Best Western Central Hotel,  Tours

4.0/5  - based on 323 guest reviews.
21 Rue Berthelot, 37000, Tours, France - See map
+33 2 47054644 +33 2 47661026

Destination

Dates

Your room

> Room 1

1 adult

 

Hotel advantages

  • Cocktail lounge
    Cocktail lounge
  • Safe deposit box
    Safe deposit box
TripAdvisor Traveler Rating
based on 324 traveler reviews
See more comments >>
Photo gallery :
The Best Western Central Hotel is a comfortable city centre hotel in a quiet commercial area overlooking gardens. Close to museums, concert hall, cathedral, shops and Loire castles. We offer a full breakfast for a nominal fee, have a coffee shop and lounge, elevator, babysitting upon request, and laundry services. Our rooms include cable television, dataports, wake-up calls, AM/FM alarm clock, coffee maker, mini-bar, hairdryer, iron and ironing board and non-smoking rooms are available.

See rates and availability

 
Room 1

Guest reviews


in partnership withtrip advisor img
based on 324 guest reviews
 
NOTE ISSUED REFER TO NOTICE SUMMARY NOTES
Excellent
 
73
Verygood
 
144
Medium
 
69
Poor
 
32
Horrible
 
6
Business Business 54
Couples Couples 171
Family Family 50
Friends getaway Friends getaway 20
Solo travel Solo travel 15
Cleanliness
Location
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Value
Best Western Central Hotel,Tours
  • 3
    « Good location to explore tours, but... »

    Our room was noisy and had sagging paint. Housekeeping only partially remade bed for second night and left items on a chair so we had to take care of it. Though breakfast was good and it was great for electronic plugs.

    4
    « Good Location »

    Stayed with my wife, and our puppy on our way to Spain. Good location, pleasant staff and a good room. The secure parking was a priority for us. The only small downside was the price of the breakfast, at €16 it is definitely on the expensive side, French motorway test stops look cheap by comparison. All in all a nice hotel on a very nice French town.

    4
    « Great location »

    We only had one night as a stop heading to Calais. The hotel was recommended by friends as being the perfect location in the city , easy parking, friendly staff and value for money. Not luxurious but well appointed. We were not disappointed.

    3
    « Maintenance an issue »

    We used room 436 and the toilet seat came off in my hand on arrival. This was promptly fixed but later on retiring to bed we found that the air conditioning had a fault and didn't work. The main staircase - which is also a fire escape has mattresses stored on the landings and a large amount of carpet tiles in boxes. The breakfast was good although the breakfast room is a bit stark and the waitress chewed gum when replenishing the buffet. Receptionists were helpful.

    3
    « Très bien situé, excellent accueil mais pas au niveau 4* »

    Nice hotel in the center chosen because I was running the marathon ; it's close to the starting line and they accepted a late checkout. The staff is really good and accomodating (we arrived early, room not ready they found another one ...). A big room for 3 with a huge bathroom (a tube and a shower) - strange layout ?? Nice garden where we had a drink in the sunshine. The downside is the matresses andlots of stuff in the staircase, the feeling that hotel is still under renovation - fine but I'm still paying full price ....

    4
    « Best staff ever »

    We stopped in Tours for three nights while on a road trip from Madrid to Paris. I selected the Best Western because of its location and parking. The hotel overall was very satisfactory, with spacious rooms and windows that opened wide onto the city, but what highlighted the experience was the wonderful front desk staff. They were invariably extremely helpful and friendly, patiently assisting us with all sorts of matters: where there might be an outdoor market, how to best drive out of town, getting us plates to use for food we bought, and one of them even lent us her own bicycle pump to take with us on a bike ride. Plus they patiently kept talking with us in French, even though we struggled, because they could tell we wanted to practice - rather than switch immediately to English as the more impatient Parisians later did. I'm not exaggerating when I said it was the best staff I've engaged with at any hotel in the world.

    4
    « Great location even better service »

    Reception staff were helpful and friendly at all times. Both room and bathroom were spacious and comfortable. When we arrived they gave us our room keys to find a room that wasn't ready but they apologized and offered us drinks. Again, service was great and besides that small detail everything about this place made us feel welcomed.

