Book your hotel


Room 1

Room 2

Room 3

Room 4

Room 5

Room 6

Room 7

Room 8

Room 9
corporate/promo code

Destination

Toulouse, France

CHECK IN

07/07/2022

CHECK OUT

08/07/2022

Rooms 1

2  Adults0   Child

Room 1
Room 2
Room 3
corporate/promo code

Grand Hotel de l'Opera, BW Premier Collection, Toulouse

1, Place du Capitole, 31000, Toulouse, France - See on a map
Grand Hotel de l'Opera, BW Premier Collection - Grand Hotel de l'Opera The Grand Hotel de l'Opera, BW Premier Collection is ideally located in the center of Toulouse. Come and experience our hotel near the major tourist attractions. Best price guaranteed and exclusive deals.

The Grand Hotel de l'Opera, symbol of "art de vivre" is nowadays one of the most famous hotels in Toulouse. Located on the Capitole square, in the heart of the "pink city", the history of the hotel stands among the oldest of Toulouse. In the 17th century, in the midst of the Renaissance period, this nice monument sheltered a monastery. The 1789's events disturbed its quietness. The building was change into the "Lycee de la Revolution", the school of revolution. New metamorphosis a few years later when the Opera Dance School of Toulouse makes it its own. In this new designation, the Grand Hotel de l'Opera tribute to its talented tenants who only had to cross the street to perform on stage at the "Theatre du Capitole". In 1980, the amazing building is refurbished as a sumptuous 4 Star boutique hotel combining the mobility and the charm of Toulouse mansions. Ever since, the reputation of the Grand Hotel de l'Opera is established. Our hotel continues to warmly welcome guests from all over the world. In 1996, a fire destroyed no less than 36 rooms. Two years later, Rouleau Hotellerie acquires the Grand Hotel de l'Opera, gives it a fully new direction and restores the hotel to its full splendor. The interior design was magnified by Elisabeth Drapeau. The entire team is looking forward to welcoming you soon to our peaceful haven facing the Capitole.

BW Premier Collection

Grand Hotel de l'Opera

LABEL_ITINERAIRE

LABEL_DEPART:

LABEL_ARRIVEE:

Hotel advantages

  • Cocktail Lounge On Premises Or Within 100 Feet Of Hotel Lobby.
    Cocktail Lounge On Premises Or Within 100 Feet Of Hotel Lobby.
  • 24 Hour Front Desk
    24 Hour Front Desk
  • Safe Deposit At The Property Or In Room
    Safe Deposit At The Property Or In Room
  • Room Service
    Room Service
  • Multi-Lingual Staff.
    Multi-Lingual Staff.
  • Dry Cleaning/Laundry
    Dry Cleaning/Laundry
Show More Show Less

Accessibilité

Label Tourisme et Handicap

Guest reviews

In partnership with tripadvisor fr
Travelers Choice 2021
Certificate of Excellence 2020
 
Travelers_Choice 2020
 
based on 938 guest reviews
NOTE ISSUED
Excellent
444
Very Good
308
Average
112
Poor
52
Terrible
22
REFER TO NOTICE
Business Business
163
Couples Couples
505
Family Family
92
Friends getaway Friends getaway
55
Solo travel Solo travel
66
SUMMARY NOTES
Cleanliness
Location
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Value

"Can't wait to be back!"

5
User 26/06/2022

I had one night in Toulouse before leaving France to go back home to the US and wanted to book somewhere special (because I was traveling with my grandmother) and also wanted to book somewhere that had a good concierge service to help us organize any COVID testing we needed prior to our departure. The hotel was so prompt in following up with me and providing any and all answers I needed. They were also very kind to make sure we were in an accessible room for my grandmother, and even left a lovely note and treat for her birthday. The beauty of the hotel really swept her away, she was so in awe and happy to be there. We had our last dinner in France at one of the restaurants downstairs. Everything was so lovely. Cant wait to visit again!

"Classic 4 Star Hotel with 5 Star Service"

5
kip136, Alameda, California 16/06/2022

First I arrived at the hotel and Hotels.com had booked the room with the wrong description. I was expecting a room with a bathtub, and that was not what awaited me. The front desk associate, Alexandre, seeing the problem when he checked on line, immediately found me a different room. He came up to the room and took my bags and escorted me to the other wing of the building. I took the elevator and he took the stairs. He explained that the hotel was two old buildings joined together, giving me some of the history going back six hundred years. Fascinating backdrop to hear the hotel's storied history. The impeccable service from Alexandre set the tone for a wonderful stay. The hotel is NOT one of those modern, sterile environments. It has the genuine feel of a classic European hotel. My room was lovely. The white marble bathroom and the luxurious tub were amazing. The hotel was on the main square, Place de la Capitole, near shopping, museums, and walks along the river. I'll be returning I hope in 2024 for the reopening of the main museum. I will only stay at the Hotel de l'Opera. And I hope Alexandre, Laura, and Anna are there when I return.

