ROOM 1
ROOM 2
ROOM 3
Promotion code

Sure Hotel by Best Western Reading, Reading

39 Christchurch Road, RG2 7AN, Reading, Great Britain - See on a map
Sure Hotel by Best Western Reading - Sure Hotel by Best Western Reading The Sure Hotel by Best Western Reading is ideally located in the center of Reading. Come and experience our hotel near the major tourist attractions. Best price guaranteed and exclusive deals.

Whether you're sightseeing, working or visiting Reading University, you can expect clean, comfortable and affordable accommodation at Sure Hotel by Best Western Reading. This eye-catching red and grey brick building was originally constructed in the 1800s as a house in the same style as the famous Huntley & Palmers biscuit factory. The hotel is in a quiet spot opposite a lovely church but within walking distance of Reading town centre (less than a mile away) and Reading University (half a mile away). Each of our simply furnished en-suite rooms comes with a fridge and microwave, along with Freeview TV and tea and coffee-making facilities. Some feature a kitchenette, so you have everything you need to store and heat up food in the comfort of your room. Our reception is open 24 hours a day and, as part of your stay, you'll get complimentary use of our onsite gym, plus free Wi-Fi and parking. This enables you to leave your car at the hotel and walk or catch the bus into the centre of Reading so you don't have to pay parking fees. If you're here on a sightseeing trip, there's plenty to see and do in the region, including Windsor Castle (21 miles away), Legoland (18 miles) and Cliveden House (20 miles). The hotel is also just over a mile from Reading station, which has connections to London and Heathrow and Gatwick Airports.

Sure Hotel

Reading

LABEL_ITINERAIRE

LABEL_DEPART:

LABEL_ARRIVEE:

Hotel advantages

  • Lounges/bars
    Lounges/bars
  • Free parking
    Free parking
  • Outdoor parking
    Outdoor parking
  • 24-hour front desk
    24-hour front desk
Show More Show Less

Guest reviews

In partnership with tripadvisor fr
based on 1099 guest reviews
NOTE ISSUED
Excellent
344
Very Good
391
Average
145
Poor
88
Terrible
131
REFER TO NOTICE
Business Business
300
Couples Couples
254
Family Family
178
Friends getaway Friends getaway
125
Solo travel Solo travel
112
SUMMARY NOTES
Cleanliness
Location
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Value

"Good if you don't want any sleep!"

1
zoearmstrong0416, Littlehampton, United Kingdom 29/10/2019

I would never stay at this hotel again, after a night of being woken up by only what i can describe as a church bell ringing on the hour every single hour some absolute idiot decided they were going to test the fire alarm at 5.30am!!!! No staff visible to reassure all was ok after the alarm, The room was small and smelt damp with stained carpets, shower no bigger than a single wardrobe, bathroom floor felt soft and sunken when stood on. Only positive was there is a fridge in the room!

"Excellent value for money"

5
User 25/10/2019

Very friendly, efficient staff, good sized rooms, all with fridge and microwave, free internet. Ideal for families / couples looking for affordable accommodation near to Reading centre. Lots of attractions in surrounding area. Ive stayed here almost every weekend since March this year. Highly recommended

"Great breakfast, staff and value"

5
graemes169, Glasgow, United Kingdom 25/10/2019

Staff were helpful. The chap before me had booked the wrong room (there was three of them and he'd booked one room with two beds) the staff were genuinely scrambling about trying to see what they could do to help, they were utterly sincere. Breakfast was great, a very good full English. They have an ice machine near reception ;-) but no ironing board in my room, did have a microwave oven though. Bathroom was in great condition and may have been renovated recently. You can get the windows opened to a decent degree for ventilation, not that half inch you get at other hotels. Bed was comfy and TV of a good size for the room. It wasn't the biggest hotel room I've ever stayed in but didn't feel small or cramped. Bed was large and very comfortable, slept right through the night. I interacted with four members of staff during my stay and they were all extremely helpful and interested in me and my stay. Car park is a little haphazard but I think we all got in, I arrived at midnight and found a place to park. I would definitely stay here again.

