ROOM 1
ROOM 2
ROOM 3
Promotion code

Best Western Plus Grand Hotel Elektra, Ludvika

4.0/5  - basé sur 108 notations.
Eriksgatan 6, 771 31, Ludvika, Sweden - See map

The Best Western Plus® Grand Hotel Elektra is located in Ludvika, close to many attractions. We are only 500 meters from the Dan Anderson Museum, 1 kilometer from Hammarbacken, and only 80 kilometers from Tomteland, home of St. Claus. Within walking distance are many forms of transportation for you to get around town such as Ludvika train station, bus terminal and taxi station. We feature complimentary full breakfast, a restaurant, bar/lounge, hot tub, steam room and massage services. Our guest rooms have cable television, in-room movies, dataport and a desk/work area. Enjoy your stay.

Best Western Plus

Grand Hotel Elektra

LABEL_ITINERAIRE

LABEL_DEPART:

LABEL_ARRIVEE:

Hotel advantages

  • Restaurant
    Restaurant
  • Cocktail lounge
    Cocktail lounge
  • Massage services
    Massage services
Show More Show Less

Guest reviews

In partnership with tripadvisor fr
Certificate of Excellence 2018
based on 108 guest reviews
NOTE ISSUED
Excellent
34
Very Good
56
Average
16
Poor
1
Terrible
1
REFER TO NOTICE
Business Business
64
Couples Couples
14
Family Family
15
Friends getaway Friends getaway
5
Solo travel Solo travel
6
SUMMARY NOTES
Cleanliness
Location
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Value

"chief"

4
28/04/2018

the location of th hotel Best Western Plus Grand Hotel Elektra is very good and is close to the city center of ludvica the service team iss very good specially the chief of restaurant is very kind and helpful guy

Anna-KarinGHE, Kundansvarig at Best Western Plus Grand Hotel Elektra, responded to this review
Thank you very much for your valuable feedback. We really appreciate it! We are also happy to hear that you are pleased with the staff and especially the chief in the restaurant. Welcome back to us!

"ok for a business trip"

3
19/07/2017

While I agree that the Grand Hotel Elektra might be the best hotel in Ludvika, it has to be stated that is just because of lack of competition. They know that and they fix their rates way higher than they should be according to the quality of the rooms & structures, most of them don't look so fresh and are too dark. This lack of personality is quite surprising being Sweden the homeland of nordic design. As said structures of the hotels are not impressive, the gym is terrible. On the upside the staff of the hotel is nice and welcoming and they have a good restaurant on ground floor.

Anna-KarinGHE, Kundansvarig at Best Western Plus Grand Hotel Elektra, responded to this review
Thanks for your opinion regarding Grand Hotel Elektra. Our rooms are slightly different regarding the set of color and furniture. If you visit Ludvika again we will be delighted to give you a guided tour of the hotel. We also have a cooperation with a new and modern gym "Må Bättre" in the same building. Hope to welcome you back again! Wish you a great summer!

"Short visit to Ludvika"

5
17/04/2017

This was not the first time I and my wife stayed at Grand Elektra in Ludvika. We have always had the best of experiences during our stays. Personnel is friendly, room well equipped and service are excellent. Grand Elektra has always been recommended by me. It was again fully up to the expectation.

Anna-KarinGHE, Kundansvarig at Best Western Plus Grand Hotel Elektra, responded to this review
Thank you! We are delighted to hear that you are happy staying with us. Welcome back!

"Best in town. Comfortable and friendly"

4
07/04/2017

Situated in the middle of the town. Big and comfortable rooms. Quiet. The hotel has bicycles to borrow for free and we had a nice ride after work along the lake shore. The breakfast was varied and plentiful with some Dalecarlian specialities. The fireside glows in the lobby and the staff is very helpful and friendly. The restaurant is one of the best places to eat in Ludvika. We enjoyed cooking reindeer meat on a hot stone.

Anna-KarinGHE, Kundansvarig at Best Western Plus Grand Hotel Elektra, responded to this review
Many thanks for your opinions and for staying at Grand Hotel Elektra. We are happy to hear that you have enjoyed your time with us. Wish you a nice summer!

"Best Hotel in Ludvika"

4
15/10/2016

Best hotel for miles around. I would have used the Gym connected to the hotel if I had known in advance that it was there but for some reason the website doesn't appear to mention it. Be careful if you arrive on Sunday, the restaurant in the hotel is not open. Great staff, great centre of town location with free parking nearby included. Don't take the risk of staying anywhere else in Ludvika.

