Room 1
Room 2
Room 3
Promotion code

Frimurarehotellet, Sure Hotel Collection by Best Western, Kalmar

Larmtorget 2, 39232, Kalmar, Sweden - See on a map
Frimurarehotellet, Sure Hotel Collection by Best Western - Frimurarehotellet, Sure Hotel Collection by Best Western The Frimurarehotellet, Sure Hotel Collection by Best Western is ideally located in the center of Kalmar. Come and experience our hotel near the major tourist attractions. Best price guaranteed and exclusive deals.

Welcome to the Frimurarehotellet, Sure Hotel Collection by Best Western, located in the heart of Kalmar opposite the train station and right next to the centre of the city with restaurants, pubs and shopping. Coffee and tea is always served in our beautiful veranda and we offer excellent and personal service, nice newly renovated rooms and comfortable beds.

Sure Hotel Collection

Frimurarehotellet

LABEL_ITINERAIRE

LABEL_DEPART:

LABEL_ARRIVEE:

Hotel advantages

  • Complimentary full american breakfast
    Complimentary full american breakfast
  • Lounges/bars
    Lounges/bars
  • 24-hour front desk
    24-hour front desk
Show More Show Less

Guest reviews

In partnership with tripadvisor fr
based on 188 guest reviews
NOTE ISSUED
Excellent
38
Very Good
67
Average
54
Poor
20
Terrible
9
REFER TO NOTICE
Business Business
29
Couples Couples
76
Family Family
35
Friends getaway Friends getaway
15
Solo travel Solo travel
7
SUMMARY NOTES
Cleanliness
Location
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Value

"Cheap…for a reason"

1
575lelandk, Atlanta, Georgia 06/04/2022

My husband booked this hotel and it seems he made the decision based strictly on the price. We pre-paid $120 and it was far from worth that. When we arrived, the check-in desk is actually the hotel bar. Different, but ok. The woman at the front desk was either new or lost. I should have known how rough the room would be when handed metal keys. One key was for the room door and one was for the exterior door. She explained that they close and lock the door from 10pm to 7am and it is the guest's responsibility to unlock the door of coming in during that time. (Please note, this hotel is also conveniently located close to the prison.) When we got to the room, I was absolutely floored with how old the room was. We stayed in different hotels in Sweden during our week-long stay. Many are older (historic) but they have been updated. This hotel needs to be gutted. The bathroom was the smallest I've ever seen in a hotel. The strip below the door is 4-5 inches tall and will cause most to trip each time you walk in and out. There is rust all around the very high tub. The slippers left to use were stained and gross. As stated in another review, there is a basket of treats with no pricing that some will confuse as complimentary but it is the mini-bar. I saw that management told another reviewer that there is a card in every room and I can assure you there was not a card. At checkout, the employee asked if we ate anything from the mini-bar. We called down and asked for pillows and they said it would take an hour to bring them. That would have been fine, but they never showed up. Spend the extra money and stay somewhere that you can walk on the floor without concern.

"Do NOT stay here!"

1
User 03/02/2022

I stayed at this hotel 4 nights in total. My first stay was a one night stay, the room was a bit dated, and in need of renovation, but otherwise comfortable. There was a basket of snacks provided in the room which was a nice amenity. My second stay was for 3 nights, I originally planned on traveling with my dog, but changed my mind and did not bring her. I made my booking online, and when I checked in I advised the front desk person that my dog would not be staying. I was given a less than nice room that smelled like it was for people with dogs..but again a nice snack basket was provided. I ended up checking out a day early. I went to the desk with my keys, but could not get anyones attention, the restaurant is open to the front desk, and the front desk clerks were helping in the restaurant. Because my cab arrived I had to leave my keys and go. The next day there was a 30.00 USD charge for the basket of goodies, and a 18.00 charge for pet fee!!! I immediately called the front desk and was all but accused of taking things I didnt pay for because I didnt check out properly. I told them I thought the basket was an amenity because there was no sign or price list. They rudely insisted that there was a price card in EVERY room, but having stayed there the week before and taken snacks from the basket and NOT been charged I can assure you there was not list or card or sign! I also explained that I never brought my dog, and they insisted that it was mentioned in my reservation so I was being charged. The ONLY way in and out of the building is past the front desk, so I guess I was also being accused of smuggling my dog in and out!! Even after explaining the situation I was told basically that the ONLY thing they were willing to do was to NOT charge me for the snacks from my first stay..! Unbelivevabley poor customer service. I will NEVER stay here again, and advise everyone to consider other alternatives. Try Clarion Packhuset on the waterfront..more expensive but worth every penny!

