Come and discover the Best Western Plus Clos Syrah, in the south of France with easy access (highway, TGV train) close to the Provence and Ardeche. In the summer, you may take advantage of a delicious regional lunch from our Restaurant La Syrah, outside by the swimming pool. Enjoy your breakfast on the terrace of your room with a view of the garden and the swimming-pool with your pet that will be accommodated with pleasure by our staff. Business guests will appreciate relaxing in our hotel, and have the possibility of receiving their customers around a glass of regional white wine. We will be glad to organize trainings and other events in our seminar rooms. Our staff will be charmed too offer a personalized service to you. Enjoy your stay. The hotel is equipped for people with reduced mobility. Restaurant opening hours: September to May - Open from Monday to Friday for lunch and dinner. Closed Saturday and Sunday. Please note that the restaurant is closed for Christmas Holidays.
Best Western Plus
Very nice place for a break en route to the South of France. Rooms are big, functional and clean. Beds are comfortable and service is good. But the best surprise is the restaurant, an absolute gem! We had a fish fillet and scallops for dinner, and a white Cote du Rhône to drink. Must say it was one of the best dinners I had in a long time. Absolutely amazing! Shall return!
yves r, Gérant at Best Western Plus Clos Syrah, responded to this review
Good afternoon, Thank you for taking the time to share your stay at Best Western Plus Clos Syrah ****. Your satisfaction is our priority and your feedback helps us continually improve our equipment and service. We are pleased to learn that your stay was fully satisfactory and thank you for pointing out so many positif things about our hotel restaurant. Looking forward to welcoming you again, Best Regards,
Nice and clean room. Very comfortable bed. People at reception are very nice, polite and really helpful. I just have a remark for the room service. I am drinking very special type of coffee so I brought my own small package. I usually make more coffees from the one package so I left the open package on the table with caffee in it for another day and left the room. When I came back, my caffee wasnt there. The room service throw it in a trash. I was really disappointed. So just an advice here for the room service - never touch anything belonging to the guest. If it is not in a trash, it is not a trasch. Except this bad experience, we had a very pleasant stay.
yves r, Propriétaire at Best Western Plus Clos Syrah, responded to this review
Thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our property. Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we offer a better experience for guests in the future. I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience. Thank you again for taking the time to complete the survey. We appreciate your loyalty to our brand. Sincerely, Yves Ruspeler Owner Best Western Plus Clos Syrah
We stayed here overnight on our way from Spain to Belgium and found the room very clean and pretty modern. Bathroom consists of a sink and walk in shower. Toilet is separated which is a nice feature. Bed is really big too France standards! And then we had dinner on the terrace of the restaurant, the menu is small but maybe this is best so they can concentrate on a few dishes instead of 50 different ones... But the prices they ask for these courses is well over the top, 32€ for a small 180 grams of beef filet? Only accompanied by a few potatoes is this a really high price that is more then in Ann Sophie Pic's restaurant which is a whole other level of cooking... Let alone the wine list, look everyone has too earn money but when you take a bottle of wine that's sold in stores for 8€ and then find this wine on the list for around 50€? Take a beer, we did!
yves r, Manager at Best Western Plus Clos Syrah, responded to this review
Madam, Sir, Further your stay at our hotel, we would like to thanking you for sharing your experience. We are happy to see that our rooms have lived up to your expectations. We make it a point of honor to renovate and improve each year to offer our customers a quality experience. Our chef offers a menu at the price of 29 euros based on fresh, local and seasonal products.For this reason, we preferred to offer a reduced menu that is different each week. In addition, we offer every day suggestions from the chef according to the arrival of the market such as whole fish or even lobster risotto. Our chef offers quality products, including the Galician beef fillet you tasted that night, which is matured to boost its flavors. The delicatesse potatoes that accompany your dish come from a small local producer who delivers us every day his production to guarantee an optimal freshness of the products. We are delighted that you compare us to the star restaurant Anne Sophie Pic but we do not claim to offer the same food and the same prices. Indeed, we are a brasserie that offers quality food at affordable prices. Our cellar includes 350 quality wines including many great wines that you will not have the opportunity to find in stores. Wine prices are defined according to their name, year and aging. We offer prices ranging from 6 euros for a glass of wine, 30 euros for a bottle and of course, grand cru wines at more expensive rates. Our restaurant has the will to offer you a moment of relaxation around a good wine and a dinner with local flavors We receive your review with the greatest gratitude. Indeed, customer feedback allows us to always adapt to their proposal in order to always improve. We hope to receive you soon to offer you a superior experience. Best regards. Manager Y. RUSPELER
Room was not ready when we checked in at 4:00 pm. Room was drafty and cold. Room was too small for 2 people. On a positive point breakfast and dinner were alright. Good location near the autoroute and pretty easy to find. Hotel might be good for young people (nice bar) but not for retired people.
