ROOM 1
ROOM 2
ROOM 3
Promotion code

SureStay Plus Hotel by Best Western Brandywine Valley, Wilmington

1807 Concord Pike (Rte. 202), 19803-2901, Wilmington, United States - See on a map
SureStay Plus Hotel by Best Western Brandywine Valley - SureStay Plus℠ Hotel Brandywine Valley The SureStay Plus Hotel by Best Western Brandywine Valley is ideally located in the center of Wilmington. Come and experience our hotel near the major tourist attractions. Best price guaranteed and exclusive deals.

Stay at this Wilmington, Delaware hotel - free breakfast, near Winterthur Museum and Longwood Gardens. The SureStay Plus Hotel Brandywine Valley places guests near Interstate 95 in Wilmington, Delaware. This hotel offers convenient access to many area museums including the Delaware Art Museum, Hagley Museum, Rockwood Museum and Brandywine River Museum. Guests will also be close to beautiful Winterthur Country Estate, Longwood Gardens, and Nemours Gardens and Mansion. The hotel is near many corporate locations such as AstraZeneca, DuPont®, Ashland, Nemours A. I. duPont Hospital for Children, and Comcast® - perfect for conducting business! This Wilmington, Delaware hotel offers well-appointed guest rooms, each with cable satellite television, free wireless high-speed Internet access. Executive suites and business plus suites are available with DVD players, printers and a free movie library, upon request. Guests will wake each morning to a delicious complimentary full hot breakfast catered by Manhattan Bagels. This hotel also offers a local corporate shuttle and readymade attraction packages. Additional amenities include an outdoor swimming pool with hot tub, fitness center, business center and video conference room. For superior customer service and a convenient location, make a reservation at the SureStay Plus Hotel Brandywine Valley!

SureStay Plus

Hotel by Best Western Brandywine Valley

LABEL_ITINERAIRE

LABEL_DEPART:

LABEL_ARRIVEE:

Hotel advantages

  • Outdoor pool
    Outdoor pool
  • Air conditioning
    Air conditioning
  • Free parking
    Free parking
  • 24-hour front desk
    24-hour front desk
Show More Show Less

Guest reviews

In partnership with tripadvisor fr
based on 305 guest reviews
NOTE ISSUED
Excellent
92
Very Good
68
Average
61
Poor
37
Terrible
47
REFER TO NOTICE
Business Business
78
Couples Couples
74
Family Family
86
Friends getaway Friends getaway
29
Solo travel Solo travel
28
SUMMARY NOTES
Cleanliness
Location
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Value

"Concert in Wilmington"

4
User 20/05/2019

A friend and I booked this hotel for a weekend trip to see a concert in Wilmington. We also did some sight seeing while there. We liked the location and were happy overall with our stay there. The beds were very comfortable and breakfast was included. We did have some trouble locating the hotel upon our arrival because it actuly sits behind a restaurant.

"SureStay Plus Hotel by Best Western, Wilmington DE"

3
G8088DBpaulam, Whitby, Canada 20/05/2019

You get what you pay for. The rooms need updating. Some of the furniture was stained and the room felt damp. We were on the ground floor of this two storey hotel that is set up like a motel and the room temperature is controlled by an older wall unit instead of a thermostat. The staff were friendly and the buffet breakfast was ok.

"Excellent hotel!!!"

5
User 18/05/2019

My granddaughter was having surgery at Nemours. Hotel is less than a mile from the hospital and there is car service to the hospital which was wonderful for our situation. Hotel is clean, beds are comfortable and staff is wonderful.

"Worth the Value"

5
Safari14747148480, Wilmington, Delaware 02/05/2019

I had no complaints. The room was very spacious for the king size and great value for what I paid. I had a issue with the lamp not working but I just switched the lamps around for what I needed to do.

"Hotel Was a Disaster - DO NOT STAY HERE"

1
User 29/04/2019

We booked a non-smoking room and the room smelled like smoke. After we complained we were moved to a room that was better but there was hair in the bathroom and overall was very dirty. I usually don't write reviews but I will go out of my way to notify everyone. The staff were very nice and tried to accommodate as best as they could but the hotel overall is I need of a lot of repairs. The bathrooms had visible dirt and hair when we checked into our new room and the bathroom did not flush.

