ROOM 1
ROOM 2
ROOM 3
Promotion code

Best Western Hotel Le Bois De La Marche, Liguge

3.5/5  - basé sur 243 notations.
1 Allee des Cerfs, 86240, Liguge, France - See map

The Best Western Le Bois De La Marche is a comfortable hotel-restaurant situated in a quiet, wooded park. Our restaurant serves traditional-gourmet French cuisine and our seasonal menus are sure to satisfy all palates. The restaurant is open seven days a week and the hours may vary. We are located close to several regional attractions such as the Futuroscope, Abbayes du Haut-Poitou, Chateaux de la Loire, Vallée des singes and Marais Poitevin. We hope that you will enjoy your stay!

Best Western

Hotel Le Bois De La Marche

LABEL_ITINERAIRE

LABEL_DEPART:

LABEL_ARRIVEE:

Hotel advantages

  • Free parking
    Free parking
  • Safe deposit box
    Safe deposit box
  • Multilingual staff
    Multilingual staff
  • Tennis court
    Tennis court
Show More Show Less

Guest reviews

In partnership with tripadvisor fr
based on 248 guest reviews
NOTE ISSUED
Excellent
46
Very Good
111
Average
53
Poor
25
Terrible
13
REFER TO NOTICE
Business Business
42
Couples Couples
86
Family Family
82
Friends getaway Friends getaway
12
Solo travel Solo travel
13
SUMMARY NOTES
Cleanliness
Location
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Value

"Good hotel for stopover"

4
19/07/2018

We had chosen this hotel because of its location on our way to Spain. It was close to the autoroute, with a nice restaurant and a pool for the kids. Breakfast was okay with lots of choice. Good quality/price ratio.

Le-bois-de-la-marche, Public Relations Manager at Best Western Le Bois De La Marche, responded to this review
Hello and thank you for your comment! We are happy to read that you and your children enjoyed your stay - many of our guests appreciate our convenient location to break up a long journey, and what better way to do it than with a dip in the pool and a tasty meal in our restaurant! We hope to welcome you back the next time you are coming by Poitiers. Kind regards, Flora.

"Very conveniently situated hotel"

4
11/07/2018

This was a very comfortable and convenient stopover on our way through France to Spain being situated just south of Poitiers between the A10 and the N10. It is in the process of being refurbished. Our room was newly decorated with spotless newly fitted bathroom. The restaurant area was very attractive and the grounds are lovely. There is some road noise during the day but it was quiet at night.

Le-bois-de-la-marche, Responsable relations publiques at Best Western Le Bois De La Marche, responded to this review
Hello and thank you for taking the time to leave us this feedback following your stay! It is a pleasure to read that you enjoyed your time with us, notably our wooded park and restaurant! We hope to welcome you back the next time you are coming by Poitiers - our location within a 5 minute distance of the motiway entrance makes us popular with guests looking to break up a long journey. Warm regards, Flora.

"Ok"

2
09/07/2018

Ok as a stop over night with good location to the N10 to French dordogne region. The swimming pool is good however they are currently having building working carried out so it can be a little noisy. Food and drink is expensive also.

Le-bois-de-la-marche, Marina at Best Western Le Bois De La Marche, responded to this review
Hello, Thank you to leave us your feedback about your stop over. We are happy to reading you liked the swimming pool! The renovation working is almost ending, rooms are finished, we will sarted the refurbisment of the reception desk on septembre. The Chef cooking fresh and local product, all dishes are homemade. We look forward to seeing you at your next stop. Kind regards Marina

"Some Draw backs."

3
27/06/2018

The hotel is off the main drag. There are NO vendor machines for soda, candy or snacks in the hotel. We NEVER saw a pool nor did we see any signs for a pool. They were working on the cabins in front of the hotel and changing the windows in the main hotel along with redoing carpeting , painting etc. Our room was recently redecorated. We went to the restaurant to see what the menu was like. The wait staff was "room number" three times. told them I am just reviewing the menu to see if we want to eat here or not. We left since they were so rude.