    4
    « Great location »

    Very convenient for the restaurants of the rue Colbert and the wonderful riverside bar. The room was very spacious with a separate toilet and shower room, the only negative was the charge of over 3 Euro for water from the minibar. All in all would probably return.

    5
    « Lovely Hotel »

    We have stayed here many times over the years and it has always been very comfortable and welcoming. The staff are professional and friendly. It is well placed in the centre of town so it's very convenient and relatively easy to find. Since the rearrangement of the garden areas there is now a small garden and terrace at the rear where you can sit and relax with a drink, and the front of the hotel now has off-street parking. We stayed here twice this year - once on the way down to Bordeaux and then again on the way back to Calais. Lovely hotel.

    4
    « Great Location »

    The location of the hotel was excellent. Reception staff were extremely friendly and their recommendation of Le Laurenty restaurant was excellent. We did not have breakfast and instead walked for 5 minutes to a local café.

  • 2
    « Room we were given were not on any of their web sites! »

    The room for 4 people was not any of the rooms pictured on the web site. We had a ground floor room, that was old tired, dusty and smelt musty. it had access directly onto a public lounge area, hence we had to open two reversible doors to enter the room allowing for a little privacy but not much!. We could not open any of the windows because they were surrounded by plants and opened directly onto the outdoor bar/breakfast area, where people were looking in, therefore we had to close the blinds. The bathroom was an old pink suite with a plastic white toilet seat. Just one between the four of us. Tea facilities was just one lone tea bag! We felt was though we were pushed off in very old accommodation. As an asthmatic, it was the only time in 3 weeks that I had to use my medication - the air was so stale. The second room for two was on the second floor and although much better was still tired looking.

    2
    « Expensive for what it is. »

    This hotel was disappointing & extremely expensive. We had to pay extra for a very poor breakfast and the decor in the foodhall & landing were very dated. The bedrooms on the other hand were modern and finished nicely. It just seemed like they have focused on some areas and forgotten about others.

    4
    « Perfectly situated by Tram line in City centre and close to historic quarter »

    For tourists could not be closer to everything of interest and so close to famous Pont Wilson bridge over the Loire. Very comfortable rooms and breakfast one of the more varied for choice we have had. Staff very helpful.

    5
    « Best hotel in Tours »

    We have stayed here many times and never had a bad experience. The 2 Michels (one with a h and one with a k) cannot do enough for you all through your stay. All rooms we have stayed in are pleasant, large,comfortable with excellent bathrooms. (try room 444) Great location, walking distance to the river & the old town. Good cheap bar by the river under the main bridge & superb restaurants in the main town square.

    4
    « Nice hotel. Great staff - Higher end of price. »

    We had a clean comfortable room (Yes, they have AC). The staff was nice enough to hold our luggage for a few days while we biked the Loire. 10 minutes walk from the station but close to the center and old town.

    3
    « Great Location, »

    The location was just about the only reason worth staying here. Our room was very noisy - we could hear everything our neighbors were saying. The bathroom was minimally clean. If you need a quick place to stay just overnight and want to be in a great location, this place would be fine. Staff was friendly.

    5
    « Best Place to stay and visit all Loire, Cher and Indre castles »

