The Best Western Plus® Hotel Gergovie, in Perignat les Sarliève is a three star hotel set in a quiet oasis, with panoramic views of the quiet city town and Mountain's of Auvergne. Being located close to Clermont-Ferrand, the hotel with its 59 rooms is ideally located for business and leisure guests. Located near the motorway, the hotel is only a few kilometers of major axes. The Best Western Plus® Hotel Gergovie guarantees a pleasant stay in a contemporary elegant and stylish hotel and in its famous restaurant, you will enjoy modern, succulent and regional cuisine. From the highway, Hotel Gergovie is located directly opposite "La Grande Hall d'Auvergne", a short drive from The Zenith, airport and few kilometers from Vulcania, "the earth adventure".
Best Western Plus
This is conveniently located next to the autoroute leading to the south of France or (as in our case) the east coast of Spain. The hotel is very fresh and the rooms are spacious and have big, comfortable beds. There is also a minibar in the room. It was good to sit outside on our balcony with a drink and enjoy the evening. As others have already mentioned, we found it a small inconvenience that at the weekend the restaurant was closed for anything other than breakfast. Incidentally, the breakfast was a reasonable price and there was a good selection of items. We have put this place on our list so hope to be able to stay there again.
Having booked through Best Western central reservations for Sunday Night requesting evening meal, disabled car park, room near lift received, room furthest from lift, yes disabled car parking, but no evening meal, we had booked for two nights for our return trip on a Friday and Saturday when we arrived on the Friday we asked to change reservations to just one night due to lack of evening meal, oh dear oh dear you booked online so they could not change the booking had to ask to speak to central reservation to change it, these self opinionated central reservations should listen not dictate they never get it right think again head office watchout when you book they don't inform you or answer your queries, the staff at the hotel were very helpful, except they are not allowed to change online booking strange.
BWGergovie, Assistante de Direction at Best Western PLUS Hotel Gergovie, responded to this review
Dear SIr, We thank you for taking the time to leave your comment on the website "Tripadvisor". I would just like to point out that you had made your reservation on the Best Western website and that it is clearly stipulated that our restaurant is closed on weekends. I do not understand why you were surprised when you arrived, this information. As for the cancellation of your 2nd night, when reservations are made online, we do not always have the hand to modify or cancel them. Know that customer satisfaction is at the heart of our priorities. We hope to welcome you soon for a future trip to our region. Regards, Sabrina GARBERI, Executive Assistant
We stayed here one night on our way from Geneva to San Sebastian and had an excellent dinner. The bed was very comfortable and the shower was perfect. We left early in the morning and appreciated that we could make a cup of coffea in the room before taking off. The restaurant and reception staff were very friendly with big smiles. A hotel well worth staying at.
BWGergovie, Executive Manager at Best Western PLUS Hotel Gergovie, responded to this review
Dear Pamalican, We thank you for taking the time to leave your comment on the website "Tripadvisor". We are delighted to have met your expectations and that you have a pleasant stay in our establishment. Know that customer satisfaction is at the heart of our priorities. We hope to welcome you soon for a future trip to our region. Regards, Sabrina GARBERI, Executive Assistant
We've stayed many times over the years. It's been great to find a modern, comfortable hotel which can be deliciously quiet despite being close to the autoroute, and which also offers parking for our boat trailer, with the added security of a gated site. Our stay on the way south was good as usual. What a disappointment then to arrive on a Sunday on our way back north, after many hours driving, to find the restaurant is closed that day. Village restaurants were also closed as was the one takeaway for which the receptionist could offer a menu. They kindly tried to help order food online but Hotel Gergovie was too far out of Clermont for deliveries. So we gave up and went to bed hungry. We'll remember for the future but it would help if all booking sites flagged the restaurant closure to avoid disappointment for others.
The Best nights sleep I think I have ever had! The bed was so comfortable I almost wish I'd checked the brand so I could purchase the mattress! It was like sleeping on a cloud, amazing. Unfortunately the reception and catering staff were not overly attentive or cheery which is why I scored 4 stars. But the location just off the a75 is extremely handy. Great size rooms and balcony. When we busted the surrounding sunflower fields we're in full bloom which made for a lovely view and photo opportunity. We would definitely stay here again on our way to the the south.
