ROOM 1
ROOM 2
ROOM 3
Promotion code

Best Western Hotel Citadelle Besancon, Besancon

4.5/5  - basé sur 334 notations.
13 rue LECOURBE, 25000, Besancon, France - See map

Hotel of charm located in the city center of Besancon, near the Citadel: fortification of VAUBAN, classified with the world inheritance of UNESCO. In the historic center of Besancon, called "Loop" in reference to the loop formed by the Doubs at the foot of the Citadel. The Best Western Citadelle Besancon is ideally placed at the entry of the city, with an interior court. The 41 rooms are entirely renovated, and all equipped with TV flat-faced screen, strong trunk, courtesy tray, new top-of-the-range bed linen, free access Wi-Fi. The breakfast room and the living room of relaxation are in parts arched with enormously of charm. Decoration harmoniously combines the old one and the contemporary.

Best Western

Hotel Citadelle Besancon

LABEL_ITINERAIRE

LABEL_DEPART:

LABEL_ARRIVEE:

Hotel advantages

  • Air conditioning
    Air conditioning
  • Outdoor parking
    Outdoor parking
  • 24-hour front desk
    24-hour front desk
  • Safe deposit box
    Safe deposit box
Show More Show Less

Guest reviews

In partnership with tripadvisor fr
Certificate of Excellence 2018
based on 322 guest reviews
NOTE ISSUED
Excellent
151
Very Good
136
Average
26
Poor
7
Terrible
2
REFER TO NOTICE
Business Business
75
Couples Couples
161
Family Family
56
Friends getaway Friends getaway
12
Solo travel Solo travel
12
SUMMARY NOTES
Cleanliness
Location
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Value

"BEWARE !"

2
06/09/2018

Although this hotel advertises itself with a parking space, this is very limited ! After having booked a non-refundable stay in the hotel we were then advised by e-mail that the parking was full. The choice is then to leave your car in the street or in a public garage which is quite a distance away. They don't give you the opportunity to cancel the booking and look for another hotel. Not a great way to do business in our view !

BWCitadelle, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Citadell Besancon, responded to this review
Dear Michel, Thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our property. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. In the time of your booking, the information about the parking spots by booking only was very clear and yet, you chose a non refundable restrictive reservation without checking the availability on site first. For any additional requests, don't hesitate to contact directly the hotel. In our way, that is the best solution to prepare your stay. If we can be of assistance in the future, please call us at 03.81.81.33.92. Best Regards, Filipe Best Western Citadelle Besancon

"Great hotel, super location"

4
30/07/2018

Driving through France, we had to stop for the night, and looked for a spot close to Besancon. The hostess came out to greet us when we arrived, and assisted us in finding a parking spot in the small courtyard which had an outlet to charge our electric car. The room was charming with space for the entire family of four. The best restaurants in the city was just a few blocks walking away, beds were good and the AC gave a welcome cooling off. Breakfast the following day was quite nice, with options for both sweet and salt.

BWCitadelle, Responsable réception at Best Western Citadell Besancon, responded to this review
Dear Jon K, We are delighted to receive such a positive comment regarding your stay at the Best Western Citadelle. We are happy your stopped by our establishement and enjoyed your moment with us. Thank you for giving us your feedbacks, both regarding your room and also the different service of the hotel (breakfast, parking...) We will be glad to host you again if you ever come back in our regional capital. Best regards, Alexandra

"Charming hotel with great breakfast"

4
10/06/2018

Booked the hotel for one night with the idea oft getting to see a bit of Besancon. The check in was "impeccable" with an detailed explanation where to park the car, including city map. The rooms are not luxurious, but very nice with all amenities needed. A bit dark maybe, due to medieval townhouse windows and dark tapestry. The breakfast buffet was one of the best in a long time. Fresh fruit, a broad variety of breads, rolls and pastry, abundant coffee and a good selection of different teas. Finding the breakfast room was in the basement was a bit unexpected, but nothing at all disappointing. Nicely decorated with birds on the wire in an immaculate restored cellar. Very nice.

