Well situated in Brest, discover the Best Western Plus Europe Hotel. We offer 79 rooms that are well equipped and luxurious with air conditioning. Our comfortable and sound-proof rooms offer you a bed linen of quality, a desk, a closet with clothes hangers, a television equipped with satellite channels (TPS) an a free wireless Internet access with Wi-Fi. You will also find a bathroom in your room with shower, wash-hand basin, and toilet. Our hotel also proposes disabled rooms, safes and free car park places. Experience the quietness of our hotel while our attentive, multilingual staff takes pride in providing you personalized services and help. Enjoy the sea and beautiful sightseeing (5 minutes drive), shopping and attractions. Our hotel also provides a restaurant open everyday. The restaurant can offer you lunch and dinner in a bright and contemporary setting. Our chef provides modern, gastronomic and hearty cuisine choices. The restaurant can also organize your buffets, cocktail receptions and meals. At your disposal we offer meeting facilities from 25 to 200 square meters.
Best Western Plus
We were very well welcomed for check-in by Charline, who took the time to accompany us to our room. Let me tell you that I have not experienced that a lot in the past and I have been to many hotels in Europe (private and pro). So I was thinking "was a nice start !" The hotel is indeed a good one : excellent matresses (good sleep is so important when you are away from home !), staff is absolutely polite and friendly, restaurant seemed really good (but I can not confirm since we were always eating outside), building is not so noisy despite the location (I was quite worried because of the motorway nearby). The downside was the lack of follow-up : something was broken in the room and I flagged it straight away, we stayed one week and nothing happened, nothing at all... one week ! I flagged it again during check-out, but at that point it had become useless to me now... too bad... it's not normal. No hair-dryer in a 4-star room, really ? Italian shower might be designed to look modern and fancy, but the glass wall is too small --> what a mess, all the water flooding outside, you end up clean yourself during vacation. No soap holder, it just swims there... No coat rack at room entrance/wall :-( Only 8 clothes hangers for 2 people, that's not enough, sorry. Depending on the occupancy in the hotel, their private/safe parking is quickly overfull, and your car ends up staying outside. We asked if the the parking spots next to the hotel were OK (foreign plate, you just never know), YES was the answer. The next morning our 2 rear-view mirrors were pushed back but fortunetaly not broken, Well well good to know..... To put it in a nutshell, the hotel is really good but I believe that there is room for improvement in order to be rated as a real 4-star.
I had written a review earlier, but since I could not edit it, I am rewriting it. The reason why I need to edit what I originally wrote is because of the behavior perpetrated by the management of this hotel. I was called EIGHT times in an afternoon after my review was published to be bullied and insulted. They said that others reviewed the hotel after me and found it to be perfect. They asked why my review was published in more than one website (why shouldn't it??). I do not argue with other people's reviews, but I will not be bullied into changing mine. I was questioned as if I had to defend my opinion, I was told the pictures were misleading (how can a photo be misleading??), I was attacked verbally and harassed rather than receiving an apology for this horrible experience. They also slandered me by accusing me of writing a bad review because I wanted to leave without paying. My credit card was charged the afternoon BEFORE checking in (I booked online and am attaching the transaction from my bank) and when I checked in and asked if I had to register a card, I was told the room was already paid for (which it was indeed) and that I wouldn't be needing to do anything else else. I want to make it very clear that I wanted and want NO compensation, I just wrote a review to let others know what I found. Now, even more than before, I want to warn people against staying here. Aside from the obvious structural problems I found and will write now, the behavior of the management of this hotel is abysmal and unethical to say they least. REVIEW: I have never stayed in a dirtier hotel than this. The common areas were dirty, carpet stained everywhere, dust and dirt all over the floors, overall condition of the hotel not fitting a 4 star hotel and definitely not up to Best Western standards if you have ever used their accommodations. The hotel is also in a remote area, far from everything aside from its very close proximity to a gipsy camp making it unsafe to do anything in the vicinity. The WiFi is nonexistent, disconnecting itself continuously and not providing a secure connection. There is no safe in the room, although they advertise its presence. Now regarding the rooms: we checked in and were assigned a room on the second floor. Upon entering the room and going to wash our hands, we immediately saw that the bathroom had not been cleaned. There was a used soap bar, the sink was dirty and the shower had footsteps inside. I checked the bed and although it appeared to have been made, upon opening it we had the surprise of seeing very used bedsheets. We went downstairs and pointed this out to the receptionist, he came to see the room and apologized profusely. He proceeded to give us another room. We went to the new room, and the bathroom was full of white pubic hairs. I didn't check to see anything else, as this was disgusting enough. We again went to the reception and the same gentleman told us he would personally check the third room before giving it to us. The third room: the bedsheets were clean and not used, there was no hair in the bathroom but there were fingerprints everywhere, dust all over the floors which hadn't been cleaned, dust all over the vanity, hair on the armchair and two plastic cups in the bathroom for our toothbrushes which were wet and not single use. Not exactly what you expect during these times: There was also a nice hole in the wall above the flushing button. At this point we just wanted to leave. A dirty room can be an oversight: three is a pattern and a serious problem with the hotel. We went to the reception again but found the person we had seen before was no longer there. As the room had been charged to my credit card already, we asked if it could be cancelled as we didn't want to stay there but we were told this was not possible as we had booked through a third party website. I decided we would go and look for another room at another hotel and just lose the money for this hotel for the night, but after searching online and in person we found that there were no rooms in the area for the night. We proceeded to go to a carrefour and buy sanitizing products to wipe down the whole room, which I did and which was the only option at this time as we were extremely tired. We left as soon as possible the next morning. If you're looking for a four star experience, or anything close to it, look elsewhere.
