ROOM 1
ROOM 2
ROOM 3
Promotion code

Baranof Downtown, BW Signature Collection Hotel, Juneau

127 N Franklin Street, 99801-1222, Juneau, United States - See on a map
Baranof Downtown, BW Signature Collection - Baranof Hotel, BW Signature Collection The Baranof Downtown, BW Signature Collection is ideally located in the center of Juneau. Come and experience our hotel near the major tourist attractions. Best price guaranteed and exclusive deals.

Centrally located in downtown Juneau, the historic Baranof Hotel, BW Signature Collection was built in 1939 and stands out among all hotels in Alaska’s state capital. Just steps from Juneau’s waterfront, cruise ship docks, boutique shopping, the State Capitol building and government offices, the Baranof Hotel, BW Signature Collection offers premier accommodations for the business or leisure traveler. The elegant, art-deco public areas welcome guests with original artwork by acclaimed Alaska artists Eustace Ziegler and Sydney Laurence. Complimentary wireless internet throughout the hotel makes it easy to stay connected and our lobby area is the perfect place to meet up with a friend or catch up on reading. The hotel also operates two distinct dining options guaranteed to satisfy any traveler’s palate and is home to Heritage Coffee Roasting Company café. The Baranof Hotel, BW Signature Collection also offers more than 5,000 square feet of meeting room space, full service catering and 215 rooms, making it the ideal venue for meetings, conferences and small or large functions.

BW Signature Collection

Baranof Downtown, Hotel

LABEL_ITINERAIRE

LABEL_DEPART:

LABEL_ARRIVEE:

Hotel advantages

  • Restaurant
    Restaurant
  • Free parking
    Free parking
  • Outdoor parking
    Outdoor parking
  • 24-hour front desk
    24-hour front desk
  • Multilingual staff
    Multilingual staff
  • Onsite laundry
    Onsite laundry
Show More Show Less

instagram Partagez vos expériences sur les réseaux sociaux #bestwesternfrance #bestwesternrewards #bestwestern

Guest reviews

In partnership with tripadvisor fr
based on 604 guest reviews
NOTE ISSUED
Excellent
140
Very Good
176
Average
168
Poor
78
Terrible
42
REFER TO NOTICE
Business Business
200
Couples Couples
171
Family Family
86
Friends getaway Friends getaway
53
Solo travel Solo travel
43
SUMMARY NOTES
Cleanliness
Location
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Value

"Best Hotel in Juneau!!"

5
User 13/02/2020

My husband and I stayed here for the first time and as a former local, I was so impressed with the quality of our stay! Everything from the beds to the bathrooms to the customer service was on point!!

"Winter ski trip"

5
User 06/02/2020

My friends and i came to Juneau to go to eagle crest and ski and snowboard. We were so happy to see that the view from our window was the mountains we'd be on tomorrow. We were there when it was very very cold outside but the room and lobby were so cozy, which was super nice after being outside all day. We will definitely be back soon!

"Great food and Vibe!"

5
User 06/02/2020

The restaurant opened at 6:30am for breakfast which was amazing, since a lot of other places ive been to made me wait until 8am. i'm an early riser and like a good meal before i start working so this was big to me. And, the food was actually delicious (unlike most hotel food). Also, the wait staff looked like they actually enjoyed their jobs. :)

"Fantastic location"

5
surferdduuddee123, Juneau, Alaska 04/02/2020

Fantastic location.walking distance to Cafe, Shops, Eateries, Convention Center. Room is clean, bathroom is clean(very important) Staff is friendly and always there to help and answer questions. Love me 1st experience her in Juneau AK.

"Great Location"

5
Rhonda D, Juneau, Alaska 24/12/2019

Comfortable old class feel, my room is comfy, bed super comfortable and clean. Views of downtown, located near everything i need, gift stores, restaurants, night life! Thanks Baranof for a very nice stay!

"Decent hotel close to shopping and restaurants."

4
Rachael H, Auburn, Alabama 13/12/2019

The staff is friendly, knowledgeable and professional. The hotel is clean and nice. This is not a luxury hotel, but the beds are comfy and you have everything you need. The only reason I gave it 4 stars rather than 5 is because the renovations taking place are pretty noisy. The workers do not start until after 8 am, but I'm on vacation and would have liked to sleep in a little later.

"Great improvement!"

5
User 02/12/2019

I am glad the hotel got a new management team! You can definitely feel and see it. The stuff is attentive and friendly, the restaurant's menu got some very attractive items, the lobby it updated. I am excited to see what's coming up next! Oh, and i forgot to mention the location! Right downtown, you can't beat that.

"Great ambiance!"

5
User 29/11/2019

This hotel was overall very welcoming with a warm ambiance. It made staying near the Juneau downtown area that much cozyer! I would definitely recommend it to friends and family. Hoping to visit again sometime soon!