"Family trip "

5
James_Pereira, Oskarshamn, Sweden 27/02/2021

Really nice hotel in the middle of the city. Staff is really helpful and cooperative. We love to come back again. The Room which we got was a bit congested but it was nice. It gives you Feels like kind of old style house

Sara Carlsson, Hotelldirektör at Frimurarehotellet, Sure Hotel Collection by Best Western, responded to this review
Hi! Thank's for the feedback. Welcome back when you are in Kalmar

"vacation"

5
User 22/06/2020

very good location and the staff were very kind.the hotel was clean and cozy, the breakfast was tasty and diversified.the hotel has some historical authenticity.i really enjoyed it!i am sure we will come back. I totally recommend it!

Sara Holst, Other at Frimurarehotellet, Sure Hotel Collection by Best Western, responded to this review
Thank you so much for your lovely feedback We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you again next time you visit Kalmar Have a really nice summer and welcome back Best regards / Nathalie

"Great service!"

4
one_picture_away, Gothenburg, Sweden 20/06/2020

We stayed here for 3 nights and ordered a quiet room at the top floor. I didnt check that the hotel only had two floors, so we received a room to the centralstation that was on the second floor and should be quiet. It was a lovely room, small but beautiful and had a safety box. The bathroom however didnt fit the to the rest of the model of the room. Looked more like a bathroom in an old apartment. But it was fresh and clean and that was all that mattered! Overall we where satisfied with the room. The airconditioner on the outside was pretty loud even with the window closed but we thought we could manage until we heard regulary sound like someone was throwing heavy things in a garbage container. In that moment we realized that our room must be above the Kitchen and that was a sound either of us could bear. So we went down to the reception and asked for a new room. They was very helpfull and asked us if we wanted a room on first floor to the yard or on the second floor on the edge towards the square. We descided to take the last one. The room was bigger and more modern, beautiful bathroom! No safety box but it was a bit louder especially during midsummer. Even so, the noise cancellers helped the sleep and we did sleep well. There is no fridge on the rooms but some sort of minibar with candy. The prices are normal so its easy to grab a candy on the go! The breakfast buffé had a good portion of choices and we where very satisfied! The seatings where the breakfast is beeing served is a bit boring but you may sit in the restaurant and eat where it is more cosy and warm. There is parkings around the hotel. Be sure to search at Kalmar Parking and choose the green parking zonen cause they are the cheapest. There are several places of theese in Kalmar. There is also a parking lot owned by aimo parking where you may stand longer period.

Sara Holst, Other at Frimurarehotellet, Sure Hotel Collection by Best Western, responded to this review
Thank you so much for your lovely feedback! We are so glad to hear that you really enjoyed your stay with us We hope to see you again next time you visit Kalmar Have a nice summer Best regards / Nathalie

"Centrally located and well-appointed"

4
okeedoke, washington state 05/01/2020

We enjoyed our one-night stay in this fine hotel and marveled at how quite the nearby plaza became... even after a rock concert! The city of Kalmar is just lovely, too. Our room faced the plaza, so we expected an interrupted sleep cycle, but were surprised at how civilly Swedes attend a concert. The entire plaza was cleared and cleaned by 11:30! The hotel has vintage, but well-maintained decor and their breakfast was more than respectable. Highly recommend!

Sara H, Receptionist at Frimurarehotellet, Sure Hotel Collection by Best Western, responded to this review
Thank you so much for your kind words abput your stay! Next time you visit Kalmar, we hope to see you here again. Have a great day

"Central as central can be"

4
T2452QSinfo, Sollentuna, Sweden 17/09/2019

Very good location in the Kalmar city centre. Walking distance to historical attactions such as the Kalmar castle as well as the sea. Parking facilities on the street are free of charge during night hours.

"Lovely old building "

5
merlinsurrietrekker, Glenshaw, Pennsylvania 16/09/2019

We only had one night at the Frimurare, so my review is a bit biased. On first look I loved the old hallways and wooden floors. The decor of the attached restaurant has a bit too much of a cattle theme for me, but other who enjoy been may like it. The room was fine and despite being at street level we did get a good nights sleep. I will say that the presence of earplugs on the desk as you enter the room is telling should you be staying during busy summer months.