Direction Hôtel Opéra, Directeur général at Le Grand Hotel de l'Opera, responded to this review
Dear clients, We would like to thank you for taking the time to write such a detailed review about your recent stay in our hotel. We are pleased to read that you appreciated our central location on the Capitole Square and our typical French Belle Epoque atmosphere, which we maintain while meeting the standards of modern comfort. Alexander is indeed great and he always tries to find a solution to make our guests happy. We are lucky to have such a great team and would be very pleased to welcome you again in Toulouse in 2024. Ana is finishing her training this summer and going back to university but I also hope that Alexander and Laura will still be here to welcome you again. Do not hesitate to contact us directly by mail for your next stay. Thank you again for your review and we look forward welcoming you again. Best regards, Sandra Lampée, General Manager

"I feel conflicted slightly"

4
jenniferwL7337GF, United Kingdom 02/05/2022

I feel conflicted in my review. The hotel exterior is beautiful very imposing , and the entrance to reception is very pretty typically french. Ideal to be in the centre of a very busy city. The reason I am conflicted is because there is a member of staff who really stood out over and above the actual stay or maybe my review could have been three star had he not been there to make our stay much better. Alexander we met the first night. He was fantastic. Nothing was any trouble for him. A kind and genuine person, who you can see has a passion for customer service. The hotel lobby and bar was pretty also, very floral, but very empty. We saw two people in the whole hotel? Seemed like the shining! The room 265 was clean, air con was good, bathroom modern, the bed was a little hard, TV had one English channel, it had everyyou needed. Just a little dated, or maybe that is just the theme. It has a great location for sight seeing. The last night we were there. Alexander was on duty, there was not anyone on the bar so he was now the bar man and on reception. It's not fair to have him doing both especially when we know his shift has finished. But once again nothing was any trouble and he made us our last drink there. What the hotel is lacking is a spa. And even their own restaurant. There is so much more that could be done here. They are lucky to have such great staff. All friendly. But our staff member of the trip was definitely Alexander. He was great!

Direction Hôtel Opéra, Directeur général at Le Grand Hotel de l'Opera, responded to this review
Dear Jennifer, We would like to thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay at the Grand Hôtel de l'Opéra. We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay and appreciated our central location in the heart of Toulouse as well as the great welcome by our receptionnist Alexandre. He joined us some months ago and we are very proud to have him in our team. Our hotel is located in a historical building, and we are dedicated to maintain this Belle Epoque atmosphere, while meeting the standards of modern comfort. The Covid period was a difficult time for every business around the world, and even more in the tourism industry. After re-opening in the late summer of 2021, we are still gradually getting back to our normal functioning state and on quiet sunday nights the receptionnist also does the service at the bar. We have recently added a new staffmember to serve at the bar and help with the luggage. They are indeed very motivated and dedicated, and we would like to thank you for this acknowledgment. Thank you again for your review and we look forward to be able welcome you again in Toulouse. Feel free to contact us directly so we can assist you with your reservation. Best regards, Sandra Lampée, General Manager

"Big mistake !!!!"

2
Stephane31410, London, United Kingdom 18/02/2022

Very disappointing stay at the Hotel !!!! Very far from value for money !!! This is not anymore the Grand Hotel de L'Opera that Toulouse could be proud of !!!! The decor is getting more old than stylish !! The service is inexistant taking into consideration the very kind members of staff at the reception !!! Well over priced either for the room than for the breakfast !!! Can not be more disappointed

Direction Hôtel Opéra, Directeur général at Le Grand Hotel de l'Opera, responded to this review
Dear guest, We are very sorry to read that you have not been satisfied with your recent stay in our hotel. On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations. Nevertheless we think that your evaluation is not very fare and very hard for any ununderstandable reason. I am working in the hotel since 2012 and we offer quite low rates since our reopening after the Covid crises. The only service we are not offering any more is the valet parking which is not Covid friendly. All other services haven't changed, except that the barman is off on sunday and monday nights and that the reception is offering the bar service. We have done a very big renovation during the time of closing of the hotel with the renovation of several rooms including entirely new bathrooms, carpets, wallpapers , new entrance and access to the hotel in the courtyard , new security and fire alarm services etc.. The rate for breakfast has been increased for 2 € for the first time in 10 years, rates have overall increased for around 30% for all goods we purchase. We work hard to maintain our hotel in his typical style and we are renovating continually and will continue to invest to provide the best possible experience for our guests. I would be happy to exchange with you by phone or email would you wish to talk about your stay and the type of services you felt were missing. (the room you where in etc..) Please be assured that our guests satisfaction is our priority. I hope that you will consider staying with us again in the future so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience. Yours faithfully, Sandra Lampée, General Manager

"Good hotel, good staff, good location"

4
User 09/11/2021

We stayed 4 days for a long week-end. Nice room, good breakfast and very centric location. We could walk easily to most of the locations we wanted to visit. Plenty of shops and restaurants around, but the hotel itself is quiet.