Le-bois-de-la-marche, Responsable relations publiques at Best Western Le Bois De La Marche, responded to this review
Hello, we were quite surprised by some elements of your review and feel that a quick stop by the reception desk would have cleared up a lot of confusion! Our hotel does not have vending machines, but with a 24 hour bar service and room service available either from our restaurant (or out of hours from the room-service menu) there is no need for one. We double-checked and our pool is definitely still outside, we haven't got an answer for its apparent absence during your stay! We apologise for the misunderstanding at the restaurant; while the large majority of our personnel is bilingual there are those who may still struggle. It is by no means an attempt to insult our guests! We would be more than happy to assist you during your stay and answer any and all questions so that you may be able to make the most of the services provided, please don't hesitate to approach us for information. Kind regards, Flora.

"Overnight stop travelling to south of France"

4
16/06/2018

This is another really convenient stop over place off the A10. It is set in a lovely large area of parkland so is quiet with plenty of parking. There was some refurbishment going on at the time of our stay but it didn't disturb us. The staff were really friendly and helpful and spoke good English. The restaurant was first class. Our room was newly refurbished and was perfect for our needs. We would definitely use this place again.

Le-bois-de-la-marche, Réception at Best Western Le Bois De La Marche, responded to this review
Hello Phil, Thank you to leave us your feedback about your stop over. We are happy to reading you liked the new refurbished room and you enjoyed your meal at the restaurant! We look forward to seeing you at your next journey. Kind regards Marina

"An excellent overnight stop"

5
30/10/2017

Don't be put off by the unprepossessing exterior seen from the road! The grounds are large and well kept, our dog loved his walks! Inside, the building is well designed and very well maintained. The staff at the reception and in the restaurant were very welcoming and professional. The room was large enough even with our big dog. It was very clean and well appointed. The dinner surpassed our expectations with a large choice of refined dishes using the best ingredients and seasonal products. The prices, especially those of the wines, were reasonable. Shame we stayed only one night, next time we will stay longer!

Le-bois-de-la-marche, Front desk assistant at Best Western Le Bois De La Marche, responded to this review
Hello Maroclover, Firstly let me thank you for taking the time to leave us much valued feedback on our hotel-restaurant. It is an absolute pleasure to read that you enjoyed your stay, during which you were able to sample our on-site restaurant and roam the 13 hectares of wooded park with your dog. We are delighted that you had a lovely experience and we look forwards to welcoming you back! Kind regards from the team at Le Bois de la Marche, Flora

"Excellent evening meal"

4
14/09/2017

We booked this hotel as a stop over on the way home from Spain so were looking for little more than a bed and a meal. The hotel was very easy to find. Our room was pleasant and the bathroom was fine. Some parts of the hotel could do with an upgrade and it did look as though work was being done. The weather was poor so we did not get out to walk around the grounds but on a pleasant evening I think that would be a treat. Bar prices were quite steep - but it was good to be able to have a drink before dinner. We went into the restaurant thinking we would have a light meal but changed our minds and decided to make an evening of it. It was the right decision. Excellent food and wine - everything was just perfect. Reception staff were helpful and friendly. We will definitely use this hotel again

Le-bois-de-la-marche, Front Desk Assistant at Best Western Le Bois De La Marche, responded to this review
Hello Joan, thank you for taking a moment to leave us your thoughts on our hotel-restaurant! We are happy to read that you had no trouble finding us - and that you were pleased with what you found! Hopefully the next time you come by our way the weather will have turned nicer and you will be able to make the most of our grounds and enjoy a meal on the terrace. We look forwards to welcoming you back, kind regards, Flora.

"Over night stop"

3
14/09/2017

We stayed here for one night en route to Portugal. We arrived in torrential rain which meant we did not see the hotel at it's best or be able to use the lovely outdoor pool. The staff here make the hotel. The receptionist speaks brilliant English and all staff were very polite. Parking is easy and a very tranquil setting in the forest. On a sunny day the grounds would have looked wonderful. Sadly the rooms are very tired. We had a triple room, really good size for three adults but the standard to be honest is not what we have come to expect from Best western. The rooms are shabby. They lack that extra attention to detail. Carpets are stained and tired in the room and corridors. The beds were comfy and lovely clean sheets. Bathroom was clean and fresh towels. The balcony railings were rusted and the balcony full of leaves etc. We spent a quiet night, totally undisturbed and the breakfast was excellent. This review sounds very mixed message. Yes it is great for an overnight stop but the building itself needs some attention to the upkeep.

Le-bois-de-la-marche, Front Desk Assistant at Best Western Le Bois De La Marche, responded to this review
Hi there, thank you for taking the time to leave feedback. We are delighted that you had a lovely stay! It is a pleasure to read such praise for our personnel, thank you for this detail. The areas of the hotel that you highlighted have been documented and transferred to upper-management. Should travels bring you by Poitiers again you know where to find a comfortable bed for a peaceful night! Kind regards, Flora.