    We did a lot of Internet research since January, before we decided to stay for 12 nights at this Best Western Hotel in Tours at the river Loire. As it's almost impossible to find a hotel room with a king size bed AND a walk-in shower outside of Paris, we booked this room, hoped for the best and did not regret it. The location is very quiet, not only the hotel location, but also the location of our room # 444 on the fourth floor which is towards the garden and away from the street. The room is provided with 2 entrance doors which makes it very quiet, it also has a so-called rollo/rouleau which makes the bedroom very dark. The bathroom is very spacious and has a bathtub and a large walk-in shower. The breakfast buffet is delicious. There's a hotel garden with a cute grey cat who comes to visit every now and then :). The people at the reception are very friendly and helpful. Michael took a picture of us and helped us with the air condition after we arrived as we couldn't figure out the a. c. remote control. The a. c. works perfectly (we like it cool). The only negative thing are the dim reading lamp on the night stands (which is a very common problem in many European hotels), so get yourself a rechargeable reading lamp at FNAC, a store in downtown Tours. Or bring one from home with an adapter. The location of the hotel in Rue Berthelot is within easy walking distance to the historic part of town, many restaurants, cafés and shops. We can recommend L'etape des pates (it offers mousse au chocolat and a very good vegetarian Lasagne). As Tours is right in the center of the many Loire, Cher and Indre castles, your furthest distance will be 130 km one way to Plessis-Bourré (south of Le Mans), about the same distance to Chambord, ca. half an hour to Azay-le-Rideau and not much further to Chenonceau, the most beautiful castle at the Cher. Chinon is about one hour driving distance (we can recommend the risotto at the restaurant Jeanne de France next to the town hall/mairie in downtown Chinon). Don't keep your hopes up regarding wine estates, there don't seem to be any well-organized tours, only if you book them from Paris (?). And $ 1.000 per person seems ridiculous.

    5
    « Lovely »

    We loved this hotel with its quirky touches. Beautiful 200 year old building. The reception staff were very friendly. We will go back for sure :). The square in the old town just a short walk sway is definitely worth a visit. Lots of bars all very friendly

    5
    « An Ideal Stop-over »

    We stayed at this hotel on our way to the south. The room offered all we needed, the staff were very helpful, our car was secure, and we found ourselves ideally placed to stroll by the river, and enjoy a huge selection of restaurants. We wouldn't hesitate to stay here again!

    4
    « Great Location in Tours »

    My wife and I just stayed here one night but wished we had stayed longer. The room accomodations were very nice and the location was ideal for walking around the old city. The staff was very friendly and helpful from checking in and out and adjusting the room temperature. The hotel provided a choice of two different breakfasts at an additional cost. The hotel also had free parking at its location.

  • 5
    « Castle area visits for weekend »

    We stayed this hotel for two days. The employees of the hotel were really helpful. They marked important castles on the map for us to visit. Room was really comfortable and quite. Breakfast was really delicious.

    5
    « Piece of heaven :) »

    The rooms are spacious, the environment is mesmerizing. The employees are helpful, friendly and warm! The receptionists give all the details about the historical places. I enjoyed my stay very much...

    2
    « There's a difference between "can" and "won't"! »

    The location is good, the front desk people are excellent, and the room comfortable. They've been remodeling so there are some extenuating circumstances with things like phone not working, hair dryer cord too short to reach mirror, lack of any grab bars or assists for tub, Euro-style shower "door" that floods the bathroom, difficulty in temperature control (open the window?), expensive but good breakfast, two attempts to unlock and use locked safe, and how great is it to have the toilet separated from where you wash your hands (by the entire room)! We asked for a financial accommodation that was well within their contractual obligation to deny, which they did. What bothered me was the management response: the answer is "yes" or "no" with perhaps an explanation. Their "we cannot do that" when in fact they CAN but chose not to was unsatisfactory. Maybe it's just the language. I wouldn't stay there again because they could have made a positive gesture of some sort, but they didn't.

    4
    « A fine hotel »

    This hotel is very close to the train station. It had a fantastic bathroom with a big tub. The rest of the room was fine, nothing dirty or out of order. We had some trouble with the safe, but that may not have been the hotel's fault. They are currently under construction, but I didn't notice anything too loud or such.

    4
    « Weekend Away »

    We wanted a central location from which to visit the city and this hotel is a great position...just off the high street and close to the river. No problem with the hotel. Refurbishments complete by 6 so no noise or mess. Good quality room nicely decorated and quiet at night. (I think we stayed in one of the refurbished rooms) Comfortable bed, great wifi, super coffee machine. Massive bathroom and super shower. Staff friendly and helpful. Car parking immediately outside the entrance costs 10euros a night, which is a little expensive. We dined out so no comment on food. I would consider staying here again and happy to recommend it.