"Excellent Service"

5
User 28/11/2019

I stayed here with my husband for a couple of days & I must say everyone was so kind & professional, Excellent location & amazing food. The hotel was very clean, comfortable & up-to-date. I highly recommend this hotel.

"Great Service"

5
User 27/11/2019

Can't say anything bad about this hotel, super friendly staff an a good bar! If you go to the restaurant ask for Holly she was very friendly an had great service. Had a wonderful experience an highly recommend the Baranof.

"Comfortable Hotel"

5
lbjt, Fox Island 17/11/2019

We had been on our sailboat for 2 months and wanted a change of scenery! Comfortable bed, hot showers! A little noisy due to the street noise but great staff! Great gin bar straight across the street!

"Great service"

5
User 15/10/2019

Romo, in the Gold room simply gives the best service in town. Make sure to stop for breakfast and get some good recommendations on hiking. He also makes a mean oatmeal and checks to make sure it's the right consistency- talk about service! Thank you Romo!

"Fine. Needs serious update"

3
WiscPedalGal, Madison, Wisconsin 25/09/2019

Despite all the negative reviews, this hotel is fine. Nothing special, and in need of a serious update, but nothing horrible either. The rooms are VERY small. I stayed here at the end of a tour, and had a roommate assigned to me. We had trouble maneuvering around each other with two suitcases, but it was only for one night. The place is clean and convenient to everything downtown. What it needs is some fresh paint in lighter colors. They must have been going for a look like the surrounding forest, because it's all wood, dark green, darker neutral colors, etc. Lightening things up would really help, but that doesn't really impact my ability to sleep or eat or shower. It just makes it look dark and sad. Same goes for the rooms. They need some fresh paint to make them LOOK cleaner. And maybe some new towels. The ownership has recently changed. It is now part of the Best Western family. No idea if they are going to do any rehab. I'm guessing they get most of their business from cruise lines before and/or after the actual cruise. So they probably don't have much incentive to pour money into the hotel, since people get their rooms as part of a package. the front desk staff were OK, but not all that helpful when I asked a few questions. Not rude, but also not apparently eager to help, as is normal at most downtown/business hotels.

Relax50655913997, Manager at Baranof Downtown, BW Signature Collection, responded to this review
Thank you for taking the time to let us know how we're doing. We really appreciate the feedback so we can make adjustments to give the best experience possible. We completely agree with you about the condition of the hotel, and that is why we have been working to update and refresh our rooms and bathrooms. We know we can't adjust the size of the rooms, but we are working to make them feel more open and calming for our guests. Currently our lobby is very dark and sad due to a roofing project that leaked and fried some of our electrical and lighting, we will have all that repaired or replaced as soon as the roof is complete. We have also just started a new customer service program that will help our employees anticipate our guests needs and respond better to issues that arise. I want to thank you again for taking the time to share your experience with us and I hope that you stay with us again if you find yourself in Juneau so you have the chance to experience our hotel at it's best! -Justin Rose Assistant General Manager

"Bad room, bad service"

2
Malice6, Bainbridge Island, Washington 23/09/2019

Well our cruise line made this "free hotel night" part of our package for the second time. In the 10 years since we stayed here before the hotel has gone downhill. Don't expect to be greeted or helped with luggage when you arrive. Stand in line to check in by a barely polite staff. Carry your own bags to your room. We had a room facing the afternoon sun and we arrived on a warm sunny day so the room was hot. Would you believe they have no air condition anywhere in hotel? They provide a small electric fan and the windows open. Both inadequate. With windows open you get street noise and street facing rooms are across the street from a popular bar where people gather outside all night long. Every conversation outside can be heard in the room. The only consolation was that the food served in the bar was fairly good bar food. The other public areas are dingy and gloomy. Switching hotels was not an option because of the several large mega cruise ships in town. Best Western should be ashamed to put their brand on this old loser.

Relax50655913997, Guest Relations Manager at Baranof Downtown, BW Signature Collection, responded to this review
Hi Malice6, Thank you so much for taking the time to review your recent stay here at the Baranof Hotel. It sounds like you didn't get the best experience from our hotel aside from the bar food. It's unfortunate that we didn't have a bellman on during your arrival to carry your bags to your room for you, we apologize for that, but for any future visits, we do have a couple bellman carts that make the trip with multiple bags to your room much easier. With it being Alaska it's fairly rare to need air conditioning, but we have had a very nice summer and the hotel can get warm on those sunny days, our front desk has additional fans to give out when the standard fan and opening the widows does not do the trick. There are parts of the hotel that have appeared to be dingy while we are in the process of a full hotel renovation, it tends to be the case that it can look like things are getting worse as we work to improve the hotel due to the construction and complications that arise during that process, but in the end we will have a much better product. I know we have a great staff and we strive to give excellent customer service, but at times we fall short, I hope that if you find yourself at the Baranof in another 10 years you will be rewarded with a excellent experience all around. - Justin Rose Assistant General Manager

"Nice hotel, shame about the reception staff"