"Nice place. Clean and quiet."

4
James Z, Buffalo, New York 24/04/2019

I stayed one night at this property. It is easy to find and is close to the freeway, but not so close you will hear all the noise. The neighborhood seemed safe and quite. There were restaurants and plazas very close. The room was clean and comfortable. The staff was efficient and friendly. Check-in took about three minutes. All rooms look to be accessible from the outside, similar to a motel. There was a pool area that looked nice but it was closed for the season. Breakfast was eggs, sausage, cereal, fruits, breads, coffee, tea, and juices.The breakfast area was nice but had limited seating. Overall, it was a nice one night stay.

"Not Recommended"

2
User 21/04/2019

The rooms were not clean and so out of date. Overall the smell around the hotel and in the rooms were damp. The setting of this hotel was more like a motel. I have stayed at Best Western so many times but this one was the worst

"Great staff!"

4
Guide58905440816, Hawley, Pennsylvania 19/04/2019

The staff went out of their way for us and I have a handicapped child that was getting surgery so I was in and out periodically they kept our room clean and made sure we had everything we needed. The rooms are dated, but the overall experience was fantastic! Thank you again to the staff!

"Group accommodations made easy!"

5
Venture11750107297, Westerly, Rhode Island 04/04/2019

19 weary travelers checked in and this hotel made our last night perfect! They provided us with a meeting room and had breakfast set up early- all done with graciousness! We worked with the hotel ahead of time and they set up our group in a charming courtyard!

"Needs Major Maintenance Work"

3
Julie H, Ashburn, Virginia 29/03/2019

I cannot fault the staff we encountered during our one night stay. Check in was super friendly as was checkout. Mary at the included breakfast was particularly nice, telling my daughter to throw out her eggs as she has just made fresh ones. I don't mind an older property as well as it is well maintained. My daughter was particularly excited about the retro vibe and loved hearing stories about all of the hotels like this I stayed at when I was her age and younger. However, the hotel is not well maintained. Some of the issues with our room had to do with maintenance and others with cleanliness. The ceiling in the bathroom is literally starting to fall down. There were bits of dirt and paper and hair on the floor throughout - both in and out of the bathroom plus cracked tile on the floor. There was an odd bulge in the wall of the bedroom that backed to the shower. It felt as if there was previous water damage inside the wall. Add in the usual scuffs, scratches, and dents throughout the room. There was an actual blob of toothpaste about an inch long on one of the walls that seemed to have been placed deliberately. As it was green, we knew it was not ours as we use a cinnamon toothpaste. The carpeting had pulls in it. The "clean remote" for the television was sticky. As the beds themselves seemed clean, yet overly firm, despite the shortcomings, I would consider staying here again except for one issue. Should you get an "adjoining room", be aware that the doors are not soundproofed between the rooms. We were able to hear every word when our next door neighbor watched his television. I don't think the volume was up that high, it's just that there was enough clearance with the doors that it didn't matter. This was a big issue once the clock chimed midnight as we needed to go to sleep (and had been trying since around 10 pm) but could not until he too turned in for the night around 1 am. Though we didn't have much with us, changing rooms would have been a big production so we did not ask. Upon check out, we were asked how things were and I started by mentioning the ceiling. The response was "We know about that and put in for maintenance." Why would you still sell the room unless there are issues with others as well? I didn't even bother bringing up the noise. Again, our neighbor was not being overly loud. It would have been impossible not to hear him. We'll be returning to Wilmington often and I think we will investigate other properties in the area.

"Quaint sweet place"

5
User 27/03/2019

Hotel is out of the way without being too far from everything. Staff was wonderful and room was clean and nice. Only small complaint was there was a slight draft from the door. Not enough to be bothersome.

"Good hotel in a great location!"

5
135brycej, Monrovia, Indiana 10/03/2019

Bed was comfortable. Room was very clean. Breakfast was adequate with eggs and sausage, bagels, breads, juice and milk. Staff was excellent! Attentive and welcoming. No issues during my two night stay.

"Nice stay"

5
Trek65094128005, Wilmington, Delaware 24/02/2019

The hotel was nice to stay in I would recommend guess to stay there and do business with them the location of the hotel is in a good spot so is the food. My only concern was that the Expedia just over charge me for the room but they work with me to refund my money back.

