Room 1
Room 2
Room 3
Promotion code

Best Western Premier Hotel Santa Maria, Ile-rousse

Route du Port BP 107, 20220, Ile-rousse, France - See on a map
Best Western Premier Santa Maria - Lobby The Best Western Premier Santa Maria is ideally located in the center of Ile-rousse. Come and experience our hotel near the major tourist attractions. Best price guaranteed and exclusive deals.

The Best Western Premier Santa Maria is ideally situated opposite the red islands of Ile Rousse, right on the water's edge, with direct access to its own private beach. We are the ideal place for a dream holiday, with comfort of a 3-Star hotel, offering terraces and rooms with a sea view. Best Western Premier Santa Maria definitely has the best of both worlds with its beachside location and close access to the activities and amenities Ile Rousse has to offer. Our hotel provides an extensive breakfast buffet. All rooms are air-conditioned, with a balcony or patio and equipped to a good standard with satellite television, telephone, en-suite bathrooms (bath or shower), hairdryer, mini-bar, safe, and Wi-Fi access on garden/park car side on the ground floor, standard room on the first floor park car side or on the ground floor garden side, and many rooms are on sea side (ground floor or first and second floor). Enjoy your stay.

Best Western Premier

Hotel Santa Maria




Hotel advantages

  • Outdoor pool
    Outdoor pool
  • Air conditioning
    Air conditioning
  • Free parking
    Free parking
  • Outdoor parking
    Outdoor parking
  • 24-hour front desk
    24-hour front desk
  • Safe deposit box
    Safe deposit box
  • Multilingual staff
    Multilingual staff
  • Environmental label
    Environmental label
  • Electric vehicle charging station
    Electric vehicle charging station
Show More Show Less

Guest reviews

In partnership with tripadvisor fr
Certificate of Excellence 2020
Travelers Choice 2022
Travelers_Choice 2020
based on 742 guest reviews
Very Good
Business Business
Couples Couples
Family Family
Friends getaway Friends getaway
Solo travel Solo travel
Sleep Quality

"location and quality rooms and bedding"

Gino V, Weston super Mare, United Kingdom 15/03/2022

Great views and great location. One of the best beds I have ever slept in and room has everything you expect from a Best Western. Loved the reception staff and the lady who took care of us at breakfast in the morning. Attentive, friendly, helpful, smiley and chatty. Thank you Marianna. You know the meaning of the word hospitality.

"Nice and Confortable Hotel"

Jiro28876, tokyo 18/12/2021

The food, service, staff, rooms, amenities were all excellent. We enjoyed a lot the delicious breakfast everyday, Mariana smiles all the time so always felt a very good atmosphere, waiters are friendly, too. We highly recommend Best Western Santa Maria!

"The best breakfast in town"

User 15/12/2021

Excellent service, the view of the place is awesome, the breakfast is delicious. The attention to details from the staff is high quality, especially from Mariana, simply the best. The pool was perfect to spend a quiet day with my partner, without a doubt the best experience!

"Very nice"

Stay49604525472, Marrakech, Morocco 04/12/2021

Very good breackfast proposed by Mariana Was delicious with corsica products and great overview on landscape Room was huge and well equipped That is a very nice hotel for a moderate pricing Location is good, clothe to port, center, shops….

"A hotel to feel like your own villa."

261antonisg, Athens, Greece 06/11/2021

The hotel is located at front of the sea nearby the center of the town , with a unique view to the seaside and the small port. The room was very large and comfortable , clean and with a lot details that the guest can feel comfortable and welcoming. The breakfast reach and in very logical price. The most important very pleasant and helpful personal, always with a true smile. I shall book again for sure in my next visit to Corsika.

"Private beach"

the-rabbit7, Lucan, Ireland 17/08/2021

We had come for a walk, to visit but to finish we had spent our stay on the private beach of the hotel, so beautiful, so blue, so warm, it was paradise, beautiful bright room, good value for money, the staff was very good both day and night, excellent breakfast with local specialties and always served with a smile

"Close to the port"

MarWil555, Denmark 01/10/2020

very well received, the staff is charming, we liked this hotel very much, good general condition, beautiful swimming pool very cool after beautiful days under the sun, charming room with a beautiful decoration to our taste, it was very good

"Great Location to explore the town and surrounding area."

