The Best Western Plus Hotel Fuessen is a non-smoking hotel with 88 spacious rooms located only 300 meters from the historic city center, four kilometers from the world famous Neuschwanstein Castle and a five minute walk from the railway station. In our hotel owned parking garage are 65 parking spaces for your use. Our hotel offers the following amenities: American breakfast buffet, free internet terminals in the hotel lobby, fitness center, business center, sauna, same-day dry cleaning service, automated self-check in/out terminals in our lobby. In our restaurant with seating for 120 guests, you can enjoy everything from hearty German dishes, Mediterranean and international specialties or gala multicourse meals. We are convinced our cuisine will impress you! And for you night owls, we offer creative drinks in our lounge and bar. Our extensive breakfast buffet is created using high quality local ingredients and is served in our restaurant or weather permitting outside on the patio. Underground parking is available (50 parking spaces) and costs 7 EUR per day. Parking spaces are on a first come first serve basis. We are your holiday destination in Fuessen - the city of King Ludwig II. Pure romance situated between breathtaking alpine peaks and pristine mountain lakes combined with culture and royal monuments. The holiday and health resort of Fuessen is located at the southern end of the "Romantic Road" and is one of the most beautiful holiday regions in Europe. Come and stay in the region Kings once called home.
Best Western Plus
From check-in to check-out, the service provided by the hotel staff was excellent. Very comprehensive and helpful information was received at check-in. The service in the restaurant was of excellent standard and the food was of good quality and well presented. The choices available at breakfast was comprehensive and very well priced. We really enjoyed our stay and we would have happily extended if we had the time.
Perfect location, clean and very friendly staff. We could park our car there, explore all attractions in the area. The bed was very comfortable. Breakfast was great with many options. Would come back again.
Nice modern hotel about 5 mins walk from town. Very easy to find as on the main street into the old town. Lots of underground parking, though to leave remember you need to yank the red/white chain hanging down from the roof of the garage near the exit doors. Rooms nice and modern with excellent bathrooms, and even though my room was on the street level and facing the main road it was very quiet. Good breakfast selection too. Would definitely recommend.
The hotel is just 5 minutes drive away from Hohenschwangau, where you can visit Neuschwanstein castle. The hotel room is huge, and our room has great view of the snow capped Bavarian Alps, spacious bathroom and comfortable bed. The European breakfast spread is excellent and staffs are friendly. Highly recommended and value for money.
Not too much is “plus” like the name suggests. Wi-Fi doesn't connect (I know what I'm doing). The single elevator for the entire hotel wasn't working during our stay - it wasn't even mentioned to us during check in so I assume it's common for it to not be working. We were on the 3rd floor so had to carry everything up - not great. We ordered 2x twin beds but were told upon check in that the hotel only has queen beds - only to discover the room indeed had 2 twin beds (only the hotel had not separated them). Odd. Would probably stay somewhere else if I end up back in this pretty town.
We chose this for the location and parking. Easy walk to pedestrian streets and what a beautiful place! Olga and Tim checked us in and they were both very friendly and helpful. We would highly recommend this hotel for those visiting especially if you have a car.
The hotel is located close to the city centre snd within walking distance to all the main attractions. The rooms are quite big and clean and the bed is very comfortable. While slightly more expensive than the other hotels, the staff are also very friendly and helpful. A pleasant stay overall.
We stayed one night only at this hotel in late summer. Our room was comfortable and clean. However, while it was raining outside, our room was hot and with the window open, we had traffic noise. Otherwise, it was a standard Best Western, which are generally pretty good. While certainly not cheap, this was one of the better priced hotel options available when we traveled making it an attractive option if staying in Fussen.
The hotel opened in 2017 so it is still pretty new and very clean. The oldtown is in easy walking distance, also a large Rewe supermarket, the tourist information and the train station. Overall a great location, although being right on a major street noise is an issue - in particular in the summer when you want to keep the windows open at night. Rooms do not have a/c. The wifi didn't work all that reliable, LTE reception was good, though (not self-evident in the Bavarian mountainside). Limited parking is available in an underground garage (7 EUR) but we found free spots on the curbside nearby most of the days. Careful: Only down the road the parking is free and the side street directly at the hotel is a not so obvious no-parking zone.
Nice place to stay, three houses with cozy rooms including amenities you're looking for, good breakfast and a very friendly staff. Changing the room to the less noisy house three wasn't a problem at all, thank you very much !
We stayed for one night. The room was compact but well laid out with modern decor and a very nice bathroom. Spotlessly clean. A short walk to the town centre and plenty of restaurants. Staff were very friendly and the breakfast was so good I need to make special mention of it here!
