Whether you're sightseeing, working or visiting Reading University, you can expect clean, comfortable and affordable accommodation at Sure Hotel by Best Western Reading. This eye-catching red and grey brick building was originally constructed in the 1800s as a house in the same style as the famous Huntley & Palmers biscuit factory. The hotel is in a quiet spot opposite a lovely church but within walking distance of Reading town centre (less than a mile away) and Reading University (half a mile away). Each of our simply furnished en-suite rooms comes with a fridge and microwave, along with Freeview TV and tea and coffee-making facilities. Some feature a kitchenette, so you have everything you need to store and heat up food in the comfort of your room. Our reception is open 24 hours a day and, as part of your stay, you'll get complimentary use of our onsite gym, plus free Wi-Fi and parking. This enables you to leave your car at the hotel and walk or catch the bus into the centre of Reading so you don't have to pay parking fees. If you're here on a sightseeing trip, there's plenty to see and do in the region, including Windsor Castle (21 miles away), Legoland (18 miles) and Cliveden House (20 miles). The hotel is also just over a mile from Reading station, which has connections to London and Heathrow and Gatwick Airports.
Extremely dirty filthy smelly place. Sewage around the rooms in 800 is so bad making all rooms smelly, dirty inside. Extremely horrible receptionist I have even dealt with . It's actually a hostel not hotel.
Well It's simply tired and outdated. This is not hotel this is just a guesthouse not worth the money. No air-conditioning Strange set up in the rooms Need to be more cleaner Single glazed so quite noisy because next to the road Can get better Hotel for same price
Sure Hotel is clean and warm. Good quiet location with nice view of church from certain rooms. Also enjoyed the church clock chiming. The staff are cheerful and friendly. Breakfast had a lot of choice and flexible to give a takeaway container for someone unable to come to breakfast room. I will definitely stay here again
One night only. Parking easy and not too far from town 15min walk. Check in clunky and slow. Didn't get the room I booked but it was fine enough. Get what you pay for and this was ok for the money but in no way luxurious. Shower average but I thought the room was clean enough. Didn't use any facilities. Would potentially stay again if looking for a cheap room.
We stayed here for one night as a family when visiting Windsor. Whilst only being a two star hotel, the hotel is clean and comfortable and is doing everything it can to operate in a Covid secure way. The room had a good size fridge which was useful. Beds were comfortable. There is ample free parking too.
My only issue was the shower, the shower door should be on the opposite side than it is because it covers the show control so that it is impossible to run and set the water temperature before getting it. As it is you have to get in the shower and experiment ...too hot and scold yourself, too cold and shock! Move the door so that guests can set the temperature before getting in. There is no tray in the shower so you have nowhere to place shampoo. The shampoo provided although is free is far too small and barely washes let alone a body. It is a shame because otherwise, it is a nice shower room The reception was fantastic, friendly and helpful. Room was spacious and clean Great parking Beautiful building Excellent breakfast
We had stayed at this hotel twice before, but this was the first time since it was taken over by Best Western. A lot, if not all, of the hotel had been redecorated and had new carpets. Our room in the Coach House was clean and well laid out. There was an en suite with shower. I would have preferred a bath, but maybe if we'd asked we could have been allocated a room with one. There was a kitchenette with Sink, microwave, fridge, cupboards with cutlery and crockery. We took in microwavable meals and ate in our room. The bed was comfortable. Heating in the room was efficient and controllable. Plenty of free parking. We paid for breakfast at the hotel, which was basic. Orange juice and a choice of cooked food. No cereals or croissants etc, but what we had was well cooked and hot. Pleasant staff. Would stay there again.
Book on booking.com , upgraded to a executive double , website states room is 199 sq ft and they are advertising hotel as 3 star. Room no more than 120 sq ft bed against wall ( no access from one side) bathroom so small when sat on toilet your legs are under basin. Called reception to ask if in correct room, receptionist not interested in helping just said it's executive because it's been refurbished.went to reception at 7:30 am to speak to management, again reception completely unhelpful , saying no management on duty night manager gone home , day manager not available until 2:30. Covid No mask being worn at check-in or around hotel by guest or staff On check in receptionist showed us to our room without a mask , handling our key card and entertaining our room, which should not happen as our room is our bubble, have these people been trained ? Just now received a email telling me that it's a 2 star budget hotel not 3 star as per booking.com website. Executive upgrade in budget hotel, well thats a new one on me .