rourkemanchester, Sheffield, United Kingdom 27/09/2019

Good basic hotel with clean rooms, good parking, decent breakfast, and pleasant staff. Pool was very good and even in September was very warm. A five minute walk to the station (for day trip to Calvi) and within an hour of St Florent by car. Main town a ten minute walk away with numerous bars and restaurants

Hôtel Santa Mar... I, Axelle, service réservation at Best Western Santa Maria, responded to this review
Hi, it is a pleasure to read you, we thank you for this sharing. It's a pleasure to see you again


HilaryCarus, Abersoch, United Kingdom 24/09/2019

A bright contemporary family run Hotel with garden and balcony rooms nestling on the seashore with private beach close to the bustling village of Ile Rousse which boasts literally dozens and dozens of high quality restaurants and shops. A wonderfully authentic experience.


rickl399, Oakville, Canada 17/09/2019

A great hotel with an excellent location. Overlooks the ocean & harbour. Lots of spaces in the hotel to relax inside and outside. Short 10 minute walk to the town. Has a very nice pool (although not heated). Has a great breakfast (€17) but no lunch or dinner.

Hôtel Santa Mar... I, Axelle, service réservation at Best Western Santa Maria, responded to this review
Bonjour, Nous sommes ravis de vous lire et espérons vous revoir. Nous vous souhaitons une belle semaine. A bientôt L'équipe Santa Maria

"Great hotel"

User 12/08/2019

Excellent hotel .. rooms are large and clean Staff are super friendly and overall a very comfortable stay . Breakfast was amazing and worth it. Close to the centre .. with a 5 minute wall to all the restaurants

Hôtel Santa Mar... I, service réservation at Best Western Santa Maria, responded to this review
Hi, We thank you for sharing your beautiful experience in our establishment. It's a pleasure to see you again. best regards Axelle

"Great place to stay"

Adrian B, Sandbach, United Kingdom 19/07/2019

We were here for the first week in July. Lovely room with sea view. Great breakfast with everything you could wish for. Both the hotel and our room were kept very clean. Nice little private beach with sunloungers and parasols directly in front of the hotel although swimming was a little difficult as it was very rocky in this area and you had to watch out for sea urchins. However, the town and the main beach (very swimmer friendly) were only a ten minute walk away. Ille Rousse is a working town and not just a purpose built tourist area so there were plenty of locals out and about as well as tourists. Some very nice restaurants and cafes to go to at night. Dont let the fact that the hotel is opposite the port put you off as this was in no way detrimental to our stay. I would not hesitate to come back to this hotel and would certainly recommend it as a perfect base to either stay in for your holiday or to explore the rest of the Northern part of the island from.

Hôtel Santa Mar... I, service réception at Best Western Santa Maria, responded to this review
Good morning, It is very pleasant to read you, and we would be delighted to see you again. have a nice day:) Axelle

"Best value for our trip"

dorm1956, North Carolina Coast, North Carolina 01/07/2019

We traveled for 3 weeks mid-June thru early July ... some time in Paris, Aix-en Provence, Corsica, Spain and Lisbon. We stayed 4 nights in L'lle Rousse at the Best Western and thoroughly enjoyed the hotel. The rooms were furnished nicely, modern, cool, clean and staff was excellent as well. I pre-paid for the breakfast which was very nice and overall a good value. The location was very close to the town and on the beach wherein we could sun, kayak, paddle board, etc ... all right at the hotel. Parking was provided too. Overall, this hotel was a great value for our trip.

Hôtel Santa Mar... I, Axelle booking service at Best Western Santa Maria, responded to this review
Hi,what a wonderful comment, with the whole team and myself we are very grateful to you for sharing your beautiful experience with us. We really care about the good care of our customers and reading you is a real reward. We are most happy. We would love to see you again. Have a nice week.

"Can it be much better?"

Kas2356, Brussels, Belgium 13/04/2019

First time in this hotel but several times there in rented apartments or hotels. This is totally renovated and all rooms with a balcony this one with afternoon sun, late. Very good breakfast heated pool outdoor and good parking places. Only a short walk to the old town of Ile Rousse. Perfect for holiday. Nice prices outside high seasons.


jouri k, Vancouver, Canada 11/10/2018

We spent 11 days at this hotel. After two days after arrival the assortment of breakfast buffet decreased in half , so many items disappeared.we complained to the general manager about it, however it was NOT any improvement at all. I've noticed strange things like personal takes home bread , general manager takes with his hands food and feeds his dog from breakfast table.Private beach access does not has a sand but stones and without proper shoes it is very difficult to get in the water.Parking lots are tiny. Overall impression: that hotel is not matching category of 4 stars, on My opinion it might be two and half.