With high prices in Clermont Ferrand, this Best Western was reasonably priced at 85,- without breakfast. Make sure you have a reservation since we called and the hotel responded this was not necessary. When we arrived, the hotel was full and they had one room for disabled guests left. Room was ok but since we were on the ground floor, we only had a patio door, no window. I love to sleep with an open window but leaving the door open didn't seem a smart idea. The WIFI was quite slow. If you don't need a big breakfast, take the express breakfast which is reasonably priced. Parking is safe with gated parking at the hotel and the hotel is just next to the A75. All in all a thumbs up. ??
BWGergovie, Directeur général at Best Western PLUS Hotel Gergovie, responded to this review
Dear Guest, Thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our property. Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come back and see us again soon. Thank you again for taking the time to complete the survey. We appreciate your loyalty to our brand. Sincerely, Sabrina GARBERI - Executive Manager
Quite modern rooms, good bathrooms and a nice Terasse to having a drink; observe over a beer the sunset! Attentive team at the front desk. We very mich appreciated the opportunity that they locked up our bikes.
We hadn't booked but rooms were available. We were told the price would be 75Eur. On the internet, it was 63Eur. We asked for that price but were told that booking.com keeps a careful eye on their reservations, and they are not allowed to offer the same price (they get fined). They could, however, throw in breakfast. The websites take 20% of the price which leaves a margin of 3% for the hotel, so we decided to pay the hotel's own price, and to avoid internet sites in the future (except for Trip Advisor :)). The room was very nice: great bed, beautifully clean, mini bar, safe, kettle, teas and coffee, nice view towards the village. The hotel is very well placed for the Parc des Expositions and for visiting the region. We had dinner in the restaurant - Truffade - which was very good, served with salad, and we had a half bottle of malbec red which went very well. The breakfast bar the next day was excellent - hot food (sausages, bacon, eggs), water to boil your own egg, and cold meats, cheeses, cereals etc. It was all good. The staff were friendly, efficient and helpful, so we were delighted with our stay. We parked the motorbike right outside the front door - the environment is very safe.
We stayed at this hotel for two nights in June 2016 as we were in the region for a music concert that was meant to take place at the Zenith event hall just opposite the hotel. This was during the 2016 UEFA European Championship and, at the time, the whole country was affected by transportation strikes. We were glad to have finally made it to region and the hotel. We flew in and therefore took a taxi to the hotel. If you are travelling by car, it should be easy to find the hotel. The property is located just off the A75 on an elevated mound. The reception staff were really welcoming and check-in went smoothly. The first thing I noticed were the beautiful views to the back of the hotel. Walking past the breakfast tables, I walked out onto a lovely open patio. The view was stunning with volcanoes everywhere. There was also a soothing water feature. Away from the main road, this side of the hotel all of sudden offered a real taster of Auvergne's beauty. OK - It was sunny and great weather, not sure if you would get the same impression in the rain of course... but anyhow. Staff were helpful and served us two fresh pints from the bar. There we were then lounging outside in the sunshine enjoying a beverage. We then checked in to our room. The room was perfect for the price we paid. Very clean and modern, providing higher standards than what we would have expected from a typical 3-star hotel. The hotel's location just outside Clermont-Ferrand obviously means that it does not lend itself to those travellers visiting the city without car (although we used local taxis and they were fine). But the hotel has something unique about it, which has to be mentioned. All in all, we loved staying at this hotel and can only recommend it to those 'on-the-go' or those going to a local concert without their own car:)
We only stayed for one night on our way north. Hotel is located in a rural setting. Views are of lovely fields. Our room unfortunately was next to the lift so was quite noisy. Upon entering it was extremely hot as the sun was blasting in. The air con was hard to turn on. You had to turn down the temperature to get it to work. The hotel turns off the air con during the night so made the room stuffy and warm. We had a twin bedded room and the beds were very small. There was a little fridge in the room and a safe. The bathroom was clean with a separate toilet. Breakfast was quite good and you could even squeeze your own orange juice. The ladies on the reception were friendly and efficient. Owing to roadworks it was a nightmare to get to. We ate dinner at the hotel and I was not impressed with my beef. Undercooked and tough. I asked for medium to well done. My husband ended up eating mine as he likes his meat 'mooing'! I would recommend this hotel as it is reasonably priced and a good stopover. Parking is secure and straight out front.
Great staff that made an extra effort when the restaurant was closed for the weekend. The hotel it self is a great choice for those that are traveling by car. The interior is nice and everyone has a balcony. Ask for a balcony in the evening sun.