First at all I want to thanks all the BW for being open and serving the Bussiness traveler and leisure. I know that you do the best to keep the level service very high. I appreciate all the effort to made us feel at home and the care to clean the rooms and keep us safe and healthy.
A very nice, well-appointed and centrally located hotel. Staff was very friendly and helpful in all matters. Rooms are spacious, bathrooms modern, breakfast very good (at a very moderate price). The hotel has an underground garage where the bicycles can be stored. Altogether - it was an enjoyable stay. If I come to Füssen again this hotel will be my choice.
The hotel was just a couple blocks from the Market Strasse and the bike path along the river. Its just a few miles to Neuschwanstein and Hohenschwangau castles. On a bike, it would be like 10 minutes. The staff are very friendly and speak perfect English. No air-conditioning, but no-one has it here. There is a fan in the room that kept us comfortable. We enjoyed the food; especially the bread at breakfast. If we ever find ourselves in Fussen again, we'll stay there.
Hotel on the road to Ischgl. Good location, parking possible in the garage or in the street. Nice, clean rooms. Correct price/quality rate for me. The breakfast, to pay as supplement, is really worth taking. But it's good that you can choose to have it or not and that only people who take it, pay it. Super friendly staff at the reception as in the breakfast corner.
So arrived in Germany expecting more of the same after Austria...what a shock! Every restaurant is a pizza place. Italian ice cream shops. Door instructions in Italian. Bizarre!! The hotel itself was also not quite how I expected a German welcome to be (sorry if I have a stereotypical thought of Germans). The receptionist was super welcoming, super warm, super smiling. A lovely start. The room was clean and perfectly adequate. The bar area was welcoming and the staff were friendly too with a large selection of drinks. Even though we did not eat in the restaurant, it was full and buzzing. I can't comment on the food but it looked okay. All in all a great place for a stop over! Thanks to all the staff. Ps...good car park!!!
We stayed here the night before our visit to Neuschwanstein Castle. the check in was simple. parking was on sight (hard to find in Europe) only 5.5 Euro at the time of our visit. Great staff, very friendly. very helpful. The rooms were very nice and spacious again for Europe most places I've stayed barley fit the bed....The bed was normal for a European bed (basically 2 twins together) but still a good place to sleep. We had drinks at the bar, great bar staff very friendly and gracious. The breakfast area was plentiful. They have 3 machines for coffee, plenty of juices, an area for breads, eggs, bacon, sausages, and also meats and cheeses, yougarts, and many options. I would definately recommend staying here. My husband and I sleep with a fan in our room at home (white noise) not easy to find in Germany - but I aksed the front dest and the receptionist went looking for me and found one for us! another win!! Truly worth the stay and the price was affordable as well.
Stayed here a couple nights just before Christmas. Easy walk to town, like 3 blocks. Clean room, great staff, good breakfast for reasonable price. We used the parking garage under building and it was very convenient and reasonable.
Great place to stay. Short drive to Neuschwanstein. Quick walk into old town. Very friendly staff. Nice restaurant and bar. Underground parking. Well appointed rooms. Short trip to Fussen's enclosed shopping mall.
We visited Neuschwanstein Castle and decided to stay in Fussen. This was a great hotel. The staff was very friendly, good parking, and the room was spacious and very clean. Since it was a bit late, we decided to just eat in the hotel restaurant. The food was excellent! I wish we had planned our trip so that we could have stayed another day. The town is very charming.
I would highly recommend this hotel. Rooms were beautiful and clean. Staff was friendly as well as very helpful. Close to the old town and to the buses that run to the castles. Very pet friendly too! Also the breakfast buffet (have to pay for) was a beautiful and excellent spread.
The hotel is conveniently located, just a 5 minute walk from the Old Town. The underground parking is excellent for convenience, security and for keeping the car frost-free during the cold weather! We found the staff very pleasant friendly and so helpful. The hotel is spotless, the rooms tastefully decorated, very comfortable and well equipped, with very well appointed showerooms. My only, small complaint, is that whilst there is a coffee-making facility in the room, essentially, there is provision to make just one white coffee per guest.
The hotel is nice and relatively new, very clean, and the staff is helpful and friendly. The hotel is minutes away from the train station and old town where you can walk to restaurants and a super market for incidentals.