Sandra LAMPEE, Directeur général at Le Grand Hotel de l'Opera, responded to this review
Dear Hilgar, thank you for taking the time to write a comment about your stay in Grand Hotel de l'Opera. We are very glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that everything was up to your expectations. We are looking forward to welcoming you again in Toulouse in the future! Please feel free to contact us directly would you need assistance with your booking process. Yours faithfully, Sandra Lampée, General Manager

"Lovely "Grand Olde Dame" in the heart of Toulouse"

3
William P, Glendale, Arizona 21/10/2021

This hotel brings you back a hundred years. The paintings, sketches, and photos on the walls add to the atmosphere and ambiance. It is located directly on Place du Capitole which makes it very convenient to restaurants and shopping. The bed was very comfortable and the air conditioning/heating was good. Drawback: parking is across the street in a public underground parking lot, which means you have to schlep your bags from the parking lot to the hotel. Not good, especially since the elevator in the parking area only goes to level -1, which means you have to lug your luggage up a set of stairs. Lisa in reception was friendly and awarded us an upgrade because of the problems we had with the luggage/parking capabilities. Breakfast was adequate, but not great.

"A Sad Tired Old Grande Damme"

3
Coastal31806287496, Geneva, Switzerland 21/10/2021

The location of this “used to be” elegant hotel is superb on Place du Capitole, however it is showing it's age and is need of refurbishment and renovation. Lise, at Reception, is the saving grace, professional and was most helpful to assist (there are no bellmen or anyone to assist with baggage). Breakfast is adequate but not outstanding. We went out for the day and came back at 16.00h (4P) to find that our room had not been cleaned. The man at Reception was most rude when I asked to have the room cleaned and I had to negotiate to have it done right away rather than later after I rested. Recovering from COVID should be an incentive to provide great service not an excuse for downgrading what was once a great hotel (I was last here about 20 years ago).

"Best hotel on Capitol square"

4
zanlux, Bertrange, Luxembourg 22/09/2021

This hotel is perfectly located for a visit of Toulouse : in the center and close to everything. The hotel has the charm of the old hotels but very clean and with all the modern features you would expect for a hotel of this category. Just one minor suggestion for improvement : the bottle of water in the room should be free.

"Very Good"

5
User 21/08/2021

Great hotel in a very good location . Thanks especially to Marjorie at the front desk who went out of her way to make our stay more enjoyable . Her restaurant recommendations with excellent . Many thanks we will return to a very nice and comfortable hotel

Direction Hôtel Opéra, Directeur général at Le Grand Hotel de l'Opera, responded to this review
Dear guests, We are pleased to read that you have been entirely satisfied with your stay in our hotel. The entire team hopes welcoming you again in 2022. Best regards, Sandra Lampée, General Manager

"Wonderful ambiance."

5
DrHappy0, Denver, Colorado 03/02/2020

Lovely historical decor. Central location on main square. You can easily walk to museums, churches, and other attractions. Many restaurants available, the best on side streets off the main square. Subway stop is three minutes walk away.

ComOpera, Directeur général at Grand Hotel de l'Opera, responded to this review
Dear clients, We thank you for your review and are pleased to read that you have appreciated your stay in our hotel, the historical decor and the location on the Capitole square within the heart of the city. We hope welcoming you soon again for another stay. Best regards, Sandra Lampée, General Manager

"Brilliant hotel in the heart of Toulouse"

5
dsicklen, Lannes, France 16/01/2020

A great hotel staffed by professional and friendly people. The location is perfect for central Toulouse and they take away the hassle of parking in the city. Shops and cultural sites are all a short stroll away, as are some excellent brasseries and restaurants. No question is too difficult for the staff as they will provide all of the assistance that you could require. Book direct - they appreciate it.