"Last minute reservation"

5
User 14/02/2019

We made a last minute reservation due to bad weather as my daughter was having a medical procedure at the local hospital. The staff was very warm and friendly and the complimentary breakfast was good.

"Stellar!"

4
Suzette L, Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania 27/01/2019

After and exhausting 300 mile drive, I was forced to leave the hotel that I originally reserved due to conditions I can't begin to explain. I phoned the manager at SureStay and within minutes, she located a room and would have it ready upon my arrival. A short while later, I entered and was immediately greeted by Nicki, a lovely young woman who quickly processed my check-in. Offered a suggestion for dinner and provided me with the most adorable single room, tucked away in the corner of the hotel. Finally, the peace and quiet I needed. The room was clean and cozy and the staff was exceptional! Well done Best Western and thank you!

"Pat Alston"

5
User 25/01/2019

The room was really nice and the lady at the front desk was very nice and friendly and provided good customer service. The room was a good size too, two beds, a tv, bathroom, fridge and a decent size vanity. It wasn't huge but not small just the right size for me, my boyfriend and our two young kids. They have a nice little breakfast every morning but I suggest going early because it does go fast. They have a pool but we went during winter so it was closed. Nice little place though

"Not what I expected"

3
sandecarlo, Brick, New Jersey 13/01/2019

I gave this hotel 3 stars mainly because they have an excellent staff. Also, a very nice breakfast is included in your stay. As for the rooms, they definitely could use some upgrades and the bathroom is very tiny and in need of repair. Also can not be seen from the street. It's behind another building, the Hollywood Grill.

"Overnight stay on 202!"

5
N626OWalanf, Collinsville, Oklahoma 11/01/2019

I enjoyed my stay and even got a good night's sleep! Minimum noise from the highway and little noise from neighbors! Refreshment area close by and a nice warm room and could not hear the howling wind!

"Needs a refresh "

2
Bookdmdano, Richmond, Virginia 05/01/2019

This appears to be a very old property that has been updated but only on the surface. Rooms are small and my tub had a leak at the faucet, and ceiling tiles were stained and sagging. Toiletries were not all present so I had to request an item. Breakfast was spartan although it was enough for a quick bite. The exercise room was closed for repairs. All staff I met were friendly and helpful. The best thing about it is there is a shuttle and they were quick to adjust times and get me where I wanted to go. The building could use some renovations.

"Cheap hotel with bare minimum service"

2
277massimog, Milan, Italy 16/09/2018

Looks like a motel rather than a hotel. Rooms are located on two floors around an inner yard including a pool. Average clean, but silent enough despite being located on the Concord Pike. Poor breakfast.

"Great Customer Service Couldn't Compensate for Poor Room"

2
User 04/09/2018

Really surprise Best Western put their name on this hotel. It was clean, the towels were good and the associate who checked us in used some creativity to figure out a way to make it possible for us to stay when there was a problem with our reservation, but the room was 1-star. Deadbolt wouldn't lock. Musty smell. Bottom of tub was stained to make it look dirty. Water pressure weak. The TV remote was junky, didn't work well. Bed was comfortable.

BestWesternHotels, Corporate at SureStay Plus Hotel by Best Western Brandywine Valley, responded to this review
We are sorry to hear that your recent stay with us did not exceed your expectations. We appreciate your feedback and will use it to make improvements to offer guests a better experience in the future. We hope you will give us another chance and stay with us again. -Best Western Hotels & Resorts

"We were attending the Nascar Race with Family"