Hôtel S, Directeur général at Best Western Santa Maria, responded to this review
Goos evening, First, we would like to thank you for taking the time to let us a comment. We have noticed your remarks and are working them. I would like to come back on your observation about the breakfast: we offer a buffet breakfast with over 60 products, its changes according to seasons. It is true that during your stay among us we removed 2 products, the fruit salad and the quiche; and when you complained about this removalous we made fresh fruit salad just for you. For the strange things such as personnal take home breads, it is true as i pay the breas for my guest, I find legetimate to take the leftover home instead of throw it away! nobody takes food from the breakfast table with their hands, this is not hygienic and forbidden even to food dogs. We are sorry that such détails had so important impact on your experience, but I can insure your that we are a true 4 star hotel and even pretty well groded an different classement. If you ever feel like coming back in our establistment, a quiche will be waiting for you in your room to show you how much we care about our customers deception sincerely yours. Best regards Romain FRANCISCI

"Wonderful accessible hotel with stunning views "

JudyB210, Street, Somerset 24/09/2018

Absolutely amazing hotel with panoramic views. Next to lovely small beach (great for snorkelling) with direct access from our ground floor room. Hotel wheelchair accessible which is unusual for Corsica in my experience. Superb breakfast every morning. Staff really friendly and helpful. Lovely pool, lounge and bar on first floor to relax and enjoy the views.

"Good hotel with gorgeous view "

ambrekoko, Casablanca, Morocco 29/08/2018

Good hotel with a beautiful view of the sea. Breakfast was good even though a tad too expensive for what is being offered. My family doesn't eat pork and they were 5 types of meat made of pork which is disappointing. Beds are confortable and the bathroom is big.

"Stunning views"

User 17/08/2018

Fantastic sea view room with balcony in a quiet location. Excellent swimming pool and jacuzzi. Also small private beach although tricky to swim there because of rocks. Bar staff very friendly. Only disappointment was high cost of breakfast. Excellent location within walking distance of Ile Rousee and lighthouse. Would definitely return.

"Fabulous hotel"

lelly642018, Leeds, United Kingdom 06/08/2018

Stayed for a week with husband. Fabulous sea view room on 2nd floor with all mod cons including tea and coffee making facility and large balcony. Lovely big and comfortable bed and excellent, quiet and efficient air conditioning which we needed on all day and night through heat wave. The staff were friendly and accommodating and we enjoyed a few cocktails at the bar. Breakfast was very good with plenty of choice. We particularly enjoyed the fresh pancakes with local honey. Nice, small swimming pool with plenty of sun beds and a private beach down a few steps. Beaches in area are lovely, but rocky so waterproof sandals a good idea. I bought some cheaply in town. Only 5 minute walk to pleasant town with shops and good restaurants. We enjoyed our holiday in Corsica very much. Thank you!

"Ile rousse"

ArnePlex, Oslo, Norway 01/08/2018

Great location, next to the beach where you can see the sunset. Parking was easy here. Nice pool area with a poolbar. Sam the bartender made great drinks and was very helpful. We had a great stay. 3 min walk to the city center and 1 min to the trainstation.

"Grate location and very friendly"

aureliaowner, London, United Kingdom 11/07/2018

This was a slightly bittersweet stay, as we were booked for two nights, pre paid, at the end of the GR20, but we discovered that I had booked the flight out the next morning. The concierge staff was very helpful, but we could not change the flight as it was full for the following day, because of a music festival. So we were there for less than 24 hours. Lovely room just above the private beach, although it faces the south west so was a bit rough for a late afternoon swim. Wonderful breakfast - our best in 10 days of Corsica.

"Outstanding, better rooms on first or second floors"

User 12/05/2018

I spent a week here as part of a walking group. It was a very good experience that would have merited 5* if it weren't for my room being on the ground floor looking out on to the car park. Normally this wouldn't be a problem but some nights it got very busy out there with motor bikes and groups of people smoking so the fumes came back into the room (I had to have the patio doors open as the air con only worked on ‘hot'.). The moral of this story is get a room on the first or second floors. The room experience aside, the rest was outstanding. Very nice friendly staff (particular thanks to Hassan who seemed to be working every day in the restaurant). Great facilities, great views, substantial breakfast buffet (important for walkers) and very good evening meals. Free internet, as you would expect the speeds dropped in the evening when lots of guests logged on. Kettle, tea and coffee in the room was very welcome. The standard of decoration and facilities is good throughout all the hotel areas. I would recommend staying here, but check what room you are allocated. I couldn't move rooms as the hotel was fully booked all week.