katy beeson, General Manager at Sure Hotel by Best Western Reading, responded to this review
Thank you for your feedback. I have spoken to Booking.com this morning the error is on their part regarding the hotel star rating; we have always been a two star. They have also amended the hotel name in their description when we changed it 2019 so they have pressed something incorrectly on their system. I have asked them to contact you to apologise for their error, I do hope that they do this. I am sorry that you were unhappy with the room, I believe this to be down to expectation as you were thinking you had booked a three star hotel, for this I am sorry. If the staff had known that you were unhappy with the bed against the wall we would have certainly offered you an alternative but they were not aware that this was a problem. We have just passed a COVID19 inspection by the tourist board; we are all wearing masked except behind reception where there is a screen. We are using special cleaning products and take the COVID situation very seriously.
I've been staying here for quite some time and wanted to make a point of letting anyone thinking of staying here know that the staff here go above and beyond for all guests, I lost my phone one night and a young woman (Susannah I believe) made a point of trying to locate it on her computer for me, I walk by every day and they're nothing but polite, and just tonight the night manager mark went out of his way to make sure I felt ok as I felt a tad ill, amazing people and great value, definitely recommend!
This hotel was well placed for our visit to daughter and family. It was easy to find, the room was very clean and comfortable, and also quiet. Plenty of room to park the car. Not sure if breakfast was available in the main building but we had a kitchenette so easy to make drinks and 'quick' porridge. As we were there to visit family did not do any touristy things but I know there is plenty to see and do in Reading and it offers easy access to the countryside around.
Very nice stay good free parking town centre is approximately 15 min walk away perfect. Local shops and pub very close bye just perfect,very good for for all f Reading as you can just walk yo most places.
Found this hotel a couple of months ago when I moved offices. Very comfortable beds, the fridge and microwave gives an easy option to the continual eating out at restaurants (those who stay away a lot will understand). Rooms are always clean and tidy, staff very friendly, good bar that does food as well
I stayed in this hotel because I had an interview the next day in the surrounding area. On arrival I received my room key and went up to my room. Upon opening the door I was hit with the smell of cigarette smoke and the room had not yet been made up yet. There was rubbish everywhere and the bed had not been made. I went down to reception to inform them of my misfortunate experience to which they responding by giving me a new room. I then went up to the new room and the key didn't work. I then went back down to reception for the third time and reported this- they fixed the room key and I went up to my new room to be greeting with a strong stale tobacco smell. I was up all night as the bed was uncomfortable and the fridge in the room made a loud noise. When I got up in the morning to take a shower it was cold and I could not change the temperature of the shower. Then, when I went to dry my hair before my interview the hair dryer did not work. I will not be staying here again and I don't recommend this to anyone.
I only needed a bed for the night to make my early start the next day in the area more bearable. Luckily I arrived even later that I had originally planned. After paying for the full breakfast to be told that breakfast starts at 7.am, when I was leaving at 6.45! Told that maybe the kitchen cold leave out some continental breakfast bits for me - i'm guessing not much more than a box of cereal! I was booked into the Annex, as I opened the building door I was greeted with the overwhelming smell of smoke & marijuana. I couldn't get to my room quick enough. I was next to the car park, large draughty windows with only slat blinds. So the room was never dark or completely private. Had anyone stood close to the window they could see in. I could certainly see them. The room was small and the bed pushed into the corner by the window to make more room to walk past. I did go back to reception to ask if the block was smoking, I was told it wasn't, but the response I got was "oh, I shall try to work out who that is". Well it's not difficult is it, the smell is a give-away. Even if they did discover who it was, they didn't get it to stop. The smell was just as fresh the next morning. I had used my bags to block the large gap under the door to stop the light & smell coming in. Great i'm sure to have a fridge, perhaps if the room is big enough, but when it is just in the cupboard next to the bed, I was kept awake by the car park lights and the noise of the fridge. I could have cried, money wasted, no real sleep and hardly a safe feeling away from home. I could on about the features of the room and what wasn't great, but they are almost insignificant to the rest. I just know I will not be staying again and will think twice before trusting Best Western!
The rooms and hotel is excellent in terms of service and quality . The room has basically everything from microwave to heat food , nice and big rooms , 32 inch TV and free internet . I have nothing bad to say about the hotel room and service
Pretty tired looking and run down rooms. Damp patch on the ceiling, everything crammed in and generally could do with redecorating all over as wallpaper is marked and peeling. Everything seems clean, just really tired.