3
Trencherman101, Folkestone, United Kingdom 18/09/2019

On arrival we were informed by reception that they had no record of our reservation. Even when I showed the reception staff my Booking.com confirmation letter there response was, "You'll have to phone Booking.com". I asked if they could do it and was told I'd have to do it as they didn't have a pin code despite it being on the confirmation letter. The two girls on reception were very surly and showed a complete lack of empathy towards customers who had spent a long day traveling and were potentially faced without a room for the night. I rang Booking.com who were exceptionally helpful and quickly resolved the matter. When I went back to reception there was no apology and I was made to feel that it was all my fault. For a Best Western Signature Collection hotel the reception staff need better training in customer relations. On the positive side our room was comfortable and being on the ninth floor offered excellent views over Juneau. The hotel is also very central for sightseeing. Because of our experience at reception we declined to use any of the hotels facilities so unable to comment on restaurants etc.

Relax50655913997, Manager at Baranof Downtown, BW Signature Collection, responded to this review
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us at the Baranof. I want to apologize for the level of customer service that you received here at the Baranof. We have just started to new customer service program that will help to teach and train our employees how to give excellent customer service and how to anticipate and take care of our guests. We don't want any guest to leave feeling like their basic needs or issues were a inconvenience for hotel staff, we are in the travel tourism industry and it's our duty to make sure that our guests have all the help and information they need to have a excellent time while in Alaska's Capital city. Thank you for your review and we hope you stay with us to see us at our best in the future! -Justin Rose Assistant General Manager

"Keli's Concierge "

5
Raleigh C, Sacramento, California 10/09/2019

We found Keli's Concierge through an article about Juneau on the Thrillist. We were staying in the Mendenhall area and contacted Keli through email to book a whale watching tour and a Halibut Fishing trip. After doing some research for these excursions on my own I didn't really find anything great or for the price I wanted. I sent Keli and email with the time price and amount of people in my party and Keli set everything up with great tour companies! We seriously enjoyed every tour that she booked for us and would recommend her for anybody looking to book a tour while staying in Juneau. Keli took the time to give us detailed instructions as to where to go and what time to leave our Airbnb and she checked up with us to make sure everything was going well.

Relax50655913997, Manager at Baranof Downtown, BW Signature Collection, responded to this review
Keli's Concierge is great, they have so many good options, the Taku Lodge is amazing and Chris and Keli are so helpful to get you out where you want to be on your trip to Juneau! -Justin Rose AGM

"Nice Hotel Downtown"

5
User 03/09/2019

Staff is great, and has a great downtown location convenient for visiting all the local attractions . The staff was also very helpful and friendly. Good breakfast in the lobby restaurant. Would highly recommend

Relax50655913997, Manager at Baranof Downtown, BW Signature Collection, responded to this review
Thank you so much for your review on your recent stay. It's nice to see when we are hitting the mark. -Justin Rose AGM

"Cleanliness issues- Bed bugs"

1
SassyParalegal, New York City, New York 26/08/2019

While the hotel itself has wonderful staff, the cleanliness of this place is atrocious. I am covered in welts due to bed bugs. It is disgusting and uncomfortable and most importantly, should not have happened. I noticed that the sheets were never changed. The same stained remained all 3 nights I was here, so I'm wondering what else isn't being cleaned here. I'd be very cautious. I will be following up with the manager to discuss this. Unacceptable.

"Disappointing hotel stay in Juneau"

2
annaclarke01, Melbourne, Australia 26/08/2019

Stayed 2 nights at this hotel and was very disappointed with the quality of the hotel. It badly needs either a refurbishment or at a minimum, a good and thorough clean. Rooms were tired, carpet dirty, walls were marked and so thin we were woken by the sounds of the toilet flushing in the next room, not to mention being able to hear full conversations coming from the next room. The bathroom had mould over the shower and a cracked basin. Unfortunately the service was not of a high standard either with the exception of the staff in the restaurant. The front desk staff were disinterested and seemed as though they didn't want to be there. Restaurant staff were welcoming and helpful although would recommend a la Carte menu for breakfast rather than the buffet .

"Great location and fabulous "old time hotel" feeling"

5
sharonmY413GK, Illinois 26/08/2019

We stayed here 2 nights. The location is perfect. Close to everything but far enough away from the cruise ships so that you get a Juneau "feel". The concierge is awesome...very helpful pointing us in the right directions to go for the best touring and least expensive options. Our room was quiet, clean...just loved the "feel" of this old hotel.

"Many Stays here"

4
286natec, Ellensburg, Washington 18/08/2019

I am always happy to stay here. The beds are upgraded, top floor Channel side rooms have the best views. Right in the heart of downtown. Many things to explore nearby. Good parking provided by hotel. Bar within.

Quest38171314511, General Manager at Baranof Downtown, BW Signature Collection, responded to this review
Thank you for the great review, we appreciate it!