1
deeko921, Tonawanda, New York 26/07/2018

I had 3 rooms reserved. Two were ok. The third was a suite. The bedroom portion of the suite was fine, however the attached suite-room smelled of Pot and bad deodorizer. Upon check in on Friday, May 4, I contacted the check in desk and spoke to someone regarding the smell. Then I actually went down to the desk and spoke to someone, 1-because I did not want my party blamed, I was traveling with my 17 year old daughter who has asthma who kept having mild reaction to the smells. The person at the desk stated that they would send someone up in the morning to investigate. Noone came. Upon check out I found out that nothing was written in the "maintenance" book from the person who checked me out and that it was a known problem with that suite/room since at least January that has not been handled. Also my other problem is that I was unable to connect to the wifi except in the lobby in the breakfast area which was a problem for the rest of my party also. Also the breakfast was so/so. I had asked to be contacted. As of this review writing, I have not heard from anyone. I had asked for a rebate on the room rate due to the issues, NOTHING. WE WILL NOT BE STAYING AT THIS PROPERTY EVER AGAIN, AND I WOULD NOT RECOMMEND IT TO ANYONE... I feel bad for writing this review, but I have never had a business ignore legitimate issues during or after a stay ever. I have tried to contact them multiple times at this point.

BestWesternHotels, Corporate at SureStay Plus Hotel by Best Western Brandywine Valley, responded to this review
We are sorry to hear that your recent stay with us did not exceed your expectations. We appreciate your feedback and will use it to make improvements to offer guests a better experience in the future. We hope you will give us another chance and stay with us again. -Best Western Hotels & Resorts

"Horrible"

1
User 02/07/2018

Morning to whom this may concern, I was a patron at the Stay Plus Best Western establishment on June 30th and July 1st. My experience was terrible I was in room 222 with a broken AC and a tub the fills up with water. I was told by the maintenance that my room was above the boiler room and he advised the issue of this room before nothing was done about it. Managers Elijah and Richard tried very diligently to make my stay better, I was moved to room 202 better conditions. Come checkout on July 2nd my price changed the General Manager Mary Taylor was not empathetic or sympathetic to my conditions and my experience there. I should've been comped for my first room and was still charged wrongly for the second room was supposed to be $45.60 credit card was charged $55.89 I will not repeat will not recommend this establishment to anyone to stay if ever visiting Delaware.

"Very Clean, Great Value, Wonderful Staff"

4
ThomasTCat, St. Louis, MO 26/06/2018

This hotel is ideally located to all the DuPont Mansions and there was a great restaurant right next door. The staff, especially Elijah and Nicky at the front desk, were so courteous, professional, and always willing to help. Loved the warm chocolate chip cookies that they provided in the lobby in the evening along with hot coffee (wish there would have been decaf, though). Breakfast was limited, but good. On weekdays they had sausage with scrambled eggs, but on the weekend there were only the scrambled eggs as the hot entree. But plenty to eat with oatmeal, cereal, toast and bagels, some fruit and muffins or cinnamon buns. The room was spotlessly clean and when the coffeemaker didn't work, they immediately sent a new one up to our room with extra coffee. The lock to our door was hard to operate, and at one point the maid had to come to try and open it, and was finally successful with a little bit of work (room 243). We definitely recommend this hotel as a great place to stay!

"An older but great hotel"

4
User 24/06/2018

While this is an older hotel, it has been well maintained, The service was great and the place was clean, The one small issue I had was that the in-room air conditioners were not able to keep up with the heat and the humidity.

"good value, nice pool, older hotel"

4
Florida_family_kids, Ocala, Florida 03/06/2018

a older hotel that shows the age a little. good price for the area. good service. basic breakfast that could use some fresh fruit. nice pool outside. . good for a overnight stop when you just need a bed. close to the interstate.

"Last minute booking Memoral Weekend"

4
Charles G, Baltimore, Maryland 28/05/2018

Nice room. Great bed. Clean. Staff friendly and professional. Quiet. Continental breakfast more than I expected. Coffee was exceptional. Not too far from Longwood Gardens our destination. Late checkout time. Enjoyed stay.

"Absolutely loved this place"

5
jncapobi, Syracuse, New York 20/12/2017

This is a lot like a FL resort hotel...2 floors in a rectangular pattern that overlook a beautiful courtyard w. pool, spa, and cabana. It is very secure; you need a cardkey to access from the outside...you come in, and you're still outside. I like this feature. friendly staff and lobby (w. baby grand piano) is nice. Contintental breakfast just avg.