"Stay at best western Bois de la marche"

3
18/08/2017

Stayed here as a stop over whilst doing a long drive to the south of France from calais. Only needed a bed for the night and stayed in a family room which was plenty big enough with double, single and cot. No fridge in room, basic but clean. On first floor and could hear a party going on downstairs but didn't affect us. Would use again as a stop over as was easy and good value for money.

Le-bois-de-la-marche, Front desk assistant at Best Western Le Bois De La Marche, responded to this review
Hi there, we are pleased that you had a pleasant stay at our hotel and that you will keep us in mind the next time you're making the trip via Poitiers! We have got a prime location just minutes from the motorway entrance, all while being tucked away in our wooded park. Next time you have got something that you would like to keep cool, come by the reception and we will be more than happy to store your item for you.. Kind regards, Flora.

"Worst Western"

2
14/08/2017

Tired is not the word to describe this place. Just don't know how it survives in the modern world of Trip Advisor, social media and AirBNB. Staff very friendly and accommodating but our part of the hotel had that boiled cabbage smell. The hallways were dark, had stained carpets, hallway doors that hung open, scratched skirting boards and a general feeling of past glories. The rooms although clean had evidence of multiple cabling upgrades and several decades worth of decor changes. Sitting on the toilet was a challenge as the recently added large green translucent multiple toilet roll dispenser was located exactly where my left shoulder would normally be positioned. The paper cups in the room for morning coffee just added to the feeling of ongoing cost cutting in the face of declining revenues. Must have been a great hotel once but next time, we will put that extra bit of effort to use the internet.

Le-bois-de-la-marche, Front Desk Assistant at Best Western Le Bois De La Marche, responded to this review
Hi David J, We are sorry your stay did not live up to your expectations, we care greatly about the comfort and satisfaction of all our guests. We recently underwent some intense plumbing renovations, the aftermath of which is visible in parts of the corridors; we warn our clients of these unfortunate visuals with signs at the reception and in the lifts. The areas of the hotel requiring refurbishment are documented and we are awaiting the green light for the work to progress outside of the high-season. It is more than likely that we are “surviving” due to our fantastic customer service, location and the quality of the services we offer. As evidenced by other guests' reviews, yours is not the habitual experience when staying in our hotel, and had we known that you felt this way we would have been more than happy to discuss it with you in person. Kind regards, Flora.

"Fabulous room. Fantastic evening meal. Lovely staff."

5
03/08/2017

My wife and I stayed overnight recently. We arrived without a reservation, but having done some research online beforehand. What a lovely hotel!! We had a room on the fourth floor, with a view (unfortunately) of a local road - but a part of the view was also of the nearby woods. The road, to be fair, was about 60-80 metres away, so we suffered no noise problems. I believe there are rooms which look solely out onto the pool area and the woods surrounding the hotel: the grounds are enormous!! There are several recreation areas apart from the pool - a petanque / boules court; a tennis court; outdoor event area (it looked like it was intended for outdoor F&B, maybe BBQ?) and plenty of space to take a decent walk (you and your dogs) for 10-20 minutes. The room was very well furnished, the bed very comfortable, the bathroom fine (even though some previous reviewers do not like the separate WC), and the AC easy to adjust to our preference. Nothing negative at all to report.The wifi in the room was likewise very good (fast to connect, fast to refresh and open pages). We ate at the restaurant that same evening. There is a very good menu - full a la carte, or three choices of set menus. We chose the mddle-priced set menu and were delighted! Our starters (I had a mixture of tomato varieties with parmesan wafers and a splash of pesto, my wife had tuna carpaccio) were perfect. Our main courses (we both chose the chorizo stuffed chicken breast) were likewise excellent, and were accompnied by a near-perfect risotto. Finally, our desserts (we both chose lemon meringue tart) were truly excellent. Truly excellent. I have a passion for lemon meringue, and eat it wherever I go - I have to say that what we were given at Bois de la Marche was without doubt the absolutely best lemon meringue creation I have ever tasted - and by a long way!! The meringue was creamy and sweet: the lemon was beautifully tangy; the pastry superb. The lemon and meringue tartness and sweetness complimented each other perfectly. Absolute bloody heaven!! The wine selection was very good, and the wine chosen was excellent. There were two draft beers on offer, and I chose Grimbergen (an abbey beer) - good choice! The staff - at Reception and in the restaurant - were very friendly and helpful. I spoke in very poor French to them all and they replied only in French back to me, with a smile on their faces. When my wife addressed them in English (French not being one of her languagues) the response were always polite and in perfect English. Would I return? In a flash!! Yes!! Absolutely!! Would I reccomend? After the above, I have to. But I would much rather keep this lovely little gem of a place to myself, to be honest....!

