Room 1
Room 2
Room 3
Promotion code

Best Western Hotel Red Coach Inn, San Francisco

700 Eddy Street, 94109-7806, San Francisco, United States - See on a map
Best Western Red Coach Inn - FREE PARKING The Best Western Red Coach Inn is ideally located in the center of San Francisco. Come and experience our hotel near the major tourist attractions. Best price guaranteed and exclusive deals.

Located in the heart of downtown San Francisco and a 3-minute walk from San Francisco Civic Center Plaza! The Best Western Red Coach Inn offers FREE PARKING and a free full breakfast to all the guests with our luxurious rooms. We are a brand new property offering king size, queen size and disabled friendly rooms with or without a patio. We provide free Wi-Fi to all the guests as well as free ice and vending machines on each floor. Each room is warmly decorated, completely non-smoking and features cable TV with extended channels, a private bathroom, a coffee maker, hair dryer, iron and ironing board, and a safe. A guests’ only lift is available at the Hotel for added comfort and security with 24/7 front desk assistance. Featuring live entertainment, the Great American Music Hall is just a 4-minute walk from Best Western Red Coach Inn. SHN Orpheum Theatre, Civic Center/UN Plaza BART station and Bill Graham Civic Auditorium are less than 10-minute walk from the property. Moscone Convention Center is a 10-minute drive and the Golden Gate Bridge is a 20-minute drive. The hotel is surrounded by fast food chains as well as fine dining restaurants to suit your mood and fill your appetite.

Best Western

Hotel Red Coach Inn




Hotel advantages

  • Complimentary full american breakfast
    Complimentary full american breakfast
  • Airport shuttle
    Airport shuttle
  • Free parking
    Free parking
  • Outdoor parking
    Outdoor parking
  • 24-hour front desk
    24-hour front desk
  • Multilingual staff
    Multilingual staff
Show More Show Less

Guest reviews

In partnership with tripadvisor fr
based on 264 guest reviews
Very Good
Business Business
Couples Couples
Family Family
Friends getaway Friends getaway
Solo travel Solo travel
Sleep Quality

"Nice hotel, bad neighborhood "

joanstrassner, Luray, Virginia 15/07/2020

Absolutely gorgeous room!! Staff were very helpful. Parking garage locks down at 9p, & this isn't the kind of neighborhood you'd want to walk around in. The walk to the market 3 doors down & to the KFC were an adventure. The open air corridors made it extremely noisy from street sounds. The parking garage was pitch black dark the morning of check out. There were no stairs.. just elevators which presents an issue if there were a fire. Again, very nice facility, but we wouldn't stay there again .

"unsafe? Locked in"

User 06/07/2020

The only reason I'm staying at this hotel is because it's close to the hospital, where a family member is. The front desk person at night was very helpful. He was able to immediately switch my room because the noise from the alley bothering me. The room itself is clean. There's no cold water in the shower, only hot. The room is constantly cold, even with the AC off. The parking is free, which is nice, BUT they lock you in at 9pm. No coming or going, which is very inconvenient. I believe it's for safety, because of the neighborhood? Still kinda ridiculous.

"Never again"

User 19/04/2020

I dont believe people understand the importance of customer service anymore and to be told that they dont have to clean the rooms between guest is disgusting will never stay here again and manager didn't care when I bought my concerns to him

"Worth a look, great hotel and people, would stay again"

User 24/03/2020

Great stay! This hotel has been redone, updated and is very well put together! Everyone was great. Yes, it's near the Tenderloin, but I have never had any issues. (Previous SF resident, know the city and area) Some mild noise, but it's SF in the city. Location is actually walkabout to a lot of key areas, would stay again. Thanks!


User 16/03/2020

The hotel is... meh. Our key card had to be re-done every day. Housekeeping came in regardless of the Privacy marker. And this hotel is in an area that smelled like urine, and had human feces on the sidewalks. The internet was so slow we just switched to cellular. Nothing was coming through. At breakfast I was told I was using too much almond milk for my cereal. I hated this hotel. The room was nice though. Clean and modern.

bwr2020, Manager at Best Western Red Coach Inn, responded to this review
Dear Gambl, Thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our property. Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come back and see us again soon. If I can be of assistance in the future, please don't hesitate to contact me at (415) 771-2100. Thank you again for taking the time to complete the survey. We appreciate your loyalty to our brand. Sincerely, 05751 Property Customer Care Team Best Western Red Coach Inn

"Not bad for one night"

User 15/03/2020

We experience a lot of noise from the street, I couldn't sleep normally. Also the piece of soap in the bathroom was as if bitten on the edge. We thought it might be mice.... But the staff on the front desk was helpful and friendly.

"First time in San Francisco"

vaniam156, Houston, Texas 25/02/2020

I wanted to stay somewhere central to most of the tourist locations and this hotel served me well with its spot- within walking distance to a lot of areas - service there was great! Rooms were pleasantly above my expectations- staff was very friendly! For any future visits i will definitely be staying at that location- will be back there again soon!

"A Good Deal."