We've booked 1 night for a musical visit in Füssen. The hotel has a parking garage with small and bigger lots. Check in was supposed to be at 3PM but we could already go into our room 2 hours in advance (232). It was small but clean. Despite being located next to the main road it was pretty quiet. Within 5 minutes walk we reached the shopping street. We had dinner in the hotel's restaurant which was delicious. The breakfast was great as well. 1 point less due to people directly smoking in front of the hotel and the smoke coming into our room and the corridor.
The hotel is new, clean and well appointed. The bed was comfortable and the room dark for sleeping. The staff were all friendly and helpful. The man who checked us in provided us with lots of helpful information about dining and sightseeing. The hotel provided us with a bus pass, bus schedule and location for the bus stops so that we could go visit the castles without a bus charge. Although, if the weather is nice, walking would be very easy, it's only a 4 km walk and is a dedicated walkway to the castle areas. The breakfast buffet was one of the best that we have enjoyed during our two months in the Northern European countries.
We stay here for 3 nights and the location was superb, walking distance to old town, to the castle, 6 minutes to the entrance of Neuschwanstein castle. The hotel was super clean, beautifully decorated, free breakfast with tons of options, fresh fruits, cheeses, cold cuts, tons of different kinds of european breads, cereal, yogurt, coffee, teas of all kinds, juices etc. etc. it was a feast for the Gods every morning when we went for breakfast. The staff was nice but the manager was a very nice, polite and well mannered man, he came to greet us and it was a nice experience. We love the place and this is the place to stay in Fussen it has a superb location and we are going to go back.
Excellent service and the friendliest and most helpful reception staff you could imagine. One would never think one was staying in part of an international chain. They made you feel at home as if it were run by a family. Reasonable restaurant and bar held together by the amazing Gülcan and ably assisted by the friendly Manuel and Timea. The chef very kindly coped with special requests from members of the group I was leading. Rooms were comfortable with all you need apart from the telly not having BBC. But that‘s just being picky, isn‘t it? Well done to all of you and thanks for making my job easier! Jeff.
We came to Bavaria for a week long tour and stayed in Fussen. This hotel was 5 star, nice rooms, great breakfasts every day, friendly bartenders with good beer and wine. We dined in the evening several times at the hotel restaurant, the food was as good or better than many highly rated restaurants in town nearby. Rooms were very nice, clean, comfortable beds. Very good value! One warning for summer visitors, I saw no sign of air conditioning?
We spent three nights here - like everyone else to visit the nearby castles. Good location - 10 mins stroll into town and 10 mins drive to the castles. Plus near gorgeous mountain scenery. It's a modern, functional chain hotel - so don't expect tons of character but it works well enough. We had a smallish standard room on the busy road side of the hotel but the double glazing is excellent and we weren't disturbed by traffic. Some passing noise from neighbouring bedrooms - nothing major but you'd probably know if you had a noisy guy in the next room. Breakfast okay though not amazing. On warm days, they'd be advised to cover up to keep off flies and wasps. Front desk staff very helpful - a youngish guy with excellent English went the extra mile. Fussen is a quite expensive place to stay and here isn't massively so. Not sure it's a four star hotel but it's certainly not a bad bet. Recommended.
The room was in a very good location to access all Fussen has to offer. The parking was very reasonably priced and easily accessed. Check in was easy and the staff was very friendly and pleasant. The room was a good size and very clean. It was nice having a fan in the room. The shower was odd shaped and it was difficult to use the shower without holding the hand-held shower head. But there was plenty of hot water. The buffet breakfast was excellent and well worth the cost. It's just a short walk to the center of town where the shops and restaurants are and a short drive to the area attractions. There is a lot of traffic in the town in general.
We stayed here in late May on our way driving through the alpine road. Before arrival we had indicated it was going to be our honeymoon and the staff made the extra effort of decorating our room upon our arrival. A nice little touch for a hotel in country Bavaria! The room was standard and had all the necessities, there was parking onsite, but the day we arrived there was a concert down the road and so it was full. But we managed to park on the street without much fuss, just make sure you read the signs! The location of the hotel was a short walk to the "town center" which had all the foods and a small walk to the nearby castle. Keep in mind it does get very cold at night but the room did a good job at keeping us warm. Overall, a very good stay, it wasn't the cheapest but was convenient and comfortable.
Stayed in a deluxe twin which was quite roomy with a lovely bathroom and really comfortable beds, but best of all, Albin at reception was the nicest, most helpful staff member ever, very patient and informative. People make a place and even though we were only here a couple of days, and it rained, we really enjoyed our stay.