"Can't fault it"

BelleHelen, Wiltshire 09/10/2017

Wow-the location,the views from the bar,the beach,the food,the staff.Not very often I give such a great review but this hotel deserves it.Just returned form a walking holiday and the hotel was our magnificent base.

"Fabulous hotel with great staff and in an excellent location"

andywalker63, Epsom, United Kingdom 09/08/2017

We spent 10 enjoyable days at the Hotel Santa Maria and loved every minute. The hotel staff, from the receptionist to the bar staff and the manager were all incredibly friendly and helpful. The pool and private beach were both nice and quiet and relaxed and the hotel is in a great location on the edge of town within easy walking distance of an array of excellent bars and restaurants. All in all a delightful hotel!!!

"Honeymoon Bliss"

Tiffanie B, Brooklyn, New York 30/07/2017

This hotel has everything you need to spend hours tucked away inside of its doors. Great staff and room service. They even offer a 15% discount on bar snacks during lunch hours everyday. Private pool with jacuzzi and beach. Both have little lounge chairs, small individual cushions and benches equipped with umbrellas. The Infiniti pool itself is enough. Along with the views you get at their beach. The beach I think is man made as its a bit rocky. Not really sand. However that's a minor detail. Like clock work the room is cleaned every morning. Its like brand new. I can appreciate that a lot being on our honeymoon I didn't want to lift a finger. Be careful though because twice the maid came in while I was mid dressing. I don't think she realized I was asking her to wait a minute! But that's okay. Waking up every morning to the mountains in Corsica made this hotel worth every penny. My one note is that we'd initially thought breakfast was included. It isn't and it's not worth paying for if you can go to a cute little restaurant and get a better selection for the same price. So I'd say skip paying for the breakfast here. They do have two parking areas as well. The young woman who checked us in our first night was splendid. Along with a woman who worked breakfast. Most of the front desk does speak English, if this is something you are concerned about. Anyway. Stop thinking about it. Stay here! Its worth it. The beds are huge the balcony is all yours and the views are amazing.

"Nice hotel at the sea"

Jostein V, Bergen, Norway 30/07/2017

We were very staisfied with the hotel. Nice rooms, good breakfast and a quiet little pool. Short distance to city center. We har connecting rooms, but there was no door between the rooms. Not neccesarily ideal for families with smal children as most guests were adult and wanted a quiet time at the pool.

"Excellent Location"

Les W, Wolverhampton, United Kingdom 20/07/2017

The hotel is situated on the edge of the town on the entrance to the causeway to the island. Easy walking distance to a good choice of restaurants. A modern hotel with its own private beach.Complimentary tea and coffee in the bedrooms. The bedroom was well equipped with a large balcony with good sea views. The staff were all very helpful and the staff on reception were happy to recommend restaurants and make a reservation for us. Very good breakfast.

"Most romantic stay in Île Rousse - Do not miss out!!!!"

User 04/07/2017

If you like beach views, sunsets, amazing customer service and top notch mattresses, do not look any further, you found the right place! This hotel is located right next to the Pietra island, with a unique view on the port of Île Rousse and its beach. My husband and I had the most wonderful time for our honeymoon. Staff is very welcoming and professional, the suite was clean, spacious with the latest appliances. Very neat! Oh and the breakfast, pool and jacuzzi were to die for. It's ideally located from downtown Île Rousse, the beach and the port. I highly recommend it to anybody who is looking for a stress free and relaxing stay. Everything will be taken care of once you arrived. Don't hesitate, book your room now!

"What a superb hotel"

PeterGB3591, Heathfield, United Kingdom 27/06/2017

My first time to Corsica and certainly struck lucky with this hotel. Room 210 stunning views with superb service. Set just outside of the town near the marina. 5 minute walk to town and beautiful local beaches hotel has it's own small beach which is also useful

"Excellent hotel in Lile Rousse"

jasper57, Matlock, United Kingdom 10/06/2017

Would regular hotel we had a superb room 119 with sea views more than 180`and so much to look at The staff were all very helpful and friendly The breakfast at 14.50 € was very good everything perfect Own separate beach perfect setting

"Very romantic"

bigmalc44, London, United Kingdom 25/05/2017

Great hotel to visit. The views are stunning so definitely worth having a sea view. Has its own beach with sunbeds and parasols (not great for swimming but you only have to cross road to sandy side). Reception and restaurant staff were very helpful. Would recommend...

