Room 1
Room 2
Room 3
Promotion code

SureStay Plus Hotel by Best Western St Marys Cumberland, St Marys

2710 Osborne Road, 31558-4000, St Marys, United States - See on a map
SureStay Plus Hotel by Best Western St Marys Cumberland - Welcome to the SureStay Plus Hotel by Best Western St Marys Cumberland! The SureStay Plus Hotel by Best Western St Marys Cumberland is ideally located in the center of St Marys. Come and experience our hotel near the major tourist attractions. Best price guaranteed and exclusive deals.

Come visit Historic St. Marys, Georgia and stay in the newly renovated and quaint SureStay Plus Hotel by Best Western St Marys Cumberland. Offering many choices on room types, you will be able to relax and unwind while taking in the sights. Workout in our fitness center, relax in our beautiful pool, or just unwind under the canopy of majestic southern oak trees.

SureStay Plus

Hotel by Best Western St Marys Cumberland




Hotel advantages

  • Complimentary continental breakfast
    Complimentary continental breakfast
  • Free parking
    Free parking
  • Outdoor parking
    Outdoor parking
  • 24-hour front desk
    24-hour front desk
  • Onsite laundry
    Onsite laundry
Show More Show Less

Guest reviews

In partnership with tripadvisor fr
based on 297 guest reviews
Very Good
Business Business
Couples Couples
Family Family
Friends getaway Friends getaway
Solo travel Solo travel
Sleep Quality

"Nice quiet, clean pet friendly hotel"

Mary L, Palmetto, Florida 26/05/2022

We stayed one night on our way back to Florida. The hotel is very clean and well kept up. Our room was spacious and had everything we could need. We visited the small bar/restaurant onsite and had a drink and food. Very nice atmosphere and good food. A very pleasant one night stay and we would stay again in we travel to the area.


DONNAMDUNNTN, Jefferson City, Tennessee 24/05/2022

Was a quick stay. Needed a place to stop on way north. Few miles away off 95 N when got into Georgia. Pleasant stay. Clean. Friendly. Reminder it's a motel with your door outside. Two floors. Not sure if elevator. I carried bag up one set of stairs. But car parked right there.

"Moldy/Musty smell. Unauthorized debit card use"

Hotel_Man2022, Merrick, New York 20/05/2022

The room smelled very moldy/musty. The AC needs to be cleaned. My company did not send the corporate credit card authorization form on time. I used my Visa debit card for check in with instructions that it would be replaced with the corporate credit card authorization form in the morning. It was intended to secure the room for one night. We extended our stay several times. When the hotel ran the corporate card it was declined. Instead of calling me they decided to use my personal Visa debit card and charged my card for two rooms several nights. All they had to do was call me so that we could resolve the issue with the corporate card. Once I discovered this the issue was resolved. They then said they had refunded the charges to my personal card which was only partially true. The messed that up to. It created a hassle for me. Instead of treating me like some criminal they just should have picked up the phone.

"A Wonderful Delightful Sure Stay Experience"

kevindoyle49, West Palm Beach, Florida 26/03/2022

I was scheduled for a tour of Cumberland Island close to the Sure Stay. I have been staying with Best Western since 1966, but this was my first Sure Stay experience. It was sheer delight. I am handicap and Mellisa Braun, the General Manager was delightful, courteous and polite. Melissa and her staff treat all guests with the uncommon philosophy-Treat people like you want to be treated. How refreshing that is the world. I was so impressed I returning tonight for a two night stay. Totally a great happy memorable experience. I am a Vietnam Vet and thank Best Western for the discount they offer our veterans. Most Sincerely, Kevin Patrick Doyle

Melissa Braun, General Manager at SureStay Plus Hotel By Best Western St Marys Cumberland, responded to this review
Thank you very much Mr. Doyle for your kind words. It was so nice to meet you and to spend a little bit of time getting to know you. We look forward to your return.


nancyb1313, Englewood, Florida 24/03/2022

We had a full 2 room suite. the reservation, made about a week before, was for a regular room w/ king bed. The suite included two rooms- with 2 tvs, sofabed, chair, kitchen table w/ 4 chairs, full kitchen, full sized stove & fridge, microwave, WASHER & DDRYER!!! for one night, we didnt need all that. Even one room at the price we paid would have been a good deal

Melissa Braun, General Manager at SureStay Plus Hotel By Best Western St Marys Cumberland, responded to this review
Thank you Nancyb1313 for your great review of our suites. We think they are pretty great also. They are perfect for either one night or an extended stay. We hope you get to come back again soon.

