ROOM 1
ROOM 2
ROOM 3
Promotion code

Best Western Premier Hotel Del Mar, Del Mar

720 Camino Del Mar, 92014-3008, Del Mar, United States - See on a map
Best Western Premier Hotel Del Mar - No matter what time of year, we know you'll love the Best Western Premier® Hotel Del Mar. The Best Western Premier Hotel Del Mar is ideally located in the center of Del Mar. Come and experience our hotel near the major tourist attractions. Best price guaranteed and exclusive deals.

White sandy beaches stretch along the breathtaking Del Mar coastline. Radiant sunsets sink into the blue waves of the Pacific, and days of sunshine give the Best Western Premier® Hotel Del Mar an alluring coastal ambiance and tranquility. Experience the charm and comfort of this relaxed boutique hotel in Del Mar, where the rhythm of the sea and fresh air captivate your spirit. Nestled in the seaside village of Del Mar, California, our boutique hotel is steps from the sand and surf of the San Diego coast. Our hotel is walking distance to miles of beach and a quaint village with shops, galleries, restaurants and cafes. Enjoy thoroughbred racing at the Del Mar Racetrack, hike through Torrey Pines State Reserve, or drive down the coast to Old Town San Diego and SeaWorld®. Brilliantly designed for both business and leisure travelers, our stylish Del Mar lodging offers modern amenities for your travel lifestyle, including wireless Internet, 42-inch HDTV with multi-media plug-ins, alarm clock radio with iPod® dock, coffee maker with Wolfgang Puck coffee and flavorful herbal teas. Enjoy a beautiful new bathroom with magnifying mirrors and designer bath products by Institute Swiss®. All of our lovely rooms and suites overlook our beautiful gardens with a gazebo, pool and spa or the spectacular blue ocean view. Sleep peacefully on mattresses by Serta®, triple sheeted with quilted duvet blankets, giant feather pillows and designer bedspreads. Enjoy your holiday at the beach with the convenience of a wet bar and iron/ironing board. The fresh seaside air makes relaxation a delight.

Best Western Premier

Hotel Del Mar

LABEL_ITINERAIRE

LABEL_DEPART:

LABEL_ARRIVEE:

Hotel advantages

  • Restaurant
    Restaurant
  • Outdoor pool
    Outdoor pool
  • Air conditioning
    Air conditioning
  • Free parking
    Free parking
  • Outdoor parking
    Outdoor parking
  • 24-hour front desk
    24-hour front desk
  • Safe deposit box
    Safe deposit box
  • Multilingual staff
    Multilingual staff
  • Onsite laundry
    Onsite laundry
Show More Show Less

Guest reviews

In partnership with tripadvisor fr
Certificate of Excellence 2019
GreenLeader Silver
 
based on 527 guest reviews
NOTE ISSUED
Excellent
275
Very Good
146
Average
57
Poor
17
Terrible
32
REFER TO NOTICE
Business Business
76
Couples Couples
188
Family Family
121
Friends getaway Friends getaway
37
Solo travel Solo travel
45
SUMMARY NOTES
Cleanliness
Location
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Value

"Lovely inside and out"

5
Eva S, Phoenix, Arizona 22/10/2019

Although not directly on the Ocean, this Del Mar Hotel offered great ocean views from our third floor balcony. We found the entire property to be very relaxing and although kind of tight -- no rolling lawn etc -- it was cute and personable. The room was quite luxurious and comfy. With the balcony door open at nighttime you got the ocean breeze as well as the sound of the waves. The little kitchen area was perfect for preparing some fruit, crackers and cheese that we enjoyed with a bottle of wine -- there were glasses -- on the balcony at sunset. Lovely. We decided to try the little cafe for some dinner and there was an ocean view peeking around the building. Unlike most Best Westerns this Premier property did not offer a complimentary buffet breakfast, but gave a small discount at the cafe for breakfast.

"Great Stay"

5
teresa2go, Vero Beach, Florida 16/10/2019

The concierge staff were very friendly and helpful, we arrived very early and they expedited our check in, the hotel is clean and welcoming, our room was spacious with a great coffee/tea set up along with an ample sized fridge and microwave. It is located just a short walk from the hub of shops and restaurants in town, (5 minutes). The pool and and cafe were an added bonus!

"Simple and cozy"

4
User 08/10/2019

It´s a nice hotel. Don´t expect ultra modern design or ammenities. Rooms are simple, but they have everything you need. Free parking, which is great. The café is not that great. I like the hotel, I have stayed there a couple of times. Nothing fancy, but perfectly functional.

