Rooms 12 Adults, 0 Child
In the business district of Strasbourg, with a well-being area, the Best Western Plus Hotel Villa D'Est is a real concentrate of elegance and charm close to the most beautiful historical sites of the city. In the public areas, where contemporary tones alternate with light shades, the atmosphere is cozy and elegant; each room has a personalized decor. Located a 10-minute walk from the train station, this 4-Stars hotel offers a closed garage. Served by bus and trams, it is an ideal stopover for your leisure or business stay in Alsace. The classic and superior rooms and suites of the hotel near the European Parliament are all air-conditioned. Offering free high-speed Internet and a flat-screen TV, each room has its unique design. Twins or doubles in the classics, queen size in the superior and king size in the suites, delightful comfortable beds are at your disposal. Courtesy products are available in the in-suite bathroom with shower or bath, as well as bathrobes in superior and suites. These last two categories of accommodation also include a one hour access to the wellness area. Served in the elegant decor of the lounge Rouget de Lisle, with access to the terrace in good weather, the breakfast is full of local products, while offering a choice of organic food, gluten-free and lactose-free. Delicatessen and cheese pair with Viennese pastries and breads prepared by a Michelin star chef, while Alsatian specialties sit near home-made verrines. Offering high-end and refined dishes, the "room service" formulas will fill even the smallest appetites at any time of the day or night. Our French, English and German speaking staff is at your service 24-hours. At the reception, you will also benefit from a concierge service for the management of all your bookings (taxis, massages, visits ...) including childcare equipment, not to mention valuable advice on your tourist routes.
Best Western Plus
"Friendly, smiling atmosphere."
Small hotel 15 mins walk from the town old centre. Public transport nearby. Good restaurants nearby from gourmet to pizza, and pub meals. Rooms are clean and well appointed though the standard rooms are small- having said this, in France this is often the case.. I recommend the Superior category, unless you are going to be out all day, in which case all the rooms are comfortable and quiet. A small room-service menu is available for when you are too tired to go out. All in all a good experience.
Valérie LAPP, General Manager at Best Western Plus Hotel Villa d'Est, responded to this review
Dear Madam, We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Villa d'Est Hotel . It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedbacks and I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. I certainly hope that we have the opportunity to welcome you back again. Sincerely yours, V. LAPP - Manager
"Lift and room for hobbits ."
Location convenient. The lift was claustrophobic ,so small ,that it could barely accommodate 1 person with suitcase .Classic room was so small, that you've to move the chair to open wardrobe loosing access to the bed the same time. No fridge in the room, tea and coffee facilities hidden in the wardrobe. One complimentary bottle of water for two guests. Staff competent and friendly. Breakfast room is quite nice and the breakfast is very good, only two waitresses working on Sunday are not enough for smooth service, but they were doing their best ,setting and cleaning and disinfecting the tables efficiently, On Monday when there were fewer guests the male waiter (age more less 50-60 years old) didn't bother to disinfect the tables. You can leave your car in the garage ,but getting there in and out is not easy ,if you are not fun of street games.:). Cost 15€ per day.
This hotel: wow!!! Unbelievable how service oriented every employee is. It felt really great to be there. And walking distance from most attractions. Very clean rooms. Very comfortable beds. I definitely will be back!