Le-bois-de-la-marche, Front Desk Assistant at Best Western Le Bois De La Marche, responded to this review
Dear Sir, It is not every day that a review leaves us with such huge smiles on our faces! We are delighted after reading how much you enjoyed our hotel and restaurant - it is a very special thing to know that our hard work leaves our guests with such satisfaction! It shall be with great pleasure that we will welcome you back the next time your travels take you nearby Poitiers; please do not hesitate to contact us directly ahead of time so that we may reserve you a room facing the park, like you expressed in your comment! From the front desk, restaurant and kitchens, we thank you for taking the time to leave us this invaluable feedback, and we sincerely look forwards to hosting you once again! Warm regards, Flora

"Needs updating, but so charming !"

5
13/06/2017

Very good deal with a room form four of us ! Excellent swimming pool,weather was very hot when we went there and we really apreciated to cool in the water, until 21:00 ! All the staff is very kind and they managed to find another vacancy on our way back form Dordogne a few days later, incredible ! The breakfast is a great moment too !

Le-bois-de-la-marche, Front desk assistant at Best Western Le Bois De La Marche, responded to this review
Hello, thank you for leaving us your thoughts on our hotel and your stay! We are delighted you had a very positive experience and it will be our pleasure to welcome you back! Kind regards, Flora.

"big comfortable bed"

5
19/09/2016

We have stayed at this hotel many times. It has large grounds for walking the dogs. The rooms are big and comfortable with super king beds. Friendly staff and good food. All floors are served by lift. The pool area and outside terrace looked inviting even if we didn't use it, we arriving just before dinner and leaving early the following morning, It is the only hotel where we have felt we could let our dogs run free off lead the grounds are that extensive

Le-bois-de-la-marche, Front desk agent at Best Western Le Bois De La Marche, responded to this review
Dear Sir, Thank you for taking the time to leave this review on our hotel. We are delighted that you enjoy staying with us and it is a pleasure to have you as our guests! Hopefully the next time you come to stay you will be able to make the most of our outdoor heated swimming pool. During this past season it has been open daily from 8am until 10pm, allowing plenty of time to cool off during what has been a particularly toasty summer! We send you our best regards and we look forward to hearing from you.

"Nice big family room"

4
10/09/2016

Stayed here on a visit to Futuroscope as a cheaper alternative to on site hotels. It is a very nice hotel, large family room with a king sized bed and 2 singles. The pool is a good size and outdoors with heating. Had stayed here 18 years ago on a similar trip and was pleasantly surprised that it did not disappoint second time around. I would not eat in the restaurant again but there is not much more around. Did notice a shopping complex just across the main road and could maybe have found an alternative meal, particularly with children, like a buffalo grill.

Le-bois-de-la-marche, Front desk agent at Best Western Le Bois De La Marche, responded to this review
Dear sir, thank you for taking the time to leave us feedback on your return visit to our hotel 18 years later! A lot has changed in the past two decades and we are delighted our hotel continues to deliver great satisfaction. At just 15 minutes from the parc du Futuroscope we offer a more peaceful setting than the hotels in the theme park's perimetre. Our restaurant serves traditional French-gourmet cuisine and we do offer a child's menu with 2 courses and a drink included. Our staff would have been happy to direct you towards alternate dining options more suited to your personal preferences. We hope you will not wait so long to visit us again! Kind regards, the reception team.

"Good Service - Needs Updating"

4
16/08/2016

Ours was an overnight stop-over on a Sunday. Greeting at reception was good and informative, the initial impression was that the public areas were very tired and in need of a refurb and decoration. Our room (217) was a similar condition, although the bathroom (no toilet) looked to have been recently re-tiled the shower curtain (dated) had mold around the bottom. The toilet was in a separate small room with no wash basin. They could do away with the bath, fit a shower cubicle and then a toilet would fit quite easily into the room - not a lot of thought needed. The restaurant did look well presented but offering food at Paris prices - being a Sunday most restaurants in Poitiers are closed so they have a captive audience, there is no bar or snack menu. The pool was an added bonus but there were insufficient sun-loungers for the number of people there (8 loungers max - 15 to 20 bodies). The grounds are extensive and its a lovely setting, the staff we encountered were good, polite and efficient - just needs a good make-over. Would we stay again if in the area........? Not sure.