Very friendly staff , all speak good english and willing to help in all matters ! Good breakfast and restaurant service. Wifi works well.Very comfy beds and quiet rooms.Shopping centre nearby. Approx. 10-15 mins by car to the Port or into town.
Erwan D, Guest Services / Front Office at Best Western Plus Europe Hotel, responded to this review
Dear Mister Roadking, We thank you for sharing your experience at Best Western Plus of Brest. We are glad to know you had a great stay, our clients' satisfaction is our greatest reward. Hoping we have the pleasure to welcome you again, Best Regards, Brest Best Western Team
I traveled to Brest for some business and pleasure the Best Western Plus Hotel was located in a great place to meet with my people and is a quite area. The room was neat and tidy and even witht the restrictions they were able to serve meals of a quality standard. The staff were very friendly and helpful. I will stay there again.
Resort00868112251, Manager at Best Western Plus Europe Hotel, responded to this review
Dear Rodney, Thank you for sharing your experience at Best Western Plus of Brest ! We are delighted to read your kind messages concerning the team and the hotel services in general. It was a pleasure to welcome you and we hope to see you again very soon. Best Regards, Virginie and the Brest Best Western Team
First of all, I would like to "set the record straight". If I have, indeed said after our first night at the hotel, and following our setbacks (among other things, after an overheated room, a lack of heating in the said room) explained that Christine having the habit of hotels of Class had been somewhat annoyed by these shortcomings for a 4-star hotel and had said so. My remarks ended there. No more no less. I am therefore, how to say ... irritated ... yes, IRRITATED. I cannot stand that someone uses my words in a way that has nothing to do with my sayings, kind of "interpreting them freely". By that I mean that my words are transformed to take advantage of the way that suits the people who rewrote them. Never, ever have I apologized for her attitude. In fact, if indeed I considered the first day that it was correct to explain the why of the attitude of my partner, I have to say that afterwards I could only go to her point of view. If I myself did not react on Tripadvisor, it is simply because I felt that her opinion covered the situation well. I fully support here what Christine wrote about the “Best Western plus Europe” in Brest. To my knowledge, she has not attacked the staff, quite the contrary. Her remarks addressed certain flaws in the hotel itself.
Resort00868112251, Responsable réception at Best Western Plus Europe Hotel, responded to this review
Dear Mister Guinet, We are quite disappointed you do not own up to what you've said several times to our team. We nevertheless wish you an excellent continuation. Brest Best Western Team
The staff has been friendly and helpful, especially Samuel, the receptionist & Jacques, the night porter. Actually the room and the hotel were not yet ready for rent. The safe-deposit-box is still not fixed on the wall, the air-conditioning and the mini-bar does not exist, the room has no space for suitcases as well no space to accommodate 2 chairs and a table. The bathroom had a glass door and when you are in the bed you could see the toilet, which means no privacy at all. Other rooms having a sliding door to the bathroom, which is very noisy when you open and close that door. When a person is in the bathroom the whole bedroom is illuminated. Even the hotel provided a coffee machine but neither the capsules for the coffee nor the water bottles have been replaced. Also the windows were looked with a key so no luck of fresh air. The staff were definitely understaffed. Especially at the bar, where they employed students during the weekend, who were not able to prepare a drink. The receptionist has a one-man show, works at the reception, takes care of the bar, answers the phone and shows new guest arrivals the room. The hotel excepts pets, but as a guest with a pet you are limited to the rooms in the ground floor. I am wondering how this hotel became a 4-star hotel.