Valérie LAPP, Propriétaire at Best Western Plus Hotel Villa d'Est, responded to this review
Dear Sir, Words fail us to express the joy of reading your comment. A huge thank you on behalf of the entire Best Western Plus Hotel Villa d'Est team for taking the time to share your experience and reward us in this way ! We hope to have the chance to welcome you again during your next stay in Strasbourg and wish you the best for the future. With our best regards, Valérie LAPP - Director
"Beautiful Rooms but not too close to the centre"
The rooms are really cozy and beautifully furnished and they are VERY well cleaned. There are however a few (little) things you do not expect from a 4 stars hotel: for once, our two rooms did not have a proper shower. We had in fact two rooms on the last floor, just beneath the roofs and they had only a bathtub in which you must sit in order to be able to use the shower...it is ok for younger people but for elder people who expect the confort of a four stars hotel it can be a bit unconfortable. I do not know if all rooms are the same though. What I did missed was a little fridge to store some of the food we bought (not such a terrible thing, but something you do expect in a 4 stars hotel). The whole staff is extremely kind and always ready to help. In the evening, though, there is only one single person who needs to both hold the reception, take care of the bar and of any potential customers who wish to eat something small. It sometimes seemed like too much work for one person alone. Lastly, the hotel is certainly not located any close to the city centre. Walking fast you indeed can reach the cathedral in about 15 minutes but the area of the hotel is clearly a suburban area and the road that gets to the centre can appear quite long to elderly people.
VALVILLA67, Directrice at Best Western Plus Hotel Villa d'Est, responded to this review
Dear Guest Thank you very much for taking the time to write such nice comments following your recent stay at the Villa d'Est Hotel. I am truly delighted to read that our staff was very helpful and courteous to you and I am very touched by your kind words regarding the hotel in general. The Villa d'Est team looks forward to welcoming you back very soon Sincerely yours V. LAPP
Stayed for 3 nights for the Christmas markets in December. When we arrived we had to move room as the shower was so small that I couldn't stand up in it. The staff were nice and moved us to a room beside reception. The room we moved to was quite spacious, and very clean. The bar in the hotel stayed open until 1.30 a.m which was very good for a drink on the way back from Strasbourg city centre. The hotel is about a 10 minute walk to the city centre and ideal for people interested in walking. Maybe not ideal for elderly people or people with mobility issues. Overall a very enjoyable stay and would definitely return.
VALVILLA67, Directrice at Best Western Plus Hotel Villa d'Est, responded to this review
Dear Guest, Thank you very much for commenting on your recent visit to the Villa d'Est . We are very pleased to read how much you enjoyed your stay and your room. We will share your comments with our teams. We hope to have another opportunity to welcome you back on your next visit to the area! Sincerely , V. LAPP
Visited fro the Christmas Markets which are very good and would recommend. We stayed st the Hotel for 3 nights which was very comfortable and welcoming. A slight walk to the Center but no great distance. Unfortunately, we were affected by the French Industrial Action on our return journey. We would especially like to thank Denis on reception for helping us to obtain alternative transport from Strasbourg to Paris in order to connect with our booked Eurostar Train (which was running to schedule). If ever you have the opportunity to visit Strasbourg then we would highly recommend the city as a destination.
VALVILLA67, Directrice at Best Western Plus Hotel Villa d'Est, responded to this review
Dear Guests, We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for taking the time to share your experience following your recent stay in our Hotel. We hope that you had a good trip back home ( Denis was really happy to read your words ) and look forward to welcome you another time in our nice city of Strasbourg. Sincerely yours, V. LAPP
"A delightful hotel"
Our arrival at this hotel after a long journey from Lyon was very welcoming. Unfortunately the room we were given proved inconvenient for my wife so the hotel quickly found us another which was much more suitable. The hotel is a nice size, very tastefully decorated and furnished with a lovely breakfast room, bar and decked garden. Our room was lovely with an excellent bathroom, efficient aircon. and was well equipped. Although the hotel is on a busy road it is well sound proofed and a good nights sleep is guaranteed. Breakfast is excellent and the range and quality on offer gives a very good start to the day. Although the hotel is located outside the main town it provides a nice walk in and a chance to see a different area. A big bonus is the quality of the personnel. From the manager down you could not find more helpful, cheerful and attentive people and the young lady in the breakfast room is a star with her memory for names and likes. This is a lovely hotel in which to stay and enjoy the beautiful city of Strasbourg.
