Room 1
Room 2
Room 3
Promotion code

Best Western Premier Hotel Richmond City Gateway, Richmond

4303 Commerce Road, 23234-2239, Richmond, United States - See on a map
Best Western Premier Richmond City Gateway - Welcome to the Best Western Premier Richmond City Gateway The Best Western Premier Richmond City Gateway is ideally located in the center of Richmond. Come and experience our hotel near the major tourist attractions. Best price guaranteed and exclusive deals.

Just 10 minutes from downtown Richmond, the Best Western Premier Richmond City Gateway is located directly off I-95. We offer plenty of complimentary parking and are close to everything central Virginia has to offer. Guests enjoy the vibrant mix of history, culture and outdoor recreation in Richmond, VA. The hotel's location in Richmond, VA is ideal for those who want to experience the best of Virginia's capital without paying downtown prices. Stroll along historic Monument Avenue, visit the cafes and galleries of the Fan District and tour St. John's Church, the site of Patrick Henry's famous speech. Don't miss the unique boutiques of Carytown and whitewater rafting on the James River. When business brings you to Richmond, VA, the hotel's guests can take advantage of a 24-hour Business Center, free high-speed, wireless Internet access and 4000 square feet of event space for business meetings. The Greater Richmond Convention Center, state government offices, DuPont, Philip Morris/Altria Group, Inc and the Defense Supply Center of Richmond are 10 minutes from the hotel's site. After a busy day in Richmond, VA, relax in The Victor Bar & Grill, which serves breakfast and dinner in a lively atmosphere. You can keep up with your workouts with an updated Fitness Center and an outdoor pool.

Best Western Premier

Hotel Richmond City Gateway

LABEL_ITINERAIRE

LABEL_DEPART:

LABEL_ARRIVEE:

Hotel advantages

  • Restaurant
    Restaurant
  • Air conditioning
    Air conditioning
  • Lounges/bars
    Lounges/bars
  • Free parking
    Free parking
  • Outdoor parking
    Outdoor parking
  • 24-hour front desk
    24-hour front desk
Show More Show Less

Guest reviews

In partnership with tripadvisor fr
based on 12 guest reviews
NOTE ISSUED
Excellent
5
Very Good
1
Average
1
Poor
1
Terrible
4
REFER TO NOTICE
Business Business
2
Couples Couples
1
Family Family
3
Friends getaway Friends getaway
1
Solo travel Solo travel
1
SUMMARY NOTES
Cleanliness
Location
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Value

"Worst Best Western Ever!"

1
User 16/06/2021

This is the worst Best Western I've ever stayed at (I have been staying primarily at Best Western hotels for the past nine years). The General Manager and staff are well aware of long-term guests smoking in the rooms. When I called the front desk I was told they were aware that the guests in the room next to mine are smoking, as they have been there over a month. The room was not clean, the floors looked like they had not been swept and dust was apparent throughout the room. It appeared that only high touch surfaces may have been wiped. The only items available for breakfast were coffee and water. It appeared that this hotel may be serving as subsidized, temporary, long-term housing. Do not stay at this hotel.

"Newly remodeled exceptional"

5
User 14/06/2021

Beautiful rooms, wood floors, huge bathroom, 50 " TV. Will return!. Great location.Very impressed with this facility. You want 200 words to accept but I am running out of words. Don't know what else I can say. Beds were exceptionally comfortable as were pillows and towels.

"n/a"

1
User 08/06/2021

4303 Commerce Road Richmond, Virginia 23234 The The United States...This location in Richmond I was or there last weekend they I found cockroaches in room 125 and overcharge wis out any reasons,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,

"Great Price, Excellent Location, and Wonderful Staff!!"

5
User 26/05/2021

Upon Business Travel to the DC area, I wanted to take the time to explore the Richmond VA city to solve my curiosity of what the city had to offer. I pulled in (directly off the I-95 highway) to Best Western Premier Gateway really because of the hotel look - very Polished & clean from the highway- which drew me In. My Check-in process was seamless & the front desk appeal & staff were beyond excellent. Margaret was extremely helpful in giving suggestions of some "Must-See" attractions in the are. My King Bedroom were quite and had everything i needed for the weekend stay along with housekeeping keeping me with plenty of towels. lol I do plan to return to this hotel on my future work-travels.

"Great stay"

5
carlton804, Richmond, Virginia 23/05/2021

Hotel and staff were great room was nice and clean. The location of the hotel was great near the interstate. I would definitely stay here again in the future the price was exceptional and the appearance of the property was well kept

"Nasty room, trash in, hair on sheets etc."

2
omethab, Greensboro, North Carolina 04/05/2021

I arrived May 1st. The assistant mgr. Jessica did group us together however, she stated my room was ready, it was not. There were unwrapped candy and oatmeal cookies wrappers laying b/w the box spring and mattress in room 409. I know this because the mattress was pulled away from the headboard. I took pictures and Zelda at the front desk asked to see them . She was also shown the black hair's that awaited me when I pulled the comforter back. Now, the entrance to the room had a blue sticker on it showing it had been cleaned and sanitized. It had not however, Zelda at the front desk stated the room was logged as dirty. How and why did the assistant mgr. miss this? After this diaster I was placed in room 406, the room was clean with the exception of the rust and missing stopper in the tub. Who really cares about a stopper but, when whomever cleaned pulled the tub curtain back to show it was clean they should have examined the tub first and noticed the beige tube looking instrument sticking up in the tub. By the way, neither room 409 nor 406 had hot running water. Not only is this establishment a disappointment, it's a waste of time to book. If this place has been renovated I shutter to think what it previously looked like. I won't even discuss the issue my mother had in room 407. When a business places a sign at the entrance showing face mask required they may want to ensure those working there are also wearing mask. My advice is this, unless you are desperate, there are absolutely no other hotels available, don't waste your time or money at this location.