Absolutely lovely stay here at the sure hotel in Reading. Fantastic rooms with a fridge, cutlery and plates. The staff were amazing, they went out of their way to upgrade our rooms to ensure we were all next to each other at no extra cost. I loved our stay here and will absolutely be staying again.
Had a one night stay with a few friends and have no complaints. Rooms were affordable, had everything we wanted and no one had any issues. Staff were all very friendly and helpful. We'll definitely come back.
Just returned from a one night stay and for a 2 star hotel I can't fault it; I've stayed in 3 star hotels not up to this standard! I like the option of self catering and nice to see that rooms also provide crockery and cutler,y which is a nice thought as not encountered this in such establishments abroad! Thank you to all the staff, especially reception staff that made me so welcome and looked after my needs :-).
There are many reasons you might want to budget hotel but if you do you at least want to know it's clean and tidy. This hotel is a little scruffy around the edges but actually it offers a remarkably large amount of facilities and is in a very good location with parking. I have stayed on several locations at great prices.The room is a little scruffy the tiling in the bathroom is old-fashioned and doesn't match but it's been cleaned properly and does the job. In addition the room has a microwave and the fridge so if you can't afford to go out from meal we can always ping something yourself. Lots of parking a couple of local nearby pubs and a few takeaways as well. You can get a bus into the town centre or alternatively it's about a 20 minute walk. So if you are on a budget this is a good deal. Nice friendly and helpful staff as well.
I have never stayed at a hotel like this. A room like MR scanner. Paying more for transferring to another room. Non- operating heating system. Irrelevant and ignorant staff. Several times a day, I had informed them of the problem with the heating system.
Well stocked rooms with microwave and kettle, always very clean. Helpful check in staff who consider parking etc and provide a consistently good service during regular (weekly) stays. Thoroughly recommend for a basic hotel stay in Reading.
The best service I have had in a hotel; friendly helpful and the staff go out of their way to ensure you have comfortable stay. Rooms are basic but then it is two star budget hotel. Breakfast was of high quality and served with a smile. Rooms are clean and even the housekeepers seemed happy. Close to the town and plenty of free parking. Wifi signal was reliable. Compared to other hotels prices are low in an expensive town, believe me I shopped around. A bit of a gem.
Rooms are very clean and have very comfortable beds, rooms come with a small kitchen area with fridge ,microwave and kettle and hob, which is very handy. well placed for a short walk into the town center or to catch the 24 hour number 21 bus service. I was presently surprised at the high quality of the hotel for the price with free parking as well. I would highly recommend
I'm surprised that this is part of Best Western. Very disappointing as reception could not find room, then when going to lounge found ceiling had been badly repaired and not painted was leaking again. All furniture was very well worn and had to in in lounge as restaurant was prepared for breakfast. Ordered Tikka Massala but when arrived only had three/four pieces of burnt chicken in it and no heat or flavour. The second night I checked in again due to work and went to a room where the carpet was soaked and weirdly the bed was soaked including the duvet but the ceiling was all dry so had to move me to another room.
Firstly getting to the checkout desk can be quite a challenge if someone is already being served as the front opens directly into people. The staff were friendly but asked for payment despite my company having already paid upfront when booking. I checked into my upgraded standard room and couldn't believe my eyes!!! I had a large fridge with microwave onto, two beds one single one double, however, they were extremely uncomfortable (I could see the springs) and the duvets were very thin. The bathroom was basic but the best part of the room. I couldn't find the electric point to use the TV but I did have a few ants to keep me company by the work desk. I asked if I could have a different room and was shown a standard room which didnt even have a shower appliance. I was not given any information on where to get dinner or breakfast. Other guests were asking to swap rooms. I stay in hotels 3nights a week every week and have never checked out of a hotel within the same hour of checking in. It was worth losing the money and staying at the Ibis instead.
I love this hotel . I stay every weekend due to the current climate of housing prices me and my partner live with parents and this hotel provides us great value rooms with a fridge and microwave. A very short walk into the town centre and plenty of free parking . All staff are great . I have been staying hear for nights out for years and won't go anywhere else .