"Mixed Emotions"

4
User 26/10/2017

If you are staying here with one or two rooms this will meet your needs. If your expectations are average you'll be okay. Groups? The only problems I had were with check ins and a few other communication issues. The front desk staff, at least one of them is woefully out of her element. All the problems seemed to come from her not properly following directions, and worse, not caring. IF I use this hotel again for this one if my groups it would only be with the understanding that Mary Taylor, the manager be there for our check in. No matter what time it is. Rooms are small but comfortable. The special rooms are musty and moldy smelling. But there are only a couple of them. Majority of the staff were pleasant and helpful. Didn't use the pool. No reason. Just didn't. Breakfast could certainly use a little upgrading. Rubbery eggs and sausage patties. Tried that once. Only once. Nice lobby area. Plenty of food in the area. IHOP, Hollywood's, a grocery store, Walgreen's and Wells Fargo Bank all a short walk. The reason I give it a 4 rather than a 3 was location and Mary.

"A chance find - now our go-to hotel when in the area"

4
Juanita L, Cuddebackville, New York 23/10/2017

We couldn't find anything we could afford within striking distance of Winterthur, so we said to our TomTom ... find us a hotel ... and it found the SureStay (Best Western) on Clinton Ave. What a find! What a deal! Clean. Comfortable. Quality. A great value for the price.

"Extremely Disappointing"

1
cc746, Liverpool, New York 22/10/2017

If you are approaching from the opposite side of the road it can be confusing trying to get into the parking lot. You must make a uTurn at the traffic light in order to get into the parking lot. There is limited parking for the size of the motel. The side of the rooms are small, cramped and out dated. If you are traveling on a budget you may want to consider this location, although there are plenty of far better hotels within a short distance to consider. There is not much difference in cost. So if staying in the area again I would be staying at either Marriott or Hilton about two miles away for just a few dollars more per night. The building is old and my first impression was that it should be bulldozed to make room for something more modern and spacious.

"strange room, not as advertised"

3
trekdaniii, Providence, Rhode Island 20/10/2017

We were disappointed in the room itself. It was advertised on the Best Western website as being a very generic, standard hotel room. But we were put in some kind of specialty room with fancy furniture and very eclectic decorations. It was also very tiny, barely enough room for 2 people to move around, the bathroom was especially cramped. I can't say anything bad about its amenities - the room was clean, the shower had great pressure, the TV worked fine. Some people might like this, but it was not what we expected or wanted, based on the pictures on the website. It was also down a creepy hallway from the rest of the hotel rooms. It was all very strange.

"Cleanliness and Friendly Staff"

4
Anita J, Rochester Hills, Michigan 09/08/2017

Accommodations were very clean and hotel personnel very friendly. Made my stay much more pleasant being away from home. Check in and check out process was very fast and efficient. Rooms were very quiet and had all the amenities for comfort!

"Wonderful stay!"

5
User 07/08/2017

Clean rooms, cold A/C, nice pool and hot tub. Staff is FANTASTIC! Free breakfast, quiet, quaint, just a couple minutes off I95, near Wilmington, Longwood Gardens, wineries, shopping and Hollywood Grille right in the parking lot!

"Best Western in Wilmington, DE"

3
gregj334, Virginia Beach, United States 05/08/2017

Not the best but not the worst. People and location were excellent. We would not stay here again because of the AC unit, the cooling process, and the location of the actual unit being next to the bed. It was not comfortable sleeping for us!

"Avoid this place"

2
brucesT2286SQ, Warwick, Bermuda 18/07/2017

The room was small and dirty, it smelled of years of disinfectant spray, which you could feel in the carpets. The carpet felt dirty and damp to the touch. The room was located by the parking lot and there was a constant cloud of cigarette smoke coming from the rather unsightly characters smoking right outside the room. The room was also noisy with people coming and going through the evening and early night. The breakfast was deplorable! Breakfast out of obligation not out of choice. The rubbery eggs and mystery meat patties, along with the coco-crispies and sugar smacks make me question my decisions to book this place even further! On the up side the pool was ok if you could get past all the rules in place for its safe use. In short avoid this place and book elsewhere!

"Very accommodating, friendly staff"

5
Ann M, Scotland, United States 16/07/2017

The staff pushed the limits to accommodate my shuttle needs. As a solo guest, without a personal car, my trips to and from the children's hospital were accomplished with ease. Plus, the room was comfortable and the breakfast met my needs.

These reviews are the subjective opinions of individual travelers and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.