BWCitadelle, Responsable réception at Best Western Citadell Besancon, responded to this review
Dear Tomas, Thank you for giving us your feedback regarding your stay in our hotel. We are delighted to see you enjoyed your check in with our team! Thank you for your compliments. It is important for us to know that our clients enjoyed all of the parts of their stay, which seem to have been the case for you. We hope to be lucky enough to host you again. Best regards, Alexandra

"can not recommend"

3
06/05/2018

small hotel has a small private parking-need book parking place before arrival small rooms with minimum service close to citadel,but not so close to city center(around 30 minutes by walk) don't book breakfast- we arrive on 09:00 and tables wasn't prepared, anyone didn't meet us,and the breakfast room was without food, without bread, without tea or coffee all rooms have a view inside the parking !!!

BWCitadelle, Responsable réception at Best Western Citadell Besancon, responded to this review
Dear Chen, Thank you for giving us your feeback regarding you stay stay. We are both sorry and very surprised about the points you reproach us. Indeed, we are not at all at 30minutes by walk from the city center, since we ARE in the city center. We are 5min by foot from the pedestrian streets. Also, we have someone responsible of the breakfast, who is always here to welcome our clients. It might happen that every tables are not ready if everyone left at the same time, but our buffet is always full for everyone to be able to choose what they want to eat. We only have one person at the breakfast service, so she can not do everything in 5 minutes, but she surely does everything in time. Best regards, Alexandra

"Excellent Staff and Location"

5
22/03/2018

Hotel is located in centre-ville Besancon. This town is a Unesco Heritage site so the downtown has been untouched for ages. The staff at this hotel are super! Very accommodating - excellent restaurant suggestions and personalized service! The breakfast is excellent - love the cheese and croissants! Room was small but worked for me!

BWCitadelle, Responsable réception at Best Western Citadell Besancon, responded to this review
Dear Cindy, Thank you again for your very positive feedback regarding your stay. It was a pleasure for the whole team to have a client as nice and funny as you were. We hope you will come back again, either for personal or professional reasons! Best regards, Alexandra

"The best you can get in Besançon "

5
17/03/2018

I loved this hotel. The personnel makes you feel home and the breakfast has the best cheese from the region. The room was comfortable and I loved the coffee machine for most comfort. The bath is little but it was Ok for me.

BWCitadelle, Responsable réception at Best Western Citadell Besancon, responded to this review
Dear Miguel, What a pleasure and an award for us to notice your satisfaction regarding your stay in our hotel. We are delighted you were able to discover our regional cheeses, Comté and Morbier, which indeed have much success with our stranger clients. Next time, we will make sure to give you a room with a bigger bath, since they do not have the same size in every room. Looking forward to hosting you again, Alexandra

"Nice hotel in strategic position"

4
21/02/2018

The hotel is located in the Besancon downtown, quite close to the Citadel. The hotel interiors are nice and clean. The staff was very polite, providing us information about the key place to visit in the city. We booked a 4-bed room without breakfast at a good price. I suggest this hotel for short staying in the city aimed to visit the Vauban Citadel.

BWCitadelle, Responsable réception at Best Western Citadell Besancon, responded to this review
Dear Gi0viss, We truly thank you for this positive feedback regarding your stay in our hotel. We especially thank you for your compliments about our team. We work really hard to make sure our clients feel home when staying in our establishment. We will all be happy to receive you again. Best regards, Alexandra

"Great base"

4
03/02/2018

Can't write a complete review and never had dinner in the hotel. Excellent base for Besancon. Staff couldn't have been more pleasant or helpful. Breakfast is buffet style so you can have as much as you like, and although it's a small point, good pure orange. You need to book ahead a carparking space. Carparking is very tight so be patient. We stayed in the annex which was right beside the main road but we heard absolutely nothing and had a great sleep. The bedrooms were very comfortable.