"Stay in San Diegoh"

4
D Michael E, Bluffton, South Carolina 05/10/2019

The Best Western is an older hotel that has been beautifully restored and updated. Our king size room overlooked the ocean and had a delightful ocean breeze. We were on the second floor and the view was partially obstructed. The third floor would be better. It has a restaurant for breakfast and dinner which is three star, just OK. The room was well equipped with a Keurig, microwave and refrigerator. It is a definite repeat when we return. Unlike most area hotels the parking is free, quite a money saver.

"EXCEPTIONAL"

5
User 04/10/2019

This Hotel feels a Vacation ! Hospitality,Decor, outside grounds and pool pro Landscaped with that Holiday feel. Inside lounge area and fresh coffee with real cream is a plus. Exercise Room clean and nicely equipped. The staff shines with Hospitality and Service. Anyone looking for a quiet and comfortable Getaway for a few days should consider this little Vacation Spot ! Truly a nice surprise and experience !

mysalesgirl, Manager at Best Western Premier Hotel Del Mar, responded to this review
Dear garryk4rvs: Thank you for the kind words on TripAdvisor! What a great read; our goal is to do exactly what you've written regarding A VACATION... We want all our guests and visitors to feel and experience the same you experienced while visiting our Boutique Hotel in our own Sea Side Village of Del Mar. Great location, great weather, white sandy beaches, an abundance of outstanding restaurants, various adventures for hiking, bicycling, surfing, and soooo much more. Thank you for your great comments, we share all our comments with staff to better understand what we're doing right, wrong AND most importantly how to improve. A REALLY BIG THANK YOU FOR YOUR TIME IN WRITING SUCH A GREAT READ... Sincerely, Thomas Mackey BW Premier Hotel Del Mar

"hotel ok"

3
patricia s, Oxford, United Kingdom 24/09/2019

PROS The rooms and hotel in general clean and modern.The on sight cafe food ok. Pool area nice and gardens well kept. Parking free Staff helpful CONS.Do not be taken in by photos and description of ocean view.We booked ocean view room had glimpse of ocean thru trees mostly view of car park.We complained and were moved to higher room slightly better but still mostly car park. Steep slope to hotel.At least a10-15 minute walk to restaurants and beach

mysalesgirl, Manager at Best Western Premier Hotel Del Mar, responded to this review
Dear patricia s: Thank you for your comments on TripAdvisor. It's great to read from guest and visitors what we're doing right, wrong and how to improve. No, we're not right on the ocean, have never claimed to be right on the ocean , we're approximately 7 houses away from the ocean. A bit more of a walk due to bluffs falling for safety. All being repaired by the City of Del Mar ASAP. We do appreciate the good, the bad AND the ugly so we can always be attempting to better ourselves. Just can move the hotel any closer. Sincerely, Thomas Mackey BW Premier Hotel Del Mar

"pleasure trip to San Diego"

4
rneitz, Nashville, Tennessee 17/09/2019

overall very good but would have appreciated a bit more friendliness from the staff in assessing guests needs and offering assistance esp. with ways to get to ocean safely or indication of shops around area--just a bit more personal would have made it an 'excellent stay'

mysalesgirl, Manager at Best Western Premier Hotel Del Mar, responded to this review
Dear rneitz: Thank you for your comments on TripAdvisor. our sincerest apologies as we have maps that would direct you too anywhere within our own Sea Side Village of Del Mar. We'll work even harder to make your next stay even better. Sincerely, Thomas Mackey BW Premier Hotel Del Mar

"Great affordable hotel."

5
Susan G, Calabasas, California 07/09/2019

I really enjoy this hotel when I am in Del Mar. The location is great and they have the MOST COMFORTABLE mattresses! I get such a good night's sleep there. The rooms are very nice and clean. Everything is nice and the parking is free.

silversurfer-delmar, Manager at Best Western Premier Hotel Del Mar, responded to this review
Dear Susan G: Thank you for your comments AND compliments regarding your stay at our boutique hotel in Del Mar. By your writing, reads as if you're a regular at our home away from home. Yep, beds are comfy, with a choice of pillows. Unfortunate to have such great throw pillows --- "washed after every stay", I guess visitors no longer believe hotels really do that; well, we do... Thank you again and looking forward to you visiting us again and again. Wishing you safe travels throughout 2019 and beyond! Sincerely, Thomas Mackey BW Premier Hotel Del Mar

"Great Getaway"