    1
    « Bad experience »

    We booked 7 rooms for 2 nights and checked out after just one. The hotel is under redecoration, pieces of old furniture are all over, the rooms and bathrooms had bad smell, the air in the room was dank, and with mold on the walls. Rooms and corridors are covered with old and dusty carpets. When we tried to checkout at the morning the lady at the front desk was un pleasant or helpful.

    3
    « Currently in process of refurbishment »

    Not sure what they are refurbishing, as it wasn't apparent from any noise, so hope it improves and updates the rooms as i am often here in this convenient location. Leaving early - they will do an express continental breakfast for you., the normal breakfast has reasonable selection.

    4
    « Ok and good location »

    Stayed here one night when on business trip in the area. Check in and out was fast and convenient. No hassle like in many other hotels. Room 439 was ok with a comfortable bed. However a slight smell of mold in the bathroom. Not so nice. Good breakfast with freshly squeezed orange juice and crisp newly baked bread.

    3
    « Clean and friendly »

    Quick check in with a very helpful and friendly staff. Our room was a king executive and had an entry foyer with desk, bedroom and two room bath. We appreciated the space after a rivercruise cabin! The bath had a seperate tub and shower (small) and was an awkward arrangement but very clean. I did not like the combined shower gel/shampoo or the lack of wash cloths. I might stay here again, it is in walking distance to the tourist info center and to Place Plumereau, but I would rather be closer in.

    4
    « Overnight Stop in Tours, France »

    We stayed one night in Tours at the Best Western Central hotel during our Loire Valley travel while heading out to Normandy. We thought it was a great location in the midst of town and perfect for our overnight stop. Great location if you want to drive out to many of the chateau's in this area. We were able to visit to Chambord, Chenonceaux, and Chevernay easily from this hotel. We booked the family size room that had one large bed and two single size beds - plenty of room for the four of us. Some parking was in front of hotel at a small added fee but it had a limited number of spots - not sure where you park when it is full. Front desk was very welcoming and friendly. We arrived late in the afternoon so the front desk provided recommendations on where we could go for dinner. We selected Rue Colbert which is a 3 minute walk from hotel. Because of their recommendation we found a great restaurant ?Les Canailles' and had a wonderful evening. Highly recommend this restaurant for a great meal! Front desk also recommended the summer evening light show at Cathedrale Saint-Gatien so after dinner we strolled over to the Cathedral to enjoy a light and musical show which was projected onto the front of the cathedral. Based on our experience with this hotel we would recommend it to family and friends and should we get the chance to go back we would plan to stay again at this hotel.

  • 4
    « Excellent localization »

    The hotel is American style with big rooms. Our first room was very modern but still smelled painted. The second was very old fashion. The hotel was closed to the cathedral 5min walking and restaurants. Just one observation the guy on the desk informed was of breakfast hours as we thought it was included and it was not so we pay around 15€ each. On the desk they suggested a very nice restaurant and also an event at night on the cathedral that was really great.

    3
    « Overnight stop »

    Great location and easy parking. Hotel a bit tired. Rooms were small as were beds but the ceilings were very high. Very clean but bathroom was a bit old fashioned like the rooms. Had Flat screen TVs, Internet etc all working well. Air con worked well which was good as it was a heat wave. Helpful staff and good breakfast.

    4
    « Great location »

    Located right in the heart of the shopping area, and close to the old town. It is an old, generously proportioned, but very comfortable hotel, with a lovely breakfast. The guys on reception were really friendly and chatty. Good wifi, comfortable bed, and nice breakfast I would stay here again.

    5
    « Comfortable hotel in quiet central location »

    We spent 2 nights here in mid-July. Great location close to main shopping street, old town, and the river. We had a room for 3, which worked out great. Hotel was clean and comfortable, and in a quiet location. Staff was friendly and helpful. Rooms were air-conditioned. Nice breakfast in the garden but it was a little expensive. Plenty of parking available right in front of hotel. We would stay here again and would recommend to friends.

    5
    « Good value, friendly staff, excellent location »

    We thought the family room for 2 adults and 3 children was well appointed and good value. We were only staying 1 night and the staff on reception gave us excellent advice for making the most of our stay. We skipped the breakfast. It's a great location to explore the beautiful town of Tours.