yves r, Directeur général at Best Western Plus Clos Syrah, responded to this review
Madam, Sir, We are sorry and surprised at your return. Sorry that the room is not at your convenience (we set the heating on 23 ° C before the arrival of guests and heating can be set individually by each room using the control box at the entrance of the room). Our rooms have an area of 23 to 27 m², all equipped with a large bed (queen or king size). Surprised because our housekeepers are no longer in our hotel at 4PM, so the rooms are therefore ready at this time. Indeed, rooms are available from 3PM. Before this time, of course, we can not guarantee their availability. We want to thank you for your positive feedback on our property and its services such as restaurant and breakfast service. We would be delighted to welcome you back to our establishment. Best Regards. BESTWESTERN Plus Clos Syrah
Someone should tell Best Western that spending a fortune on rebuilding a hotel to look like a 4 star hotel, in itself doesn't make it one. The management need to know what level of service customers get from other four star hotels. (Anna take note). So when we checked in after a six hour drive and were told the restaurant was closed for a private party, we were waiting for the offer from the hotel to make everything alright, and all we got was (quote from Anna) "we told booking.com it was closed tonight, didn't they tell you?" When what she should have said was, Sorry we have closed the restaurant at short notice, but we have arranged for a local taxi to take you to and from a town centre restaurant of your choice. Instead we were told, "you can get a take-away delivered here and we'll provide a plate, knife and fork." Having chosen to have the financial gain of a private party of 50 diners, the hotel management should have made sure that that decision for their benefit, did not reduce the facilities/service provided to other guests. Despite the fact that we regularly drive up and down the nearby autoroute we will not be making a return visit. Which is a shame because I intended to review the restaurant having heard good things about the food. No restaurant, no review.
yves r, Owner at Best Western Plus Clos Syrah, responded to this review
Mr & Mrs FRAMER, Following your return, we wish to respond to your complaints and allegations. I am Mr RUSPELER Yves, owner of the establishment. We would like to tell you that Bestwestern did not spend a fortune in the works, I did. You have stayed in my establishment where I decide on renovations and opening hours of my restaurant. We had the Bestwestern control in August, we respect all the criteria of the chain and we would like to inform you that we are now Bestwestern Plus 4 *. We fulfill all the criteria of a four star, where there is no obligation to have a restaurant on site. You question the classification of our hotel but yet you do not mention our rooms or even the breakfasts which were offered to you ... The staff of our reception is present on site 24/24 to answer all your requests. The receptionist on arrival informed you that our restaurant was closed on Sunday evening, and that an email was sent to you via Booking.com (it was sent on September 25th at 4:33 pm, we have written proof on Booking) and not that Booking would warn you. But we would like to inform you that the mention of our restaurant closed on Sunday is written on the site of Booking & Bestwestern. No, we did not close our restaurant suddenly as we had a group. The closure was planned since JANUARY 2017 ... We had the exceptional request of a group that we decided to honor. So our receptionist was not going to inform you about a change in our closure as there was none and she can not offer a taxi to ALL the guests of our hotel who do not read the important information on the website. She tried to find the best solution, she advised you a restaurant downtown that you declined instantly just by hearing the word downtown. Therefore, she advised you the best solution following your request not to move being to have you deliver a meal within our establishment. And she could very well have offered nothing (plates or other) but she did it out of sheer kindness to try to bring you a solution. We have never reduced the quality of our services to a group. We would be delighted to welcome you again to discover our restaurant that you could not taste but that is at the heart of your concern. Best regards. Y.RUSPELER
We needed an over night stop on our travels and were very pleased with this choice. Extremely well presented. Smart and clean. Easy to find with easy parking on the edge of Valence. Great value for money
A very comfortable room, on the edge of Valence, with a pool. Our booking had mysteriously vanished, but as it was just for a night, the friendly and helpful receptionist found us a room. It was very clean and had a balcony with table and chairs. Kettle, tea and coffee were available - but no milk-and a small safe. No fridge. Pool was clean and inviting and breakfast good.