We went to Sure Hotel for a visit to our old uni town and it didnt dissapoint! We got a free upgrade, from put lovely concierge and the room was clean, cozy and spacious. Location is very good as close to the uni and town so we just walked to get to the hotel.
I've stayed at the Sure Hotel (which also seems to be called the Hillingdon Prince) a couple of times recently. Great value for money as it was less than half the proce of the local Travelodge on the dates I stayed. First time was a single room in a separate building part of the complex. Very small room but had everything you needed, it looked to have been recently refurbished and was spotlessly clean. Second time I had a double room in the main building, a bit more space and nice and clean. Both rooms had the benefit of a fridge and microwave. The full breakfast with continental buffet was good and not too badly priced at a tenner. Alsdo one advantage unlike the travelodge is that there is parking, a real bonus in Reading where paid parking is pretty expensive.
Pleasent person when booking in. We were shown to a room in another building away from the main hotel. There We're puddles on the way. The room was good, looked as though it had been refurbished.The fried Breakfast on the first morning was good, on the second morning the hash brown was rock hard the fried eggs were hard, the bacon like rubber. We were very dissapointed with it, we can only assume there was a change of chef on the second day. Also there was water coming through the breakfast room ceiling on the second day as it was raining, not good, as they already had water issues. They need to spend money on this hotel to bring it up to a reasonable standard
We booked a family room for 3 for two persons (my wife and me). We were looking for a refurbished twin room, and this room was offered to us. The size was ok for a couple but too small for three persons. Where should the people sit in the evening if there is only one chair? Where do I arrange my clothes if there is only an open hanger but no cupboard? Why do I need a fridge and a micro-wave in the room? Would I book a room that smells from the precessor guest? The bathroom looks newer (tiles, floor) but the tap technology is not adequate to 21st century. Where would you find two separate taps for warm and cold water? Do you first rinse warm water into the sink before you can wash your face with warm water? If you take a shower you want to regulate the temperature yourself but do you first want to dismantle the apparatus to get the water a bit warmer? We booked breakfast in advance for GBP 9.00 but the variety was very limited. Same "bread" (not suitable for European stomachs) every day, always same natural yoghurt, fresh fruit for the cereal from the can. We have expected a bit more for this price. Once in a week (Sunday) room was not serviced which was done again on Monday. We had the room because it was 5 minutes walk away from the appartment of our son who lives in Reading. And it was quiet (location was a big plus!). Next time I would search for a private B&B instead.
Placed in a room that was nothing more than a vacant studio apartment...room was filthy, and was not in anyway connected to the main premises. With no phone, if you wanted to speak to anyone you had to walk outside and across to the main building, For £78 this sort of room was unacceptable. The heating didn't work so when I did go back to the main desk to report this I was provided another room in the main building which was considerably better.
This place isn't expensive, it's a short walk to town, and if all you need is a bed for the night in a clean hotel with no frills or unnecessary extras, it's perfect. The staff are polite and helpful, the rooms are a decent size, and considering how little we paid for it we couldn't have asked for more. It's a great building too.
Close to town, parking. Rooms clean, staff friendly shower great. Also decent price. Now for the down side. Room had small double and single. Double only suitable for 1 adult or 2 children. It was pressed up against a wall so hard to get out of if you wanted to use bathroom. Also states there is a bar, It was nice comfortable area in need of decorating. Bar had 6-10 spirits and 1 beer on tap. Also closed at 10.30 on a Friday evening,
Over all I'm very happy with our stay. I booked online and got an excellent deal. It was quite cold outside but our warm was lovely and warm. I was shocked the we had a mini kitchen ..which was great idea!
The hotel was very full with a group of cyclists. As a result my room was not in the main hotel but I was lead past several houses to a large building up the road. My room was right at the top of the hotel and was in need of maintenance and had no soap tray in teh shower or anywhere to hang a towel. The staff were pleasant and apologetic and said they would have moved me if the hotel was not as full, hence the rating of 2 rather than just 1.
Stayed here again (third time), ideal for hospital appointments at Royal Berkshire, very comfortable, rooms well equipped with fridge, microwave, kettle etc. Plenty of crockery and cutlery, guests encouraged to make full use and there are plenty of small shops close by for provisions. Reception staff on arrival and checking out very helpful and friendly. Only rated 2 star but worth more for cleanliness, friendliness and value.