    3
    « Ok »

    We arrived on a very hot evening and the small air conditioning unit was off. Meanwhile we opened the window for air flow and swarms of bugs flew in. It took until 6 in the morning for the a/c to feel ok. The breakfast was not worth $16 per person and there wasn't a staffer around to help. Guests were helping each find milk etc.

    5
    « Excellent hotel »

    Excellent small hotel in great location in centre of the city, lovely walled garden at the rear complete with friendly cat. Nice clean room with high ceiling and large windows. Breakfast offering a bit meagre but overall highly recommended

    3
    « Good central location »

    Lives up to the marque, pricing, service, rooms are as you expect. Central location is useful for local restaurants and cathedral. Parking available. Odd things around the hotel- still can't get used to the mattress on the landing! Breakfast adequate rather than sumptuous.

    5
    « Nice hotel, great location »

    Stayed here one night on our french road tip through normandy, loire valley and onto paris. Classic older hotel, but well maintained with a comfortable clean room with decent sized bathroom. There is a small bar area, but we didnt partake. The breakfast following morning was to a good standard and averagely priced. Location was a key factor in choosing the hotel, and walking distance to the bars and restaurants of downtown Tours and Place Plumerau was under 10 mins easy walk away, and definitely worth the effort. Tip 1 - reserve a hotel car park space. The car park was fine but seemed small and the roads nearby were narrow and offered little street parking. Tip 2 - Visit place plumerau for afternoon/evening drinks and a meal - a small old square filled with busy bars and restaurants. Overall a nice hotel to the good typical best western chain standards. Cant fault.

    5
    « Excellent Hotel Experience »

    My wife and I stayed four nights in this hotel and were very pleased with our quiet Comfort Room overlooking the interior courtyard. I selected this hotel as a base for exploring the chateaus to the east and west of Tours of which we visited 9. I should add that the hotel is easy to find with a GPS. Our room had excellent air conditioning and a mini-bar. The breakfast buffet is quite good with fresh squeezed orange juice and Excellent coffee. Comfortable beds and fairly large bathroom. Wi-Fi worked well. There are good restaurants within a 5 minute walk from the hotel. The Place Plumereau and old part of town is only a 15-minute walk away as is the town hall and train station. We were glad to use the parking at the hotel which costs 10 euro per day. There is also plenty of regular department stores and a tram line within a 5-10 minute walk. This hotel is ideally situated and is a place that we would definitely stay again.

  • 4
    « A nice comfortable hotel »

    Good location, reasonable price, lovely breakfast, nice staff. Just what we needed to enjoy our first visit to Tours. The room was spacious and comfortable. With the car park (essential with expensive parking in the centre) it was noisy with guests gathering in the early morning or very late at night, chatting away and smoking. When we were there a car had broken down and we were disturbed several times over our stay with it trying to start even after midnight the first night.

    4
    « Good place to stay »

    We got here without a reservation and were warmly welcomed. Redesigned room, perhaps not ultamodern, but at least nothing clashed. Private parking lot for a reasonable rate. Good wifi. Clean and very quiet, in spite of its central location.

    5
    « very good hotel »

    The hotel is in a very nice location. Complete and tasty breakfast. The staff was friendly and helpful with adapter and changes to my trip. Would stay again if I go to the area. Walking distance to bars and restaurants.

    5
    « Beautiful & relaxing in the city centre »

    Beautiful & relaxing overnight stay here at the Best Western Central was had by my wife & I. We were very pleased by our stay, the room was beautiful along with a modern bathroom with a great shower. We were even given a Nespresso Max in our room which we well made use of, that was a very nice touch. If you are looking for an affordable, nice place to stay, I recommend this place. The one thing I did enjoy was the 10€ parking charge. I wish they would just include this in the room price.

    4
    « a great stay in Tours »

    Close to city centre and river, quite close to railway station. Good breakfast and helpful pleasant staff. A great place to stay in Tours for business or pleasure (we stayed as a group). Plenty of restuarnats nearby for the evening.