"Beautiful hotel"

isabelle8410, London, United Kingdom 24/04/2017

When I saw the hotel, I thought it was a dream. The surrounding is like from heaven! But we were satisfied with everything-rooms, staff, food. You could almost swim in the sea from your room! The private beach was a very nice benefit. Great relax.

"Most enjoyable "

ADHADH, Nice, France 04/01/2017

First class room. First class breakfast. Premier position. Wonderful views. Could almost dive into the Sea from our room Charming owners. Pleasant staff. A short walk to Town where there are plenty of restaurants, ice cream shops etc What could be better for a short holiday?!

"Really great Hotel in an excellent location."

mcmahon_t, Clara, Ireland 26/10/2016

I stayed in the Santa Maria in late September, I was with a group of walkers and this hotel was used throughout the holiday as our base. Located between the small ferry port and the lovely old town, this hotel has it all i.e. very helpful staff, large comfortable rooms, private beach, swimming pool and jacuzzi plus good food. It was so good that many of the walkers have already booked for a relaxing holiday in 2017. Perfect for safe swimming in a lagoon area but using sandals is a must to avoid the sea urchins.

"Eden in L'Ile Rousse"

Chagoule, Saint-Paul de Vence 16/10/2016

The hotel is ideally located on the shore, close to the ferry terminal and a 5 minute walk to the center of L'Ile Rousse. Parking is available free of charge but only few places. It is no problem to park in the adjacent street. Garden, swimming pool, jacuzzi and small pleasant private beach makes this hotel a small eden. Staff at the reception is highly welcoming and helpful. Our party had two rooms: one spacious room in the main building with a large balcony and its gorgeous sea view overlooking the Pietra island's lighthouse and one equally spacious room in a new wing opening directly onto the garden. Both rooms were spotless, comfortable, had modern fixtures, large beds, flat TV, free WiFi, bathrooms with all amenities. Towels, beach chairs available for the beach. Taken inside, in the veranda or in the terrace facing the sea, breakfast is excellent with lots of local products and eggs to the order combined with a good and attentive service. The bar is a lively place thanks to the barman's joyfulness.Overall service is faultless. In short, at the Santa Maria you will be as close to paradise as one can be in L'Ile Rousse.

"Excellent Hotel, Modern, spotless and full of very pleasant staff."

Mikey954HighWycombe, High Wycombe, United Kingdom 26/09/2016

We stayed here September 2016, there is parking behind the Hotel or in their secure car park. The reception staff were very friendly and spoke very good English. Our room overlooked the sea and small harbour, it was well equipped and modern. It contained everything you need, and beach towels are provided by the Hotel for the seaside or swimming pool. The bar is well stocked and measures are much larger than in the UK, each time we had a drink we were also given a large dish of nibbles. This is a lovely Hotel and a really great place for a relaxing break

"Sunset at the bar"

johnnyrambo2016, London, United Kingdom 26/09/2016

What a place! Sergio at the bar was the best man ever! We had a wonderful honeymoon and enjoyed the private beach. Book in when you can and enjoy the cocktail battle. Sunset is also something to dream about!

"First Class Position"

TravellerNed1, Taunton, United Kingdom 12/09/2016

We thought the Santa Maria might be a bit expensive, but its position on the sea, and the lovely views were worth it. Good sized and well equipped swimming pool, helpful and friendly staff. We chose a room on the first floor, with roomy balcony and stunning views. Breakfast seemed a bit pricey at 15euros, but there are other places nearby. Overall, a wonderful place to stay.


Camille B, Reims, France 22/08/2016

Overall, everything has been absolutely perfect. Buffet BKA perfect ( wide range of choice) View of the room very nice quality of bed perfect Very nice private beach and very quiet Good service perfect location Very nice decoration

"Best hotel in northern/western corsica"

Paulluuxx, Luxembourg 21/08/2016

Arriving after a long trip with the ferry in île-rousse, you only have to drive 300 meters from the port to the hotel. It has a private beach with several fishes, a nice and clean pool as well as modern rooms! If you would like to do some sport, just go the fitness room at the top of the hotel. In a 2 minutes walk, you reach the city centre of ile-rousse. 100 m away you can rent jet-skis, boats, kayaks... I highly recommend the hotel!!