Homely, friendly hotel Close to town free parking Room was clean new bathroom good shower Breakfast I ordered an omelette was big and filling I was able to work in the lounge using free wifi after checkout Wifi reliable Would recommend to others looking for a low cost room
I stopped here for one night having looked at the hotel on the Best Western website. It looks a clean good hotel, but I was sadly mistaken. When arriving I checked in and was escorted outside and had to walk a 100 yards to another hotel, or part of the hotel. I was escorted up to a room which on the first floor was large but quite bare. A fridge and microwave which did not work. A desk which was a piece of work top at a height you could not possibly work at. The bathroom was down some stairs. The decor required a re-paint and the curtains and nets required throwing in the bin. I enquired regarding evening dinner and Toledo bar food was available. I could not have a cup of tea with the kettle requiring cleaning. The hotel is not to the normal standard and I would suggest you do not stop
Hotel looks lovely on the outsids, great location near universal and the Oracle and is clean and clear throughout, until the room. Stayed in one of the 'top studios' with kitchenette, dated dangerous looking stove, scruffy cabinets, tired looking cutlery and microwave. Bathroom so dirty I couldn't use the tiny shower 1st night, also dirty room, dead flies and other people's hair. Heating was also stuck on all night. Approached reception, lovely lady apologised, said the maintenance man would be sorting heating, and bathroom was cleaner ... air vent still filthy, and food from previous occupants still there. Bed was also uncomfortable, springs in my back. Also very popular with construction workers, all lively and polite , but noisy and smoking at every entrance, place stink. My business paid £95pn, insane. Never again
Friendly service, not just one but all staff were helpful and made me feel comfortable. Rooms are basic but spotlessly clean. Breakfast excellent I had the most amazing huge omelette highly recommended.
No in house food. Order from the bar and wait for delivery. The Roos have no sound proofing and many people shouting and chatting all bloody night. Bed is terrible, I would have been better off on the floor. I checked out early and made a note to never return.
We stayed at this hotel to be shown to a scruffy sub standard room, even by Best Western standards. So we asked to moved in agreement with my payment for an upgrade. We were shown a larger room that stank of stale milk, but as it was late, we put up with it. The bar area was closed, so a drink wasn't even an option. On the Saturday, I returned to the hotel at 3 pm to find that housekeeping had not changed the beds or towels or done anything about the smell. I reported to reception and the guy stated that housekeeping worked until 5 pm and that it would be done! I took him at his word and we went out for food. upon our return, the room still stank and had not been cleaned, no clean towels and no beds made!!!! First time that has ever happened to me.
Really clean, nice hotel to stay in. Has a very tiny gym which was useful. Great room with everything you need. Bar wasn't open until 6 but shops/pubs are just down the road. Staff were lovely too and very helpful.
katy b, General Manager at Sure Hotel by Best Western Reading, responded to this review
Thank you for taking time to review our hotel your feedback is really appreciated. I am glad to hear you had a great stay and look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Reading.
OK where do I start here!! We check in and the guy in reception said he would take us to our room (nice little touch I thought), when he put his coat on I thought "where is this room"? after leading us out of the hotel across "the car park into what could only be described as "student accommodation block" we were then lead around the whole block as he could not find our room!! this is while I was carrying all our bags, when he did find our room we were greeted with a "BUDGET ROOM" sign on the door!! nice. Down to the bar for some food where the guy who checked us in was also the barman! drinks consisted of "any cans from the fridge" as the ONE beer you have on tap is off!! The bar menu consisted of around 7 items 3 of which off the menu, we were then advised there is a good pub down the road!! So after we come back from the pub we went back to the room where I noticed many issues with the room, the room has not been cleaned in some considerable time, there is also some very poor maintenance.
katy b, General Manager at Sure Hotel by Best Western Reading, responded to this review
It is such a shame to read this review and sorry to hear that you did not have a good time at our hotel. I have already addressed your comments directly. I feel there was some confusion of the type of room / hotel that you had booked. Your booking agent made your reservation for a budget room in a 2 star hotel I feel that you didn't not realise this. A fair comment regarding the Fosters being off sale a part had broken and been ordered and we were awaiting this, it has now been fixed. We do however have a well stocked bar and offer alternative beers. Our bar meals are never out of stock and are homemade which is why we keep the menus to 7 items. Many years ago we had a full restaurant at the hotel but found as we are so close to town with a wide choice of eateries that guests would dine often dine out. Hence we now offer bar meals that are good quality, homemade and if you prefer a larger selection there are three places just a short walk from the hotel offering our guests discounts plus a further choice of dining in the town centre. I do hope you will try us again and maybe next time try either a standard room or a new club room as these may meet your requirements. Budget rooms are idea for cost conscious travellers who like the hotel facilities of a hotel on a b&b budget.