4
JoshandBarbara, Hemet 24/08/2019

We always enjoy our stay here. It is a great location for going to the races at the Del Mar Track. Del Mar Village has shopping, fine dining and pleasant historical attractions. The new updateswill enhance the appeal

mysalesgirl, Manager at Best Western Premier Hotel Del Mar, responded to this review
Dear JoshandBarbara: Thank you for your comments AND compliments on TripAdvisor. All of us here appreciate you taking time out to write a review for others to better understand our location, amenities, and benefits of staying here verses another hotel. Can't thank you enough for your precious time in writing a great review,. Sincerely, Thomas Mackey BW Premier Hotel Del Mar

"Spotlessly clean hotel with great location"

4
User 12/08/2019

Close to the action of Del Mar's beachy beach scene, this [seemingly] resident-hotel turned-Inn is well situated, well priced (for Del Mar, anyway) and has effusively engaged employees, to the person appeared to like their jobs (what a refreshing change!). We had two rooms in the back of the hotel on the third floor, that faced the ocean. Literature claimed an ocean view but you might have to squint your eyes to feel like you're actually near the ocean. There is a small balcony with two chairs to sit and breathe those close ocean ions. There was a small wall kitchen, with a microwave and petit frig. The room was spotless, to the point you could eat off of the floor. Our rooms had two double beds, and after asking to be moved to a king, my guess is that a lot of families stay here and parents park their kids in double rooms, and stay next door or down the hall in the king. The hallway carpets showed signs of children running with colored drinks, but other than that, it was well maintained. We ran into several people going to the track, and a couple of families enjoying the pool. There's a small cafe next to the pool, who employ a poor lad who had a great attitude, but zero skills at handling a line of hungry, thirsty folks. That said, the food was good and the coffee, great. Next door is a dog park, just in case you get a pang for your pooch left at home. The lady at the front desk steered us to the Exotic Bird Sanctuary down the road to spend an hour, and it was fab. My husband had a bird climb on his hand and proceed to regurgitate a banana onto his hand, in an apparent mating ritual to show my husband the bird was a skilled family provider. Endearingly strange. We also walked 10 minutes from the hotel to L'Auberge, where we attended a wedding, and there are several sidewalk restaurant/bars near L'Auberge that served okay fare (again, those ocean ions!). Loved the historic photos in the hallway next to the "library" that show pre crowd Del Mar Beach. Choose a room at the back of the hotel if you can, because the hotel faces the major driving artery.

silversurfer-delmar, Manager at Best Western Premier Hotel Del Mar, responded to this review
Dear rkr727: Thank you for your comments AND compliments for our "Beachy Boutique Hotel" in our own Sea Side Village of Del Mar. Lots of character in this sleepy town, AND lots of fun at the hotel too. Yes, I believe our staff really enjoy their position at the hotel as everyone truly goes out of their way to confirm our visitors and guest are well taken care of during their stay. Hope to have you return again and again as this is truly a great location to re-energize your batteries and charge up for the next adventure. Sincerely, Thomas Mackey BW Premier Hotel Del Mar

"A quaint countrylike inn"

5
Jay L, Boca raton 07/08/2019

Management & Staff were wonderful. Property is well maintained and very intimate. Certain Oceanview room views are partially blocked by the Commercial and Guest Laundry Building; that is quite noisy. The small but adequate dining facility is very nice with a limited menu of good food. The Property's Location in Del Mar is very convenient.

silversurfer-delmar, Manager at Best Western Premier Hotel Del Mar, responded to this review
Dear Jay L: Thank you for your comments AND compliments on TripAdvisor; truly appreciated you taking time out to write a few words to express your experience. I agree with you as our Café is intimate and petite, BUT, the food we can produce from there is truly great. AND the location of our café offers one of a kind sunsets for free. YES, I said for free - you have a clear view directly to the ocean, unobstructed views of our Southern California beautiful one of a kind sunsets. Thank you for your kind words and we hope you'll return again and again. Sincerely, Thomas Mackey BW Premier Hotel Del Mar

"Very nice stay in Del Mar"

5
donaldh886, Reno, Nevada, United States 01/08/2019

We spent two days at this lovely small property. The employees were very pleasant and professional. The rooms were very comfortable, especially the beds. Bathroom was very nice and plenty of storage space. Very nice pool and hot tub. Beautifully landscaped pool area that makes you forget you are right off of PCH! Cafe Del Mar, a small food outlet is attached to the hotel property. We found the food for breakfast here to be fresh and delicious. Very nice setting here also with plenty of outside seating. Located a mile from the beach and about another half mile to Del Mar Racetrack. Highly recommend this property and look forward to another visit!