Le-bois-de-la-marche, Front desk agent at Best Western Le Bois De La Marche, responded to this review
Dear K_family_on_Tour, thank you for taking the time to inform us of your stay. The hotel is currently undergoing renovations to improve client comfort. If you had expressed your preference for a room with the toilet and bathtub/shower in the same room we would have been able to accomodate the request, not all our rooms are identical (having the two separated is however a preference for a vast majority of our clientele). It is unfortunate you chose not to sample our restaurant, we could have found an arrangement had the problem been brought to our attention. We hope to see you again and that you will give us a chance to help you have a great Holiday! Kind regards

"Very pleasant 3 night stay"

4
15/08/2016

We booked 2 rooms for a 3 night stay on our way home to England to catch the last of the good weather. We booked mostly for the outdoor heated pool and we weren't disappointed. The reception staff were fantastic and made every effort to make our stay as comfortable as possible. The restaurant was pleasant, if a little bit over complicated. At lunchtimes they serve the same menu as in the evenings, but were quite accommodating when we asked for something simple and made us a few cheese and ham rolls and chips. So we can't complain at all. Breakfast was fine, and the coffee good. Although I can see why people said it was a little dated in the rooms, that's true enough, but it's clean and the restaurant and where you eat breakfast was really very nice, and generally we found the staff lovely. I'd stay here again and thought it was good value.

Le-bois-de-la-marche, Front desk agent at Best Western Le Bois De La Marche, responded to this review
Dear KellmbySussex, thank you very much for taking the time to leave us a comment : we are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us! We are always on hand to help make your holiday as relaxing as possible, it is lovely when the staff's hard work is appreciated! We hope to see you again! Best regards.

"Self-service!"

1
24/07/2016

This title "self-service" is the closest I can think of. It's a weird place, probably because of the staff ! Checking in was terrible, the lady literally ignored me twice to attend people coming from outside, same happened with checking out (although then she ignored me only once :) ) After check in I went to my room and it was dirty and messed up, probably someone had just checked out .. Came back to reception and they just gave me another key to another room ! No sorry no apologies no nothing !!! Not even a word. There was no one at the front desk almost every time we needed anything. Breakfast .. No one around from the staff, and if they are around they are busy with something else related to anything except costumers !! Lunch and dinner .. You'll be served and you have no right to complain, ask, choose, or ask for more, just eat what's being put in front of you !! Room service was a lovely story as well .. Probably the only thing they did was make up the bed; and that's it, everyday I come back to my room and I see the same dirty spots in the room !! Makes you think, did they change the sheets after the last person was here? I really doubt it. Unfortunately .. Waste of money.

Le-bois-de-la-marche, The personnel at Best Western Le Bois de la Marche at Best Western Le Bois De La Marche, responded to this review
Dear sir, We are sorry to learn that your experience at our hotel was not of a standard that we strive to uphold and we are most disappointed that you chose not to express your discontent to any members of staff while staying with us. This would have allowed us to explain to you that upon your arrival the supervisor of your group preferred to handle the details of your reservation personally. Your comment has left us perplexed ; you will notice from other comments that our work method is greatly different from that which you describe. Regards,

"Disappointing"

2
11/05/2016

A well located hotel if looking to break a journey south on the A10 / E5. The Hotel is set in attractive grounds with a superb Terrace by the pool to catch the afternoon sun. All the staff were friendly and helpful. The somewhat spartan room was clean and perfectly adequate for a one night stop. However,the hotel is let down by a number factors. The external condition of the property is poor, aging mildewy paint on the rendering, rust on the balcony railings, and rotting wood by way of example. In the bathroom there were no toiletries (just soap in a dispenser), the toilet paper dispenser looked like it had come out of a public loo and their was insufficient hot water to run a bath. The swimming pool, whilst possibly out of season was green, and the sun shades on the terrace were in total disarray and not functioning. I found the restaurant disappointing a with poor selection of dishes on the menu. My goat was overcooked and dry and the rosti frazzled and inedible. The restaurant gave the impression of trying to do everything on the cheap which it wasn't. I expected better from a Best Western.