"We had a wonderful stay"

Oliver D, Varese 26/07/2016

Turned up without a booking in July, so room availability was quite low. First night we had a small room roadside but even then with the doors closed and the curtains drawn we slept well. It was smallish but clean and served it's purpose. The hotel itself is nicely located. The pool was lovely and clean and big enough to do little laps, my son loved it. The variety of lounge chairs around the pool were great. The water view jacuzzi was also a favourite with my son. The bar inside had a good variety of drinks and the barman was a lovely fella. The third night we moved into a suite which was lovely. Large clean, nice design, great bed! Really too much (and not cheap) as I generally only use rooms to sleep and shower. The walk into town is only a few minutes away, really convenient for dinners out, or just to stroll around town. Even if you want to go to the town beach which is certainly not the best beach around. The hotel has its own small beach, I have to say as a place to snorkel it was quite good, starfish and fish in good numbers and the most number of sea urchins I've seen in a long time. Free parking, WiFi available but rather slow. Breakfast was very good, large choice and good quality. I also found the staff quite helpful and friendly. A pleasant stay.

"Great hotel in a fabulous location"

clloy, swansea 25/07/2016

just spent a week at this fabulous hotel. Pool area is great with lovely comfortable loungers. Rooms are great and ours had a sea view which was worth the extra charge. The bar is great and we were well looked after by Sergio every night, who made great cocktails and really looked after us during the week, with his local knowledge of beaches, bars and restaurants. They have their own private secluded beach which although quite small was great for snorkelling. All in all a fab hotel and a great location to match. Hopefully will return before too long.

"Best Hotel"

Anhhuy H, falls church, United States 18/06/2016

The hotel is beautiful like a resort. The room is new and luxurious with a backyard walking out to the ocean. The view is spectacular, especially during sunset. It even has a private beach. A short walk to downtown and the lighthouse and it's right next to the ferry. This is the best hotel and location.

"Thorougly modern, business-class hotel."

scasagrande, Denver, Colorado 15/06/2016

This hotel is a thoroughly modern, business-class hotel just outside the old town of Ile Rousse. As such, it feels like you would be in a business-class hotel just about anywhere, although the views of the water help dispel that feeling! Very nice breakfast as well.

"Lovely location quiet,by sea"

maread99, Topsham, United Kingdom 05/05/2016

Ask for a room away from the road, its a beautiful location next to the sea surrounded by its garden, lovely views & 5 minutes walk to thecharming little town center. All very clean comfortable rooms, helpful staff, stylish decor. Breakfast is good lots of fruit & good bread. The downside is the evening meal: its not that good food can be luke warm, & I wonder how much is bought in . Also one of its beaches has dog mess & broken glass.

"Raw and unnerving!!"

Carma C, Bangalore, Karnataka, India 12/04/2016

We took a flight from Nice to Calvi. All we knew was that Calvi is about 25 odd kms from L'lle Rousse. We disembarked at about 4 pm. I think we were about 14 people who got off the plane. We were so busy admiring the snow clad mountains that when we came out to the Arrival Hall, we did not notice how unpopulated the whole area was. We walked to the taxi stand, the wind was howling, there were no taxis. And except 5 of us who stood in the queue, the whole place was devoid of people. I think us 5 were the only ones who had no family member picking us up. As we waited for the taxi it occurred to me that maybe we should go to the information desk and ask if we should call for a taxi. Anil did, came out looking as unperturbed as ever, saying taxi is coming. I said when? He said whenever!! So we waited for the whenever. One taxi came, the couple ahead of us in the queue piled in. Then silence for the next 20 minutes. I spoke to the single guy ahead of us.I asked him, when the next taxi comes, can we share? He said of course. The airport was deserted inside outside. The next taxi that came was driven by a woman and i asked her if she could drop the single guy first and then us. She said yes. Of course she charged the full fare from both of us !! It was a 40 minute drive, probably if one drives sensibly it takes an hour, but in Corsica, as we discovered later, everybody drove as if it was a race circuit!!! The hotel literally is perched on the tip of the mediterranean, it was like having a large infinity pool in our backyard. Nice cosy room, kingsize bed, lovely deck, spacious bathroom. Coffee maker, hair dryer, chaise longue in the deck. No kitchen, breakfast outsourced, you either had to go further from the hotel to the lands end for a ristorante (just two) or back to the quayside where you had plenty of choice in terms of the eating joints. What we found here was every ristorante offered the exact same menu. Not even variations on the theme. And vegetarian was restricted to a pizza which was overloaded with aubergine ( as a south indian, I simply can't wrap my head around bloody badnekai on my pizza, seriously adding insult to injury!!!), or a linguine with an overdose of overboiled mushroom. Seriously Europeans need a crash course from us Indians on how to get the best out of our veggies!!! Corsica we found, was almost like Goa, in india, where Anil and I live, in the sense that barring a handful of native Corsicans, most people use this as a vacation home. The weather is awesome, the natural beauty is somehow raw and untamed and there is a vibe of standoffishness that the city exudes. Breakfast was a huge spread and it was lovely sitting on the banks of the Mediterranean and chomping on bread. The hotel is small, self contained and staffed by young women, one of whom was also the owner's grand daughter. They were cheerful, helpful and unobtrusive. What's not to love here!!!