"Desk promised cancellation but was still billed for room"

1
User 30/03/2021

Awful customer service. Arrived with pets, but was told that hotel had changed hands and would not honor previous owners pet-friendly policy. Even though reservation was made the same day, and the agent on the phone was very clear that it was a pet friendly hotel. Upon arrival, desk clerk agreed to cancel reservation with refund, so we went elsewhere, but we were still billed our credit card, and have been fighting for months to get our money back. This was a last minute booking so we needed a place to stay, but other than that, the place was pretty shabby looking, and seemed unsafe, so unless you absolute need to stay there, I would recommend looking for another hotel.

"Girls soccer tournament"

3
FightOnJeff, Naperville, Illinois 26/03/2021

Our room was clean and orderly. Some are under construction with dust. Need to drive to any food destinations. I just have to say the girl manager in the morning was very accommodating and nice. She was great on our morning check-out. However, the night manager has to be the classiest dressed hotel manager with an incredible supportive attitude. He wore a three-piece nice suit both nights we were there and said “hello” every time we came in. You have such a great staff at a location that I think may garner some complaints. Thank you two for an enjoyable stay and God Bless!

"Great Comfortable Stay"

4
truejew79, South Boston, Virginia 14/03/2021

Last minute overnight stay to avoid driving home 2 1/2 hours away. The family really enjoyed it. The service desk associates were all very friendly. The price was affordable & the rooms are very clean.

"Great Stay"

5
User 09/03/2021

Came in with my son's team. Hotel took care of all our needs and made sure we had a full hot breakfast before the tournament. Seems like they were the only hotel to do so. Thanks to the hotel staff for everything

"Traveling "

1
User 07/03/2021

What a bad place to stay no hot water I was up half the night with noise from next room I had to go to the main desk to complain no coffee maker very expensive no free breakfast I will not be staying there again

"Nice rooms"

5
User 02/03/2021

Property is newly renovated. I loved the look and the staff was great. Maybe when i return the restaurant will be opened. If there was anything i could change it would be the elevators. They are bland inside. NO artwork or information besides social distance signs.

"Overnight stop"

3
natmc33076, Coral Springs,Fl 24/04/2020

When checking in that evening asked about breakfast- told next door at adjacent grill restaurant. In the morning told this is an express IHG so no breakfast, but can purchase next door at cost $$. I have stayed at other IHG this was a surprise, not happy since there are other hotels on each corner. Breakfast available extra fee. Paid $91.00 for one night

IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Premier Richmond City Gateway, responded to this review
Hello natmc33076, Thank you for your overnight stay and for taking the time to leave us feedback. As a full-service hotel with a full-service restaurant on-site, breakfast rates are offered separately. If not yet a member, I suggest joining the IHG Rewards Club program and book the breakfast rate to get a better deal. I hope you choose our hotel again! Best regards, Clayton Guilanda Case Manager IHGService

"May improve but not good at this time"

1
John T, Chatham 23/03/2020

I read reviews that said there was construction but the room were fine. We got there after a 13 hour drive from Florida so we're in no mood to lose our deposit and find another place. First notice the hallway was dirty from construction work. The room was not dirty but didn't display cleanliness. The bathroom was less than pleasant with a cracked Sink and stained floor. Worst of all was finding a cockroach in the bathroom the next morning. It may be better in a few months but today it's a dirty dump.

IHGService, General Manager at Best Western Premier Richmond City Gateway, responded to this review
Hello Mr. Bailey, Thank you for choosing the Holiday Inn Richmond South - City Gateway. We are acknowledging the concerns you have raised; we apologize for the experience. We are currently in the process of renovating the property to give our guests a unique and fresh experience of what IHG has to offer. However, we should not use this as an excuse to provide you with the level of cleanliness in the room and the hallways and damaged amenities. We are determined to ensure that our hotels provide a combined sense of comfort and happiness with touches of real wonder and making the necessary changes would help us provide a better experience to all our guests in the future. Your observations have been raised with our Management team, so they can look into it more closely. Furthermore, I have sent you a private message to gather more information about your reservation. I hope you find the time to respond. At the end of the day, it is the smile that we see in our guests and the joy that you share of your stay that we always look forward to. I hope you will give us a chance by booking with us again to show you that your unsatisfactory stay was an exception. Again, thank you for sharing your comments. I look forward to hearing from you soon. Safe Travels. Hector P Case Manager IHGService

"Clean and comfortable"

4
CFofLL, Fredericton, Canada 15/02/2020

We stayed here on American Thanksgiving and unfortunately their restaurant was closed for the holiday. and we had to go out for dinner. The staff were pleasant and helpful and showed us which local restaurants were open. The next morning we had a custom made breakfast in the restaurant which was excellent. It was included with our room and was much better than the usual complimentary breakfasts you get on the road.

HolidayInnR2, General Manager at Best Western Premier Richmond City Gateway, responded to this review
CFofLL, Thanks for taking the time to write a review. I'm glad you enjoyed your breakfast and your room while staying with us. Please come back again and see all the exciting changes that are happening with the renovations. Thanks, Dwayne B. General Manager

These reviews are the subjective opinions of individual travelers and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.