"Lovely staff and comfortable"

5
forensic2be, Reading, United Kingdom 24/10/2019

Check in was friendly and very quick My room was clean and had everything I needed I loved the fact I could cater for myself as I didn't feel like going out Very goodnight nights sleep and bed comfortable Breakfast in the morning was delicious and waitress was kind and helpful For the price you can't really go wrong

"Awful hotel"

1
Aku4, Bristol 23/10/2019

I was working in reading for an extended time. I have stayed multiple times at this hotel including a 1 month stay. During weekings, I would not be using my room. I miscalculated by a day. In the morning they emptied my clothes and medicines. In the evening when I got there, they said they had thrown them away. A few weeks later, I brought my daughter with me for work experience where I was working. I booked 2 rooms. At 4AM the police woke me due to a report of a child being there. Absolutely outrageous.

katy b, General Manager at Sure Hotel by Best Western Reading, responded to this review
Thank you for your review. Sadly we were not able to contact you regarding the medicine left behind and are not allowed to store medicines we have no choice but to destroy these. The staff at the hotel did not call the police this was something between yourself and Thames Valley police.

"Adequate for a night"

3
Terry C, Birmingham, United Kingdom 18/10/2019

Stayed for 1 night on business - there aren't many hotels in Reading which come in under budget! Room was basic but adequate and also had a microwave, sink and fridge which was useful. The bar does serve curries, but made use of the microwave and ate in the room. Room was clean, as was the bathroom. Breakfast was good - fruit, cereal, toast, yoghurts etc. or they did cooked options. Had the porridge which was as you'd expect, but other people's sausages / eggs / hash browns looked rather tasty. Pretty large and free car park round the back. Would stay again if in the area.

"100 pounds mistake - saga of disgust"

1
vassi2017, Luxembourg City, Luxembourg 16/10/2019

I had to change my room 3 times and upgrade ones, yet deficits in terms of cleanliness were still unsettling: unmissable stains and hairs in bedding, used bedding, uncleaned stains from human excretion in the toilets. What was even more unsettling were the receptionists' assertions that the rooms offered to me were done, clean and if I didn't like them I shall change the hotel. This insinuates that what was offered to me is an acceptable quality standard. The last ‘tolerable' solution was a room with toxic smell from cleaning causing headaches and nausea.

"No wardrobe in my room plus heating didn't work at all"

3
User 11/10/2019

No wardrobe in my room plus heating didn't work at all. This was flagged to your staff many times but no action was taken to make my boiler working. Heating is a basic thing which should have been check before checking your guest in.

"Nice rooms"

4
Stevemijas, Province of Malaga, Spain 30/09/2019

Great rooms , especially studio and above , clean comfortable great shower , excellent location for Royal Berkshire Hospital, and busses near for town , station etc , only 10 mins. Staff very helpful and friendly. Good value.

"Clean comfortable & friendly"

5
User 20/09/2019

Great hotel; my room was clean, basic but comfortable. The staff are friendly and I felt at home even though I was staying alone. Wifi was good and plenty of parking. I tried the bar meals one evening food was home made. Rates are good compared to other hotels in the area and handy having the fridge and microwave in the room. Would stay again.

"Make sure you are not in the annex - simply dreadful"

1
cardinals3366, Chester, United Kingdom 11/09/2019

Without a doubt the worst room I have stayed in. Whilst the bedding was clean and fresh the room was incredibly shabby and smelt rather musty (or perhaps there were some dead bodies under the floorboards) It looked as if the building had been used as some sort of hostel before becoming a hotel and without the benefit of any upgrades. The stains on the carpet were competing for attention with the rotten windows and shabby curtains. Make sure you take earplugs! On the plus side breakfast was good although significantly marred by showing Piers Morgan on TV and speaker.