silversurfer-delmar, Manager at Best Western Premier Hotel Del Mar, responded to this review
Dear donaldh886: Thank you for your kind comments AND compliments on TripAdvisor! Truly a great read! Comments AND Compliments similar to yours are read by thousands of other potential guests deciding if they want to stay here or at another local hotel. Not many hotels in Del Mar, in fact there's only 4; as many guests write our employees are great, pleasant, professional, AND go out of their way to assist you and yours to enjoy your precious time here in our own Sea Side Village of Del Mar. I believe our staff are one of a kind who REALLY know hospitality. Our Café is petite, BUT, we can really produce some fresh and great food items from there. With-out exaggerating, it took years to grow and maintain our beautiful gardens around our facility and all of us are proud and honored when visitors like yourself appreciate our efforts for you to experience. I can only reiterate again, THANK YOU for taking time out to write a great read regarding our Boutique Hotel in Del Mar. Sincerely, Thomas Mackey BW Premier Hotel Del Mar

"Great location!"

4
Pauline N, San Luis Obispo, California 27/07/2019

We were here for just one night, but I wish it was longer. It is an easy walk to the numerous shops and restaurants nearby, and just a bit farther is the ocean. You can walk on the beach, photograph the surfers, or sit on a bench to contemplate life. The room was clean, good linens and towels, and good water pressure. When we had a circuit issue with one set of plugs in the room (bedside lamp and clock), the response time was prompt and we were compensated for our inconvenience with a coupon for the on-site cafe. Breakfast there was wonderful, fresh vegetables in omelets made to order, and a variety of fruit. I would return, with pleasure!!!

silversurfer-delmar, Manager at Best Western Premier Hotel Del Mar, responded to this review
Dear Pauline: Thank you for your comments on TripAdvisor! Reading your comments and compliments sounds like you enjoyed yourselves and had a great time while visiting our own Sea Side Village of Del Mar and America's Finest City. For the local area - White Sandy Beaches, great restaurants, one of a kind shops and soooo much more. For the hotel - cleanliness, great linens and amenities, on site café with staff who really take pride in making outstanding food. Hoping to have you return again and again. Wishing you safe travels throughout 2019 and beyond. Sincerely, Thomas Mackey BW Premier Hotel Del Mar

"A Gem in Del Mar"

5
Joann B, Minden, Nevada 27/07/2019

Great front desk staff! Very helpful . Great room and amenities although a little smaller than we expected. Loved the pool area. Very quiet and away from the road. The restaurant on site was very good also. Beach access is about 6 blocks away but not a long walk. Suggest getting on an upper floor to enjoy a better view of the ocean and sunset. Our reservation stated a microwave in the room but we had a stove ...no microwave. Overall we enjoyed our stay very much. Would definitely stay here again.

silversurfer-delmar, Manager at Best Western Premier Hotel Del Mar, responded to this review
Dear Joann B: Thank you for your kind words and comments on TripAdvisor! When you write comments AND compliments for all to read, others can make educated decisions where to stay for their visit when visiting Del Mar and the immediate area of La Jolla AND Torrey Pines where we're really centrally located. Hope to have you visit again and again. Sincerely, Thomas Mackey BW Premier Hotel Del Mar

"NO COMPASSION REGARDING EMERGENCY CANCELLATION"

1
User 22/07/2019

First off, the hotel is very nice and we experienced no issues while we were there. We had a family emergency with my Mom at home and called the hotel 2 days prior to our reservation date with the hope that we could cancel so we could return home to care for Mom. The hotel GM, Tim, was completely inflexible and told us that we did not provide the required 4 days notice to cancel. He stated that if everyone did this, it would be a huge problem for the hotel. Even after explaining emergency nature of the situation, he still would not agree. We had to inconvenience my brother to take care of Mom so we would not forfeit $300. This was a Monday night. This seems out of character with a normal Best Western property, where if you cancel in a reasonable amount of time, there is no problem. But since this is a Best Western "Premier" property, they've got an attitude to go along with their high price tag. Just be sure if you have to cancel, you give them enough notice.