"Clean, Comfortable with Large Rooms"

User 22/03/2022

Although this is an older hotel, we were happy to find that the room was clean and the beds were comfortable. I liked that there was no carpet on the floors. The vinyl flooring felt much cleaner than carpet. We were given an efficiency suite that had a full kitchen. We did not need this option, but it would be great if you planned to stay in the area for a few days. We only stayed one night, but we would certainly stay at this hotel again if we were in the area. We originally planned to stay in Jacksonville, Florida, but this hotel was less expensive and it gave us a chance to visit a new town. St. Mary's, Georgia is a quaint, little waterfront town that offers several good restaurant choices and some nice antique stores.

Melissa Braun, General Manager at SureStay Plus Hotel By Best Western St Marys Cumberland, responded to this review
Thank you for the great review of our hotel as well as the area. There is a lot that this area has to offer. I will be letting the teams know they are doing a great job for our guests. Please come back again soon.


mataedali, Fayetteville, Georgia 15/03/2022

EPIC FAIL - INTENTIONAL NEGLIGENCE- REPREHENSIBLE ACCOMMODATIONS - POTENTIAL EXPOSURE TO BIO HAZARDS + COVID PATHOGENS Good evening Melissa As the General Manager the level of accountability for ensuring guests are provided excellence in accommodations rests solely with you. The reprehensible conditions we were exposed to in “trusting” our lives by reserving our stay was unconscionable. Filthy stained sheets, torn, old sheets unraveling, trash on floor, non working toilet, and corroded tub faucet and sink stopper. I took pictures to ensure you see what was shocking. Frankly, I am appalled by the audacity to have been told the room was ready for occupancy by Melissa. The room was far from being ready and should have been never listed as available. Room 302 should be blocked until such time as it has been fully cleaned, sanitized and updated with bath fixtures suitable for use. Pictures have been provided to Roni Grimes, and if you also need copies - reply in this email to have them sent. I am embarrassed for Best Western and you; the conditions we were exposed to for the less than :15 minutes of accepting the room (sight unseen) leaves a bad taste for future consideration of any Best Western properties nationally. Immediate Actions I expect to be taken to ensure no charges appear on my credit card and immediate cancellation of any HOLDS or other potential charges. Given the weekend was planned as a getaway - driving from Fayetteville GA this morning to visit St Mary's was a huge fail when arriving from a day of dolphin watching and exploring antique stores - only to be ready for rest and encounter horrific conditions resident in ROOM 302. We had to drive another 100 plus miles to Savannah area to find a room; bearing the weight of additional expenses unplanned for this getaway. Regrettably, I can not recoup time, additional expenses and other intangibles from you or Best Western, what I can do is be honest and forthright in review of my first hand experience.

"Was a nice stay on route to Florida"

KellyPJL, Ontario, Canada 06/03/2022

Was a bit off the highway on route to Florida, but was a pleasent surprise when we got our room, It was spacious and clean. Very quiet for the evening stay over and nice breakfast provided in the morning, Will definately consider the Sure Stay next trio

Melissa Braun, General Manager at SureStay Plus Hotel By Best Western St Marys Cumberland, responded to this review
Thank you for saying such nice things about us. I hope your trip was nice and we will see you next time!

"Great staff, clean rooms, great location"

RockinCuenca, Cuenca, Ecuador 09/02/2022

Can say all great things about the staff, but can't say a whole lot about the inconsiderate guests. Throwing their trash in the parking lots, their cigarette butts everywhere, not cleaning up after their dogs in the common areas where people walk their dogs. It's too bad because this is a nice clean hotel other than what the guests are doing to trash it up. It's obviously been recently remodeled. The shower heads need replacing, but all else in the room was in like new condition.. Overall, it was a safe, clean place to stay with breakfast included in the price. Great location also, right next door to a grocery store on one side and a drug store on the other side, a few fast food places within walking distance. Only about 3 or 4 miles to the harbor area of St Marys one way, and about 3 or 4 miles to tons of stores and restaurants in Kingsland.

Melissa Braun, General Manager at SureStay Plus Hotel by Best Western St Marys Cumberland, responded to this review
Thank you RockinCuenca for giving us such a great review! We appreciate the feedback and will continue to do everything we can to make every guests stay wonderful. We are still making changes and hope you will be able to return to see what's new.