"Worth staying but with one negative"

David H, Drogheda, Ireland 06/10/2015

This Hotel is in an excellent location away from the busy centre. The views from our room were very good. The staff was very friendly and the facilities were excellent. The one negative was, we were staying in room number 215 and the odour from the drainage system was very bad. My partner and I were there for three nights and for the first two days we left the Air Con on when we went out in the evening and when we returned at night the odour had decreased .We forgot to do this on the third evening and when we came back it was particularly bad. Hence we left the Air Con on during the night which resulted in the room being very cold. On checking out I gave a note in French to the lady in the reception explaining the issue, she did not make any comment and was basically not interested. We do not speak French, so we simply left it at that. We were at fault in the sense that we should have raised the issue and requested a change of room, but we presumed the situation was temporary and would resolve itself. I would not be reluctant to stay at this Hotel as it has many positive features, but just be aware that if you encounter a problem as we did, that you raise the issue promptly.

"Homy Best Western hotel and possibly the best hotel in Ile Rousse"

Heli L, Helsinki, Finland 06/10/2015

We were positively surprised about the location and the hotel itself when arrived on 24 Sept. 2015. The hotel is a small sized Best Western hotel, which made our stay pleasant and we felt very comfortable at once. Already from the entrance we had positive vibes - hotel had fresh and relatively new interior with interesting and modern art on the wall, it was well-maintained and location was superb (straight at the foot of the main interest Ile Rousse islet and close to the town's center). There was enough parking places for the hotel guests and the small courtyard swimming pool with different kind of sunbeds and parasols/umbrellas was a nice surprise although it was without a shower. The hotel had also its own small sandy beach, but watch out for the sea urchins. The hotel room was spacious, newly refurbished with fresh colors and with a sea-view terrace including comfortable chairs. The bed was the best during our 10-day trip at Corsica - also you had the chance to take an alternative pillow in use. Buffet breakfast was also the best compared with the other 3 hotels we stayed in serving also warm alternatives. On top of all the personnel was very polite and helpful. This hotel is the best of all Best Western hotels we have ever stayed in and their concept should be applied in all the others! What a pleasant stay we had. :-)

"Great location, great breakfasts."

Teckel, Bedfordshire 29/09/2015

This was our second visit to the Santa Maria having had a wonderful experience there last year. On this occasion we had booked the same standard of sea-view room as before but the one we were given was the last of the unrefurbished rooms which was a disappointment. During the night, rather unpleasant smells wafted though the ventilators but a complaint to the gardien de nuit resulted in an immediate transfer in the morning to a refurbished room with stunning views across the port to Cap Corse and with the most invigorating walk in shower. The remainder of the stay and the short stop over at the end of our holiday before catching the ferry were perfect. The staff could not have been more helpful, the breakfasts were gargantuan with top quality produce and lots of variety and the hotel's location between the port and the town is so convenient. We shall be back again next when all the rooms will have been refurbished and our initial bad experience just a fading memory

"Spent two weeks in this hotel one of the best holidays we have had"

borolad2015, Middlesbrough, United Kingdom 14/09/2015

Room was slightly bigger than normal with a huge bed. Staff were great very helpful and the location was superb, a nice stroll into the town and a lovely town it was, good beaches lots of restaurants (could be a little expensive) Would definately go there again

"Nice seaview"

Patricia L, Luxembourg City, Luxembourg 30/08/2015

Good location: quiet but you have a superb seaview around the hotel an a small private beach an even a nice outdoor pool in the hotel.friendly and helpful staff.tasty breakfast with a lot of choice.comfortable bed, terrace.walking distance to the city centre: about 10 really feel relaxed an can enjoy the sea and the beautiful views and sunsets.

