Room 1
Room 2
Room 3
Promotion code

Hotel Gamla Stan, BW Signature Collection, Stockholm

Skeppsbron 22, 11130, Stockholm, Sweden - See on a map
Hotel Gamla Stan, BW Signature Collection - Hotel Gamla Stan, Best Western Signature Collection - Exterior The Hotel Gamla Stan, BW Signature Collection is ideally located in the center of Stockholm. Come and experience our hotel near the major tourist attractions. Best price guaranteed and exclusive deals.

Hotel Gamla Stan, BW Signature Collection is a charming hotel with 81 rooms housed in three properties between Skottgrand and Stora Hopare Grand. The oldest part of the hotel dates to the 1600s. Our rooms are different shapes and sizes, the house bodies have different character and make their mark on the rooms. All rooms are decorated in beautiful, warm colors for a cozy and timeless feeling. The hotel is located on Skeppsbron with fantastic views of Saltsjon, Skeppsholmen, Djurgarden and Stadsgarden. Here among the Old Town's narrow alleys, historic buildings, and cobbled streets, you get a unique and wonderful experience with cafes, restaurants, and cozy small shops around the corner. The Royal Palace is only 250 meters from the hotel and is one of Stockholm's most visited attractions. The hotel offers a variety of different room types, king, queen, double or twin-size bedrooms as well as deluxe and premium rooms with a fantastic view over the water and the island of Skeppsholmen.

BW Signature Collection

Hotel Gamla Stan




Hotel advantages

  • Restaurant
  • Complimentary full american breakfast
    Complimentary full american breakfast
  • Lounges/bars
  • 24-hour front desk
    24-hour front desk
  • Multilingual staff
    Multilingual staff
Show More Show Less

Guest reviews

In partnership with tripadvisor fr
based on 53 guest reviews
Very Good
Business Business
Couples Couples
Family Family
Friends getaway Friends getaway
Solo travel Solo travel
Sleep Quality

"long time stay"

AndyGemini, Vaduz, Liechtenstein 01/04/2021

Due to moving in covid times getting a personnummera, which is kinda essential to swedish life I stayed in the hotel ... at first just a few days initially. But I liked it and upon hearing that one can rent rooms for long term stay (a full month), I stayed for 2+ months. The rooms are nice, good size bathrooms are clean and with a good shower (which for me as someone tall is important), the beds are comfortable. Breakfast buffet has all the essentials (cereals, breads, coffee, juices, scrambled eggs, bacon, meatballs, swedish pancakes). Location, the location is pretty hard to beat since you can enjoy the old town and at the same time get around very easily be it walking, bus, uber, tunnelbanna ... or even with the ferry. Last but not least the stuff. Being a foreigner and staying long term being able to turn to hotel staff is pretty necessary and appreciated. In short the hotel will be my recommendation to friends and family, when they want to come and visit me.

"Remerciements for Myriam, Line and Magdalene"

Glendalyn, Spartanburg, South Carolina 19/03/2021

The location of the hotel is perfect, facing the sea, and within Gamla Stan. The team at the reception has been incredibly kind and helpful, despite a late arrival and during our stay. And the breakfast was diverse, huge and delicious. I will definitely come back, very soon. My daughters loved it. Yann

Gamla Stan, Gästservice/reception at Hotel Gamla Stan, BW Signature Collection/Hotel Gamla Stan, responded to this review
Hello and thank you for taking the time to give us that lovely feedback! We look forward to seeing you again! Warm Regards Myriam


robincE4351LT, Stockholm, Sweden 18/03/2021

Really enjoyed my stay at Gamla Stan Hotel. Friendly staff & beautiful rooms although it's a but of a maze to get to your room, haha. Beautiful view of the sea from my window! Ask for upgrade in reception!!