AThikerVB, Virginia Beach, Virginia 01/02/2022

The St. Marys Surestay Plus by Best Western, formerly the Cumberland Inn & Suites, just cancelled four “confirmed” reservations created by four families traveling to St. Marys for a two night mid-February 2022 stay. Three of the four families had received “confirmed” reservations sent by the Surestay's software to our email addresses. The fourth had an oral confirmation from the desk clerk. I and another family had made the reservations by talking personally to the desk clerk on the phone. Another family made it by the online Surestay reservation system. The fourth family made it through a link with AAA. Thus, the reservations were accomplished in different ways, each way generating confirmations of the stay. About two weeks out from the time needed on the reservation, when one of our members later called the St. Marys Surestay Plus by Best Western to extend an additional day, he learned for the first time he did not have a reservation, nor did we, and alerted the rest of us. I called and spoke with the general manager, Melissa. At first she referred to it as a “computer glitch”. Then she stated that this happens all the time with Surestay Plus and her motel in particular. They allow overbooking to occur and will notify the guests about a week out that the “confirmed” reservation is cancelled. She stated that her motel had no rooms available for any of our four confirmed room reservations. She claimed it was endemic to her operation and to the hotel industry in general because the St. Marys Surestay Plus reservation system is unable to integrate multiple booking platforms to prevent this. Apparently, this is so even when talking with the desk clerk! She did assist with rebooking in another motel in another town. She refused to offer any financial compensation for the Surestay Plus multiple cancellations in the way of reduced or free rates at her “sister motel”. She would not answer the question if other persons at Surestay Plus by Best Western had “confirmed” reservations and would be permitted to stay.

"Comfortable Spot in St. Mary's"

Eggfong, Newnan, Georgia 31/01/2022

This property makes it seem a good idea to stay a couple of days extra, see some more of the sites. A decent little breakfast gets us out and active early in the morning, a friendly bar on property tucks us in. This is a decent stop for two 60 plus childless adults. A decent find.

Melissa Braun, General Manager at SureStay Plus Hotel by Best Western St Marys Cumberland, responded to this review
It sounds like you enjoyed your stay here! Our area and our place have lots to offer everyone! Please come back again soon.

"Fav place to stay!"

User 08/01/2022

The staff is friendly and provides great service. Clean, affordable rooms. As a solo traveler, I have always felt safe at this hotel. Perfect location for trips to Cumberland Island National Seashore.

Melissa Braun, General Manager at SureStay Plus Hotel by Best Western St Marys Cumberland, responded to this review
Thank you for giving us such a great review! Look forward to seeing you again soon!

"Very nice"

Eduardo1022, Grayson, Georgia 20/12/2021

The hotel is in the process of being renovated and I like what they have done so far. Our room was basically two rooms that were combined into one by making a doorway between them. One side had the kitchen and living room the other side had the bathroom and beds. It was very comfortable clean. Basically all we needed for a nights stay as we travelled around for vacation. The only thing I would change is the fridge was very old. Did I mention there is a full kitchen and washer/dryer? Also, I see so many comments about this place not having an elevator…. It's only two floors and most buildings in this country with two floors are not required to have an elevator. Now if you are handicapped I would recommend calling ahead and asking for a first floor room .

Melissa Braun, General Manager at SureStay Plus Hotel by Best Western St Marys Cumberland, responded to this review
Thank you Eduardo1022 for giving such a great review. We have been making lots of changes around here and there's still more to come! We hope you will be able to come back again soon.

"Older gem"

pamelagary, Pinetta, Florida 19/12/2021

Fantastic value! We stayed in the queen suite because we were traveling with grandkids. The room was older but very clean and HUGE! My only regret was not being able to enjoy the beautiful pool because it's December. Our room had a full size stove w/ oven, full size fridge, microwave, kitchen sink, etc. Even a washer and dryer. It's basically a small apartment! I would highly recommend this for families.

Melissa Braun, General Manager at SureStay Plus Hotel by Best Western St Marys Cumberland, responded to this review
Dear pamelagary, Thank you so much for the great review! Please come back again soon!

"Do not clean rooms"

Greenfirefarm, Marshall, North Carolina 16/11/2021

Stayed two nights. They did not clean the room or replenish towels or supplies. The phone in the room did not work so went to front desk to inquire about cleaning. Was told they were short staffed and did not get to clean all the rooms. We were provided with towels and a broom and dustpan to clean the room ourselves. The next morning on checkout was told that it was not short staffing but policy that they do not clean the rooms every night, only replenish them. The room was not replenished or serviced at all during our stay.

Melissa Braun, General Manager at SureStay Plus Hotel by Best Western St Marys Cumberland, responded to this review
Dear Greenfirefarm, Thank you for writing a review for us. Unfortunately, we have made changes in our policies like many others in the hospitality/service industry. These changes are in place to protect you as well as our staff. I am certain that sometime in the near future we will be seeing some of these policies changed back to the way it used to be. I do hope you will consider returning in the future to give us another chance to wow you.

"Great place"

MrNiceGuy843, Summerville, South Carolina 31/10/2021

I was in town for work and it was a nice little place to relax. The room was clean and comfortable. The bed and TV was nice. I arrived early and wanted to check in early, the front desk employee Jamie let me know my room wasn't ready but took my number to call me when it was. She was very nice and check in was very quick. I'll stay again next time I'm in town.

"You won't be disappointed!"

