ROOM 1
ROOM 2
ROOM 3
Promotion code

CHC Continental, BW Premier Collection Hotel, Venise

3.5/5  - basé sur 1454 notations.
Lista di Spagna, 166 - Cannareggio, 30121, Venise, Italy - See map

Situated in the heart of Cannaregio, this 4 star hotel is beautifully positioned in one of the most authentic parts of Venice, the Jewish Ghetto. Guests will have the pleasure of sleeping in a charming historic building. After undergoing extensive renovations it is now one of the foremost 4 star hotels in Venice. Our enviable position makes exploring this unique city a dream. The CHC Continental, BW Premier Collection is on Canal Grande in Lista di Spagna, just before the beginning of Strada Nuova, one of the city's main pedestrian streets and unquestionably the most picturesque stroll which runs between the train station and leads to Rialto. There are many shops along the way for shopping fans, numerous "bacari" (traditional Venetian snack bars) and a colorful neighborhood market near Ponte delle Guglie. The hotel is also just steps from the train station and Piazzale Roma. To get to the most famous sights such as Rialto or San Marco, just follow the route which passes in front of the hotel or take a vaporetto from the Ferrovia stop located a few minutes from the Continental. The furnishings are modern and traditional and always tasteful, which combined with the most modern comforts, make the rooms at the Continental superior among 4 star hotels in Venice. Rooms very bright, each has a private bathroom with bathtub or shower and hairdryer. Air conditioning, mini bar, kettle, direct dial phone, satellite TV and Safety Box ensure a refreshing and relaxing stay. To enjoy the magic and charm of Venice, just look out one of the large windows that overlooks Lista di Spagna, the adjacent "Campo" and Canal Grande. Singles, twins, doubles and triples are available, in some there also a comfortable, pleasant living room. The reception can handle reservations for boat tours of Venice and the beautiful lagoon islands, guided tours of the artistic and historical areas of the city and its surroundings and all useful information on events and performances in the city.

BW Premier Collection

CHC Continental, Hotel

LABEL_ITINERAIRE

LABEL_DEPART:

LABEL_ARRIVEE:

Hotel advantages

  • Air conditioning
    Air conditioning
  • Cocktail lounge
    Cocktail lounge
  • 24-hour front desk
    24-hour front desk
  • Massage services
    Massage services
Show More Show Less

Guest reviews

In partnership with tripadvisor fr
based on 1440 guest reviews
NOTE ISSUED
Excellent
286
Very Good
574
Average
337
Poor
141
Terrible
102
REFER TO NOTICE
Business Business
28
Couples Couples
730
Family Family
319
Friends getaway Friends getaway
143
Solo travel Solo travel
86
SUMMARY NOTES
Cleanliness
Location
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Value

"Most pathetic experience with crazy hospitality"

1
17/09/2018

Worst experience ever I had with this so called 4 Star category hotel. The front office manager was the most rude person I have come across. Instead of showing hospitality to visitors in their country he almost harassed us. Rooms we weren't clear and barely had a space to stand, forget moving around. We were waiting with kids in the lobby for almost an hour and instead of finding solution they gave up and didnt offer any helping hand. The rooms were extremely claustrophobic with bathrooms had no space to stand. On the contrary the F & B staff was warm and hospitable. This sour experience made our venice experience go real bad.

"Bizarre loud noise in the evening - be aware"

2
15/09/2018

Stayed in this hotel for two nights. First impression: not too bad. In every inch a tourist hotel (understandably), but comfortable room with nice river view plus good location. However, on Saturday night it turned out to be disco night on ground level, with music causing bizarre loud noise in the hotelroom. Completely out-of-proportion. Earplugs didn't bring any relief - sleeping was impossible. If you plan to stay in this hotel: please don't intend to go to bed early! (To avoid any mistakes: living in a city center myself I'm not sensitive to noise at all - this was simply outrageous.)

"2 nights stay"

4
14/09/2018

This is a nice hotel close to the railway station. It is on the edge of the channel which our room overlooked. Overall the staff are pretty good and helpful. The restaurant produces good food with a limited choice but in saying that enough to choose from. Ithas a terrace on the water front which you should book with limited seating. The rooms are as described from the web site and are clean to a good standard.

"Centrally located hotel"

4
10/09/2018

We arrived in Venice and had to take a water taxi and it drops you right at the hotel via the canal. We were a group of 10 and all four couples got their rooms at around 1pm and we didn't get ours until 3pm which is fine because check in was at 3 but we arrived at 10am and we could have done some touristy stuff while waiting for our room. I just wished they had offered us water or a welcome punch but nothing. Once in the room everything was very clean and the beds were very comfortable. Breakfast the next morning was lovely and we could sit outside and watch the boats and gondolas go by. This hotel is centrally located to everything. A nice walk to the main attractions and a short walk to the train station.