BWCitadelle, Responsable réception at Best Western Citadell Besancon, responded to this review
Dear DrGorday, Thank you for your positive feedback regarding your stay in our hotel. We are glad our staff helped you with everything you might have needed. We will be really happy to host you again. Best regards, Alexandra

"Great stay! "

5
28/12/2017

We stayed here one night. Great location with easy walk to the historical district. Room was modern and clean. Front desk staff spoke perfect English. Be sure to reserve one of their 10 parking spaces when you make your reservation. I don't know where you will park if you don't reserve one. The only suggestion I have is to request one of the floors the elevator goes to if you have a lot of luggage. Some rooms are between floors that the elevator goes to which means to have to take your luggage up and down the stairs if you get one of those rooms.

BWCitadelle, Responsable réception at Best Western Citadell Besancon, responded to this review
Dear Luvtotravel0330, We are more than happy to observe you enjoyed your stay among us! It is always a great pleasure for us to received such positive comments, and we truly thank you for giving us your feedbacks. We understand your comment about the lack of an elevator in the annex part of the hotel. It is the oldest part of the establishment, and, unfortunately, it was not possible to able the access by a lift. We hope that it did not ruin the good quality of your stay, and look forward your next stay at the Best Western Citadelle. Best regards, Alexandra

"Excellent location"

4
21/10/2017

I stayed one night at the Best Western Citadelle. The location is wonderful, at the base of the citadelle. It's less than a 15 minute walk to all the things you would want to see in Besancon - both the shopping area downtown and the citadelle. The hotel looks very nice and is well maintained. My room was on the smaller side, and could have been a little brighter, but otherwise it was clean and comfortable. There is very little on-site parking (call or email ahead), but the parking garage is a 10 minute walk and rather reasonable. I would stay here again.

BWCitadelle, Première de Réception at Best Western Citadell Besancon, responded to this review
Dear JD, We are pleased to note you had a pleasant stay in our hotel, and will be as happy to host you again as yourself to come back. Thanks for your positive remarks. Indeed, we have brighter rooms than the one you stayed in during your stay. We will definetely give you one of them for your next stay. Best regards, Alexandra

"weird collection of buildings, but nice stay"

4
22/09/2017

My room was in some sort of annex, up the spiral stairs one level. It was purple, all over, Prince would have loved it. But a nice spacious bathroom. The room had a sofa that could have pulled out for two people. I could not, for the life of me, figure out the coffee maker, sad face. The breakfast was probably the best I've encountered in France. Nicely located close to the citadel (thus the name) and a short walk from the main sights and shops of the downtown. I definitely recommend the place. The property does have rooms for those with limited physical abilities, but it would be important to bring up the need at the time of the reservation. Meals are available in the lobby area in the evening.

BWCitadelle, Première de Réception at Best Western Citadell Besancon, responded to this review
Dear Sir, Thank you for you much detailed comment regarding your stay at the Best Western Citadelle. Indeed, tastes cannot be discussed ! We are sorry if the colour choices in your room did not suit you. You definetely should have told us about the coffee machine! Sometimes those little machines are unpredictable, so it's our pleasure to figure it out what's wrong and fix it, for the clients to be happy. We are delighted you enjoyed our buffet breakfast! We try to propose plenty of products for everyone to find what they like. We hope you had a pleasant moment discovering our city, and are glad you enjoyed our localisation. Indeed, disabled people have dedicated rooms, but we have to be warned at the reservation to be sure the room will not be given to someone else. The whole team hope we'll host you once again. Alexandra

"Great stopover, nice people "

5
16/09/2017

We stayed one night here whilst cycling the Eurovelo 6. The man on reception couldn't have been more helpful, showing us secure storage for our bikes, recommending good places to eat and even changing our room when we discovered that the previous occupant of our original one was a chain smoker! The building is quaint and well situated. We didn't try the breakfast.

BWCitadelle, Première de Réception at Best Western Citadell Besancon, responded to this review
Dear Geraint, Thank you for your excellent feedback concerning your stay at the Best Western Citadelle. We are delighted you appreciated Filip's warm welcome! It is our priority to make our clients feel like home. We are glad it was the case for you, and hope we will have the chance to host you once again. Alexandra

"Good hotel in Besancon"

4
11/09/2017

This hotel is in a great location for visiting the citadel and you can get to the main shopping and restaurant area of the town after a 5 - 10 minute walk. The staff are friendly and gave some great recommendations for eating out. If you are driving, it is worth booking a parking space, as the courtyard is small. It is possible to park on the nearby streets, but most of the spaces are pay and display. The buffet breakfast is very good and there plenty of choice.