silversurfer-delmar, Manager at Best Western Premier Hotel Del Mar, responded to this review
Dear Linda: Thank you for your comments on TripAdvisor! First and foremost, our condolences for your mothers illness, we all have mothers. Unfortunately, as a hotel, AND on opening Day of The Races here in Del Mar; it becomes very difficult to determine who's sharing the truth and who's not. We received several other "emergencies" on that same day, this happens every year here at the hotel, as I've been here for quite some time, AND have experienced this every year. If you'd like to call me, I'd be more then happy to chat and further discuss your circumstances, even though after the fact, maybe we can locate some compromise and determine next steps to a better outcome. INTERESTING THOUGH, AFTER YOU WERE INFORMED WE WOULD NOT CANCEL YOUR RESERVATION, MIRACULOUSLY, YOU CHOSE TO COME AND JOIN ALL OTHERS AT THE DEL MAR RACES... Hope you had a great time at the races. Sincerely, Thomas Mackey BW Premier Hotel Del Mar

"Don't stay here"

1
Trisha R, Appleton, Wisconsin 22/07/2019

Save your time & money and find a different place to stay! The “ocean view” is obscured, beds are like a rock, totally outdated rooms/furniture/appliances. Manager was out for the day & could not even be called to work our or issues so we went to a Hilton. Also got charged the night for not staying & the manager said he couldn't do anything about that even though the staff working the night before said we could be refunded the entire price if the manager approved it.

silversurfer-delmar, Manager at Best Western Premier Hotel Del Mar, responded to this review
Dear Trisha: I will continue to follow ALL your comments on social Media AND apologize again AND again. BUT, once you use our room (((especially the bathroom))), even for only a few hours, we can't rent the room again, AND that's why you were charged 1 night room and taxes. I do understand, sometimes we're not the right facility for that right person, please contact me so we might resolve this issue to the best of our ability. SHAME ON YOU TRISHA AND RICHARD... Hoping you AND Richard had a great time at Comic-Con. Sincerely, Thomas Mackey General Manager Best Western Premier Hotel Del Mar

"Avoid at all cost!!"

1
User 22/07/2019

This hotel is highly outdated! The beds are hard as rocks. DONT BOOK HERE!!!! Save your self the headache. The rooms smell like a old cabin. The microwave and fridge are extremely vintage and are in bad condition. The sell it as a ocean view and the entire view is obstructed. Be Aware of false advertising in third party websites. Avoid this location. I travel all around the country and I never been more disappointed in a Best Western Premier.

silversurfer-delmar, Manager at Best Western Premier Hotel Del Mar, responded to this review
Dear Richard: I will continue to follow ALL your comments on social Media AND apologize again AND again. BUT, once you use our room (((especially the bathroom))), even for only a few hours, we can't rent the room again, AND that's why you were charged 1 night room and taxes. I do understand, sometimes we're not the right facility for that right person, please contact me so we might resolve this issue to the best of our ability. Hope you AND Trish had a great time at Comic-Con. AND, On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we offer a better experience for guests in the future. I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience. If I can provide any assistance, please don't hesitate to contact me directly at 858-755-9765. Sincerely, Thomas Mackey General Manager Best Western Premier Hotel Del Mar

"bw del mar"

4
User 20/07/2019

nice room, property area and amenities but make sure to ask your room location before booking it specially if your coming late on check in....make sure if booking for a ocean view or just a pool view. no breakfast unless you pay extra at restaurant.

"$120 to check in early"

3
sfowle803165, Los Angeles, California 19/07/2019

Great location for downtown Del Mar Decent price except for the fact they charged me $120 to check in early (1pm) for a room that was already clean. I needed to drop off luggage and change so sucked it up.

silversurfer-delmar, Manager at Best Western Premier Hotel Del Mar, responded to this review
Dear sfowle803165: Thank you for your comments on TripAdvisor! You may recall WE DIDN'T force you to pay an early check in fee, this was your choice. Please allow me to explain, we place a sign up at our Front Office indicating there will be NO EARLY CHECK INS AND NO LATE CHECK OUTS due to this particular day being opening day at the races in Del Mar. We were sold out the night before, you requested to check in at 10:00am in the morning. No one had checked out yet due to most of our guest were already there for opening day of the races. Without going into too much great detail, if you want to check in early, we begin calling all the check outs for that day to offer a small discount if they want to leave earlier then expected. WE DO THIS FOR YOU... SHAME ON YOU SIR... Sincerely, Thomas Mackey General Manager

"Best Value in North County"

5
User 02/07/2019

This is a quaint, wonderful hotel. Not a lot of frills, but all the basics are available (pool, sauna, coffee, cafe/restaurant, gym room, etc.). It has a light, bright feel to it. It's very clean, well maintained and well run. I've stayed here approximately 150 night in the last 1.5 years, so I know the place quite well. There are two notable difference-makers: 1- As great a staff as you could ever hope for. Really terrific people. I think if you stay someplace a lot, this is very important. To a person, this is a great crew. 2- The location is tough to beat. There are real ocean views from half the rooms (and balconies to enjoy the views from), and it's 5 minute walk to the center-ish area of Del Mar. It's a beautiful setting and the hotel fits in well. All rolled together, this is a fantastic place to stay and I'm personally lucky to have found this property given how often i need to be In the area.