"Easy to get to and centrally located"

4
04/09/2018

Take the water shuttle from the airport which is cheap and easily located. It will drop you off close to this hotel. Also near the train station if you travel that way. Hotel is older but well kept up with some of the rooms redecorated in a basic but comfy style.Really close to everything you need when visiting Venice...although you'll for sure get lost...part of the fun. Breakfast is good with a great selection. The water levels rose on one of our nights...happens quite often, apparently and we couldn't use the restaurant for breakfast. It was brought to us in our rooms. The electrical system could do with a bit of an update as one of our hair dryers blew the fuses on the whole floor. Lots of good restaurants nearby if you don't want to eat at the hotel. Overall, comfortable, clean and not too expensive.

"Lovely hotel on the Canal"

4
20/08/2018

This is a lovely, small hotel right on the canal and very near the train station. We landed at the airport, got in a water taxi and were dropped off right at the door! Welcome to Venice! Old world charm and kind, helpful staff. Rooms are well appointed and a good size for Europe. Shops and restaurants close by but St Marks is a 20 minute walk. Having breakfast on their canal-side patio will always be a highlight of our two week trip. But, the hotel is undergoing renovations and getting to some rooms is challenging. I'm not sure how they'll resolve that (for safety reasons more than anything else - perhaps really good signage?) because this is otherwise a real gem. We'd return for sure.

"A work in progress - OK, but some issues"

3
01/08/2018

This is a very difficult hotel to review - there is much to recommend it - location on the canal, friendly staff (the head waiter at breakfast is especially superb and would bring me an excellent special cappuccino each morning!), redecorated rooms that are well appointed and have excellent air conditioning. However - it is being redecorated and this results in mess and noise - as well as a lack of signage and some questionable safety issues. The check in was chaotic - our room (reserved and paid in advance) was not available due to “technical reasons” and after much confusion our party finally ended up in two separate rooms, which in fact were ok (although not really what we had booked). The staff did their best to help, to be fair, but it was not the best start. Overall we did enjoy our stay, but this is not what you expect from a 4 star hotel.

"Superb hotel and staff"

5
26/07/2018

This hotel was outstanding. People were friendly and knowledgeable, always wanting to go the extra mile, always wanting to please us in any way they could. In spite of being under construction-renovation we didn't hear any significant noise. The restaurant and breakfast were simply superb. We are no easy people, because my kids want everything tailored to their specific tastes and staff made the necessary adjustments. Prices are more than reasonable for the quality (we spent four days here and planned to have lunch and dinner at the hotel because it was really outstanding), all dishes were cooked to perfection. Staff was not only professional in getting things accomplished and accommodating, but also friendly and really made us feel at home. We definitely recommend the hotel and restaurant to everyone we know and this is not something we customarily do. We do this, because they were the best in our vacations so far. Thanks a lot for everything and we to be back soon!

"room without a view"

2
21/07/2018

we were so excited about this lovely hotel and spent extra for a room of the canal. however when we got to our room the windows were covered with construction plastic and materials and there was absolutely no view. since we had payed extra for a room with a view we spoke with the front desk who told us they would contact the reservation center about a refund of the difference but we have yet to hear back from them. this location is going to be amazing once they complete construction but they should not make you pay for a room with a view if that view does not exist. this was so disappointing for our trip. we would have booked another place or room if we had been given accurate information

GiancarloNegro, General Manager at Hotel Continental, BW Premier Collection, responded to this review
Dear Mr Morrin, thank you for the time you spent to report your experience with us last July 10th. I apologize for the problem regarding the scaffolding in front of your room window (room #244). The Company doing works assured us that they would complete this kind of work before the end of June: we are of course very disappointed for that as you are but that day we didn't have any other solution. As told by my staff we informed Agoda (the channel you used to book), about the situation and proceeded with a refund request to the Credit Card Company for the amout related to the "canal view supplement". On July 18th we received the debit charge in our bank account. Now you must received the refund directely from Agoda: they are informed in written of the situation. I suppose they need other few days, but finally you will receive the refund. Apart of this problem I hope you and your family enjoyed the stay with us. If you need additional assistance don't hesitate to contact us again. Kind regards Giancarlo Negro Hotel Manager BW Premier Collection CHC Continental Venice +39 041 715122

"Wonderful night"

5
12/07/2018

We spent a perfect night here ! The Chef is cooking amazing plates (even salad are tasty as hell although you might think that with “basic” aliments it wouldn't taste like this). Meet Franco, manager of the place, and have a drink with him, he'll tell you amazing stories about Venezia and make everything he can for you to spend the most beautiful night you can. Thanks for everything !

"Amazing canal view"

5
10/07/2018

The staff are very friendly and helpful. The boat pick up and drop off is at their front door which is amazingly convenient. They have lovely large rooms and ours even had a little outside balcony with a table and chairs. A must is to have a drink or dinner on the front veranda overlooking the canal. It is a wonderful place to relax and watch the huge variety of passing boats and water craft. The continental breakfast was really delicious with a huge selection. I would definitely stay here again.