Resort00868112251, Responsable réception at Best Western Plus Europe Hotel, responded to this review
Dear Christine, Your husband apologized almost every day for your behavior, I believe that says it all … You were given the opportunity to choose your room as Samuel took the time to let you visit them. Besides, as soon as you asked for your window to be open, we gladly opened it for you. Our team was never thanked by you (only your husband), even though they gave their best, especially on New Year's Eve when they gave you access to the kitchen, helped you cook, let you use the material, cleaned it for you … The day you dropped your earing in the siphon of the washstand, we called a technician and never billed you for the intervention. We do employ motivated students on weekends, we are actually proud to give them the chance to work and grow in an environment they like. Our rooms have a kettle, a Nespresso machine (with capsules renewed everyday, if we missed it one day, the reception is always open so we could have asked us), bottles of water on day of arrival that can be renewed upon request, a safe … We never mentioned a minibar as none of our rooms has one, that is a choice we made ! The rooms on the ground floor are quite identical to the ones on the upper floor. The main difference being they have lino instead of carpet, which is easier to clean after a dog's stay. I wish you an excellent continuation ! Brest Best Western Team
Perfect Hotel, good location near the airport, Very Clean modern rooms, good service, very friendly staff. Very good breakfast and nice food in the restaurant. Second visit already and the experience was the smae as the first time. Will return when in the area.
Staff in all areas were really friendly and extremely helpful the whole time we were there. Room was clean, comfortable and spacious. We also really loved the sauna and hammam ! We would be glad to come back soon !
Checkin: receptionist added 3 breakfast that I didnt order, I booked the hotel via booking so breakfast was not included in first place Check out: the receptionist tried to charge me with 72 euro afrer I paid all via booking. He couldn't remove the 45 euro charge and after waiting 30 mins he just told me that everything is ok and let us go. After 4 hours Inrecieved an email with this: "you refused to pay the city tax and the garage", refused! Shame on you. Liers! Terrible stuff
This hotel is located some way from Brest city center in a commercial/industrial zone. It is reasonably convenient for the airport. The hotel is modern and the staff are friendly and helpful. You can eat at the hotel restaurant (the 247 which is not open 24/7) and there is room service. Double rooms are not huge but ok. Decoration is modern, the photos give a good idea of the rooms. The bathroom with walk in shower is fine. The bed is comfortable. The carpets are a bit worn and cleaning isn't 100% in the room I was in. Rooms on the non-highway side were quiet. Wifi worked well and is free. A couple of minutes walk away, on the other side of the highway, are a pizza restaurant and grill. Another few minutes is a big Leclerc hypermarket and beyond that the tramway that goes into town (about 15 minutes walk). Apart from that there is not much to do in the district.
Fantastic location and lovely service. Rooms are small and what you would expect from a good three star hotel. All very clean and well appointed in terms of amenities. Not five star luxury, but would definitely stay again based on location and service if in town in December for a weekend again (hotels are booked up and prices are high in the old town at this busy time of year).
Stayed here on 16 August 2016 when we arrived at 10 pm only food available was Toasted sandwich with turkey as no ham available with salad. When it arrived plastic turkey in white bread the salad was just brown lettuce with a dressing. Could not have tea/coffee this morning as the milk/cream was open and had not been replaced since previous guest. Ordered coffee and croissant at the bar, served without knife and plate. On check out tried to charge extra for the room and no deduction for food as we didn't complain last night.
... hotel is very close to the Brest airport and it has direct connection with very nice city center by the tram which takes about 20 minutes... there are very nice places to see in the city center and its great for a walk... room was very nice and clean with a free wifi connection and this hotel is very quiet which is excellent for sleeping and relax... staff were very nice and helpful and lady at the reception told us what is nice to see in Brest... it was very nice stay there :)
I stayed here three nights. The hotel is comfortable and has free parking which is good. The bed was comfortable, the bathroom was perfectly acceptable. The Wi-Fi did not really work that well at all on any of my devices. In fact, I turned it off and just used my cell phone signal. I would stay here again but recommend they get the Wi-Fi fixed. There is a restaurant on the premises although I did not use it it looked good.