"Wonderful stay at the Best Western Premier Hotel Del Mar"

5
User 15/06/2019

We had a 3rd floor room facing the ocean with a balcony. The place was sparkling clean. I loved the soft green color of the tile in the bathroom. The grounds are beautiful and well kept. The pool was great. The staff was so kind and caring. We had an awesome breakfast at the cafe. All in all we had a wonderful stay.

silversurfer-delmar, Manager at Best Western Premier Hotel Del Mar, responded to this review
Dear 1besttripever: Unique name! Thank you for the visiting with us at our Boutique Hotel in our own Sea Side Village of Del Mar. Dare I ask, were you on your balcony at sunset to experience one of (which I believe) the most spectacular sunsets in the world - simply incredible!!! Comments and compliments similar to your helps others better understand what they're going to experience when visiting The Hotel Del Mar. Clean facility, beautifully decorated AND well kept, on site Cafe worth eating without paying a fortune for a meal, and of-course our one of a kind Sea Side location. A sincere THANK YOU for your great comments and compliments regarding your visit, we hope to have you return again and again. Wishing you safe travels throughout 2019 and beyond. Sincerely, Thomas Mackey BW Premier Hotel Del Mar

"Superb"

5
keithwale853, Kent, United Kingdom 11/06/2019

This was our final stay on a 28 day trip down the West Coast. The third BW hotel we'd stayed in and easily the best by far, clean , comfy with all the amenities you need. The staff were brilliant with nothing being too much trouble. The Hotel is well place being just a short walk from Del Mar itself and a short drive from San Diego. Would use again with no problem at all

silversurfer-delmar, Manager at Best Western Premier Hotel Del Mar, responded to this review
Dear Keithwale853: Thank you for your kind words, we truly strive to be the very best we can be for as many visitors that come to Del Mar and our Sea Side Village. We strive for cleanliness, to be comfy with all the amenities, AND, an incredible staff that truly care your stay becomes memorable. Of-course, our location is one of our many features, a short walk to the heart of our own Sea Side Village of Del Mar. OR, a short stroll to the white sandy beaches of Southern California's incredible shoreline to experience the sand between your toes is a one of a kind experience. Thank you for your ever so kind comments and we hope you visit us again to our Boutique Hotel once again during future journeys to enjoy our comfy amenities. Sincerely, Thomas Mackey

"Feels just like home"

5
User 11/06/2019

This place is one of my favorite places to stay at. Yes, it is a bit pricey...but it is worth it. The staff is so kind and I always enjoy eating at the restaurant that is near the hotel with the view of the beach. What a jewel with convenient access to San Diego and much more. Rooms are super clean...you are sure to love it!

silversurfer-delmar, Manager at Best Western Premier Hotel Del Mar, responded to this review
Dear Annacool2018: Thank you for the Kudos regarding your visit here at our Boutique Hotel in our own Sea Side Village of Del Mar. Thank you, Thank you, AND, Thank you for your kind comments and compliments regarding your visit here, our jewel of a location in Amaerica's Finest City. Simply a great read... Wishing you safe travels into 2019. Sincerely, Thomas Mackey

"Great location and price"

5
rqx2016, Plainsboro, New Jersey 30/06/2016

This hotel is only 2 blocks from the beach, and can be < $150/night (pre-tax) during peak season. The room is comfortable, and the Wifi is great. There's no free breakfast, but the onsite bistro makes great food cooked to order, at a reasonable price. I love to take my coffee down to the cliffs overlooking the beach (2 blocks away) once per visit, and watch the train go by. The hotel has a beachy feel and decor, and is one of my favorite places to stay in Del Mar. If you go to the bistro, make sure to say 'Hi' to the friendly little mermaid 'Ariel'!

"Not quite what I expected"

3
Businesstraveller702, Las Vegas, Nevada 30/06/2016

Considering this is Best Western's top tier product, was a little disappointed. First off, google maps will give you the wrong Best Western when this hotel is searched for, so be careful. The infrastructure is dated with essentially a "fresh coat of paint". There is no HBO. Not sure if there was a complimentary continental breakfast. Overall, their lower tier products seem to offer a better value.