Whilst staying here we encountered several problems that made us unlikely to stay here again. Upon arriving at our room the door was already open and the key that we had been given by reception didn't work. We returned to reception and were given a new key that thankfully worked. However when we then went into our room there were hairs in the bathroom shower and sink and crisps all over the floor which didn't suggest a high level of cleanliness but given an extremely long journey we decided to just let it go and settled into our room. Unfortunately two of the plug sockets in our room didn't work at all and the door onto the balcony area didn't lock which was a little disconcerting but we worked around this as we were only there overnight. Although we were left equally unimpressed by the breakfast the next morning; neither of us are fond of sugary cereals and yet there only seemed to be options with copious amounts of chocolate involved. The coffee machine appeared to be constantly breaking (a request for a coffee from it produced a pink foam substance) and there was a noticeable lack of spoons of a reasonable size which left us eating out of yogurt pots with soup spoons. The hotel itself felt slightly unfinished with exposed concrete in places, unfinished skirting boards and banisters which, for the price you are paying you wouldn't really expect. On a more positive note the swimming pool was lovely as were the staff at the restaurant who were incredibly attentive and helpful. Personally I wouldn't recommend this hotel as I don't feel it lives up to the level of service Best Western usually provides, there were just too many problems with our room for this to be a comfortable, stress-free stay. If you are staying here, avoid the breakfast but make sure to try the restaurant and the swimming pool!
I spent two nights at this hotel. The reception staff were very accommodating (given that the place was very busy on night 1) and we changed rooms until we found one that suited (third time lucky!) Some of the rooms have undergone a serious refurbishment, however we preferred one with a terrace leading onto the garden. The garden has a nice outdoor pool, loungers and natural shade from an exotic variety of trees. The bathroom was a little tired, but I sure they'll get round to doing it up soon. There is a generous spread for breakfast (although the industrial type reheated pain au chocolats/croissants were awful. The coffee comes from a vending type machine and was not good. Good choice of local fruit juice,jams, spreads etc.. First night at the restaurant we were very disappointed by the food (the fish was overcooked and the raviolis were cold and rubbery... the desserts we ordered were strange to say the least. Not impressed at all. On the second night we asked the advice of a very courteous waiter to guide us in our choice... we were not disappointed as he agreed to supplement the dish we wanted with some side orders, the desserts he recommends were very good. We didn't feel that we had eaten in the same place. All in all after our initial disappointment we had a good weekend and I would recommend this to any wishing a quiet break and also recommend you talk to the waiter about your food likes/dislikes as they are very accommodating. The staff are friendly an welcoming
Tucked away close to major highways. There was construction in one wing but the hotel operated as normal. Very clean room, helpful staff. The restaurant is excellent. Wonderful food and service. The outdoor dining area is very charming..