You may be disappointed by the exterior of this hotel because it is literally a box in the middle of some kind of industrial area of the town, but insides are quite ok. Rooms are clean and modern and other facilities look decent. Was fine for one night stay during a business trip. The most remarkable thing is that staff personnel was really nice on all occasions (I.e. Reception, bar, breakfast)
Peres G, Responsable réception at Best Western Europe Hotel, responded to this review
Dear guest, thank you very much for your comment. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. However we are surprise by your opinion about the exterior of the hotel. we never pretend to be a downtown historical building. The location is very interesting because of the proximity of everything you can need in Brest (airport, city center, highway, economic center...). Thank you again for taking time to share your opinion. Best Regards Marie Reception Manager
We stayed for one night in a family suite, consisting of two rooms accessed via a single door. Easily sleeping five. The room was clean with modern decor. Hotel has plenty of free parking and is within walking distance of the main shopping area including supermarkets etc. Free wifi is provided and worked very well. Breakfast is available but at 15€ a head - even young children. So 75€ for two adults and three children under 10 - we declined and made alternative arrangements. The breakfast pricing aside this is a good centrally located modern hotel.
good hotel with an excellent restaurant, location off city center but can easily be reached by car. Attractive price, good starting point to explore Bretagne. Employees are friendly, rooms are good and clean. Only drawback is the slow WLAN: it is not very useful.
We stayed here to be close to airport, as a pit stop on route to a wedding 2 hours drive away. The 1st day we checked in. Staff super nice and friendly. The hotel provided a bottle of water in the room, however the one in our room was open and had been drunk from. When we came back from our day trip into Brest they asked us to move rooms as they had realised the bed was broken (we hadn't realised ourselves). Our new room was fine. The next day we were supposed to be collected by friends so we checked out and waited in the hotel bar. Our friends were held up by farmer strikes and it took several hours to collect us. The staff were polite but gave us many an odd look. Due to unforeseen circumstances, we had to amend our return booking from 1 night to 2 nights (a few days later). Staff were polite on check in. The room had no curtain which meant the room was very bright in the evening. This was an issue as we have a baby who usually went to bed at 7.30. Unfortunately he did not sleep until the room was dark. We did ask at reception but were told that the curtains were being washed. They did replace them the 2nd night.... We tried to eat at the restaurant (supposedly open 7-10pm) however it was closed, when we tried then to order room service (supposedly 24hr) we were told we could only have a Croque Monsieur....when we asked for a number to order take away the receptionist said we could only do it online yet we were unable to access the free wifi.... There are no restaurants or food stores nearby. The next day, we found the staff rude. Huffed and puffed through our order at the bar and gossiped about us as we nipped in and out of the hotel. Clearly they found us annoying! This hotel is close to airport but far from town. There are no restaurants or shops nearby. 20min walk to tram stop for access in to town. Better if you have a car.
Peres G, Responsable réception at BEST WESTERN Europe Hotel, responded to this review
Dear Hulahula Monkey, Fisrt of all, thank you for sharing your experience. We wanted to apologize for the bottle of water, the room mate forgot to change it. This cannot happen. I assure you that this will not happen again. Our restaurant is open from monday to friday, always closed on weekends (only groups) and it is written and posted on the restaurant door, in the room directory, at front desk... The Snacking is served the 24h. It is the only thing we serve at any time and it is also written everywhere. .The hotel is located in a commercial area, there is plenty of restaurants and a big supermarket. the tram station is 10 min walking from the hotel and you have a bus stop 1 min from the hotel. Do you asked a front desk for all these informations? best regards, Marie Reception manager
Food too poor. Breakfast, too weak . Hotel Restaurant close in Sunday so in Sunday you have to eat out. Cleaning is no good. They don't change towels evey day. Manly you will pay 15 - 20 euro to taxi to take you to city one trip so it's daily not less than 30 euro to visit city.
Stayed for 1 night before getting the ferry the next day from Roscoff. The staff were friendly and the rooms were nice and modern. Breakfast was 15 euros!! The hotel is a fair way out of town and not the best if you want to visit the centre. Generally we did not think much of Brest and stupidly didnt realise it was such a big city we would not choose to return there are a lot of places around the area that are a lot nicer
The hotel is nice, the bar is accommodating, and the location is a bit removed from from the difficulties of parking associated with being in the city. Overall, a nice hotel if you are looking to stay on the outskirts of Brest.
The location is fairly convenient for the airport (about 5km away), but not so useful if you wish to visit the city centre. The place is clean, modern and the rooms are well appointed. Not 100% sure why it rates four stars, as there are not many other facilities, but that is more a complaint for the tourist authorities rather than the hotel itself.... The staff are very friendly, and I would definitely use this place again if I am working in the area. Only real complaint is the WiFi -nice and fast for the internet, but does not seem to allow VPN or mail client access (kind of useful for business customers!). Restaurant offers a good selection of very well prepared food, though the breakfast is limited and over-priced (like many other hotels in France)
Wherever Life Takes You, Best Western Is There®
Each Best Western® branded hotel is independently owned and operated.