"Nautical ... And nice "

User 30/08/2015

The hotels has been redone recently and it really shows. The floors, the bathroom and decor were pristine. The bed is really comfortable and huge - although the pillows were horrible. I was very surprised as their website didn't do them any justice. The pool were the icing on the cake. The pool is actually quite small (although they have a jacuzzi which makes up for it) but it's the sunbeds that steal the show. They are large soft double beds that you just sink back into. A really lovely stay in Ile Rousse


Cuddlybear2014, Horsham, United Kingdom 19/08/2015

We stayed for one week in July during a heatwave. The hotel is close to the railway station so we took the train to Calvin for one day. By the way the bars and restaurants by the marina in Calvi are quite expensive. The public toilet next to the marina in Calvi is best French facility of this type that I have seen during my life! This hotel was excellent. The room was quite large with a bathroom stocked with good quality toiletries. During July and August you can get snacks from the bar which although they are not cheap, the quality and service was excellent. Swimming in the sea is a little awkward with the stones but you soon get used to it. The quality of the buffet breakfast was also a nice surprise. There are numerous restaurants and bars in Ile Rousse and most of the ones we tried were very good value and of excellent quality. The hotel is close to the port you can see the ferries come and go during the day. Don't worry there is only one or two a day and they are very quiet.

"Very nice"

Selassie31, Dubai, United Arab Emirates 03/08/2015

Comfy rooms, nice small pool with beautiful view. Private small beach. Nice and clean and very close to harbor, perfect choice before running for the early morning boat. Did not try the restaurant but it is also very close to old town by walk with plenty of dining option.

"stay clear of the manager"

lorbri, Stockport, United Kingdom 21/07/2015

everything about this hotel is perfect until that is you have the misfortune to meet the manager/owner. He is ignorant, arrogant and full of self importance. We dared to complain about the wine only after three bottles were contaminated by something that should not have been there. First he said it was sediment then sugar but also added that it did not matter as it would do us no harm. When I refused to pay he said that it was of no consequence as he would claim it back from his suppliers. That was the full extent of his customer relations skills. I thank all the other staff but would never visit the hotel again and he is to thank for that.

"More than a 3 star for sure"

Carolyn W, Taunton, United Kingdom 03/07/2015

Great little hotel. Was impressed by the good quality bed linen. Pool area only completed about 7 weeks ago and was really nice. I hadn't seen many photos of this but worry not, it's lovely. Quiet too and we went in June. Really lovely girl welcomed us and showed us around. Breakfasts very good and pleasant eating area. Would recommend. Also only a short walk to the town which is great with a nice beach. We had a sea view and would recommend this. Nice size balcony too. Small beach but not crowded. Quite rocky so better to swim from beach in town which is soft and sandy.

"Excellent hotel"

melieann, quebec 20/09/2014

I travel the world and know a lot about hotel service and comfort. For such a small city, this hotel was absolutely great. Private beach (beach towels provides), nice pool and spa, excellent breakfast for 14 euros. The receptionist were so nice, they booked a Calvi to Scandola Reserve tour and the taxi back and forth. Also before better on the boat back to Marseille, they offered us to use the pool, beach, towels, etc even after check-out. The only mini-downside is that there is no restaurant for dinner. But this city is so small that you get dozens of nice places within 3 minutes of walk. I absolutely recommand this hotel, and would go back anytime. NB: take confort room with see view. Worth the 20euros more/night.

"just perfect"

joanne h, Southampton, United Kingdom 16/06/2014

just perfect really covers everything. perfect location, wonderful exceptionally nice staff, lovely rooms and pool area. great for children. so relaxing I am struggling to get back to reality now I am back. the hotel is in a fantastic location, fall out of the door to a beach quite but five minutes into town and all the tempting restaurants. the hotels breakfast room had a wonderful outlook and a great feast very good value at only 15 euro. really hope to go again.

Jean-Luc R, Responsable relations clients at BEST WESTERN Santa Maria, responded to this review
Dear sir, Thank you so much for your comment on Tripadvisor, we hope see you next time at the hotel Santa Maria for your holiday. Sincerely

These reviews are the subjective opinions of individual travelers and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.