"Definitely In Need of a Refresh"

2
MSNview, Madison, Wisconsin 17/08/2019

The Baranof Hotel is indisputably in a great location in downtown Juneau and has a responsive, attentive staff. That's the good news. Here's the bad news......it is sorely in need of a refresh overhaul. The rooms, the bathrooms, and the lobby area are all serviceable......but that's it. And the “fitness room” is perfunctory at best(with some equipment which was out of use). Old, dated, tired......those are the words that come to mind to describe the hotel. The hotel has a great deal of potential but to realize it the owners need to invest to bring it up to today's standards.

Quest38171314511, General Manager at Baranof Downtown, BW Signature Collection, responded to this review
Thank you for the time you took to review our hotel. We have updates scheduled this fall, an older hotel such as ours always has something on the horizon after the busy season wraps up.

"Comfortable But Old"

4
elizabethmV6916FL, Phippsburg, Maine 17/08/2019

We stayed one night at the Baranof Downtown as part of our cruise package. It's hard for older hotels to compete with updated places that are easier to clean and generally bright and shiny but this place is trying hard to do just that. The location is perfect if you don't have wheels and want to see the sights. My husband and I were able to walk around Juneau, see the Capital, the waterfront and take in a meal all within a short walk from the hotel. We didn't have a parking problem because we didn't have a car...nice. Our room was “upgraded” when we arrived so we had one with a sitting room, bedroom, dining area and full kitchen. The room was on the front of the building and I expected noise from the street but by the time we went to bed, the street was quiet and sleeping wasn't a problem. The suite needed some instructions about using the tv's. There were two TV's and I couldn't get either one of them to work! I'm sure they did work but I just wasn't pressing the proper combination of buttons on the two remotes. That's okay, there probably wasn't anything I wanted to watch anyway. We had books. We had a nice king sized bed but it kind of sagged toward the middle. I didn't have any problems with the cleanliness. The baggage was picked up in the morning for transport to our ship, we ate breakfast in the little coffee shop attached to the hotel and we went off happy campers. We could have eaten at the hotel but we didn't want that big a breakfast and we thought it was a little pricy.

Quest38171314511, General Manager at Baranof Downtown, BW Signature Collection, responded to this review
Thank you for such a detailed review, it is so valuable to shopper! We appreciate your business!

"Not what I thought I was getting!"

1
User 15/08/2019

The hotel claims to have free parking, but all of the spots in the small lot are taken by vans and tour bus cars. No street parking overnight. Drove around and around, up and down crazy winding one way streets. Parked in a lot close by, but all cars have to be moved by 8 AM. Not what I want to do on my vacation! Rooms are super old and outdated. Tiny rooms with no amenities. Walls are paper thin, you can hear everything! And No AC…even though it's Alaska, it's about 80 degrees right now. FYI rooms look about 20 years older than they do in the photos. Beware! Would not stay here again. Do not recommend.

Quest38171314511, General Manager at Baranof Downtown, BW Signature Collection, responded to this review
Thank you for taking the time to respond, we do have a free parking lot, but as we are centrally located downtown, parking is first come first serve. Additionally, our economy rooms can be small and we price them accordingly, and hot weather up to this year has been very unusual and is a hot topic nationwide. Best wishes on your future travels.

"Cleaning Issues"

4
Fancynancy03, Prescott, Arizona 11/08/2019

Great hotel with a beautiful 2 bedroom unit. However, we did have issues with the cleaning service. Even though you would put the card on the bed for a sheet change, the bed was sometimes made without the sheet change. The bathroom became a hit or miss. The in-room coffee machine had an old coffee pod left in it from the previous guests. We stayed at the hotel for a week and they missed a cleaning entirely one day. Otherwise, the location was perfect, and considering the other hotels in Juneau, the Baranof is a great find. The elevator music is awful, but did make us laugh everytime we entered. The front desk staff was always friendly and helpful. A thumbs up to Brandon Woody and Lee Wilson for great customer service!

Quest38171314511, General Manager at Baranof Downtown, BW Signature Collection, responded to this review
Thank you for the great review and the time you took to recognize hard working staff! I apologies for the shortfalls you encountered and will be following up with housekeeping staff to make sure all rooms are inspected thoroughly.

"Welcoming and friendly"

4
User 09/08/2019

After a very long day of travel from Florida Brandon W. at the front desk was very friendly and welcoming. He even gave me a breakfast voucher for the next morning. Besides the great location the staff are friendly and helpful.

Quest38171314511, General Manager at Baranof Downtown, BW Signature Collection, responded to this review
Thank you for your very good rating and the time you took to recognize staff! I am happy that our property suited your travels!

"Showed up Tired. Left Refreshed."

5
Sean D, Brooklyn, New York 06/08/2019

There was a snag with our reservations being booked through a third-party and the manager took special care to turn a potentially bad situation into an excellent experience. I'm really appreciative of the effort in finding positive solutions and making our stay peaceful and rewarding. Thank you!