Stayed one night for business in the area. Pictures on the website are misleading, and the notice of the construction must have been written in small letters. Construction DID NOT start at 9:00am, I was awoken at 7:30 AM. Could not even make a call from my room after this time as it was too loud. It was very warm during my stay and the air conditioning in my room, as well as my associates room, could not be adjusted. I had to keep the blinds closed to try to keep the heat out. Ate at the restaurant and was not impressed. Foie gras was completely overwhelmed by a pile of powdery crumbs of some sort and and overly citrus sticky sauce, could not even taste the foie gras. Fish dish was just ok; soggy, not crispy skin, and it seemed previously frozen for quite some time as it was actually a bit rubbery. At least a few stars for the staff who were very nice. Otherwise I would avoid this hotel.
yves r, Propriétaire at Best Western Plus Clos Syrah, responded to this review
Sir, On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we offer a better experience for guests in the future. Renovation works are currently taking place at our facility, which are notified on the Bestwestern website: https://www.bestwestern.com/en/EN/book/hotels-in-valence/best-western-clos-syrah/ propertyCode.93633.html And on Booking.com and our personal website. We are sorry if you have not seen the mention of this work but we have been advising our guests since December. We inform our guests by all means possible of our work and we do not direct the sites of reservations which themselves take care to highlight the information that we transmitted to them. The photos on our website are no longer up to date as we are under construction and we are waiting for the end to introduce our customers to our new hotel. Workers should only start at 9am, if they ever start before the management or reception team will inform them to immediately stop the noise. We want to apologize but the phone lines have been accidentally cut by workers and to date, the problem has been solved. All our rooms are equipped with air conditioning and we would be pleased to explain the functioning. We are sorry that the restaurant has not lived up to your expectations. Our chef proposes a menu based on fresh, seasonal and especially local products. I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience. Sincerely, Yves Ruspeler Best Western Clos Syrah
A rating of "Terrible" is putting it mildly. On arrival, even though I had paid in advance for our room, I was told that there was no record of my booking and that no rooms were available. We eventually negotiated a room but we were woken at 7.45am by the noise of maintenance work which continued for 2 whole days; in fact on both nights this went on until after 11.30pm. I left for a business meeting in the morning only to be called by my partner who informed me that a builder had been leering at her through the window of our room; when she reported this to the hotel receptionist she was met with a shrug and a chuckle, the response being "well what do you expect, maintenance!". Only when complaining directly to Best Western head office was anything done about this; work stopped, the builder miraculously vanished and a new room was allocated. The noise level in the new room was also intolerable. The hotel website showed imagery of a large pool and outside bar area. This attracted us to this hotel. On arrival we realised that this bar/pool area has not even been built! Each time we left the hotel, on our return we found that our keycard did not allow reentry to our room. The phones did not work once throughout our stay. The lounge area was closed during the whole of our stay. The "24hour bar" was closed when we asked for a bottle of wine one evening at 9.55pm. I requested a taxi and was told it would take 45 minutes to check availability; I called a taxi directly and it arrived within 15 minutes. On our final night no toilet paper was provided in our room and no one was manning the reception desk. When we finally checked out, there was an eight year old boy sitting behind the reception desk. I have now stayed at three different Best Western hotels, one in the U.S., one in the U.K. and this one in France; I have yet to have a positive experience with this chain and will not be using them again. I urge you to do the same.
yves r, General Manager at Best Western Plus Clos Syrah, responded to this review
Madam, Sir, On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we offer a better experience for guests in the future. Our hotel is currently in the process of being renovated in order to offer our guests superior quality services. We try to do our most so that customers do not suffer too much inconvenience. The work does not begin until 9:00 am and finish no later than 5:00 pm. And we try to make the noise mimimun. We put a message on the various booking sites, our website and our social media to warn our customers that work is in progress and that inconveniences can take place. You have stayed in our hotel for 5 nights during which we would have been delighted to bring you another solution to your inconvenience (displacement in another hotel for example) but you did not make any remarks with the reception staff who Tried to do everything to make your stay happen at best but you refused them. You placed your hand in front of your mouth and declared that you no longer wanted to speak to the reception team when they only wanted your stay to be as good as possible. We