to any little general purpose stores.
Was a bit unsure about a Best Western, but the room was excellent. Roomy, nicely appointed, very large bathroom. All in all quite nice and definitely worth consideration when visiting. Only slight down side was the location (and parking). Its certainly not far from places of interest, but you couldn't just pop out of the hotel and 'be there'. Not a lot of food choices on the block. To be fair, was only there one night so didn't explore the surrounding blocks much. I've stayed in Luxembourg five or six times and as far as the room goes this one's my favorite, but least favorite location. I do recommend it though.
I have spent here several times a few days. I (like almost everyone) was on a short business trip. The rooms get what you need, basic accessories and it is a good place to have a rest. I really like a the breakfast. It is plenty and good selection. However there are two things which are not okay. One of them is the wifi. It is slow and unstable. As a business traveller this is a really big problem. It took me five minutes to download one e-mail (not always, but very often). Also they should consider putting a bigger table in the rooms. The tables are small. They can barely hold a computer. The staff - however - was really-really nice!
In plus: Friendly staff, good location (10 minutes walk from city centre), room had everything you need. In minus: Room was noisy (although we asked for a quiet one). I do not think it was that particular room which was noisy, as walls separating rooms were made of 'paper' - very thin. You could actually hear everything what was going on at your neighbours.
From the male receptionist in the pm to the ladies in the morning every thing is perfect. The housekeeping team is well organized, no early noise or vacuum ... The breakfast is just superb. The lobby is well decorated , the bar calm to finish some work while enjoying an Italian wine. The room is perfectly set for a good sleep. Wifi is free but now days w great operators deals we can have 4g everywhere especially if we travel for business. Good rates for a luxembourg hotel,being few blocks away from the city center or kirchberg. No parking but what do u expect from a city hotel.there is a big parking lot 1 minute walk.10 euros a day , great deal. Highly recommend this hotel for business or a city trip.
Spent there a night during a business trip. I was booked into annex across the street and the room was not that big. However, it had all the basics, was very clean (which is not a matter of course at other places) and quiet, which is the most important feature a room should have when you are preparing for a meeting on the next day. Try to book breakfast, which it is quite OK and there are not many other options outside.
It was a very disappointing value-for-money experience. The bed was one of the most uncomfortable I have ever slept in . The double bed was in fact made of two single cheap quality mattresses put together, leaving a huge gap in between. The hard floor ( no carpets) resulted in noise coming from every where - it did not help that the rooms were not well insulated from the sound, and that the hotel is on a very busy street. The TV remote control did not work - the batteries were rusting inside it! Although wifi is free, it was not reliable. Not acceptable for a rate of 150 euro per night (breakfast not included) for the standard double bedroom. I did not have any meal in the hotel. . On the positive side, the hotel is located fairly close to the European insitutions. Not very close to the railway station though. Staff was polite and helpful
It is a hotel well located. Not just in the city center but close to it (15 minutes by walk). The hotel is nice and comfortable. Rooms are clean and big and the Internet connection works very well. As for the breakfast, it is very complete. There is also a fitness room.
Clean room comfortable bed. Reasonable bathroom. I didn't like the tiles on the floor in the bedroom. It's a strange choice for a city hotel. Carpets would be much preferable. The curtains were a total disgrace being a light see-through material which kept virtually no light out of the room and allowed it to be seen from across the street if you have the light on. I would stay here again if the price was right (we paid about €60.
Guiseppe D, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Grand Hotel Victor Hugo, responded to this review
Dear Pipehitter, Thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our property. Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come back and see us again soon. All our rooms are equipped with blinds to have a room as dark as possible. e feel very sorry that you didn't find them. They just behind the curtains. Thank you again for taking the time to complete the survey. We appreciate your loyalty to our brand. Sincerely, Director BEST WESTERN PLUS Grand Hotel Victor Hugo
Good: Walking distance from city center, also close to EU district Free wifi Clean room Clean bathroom Low price for room Shops and restourants nearby, big variety I will come back for sure Not so good -small room -quite noisy(room faceing street)
Guiseppe D, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Grand Hotel Victor Hugo, responded to this review
Dear GAVIN LEAGAS, Thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our property. Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come back and see us again soon. If I can be of assistance in the future, please don't hesitate to contact me at +352 26 27 440. Thank you again for taking the time to complete the survey. We appreciate your loyalty to our brand. Sincerely, Director BEST WESTERN PLUS Grand Hotel Victor Hugo
This was a clean, comfortable room. Wifi was great. Location very good. My only complaint is that my room in the annex was very close to the elevator and stairs and sound really travels. I would request a different room if I stayed there again. Otherwise, no problems at all.
I deliberately chose this hotel as it is away from the centre of Luxembourg, but it is still very easy to get to. It is a nice business hotel, in easy accessible area with some lovely local restaurants, coffee shops and bars. Overall my stay at this hotel didn't disappoint. The staff were friendly and my room was clean and comfortable. I can't comment on the breakfast as I didn't have one.
We stayed at the Best Western in Luxembourg Oct 5-6. It was our first visit there. The staff were exceptionally helpful and we can't say enough about their attentiveness and assistance. They went beyond what is expected these days. The room was spacious and clean and offered all the amenities - a safe, fridge, heated towel racks, etc. The only issue we had was with the a/c, regardless of the thermostat setting it blasted hot air. The simple solution was to turn it off and open the window. It is a 15 minute walk to the main part of the city but relative to the cost it was not a significant factor.
A nice hotel lobby, and large rooms with large bathrooms. My curtains would not close though, and the technology in the room was ancient. Was convenient for the concert venue we were attending. The price seemed steep for what it was. The hotel is about a twenty minute walk from the downtown area perhaps 45 from the central train station.
Stayed at this Hotel 7th to 10th September 2015. Very clean, quiet and well priced. Short walk to shopping and sight seeing. Enjoyed stay there very much. Lovely meals. Would recomend highly for any one wishing to visit Luxembourg.
This hotel is about 3km outside of the city centre with good access to buses. However, I'd have preferred to have been in the Old Town of Luxembourg. The neighbourhood is quite nice with a large number of decent restaurants around it. A 1.5km walk from the hotel takes you to places only the locals would really eat at which is great. The rooms are small but have everything you need. Staff are friendly and helpful.
Located close enough to old town and other tourist sights. Cheap/free overnight car park round the corner. Pleasant breakfast in conservatory, though when it rains there can be leaks!! Helpful receptionist on desk. Thanks
Check in was straight forward and well handled but it went down hill from the point I was told I was staying in the annexe building on the opposite side of the road to the main hotel. The room itself was an average is size with a single bed. The view from the window was awful, overlooking a rear alley and back yards. The bathroom was reasonable size but with one of the smallest shower units I've seen in a hotel. Wifi in th eannexe was hit and miss - sometimes a really strong signal and other none at all. Be aware that the hotel has no restaurant facility and breakfast is served in a small area with insufficient space. Lots of people were doubling up on tables due to this. At 15 euros it really was not value for money at all. Overall the staff were very friendly. Maybe I just got unlucky staying in the annexe and the main building is far better, but if I was offered a room there again I would decline and stay elsewhere
Room was quite small, but good enough for two people. Little bit street noise came from windows (room was in second floor). Otherwise room was clean and cosy. Hotel staff was GREAT always helpful and friendly!
Wherever Life Takes You, Best Western Is There®
Each Best Western® branded hotel is independently owned and operated.