I would never stay at this hotel again, after a night of being woken up by only what i can describe as a church bell ringing on the hour every single hour some absolute idiot decided they were going to test the fire alarm at 5.30am!!!! No staff visible to reassure all was ok after the alarm, The room was small and smelt damp with stained carpets, shower no bigger than a single wardrobe, bathroom floor felt soft and sunken when stood on. Only positive was there is a fridge in the room!
Very friendly, efficient staff, good sized rooms, all with fridge and microwave, free internet. Ideal for families / couples looking for affordable accommodation near to Reading centre. Lots of attractions in surrounding area. Ive stayed here almost every weekend since March this year. Highly recommended
Staff were helpful. The chap before me had booked the wrong room (there was three of them and he'd booked one room with two beds) the staff were genuinely scrambling about trying to see what they could do to help, they were utterly sincere. Breakfast was great, a very good full English. They have an ice machine near reception ;-) but no ironing board in my room, did have a microwave oven though. Bathroom was in great condition and may have been renovated recently. You can get the windows opened to a decent degree for ventilation, not that half inch you get at other hotels. Bed was comfy and TV of a good size for the room. It wasn't the biggest hotel room I've ever stayed in but didn't feel small or cramped. Bed was large and very comfortable, slept right through the night. I interacted with four members of staff during my stay and they were all extremely helpful and interested in me and my stay. Car park is a little haphazard but I think we all got in, I arrived at midnight and found a place to park. I would definitely stay here again.
Check in was friendly and very quick My room was clean and had everything I needed I loved the fact I could cater for myself as I didn't feel like going out Very goodnight nights sleep and bed comfortable Breakfast in the morning was delicious and waitress was kind and helpful For the price you can't really go wrong
I was working in reading for an extended time. I have stayed multiple times at this hotel including a 1 month stay. During weekings, I would not be using my room. I miscalculated by a day. In the morning they emptied my clothes and medicines. In the evening when I got there, they said they had thrown them away. A few weeks later, I brought my daughter with me for work experience where I was working. I booked 2 rooms. At 4AM the police woke me due to a report of a child being there. Absolutely outrageous.
katy b, General Manager at Sure Hotel by Best Western Reading, responded to this review
Thank you for your review. Sadly we were not able to contact you regarding the medicine left behind and are not allowed to store medicines we have no choice but to destroy these. The staff at the hotel did not call the police this was something between yourself and Thames Valley police.
Stayed for 1 night on business - there aren't many hotels in Reading which come in under budget! Room was basic but adequate and also had a microwave, sink and fridge which was useful. The bar does serve curries, but made use of the microwave and ate in the room. Room was clean, as was the bathroom. Breakfast was good - fruit, cereal, toast, yoghurts etc. or they did cooked options. Had the porridge which was as you'd expect, but other people's sausages / eggs / hash browns looked rather tasty. Pretty large and free car park round the back. Would stay again if in the area.
I had to change my room 3 times and upgrade ones, yet deficits in terms of cleanliness were still unsettling: unmissable stains and hairs in bedding, used bedding, uncleaned stains from human excretion in the toilets. What was even more unsettling were the receptionists' assertions that the rooms offered to me were done, clean and if I didn't like them I shall change the hotel. This insinuates that what was offered to me is an acceptable quality standard. The last ‘tolerable' solution was a room with toxic smell from cleaning causing headaches and nausea.
No wardrobe in my room plus heating didn't work at all. This was flagged to your staff many times but no action was taken to make my boiler working. Heating is a basic thing which should have been check before checking your guest in.
Great rooms , especially studio and above , clean comfortable great shower , excellent location for Royal Berkshire Hospital, and busses near for town , station etc , only 10 mins. Staff very helpful and friendly. Good value.
Great hotel; my room was clean, basic but comfortable. The staff are friendly and I felt at home even though I was staying alone. Wifi was good and plenty of parking. I tried the bar meals one evening food was home made. Rates are good compared to other hotels in the area and handy having the fridge and microwave in the room. Would stay again.