"Great View"

5
swimdesertrat, Tucson, Arizona 28/06/2016

Stayed in King room with ocean view balcony, would select that room again. Clean rooms with fridge and microwave, and LOUD air conditioning, but it worked great. Bed was too firm for our liking but we did sleep ok. Walking distance to restaurants, but not to the beaches...unless you like going down very steep dirt trails and crossing RR tracks. Parking is expensive at the beach unless you go early and get a spot at a meter, then it's only $3/hr...vs$7/hr at pay lot.

"I loved our stay"

5
rosefantastic24, Granada Hills, CA 22/06/2016

I loved this place and will be back. The people that work there are always smiling and willing to help you. The employees at the restaurant are nice as well and good is good. My daughter loved the location and my husband. We will be back to this location again. Bonus the pool.

silversurfer-delmar, Manager at Best Western Premier Hotel Del Mar, responded to this review
Dear rosefantastic24: Your comments are greatly appreciated on TripAdvisor! Our staff members are really like “extended family” many have been here for years. Knowing and able to recommend different unique locations and restaurants are always the best, not just in Del Mar, but the best in San Diego – Wow! Our location isn't perfect, we're not right on the beach, but we're not very far from it, just a short walk to enjoy the beautiful white sandy beaches of Del Mar – AND only two (2) stop lights away from La Jolla. All of us here at the BW Premier Hotel Del Mar really do appreciate your extra time to write such great comments. Thank you, Thomas Mackey

"Del Mar Inn"

5
Montanagal09, Las Vegas, Nevada 22/06/2016

Staff friendly and helpful. Room clean and attractive. Dinning was lacking. Hours of operation were were sometimes inconvenient. Grounds were attractive and parking accessible. Staff were helpful with off site reccommendations for dining.

silversurfer-delmar, Manager at Best Western Premier Hotel Del Mar, responded to this review
Dear Montanagal09: Thank you for the great comments on TripAdvisor. Friendly staff, clean and newly renovated rooms – pretty cool bathrooms – always a plus! Our apologies for any inconvenience regarding our Café, we're constantly tweaking to better serve our guests wants and needs. We'll do better next time – any concerns, please contact management and we'll get right on it immediately. We want you happy while visiting America's Finest City. Sincerely, Thomas Mackey

"Excellent location for vacationing in San Diego"

5
Robert O, Pasadena, United States 07/06/2016

With an excellent view of the Pacific Ocean, the rooms are great. The service is excellent, and the property is situated in a quiet area of Del Mar. Being here for a conference at The Scripps Research Institute, this was an ideal location to stay. The shuttle service the hotel offered to and from the institute was prompt, and the driver was quite a pleasant person to deal with.

silversurfer-delmar, Manager at Best Western Premier Hotel Del Mar, responded to this review
Dear Robert O: Thank you and Thank you for the great comments on TripAdvisor. Your comments are read by thousands of other potential visitors who rely on comments just like yours to determine where to stay and we understand there's lots of choices out there. We pride ourselves on being prompt while suggesting excellent places to visit to relax or be adventurous while visiting Del Mar, La Jolla & Torrey Pines. Reading your comments, seems you were here on business, we hope the next visit you'll have time for a bit of R & R while visiting. Look forward to you retuning again and again. Sincerely, Thomas Mackey

"3rd party booker beware at this cozy hotel"

2
GoneagainfromAtlanta, Atlanta, Ga. 06/06/2016

An otherwise nice stay at this inn was spoiled by the no customer service saavy of hotel staff. We booked on a prepaid third party site and were told they only place these types in their small 1 queen rooms. We negotiated an upgrade to a king room but it was tough. Lovely pool area with a cozy cafe attached. Room was small but a nice tiled walk in shower. It seems they have their own rules that do not help customers or create return visits. Laundry room worked but in an outside odd shed. This should be in the main bldg for comfort. On a rainy day this must be hard for housekeeping. We liked Solana Beach and La Jolla better than Del Mar. Next time, we will choose one of these 2 towns for a base.

silversurfer-delmar, Manager at Best Western Premier Hotel Del Mar, responded to this review
Dear GoneagainfromAtlanta: Unfortunately, we're bound by stringent agreements between ourselves and OTA's (((AKA))) as Online Travel Agencies. I'm very happy to read you were upgraded to a larger room with additional amenities. We hope you'll give us another try as we continue to better ourselves as a great little boutique hotel in the Sea Side Village of Del Mar. Sincerely, Thomas Mackey BW Premier Hotel Del Mar

"Very nice stay."