"Good stay, comfy bed"

4
04/10/2016

I stayed for 2 nights when in town on business. The location is very good, you can walk to many restaurants in Ludvika & ABB if you want and the weather allows. The rooms are decent, they could use some updating but the bed was very comfy which is a big compliment after other hotels in Europe. They have central AC/heating so no controls in the room, my room got very hot so I had to open the window. There is a fan in the closet too. They have an iron. They have a REAL hairdryer. The bathroom is large but they have the pump soap and pump shampoo which I hate (good thing I packed my own). There are lots of electrical outlets for charging. Wifi was also very good. The breakfast is good, lots of options. Dinner in the hotel restaurant was very, very good. The bar is nice, as well. Service was great, everyone is very friendly and spoke good English.

"Standard Hotel"

3
05/09/2016

Standard hotel room with good bed, clean and confortabel. This is all you need for a one night stay. The restaurante downstairs is the best this city has to offer with it`s good black rock meals. Nothing special but overall okay.

"A lot of SEK"

3
31/08/2016

It's pricey for the standard of hotel, but with ABB near by the demand for accommodation outstrips the amount of hotels in the area. The rooms are standard Scandinavian style with Tea/Coffee making facilities and TV. The breakfast is good and bar great. The gym is woeful but thankfully there is a large Gym underneath the hotel you can use at reduced rates.

"Very central"

4
07/08/2016

Quite easy to find in small Ludvika. Nice and friendly staff. Room clean and with everything you need. Nice breakfast. Car park just a few meters away. We stayed just one night but we recommend this hotel.

Mia R, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Plus Grand Hotel Elektra, responded to this review
Thank you for your feedback. Happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay:-) We hope you will visit us again. Have a nice day. Sincerely, Mia Reception BEST WESTERN Plus Grand Hotel Elektra

"Simple but good"

3
29/06/2016

Over the past 25 years I have stayed at this hotel from time to time and it hasn't changed much I must say, other than moving the restaurant location around a few times. It has all the amenities one may need for a short business stay. Rooms are simple but reasonably comfortable. Service is effective and always friendly. But I believe it is getting to the time for a complete renovation after all these years since it is showing small signs of decay.

SofieHolmlund, Chef at Best Western Plus Grand Hotel Elektra, responded to this review
Dear Sir, Thank you for your respond, I do not know what room you stayed in but reading your post about our hotel I guess it was a economy room. I just want to inform that we have totally renovated 90 rooms the past 4 years and our last economy rooms will be renovated this summer. You are welcome to stay in our new superior room your next visit. Thank you for your kind words about our service, I hope you have a lovley summer and we are looking forward to welcome you at our hotel again. Best Regards Sofie

"Average hotel, but the best choice in that area"

3
27/06/2016

This hotel is rather average. You have to be lucky to get one of the most recent renovated rooms. Otherwise they are small and not so fresh. It's cold inside in winter. Restaurant is very good – there's good breakfast with many healthy options and nice dinner buffet or menu with good steaks.

SofieHolmlund, Chef at Best Western Plus Grand Hotel Elektra, responded to this review
Dear Michal! Thank you for your respond and nice words about our restaurant. Next time book a superior room to get our best rooms, we have over 80 of these. Our last economy rooms will be renovated this summer so all of them will be nice and fresh! During the winter if you come back again, please ask for a electrical element that will keep you extra warm. Of course, free of charge. I hope we can welcome you back as a guest in our hotel again, Best Wishes Sofie

"Simple but fine"

4
01/06/2016

The hotel is simple but comfortabe. Most of the rooms are renovated, functional but still very comfortable. The restautant is good for breakfast and for can use for dinner but the menu could be longer... Parking is there but limited in 20-30m distance from hotel entry. You can park on the street as well but you have to take care which side of the city due local regulations. The hotel is located in the city center directly at the beginning of the walking street. Restaurants are also close by. Nice hotel in a small city mostly used for business...

Mia R, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Plus Grand Hotel Elektra, responded to this review
Dear Victor C, Thank you for your feedback. We enjoyed having you here and we hope you will come back and visit us again. Have a nice day Sincerely, Mia Reception BEST WESTERN Plus Grand Hotel Elektra

"Uptime in downtown Ludvika"

4
01/05/2016

Good hotel in the heart of Ludvika, next to Storgaran and on walking distance from Station and ABB. This is a great place to stay, buffet dinner included and great breakfast. Worth to stay also for the lively grand cafe in the lobby. Internet is free and fast. Parking garage is free for guests.