BWCitadelle, Première de Réception at Best Western Citadell Besancon, responded to this review
Dear James, Thank you for your positive comment regarding your stay in our hotel. We are glad you appreciated our location and our staff members. Indeed, our parking in the courtyard is very small, that's why spaces are available only on reservation. We also appreciate your feedback about our breakfast ! We will be happy to host you once again. Alexandra

"Excellent location. Very good service for a reasonable price"

4
27/05/2017

We stayed one night in this hotel. We found it easily entering the city coming out of the highway from Switzerland. The room was totally renovated spacious and calm. Breakfast was good. When in Besançon, the visit of the nearby Vauban citadel is a must. We recommend this hotel and could consider coming back on another trip.

BWCitadelle, Première de Réception at Best Western Citadell Besancon, responded to this review
Dear Helene, Thank you very much for your positive feedback on TripAdvisor! We are glad you enjoyed your stay in our hotel, as well as the visit of our beautiful ciy of Besançon. We will be happy to have the chance to host you once again. Alexandra

"Quiet and comfortable"

4
13/05/2017

Clean and comfortable hotel just a short walk to downtown. We were initially given a room in the out building at street level which did not suit us. Front desk staff quickly relocated us to a room in the main building. Room was small and a bit dark but also clean and quiet. Above average in all respects for a budget hotel. Recommended.

BWCitadelle, Première de Réception at Best Western Citadell Besancon, responded to this review
Dear Jeff, Thank you very much for your taking some time to leave a comment on Tripadvisor. Your feedback is very important to us. We are glad to see that, on the whole, you had a pleasant stay among us. We were more than happy to give you a room that would suit you better than the one we initially gave you. Hoping to hosting you once again, Alexandra

"Perfect"

5
24/04/2017

I stayed two nights and everything was perfect. A great location, a great room, but most important, GREAT service. The breakfast was nice, great variety and fresh. The staff (I wish I could remember their names) but the three of them were most helpful in directions, taxis, and phone calls. Much appreciated. Highly recommended.

BWCitadelle, Réceptionniste at Best Western Citadell Besancon, responded to this review
Dear Edward, We truly thank you for your very positive comment. Christie, Estelle and I were more than happy to help you out with everything you needed. We wish we had customers like you everyday! Hoping you had nice way back to the US, and to host you once again. Alexandra

"Good central location in Besancon"

4
15/04/2017

A nights stay in central Besancon after a long drive. The old city is a great location and the hotel was a pleasant place to stay. Parking is perhaps a little 'tight' - prebooking a space would be helpful but they were able to find a space close by. Rooms were good size and comfortable with a decent ensuite bathroom. They didn't feel old despite the hotel being in an old part of town. Breakfast was good and varied.

BWCitadelle, Réceptionniste at Best Western Citadell Besancon, responded to this review
Dear Sir, Madam, Thank you for giving us and other visitors your feedback about your stay in our hotel. We are glad to observe that you enjoyed your stay. Indeed, our parking is pretty tiny, that's why we contact clients when we have either their phone number or email address to ask them if they need to book a parking space, or to warn them that the parking is already full. The whole Best Western Citadelle team will be happy to host you once again! Alexandra

"Great welcome in a lovely hotel"

5
12/03/2017

Best western have really upped their game with this hotel. Great welcome, lovely room, tremendous breakfast, parking for the car and our dog welcome. Besancon is an interesting and historic city with good restaurants and a great feel to the old city nestled below the Citadelle. The hotel was easy to find and within walking distance of the old city. Thanks to staff and the hotel designers we enjoyed our short stay.