This is an „ok“ hotel, very new (so clean and well maintained) about 500 meters from the old town of Füssen and about 10 minutes by car from Neuschwanstein castle. Rooms are standard 3 Star Hotel rooms without any extras worth mentioning, size wise a bit on the small side. As the hotel is on a main road it's quite noisy if you leave the window open. Breakfast is fine. Reception staff friendly, but inexperienced. Would be a decent option at about 100 EUR per night, but for 200 (if you add parking and breakfast) way too expensive
We truly enjoyed our stay at this hotel. They were very accommodating, room was clean, great price and location.i have nothing bad to say about this hotel. We came for a big family reunion and all chose to stay here together and we all enjoyed our stay.
We stayed 3 nights. Although it is centrally located for visiting Hohenschwangau and Neuschwanstein Castles, the rooms were warm. Even with the window open and the fans on all night, the hotel room was 5 degrees warmer than the hall way. My family visited the fitness room and sauna. My daughter tried out the treadmill and stationary bike, I used the bar to do pull ups, and my wife spent 15 minutes relaxing in the sauna. Other positives for the hotel: efficient check in/out, clean room, Fussen Card (free transportation to the 2 castles as well as Tegelberg luge).
Great hotel. Close proximity and five minute walk to downtown shops and restaurants. Parking onsite in underground garage. Spots are very narrow and would be difficult to park a larger vehicle. Excellent gym and sauna- such a bonus when travelling. I would suggest bringing your own shampoo/ body wash as they didn't seem to replenish. Very comfortable beds and pillows. No air conditioning in rooms but it didn't bother us. Even during hot summer weather it cools down quite a bit at night with windows open and there was a fan in the room. Great breakfast at hotel restaurant. Would absolutely stay here again.
I stayed one night in this hotel, to visit the Neuschwanstein castle the next morning. It was a big disappointment. The hotel is located next to a busy road, so impossible to open the window because of the noice. The rooms at the road side are located west, so with the sun shining, you need to close the curtains or your room becomes a sauna. There was no airco available in my room, only a ventilator. The room was also very small for a 4 star hotel, and the bathroom was even smaller. The breakfast was rather limited. So my advice: don't book a room in this hotel if you are a big person and if you do, ask for a room located at the backside of the main road.
I believe Füssen also have a season call summer right? So why is there no aircon in this **** hotel. (I think they should reduce the number of stars) It was a very uncomfortable night in a very warm room and a fan that did a very good job of moving the warm (hot) air around. Very disappointing. I would ask the hotel not to respond to this as this is to inform potential guests of the discomfort if they come here in the summer.
Hotel very easily reachable from the motorway from Ulm, in an ideal position for touring the area and only 5/10 minutes by foot from the old town. Hotel has covered parking, at a price, which is very handy. Excellent service and very good breakfast, but not included in the price of the room. We had a ground floor room which was very handy with regards to the luggage.
We came to Füssen to visit Neuschwanstein castle. We loved the little town and the best Western was such a great location to the downtown and the castle. The rooms were nice and clean and the staff was helpful.
The BW was convenient to walking around the Altstadt, as well as driving to Neuschwanstein and more. Our room was clean and comfortable, and breakfast was decent and reasonably priced. The front desk clerks were pleasant and helpful.
This was a great place to stay and was close to everything. I would stay here again. Staff was very friendly even though it was very busy, I still felt personal service. Check in and out was very fast.
This hotel was very nice and suited our needs. It was a 10 minute walk to the train station and to historic Fussen, which was charming. What made it extra special was Jolanta, at the front desk, who went out of her way to help us with a transportation problem. We were trying to get to Innsbruck on a Sunday with limited options. She worked with us until we came up with a solution. Her local knowledge saved us a lot of valuable sightseeing time. It is rare that people take the time to help you. Thanks again Jolanta.
This hotel gets the job done! It's clean but not posh. Modern but not cozy. I appreciated the soft lighting around the room. The location isn't great, as it's a brief walk to the main city. The morning breakfast was plentiful but average. Overall, if you're just looking for a clean, safe place to crash, this will do it!
The hotel does have a good location and a convenient parking garage, attentive helpful staff, but ... the rooms do miss a finishing touch of added values. A water cooker and packets of instant coffee in the room? An old refridgerator? Just little things to improve upon.
TimK3485, Verkaufsleiter at Best Western Plus Hotel Fuessen, responded to this review
Thank you for your review, Yes it is correct that we have a water cooker and coffee and tea free of charge for our guests in all of our rooms. But an old refridgerator?? Our hotel is only 2 years old and I don't consider that very old at all for a minibar. Please understand that it is not possible to replace our minibars on a yearly basis. if you havce any further questions or comments please feel free to contact us at any time!