Mia R, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Plus Grand Hotel Elektra, responded to this review
Dear Ariem L, Thank you for your feedback. Happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We hope you will come back and see us again soon. Sincerely, Mia Reception BEST WESTERN Plus Grand Hotel Elektra

"Good Hotel "

5
12/04/2016

It's a good hotel in Ludvika, nice breakfast. You can read poems of Dan Anderson in your room. Courteous staffs and good food at the restaurant. Subway, McDonald's and Pizza outlets are at a walking distance.

Mia R, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Plus Grand Hotel Elektra, responded to this review
Dear Mr Shareef, Thank you for this excellent feedback:-) We hope you will come back and see us again soon. Thank you again for taking the time. Have a nice day. Sincerely, Mia Reception BEST WESTERN Grand Hotel Elektra

"Quaint, old school, comfort"

4
14/03/2016

At the outset, it would feel like any roadside motel but the number and size of the rooms will take some getting used to. Being a big fat Asian does not help me in these situations. Not all rooms have heaters, single beds joined to make a double bed and I in the middle of the night actually fell in between an ever increasing gap. The food is awesome and the bar quite well stocked. Make the best of the circumstances as we do not really have much of a choice.

Mia R, Kundansvarig at Best Western Plus Grand Hotel Elektra, responded to this review
Dera guest. Thank you for your feedback. Glad to hear that you liked our restaurant and our bar. We are sad to hear that you had some difficulties with the bed sizes. May I recommend that for your next stay you can book a room with a queen size bed that may be to your liking. We also have a few family-rooms that are bigger in size if you want the room size to be bigger. All the rooms have heaters however we can always provide extra heaters if you as our guest feels that the room feels cold. I hope that you will consider staying with us again. If I can provide any assistance with your next booking, please don't hesitate to contact me directly at +46 240 18220.

"Small Hotel, Good Service"

4
14/03/2016

So, this hotel is rather minimalist but very nice for Ludvika, Sweden. The breakfast is great and you can try a lot of things. They also have a buffet dinner which is good. I stayed here during a visit to a big supplier. The only oddity was that the lobby was dark and the lights off when I arrived on a Sunday evening. They were there....but just Sunday and one staff person to check me in. Everything was normal other than that. Spartan amenities but really it had everything I needed. I borrowed a bicycle which was handy. Room is clean. They finished the bar in the lobby and it is nice, open. I will always stay here for Ludvika visits. They left earplugs in my room, which I believe are for the odd birds outside in the morning or the snowplow noise.

Mia R, Kundansvarig at Best Western Plus Grand Hotel Elektra, responded to this review
Dear Steve, Thank you for your feedback. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Yes, the hotel is very quiet on Sundays as is the entire town. It may feel that way because much of the stores and restaurants are closed on Sundays (as is our restaurant). However it dose not have to be dark. I will forward this mention to our supervisor so that the lights are on when our guests arrive. I do hope you felt welcome even if it was a Sunday. Yes, the earplugs are for the odd birds outside and the snowplough noise:-) Have a nice day.

"Best place in town"

4
01/03/2016

This is a nice inviting hotel with clean rooms a bar in the lobby restaurant in the lobby and the best breakfast you'll find anywhere in town. It looks like rooms very quite a bit and be prepared to sleep on a twin bed but everything is clean and all amenities are available.

Mia R, Kundansvarig at Best Western Plus Grand Hotel Elektra, responded to this review
Dear Mike H, Thank you for your feedback. We value your feedback. Happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and we hope you will come back and see us again soon. If I can be of assistance in the future, please don't hesitate to contact me at +46 (0)24018220. Have a nice day. Sincerely, Mia Reception BEST WESTERN Grand Hotel Elektra

"ABB visit"

3
25/02/2016

Stayed for a few nights on a business trip, the hotel rooms have all the basics but he lobbybaren downstairs is brilliant. Breakfast is the usual Scandinavian affair but the smoothies in expresso cups is a great idea. There is also a small gym downstairs.

Mia R, Kundansvarig at BEST WESTERN Grand Hotel Elektra, responded to this review
Dear guest Thank you for your feedback. Happy to hear that you enjoyed our lobbybar and the smoothies in the breakfast. We hope you will visit us again in the near future. Have a nice day.

"A good alternative for Romme Alpin ski"

4
06/01/2016

We booked this hotel for a short ski trip to Romme. We could not find any place in Romme Lodge and thought to try this place. We are very happy for the choice. The hotel is in the city center. When we arrived, everything was actually closed. It was still fun to stay in the city center. We saw a nice swimming pool at walking distance. Could try next time. Parking is indoor and for free. The hotel is a bit difficult to find the first time as the sign is a bit small. But once you know it, it is not a problem. The room is a bit small, we are 2 adults and one kid ( without extra bed). The sleeping is good, no noise. The personal and the breakfast is great. The breakfast feels better than the other Best Western hotels we stayed. Finally, the trip to Romme is quiet easy, it is a half hour car trip. A good alternative if you can not get a ski-in ski out anyway.