Quest38171314511, General Manager at Baranof Downtown, BW Signature Collection, responded to this review
Thank you so much for the very kind response, it is so important to our hotel!

"Good location less than average quality"

3
jeremy119, Spokane, Washington 06/08/2019

Great location. We were able to walk to everything downtown. Breakfast was also great. The staff was also generally nice. However, The walls in the hotel were paper thin. Pillows were subpar along with the rest of the hotel amenities.

Quest38171314511, General Manager at Baranof Downtown, BW Signature Collection, responded to this review
Thank you so much for the nice rating and the information about the hotel. Some of the lower floor rooms have much older structure in place since our hotel is celbrating our 80th this year, and we will double check on the pillows as we strive to provide quality linens and pillows for our guests.

"Excellent"

5
667shelleym, Oklahoma 05/08/2019

If you want a modern chain hotel, this isn't for you. This older hotel is clean and has friendly, helpful staff. The A/C is personal oscillating fans, but with the windows open, that's all we needed with temps in the 70's (heat wave in Juneau). We had a 1-king suite, which was a corner room, had 3 windows where we could get cross-breezes, and a view straight down Franklin Avenue, which is one of the main tourist shopping streets. The room was perfect for us...our teenager had the main room (TV, desk, table, chairs, couch, etc.) to herself. Parking for our rental car was free and right behind the building. The location is at the far end of the tourist area, so everything is close by, but you're not in the thick of it. There is a Heritage Coffee (their version of Starbucks) right inside, and an outdoor “food truck” type set up next door with a crepe place, ice cream place, fish taco place, etc. The wharf, shops, excursion pick-ups, etc are within easy walking distance. It's not fancy, but it's more authentic than some modern chain. A high end cruise (Lindblad/National Geographic) starts here, so it's highly thought of by them. They do have a fitness room, a bar and a restaurant but we didn't use them. This hotel was a great home base for our week in Juneau! If we are ever back here, I'm coming back! Note: The entrance is very easy to miss. If you come in on Franklin Street, turn away from the water onto Second Street and the first drive on the right is the parking lot behind the hotel. The entrance is right beside the Heritage Coffee between 1st and 2nd Street.

Quest38171314511, General Manager at Baranof Downtown, BW Signature Collection, responded to this review
Thank you so much for your great review and the excellent local information for our potential customers!

"This employee deserves special recognition and deep appreciation!"

5
Myrna A, Juneau, United States 05/08/2019

Today we ate at the Baranof Hotel. Afterwards I was coming out of the restroom when someone entered, surprising me such that I accidentally threw away a dental mouthpiece I desperately needed. When I realized it wasn't in my purse, I mentally tried to figure out when I last saw it. I called the Baranof Hotel. Brandon Woody answered the phone, knew this was important to me, went to look where I last knew I had it and found the bag in the garbage!!!!!! I had accidentally thrown it away with the hand towel. When he told me that, I immediately drove back to pick it up. We are on travel status and our travels would have been altered had I not found that mouthpiece. He deserves to be recognized for going that extra mile. Thank you!

Quest38171314511, General Manager at Baranof Downtown, BW Signature Collection, responded to this review
Thank you so much for taking the time to recognize Brandon, and I really appreciate you taking the time to post this on our review page :)!!!

"Overall Good Place"

4
467toddm, London, Kentucky 01/08/2019

Very nice staff and rooms are very clean. The only drawback is no a/c but then again you are in Alaska. I little updating would be nice. Breakfast was very good little expensive $21 a person for a buffet.

"Great location!"

5
737denisei, Juneau, Alaska 31/07/2019

The first thing we noticed about our room was the amazing view of the water and the cruise ships. It's also walking distance to all the best restaurants and a fun little shopping district. The rooms were clean and modern and the one meal we had in the hotel restaurant was delicious.

"issues with room cleanliness"

2
User 31/07/2019

The employees that work the evening shift were great. Very responsive, friendly, and helpful. The ladies working the bar were great. Our first night we pulled back the covers and found food crumbs in the bead. The front desk quickly ran up new sheets. I went to take a shower and on of the towels was wet another towel looked dirty. Did they clean anything in our room? The next day we found a glass fragment (half pea sized) on the floor. Now I am really wondering if this room was completely missed by the cleaning crew. I spoke with the front desk in the morning (no manager on site) and the lady did not seem to care. I checked back in with the front desk in the evening. Again no manager, but the gentleman behind the desk apologized over and over and said he would let the management know. We left the next day and never heard from anyone. Great location, but we are really QUESTIONING THE CLEANLINESS of the room.