We stayed here one night while touring Füssen and Neuschwanstein castle. Good location for walking thru town. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was great. Our room was very clean. Check out was at noon and we had reservations to tour castle early so we asked if they would hold our luggage until we got back, which they had no problem doing. I highly recommend staying here. The rates were also reasonable and it is within walking distance from train station.
You get the sense that years back this hotel was quite fancy and modern. It is still very nice and exceptionally clean. Our room was small but comfortable. Value is great and the staff were fantastic! Loads of tourists from large buses stay here, no doubt, for the great value, location and amenities. Secure, underground parking is inexpensive and the outstanding buffet breakfast is very well priced.
Lobby is opened 24h, which is great for late check in as we did. For the price the prestations are quite good. Room is nice and very clean. We did not try the breakfast, quite cheap by the way (9€). Staff was friendly and did the Checkin and checkout very fast. The hotel is very near to the castle (10 min driving)
A nice Hotel not far away from the City Center of Füssen and the famous castles. We enjoyed a good service and a varied Breakfast. For dinner we would prefer next time a visit in one of the restaurants down town.
Best Western, Fussen, is a very well appointed hotel, just a few minutes walk from the allstadt and river. We chose this hotel for its location, reasonable price and importantly, because it accepts pets (for extra charge). The staff all speak English, are friendly and exceptionally helpful. This is not a characterful hotel, but a modern, clean and comfortable place to stay whilst visiting the very characterful and beautiful Fussen.
Becasue of the disaster we had in Veneto last week, we called the hotel trying to postpone our reservation since we could not reach Germany from Veneto... They just replied us that our reservation was not with cancellation-free option.... What a shame! I tried to convice them to just postpone for later...but nothin... terrible behaviour considering what happened in Italy. Don't try it! Never!
TimK3485, Verkaufsleiter at Best Western Plus Hotel Fussen, responded to this review
Dear Marco Coppa, Thank you for your review. As already explained through numerous emails, you booked a non-refundable rate that cannot be cancelled free of charge. At first you wrote that you wanted to cancel the reservation free of charge with no explanation as to why. You then called and said you wanted to cancel because of bad weather. Then you threatened us by stating if we did not cancel free of charge you would write a bad review through tripadvisor.com. Here is what you wrote: "My husband has got a super-high ranking in Tripadvisor...will take care of your really worst service...so..." I find it unacceptable that you threatened us with a bad review if we didn't meet you demands. As of today you never cancelled your reservation through booking.com. Unfortunately, we were unable to resell the cancelled room and as per your reconfirmation, have charged you for the cancellation. I stand by my comment that travel insurance is always a good idea when booking nonrefundable rates or any rate for that matter. With that said we are certainly sorry to hear about the situation in Italy and hope that things get back to normal as soon as possible. If you have any further questions of comments please feel free to contact me at any time! Best regards, Tim Kindle Sales Manager
We arrived on a rainy morning, and while check-in time is firm at the hotel, the staff graciously allowed us to stow our luggage while we visited Hohenschwangau Castle and the Museum of Bavarian Kings just a few kilometers away. Quiet hotel, spacious room with modern bath and super-comfortable bed. We were tickled to discover the outdoor stairwell at the end of the hallway on our floor offered a view of Neuschwanstein (beautifully lit in the evening)! Pay on-site parking worked well for us, aside from a couple of selfish fellow guests deciding to each occupy two spaces. (Management then allowed us to park outside the hotel building at no charge.) The buffet breakfasts immediately made our all-time favorites list, and the attentive staff kept all of the items replenished regardless of the size of the crowd in the dining room. The hotel was also very near Ludwigs Festspielhaus, where we attended a performance of "Ludwig2 - das Musikal" our second night in Fussen. An added bonus for me was the cardboard stand-up of the musical's star as one entered and exited the hotel's front doors. Very enjoyable stay, despite all of the rain. Very near the pedestrian shopping area, including a grocery store.
We stayed here for 2 nights in September of 2018. The hotel is located on the main road in town one block north of the old downtown city center. It's easy to find and is in a good location to come and go easily. Parking is in the basement with plenty of parking spots. We were charged €4.5 per night so definitely much cheaper than a larger city. Breakfast was good, big enough selection to get a good meal. It was worth the €10 per person instead of wandering the town looking for something to eat. The room was very nice and large. There is no A/C in the room but it had a huge window that let in plenty of cool air. It might be a little warm in the hot summer months but was beautiful in September. The bathroom was big and had a great shower. Very nice modern room and hotel. The hotel is only 10 minutes away from Neuschwanstein Castle so it's a great place to stay if you are only in town to see the castles. I highly recommend going to Scholssbrauhaus Schwangau for dinner. They had great beers, especially if you are bored of all the German beers, and had one of the best wienerschnitzel's I have had in Germany. And, the potatoes that came with my dinner were amazing. I recommend going in the afternoon and sitting on the patio where you can enjoy a beer and watch the sun set on the castles.