    4
    « Vacation on the Loire valley »

    We stayed here for a few days on our way through France. The hotel was difficult to find but once we did it was great. The room was very well kept and the reception station always had knowledgeable, helpful individuals who made our sightseeing easy and relaxed. Great place to stay on Tours.

    3
    « overnight stay on way through france »

    The experience got off to a bad start as the roads leading to it were closed and made into pedestrian ways making the approach impossible to get there. If l hear the satillite navigation in my car say turn right once more this month it will be too much ! We arrived almost an hour and a half late after 3 phone calls to the hotel ( which were v helpfull).The best way to approach It is to head for the cathedral. Do use the car park €10 is worth it if you have a 4x4 as the streets are v narrow. Staff are v helpfull and welcoming as in every b western lve stayed in. Bedrooms could do with an update but bathroom large and spacious. Cathedral lovely and stonesthrow from hotel ..boulangerie fab ....as you would expect in france....

    4
    « Central, clean and comfortable! »

    We had a triple room for one night in September. The room was large, the beds were comfortable. The room was clean, and the bathroom was actually huge!! The breakfast was good and plentiful. The location of the hotel was excellent. One could walk to the oldest parts of the city and to the pedestrian zone. There were several very good restaurants very close to the hotel. I would stay here again and would recommend it to anyone wanting a nice, clean and centrally located hotel that did not want to break the bank! It is also very good location for day trips to the Chateaux!

    5
    « Chateaux »

    This hotel was very comfortable and well situated, easy from the train station and to the touring center. Michael at the front desk has excellent English and was most helpful in all regards! The chateau tour company he recommended was great and he printed our airplane tickets and had a taxi waiting for our morning departure. Thanks again Michael!

    3
    « Good hotel »

    The front desk staff was very friendly and very kind and helpful. This hotel is well located and is comfortable and most importantly is very quiet...we had a garden facing room. The only criticisms we had was that the bed is a North American double size and is too small for two people. The more important problem was that the bathroom shower was very mouldy and the smell was very strong, room 221. We had to keep the bathroom door closed all the time.This is most unlike any of the Best Western Hotels I have stayed at and this really needs to be addressed. I would not stay here again simply because of that as I don't think it's very healthy.

  • 4
    « Does exactly what you want it to do. »

    Central location for easy exploration of medival old town, which was vibrant and lively. Had drinks in a square and a great meal down one of the narrow streets, with many old buildings to marvel at. Hotel was clean and tidy with high ceilings and a past grandeur which hadn't been completely hidden. Good secure parking .

    3
    « Nothing to complain about »

    I really dont have anything extraordinary to say nothing to say this was a great stay.. The room were clean but we had no kettle in our room .... and the breakfeast felt stiff and un friendly.... A good commercial hotel with little character. Centrally located

    3
    « Good location »

    Nicely located central to the river and old quarter of Tours.on site parking a boon.navigating Tours to find it was a slight problem but found it after a few u-turns! The hotel itself was nothing great,the room we had was pretty pokey and place had no atmosphere,usual best western type thing really,but plenty of eating spots,bars etc within few minutes walk.fine for night or two stop.we travel with 2. Small dogs and when the cost for these 9 euros each and the private parking 10 euros it obviously added to the room rate so under those circumstances it's not a cheap option.

    4
    « Quiet and relaxing Tours tourist hotel »

    Finding your way around Tours' one-way streets by car is confusing but at least you can park when you get here and then explore the town very nearby on foot. If you arrive by train the station is about 10 minutes walk from the hotel. The rooms are comfortable with high ceilings and bathrooms with shower and large bathtub. The beds seem larger than most in France - and provided a good sleep. Since the windows have shutters and heavy curtains the rooms are quiet and light won't wake you up in the morning. Some rooms overlook a pretty garden where you can relax weather- permitting. The town offers plenty of restaurant choices - and shopping too. There is a good selection at the breakfast buffet but the coffee is from a machine (not good). We found the reception staff to be pleasant and informative and enjoyed our stay here.