"Best location in town, well-maintained, older charm"

4
Jane G, Seattle, Washington 29/08/2019

If you're using a Eurorail pass, this is the best place to stay in Kalmar. Yes, it's on a popular square. Yes, it does not have the stillness of a country spot, people love gathering in the square. I found the earplugs provided worked like a charm. The included breakfast was one of the best of our trip. We like older places with wooden floors and high ceilings. Just right for us. Very clean.

"A nice stay in Kalmar"

4
Kevlarhumlan, Brisbane, Australia 09/07/2019

Very charming old hotel in the city centre. Charming meat-restaurant with cool interior and a bit of steam-punk art. Comfy beds, wooden floors in room, clean bathroom. Lots of restaurants just outside and entertainment.

"A little worn, but still a great location"

3
mblam7, Seattle, Washington 02/07/2019

It shows some of it's years, but was comfortable and clean. Decent breakfast buffet included and home to one of the better restaurants in the area. All parking is in public spots and there are many nearby.

"LOUD!!!!!"

2
User 24/06/2019

If you want a quiet night this is NOT the place! They have ear plugs in the room. The noise from the bar is SO loud! It feels like there is a party going on next door. The staff acted surprised by this but after reading other reviews it is common. We actually left a night early and were not reimbursed or discounted. We were even on the back side of the hotel!! The room was nice and clean and the staff was friendly. It is strange that they also work at the restaurant and check you in. There is no one there to help you after 8pm. I would not recommend this place!

Sara H, Manager at Frimurarehotellet, Sure Hotel Collection by Best Western, responded to this review
Dear, Jim Thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our property. On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations. It´s both advantages and disadvantages to be a centrally located hotel. We have information about this on our website that it is full activity on the square, specially during the summer. We have quiet rooms that are located towards the park. You are more than welcome to wish for one of those when you make a reservation. I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience. Have a nice day and a great summer. Best regards

"evening poor"

2
R466MOdavideg, amsterdam, The Netherlands 16/05/2019

the room and forniture are very old and obsolete, the check in was too long because the staff was involved in the restaurant as waiters, The breakfast selection was wide but the quality was nothing of special

Sara H, Manager at Frimurarehotellet, Sure Hotel Collection by Best Western, responded to this review
Thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our property. On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we offer a better experience for guests in the future. I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience. Best regards

"Smell of bacon when you awake"

2
mariadD7625OP, Soderkoping, Sweden 14/05/2019

I should have remembered the smell from the breakfast in the rooms in the morning from bacon and fried stuff! It's really bad and it sticks to your clothes hair every thing. It's really a turn off for the stay. Then breakfast is not up to standard, dirty plates that have food left after cleaning is out, the selection is poor presentation doesn't make it better and the smell turn everything to be like a cheap dinner. It's really sad to have that feeling.So if you are there for work you will smell for the rest of the day! Rooms are simple bed okay and the cleaning of the rooms are good! Staff seams lacking of manger that has experience of leading them. Even if I love location and think rooms are okay this will be my last stay.

Sara H, Front Office Manager at Frimurarehotellet, Sure Hotel Collection by Best Western, responded to this review
Thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our property. On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we offer a better experience for guests in the future. Because we had no room in the breakfast room we chosed to place the hot buffet in the hallway. We want to apologize for the inconvenience. I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience. Sincerely, Agnes, Receptionist 56007 Property Frimurarehotellet, Sure Hotel Collection by Best Western Kalmar Sweden

"Nice but the noise is unbearable"

2
User 27/04/2019

The hotel itself is nice, beds comfy and has everything you need for a good stay. The staff were friendly and helpful and breakfast was nice. However, we were facing the front and, as mentioned in other reviews, the bar opposite is so loud. Even with noise cancelling windows (and fortunately in April it wasn't hot so no need to open them) the base just goes right through the room. It's awful and I wouldn't return.