Mia R, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Grand Hotel Elektra, responded to this review
Dear Jenny Thank you for this great feedback. We hope you will come back and see us again soon. If I can be of assistance in the future, please don't hesitate to contact me at +46 240 18220. Thank you again for taking the time to complete the survey. Sincerely, Mia Reception BEST WESTERN Grand Hotel Elektra

"Nice hotel for business trip"

4
20/10/2015

Ludvika hosts one of the biggest ABB labs and so the only two hotels of the town are almost ever full of people that work for/together to ABB. I've been here for a 3 days meeting and I enjoyed my staying. Rooms are big enough and clean, wi-fi signal is perfect in all rooms, I had a dinner one evening and everything was ok. Breakfast includes both salty and sweet flavours, maybe the sweet part can be improved. The gym is small but you can find everything you need,and all equipments are up to date. I would suggest to add to room's toolset the guest slippers (I expect to find them in a four stars hotel in Europe) and a more decent shower gel.

"Expensive and old-fashioned"

2
04/09/2015

The hotel, in the homepage, gives another picture of the hotel standard then the real standard. It's old-fashioned even if the room has an acceptable standard. When I visited the hotel they wrote that the hotel had one of the most visited restaurants in Ludvika. When I came to the hotel it was closed! Ludvika is a small town and one of few hotels there. For that reason the hotels are very expensive compared what you get for the money. My recommendation is to look for a hotel in Borlänge and than take the fast train between the two towns if you have to visit Ludvika.

Mia R, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Grand Hotel Elektra, responded to this review
Dear guest. Thank you for your honest feedback. Your input is very valuable to our research. I understand your frustration regarding the restaurant that you must have visited on a Sunday as it is the only day it is closed, and I sincerely apologize for any inconvenience we have caused you. I hope to have the pleasure of serving you again in the future. Thank you for taking the time to tell us why our service failed to meet your expectations. .. Mia Ribbert Best Western Grand Hotel Elektra

"Average but decent hotel"

4
06/08/2015

There's not much choice in Ludvika. This is not a very superb hotel, but generally decent. Staff is very polite, rooms are quite new and clean. There's also gym with new equipment and steam sauna. Breakfast selection is ok - everything is fresh and good quality.

Mia R, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Grand Hotel Elektra, responded to this review
Thank you for your feedback and for taking the time to complete the survey. We wish your a nice day. Sincerely, Mia Reception BEST WESTERN Grand Hotel Elektra

"Great reception bar"

4
24/06/2015

For a commuter this is a good hotel with nice rooms and a good restaurant in the middle of the city. Free wifi with ok coverage and speed is a plus. Great breakfast but somewhat expensive dinner. Really nice and helpful staff.

Mia R, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Grand Hotel Elektra, responded to this review
Dear Mr Jon S, We thank you for your kind words. We value your feedback. We hope you will come back and see us again soon. If I can be of assistance in the future, please don't hesitate to contact me at +46 240 18220. Have a great day.

"Clocks challenge"

4
23/04/2015

There are 4 clocks at the reception area of this hotel which should display the current time in Ludvika, London, New York and Beijing. The last 2 clocks always display the wrong time, what is very annoying. I have alerted the reception about that at least twice but they never got it right. My next suggestion is to change the name of the cities from New York to Chicago and from Beijing to Bangkok, just to get it once right. Now being serious. This is the best from the 2 hotels in Ludvika. It is located close to everything, right on the corner of the main pedestrian street. The rooms are comfortable and spacious for European standards. The restaurant is very good and the service personnel is friendly. This is a place frequented by the locals for gatherings and celebrations. There is a parking lot close by which is free of charge.

Mia R, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Grand Hotel Elektra, responded to this review
Dear Mr Creek Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry about the Clocks. They are now changed to the correct time (we hope:-) I wish you a nice day and hope to see you back soon. Best regards/ Mia

"Conveniently located"

4
20/02/2015

Conveniently located hotel, in the center of Ludvika only a short walk to train station or lake, or shopping. Room and bathroom is a decent size. Breakfast room can be crowded but has nice food and selection.

Mia R, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Grand Hotel Elektra, responded to this review
Hej Rapperswil, Schweiz Tack för din feedback. Vi uppskattar dina åsikter.