BWCitadelle, Réceptionniste at Best Western Citadell Besancon, responded to this review
Dear Sir, The whole team wants to thank you for your very positive, and much appreciated feedback :) We are delighted to learn you enjoyed your stay among us, on every point. Your comment is the best reward we can receive for our daily hardwork. We will be more than happy to host you once again at the Best Western Citadelle. Alexandra

"Good location in Besancon, great breakfst"

4
11/02/2017

This hotel is in a series of historic buildings, as such it has several entrances. We stayed in the small building near the street. The rooms are very stylish and uniquely decorated. Breakfast the next morning was great. Service was friendly.

BWCitadelle, Réceptionniste at Best Western Citadell Besancon, responded to this review
Dear Sir, Madam, We truly thank you for your very positive feedback about your stay in our hotel. We are glad you enjoyed your time in Besançon, both in our hotel and visiting the city. It will be our pleasure to host you once again, making sure to give you another room so you can enjoy one more time our different rooms decoration. Best regards, Alexandra

"Lovely hotel with just one negative point…"

4
08/02/2017

Stayed on New Year's Day to break our journey from South-West France to Zurich. Nice welcome from the receptionist. Our room was very clean and newly decorated in a contemporary design. Quite compact with minimal room to move around with a business desk up close to the bed. One feature which we found very annoying however was the lack of lighting. With one desk spotlight and two bedside lights, most of the room was in complete darkness which was very impractical and inadequate. Breakfast was taken downstairs in a spacious room cutely decorated with ceramic birds perched upon the lighting wires! Lovely choice available for breakfast and freshly replenished by attentive staff. The hotel is in a great location next to the Citadel walls and central to the lovely city of Besancon. We would stay here again but hope to request a different room perhaps.

BWCitadelle, Réceptionniste at Best Western Citadell Besancon, responded to this review
Dear Sir, Madam. First, we want to thank you for taking a few minutes on Tripadvisor to give us and everyone your feedback about your stay in our hotel. We are glad you enjoyed our stay professional qualities and also the buffet breakfast. Indeed, we know that some of our rooms are darker than the others, but we avoid to put too much artificial light in an ecologic approach. We will make sure to give you a lighter room the next time you come, for you to have the best stay possible among us! Alexandra

"Wonderful stay and very nice staff"

5
25/10/2016

We stayed here one night only in reason of an event in the Scenacle. We really liked the hotel and would most definitely stay here again. The rooms were very well decorated, the TV was big, there was a coffee machine in the room. Very nicely warmed and cozy. The staff was very kind and allowed for a late check-out which was hugely appreciated. Very nice people - free wifi too !

BWCitadelle, Réceptionniste at BEST WESTERN Citadelle, responded to this review
Dear Sir, Madam, We want to thank you for your positive comment, which is truly appreciated and a true reward for the whole team work. We are glad you enjoyed all of the services we propose. As much as for you, it will be our pleasure to host you once again!

"Nice staff, a bit small, but ok"

4
27/08/2016

We got the family room at the entrance. 2 queen size bed ( one in a sofa). We were not in the nicest and oldest place. Only one bottle of water in the room where we were 4 and no free coffee. Staff was nice. No parking. We found place outside not far but you have to pay. Breakfast place was design and nice A place ok for a short stay.

"The Character of Hotel is Inside"

4
26/08/2016

Hotel building is very ordinary outside up a lane, however inside has character. Welcome very friendly, rooms are adequate, small lift for just 2 persons with bags, but that is all that you need. Limited parking, so arrange in advance for convenience. Breakfast is served underground in a unique setting, we even photographed it.. Desk officer supplied very helpful advice about eating at night locally & the best time to visit the Citadell, how to get there & park without crowds. Also he suggested walking to Cathedral of St John & seeing the astronomical clock.

"Hotel with more character than the name implies"

5
02/08/2016

The Best Western name led us to expect bland modernity, but "Citadelle" was more like what we found. The rooms and spaces are gorgeous re-decorations of an old French castle. Everything was modern and comfortable. Decent air conditioning, fabulous bed linens, great breakfast and beautiful décor throughout. We were very pleased with our choice and plan to return.