are sorry if our reception team did not live up to your expectations, however, we offered you another room as soon as possible in a higher category. We want to assure you that the well-being of our guests is important for the all of our team. And no one in our team would allow such disrespect to our guests. We are sorry if your feelings about the front desk person were negative but all the reception team tried to find a solution so you could have a pleasant stay in our hotel. The hotel manager offer you the restaurant and two glasses of champagne. Our park and our swimming pool are undergoing renovations and we put a message on our websites to warn our customers. We are aware that the view on the websites currently does not reflect our hotel but we do our utmost to advise guests at the time of booking and are sorry if you have not seen it. From our hotel you can get to the city center from a bus. Our team would be delighted to be able to tell you the sites to visit and the different methods of access. Indeed, due to a technical problem during our work, the telephone lines were cut and we are working now to solve this problem. our bar is open 24 hours a day, and there is always a staff member available to serve you. Indeed, a bottle of wine was served to you by the latter at night. A member of the service or reception staff is always present to serve you even at 21:55. We contact a taxi company as soon as a customer asks us and we try to find a taxi as soon as possible. In the rooms, the toilet paper dispenser comprises two rollers. When the first one is finished, the second one goes down automatically and we recharge the various equipment of the room every day. If no rolls were present, our maids or receptionists would automatically have brought them to you as soon as possible. We were somewhat surprised. Indeed, you are talking about an eight year old child behind the reception at check-out ... no children were present at our hotel and it was our reception manager who made the check-out (a young woman close to thirties ...) We take note of the various remarks made by our customers, whether it concerns equipment, service or even staff. But we pay special attention to the well-being of our clientele and we have never disrespected them. We try by all means to propose to our guests solutions quickly (change of room, explanation of our services, service of the bar ...). And we are sorry if your stay did not live up to your expectations but we tried everything to be able to propose you a pleasant stay. And we had a negative feedback from you, not once but three times. I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience. Y.RUSPELER Manager
I am currently still staying in this hotel but hopefully not for much longer! We booked a room and were told we had a view. Please see the attached photos to see what a joke that actually is. I am sat in my room with the curtains closed as the workman on my balcony seems to think it's fine to look in on me in bed! I cannot use the balcony at all as it is covered in debris. There has been loud and consistent banging as late as 12 last night and started again this morning. They are next door, outside the window and in the roof above my room. I have been down to reception as ask if we can move rooms and to complain about a man looking in on me and the woman actually laughed in my face, shrugged and said 'renovations!' That is it. No apology, she didn't even look to see if there were any other rooms. I am sat here in tears waiting for my partner to come back from his business meeting and then we will leave. I can't go anywhere as there's no where to go around here. Oh and the phone doesn't work. Avoid if you actually want to sleep and relax and if you don't want to be laughed at for complaining in being looked at by a French workman through your balcony window! I have never had such a miserable stay in any hotel ever, and we go to a LOT because of my partner's job!!
yves r, General Manager at Best Western Plus Clos Syrah, responded to this review
Madam, Sir, On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we offer a better experience for guests in the future. Our hotel is currently in the process of being renovated in order to offer our guests superior quality services. We try to do our most so that customers do not suffer too much inconvenience. The work does not begin until 9:00 am and finish no later than 5:00 pm. And we try to make the noise mimimun. We put a message on the various booking sites, our website and our social media to warn our customers that work is in progress and that inconveniences can take place. We have reminded the various companies of works your remarks, it is indeed intolerable for our establishment that workers do not respect our guests. We are sorry if our reception team did not live up to your expectations, however, we offered you another room as soon as possible in a higher category. We want to assure you that the well-being of our guests is important for the all of our team. And no one in our team would allow such disrespect to our guests. We are sorry if your feelings about the front desk person were negative but all the reception team tried to find a solution so you could have a pleasant stay in our hotel. From our hotel you can get to the city center from a bus. Our team would be delighted to be able to tell you the sites to visit and the different methods of access. Indeed, due to a technical problem during our work, the telephone lines were cut and we are working now to solve this problem. I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience. Sincerely, Yves Ruspeler Best Western Clos Syrah