"Unsafe and unfinished hotel"

1
03/07/2018

This hotel was like a building site - very unsafe - no fire alarms connected - still had covers on. Building renovation weeks and weeks away from completion. No lift - still being installed. Light in room unable to be turned off even when access card was removed.

"Could be nice hotel, but beware of construction activity. Not good value for the price."

2
26/06/2018

Chose this hotel because of convenience to the railway station, Santa Lucia. Only a short walk away. However, was not aware of how much construction was going on at this hotel. We had to walk past construction debris to get to our room, and the room was hidden among a maze of confusing corridors. The room had been mostly remodeled, but lacked amenities such as a chair to sit in. Scaffolding outside the windows. Could be a nice hotel, but for the price they are charging you can find better. Have to admit the breakfast was superb, but that's about the only superlative I can give to this hotel. Would not stay here again for what we paid. Overpriced.

"Oh Beautiful"

5
19/06/2018

We stayed here last year in May 2017 it was so lovely breakfast on the outside Balcony watching the daily lives of the locals up and down the Canal we have planned our 2019 Holiday and will be staying here at The Hotel Continental in Venice we are bringing Family and friends this time cant wait xxx

"Poor value for money"

2
13/06/2018

Hotel was still under renovation but sold itself as fully renovated . Lift, hot shower, air conditioning were not working. Counter staff didn't seem to care when we complained. Porters and breakfast staff tried their best though. Could have obtained better quality elsewhere for the money we paid

"Refrubishment not completed- Faulty Towers!!!"

1
11/06/2018

We were booked in with tour gp and told we were first gp since renovations. DISASTER!!! No lift operating, 64 steep winding steps to room. Couldn't turn lights off in room at night; shower leaked all over floor. Phone not operating so couldn't contact reception. Fire system not hooked up, wires hanging out of walls everywhere. Ladders left in corridors, workmen banging around all day.Some of gp had to be moved to other Hotels due to terrible state of unfinished rooms. Keep away from it- it was like Faulty Towers!!!! Kitchen still wrapped in plastic when we arrived.

"Booking cancelled "

1
13/04/2018

We had booked this hotel for 3rd May and have just been notified that our booking is cancelled due to the hotel hot being able to accommodate us. Very disappointing as we loved everything about this hotel when booking it ??

"Fantastic location "

3
03/03/2018

We were given a room with a view directly onto the canal so were very happy with this. The hotel itself looked a little tired in places but this can be over looked as the price, the location more than make up for this.

"Basic hotel, great location"

3
27/01/2018

The hotel itself is pretty basic, rooms are small, worn and weren't perfectly clean. We had a view over the canal which was nice. Front of house staff were locely, very friendly and helpful when booking tickets etc. But restaurant staff were the opposite. Breakfast first morning there was a queue of people waiting to be seated even though there were empty tables, waitress actually shouted at one couple when they decided to take a seat at the empty table near them. Breakfast was ok, nothing special, did have to ask for tea every morning as they only seemed happy to serve coffee. Also ask for juice to be refilled as they only put out small jugs which got used up fast. One evening was warm so we picked up some bottles of water to drink in our room. I went to bar for glasses with ice and waited for ages, no staff, went to front desk who rang and said bar staff were back, I returned to bar...no staff, waited another 10 minutes for someone finally to come help me. Simply asked for w pint glasses with ice for our room. Was given 2 whiskey tumblers so asked if I could have one of the larger glasses off the shelf, was told 'not possible!' I explained it was just for water in our room, and bar man simply pointed at glass he put on bar and said 'this' then walked off! I was in shock to be honest, just rude and unhelpful! Rest of stay went fine. Location is great, but everywhere is walking distance in Venice really.

"Poor communication "

1
13/01/2018

Nothing to rate as we turned up and the hotel was under renovations. We had no idea so we asked a street vendor who pointed us to the hotel next door that were taking their bookings. Can say that the Hotel Princepessa was top notch and would highly recommend.

"Fantastic location"

4
20/11/2017

We stayed here in September for my mother in laws 70th Birthday, the location is fantastic. Originally we were going to stay closer to San Marco, but the Continental hotel came up a good price for a 4 star so we booked it. On visiting the San Marco area we found the restaurants and shops were much more expensive than the ones near Continental hotel so we were happy we didn't stay there. The vaporetto stops are very close, 7 euros one way to San marco or the Rialto bridge or any other stop on that route. There is a coach from the airport 14 Euro return which drops you about 10mins walk from the hotel. The breakfast at the hotel is lovely plenty of choice and very tasty. There is even chocolate cake and lemon drizzle cake at breakfast not the norm for me but to be fair cake any time of the day is good in my opinion. The room is ok not the best I've stayed in, very dated but clean, comfy bed and a good base. Odd shower but it was hot so that's all that matters. Staff friendly and helpful. Overall this hotel is a lovely base to explore from with a decent breakfast.