"Great Customer Service"

4
B-Happy907, Anchorage, Alaska 31/07/2019

The thing about this hotel is there are many different room types. It's not just your standard room and because of this I believe people have much different experiences. But what I want to talk about today is the experience I had with their front desk. They truly went above and beyond to accommodate me. I was the host of a two-day business event taking place at their property and when I woke up on the morning of the first day, I realized, I forgot my hair straightener, (which for my frizzy hair is just as essential to me as a tooth brush). The drug store didn't open until 9 a.m. and they most likely didn't carry any. So I called down to the front desk in crisis mode to see if they by chance had one in-house. Danielle assisted me and let me know of a grocery store that was open and might be able to accommodate my needs, but that it was a bit of a far walk. I decided it was worth the distance. As I was leaving the hotel to make the jaunt, I stopped to thank her for the info. She suggested that I call before making the trek and even called for me - - brilliant! Turns out they did not have any straighteners. It was 7 a.m. and I was seriously disappointed. This is where Danielle's customer service went to a whole new level, above and beyond anything I could have hoped for. She told me that she got off work at 8 a.m. and would run home and get one of hers to loan me and would deliver to my room before 9 a.m. I couldn't have been more grateful - truly saved the day. She assisted me with other more tangible business needs throughout my stay, always with a smile and as if it was her pleasure. The pleasure was all mine. Thank you to everyone at Baranof for their great service and accommodations and especially to Danielle for turning a bad hair day into an experience I will always look back on with gratitude that there are still good people in this world, willing to help without expecting anything in return. Bravo!

"An unsettling experience"

2
nwhinney, Nelson, New Zealand 28/07/2019

The hotel is showing signs of needing an upgrade. The rooms are very small and pokey, the carpets are worn and tired, the fittings in the rooms need maintenance and there was no tea maker as advertised. However the wifi was good and the concierge helpful. The bar restaurant was short staffed so it took some time to be served. The worst side was the reception. Although we were booked for two nights, they had apparently marked our room as vacant for the second night and we had an unwanted visitor at 1.00am. We did not receive our wake up call because we had fallen off their list. The Alaskan ferry strike was known about the afternoon before we left but they said they could not find us because they did not know what room we were in to tell us. So we were told when we checked out and went to the airport instead of the ferry terminal at 2.30am. An altogether very unsatisfactory experience.

Relax50655913997, Guest Relations Manager at Baranof Downtown, BW Signature Collection, responded to this review
Thank you for the comments regarding your recent stay. We apologize for any issues with service at the front desk with your reservation and wake-up call . Providing the quality accommodation our valued customers expect and deserve is our primary goal and it sounds like we fell short with your stay. We are addressing these issues and we look forward to having another opportunity to show you how much we enjoy having you as our guest. Sincerely -Justin Rose AGM

"A very covenient hotel"

4
ioan_wilson, Newtown, United Kingdom 24/07/2019

When we arrived the receptionist told us that our travel agent had cancekked our room. Panic! no need as she got us a room very quickly. Our room was comfortable and clean with a view of the surrounding hills. We can certainly recommend it. All the staff we encountered especially the front desk were most helpful

"Comfortable bed. Terrible wifi"

2
65KevinB, Anchorage, Alaska 16/07/2019

Four night trip, was pleased it had a small kitchen. Cupboards a bit dated, microwave old and tired (breaker kept tripping when I used it). Nice bathroom, overall clean and comfortable. Loved the bed. Terrible wifi! The guest wifi network would show available only intermittently. When I would click on it, I tried multiple times to login with the password they gave me on the card but it said wrong password. One time I was successful but didn't stay connected long and then it was back to intermittent network and then back to wrong password repeatedly. Almost like they have a router with a different password but same network name. I was trying to use iPhone and iPad to connect to wifi. I stayed on 5th floor near elevator so I was central and not at the end of the hall. I called the front desk and she suggested I open my door and try to connect. I thought well I don't want to have to stand in the hall to use wifi... but I tried it anyway and still just said wrong password. I gave up on trying to use wifi this trip and will request a different hotel next trip.

Relax50655913997, Guest Relations Manager at Baranof Downtown, BW Signature Collection, responded to this review
Hi Kevin, Thank you for taking the time to let us know how your stay was at the Baranof. I'm sorry to hear that you were having so many issues with our wifi, we're going through the system with our service provider to figure out how to avoid this kind of situation in the future. I know that guests have had issues in the past using apple products on the wifi since they connect to the first hotspot in the lobby and then run off a weak signal through all the floors once they are in their rooms. I know this doesn't help you now, but at times, the connectivity issue is resolved when you turn off and on the wifi on your device so that it reconnects with the hotspot closest to you. Sorry for the frustrating experience and we will have this issue resolved if you choose to stay with us in the future. Sincerely Justin Rose AGM

"Loved Staying at the Baranof!"