Lovely clean hotel around 5 minutes walk to the train station and 5 minutes to the Old Town. The hotel is new and it is spotlessly clean. We had a room on the 2nd floor in block 1 where reception and the bar and restuarant are. Our room was nicely appointed with a comfortable bed,mini bar,tea and coffee making facilities and a walk in shower. We had a nice view of the Alps over the top of the buildings opposite. Although on a road there was no noise at all. The bar area was very comfortable and was reasonably priced. Staff behind the bar were friendly and professional I had an Aperol Spritz in a large glass for around 6 euros. There is also a nice outdoor seating area outside the bar which was a great place to sit for an afternoon beer. Staff behind reception were very helpful and nothing was too much trouble. The male receptionist in particular helped us with queries both days. Check in lady was also excellent. Breakfast was fabulous. Although mostly continental style there was scrambled eggs,boiled eggs,bacon,sausages and smoked salmon. Lots of different breads,fruit,cold meats,cheese,cereal and several different fruit juices, Well worth the price we paid. There is a small gym in the basement which had very good equipment. There is also a sauna and relaxation room with comfortable loungers and magazines. I could not find fault with the hotel at all. Would highly recommend to others visiting Fussen. Hopefully we will return again soon.
This hotel can be found with a short walk from the train station. The hotel is about a year old and is exremly clean. The room we had on the second floor had views of the alps , the room was comfortable and clean. We had the breakfast here and whilst it is of a continental style I found it to be very tasty indeed and at a very reasonable price . The restaurant is large and well spaced out . The entrance /lounge area is very comfortable with it's own bar , there's outside seating if you so wish. Downstairs there's underground parking along with a gym , sauna and a relaxation room. The gym is clean and has four good quality cv pieces of kit along with a weights station and a small selection of free weight's all very tidy.The staff here are frindly and helpful. The hotel is divided into four blocks, as the hotel is on a main road you may wish to occupy one of these blocks away from the road. Unbelievable view's though.
Warm, friendly reception at the front desk. Valodymyr & Franziska are amazing. From extra towels to ice packs, directions and lending us a knife to cut a wonderful local apple provided by the hotel. The hotel is spotless. The room is fantastic. I rate this hotel a 10++++. Iris - Atlanta, Georgia
The room was pleasant, very clean and quiet. Since it was one of the hottest days in July, it would have been nice to have air-conditioning, but the room cooled off quickly once the sun set. Included in the cost was the marvelous "Fussen card", which gave us free transportation to Schwangau, where we toured Hohenschwangau and Neuschwanstein. Even though it was the height of the season, the staff were very friendly, patient and responsive to our questions. It was much appreciated. The hotel is located close to the old part of Fussen, and also very near to the train station. Convenient!
The hotel is located around 5min walk to the city mall. My room was a decent size but had 2 single beds joined together which was pretty uncomfortable. There was no air conditioning so the only possible breeze was through opening the window which resulted in outside noise. The room had an in room safe, fridge (which wasn't cold), good TV with a couple of English speaking news channels. Wifi was free and the speed was excellent. The hotel offered a sent out laundry service which was expensive. The selection at breakfast was very good. The hotel does cater for tour groups so it can get busy. Parking is available for a small fee underneath the hotel but can feel up quickly.
Surprised to find this little gem in Füssen, the atmosphere is international and English language is widely spoken. The staff is very professional and kind. Food is amazing and the breakfast is very good except the coffee, it taste awful to say the least, why instant coffee in such nice hotel? Besides that if you going to visit the castle choose this hotel. Parking is under the hotel for few euros per night.
We had a first floor room. No A/C, opened windows to cool down room, people could walk up to our window. Staff was smoking outside of the room. A lot of people talking outside. We had 2 extra beds for the kids... they were chairs that converted.
Stayed for three nights. The location was great, we had a view to the mountains. There was an elevator an amazing breakfast! The staff was very friendly and their English was good, they gave directions and maps when needed. The hotel was clean and overall comfortable. I have to give a special mention to the hotel bar and the amazing beds!