Georgiagirl1967, Athens, Georgia 23/10/2021

I'm new to trip advisor, so I hope the hotel will see this. We had never stayed at a Surestay, but it was in St. Marys and close to the historic area. I called to make reservations and spoke to a lovely young lady named Jamie. I asked her about 20 different questions, and she took her time to answer all of them. She told me about different things to do in the area, local restaurants, and addressed my concerns about getting a ground floor room since they don't have elevators. She assured me she would make sure we were ground floor which was a huge relief. The day we checked in Jamie was actually there to check us in and remembered me. She told me she made sure I got that ground floor room! The room was nice, and the pool area was beautiful. Breakfast was decent, they had a good selection. We personally liked the waffles best. The gentleman working breakfast was wonderful, I believe his name was Levi. He was so friendly, and helped us make the waffles, he even helped us carry a few items to our table. Housekeeping isn't going into rooms every day but they came to see if we needed anything and brought us new towels and coffee, and were very polite. Checkout was quick and easy, and Jamie was there again. I joked, asking if she ever leaves. All in all, it was a wonderful experience. I hope to come back to the area again soon and will be staying here. It seems they have a great team, and really have some outstanding employees.

Melissa Braun, General Manager at SureStay Plus Hotel by Best Western St Marys Cumberland, responded to this review
Thank you for your wonderful praises of the staff here Georgiapeach1967 !! We have assembled a great team here and we are all very proud of their accomplishments. We feel that between the staff, the great location, and having fantastic accommodations, we are the number one choice in the St. Marys area for any type trip. We hope you return again soon.

"Great location!"

Georgia_Peach30650, Athens, Georgia 15/10/2021

We were planning to travel to Cumberland Island for the day, and this hotel was perfectly located. Right next door is a grocery story, where we were able to pack a picnic, and the ferry (visitor's center) is just a couple of miles drive. Shops and restaurants nearby. Clean hotel, friendly staff. Would stay here again!

Melissa Braun, General Manager at SureStay Plus Hotel by Best Western St Marys Cumberland, responded to this review
Thank you Georgia_Peach30650 for staying here and for giving us such a great review! We hope you enjoyed your visit to Cumberland Island and that you are able to return again soon!

"This Place is a Dump!!!"

TheSouthernExplorer, Spring Lake, North Carolina 25/09/2021

I have previously had great experiences with Best Westerns and expected this property to be a clean, safe, reasonably placed stopped over during a family vacation. This was anything but clean or safe. Honestly, I was in fear for my family's safety the entire time we were at this hotel. The gunshots approximately a block away did not help. The rooms all open to the outside which is typically a bad sign. I booked online without knowing this detail. The property is literally falling apart. There was a sign saying the hotel was under new ownership and being renovated and one building did appear to be getting completely overhauled as there were large construction waste dumpsters in the parking lot. The room was DIRTY! There had to be at least 5 different people's hair on the bathroom floor. This is a shady hotel. STAY AWAY!

Melissa Braun, Owner at SureStay Plus Hotel by Best Western St Marys Cumberland, responded to this review
Dear TheSouthernExplorer, I'm sorry to hear your stay was not what you were expecting. We are in fact in the process of renovating the rooms and are making great progress. Unfortunately, there has to be a little bit of trash thrown out whenever we renovate anything. I am hopeful you will come back to give us another shot once all the work is completed. Melissa

"Don't stay here!"

User 24/09/2021

The room was dirty, including the toilet. The floors were sandy and dust was everywhere. There was not a luggage rack available and the hair dryer did not work until I called to have it fixed. The walls had been patched but not repainted to match the color of the wall. Breakfast did not offer any protein based foods. Everything offered was carbs and sugar. This property is not ready to be occupied and needs a good housekeeping staff.

Melissa Braun, Owner at SureStay Plus Hotel by Best Western St Marys Cumberland, responded to this review
Dear KaylP2019, Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback from your stay. We are very sorry that you had an unsatisfactory experience here. Please be assured we take any criticisms seriously and I have passed your feedback on to the appropriate staff members. We do hope in the future you will return to give us another try. Sincerely, Melissa Braun General Manager SureStay Plus Hotel by Best Western St Marys Cumberland

"Hurricane Ida evacuation"

User 16/09/2021

This hotel was amazing. I had family stay there because they evacuated from New Orleans because of hurricane Ida. I was so happy to hear that General Manager Ms. Melissa made them feel at home. Everything was nice, clean and neat and everyone was very nice. I would definitely recommend this establishment for your vacation needs.

Melissa Braun, Owner at SureStay Plus Hotel by Best Western St Marys Cumberland, responded to this review
Thank you so much for the kind words! I do hope you get to come back again soon, but under better circumstances! Melissa

These reviews are the subjective opinions of individual travelers and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.