    5
    « Good stop off to the South of France »

    This is a good hotel to stay over night en route to the Cote d' Azure, Very up together, well equipped bedrooms, comfortable and good service and very helpful front desk . No restaurant but a nice breakfast and safe parking for the car .u

    4
    « Great Central Locatiom »

    This hotel is 3 minutes walk from lots of restaurants, cafes and some of the main sights one comes to Tours to exprience. So glad we picked this as a huge positive is the car parking on site as others will agree parking around the hotel is a nightmare and not one to be recommended. We stayed for 3 nights and the added bonus was tea making facilities in the room along with a fridge which is rare on the continent. Room was clean, tidy and spacious with adequate storage space. Would use this hotel again. Did not bother with breakfast so can't comment on that.

    3
    « Good central base »

    Just a two minute walk and you are in to the old town with beautiful squares and architecture. The main busy shopping street is two streets away ( watch out for trams ) the hotel has a small car park at 10 euro a night but on street immediately outside is free for late arrivals early departs. Reception a bit chaotic, room not ready after 3 pm but room nice enough when we got in. High ceiling clean bright room with nice bathroom shower, actually the room is much better than the reception would lead you to believe. Two choices for breakfast, express @ 6 euro or complete for a bit more. Would recommend for location and room quality

    2
    « Very disappointed. »

    Stayed here for 3 nights and despite our best efforts we have come away feeling very disappointed. Firstly the good things, Got a friendly and helpful welcome from the young man on the desk when we arrived. Clean bedding and towels. Robes provided. Spacious bathroom with a double sink. Location good and car park, although limited was good. Things we didn't like. We stayed in room 110 and have to say there were plenty of colour combinations going on!! The doors to all the rooms were a colour that reminded us of tenement blocks in Russia. The entrance to our room was behind another door and next to one with a warning sign, presumably the electrics. The room was an Executive room and even though a decent size had the strangest smell. It actually smelt as though someone had wee'd on the carpet a long time ago and the smell had never gone. I'm pretty sure it came from the carpet as it had definitely seen better days. Also the mattresses definitely are ready for a change, one being much worse than the other. The other staff we met were just cordial and not very friendly. When we left we weren't asked if we'd had a good stay. We ended up having breakfast on our last morning even though we'd read a poor review. They were right, dont bother. An utterly soul less experience with very poor quality food for 16 Euros each, I think not!! To top it all we came away from the hotel to find the in caring person who had parked next to us had puta dent and a long scratch in our hire car that is almost brand new. What an idiot. Also, watch out in Tours..people don't seem to poop scoop. Lots of dog poo on the side streets..... Don't look up look down! If you are in Tours at a weekend almost impossible to find somewhere for breakfast. Also on a Monday night, most restaurants are closed. Whilst there are some top notch restaurants there is a real need for good quality middle of the range budget restaurants. Don't miss La Laurenty and the coffee shop Le Atelier both on Rue du Colbert. Thank goodness for these. Give the bar La Reserve a miss unless you like the smell of dogs and nowhere to washyoyr hands and definitely don't eat here.

    4
    « Would stay again »

    Arrived at 9pm without a booking, booked and checked in within 5 minutes. Room clean, bed comfy although it was 3am before I got to bed so think I could have slept well anywhere! Room small but fine for 1-2 nights. Only downside; no kettle in room.

    2
    « Bad service at previously excellent hotel »

    Previous visits to this hotel had been very nice. This occasion however started badly when on arrival, we had to wait 10 minutes whilst the receptionist finished a phone call. Then we found the BW website had booked us 2 bookings when it had crashed. The staff were not helpful and we had to cancel the additional booking online ourselves to prevent extra payment. Then we discovered the room had several large spider nests! When we brought this up at checkout the staff were not helpful and only belived us when we provided photographs. A small discount was eventually given upon my insistence but was not offered freely. Standards have dropped badly since my previous 3 visits. Not what is expected from Best Western

  • 5
    « Clean, spacious hotel with friendly staff »

    This hotel is a good find. It is modern, spacious and immaculately clean. The comfortable bedrooms are all of a good size (even the basic ones) and some of them have a garden view, which is particularly pleasant. All rooms are en-suite with a bath or shower. Staff are very friendly and helpful and most of them speak English. There are car parking spaces at the front of the hotel for a modest daily charge, and wi-fi is free throughout. The hotel is in a quiet area of Tours, within walking distance of the railway station and many local restaurants in the town square. We chose not to take breakfast at a charge of 16 euros each, as we thought this was rather expensive for what was served - there are plenty of cafes and boulangeries in the area where you can purchase croissants and pastries instead. Overall a very pleasant stay in a hotel complete with bar and garden.