Without a doubt the worst room I have stayed in. Whilst the bedding was clean and fresh the room was incredibly shabby and smelt rather musty (or perhaps there were some dead bodies under the floorboards) It looked as if the building had been used as some sort of hostel before becoming a hotel and without the benefit of any upgrades. The stains on the carpet were competing for attention with the rotten windows and shabby curtains. Make sure you take earplugs! On the plus side breakfast was good although significantly marred by showing Piers Morgan on TV and speaker.
As per other times we have been in the UK, we based ourselves in the Hillingdon Prince in Reading, where our son lives, and came and went from there. The staff are so friendly - nothing is a bother. I became very ill during one night and Mark, the night porter, assisted my husband in getting an ambulance. He then brought him a coffee while we waited and kept checking on how I was doing. My husband greatly appreciated his support. We spent a total of 21 nights at the Hillingdon Prince,mostly having the continental breakfast. I didn't want a full English hot breakfast but I did express the wish to just have a couple of poached eggs on toast. This would have cost us the same as a full English breakfast; a senior staff member at reception arranged for me to have just the poached eggs on more than one occasion for the same cost as the continental - a small thing but really appreciated. The rooms all have a fridge, microwave, crockery and cutlery which means that you can self cater, which we did for our evening meals most nights. It is also a great location as it is on a very good bus service, and there are local shops and food outlets just a few minutes walk away in both directions. Coming from New Zealand we needed to pack for all eventualities hence we had big bags, but being in our 70s we are unable to haul these around with us when we are just going away for a few days, or even over to Europe for a longer period. The hotel were happy to store the large bags for us while we were away which made everything way more manageable.
katy b, General Manager at Hillingdon Prince Hotel, responded to this review
THANK YOU for your kind review. I am happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and glad you received the help that you needed. I will certainly pass your comments onto Marc and the rest of the team. It is good to hear that you liked the use of the fridge and microwave in the room, we have this is all of our rooms and many guests like it that they can bring in their own food. I hope you had a safe journey home and that we will see you again next time you are in the uk. Best wishes Katy Beeson General Manager
After reading the reviews I was worried about what we would find when we stayed here but I phoned before arrival and made sure we stayed in one of the newly redecorated 'club double' rooms and although quite small they tried to make the most of the space. A second wardrobe concealed tea/coffee making facilities, microwave and sink and although the room had no air con, an electric fan was provided in the other wardrobe. Bed was comfortable and pillows and bedding was clean and soft. Staff were friendly and helpful. All in all a good stay. The only negative comment I would have would be the extortionate mark up on cost due to it being Reading Festival. Usual cost of a room is around £40 and I paid £130! For a 2* basic hotel that's a bit cheeky.
Had heard a few people say this was a bit in need of a facelift but I must say the reception looked spotless and the staff were absolutely LOVELY!!!! Super chatty and really friendly and the room they put us in was SPOTLESS!!!! The whole room (bathroom included) was immaculate. Freshly painted and so comfortable. Would recommend in a heartbeat. :-)
katy b, General Manager at Hillingdon Prince Hotel, responded to this review
THANK YOU for your positive review. I am glad to hear that you found the hotel to be spotlessly clean I will pass this message to our house keeping team who do work hard to ensure the rooms are to a good standard. We have a full time decorator at the hotel who is constantly painting our rooms to keep them clean and tidy. I am proud you found the staff to be friendly and chatty and that you had a great stay with us. I look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Reading.
This is a dreadful hotel that needs so much TLC. It is tired old and dirty. Checkin a mess, taken to our room that wasn't cleaned or ready, asked to use anyway as I needed to change so we could go out on time, but our keys to room didn't work, flaff to sort out. The linen on floor we were told they would come back, hours later when we returned were still there bed unmade. U don't think they had cleaned it, fresh towels were there. But everything was old, failing apart and dirty, the carpet thin and stubborn with a iron burn, not nice to walk on as stratcy. I couldn't bring myself to use shower, it didn't look clean. The bathroom was a closet really. Overall grim and staff didn't care to fix or apologise for mess ups.
katy b, General Manager at Hillingdon Prince Hotel, responded to this review
Thank you for your review and I am sorry that we did not meet your expectations. I believe you arrived over the Reading Rock Festival weekend which was extremely busy. We had the whole hotel depart on Saturday and the same on Sunday morning with a quick turn around. We had new guests arriving from 10am before the previous guests had even had time to depart. We have a great house keeping team who worked extremely hard to turn the rooms around and we luckily managed to check many guests in much earlier than expected. I am sorry to hear that your key card stopped working, this is usually due to it being put by a mobile phone or a credit card and there are instructions on the card to explain this. I am sorry this caused you trouble. Our staff really do care and if you had let us know something was not right they would have certainly sorted this for you. I do hope you enjoyed the festival and the hot sunshine that went with it.