5
Stephen B, Kenai, Alaska 15/07/2019

It would be difficult to have a better experience than my stay at the Baranof! Great view from my room, comfortable accommodations, the bed was excellent. I have stayed at the Baranof twice and have enjoyed the experience both times. Solid value

Relax50655913997, Guest Relations Manager at Baranof Downtown, BW Signature Collection, responded to this review
Thank you Steve, Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your stay. We're glad you enjoyed our very comfortable beds and the beautiful views of downtown Juneau. Thanks again and we look forward to seeing you on your next trip to Juneau!! -Justin Rose AGM

"awesome place"

5
User 15/07/2019

I stayed at the Baranof in the month of February! The weather was snowy and cold but the Baranof made my vacation timing worth it. The views that this hotel offers are so beautiful. The hotel has a vintage feel to it, and from what I have heard from various people is that there are some hauntings that have occured. I did not experience any ghosts but i definitely got the feeling it could happen. I recommend going to the bubble room, the bartenders are amazing and friendly, and I loved their food(one thing i got was a brie dish with mushrooms, i forgot what it was called but so good). All of the staff was courteous and felt very much at home my whole stay.

Relax50655913997, Guest Relations Manager at Baranof Downtown, BW Signature Collection, responded to this review
Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your stay here at the Baranof. We are so happy you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to seeing you on your next trip to Juneau! -Justin Rose AGM

"Great location, but otherwise just okay"

3
ChristyJE, near Saratoga, NY 11/07/2019

We stayed at the Baranof during some of the highest temps in Juneau (80-85 degrees). Not surprisingly since it's Alaska, they didn't have air conditioning; however, our room was a sweat box. Even though we had a fan, it never cooled the room down, so sleep was very difficult. The room was also quite small. It was in a great location, however, and we could walk basically anywhere we wanted to go.

Relax50655913997, Guest Relations Manager at Baranof Downtown, BW Signature Collection, responded to this review
Hi Christy, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review on your stay with us. You are correct, you got us while we were HOT, really hot and rare for Juneau, there was no escaping the heat, even the ocean water had warmed up to 70 degrees in the harbor. The whole town was struggling to deal with this rare phenomenon, but we are back to light rain and temps in the 60's and our rooms feel pretty cozy now! I'm glad you got to walk around and experience Juneau with such amazing weather, but I know how frustrating it is to try and sleep in a hot room. Thanks again for letting us know about your stay and we hope to see you on your future trips to Juneau! Stay Cool -Justin Rose

"Worst experience at Front desk!"

1
Jules_Peji, Manila, Philippines 09/07/2019

came at 8:30am bec of early flight arrival and politely requested if at all possible to check in as soon as 1 room comes available. I kept checking 3x with staff but was told they are verifying rooms with housekeeping. At the same time I followed up with my company/agency and was told the same. I noticed they gave rooms to people who came after me. I was finally given a room at 3:15pm but I had to ask for it again - they did not even bother inform me and I was in the hotel lobby the whole time. No consideration or apologies given by staff (Lee and Hazel forgot that I have been waiting for a room since I came from a 24hr flight from the Philippines) or even a "thank you" for waiting 6 hours. I will not recommend this hotel to family, friends and colleagues. They do not know how to prioritize checking in of guests.

Relax50655913997, Guest Relations Manager at Baranof Downtown, BW Signature Collection, responded to this review
Thank you for your feedback Jules, and I"m sorry that you had to wait in the lobby for 6 hours after such a long flight. Our standard check in time is 4pm, and It sounds like our front desk staff didn't fully explain the check in policy or why the wait was so long. At the Baranof we have many room types, the room type you booked and other comparable room types were not available due to being sold out the night before. If we had your room type available or something else comparable, we would have checked you in right away. I'm sorry you had such a negative experience, I'll talk to the front desk to make sure they clearly communicate our check in policies in situations like this. -Justin Rose

"Nice for Alaska"

3
PaulL987, Pasadena, California 04/07/2019

Decent hotel, with a good bar in Juneau. Not pricey but comfortable. Very helpful staff. Good downtown location. Slept well in comfortable bed. Good view toward the street. Lots of stores, restaurants and more nearby.

Relax50655913997, Guest Relations Manager at Baranof Downtown, BW Signature Collection, responded to this review
Thank you for the review, glad you slept well and enjoyed your stay. Thank you for choosing the Baranof and we hope to see you in the future. -Justin Rose

"Nothing to write home about"

3
User 03/07/2019

Stayed 1 night at the end of a small ship cruise. We had lunch arranged but there was far too little food for everyone even thoug they knew how many were expected. Check-in was supposed to to 3 pm but many were still waiting after that. Dinner was mediocre at best.