This was our last night in a thirty day trip and we were eager to get home but didn't have the energy for a long haul from Dijon so we decided to cut the trip and spend the night in Valence. I called for a reservation and got directions. Over the phone the service was excellent and it was just as good when we arrived. The hotel is off the A7 in a quiet neighbourhood with excellent parking. Our room was medium size, very comfortable, with excellent a/c and easy reliable wifi. The shower is large and very easy to use. The hotel restaurant is excellent value. Good service, nicely presented plates, well prepared. I had a oven roasted daurade and my wife had a very good lamb rack. Open wines feature some of the best wines in the Rhone. We heartily recommend this hotel. Whitebeard83
This was a great hotel only let down slightly by the check in. When we arrived after a long motorcycle ride the staff saw we were waiting at reception but were busy with the restaurant which seemed to take priority. We were passed two or three times without any acknowledgement, a simple hello we will be with you shortly would have done We didn't use the resturaunt as we only wanted a snack so we had to go and find a fast food place The room was very nice, great aircon and the bed was amazing, I have to say I could have slept until noon. Checkout was the opposite of our check in, super friendly and helpful and couldn't be more help. Overall not much close to the hotel but if your heading down south or across France it's perfect for a stop
on our way to Montpellier we ended up in a large traffic jam around Valence and decided to stay over in Clos Syrah. We were welcomed with a smile and got a nice room on the first floor. The hotel is nicely renovated, the bathroom is very luxurious and spacious. The separate toilet has no window and limited ventilation, but that's just a minor detail. The beds sleep well, although they only have a single cover. (we're used to have 2 separate ones ;)). Free parking and internet makes it to a great deal. The bar has a nice collection of cognac's and local liquors, the house wine is good enough :) we'll keep this one on our list for a future occasion.
We stayed here to break our journey from Munich to Spain. Hotel is easy to find and well situated. Our Room was a great size & very clean. Unusually for Europe there was tea & coffee making facilities in the room. Breakfast was what you expect of a continental, it was fresh and there was plenty to choose from. Staff were friendly and very helpful.
We stayed here for 2 days on our way to Provence France region. Not from Lyon but more of a distance to Provence area on the busy motorway that has a lot of traffic. The hotel is quiet and the front desk staff is very helpful and friendly. The restaurant in the hotel is very good and much better than any restaurants in the immediate area. Nice rooms and bathrooms clean and updated. Would definitely stay here again if in the area.
Nice hotel, convenient location close to the motorway and with the excellent standard of the rooms, including air conditioning and a private balcony toward the hotel's pleasant gardens and large swimming pool. The restaurant is of a good standard and was well attended by non hotel guests, maybe best to reserve a table. The surrounding area is okay but nothing enjoying, a hill shields the noise from the motorway, the hotel is located on an access road to the highway so enjoy the food, the pool and the bed instead. Car parking inside the hotel's own gate. We slept well and the breakfast was okay. The exterior and interior of this hotel will not be found in an any architect magazine, but that's not why you stay here.
Our party of four stopped here on our way to the south of France. Location was good. Our two rooms looked over the pool and garden, but one view was obstructed by the canopy covering the outside dining area. The other room had a distinct smell of old tobacco. Dinner was a short affair. We chose to have wine as an aperitif and, as a result, were straightaway served our starters. Main courses followed very closely. All done withing 45 minutes. Food was mixed. Two very good meals but the the other two were mediocre - dull salad and dry fish. Despite other comments here, we enjoyed breakfast. Also, the gentleman who dealt with us at checkout was superb. Would we return? Probably not.
Didn't get a great chance to check out the town but hotel was located not far off the freeway which made for easy entrance, exit. Great room with view overlooking the pool. Dining room with an excellent dinner. Hotel & restaurant staff were very friendly and helpful. Wish we could have stayed longer.
on our passage to the South of France we stayed at this hotel. Nice room (superior room with jets in the bath) with terras overlooking the pool. Friendly staff, good restaurant, safe parking space. All one could desire on passing through or business trip. Next time we will take the same hotel.
yves r, Directeur général at BEST WESTERN Clos Syrah, responded to this review
Dear guest, I thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience. We appreciate your comments about our hotel and we looking forward to welcoming you again at the Best Western Clos Syrah. With my best regards, Yves Ruspeler General manager
Wherever Life Takes You, Best Western Is There®
Each Best Western® branded hotel is independently owned and operated.