On a road trip to Italy we passed Füssen and booked a room at this hotel. We came late, the restaurant at the hotel was closed. Still the check in was very quick, and the man at the desk managed to get us a meal at the restaurant even tho it was closed. Top service from the staff, quick check in and very nice rooms Check out was quick and breakfast had a large selection of things to eat. Recommend this hotel to everyone. Close drive if you want to visit the original Disney castle also!
Stayed for 1 night here and was surprised by the good size of the room and bathroom. Reception staff were efficient and helpful as they called a taxi for us. It's in a good location just a short walk to the old town and it has private car park. They charge 4.50 Euro for parking. The breakfast was good as there was a good selection of fruit, breads and meats. It was just positioned in an awkward corner so you had to wait to get in to some items if it was busy. We had to make your own coffee and one machine was broken so it caused a bit of congestion at peak times. We were in the 3rd block or house and in a quiet location. We were glad as the fire doors between corridors made such a loud bang I wouldn't have liked a room next to them.
Comfortable and clean hotel just a few block from downtown. Is a good sport if you plan to do the castles visit. They also have an underground parking area if you need it. Rooms are average size but clean and comfortable
I stayed one night as a single in a two-single-beds room, travelling in a group of friends. I was generally comfortable. There are well placed power points at the room's desk and next to the beds. There is a safe. There is a kettle in the room with instant coffee. Good: My room was quiet. Staff friendly and helpful. Breakfast good. Fast wifi. 3 minutes walk to the old town. Good range of drinks at the bar. Rooms large. Parking available. Not so good: Bathroom clean but had a bad odour. Poor mobile phone signal throughout the hotel. Haus (building) 3 shares a terrace with the apartments next door and are greatly affected by residents chain smoking on the terrace.
Not too sure why the management will not install aircon in the rooms of this relatively new hotel. Check in was relatively fuss free and quick. Staff was friendly and helpful. Room was as per advertised. Had to pay for garage but this seemed to be the standard practice in Germany. Short convenient walk to the Old Town. Nice clean rooms, convenient location, helpful staff... just why no aircon. Really a let down in this hot summer weather.
Reserved this hotel for my 9 year old son and I to be closer to the train station. This hotel is so beautiful and friendly! The room was clean and...as my child said, “AMAZING!” It's Europe, so it's on the smaller size we Americans are used to. But it was a fantastic stay. Even if it was only for one night! We checked out the next day to head out to the castle and the hotel staff allowed us to leave our backpacks and luggage in their Conference room, so we didn't have to drag them w/ us...since we were catching the 2pm train to our next adventure(check out was 11am and we wanted an early start for the castle tour). The best part was the breakfast! OMG! So wonderful and tasty...and it just made us happy! Overall, it was a memorable stay! So reserve and enjoy your stay!
We only spent one night in Füssen but we enjoyed both the town & the hotel. Our room was spacious, modern & comfortable. Breakfast was an additional 9€ (a bargain) and provided a generous array of choices. Parking was in the hotel & was the best we found in two weeks—large, roomy & cheap (4€ a night).
We had not prebooked the hotel but still the receptionist helped us with two rooms for our family of 5 including breakfast which was really good. Hotel underground parking is really tight and limited. Hotel is just 5 minutes walk from the old town Fussen which is a nice area to walk and eat.
We arrived during the busy period between Christmas and New Years, having booked a triple room. The room was advertised as having a double-bed and a sofa bed. When we came in, we found a tiny room meant for a maximum of two people with another single mattress pushed against the window. It's next to impossible to have three people in such a room, and I can't believe the hotel would advertise it as such. The hotel is relatively new, and the shower is very nice. Parking is insufficient, and we could not get a spot in the garage, and had to park for 13 Euros in a city garage 200 meters away. All in all, the place is ok for a couple with moderate expectations. Otherwise, you might be better off finding something else in Fussen.
This was a great place to stay - easy access and OMG - beautiful location at the foothill of the Alps and quick trip to nearby Neuschwantstein Castle. Restaurant was very good as well. Terrific staff - we hope to return again next year!
Must say that everything was as it should be when staying at hotel. From starting to leaving. During our trip with late arrival there was only one receptionist who come out to show a safety parking place beside hotel as their parking carage was full. Every practical advices & tips was given to us by fluent english (which is not clear especially in Bavaria), this helpful young lady really show what does Customer Service means,,, Hotel must be very new as it has new facilities in 3 combined houses, park house under them, clean rooms, sauna, wellness and very handy location just 5 min walk towards historic town centrum (alt stadt). Would be recommended to anybody who will need functional facilities with reasonable price.