"Lovely hotel"

4
Anoth, Kegworth, United Kingdom 31/08/2018

The hotel is in a great location. I flew into Kalmar airport and then caught the bus from outside the airport for 28 SKR into Kalmar central station. You can see the hotel from the station so it is very easy to find. My flight was later in the day so I emailed the hotel as their reception may close early. They left me with instructions on how to access my room and where they would leave my key. I agree with another review that this hotel is not good for vegetarians! There is meat hanging in the doorway, and the whole place smells a bit like a butchers. It was a bit strange to be honest and not entirely pleasant. The rooms are lovely, bed very comfy even with the tiny pillows. I love the wooden floorboards and unique charm. My room was 39 which is right on the end upstairs but facing the bar. To be honest I didn't hear any noise but I didn't have the windows open much. My room did not have any tea of coffee making facilities which was disappointing. I would have brought my travel kettle if I had realised! The bar downstairs is very nice and I had a burger the first night. The breakfast was also excellent, although it wasn't served until 7am which was a bit late as I was on a business trip and needed to be away early. All the staff spoke perfect english and were very friendly and polite.

"Location, comfy beds, helpful staff"

4
swedoc, Stockholm, Sweden 17/07/2018

I rate this hotel as 4 rather than 3, due to the great location at the square with all restaurants; the quiet room with comfy beds; and the helpful staff. They are currently installing air condition, much needed during the rare Swedish heat waves. The hotel restaurant seemed nice, although it was closed the day we stayed.

Sara H, Receptionist at Frimurarehotellet, Sure Hotel Collection by Best Western, responded to this review
Thank you so much for your feedback! You are welcome back to visit us next time you're in Kalmar Have a great summer Best regards, Nathalie Frimurarehotellet

"We enjoyed our short stay"

4
flagirl30, florida 06/07/2018

We were only here one night but enjoyed it. Our room was in the front, near the noisy bar. We turned on the fan, closed the windows, and fell right to sleep. The view was very nice over the square. We are in the restaurant-it was delicious! Funky "cow" décor downstairs. We learned the chef was in the States for a few years. Nice place to stay in Kalmar.

Sara H, Receptionist at Frimurarehotellet, Sure Hotel Collection by Best Western, responded to this review
Thank you so much for your kind words I hope you visit Kalmar again, and you are more than welcome back to our hotel. Have a great summer / Nathalie, Receptionist Frimurarehotellet

"Nostalgic hotel"

4
JuhaT195, Tampere, Finland 19/10/2017

Stayed two nights in this old hotel. Trult a nostalgic feeling. Room was very spacious as we had booked a family room. The room was located on the second floor anf had s view towards the theater. It was a quiet neighbourhood this time of the year. Bed was big and comfy. Bathroom was clean with a bathtube much to the liking of our youngster.

"Overpriced"

3
Lavarcham, Poulton Le Fylde, United Kingdom 17/09/2017

The hotel is a fine looking building in the centre of town. We had a superior double room on the second floor. Thanks to advice of Trip Advisors we were warned in advance of noise from the bar across the square from the front of the hotel and we asked for a quiet room. Our large room overlooked the park and we were untroubled by noise. The bed was comfortable and the shower had good power. However the bathroom space was small and had seen better days. Breakfast was included. The scrambled eggs and bacon was particularly good and there was a good choice of fresh fruit as well as other options. A warning to vegetarians and vegans. Entering the hotel it was a shock to see (and smell) a side of beef hanging in a glass case. 

"Can be noisy, basic room"

3
Vance B, Tualatin, Oregon 13/09/2017

Our room faced the square and there was a concert that night. With the windows closed and earplugs in place we survived. The bed was extremely soft and my wife ended up on the floor to save her back. Bathroom was fairly small and tight quarters. The room was clean and it was centrally located, which saved it from a poor rating. Only one night stay.

"very nice, very central."

4
An_Expat_Wife, Switzerland 28/08/2017

Really nice hotel in the centre of town. Good sized room with a small but functioning bathroom. Breakfast buffet was very good. Lots of options and drinkable coffee. There is an 'Irish' bar across the street that could make some of the front rooms noisy. ask for the back rooms for a quieter sleep. Sadly we didn't get to eat in their restaurant - that looks good - as they don't open on Sunday's.

"We'd try elsewhere next time..."

3
goldtoothedvillains, Kaiserslautern, Germany 20/08/2017

Interesting decor - cow hides and eclectic wall hangings.  With wide hallways, our "triple room" was a couch with a bedroll. In Sweden, we often had to step up into the bathroom (likely due to adding plumbing) which can be a real toe-breaker if you don't watch out.  In this particular hotel, we did not have any space for toiletries - which is rough when you are sharing a room with two others.   Nice exposed wood floors, two comfortable armchairs, and an antique desk.   Big mark down: rough & threadbare towels.  

These reviews are the subjective opinions of individual travelers and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.