Gamla Stan, Gästservice/reception at Hotel Gamla Stan, BW Signature Collection/Hotel Gamla Stan, responded to this review
Hello and thank you for that nice feedback! We are happy youenjoyed your stay here with us! Warm Regards Frida

"Best Hospitality by Management/Hotel"

219twinklea, Sutton, United Kingdom 04/10/2020

Hi, i visited Sweden for my work purpose, i visited this hotel and stayed here for over 2 months. It was one of the best places i have stayed. The staff were so accommodating. As this was during the time of Covid-19, they didnt have breakfast buffet, but they made sure everyone was given breakfast bags so, they could have breakfast. Cleaning was on par - and they made sure all the supplies in the room were fully stocked up. If i needed more towels, i could just ring or go down to reception and they were happy to give me more. Hotel manageress Magdalena was really kind, she made sure I, was safe at all times, asked me if i needed anything. other staff, Aaron, Myriam, Line, Cem, Gjane, Elise and all the cleaners were fantastic. i believe this hotel deserves 5 star. I have been reading reviews from people giving it negative comments, to be honest you guys need to re-think on what is most important. Not having towels, because you did not ask is not hotels problem its your problem for not asking. Not having buffet during Covid is for your safety not for the convenience of hotel. These guys are doing their best to accommodate us and make my stay pleasant. i am very grateful.

Gamla Stan, Gästservice/reception at Hotel Gamla Stan, BW Signature Collection/Hotel Gamla Stan, responded to this review
Best 219twinklea, Thank you a million times for your kind words and lovely feedback. It warms all our hearts here at Hotel Gamla Stan to read your words. We do our best to always listen to our guests and make sure they have everything they need and that they have a great stay so it is really wonderful that you felt well received by the staff. You are always welcome back to us! Best regards, Magdalena, Aaron, Myriam, Line, Cem, Gajane, Elise, Front Desk

"I don't recommend this hotel !!! I would never stay here again!!!"

Gianina T, Munich, Germany 05/05/2020

I had a reservation at Gamla-Stan Hotel for visiting purposes, which I booked and paid since months ago, before all the Coronavirus craziness started (without free cancellation as I always do, cause I never had to cancel a trip before) My flight to Stockholm got cancelled due to the current situation and I wrote the hotel, that I cannot honor my reservation anymore, and to get at least a voucher in order to be able to stay there some other time, once the travelling would be possible again. They showed no understanding whatsoever, and they said because Germany is not on the force majeure list on Booking, they won't give any refunds or voucher. I find it very unreasonable, considering that I had no way of reaching Stockholm and not because of my own choice …and on the official websites from Sweden was even mentioned that travelling to Sweden shouldn't take place if no serious reason for it. I don't think sightseeing qualifies for that… I think this is absurd, they are just taking advantage of the current situation to make profit!!! I would have been perfectly fine with just a voucher to be used some time in the future, but like this…they just took the payment …without giving any service for it…and of course now no review is possible on Booking !!! This says a lot about the management mentality and even if I didn't actually spend a night in this hotel, now I would definitely not plan to do that ever !!! And I actually wouldn't recommend it to anyone else, I think this kind of behavior shouldn't be encouraged at all !!!

Gamla S, Receptionist at Hotel Gamla Stan, BW Signature Collection/Hotel Gamla Stan, responded to this review
Hello Gianina and thank you for your feedback, We have received direct orders from to follow their Force Majeure list. On that list it says that travellers from EU and EFTA countries can unfortunately not cancel, not receive any refund and can not change/reschedule. At the moment there are no travel restrictions to travel to Sweden, because our government have not closed the borders. Therefore, we can not cancel the reservation because it does not apply to Force Majeure. When booking a non refundable reservation, overall (unfortunately, whether there is a horrific pandemic or not), it's the same rules that applies, you can not cancel, change or receive a refund because it's already pre paid for and you accepted the rules that applied when you made the reservation. I am sincerely sorry about the whole situation and I really wish we could have helped you more. Feel free to contact us directly, I wish you all the best and I hope you stay safe during these difficult times! Best regards, Line, Front Desk

These reviews are the subjective opinions of individual travelers and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.