ComOpera, Directeur général at Grand Hotel de l'Opera, responded to this review
Dear clients, Thank you very much for your great review on Tripadvisor, we are pleased to read that you had a brilliant stay in the Grand Hôtel de l'Opéra and that you did appreciate our central location as well as assistance and friendliness of our stuff. We are looking forward welcoming you soon again in the very near future. Best regards, Sandra Lampée, General Manager

"Charming and picturesque "

5
CuriousSophia, London, United Kingdom 13/01/2020

Gorgeous hotel, in the most incredible location in the centre of beautiful Toulouse. We stayed just before Christmas and the hotel is perfectly located on the main square where the Christmas market is held. The rooms are very quiet and well insulated, so we didn't hear or feel any disturbance from the crowds, we loved being so close to all the action! The rooms are plush and decorated in timeless French style with heavy drapes and thick carpets, with original artworks throughout. The bathroom was lovely, mostly marble and very clean, and I loved that the toilet was separate with proper doors, so that couples or friends travelling together can have privacy. We had a small balcony overlooking the entrance to the hotel. The view was not particularly special as we didn't face the main square, but it felt very French and relaxed. The breakfast is good with a broad selection of pastries, breads, meats, cheeses and cereals with fruits. Staff were lovely, and although some spoke very little English, we got by perfectly fine. The bar area on the ground floor is full of character and colour, as are most of the lobby spaces throughout. The antique wooden staircases are a little creaky but stunning. Overall, a very enjoyable stay, would definitely return!

ComOpera, Directeur général at Grand Hotel de l'Opera, responded to this review
Dear Sophia, First of all we would like to thank you for taking the time to leave us such a detailed comment due to your recent stay at the Grand Hôtel de l'Opéra. We are pleased to read that you appreciated our prime location, your quiet deluxe room with a balcony on the third floor, the cleanliness of the room, our buffet breakfast and service provided by our staff. During the christmas period we had some of the porters who do not regullary work with us, normally all of them have quite a good level of english. We appologize if some of them spoke only very little english. Do not hesitate to contact reception directly for your next stay to be shure to get the same or similar room for your next stay. We wish you all the best for 2020 and are looking forward welcoming you soon again. Best regards, Sandra Lampée, General Manager

"Great Location with Period Style"

4
OzSooty, Sydney 09/12/2019

This hotel has an attractive 'old world' style and a great location right on Place du Capitole. Our Balcony Room provided plenty of space for two people and included an open verandah. The King bed was very comfortable, the curtains kept the room dark in the mornings and the room was quiet as it faced out the side of the hotel away from the square. There was a nice bathroom with a good shower. And I applaud the use of pump-bottles for the toiletries to reduce plastic waste. The hotel has a lift from the foyer, but there were two small steps on our floor between the lift door and our room. We didn't use the hotel's breakfast room during our stay, and while there is no restaurant in the hotel, there is a restaurant and brasserie right outside the entrance (and despite these two having a very similar name to the hotel, I do not believe they are part of it). There are many other dining options in the Place du Capitole and others within an easy walk. The hotel's bar area was very pleasant for a pre-dinner drink. The car entrance (which may be tight for larger cars) can be used for dropping off bags and people, but parking is provided in the underground public car park in the square. Hotel staff will park the car for you at no extra charge.

ComOpera, Directeur général at Grand Hotel de l'Opera, responded to this review
Dear clients, First of all we would like to thank you for your detailed feedback due to your stay at the Grand Hôtel de l'Opéra. Me and my team are pleased to read that you have appreciated our location, your prestige room with the patio, the bathroom and the comfort of the bed. Concerning the toileteries please be aware that we change to Nuxe products very soon and that in all classic and confort rooms we will use pump bottles to reduce plastic waste. Indeed both restaurants are completely independant of the hotel, both the gastronomic option Les Jardins de l'Opéra and the brasserie de l'Opéra have an independant owner. As you mention a lot of restaurant options serving excellent food are within walking distance of the hotel. We hope welcoming you again this year and the entire team joins me to wish you a happy new year 2020. Best regards, Sandra Lampée, General Manager

"Quirky and charming"

4
shane n, NC 01/11/2019

Set right on the Place Capitole square , you get to walk to virtually all the historic sites, restaurants and the very efficient and clean metro. Friendly staff and they offer some of the best beds I have ever encountered . The front desk staff were especially helpful trying to help find vegan restaurants for me. This place is lovely

ComOpera, Directeur général at Grand Hotel de l'Opera, responded to this review
Dear Shane, We would like to thank you for the excellent comment left on Tripadvisor due to your recent trip to Toulouse. We are pleased to read that you have appreciated the location, the bedding and the helpful assistance by our reception team. We are looking forward welcoming you soon again. Best regards, Sandra Lampée, General Manager

These reviews are the subjective opinions of individual travelers and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.