4
Dianne T, Casa Grande, United States 30/05/2016

The staff were all very helpful from check in to check out and all the questions we had about the area. The ocean view from our room was a plus! Was able to sit on balcony and watch the dolphins swim by. Would stay here again.

"Very nice place to stay"

4
User 29/05/2016

This is a charming, small hotel in a convenient location. We opted for a room with ocean view which was a tiny balcony but lots of ocean to see. It does overlook the parking lot which has normal noise of people coming and going. But still was worth the upgrade. The room was clean, comfortable and I'd definitely stay there again. It's a pleasant 10 minute walk to the beach and park area which are spectacular. The small cafe on site has basic food at bargain prices. Pretty pool area on site.

silversurfer-delmar, Manager at Best Western Premier Hotel Del Mar, responded to this review
Dear Elizabeth L: Thank you for the great kudos regarding our spectacular ocean views. Sunsets and sky's on fire worth the visit. Our rooms are clean & comfortable with all the extra amenities you'd expect from a beautiful Sea Side Boutique Hotel located in the Sea Side Village of Del Mar. We hope to have you return again and again. Sincerely, Thomas Mackey BW Premier Hotel Del Mar

"Morning noise"

3
ultranomad, florida 28/05/2016

This is actually a great hotel in a nice location -- the staff is friendly and the rooms are nice. This was my third time staying here, and I stayed in a ocean-view room. The problem this time was the morning noise which seemed to start daily around 7:30 AM. There is ambient neighborhood noise in this location, which the hotel cannot control (occasional dog barking, beach helicopters and small planes)....but the hotel can control staff noise. The cleaning and maintenance staff were friendly but very noisy starting around 7:30 to 8:00 AM. There's no excuse for noisy cleaning staff when you are paying somewhat pricey hotel rates -- if I was running this hotel, I would train them NOT to whistle or yell back and forth in the hallways or outside the building at ANY time. Vacuuming should start no earlier than check out time. Come on, del mar inn/best western -- these are hospitality no-brainers. Tune it up, or you will lose business, as you have lost mine. This hotel would be ideal for people who naturally wake up around 7 AM.

silversurfer-delmar, Manager at Best Western Premier Hotel Del Mar, responded to this review
Dear Ultranomad: Thank you for the great kudos regarding our great hotel and staff! BUT, seems like "we really blew it" when it came to noise issues. For that, my sincerest apologies. Long Story cut short – we were preparing to cut over to become a BW Premier, & by doing so we were working triple duty to become activated into the system and preparing for our site inspection. Again, this shouldn't be an excuse because we do pride ourselves on being a great little Boutique Hotel with a great staff, amenities and location. For all you experienced, I do apologize – sincerely, and if you'd be willing to return, I'd be willing to show you how great we really are. Yes, I'm requesting another chance the next time you're in town – please call the hotel and request to speak to Mr. Mackey regarding a previous stay. I'll take it from there and do all I can to allow you the best stay possible during your visit. I hope to hear from you in the immediate future. Sincerely, Thomas Mackey BW Premier Hotel Del Mar

"Amazing Stay"

5
User 27/05/2016

We chose this hotel because the rates were lower in comparison to San Diego, however it's not too much of a drive from major attractions. The neighbourhood is safe, we walked at night and didn't see any suspicious people. In the morning you can have a breathtaking walk along the beach. In the evening, Del Mar has various dining options to offer. We have stayed in beautiful room overlooking the ocean. It was a renovated room. From our understanding, hotel is more than 100 yo and is in very good condition for its age. Staff is very friendly.

"nice place - would stay there again when in the area"

4
AZbizguy, Phoenix, Arizona 26/05/2016

it was very easy to book via phone, it has a small inn kind of feel to it. Easy to check in and it has enough parking which you cant always count on in this area. The price was not out of line -again for the area which is unusually high. I was in town for a business conference -trade show so it was a place to stay. Breakfast place is separate from the hotel and the transactions there unless you are using cash are overly complex - using some coupon system with the hotel etc has been made unnecessarily difficult for some reason. It almost has what I want in a perfect business hotel - clean and quiet - yes, free parking - yes, free wifi - yes free breakfast - nope - you get some discount coupon or something or other -the the people at the little external cafe tried to explain why they cant take this or do this and that - but eventually I hear charlie browns teacher and nod then leave - I skipped the over priced nonsense breakfast thing and and stopped someplace else for 1/4 the price. If they could figure out how to get the breakfast thing fixed it would be perfect or dont offer anything that just frustrates the guests. I would stay there again when in the area -which will probably be next years event.

These reviews are the subjective opinions of individual travelers and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.