Hotel is brand new and everything was great including the location.The buffet breakfast was superb and reasonable. There was ample parking for a small fee. The hotel was just a five minute walk from town.
We travelled to the hotel by car , at the end off our trip along the Romantic strasse. We arrived in the rain, fairly late but drove straight into the underground car park and were checked in within 5 minutes, effortless! Super clean, modern, smart room on the ground floor. Fab shower room. It was torrential rain so we stayed in the hotel to eat, which we do not usually do as we like to explore. But we were pleasantly surprised by the food. The location is great for visiting the famous castles nearby, 10 mins drive away. Breakfast was very good with plenty of variety and good fresh pastries, fruit etc The only negative was the pillows , which were huge but squashed to nil once your head touched them!!
We stayed here 1 night recently on our road-trip of Germany & France. We wanted to be on the doorstep of the Neuschwanstein Castle, so we could get in early and then continue on the road for our road-trip (the Alpenstrasse). This hotel is about 6 minutes drive from Neuschwanstein, so it's ideal for that purpose. Also very close to the picturesque town of Fussen, so make sure you take a short stroll into town and cross the river for views and a drink. The room was lovely, we were overlooking the main road but it was very quiet. Breakfast was pretty good, the only off-putting issue was the fact we had to pay extra for parking! This really should be included within the price of the stay for hotel guest! Good hotel though and great facilities!
Hotel is new, very clean and spotless. They have enough parking for a small fee. The bed is so comfortable that you just wanted to jump after a long walk. Good base for those people visiting the castle. Staff from the reception are nice. We did not try the breakfast. Instead we walk towards the centre which is around 5 mins. The Housekeeping did a great job as well. They replaced empty toiletries. We will def stay here again.
This was our base while we were in Bavaria. It's clean and a walking distance to Fussen train station, restaurants in the middle of town, and/or bus to Hohenschwangau/ Neuschwantein Castles. The staff is very polite and helpful. The hotel restaurant has also great food if you don't want to walk to the main part of town. It is also a good place to start if you want to take the Romantic Road tour, just be ready for a loooong relaxing ride!
New hotel, smart staff, good breakfast (good coffee and wide chose of meal), perfect location (just few minutes drive to Neuschwanstein and Hohenschwangau), comfort bed, small but clean room, privet parking.
Stayed here for three nights in August. Nice new hotel with lovely new rooms, however why would they not install air conditioning in a new hotel. grant it the weather was unusually warm, however I think this is a big oversight in a new hotel. The reception staff were not overly friendly and the wifi was terrible if you need any speed at all. It really looked like the place needed more time to be setup correctly, with lots of ongoing work. Pity as with all new hotels you expect a great experience.
Easy flat walk from station and town/tourist centre. Brand new - great beds, everything clean, tea/coffee facility, minibar. Helpful staff at reception. Still settling in - weekend breakfast times end 1030 say reception but 1000 says restaurant! That said, hotel already very busy and trying hard to please. Giving the older hotels new competition. Probably close to 4 stars.
Excellent place. All brand new so extremely clean and nice. Waiters at restaurant and bar are very professional and nice. Downtown walking distance so very comfortable and no need to drive. But the best are the beds... I had an amazing slept!!!!
Situated 5 mins walk from the town centre, new hotel is spotless clean with tea/coffee in the rooms and a wet room wonderful shower,German tv and American news tv.Staff are very helpful and speak many languages. Beds are very comfortable,aircon works when windows are closed. 10 mins drive to the castles, lovely restaurants in the town.
Booked a room here, but weren't able to stay because they had overbooked the hotel due to a "system" failure and were offered a room in a different and lesser hotel. Surprised by this because I had received a confirmation moths ago. All in all, the hotel is not yet ready to receive customers in my opinion. Airco in common rooms not working, visible construction still going on in garage and reception area. No visible signage on hotel. On the plus side, it's a5 minute walk to the lake and to the city. It has potential but it first needs some hard work to dot the i's and cross the t's.
, Verkaufsleiter at Best Western Plus Hotel Fussen, responded to this review
Dear Mannez, We would like to apologize that we couldn't have you as our guest because of an overbookig situation due to a computer error. As you know our hotel is brand new and we are still working through the problems that a new hotel encounters when it opens. That is certainly no excuse and are sorry we weren't able to show you during our stay. That said, we would still love to have you as our guest at some point in the near future! Best regards, Tim Kindle Sales Manager
Wherever Life Takes You, Best Western Is There®
Each Best Western® branded hotel is independently owned and operated.