Le-bois-de-la-marche, Receptionist at BEST WESTERN Le Bois de La Marche, responded to this review
Dear Mr Vine, Thank you for taking the time to advise us on your stay in our hotel. We are delighted to hear that our staff's efforts to make you feel welcome were well received ; we work hard to be as obliging as possible and to uphold our reputation of being a caring reception team. We are disappointed by the multiple factors which lead to your stay leaving you unsatisfied. The corresponding departments have been notified and changes are already in place in order to improve upon the points raised. The deep clean of the swimming pool has been completed and the aforementioned is now functional in optimistic anticipation of warmier, sunnier weather. Similarly the sun shades have been correctly installed in order that we may once again make the most of the peaceful setting our grounds provide. We invite you to return to our hotel where you may make the most of our facilities during the summer months, also so that you may observe our ongoing renovations which will improve our hotel's appearence. Once again we appreciate your feedback, and hope to see you again at Best Western Le Bois de la Marche.

"Adequate"

3
02/04/2016

Disappointed with outside of hotel. Everything is very tired. The staff were helpful in changing our room to a bungalow outside as we had our dog with us and although the room was very cold it was comfortable when the heating had been on for a while. No wifi in the room due to maintenance issues. Consider €10 excessive charge for our dog. Grounds pleasant, reasonable restaurants 5mins drive. Easy to access from N10

Le-bois-de-la-marche, Responsable relations publiques at BEST WESTERN Le Bois de La Marche, responded to this review
Dear Judith C, Thank you for your comment. Our staff offered you a change of room to prevent from some noise disturbance from a group we had this weekend. What a shame you did not tell us that the temperature was too low during the day, it is true when you arrive the heating was not on. We would have offer a change of room for your convenience. It would have been nice to be aware of your complaint at your check out (but especially before) in order to find a solution. Our goal being to satisfy all our clients. Do not hesitate to contact us for a future stay. The team Best Western Le Bois de la Marche.

"Dated Hotel, like stepping back in time 20 years but a good sleep experience with good staff and great food!"

3
28/02/2016

The hotel is past its best when it comes to the decor and furnishings wihtin the rooms, coridoors and reception area. it is fairly old fashioned and could do with a spruce up. Te furnshings are straight out of the 1970's - 80's. that said it was clean and tidy with everything woking OK. It is a good location for the main routes and set weel back making it nice and quiet. The restaurant is much more modern and the food served for dinner was excellent and could not be faulted. Very pleasant and helpful staff, with no problems checking in or out. Free wifi worked well. Breakfast is a standard buffet affair with lots of choice with lots of options covered.

Le-bois-de-la-marche, Responsable relations clients at BEST WESTERN Le Bois de La Marche, responded to this review
Dear Andyfatnbald, Thank you for your comment. We hope you will come back to our hotel soon. The team Best Western Le Bois de la Marche

"Decent hotel"

4
30/09/2015

Stayed here for two nights on business. Good value hotel and easy to find. Close to the motorway. Clean and tidy. Breakfast was top class as was the evening meal. The staff were helpful with my lack of French. Would stay here again.

Le-bois-de-la-marche, Responsable relations clients at BEST WESTERN Le Bois de La Marche, responded to this review
Dear Slimdil33, thank you for your comment on our hotel. We are pleased to read you enjoyed your stay and our restaurant. We will be delighted to welcome you again. The Team Best Western Le Bois de la Marche

"Good Stopover"

4
09/09/2015

Stayed here for one night on our way back to the UK. Conveniently situated just off the motorway. We had asked for a ground floor room and were given one away from the main building. Excellent being able to park in front of the door and nice to have our own little terrace. However the terrace only had one chair - I peeked next door and they all had two. Also the terrace was badly in need of a sweep! The only othere downside was the wifi which was a bit iffy, being away from the main building. On the whole however we were pleased with our choice. The room was reasonably spacious with a separate toilet. The meal in the restaurant that evening was really excellent. It was so nice to be given a choice other than DUCK, DUCK, OR DUCK (we had spent 2 weeks in the Dordogne!). Breakfast was 12 euro which we didn't mind as the room had been a very reasonable 67.50 euro. It was plentiful and good to be offered scrambled egg and sausage as well as the usual continental. The hotel was very, very quiet so the service was excellent. Would I stay there again - defnitely!