"Strange coffee policy"

3
29/07/2016

We found the hotel welcoming with a good sized bed but a rather short shower. The room had a Nespresso machine that I had to look up instructions for. The weirdest thing was we were two people in a double room and there was one coffee, one tea bag, one bottle of water. When I asked for more coffee the receptionist gave me one more but was quiet stern in saying we would have to pay for any more. Just a bit weird.

"Dark and dingy rooms"

2
11/07/2016

Hotel staff was helpful, the Reception area seemed clean, despite the rather grim outside walls. Our hotel room was on the dark side and perhaps because of this gave the impression of lack of cleanliness. Bathroom was extremely small, with the shower stall encroaching on the toilet area. Loved Besancon, but would not stay at this hotel again.

BWCitadelle, Adjointe de Direction at BEST WESTERN Citadelle, responded to this review
The main building of the hotel Best Western of Besançon is a former convent. It has been completely renovated and restored on a contemporary industrial style. In two dependencies of the hotel (annex and Pavilion), the owners have created rooms. Also, all the rooms are different and there are also different categories. Our staff is present 24/24 and all the days of the year. They are always available to meet the needs of customers and strive to find solutions adapted to the preferences of each client. The team is sorry for your bad experience.

"Dingy, stinky, noisy - dont go there"

1
10/07/2016

We booked "Deluxe room". I specifically asked for a quiet room on the last floor. We received a room in the outer building on the ground floor. Half of the window was covered with outside building which contained air conditioning agregate for the neighbouring building and the other half of the window was obstracted by the parked car. I will post a pocture later. How can anyone call that room with no windows and very low ceiling a delux room is beyond me. When I complained twice we were given 2 separate rooms on different floors. Rooms were very very very small and dark. The bed headboard is made of fake leather which is producing horrible, horrible, horrible stench. I woke up with a headache. People with astma would probably not be able to stay in the room. Air conditioning was making strange noises in the beginning, after working for a while it started making horrible noise sounding like a working truck. Because sleeping with such a noise was not possible I opened a window. Sleeping with an open window was problematic, because that airconditioning system in the yard, which was obstracting the window from the previous "deluxe room", was producing horrible noise as well. So all in all - we paid for a "deluxe room", received a basement dingy room with ceiling so low it made you feel claustrophobic, and aftewards received two tiniest rooms on separate floors where we had to run for a tooth brash or tooth paste or hand cream because when we were packing we did not expect to be placed in separate rooms with our son. And to add - doors are equipped with very strange springs which make them bang atvthe end. Which makes the whole building shudeer. So each time a resident enters or exits a room residents of the whole building hear it. I have stayed in Best Western hotels before, I was appalled with the level of service before, and yet i came again to Best Western. This time it was last straw. Very, very, very bad service . How can anyone give people such a room and call it a "deluxe" is beyond me. Especially when you kindly asked quiet room on the last floor they give you a room on the ground floor when they do have other "deluxe" rooms on other floors.

"Good friendly hotel"

5
29/06/2016

Spent a couple of nights here as we toured the region. Everyone was very helpful even down to freezing an ice pack for us to help my wife's swollen knee. Very close to an excellent restaurant (The 1802) which is always a bonus when using b & b hotels. Even though there is no restaurant at the hotel they will provide food at any time of day or night. Excellent breakfast buffet.

"Disappointing "

3
27/06/2016

Initial impression was how dark the interior of this hotel is. Our room was in the annex with windows overlooking a dirty skylight and a wall to another part of the hotel 1.5 metres away - not much of a view! Again, the decor was extremely dark and the room very small. Not somewhere to spend any longer than necessary. Bathroom was functional with usual toiletries and hairdryer. Staff pleasant and helpful. Location is a little out of the way and there is no bar or restaurant. Continental breakfast is served in what was a cellar and now looks like a school canteen. Not suitably for anyone with mobility issues and not up to Best Western 's usual standard.