Given that the alternative to staying in a hotel for Reading weekend is a tent the standards we were applying were low. But as we were shelling out £118 without breakfast it had to be a notch above just having a flushing loo and a lock on the door. Sadly, that was about the size of what we got. We were in a room away from the main hotel. It appears that rooms in the main hotel are passable. If you get any say when booking, ask for a room in the main hotel. You may have more luck. But we weren't so lucky. The main problem was we were in a ground floor room, and realised at unfortunately far too late a moment that the curtains were coming off and therefore couldn't close properly. This meant that passers by (or other residents nipping out for a tab) got a lovely view of us in bed. That didn't feel too secure. I didn't sleep well. The room was grotty, the carpet looked like someone may have died on it in the 70s, but the cleaners had clearly done their best (nifty point on the loo roll). However, I didn't chance the shower. The bed linen was also thankfully clean. If hotel management reply and say “why didn't you mention it at the time” the answer is a) the queue to complain at reception was long b) what could you have done - you certainly couldn't have moved us. The hotel was full. And I doubt you had handy men on call. The taxis (shuttle) to the festival aren't free. But they were an absolute godsend there and back. That was a massive plus. The staff seemed pleasant too. All in all I feel a big mugged of £118. But I suppose it was a notch up from a tent. We were in room 800.
I stayed for 1 night and I've never stayed in such a clean room. I checked in late evening and the staff that were on the front desk were very welcoming and courteous. The morning was a little less slick but I've already rebooked.
This hotel should not be rated at all it is a dive. There are so many negative feedbacks I cant believe I missed them upon booking. The rooms are filthy and wasnt even made up for the second night. The place is only fit for workmen builders who are working on site. It was covered in scaffolding and not finished. They upgraded to a room in main hotel where wallpaper was hanging from wall. Reception staff rude and unhelpful. Bar closed at 10.30pm and not 11pm as stated. No point in complaining as the Manager just says if you dont like it go somewhere else. Wrote an email of complaint and they couldn't even be bothered to acknowledge it. This is undoubtedly the worst place (I cant call it a hotel) I've ever stayed. Even if you want to be close to the university like I needed to be don't waste your money on this flee ridden pit. Beds had springs sticking out and covered in bed bites in the morning. Please read ALL of the negative reviews on trip advisor and booking.com prior to thinking about booking this place. A sleeping bag in a shop doorway would have been more hygienic....the negative list goes on but it has already been addressed by all previous negative feedback.
katy b, General Manager at Hillingdon Prince Hotel, responded to this review
It is sad for us to receive a poor review after you stayed 2 nights and did not let us know there was a problem, we always want to put things right whilst guests are inhouse as we are keen for everyone to have a good stay in our hotel. The room you were allocated is a new club room which had a brand new hypnos bed 6 months ago. The room does not have wall paper the walls are painted, therefore cannot have peeling wall paper. The room was oposite reception why did you not mention that you were unhappy with the room whilst you were here? I have replied to your email complaint along with your further complaint to booking.com. We have had so many happy guests I am sorry we did not meet your expectations.
A very clean place to stay, friendly staff and room very well equipped. The towels were soft and clean and the pillows nice and spongy. TV good size and shower good. I would recommend and stay here again in the future.
We were very happy with the accommodation as the room was clean and a good size and well equipped.There was a lift to all floors and the hotel seemed to be well maintained. There was no air con in the room but the fixed wall fan made our stay comfortable.Only one small criticism was toilet seat faulty but still able to be used safely. Free parking an absolute bonus. We would use this hotel again.
Fantastic and friendly welcome from the staff. The scrupulously clean room had been equipped with care - a microwave, fridge and hob in addition to the usual kettle - with nice linen. I was pleasantly surprised and have already booked in my next stay.
Wherever Life Takes You, Best Western Is There®
Each Best Western® branded hotel is independently owned and operated.