We stayed for one night whilst traveling south. The hotel is conveniently situated close to the motorway with plenty of secure parking. The receptionist was very friendly and spoke good English. A modern hotel with excellent facilities and a nice restaurant. We can recommend this hotel.
Stopped overnight here with my wife on the 30th June 2016, to be honest we were not expecting sure a wonderful hotel, set just off the A75 motorway, we thought OK it's an overnight stop so should just be quick shower, pizza then bed. Completely the opposite, welcomed at the reception with a kind smile, our French is getting better, their English was excellent ? Food was wonderful, I had a rack of Lamb, and my wife had a small steak. Both meals came beautifully served, beer was again wonderful, my wife's G&T was served with the usual, but again came the Smiles. Outside in the garden the Water feature sent all the days traveling from Calais away. I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone traveling down to the southwest of France, we WILL be going back but hopefully for a 2 night stop as there is so much more to see in Clermont.
We used this hotel as a half way stop driving from the UK to Barcelona. Parking is outdoor but has security cameras and the hotel is away from other buildings in a "generally" quiet location. Mainly business people staying in the hotel but served us well. Hotel is fairly new, clean and an easy place to stay at - a safe bet!
Stayed here on business. It is very close to the airport. Limited hours for food service however, it is excellent, gourmet food. I sampled the duck and the lamb and they were delicious. The hotel us on a plateau, over looking a subdivision and a Harley Davidson shop. The is nothing to walk to unless you want to buy a hog.
First class place for an overnight stay whilst journeying to the South of France or the Costa Brava. Situated about halfway along those routes and right next to the M-way. Ample free parking just outside the door. Friendly and professional staff. Spacious and luxuriously appointed rooms with mega comfy beds. Large balconies overlook the French countryside. Breakfast is extra but of a good standard and may be taken on an outside terrace again overlooking the countryside. Very reasonable rates for such a nice hotel.
Stayed for the first time in business near Clermont (Issoire). As you arrive it looks like a massive chalet with balconies! Staff friendly, lovely open airy bar and restaurant area, little pond, outside decking and seating area overlooking a beautiful view of a field of sunflowers. My room had a balcony and view of the hills, countryside and Le Puy de Dome! The room was bright clean and fresh, lovely bathroom and powerful shower. Perfect location a minute from the motorway and 15 mins from the airport. All for less than €100 a night. Highly recommended thank you!
Web Site says "The BEST WESTERN Hotel Gergovie guarantees a pleasant stay in a contemporary elegant and stylish hotel and in its famous restaurant, you will enjoy modern, succulent and regional cuisine." However do not say BUT CLOSED AT WEEKEND
We arrived at 18:00hrs after a 700km drive to be told the restaurant was closed and we would have to find somewhere to eat. The receptionist helpfully order a pizza takeaway for us but it was not the relaxed meal we had expected. We knew that "the buffet' was not available but assumed that there was a restaurant dinner alternative. The Hotel is clean and smart.
By being right beside a motorway junction this is a good place to be if you want to explore the surrounding and fascinating volcanic region rather than be in the city. It also means that it is very much a business travellers hotel, lots of people eating alone or very obvious work groups. Not a particular problem apart from that when we went down to breakfast the buffet was almost empty and no sign of it being replenished. Dinner was acceptable and adequate without being outstanding in any direction. Rooms were clean and comfortable. One of those places we would happily revisit for a night if looking for a hotel in the area but would not go out of our way for.
The hotle is situated very close to the autroutes, although there is no trafic noise. The Hotel was very clean and modern as was the room. I should have read the description more closely as the restaurant was not open at the week end for the evening meal. Having said that, the receptionist was extremely helpful as he ordered a meal to be delivered on my behalf. To get to the nearest restaurant was by car and having driven 400 miles I didn't relish another drive. I could not fault either the hotel, decor or the staff. All were first class. Would definately return.
My wife and I were travelling with 2 friends on our way South. The hotel is close to the main road and so very easy to see. Despite the closeness of the road it is does not cause any issues with road noise. Many rooms have a small balcony so it's worth saking when you book. Others have a shower that could fit two people instead of a shower within a bath. So, again, ask if you have a preference on having a bath or a shower. The staff have a good working knowledge of english. Since my French is very poor this was very useful.
Wherever Life Takes You, Best Western Is There®
Each Best Western® branded hotel is independently owned and operated.