VALVILLA67, Directeur général at Best Western Plus Hotel Villa d'Est, responded to this review
Dear Guest, Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a nice comment following your recent stay at the Villa d'Est Hotel ! I am truly delighted to read that our staff was very helpful and courteous to you and I am very touched by your kind words regarding the hotel . Be assured that your kind words have been shared with the entire team. It is a great reward for them as we all constantly strive to offer each of our guest an outstanding experience. The Villa d'Est team looks forward to welcoming you back very soon and stay at your entire disposal . Sincerely your's Valérie LAPP - Director
"Nice Hotel - Expensive Breakfast"
The hotel is very nice and newly renovated so the rooms are really nice and clean. Aircon was working OK, but the vents were pointing downwards from the ceiling at the foot-end of the bed = it did not cool us that much The breakfast is EUR 15 per person and considering the options offered, this is just too high. Staff is very polite and helpful and all seem to be speaking English as well. The city centre with pedestrian streets is not more than 10-15 minutes walk away from the hotel. All in all a nice hotel to visit
"3 day stay"
The front desk was friendly and helpful. It is about 20 minute walk to train stations. The room are very small, but clean and updated. Only a hot water in room for coffee or tea. The room was on the street but the noise was not bad , so we could open the window must of the time. No mini fridge which was a disaportment . The city is an easy walking town . Visit Petite France and walk along the Rhine . The I are lots of shops. Be sure to visit the chathreal the stain glass is amazing.
"Excellent restaurant in Rome"
The food was so amazing we went back three days in a row. We tried several different dinners: Lasagna, gnocchi, roast lamb chops, veal, cannaloni, roast chicken, risotto, and creme caramel and Panna Cotta. All were excellent. They also had wood oven pizza that was excellent. The red house vine was very good. The ambiance added to the charm with both outside and indoor seating available. It is a couple streets away from Termini Square. The prices for main corses ranged from 7 to 18 euros. I highly recommend this restaurant. Service also was excellent, especially Catalin. You will not be disappointed!!!
"3 nights in Strasbourg"
I spent 3 nights in Strasbourg and as usual I stayed in Villa d'Est. Perfect position (close to Gare Strasbourg Ville, 20 minutes walk from Cathedral, close to the north ring). Clean rooms. Perfect service. Good breakfast. I recommend it
"Strasbourg Christmas Market"
Stayed at the Best Western Plus Hotel Villa d'Est during our recent visit to the Strasbourg Christmas Market. This is a cute little Hotel with much charm. Hotel is very well maintained. Staff are very accommodating and helpful. Our room was just perfect for our needs. Breakfast buffet was very good. Great selection and well serviced. Hotel also has a cute little bar that is quiet and convenient. The Hotel is a little out of the way however if you like to walk, it is a pleasant 20 minutes to the old town, Cathedral and Christmas market. Would not hesitate to stay here again.
"Perfect spot to stay in Strasbourg for the Christmas markets"
We stayed here for 3 nights as we took in the beautiful Christmas markets in Strasbourg and Colmar. The location was perfect - an easy 15 min walk from the train station (or a 5 min taxi ride) and a 10-min walk to get to the island where the markets are. The breakfasts were wonderful and the woman who takes care of the petit dejeuner (breakfast in French) was amazingly helpful. On our second day, she had remembered what my wife liked in terms of tea and had an extra one already prepared for her. The food was plentiful, fresh and very tasty. We had a room on floor #2 and it was quiet and comfortable. Even though we were adjacent to a street, there was no noise to bother us at night. The folks at the front desk were extremely helpful prior to our visit and while there with getting us the information we needed to make our stay memorable. All in all wonderful place to stay - merci beaucoup to the team at Villa D'est!!