User 20/02/2020

We had read that the Inn had been renovated in Nov. of last year and were very pleased with our room & the breakfast provided. We did have trouble finding a nice restaurant within walking distance & the area could have been nicer but we were comfortable, enjoyed our stay & will stay again. We have paid a lot more for other apartments in the past and received a lot less.

"See through bathroom door, bad neighborhood"

lac20202020, Tacoma, Washington 08/02/2020

The bathroom doors have frosted glass that is actually See- Through. Also, the bathroom doors do not fully cover the door opening so you can see directly into the bathroom. Very rough neighborhood, loud at all hours. Room was clean, updated.

"Newly renovated, nice place to stay but shady neighborhood"

ivhs72, Portland, Oregon 21/01/2020

This is a newly renovated motel that has been under the Best Western banner for 3 months. Staff is still learning the process, but were enthusiastic to ensure we had a nice stay. The room was clean, everything functioned, and check-in/check-out went smoothly. The only downside is that on-site parking is limited, and no nearby options seemed to be available. The surrounding neighborhood is not the nicest due to the overwhelming homeless problem that is the new San Francisco (we passed three homeless on the sidewalk outside, including one smoking meth). This is not the fault of the management, they do their best to minimize any outside influences. So do not let this deter you from staying here.

"Great hotel in a not so great neighbourhood"

User 18/01/2020

My expectations were low going in, but I was pleasantly surprised. If you are comfortable walking, it is a short distance to lots of cool areas, otherwise it is a short Lyft/Uber ride away from everything. I found my app always wanted them to drop me off on the Willow Street side of the hotel. Make sure to ask your driver to drop you on Eddy or Polk Street instead. The room was newly renovated and clean as can be. It is a loud room, you can hear almost everything from the street, but I just left the fan of the heating/cooling system on and slept really well. The bed was clean and comfortable. The shower was clean and the bathroom is supplied with hand soap, body lotion, shower gel, shampoo and conditioner from pumps on the wall. They also supply toothpaste and shower caps. The room has a safe that you can put you valuables in, but it is very light and it not secured to the sidetable or wall. The safe is battery operated (mine did not have batteries in it upon arrival) and I was able to easily lift it when looking to see if it needed to be plugged in. The staff was wonderful and helpful. They are vigilant to make sure the elevator is only accessible to guests, and gave good directions. Breakfast was pretty good, just a standard eggs, sausage, pancakes, cereal buffet style with yogurt, fruit and other little pastries available. I would absolutely stay here again. It was a perfectly decent hotel at an affordable price in a very expensive city.

"Great job. Can tell the rooms have been remodeled"

James M, Las Vegas, New Mexico 08/01/2020

This was my first stay here and gave it a try because I'm a Best Western Rewards Diamond member and was in town for the night, so figured I'd give it a try. Some of the reviews are very negative, so I was a little skeptical, however the majority of the complaints had to do with the surrounding neighborhood. Hadn't been to the Tenderloin in a few years, but always enjoyed its eclectic feel and bohemian restaurants, bars, etc... All of that said, I had no idea how bad the Tenderloin has become. It's worse than I expected and dangerous to boot. But that's not the hotel owners fault. The hotel turned out to be very nice! I was checked in by a delightful woman named Candy who was welcoming, friendly and professional. Her colleague Ken was the same and made me feel at home and like I was a longtime patron. My room, 203, was extremely well done. The carpet was brand new, the PTAC unit was too, the bed and couch very comfy, and the bathroom was done beautifully. The tile work in the shower was craftsman-like. Wanted to use the rooftop deck to have a glass of wine and relax after a long work day, but Ken informed me that there was no furniture up there, so couldn't use it. Perhaps that's something the ownership can provide in the future? Would be a nice amenity. Being that I didn't want to walk around at night, (which makes me so sad - what has happened to a once gorgeous city)?, I ate snacks that I bought at a Target, in my room and watched TV instead. Had a very restful night and was up for breakfast at 6.00 am which I brought back to my room as I had a conference call that I had to be on. Breakfast was very nice. Very few choices, but that's fine, as it means less waste. What was available was hot, tasty, and an excellent amenity. Parking was available, which is a great value, however I was using BART, so didn't need it. There's a shuttle to SFO as well, which costs $20.00 per person. Once again I was using BART and the Civic Center station is a short walk away. Long and short, ownership did a beautiful job renovating this hotel, I'm hoping and praying that the neighborhood gets cleaned up, and I commend this group for being pioneers. Also hope that the neighboring businesses take this example and try to copy their thought process. Pride of ownership is contagious. The reason I gave it four instead of five stars, is strictly due to the surrounding area and the dangers of walking around after dark. And thanks to Candy and Ken for making my stay such a nice one.

"Great, newly renovated hotel located in an unfortunate area"

User 18/12/2019

The hotel itself was great, no issues there. The San Francisco Tenderloin district is a difficult area to be around and doesn't always feel safe, but the hotel can't control that. If you stay here, just be aware and limit walking.