Le-bois-de-la-marche, Responsable relations clients at BEST WESTERN Le Bois de La Marche, responded to this review
Dear Client, thank you for taking the time to let us know about your stay in our hotel. We are pleased to read that you enjoyed the location, our restaurant and so on. Our team is pleased to read your comment! Please come back to see us very soon. The Team Best Western Le Bois de la Marche

"Great location for a stopover but outdated"

3
13/08/2015

Perfect location for a stop-over on your journey to the West coast of France and with nice staff that speak good English. However the building and menu are outdated and both require a good make-over. Meals were served in total disorder. Breakfast was very complete and good.

Le-bois-de-la-marche, Responsable relations clients at BEST WESTERN Le Bois de La Marche, responded to this review
Dear Bart, Thank you for your comment. We are sorry to read that the service in our restaurant was not professionnal. We notified the team and make sure it won't happen again. We will be delighted to have you stay in our hotel next time you come by! The team Best Western Le Bois de la Marche

"Perfect Stopover, Lovely Setting"

4
30/07/2015

Stayed one night on our recent trip to France. In the countryside just of motorway. Staff very friendly and informative (no problems with language as Receptionist & waitress in restaurant vg English). Ate in restaurant and had a lovely meal (real French cuisine) and also found breakfast next morning to be your typical continental. We didn't avail of the pool, but walked around grounds,. large green area and some woodland.

Le-bois-de-la-marche, Responsable relations clients at BEST WESTERN Le Bois de La Marche, responded to this review
Dear Carol, Thank you for your review for our hotel and restaurant. The staff, from the front desk to the kitchen and waiters are really delighted to see you liked the experience. We hope to welcome you again sometimes soon. Best regards The Team Best Western Le Bois de la Marche

"Food excellent"

4
21/07/2015

We needed a hotel on route to the South and the location for our overnight stay was ideal. Our initial impression on arriving at the hotel was o dear what have we done, the hotel looked tired and the decor in need of an update.. however the pool area and the decking outside of the bar was perfect. We booked a table in the restuarant, the food was excellent, a great menu which was cooked and presented beautifully. The room decor was not to our taste, but it was very clean and we had a good restful sleep. The hotel is very close to the motorway, but we did not hear any traffic noise as it is set within a nice wooded area. All of the staff in the reception and in the restuarant provided excellent service, all in all we were very plesed with the hotel choice.

Le-bois-de-la-marche, Responsable relations clients at BEST WESTERN Le Bois de La Marche, responded to this review
Dear Craig, thank you for your comment for our hotel. We are very pleased to learn that the quality of the restaurant met your expectations. Our staff will be delighted to welcome you again. The Team Best Western Le Bois de la Marche

"Two nights for business purpose"

4
07/07/2015

The hotel is offering good service for location and price. But please avoid the awful restaurant...breakfast is acceptable but not diner. The hotel is clean good standard and quite, easy to find south of Poitiers near the motorway exit.

Le-bois-de-la-marche, Responsable relations clients at BEST WESTERN Le Bois de La Marche, responded to this review
Dear Fabrice, Thank you for your review. We are sorry to learn that your experience at our restaurant did not meet your expectation. We always take into consideration our clients opinions. Do not hesitate to contact us when you come back. Best Regards The Team Best Western Le Bois de la Marche

"Great find especially if you have a dog"

5
07/07/2015

The location of this hotel is fantastic just off the motorway. The grounds are lovely great for walking the dog. There is a swimming pool and outdoor eating terrace. The staff are very friendly and helpful. Our room was OK, lovely outlook with a balcony, very clean and a very comfy bed however the thing that let it down was the carpet it looked so tatty. The air con was superb and very quiet. We ate dinner & breakfast in the restaurant, there was a bit of a wait between the starter & main but that was fine for us. The food was very good for dinner and I enjoyed the breakfast as I like a continental style breakfast. My Husband likes a hot breakfast and was not impressed with the hot selection. We will definately book this hotel again but I do have to say that a 20 euro charge for a dog is very steep I have never paid this amount before. Also the free wifi is terrible.

Le-bois-de-la-marche, Responsable relations clients at BEST WESTERN Le Bois de La Marche, responded to this review
Dear Sueandsteve9, thank you for your feedback after your stay in our hotel. Thank you for your comment on our staff, restaurant and service. It will be a pleasure to welcome you again. The Team Bois de la Marche