We booked two bedrooms for exactly the same price for us (couple) and for our befriended couple ... but the difference between the rooms booked was huge, espacially the space (difference of several square meters) and the furniture (one room had armchairs and a table, the other none). At our insisting request, we were proposed another room that was more or less the same than the room of our friends. - At our checkout though, we were requested another 30€ per night, as we apparently upgraded to a superior room ... which we could finally avoid, thanks to the very kind lady at the reception. This solved, there were still other problems: - although the tiled floor of our bathroom was really freezy (and I mean that!), there was no possibility to get slippers ... in a "Best Western Plus" Hotel! - our bathroom wasn't properly cleaned as there was still water left on the sides of the bathtub - the bathtub had no shower curtain or equal, so imagine the mess on the floor - although a massage service is provided upon request (reservation requested "at the most two hours prematurely wished" as says the Guest Directory, french text had the same wording), we were told they could only book a massage session for two days(!) later, as it is provided by an external service. - sauna had to requested at least half an our before, because it has to be started ... the Directory says it's at disposal 24/24 - for the breakfast: * deepfreezed bread was still cold inside, because not long enough in the oven ... the waitress in charge just grumbled something and disappeared * one day there was quark cheese, the other day not, although there were still cereals proposed (so only possible to eat them with milk or nothing at all) * no fresh fruits * when eggs were gone, there was no replacement Only good point: except for the one waitress in service on Sunday, all of the staff was very kind and tried hard to manage these complaints. There's finally no reason to stay there anytime again.
"Good Experience but check that the room suits you"
Overall a really pleasant hotel with good staff and reasonably well located. parking can be difficult. On arrival, we changed room by upgrading to get a larger bathroom (pretty good) and a much bigger room. You may want to do the same. There is an intimate bar and a small outdoor area. Quite pleasant for a "sundowner". A few negatives - very limited parking except within a very tight (scary) underground car park several hundred meters away - and at 15 Euro I consider it expensive. The hotel's stairs are very tight and steep, so get the lift. The lift is small so expect a couple of trips if you have luggage. A taxi ride back from the cathedral (worth seeing) was 6 euro. A nice 15 minute walk there. The negatives mentioned are rather minor and would not stop us from staying here again.
Valérie L, Directrice at Best Western Plus Hotel Villa d'Est, responded to this review
Dear Sir, Thank you very much for choosing to stay at the Villa d'Est and for taking the time to post your review on TripAdvisor and also for your recommendation. We hope that we will have the opportunity again to be at your service in the near future. Yours sincerely, V. LAPP - Director
"Comfortable stay near city centre"
Small(ish) hotel at 10 minutes walking distance from the city centre. Room was on the small side but fine for a short stay. Bathroom was modern. Room and bathroom were both clean, comfortable bed. Wifi was good. Breakfast was fine, with just enough choice.
"3 Nights in Strasbough"
Usual friendly welcome in this nice hotel close to main railway station and max 15 mins walk from downtown. great contineantal breakfast. Small rooms, but clean and warm even in this cold winter. this time I tried also the fitness center: small as well, but equipped with a sauna and all the other tools needed to keep you in good shape
"Nice Hotel only 10-15 mins walk to the centre"
Overall a nice hotel, decent size pleasantly decorated room with a comfortable bed and good en-suite facilities.. All the staff are very pleasant and helpful. Very good breakfast buffet ,just a little on the expensive side. Secure parking available at a reasonable rate and only 5 mins walk from hotel. Bar prices are higher than expected so drink in the local bars and restaurants.
"One of the best in Strasbourg"
I've stayed in numerous hotels across Strasbourg and must say that Hotel Villa d'Est is one of the best. On arrival the receptionist was happy to speak English, something some staff in some French hotels do with some reluctance! I must say I found the reception staff immensely helpful throughout my stay. The room was pleasant, but quite quaint or even feminine in its decor. None-the-less, it was a relaxing room in which to stay for two nights. In fact, my only criticism is that the shower head is not mounted high up in the bath and so it's not possible to shower standing up. This reflected the old-fashioned style of the room, but it was frustrating. The breakfast is excellent with a wide range of food, hot and cold, which will suit most palates. Recommended and I would return.
"Nice hotel a bit far from the center "
We stayed in this hotel during December the room were nice not too big not too small. The breakfast was delicious we did enjoyed it. The hotel is a bit far from the center we had to walk every day for about 10 to 15 min in order to get there. The walk is good but if it raining or windy it isn't soo pleasant