    5
    « really friendly service »

    Stayed here for two nights last week. The hotel was easy to locate in a quiet street close to the river. We had booked a parking space which was certainly worth the 10 euros per night, for peace of mind. All the receptionists we met were really friendly and we were upgraded from a comfort to a family room which had two enormous beds and a huge corner bath plus double glass basins. It overlooked the pleasant little garden. Hand wash and body wash were provided and a welcome kettle with tea/coffee making facilities that we weren't expecting. The breakfast was excellent with plenty of choice. We would certainly recommend the hotel and are glad we "swapped" from the Best Western L'Artiste that we booked originally, mainly owing to their small indoor car park, as the hire company upgraded our car to a larger one than we had booked.

    4
    « Great base for exploring the Loire valley »

    Stayed 11 nights with my girlfriend whilst we toured the Loire valley for which the hotel was an excellent base. Room was well appointed and the staff friendly, helpful and efficient. We had a ?room with a garden view? but I see little to recommend this over any other room. All seem to be very quiet. Don't take breakfast. At €16 it is a waste of money especially when there is an excellent boulangerie round the corner in Rue Colbert. Do ask for the in room hospitality tray i.e. kettle, coffee etc. So you can have DIY breakfast in the room or the garden. It is well worth paying to be able to park in a secure area (i.e. covered by CCTV) within the hotel ?grounds?

    4
    « Excellent location, comfortable quiet hotel »

    Stayed here for 3 nights, with my husband and daughter - triple room (#444) was perfect for our needs. Comfortable beds, excellent huge bathroom. Bathrobes provided, walk in shower and seperate bath. Very friendly/helpful reception staff (especially the tall receptions, with beard) Parking outside the door (10euro charge/day) very short walk to city centre/old city and to main shopping street very quiet hotel would recommend

    4
    « Perfect location »

    Very well located hotel for all sites in the city and access to The Loire. Our first night was Bastille Day so the city was buzzing. A plethora of great restaurants just round the corner to the hotel and also in the old quarter.The fireworks at 11pm were incredible. Warm and welcoming staff but be aware that if you book a comfort room they have two sizes small and larger. Go for the larger as the small is a tiny room with a very large bathroom due to having a bath rather than a walk in shower. We were given the small but they were obliging and moved us to the larger size which was much better. Lovely quiet hotel - air conditioning in the bedroom and free WiFi. We found breakfast for what it was a bit pricey at 16€ per head so we went out instead and catered for ourselves.Would recommend this hotel.

    5
    « Memorable hotel in an ideal location »

    We found the hotel easily and welcomed the excellent parking (unusual in a city centre hotel). Reception was friendly and helpful and we would not hesitate to stay again. Our superior room was comfortable and spacious and everything worked!

    4
    « Convenient location and attentive staff »

    We stayed here for 7 nights as we explored the Loire Valley. Convenient to the train station, several top quality restaurants within a short walk, and shopping around the corner. The staff was extremely helpful and made us feel welcome throughout the trip. The only downsides were: * problems connecting to the wifi in our room * the bathroom had a mold/mildew smell * and using the hotel laundry service for a simple wash and fold will cost you more than a nice dinner for two around the corner.

    4
    « It is Central »

    Excellent location if you want to be in Tours and also be able to visit the Loire Valley. Rooms are comfortable; parking is available. No restaurant but there is bar service and a friendly staff who will help you find a place to eat.

 

Getting to the hotel ...

All directions
·From: A10. Take Tours-Centre Exit, perpendicular street of rue Nationale (N10) to The Best Western Central Hotel.