"The Usual Good Standard"

4
Sherril E, Auckland, New Zealand 07/09/2019

As per other times we have been in the UK, we based ourselves in the Hillingdon Prince in Reading, where our son lives, and came and went from there. The staff are so friendly - nothing is a bother. I became very ill during one night and Mark, the night porter, assisted my husband in getting an ambulance. He then brought him a coffee while we waited and kept checking on how I was doing. My husband greatly appreciated his support. We spent a total of 21 nights at the Hillingdon Prince,mostly having the continental breakfast. I didn't want a full English hot breakfast but I did express the wish to just have a couple of poached eggs on toast. This would have cost us the same as a full English breakfast; a senior staff member at reception arranged for me to have just the poached eggs on more than one occasion for the same cost as the continental - a small thing but really appreciated. The rooms all have a fridge, microwave, crockery and cutlery which means that you can self cater, which we did for our evening meals most nights. It is also a great location as it is on a very good bus service, and there are local shops and food outlets just a few minutes walk away in both directions. Coming from New Zealand we needed to pack for all eventualities hence we had big bags, but being in our 70s we are unable to haul these around with us when we are just going away for a few days, or even over to Europe for a longer period. The hotel were happy to store the large bags for us while we were away which made everything way more manageable.

katy b, General Manager at Hillingdon Prince Hotel, responded to this review
THANK YOU for your kind review. I am happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and glad you received the help that you needed. I will certainly pass your comments onto Marc and the rest of the team. It is good to hear that you liked the use of the fridge and microwave in the room, we have this is all of our rooms and many guests like it that they can bring in their own food. I hope you had a safe journey home and that we will see you again next time you are in the uk. Best wishes Katy Beeson General Manager

"Reading Festival Sunday"

4
User 30/08/2019

After reading the reviews I was worried about what we would find when we stayed here but I phoned before arrival and made sure we stayed in one of the newly redecorated 'club double' rooms and although quite small they tried to make the most of the space. A second wardrobe concealed tea/coffee making facilities, microwave and sink and although the room had no air con, an electric fan was provided in the other wardrobe. Bed was comfortable and pillows and bedding was clean and soft. Staff were friendly and helpful. All in all a good stay. The only negative comment I would have would be the extortionate mark up on cost due to it being Reading Festival. Usual cost of a room is around £40 and I paid £130! For a 2* basic hotel that's a bit cheeky.

"A pleasant suprise..."

5
User 27/08/2019

Had heard a few people say this was a bit in need of a facelift but I must say the reception looked spotless and the staff were absolutely LOVELY!!!! Super chatty and really friendly and the room they put us in was SPOTLESS!!!! The whole room (bathroom included) was immaculate. Freshly painted and so comfortable. Would recommend in a heartbeat. :-)

katy b, General Manager at Hillingdon Prince Hotel, responded to this review
THANK YOU for your positive review. I am glad to hear that you found the hotel to be spotlessly clean I will pass this message to our house keeping team who do work hard to ensure the rooms are to a good standard. We have a full time decorator at the hotel who is constantly painting our rooms to keep them clean and tidy. I am proud you found the staff to be friendly and chatty and that you had a great stay with us. I look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Reading.

"Go elsewhere HP awful"

1
User 26/08/2019

This is a dreadful hotel that needs so much TLC. It is tired old and dirty. Checkin a mess, taken to our room that wasn't cleaned or ready, asked to use anyway as I needed to change so we could go out on time, but our keys to room didn't work, flaff to sort out. The linen on floor we were told they would come back, hours later when we returned were still there bed unmade. U don't think they had cleaned it, fresh towels were there. But everything was old, failing apart and dirty, the carpet thin and stubborn with a iron burn, not nice to walk on as stratcy. I couldn't bring myself to use shower, it didn't look clean. The bathroom was a closet really. Overall grim and staff didn't care to fix or apologise for mess ups.

katy b, General Manager at Hillingdon Prince Hotel, responded to this review
Thank you for your review and I am sorry that we did not meet your expectations. I believe you arrived over the Reading Rock Festival weekend which was extremely busy. We had the whole hotel depart on Saturday and the same on Sunday morning with a quick turn around. We had new guests arriving from 10am before the previous guests had even had time to depart. We have a great house keeping team who worked extremely hard to turn the rooms around and we luckily managed to check many guests in much earlier than expected. I am sorry to hear that your key card stopped working, this is usually due to it being put by a mobile phone or a credit card and there are instructions on the card to explain this. I am sorry this caused you trouble. Our staff really do care and if you had let us know something was not right they would have certainly sorted this for you. I do hope you enjoyed the festival and the hot sunshine that went with it.