Relax50655913997, Guest Relations Manager at Baranof Downtown, BW Signature Collection, responded to this review
Thank you for your feedback Jill, It sounds like we may have missed the mark a little with our food and beverage, we are always aiming to meet our customers expectations, but sometimes we miss the mark. Our official check in time is 4pm, so hopefully all the guests were checked in by that time. Thank you for taking the time to give us your thoughts on your stay. -Justin Rose

"Cozy but lacking"

4
User 27/06/2019

I booked online for one night, but soon after realized I would need two. I called and changed my reservation through Orbitz. Got a confirmation email. Arrived and they did not have my updated reservation. So I forwarded the email and thought it was resolved. Got to the room. There was a party going on next door. Requested a room cha due to the noise level at the midnight hour. Done. Left for an 8 mile intense glacier hike early in the morning. After which I had two missed calls from the front desk that said I'd checked out and left my belonging in the room. I called back immediately explained again that I had a reservation for two nights that had been paid for. They said they would check into it and call me back. Ultimately was corrected. The coffee from the downstairs shop was good. NO refrigerator in the room so our bathroom sink had to be turned into a makeshift ice chest. No AC. But in all fairness it is AK. When the window is open to cool off there is a lot of street noise from nightlife.

Relax50655913997, Guest Relations Manager at Baranof Downtown, BW Signature Collection, responded to this review
Hi Katie, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review of your stay. Sorry for the confusion with the check out, I know that booking through third party sites can cause a extra step to get confused, but it sounds like we were able to get everything worked out. Thank you for choosing the Baranof and we hope to see you on any future trips you have in Juneau. -Justin Rose

"Basic but adequate"

3
899CJK, Amersham, United Kingdom 23/06/2019

Perfectly OK hotel but nothing special - room was quite small as was the bathroom - but it was clean. There was no kettle in the room - only a coffee maker. As I don't drink coffee we asked if we could have a kettle to make tea - but were told they didn't have any! Staff not particularly helpful or friendly. Breakfast buffet was expensive so we ate out. But good central location.

"Quality hotel downtown"

4
20_times_ATW, Silicon Valley, CA 16/06/2019

I stayed for a week at the Baranof. I got myself a suite because I could not imagine spending so much time in a standard room. From my suite, I had a good view of the dock with the cruise ships and sea planes. You can easily walk to the cruise terminal and all restaurants and shops downtown. The hotel seems to be one of the better hotels in Juneau. I did not eat at the restaurant and at $22 I thought the breakfast buffet was more than going out to a café. The suite was comfortable and spacious. It was clean and staff was friendly. The desk has a chair suitable for working. The bathroom has space for my toilet bag. There is no fan in the bathroom so it takes some time for steam and smells to dissipate. The room is awfully hot, which seems a waste of energy. The outside temperature varied from 8ºC to 13ºC my entire stay. I turned off the heating and opened the windows during my entire stay, but was still able to sit comfortably in a t-shirt in the room most of the time. The internet is problematic. There is about 5% packet loss and service will disappear for several seconds every few minutes. This sporadic behaviour is really annoying if you are sitting and trying to work. This hotel does not process customer laundry on Saturday or Sunday. If you request laundry after 08:30 on Friday, you won't get it back until Monday afternoon. That was a shock, but there is a laundromat adjacent to the hotel (turn right out of the door). The gym is small, but adequate when so few use it. The cross trainer machine was broken when I arrived and remained broken my entire stay. I think no one services the equipment!

"Clean, comfortable, BUT . . ."

3
NCATdayhiker, North Carolina 25/05/2019

We stayed here at the conclusion of a small boat tour of the inland passage. Our room was clean but dated and the king bed was quite comfortable but too large for the room. There was no in-room guidebook to inform you about amenities of the hotel, a map of the hotel or the area, room service or dining area menus, etc. There is no business center where you can print boarding passes but a morning desk clerk graciously provided that service when I asked. A fellow traveler had asked the evening clerk to do the same but, though he tried, he was unable to do so. Another guest reported there was a sign on the 2nd floor that indicated a workout room, but she was unable to locate it. The breakfast buffet was ample, expensive, and the eggs were barely warm. The new owners have a lot of work to do to get this place up to speed.

"Start of the season"

5
iamamandaleigh, Tupelo, Mississippi 13/05/2019

Although there were a few little issues with employees not knowing details about the hotel itself, we could tell they were gearing up for the busy season and bulking up on staff. The genuinely friendly interactions with them made that easy to overlook. The rooms are CLEAN and nicely updated, and are more than we expected for the price...a perfect location for exploring downtown on foot. We originally booked another hotel that had better ratings (but less reviews), and can't imagine how the other one could even be in the same ballpark as the Baranof. The attached restaurant is good and has reasonable prices, especially for the area. Walk to the tram, shops, bars, restaurants, The Wharf, etc. Jaw-dropping views are only a few blocks away!

"Decent clean place to stay "

4
firefighterswife65, Seattle, Washington 30/03/2019

We stayed with my husband while he attended a conference at this hotel. The staff was friendly, the room we had was small but clean, the room service staff were very sweet. We had our baby with us so the room for two adults would've been okay, but it was a tight fit with a stroller and baby gear. The restaurant had really good breakfasts and the servers were nice too. The last day of my husbands conference there were hors d'oeuvres and those were really great. The Heritage coffee shop attached to the building is really convenient too. I liked the art deco decor in the lobby.

These reviews are the subjective opinions of individual travelers and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.