"Worst Hotel in Years"

redtandem, Seattle 12/12/2019

First, the good: The rooms were very recently renovated, they are attractive, and the bed was very comfortable. Everything else is bad news. Checking in took ten minutes. We got charged $30 even though we used Best Western points for a free night. We are still trying to get that refunded. We had to stay two more nights after picking up a bug while traveling, so stayed 3 nights in all. The hotel is surrounded on all sides by homeless people sleeping on the sidewalk and in the alleys. To find even an adequate restaurant requires a few blocks of walking through this. We forgot some underwear and small exercise devices in a drawer when we checked out. The hotel claims they can't find it, and requests to talk to the manager are always answered by “he's not available.” The breakfast, by the way, was minimal and the breakfast room small and crowded. The internet kept going out, and sometimes required that you find the password and re-enter it. We asked for no maid service one day, but the maid came anyway, took our used towels off the towel bars that we planned to reuse, leaving us with no towels at all! There are lots of hotels in SF. Do t waste your time and money on this one.

"Hotel charged me lump sum for room and deposit"

User 21/11/2019

This hotel charged me $341 as one lump sum for a $169 plus tax room and an “incidentals“ charge of $150, instead of charging one amount for the room and separately putting a hold on the card for incidentals or deposit (which does not normally actually reflect as a charge to the card unless room service or something is ordered, and certainly would not be charged together with the room fee as one lump sum UNLESS THE HOTEL IS ENGAGING IN CORRUPT BUSINESS PRACTICES.) Considering that this is just a low class motel, it's hard to see what “incidentals” I could charge that would amount to $150, and she did say it was for incidentals, not a deposit. When I called down to the front desk, the clerk tried to act like this was a normal practice, instead of admitting that she had made a mistake. So, welcome to the new world of business, where everyone gets screwed and for the benefit of who?


OmarJ76, Seaside, California 30/09/2019

Great hotel in the tenderloin. Centrally located everything within walking distance. The rooms were spacious and well equipped. Staff was friendly and attentive. The renovation has greatly improved this hotel

GuestXperienceTeam, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Red Coach Inn, responded to this review
Dear OmarJ76, Thank you for sparing a moment to give your valuable feedback! We are glad that you liked your stay! Also, we are happy to learn that our staff came across as attentive and amicable. We are happy that you liked the renovation too. We hope that you will continue to visit us! Best regards, Red Coach Customer Care Team

"Convenient location "

kerryj917, Kenner, Louisiana 22/09/2019

The room was newly renovated and pretty nice. Bed was very comfortable and loved the bathroom. Not in the best neighborhood but it was convenient to get around San Francisco by Uber and public transportation. If they had breakfast it would have been better. The parking was tight but free which is a plus in the city. Owners were very nice. Would recommend.

GuestXperienceTeam, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Red Coach Inn, responded to this review
Dear kerryj917, We thank you for your response. We are glad that you liked our service and had a great time! Thank you for recommending us through your review. We are eagerly waiting for your next visit! Best regards, Red Coach Customer Care Team

"Kept My Credit Card Hold. Didn't Tell me. Reneged on Refund. Super Shady. Stay Away"

User 28/11/2018

Stayed 11/3/18 I was there alone for an event in the city came into the room late to get sleep. Only stayed here as they do have parking. Old and rundown in a terrible location. At some point during my sleep a mirror in a frame fell off the wall. Did not Break. I had heard a bang in the night but did not know what it was until morning when I saw the mirror laying on the floor. Reported it on check out. The guy who runs the place said no problem, and I leave. A month later my credit card bill comes, they charged me $250. I called them about it, at first they denied they even charged me, finally after I called back they acknowledged they did and promised a refund. Refund did not come. Called again and now they are charging me for the mirror that did not break. Filed complaint with CC company, and STAY AWAY, SUPER SHADY. Said they refund, now wont. STAY AWAY!

GuestXperienceTeam, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Red Coach Inn, responded to this review
Dear Guest, thank you so much for taking the time to post your feedback following your recent stay with us. We are disappointed if one of our guests leaves with less than first-rate experience. Our aim is to provide a clean, comfortable and affordable place to stay. We sincerely apologize for the confusion with the charges. Most hotels hold on to some deposit or billing details for any incidentals and we are fully transparent about all the charges. It does appear there was a broken mirror in the room. We hope this explains the charge that appeared on the statement. Please know we are here to help, let us know if you still have any questions. Thank you. Best regards, Red Coach Customer Care Team

"Very basic motel in an unpleasant area"

User 31/08/2018

Technically, the rooms are okay and the staff is friendly. But the area is quite unpleasant, and we felt uneasy and unsafe walking the streets even in the early evening. Don't be misguided by the location on the map, when you walk through this area, it seems to be very far away from everything. And finally, wifi did not work for us, neither in the room nor in front of the reception.

GuestXperienceTeam, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Red Coach Inn, responded to this review
Dear knightshift, we are sorry that you did not feel safe however we do not have control over the people outside our building. Thank you for your feedback. Best regards, Red Coach Customer Care Team

These reviews are the subjective opinions of individual travelers and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.