"Reading Festival stay"

2
User 26/08/2019

Given that the alternative to staying in a hotel for Reading weekend is a tent the standards we were applying were low. But as we were shelling out £118 without breakfast it had to be a notch above just having a flushing loo and a lock on the door. Sadly, that was about the size of what we got. We were in a room away from the main hotel. It appears that rooms in the main hotel are passable. If you get any say when booking, ask for a room in the main hotel. You may have more luck. But we weren't so lucky. The main problem was we were in a ground floor room, and realised at unfortunately far too late a moment that the curtains were coming off and therefore couldn't close properly. This meant that passers by (or other residents nipping out for a tab) got a lovely view of us in bed. That didn't feel too secure. I didn't sleep well. The room was grotty, the carpet looked like someone may have died on it in the 70s, but the cleaners had clearly done their best (nifty point on the loo roll). However, I didn't chance the shower. The bed linen was also thankfully clean. If hotel management reply and say “why didn't you mention it at the time” the answer is a) the queue to complain at reception was long b) what could you have done - you certainly couldn't have moved us. The hotel was full. And I doubt you had handy men on call. The taxis (shuttle) to the festival aren't free. But they were an absolute godsend there and back. That was a massive plus. The staff seemed pleasant too. All in all I feel a big mugged of £118. But I suppose it was a notch up from a tent. We were in room 800.

"Spotlessly clean room"

4
dha77uk, London, United Kingdom 17/08/2019

I stayed for 1 night and I've never stayed in such a clean room. I checked in late evening and the staff that were on the front desk were very welcoming and courteous. The morning was a little less slick but I've already rebooked.

"Diabolical Flee Infested Hovel"

1
Tywysoghugo, United Kingdom 10/08/2019

This hotel should not be rated at all it is a dive. There are so many negative feedbacks I cant believe I missed them upon booking. The rooms are filthy and wasnt even made up for the second night. The place is only fit for workmen builders who are working on site. It was covered in scaffolding and not finished. They upgraded to a room in main hotel where wallpaper was hanging from wall. Reception staff rude and unhelpful. Bar closed at 10.30pm and not 11pm as stated. No point in complaining as the Manager just says if you dont like it go somewhere else. Wrote an email of complaint and they couldn't even be bothered to acknowledge it. This is undoubtedly the worst place (I cant call it a hotel) I've ever stayed. Even if you want to be close to the university like I needed to be don't waste your money on this flee ridden pit. Beds had springs sticking out and covered in bed bites in the morning. Please read ALL of the negative reviews on trip advisor and booking.com prior to thinking about booking this place. A sleeping bag in a shop doorway would have been more hygienic....the negative list goes on but it has already been addressed by all previous negative feedback.

katy b, General Manager at Hillingdon Prince Hotel, responded to this review
It is sad for us to receive a poor review after you stayed 2 nights and did not let us know there was a problem, we always want to put things right whilst guests are inhouse as we are keen for everyone to have a good stay in our hotel. The room you were allocated is a new club room which had a brand new hypnos bed 6 months ago. The room does not have wall paper the walls are painted, therefore cannot have peeling wall paper. The room was oposite reception why did you not mention that you were unhappy with the room whilst you were here? I have replied to your email complaint along with your further complaint to booking.com. We have had so many happy guests I am sorry we did not meet your expectations.

"A good overnight stay"

4
costarica7, Clacton-on-Sea, United Kingdom 07/08/2019

A very clean place to stay, friendly staff and room very well equipped. The towels were soft and clean and the pillows nice and spongy. TV good size and shower good. I would recommend and stay here again in the future.

"Very satisfied with our stay."

4
philiph911, Norwich, United Kingdom 06/08/2019

We were very happy with the accommodation as the room was clean and a good size and well equipped.There was a lift to all floors and the hotel seemed to be well maintained. There was no air con in the room but the fixed wall fan made our stay comfortable.Only one small criticism was toilet seat faulty but still able to be used safely. Free parking an absolute bonus. We would use this hotel again.

"Helpful staff, thougtfully equipped room in a central location."

5
ASBBucks, Bucks 05/08/2019

Fantastic and friendly welcome from the staff. The scrupulously clean room had been equipped with care - a microwave, fridge and hob in addition to the usual kettle - with nice linen. I was pleasantly surprised and have already booked in my next stay.

These reviews are the subjective opinions of individual travelers and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.