"Nice clean & tidy hotel"

5
04/06/2016

Stayed for 2 nights on business with other colleagues Very welcoming and east checkin and room aloocation. Room clean and tidy, beds comfy, nice bug Windows for fresh air, as it was very warm on our visit. Breakfast served in the basement vault, very nice place and good offer for breakfast No restaurant on site but plenty around to choose from back in the town centre, were the shops were open late and seemed very quiet day or night. Very good

"Good hotel in a good area"

4
25/05/2016

We stayed in this hotel on our first night on the way to Burgundy. We emailed them a week earlier and asked them to reserve a parking place and when we arrived the last parking place was waiting for us. The hotel itself was very well organized, the room was a bit small but this is always the case in France. There was a coffee machine and when we asked for an electric kettle as well they managed to give it to us. Breakfast was served in an underground room and was very good. The hotel is right in the center of the historic area and one can walk every where. All in all a good place to stay in.

"Very good hotel in a strategic position"

4
11/04/2016

Nice room with coffee/tea facilities. Very comfortable bed. Strategic position near the city center and very convenient for visiting 'la Citadelle'. Polite and helpful staff. The major bug (especially for those who come on business) is the extremely unstable Wi-Fi connection in the room. A minor drawback is represented by the fact that no restaurant is available at the hotel (there are however some good restaurants nearby).

"Very nice hotel - tucked away"

4
02/04/2016

Good location, but you will need your satnav on full power to find it. On-site parking - thank the lord! Very welcoming and helpful and informative reception staff. The whole place looks recently renovated. Room a bit small and stuffy but OK for one night with just overnight bags - don't know what you'd do if you had suitcases. Good, comfortable bed. Nespresso machine and mineral water in the room. I'd go there again, if I could find it!

"Newly renovated"

4
17/02/2016

Although this hotel does not look like much from the street, it's a real treat once you walk through the main doors. The foyer is decorated well with comfortable furnisings ideal for a morning coffee or a breather after a long day. Staff were pleasant and English speaking. Take note of the inviting coffee machine enticing you for a cuppa. It's not free (3 Euro). Rooms are clean and quite. Had to call reception on my first night to adjust the temperature of the room since it was unbearingly warm. Aircon is no more than just a fan so you may need to open the window for some cool air. Once the radiant heater was turned down, the room temperatue was OK. Bathrooms are small but acceptable for European standards. Toilet seats are uncomfortably tall for whatever reason. Glass shower door, when opened outwards (wrong direction but the hinge/jam allows for it) will likely startle you as it violently collides with the solid metal wall mounted towel rack. Surprised it didn't shatter on contact. Bring bar soap if you're not accustomed to the "European" style shower gel. Personally, I can't stand it no matter how environmentally friendly it may be. Rooms may or may not come with a Nespresso coffee machine and free coffee each day. I had the Deluxe King room on the first floor which did. That's a BONUS! Beds are conformable although the cleaning crew have a habit of short sheeting the bedding. That's a pain but hey, what can you do?? English TV is limited to ONE CHANNEL (CNN) and WIFI is not much of an alternative since it's extremely slow and very spotty. Message to the management, PLEASE FIX THIS! Parking is tight and usually full in the evening so you're better off pre-booking to ensure you have a guarenteed spot. Costs about 8 Euro/day. Overall, a nice confortable stay.

"Very nice hotel"

3
11/01/2016

As a 4 member family we enjoyed our stay at this hotel. The location is good but not the best. At first the hotel looks poor but it is better than we expected. Some rooms are in different buildings on the same place. The rooms are large and have all the funtionalities. The breakfast is not included in the standard rate.

"Cozy and comfortable"

5
01/12/2015

A very nice welcome by the receptionist, the lobby is beautifully furnished. The rooms are cozy but can be small for some people. Clean bathroom, large and comfortable bed. Delicious breakfast with local and organic products. I loved the wooden look of the breakfast room. In walking distance to all the town's highlights. Easily accessible by car, there are many parkings around the hotel.

"Very Kind staff"

3
07/11/2015

Very good position, highly raccomended to reserve a parking area if you are arriving by car. As well, if you are booking more than one room, you'll better clarify if you want to have the rooms nearby: it doesn's seem to be so normal, since the hotel has the main part and two external wings... you might find that the other people travelling with you have been placed somewhere else. This is not really a great problem... but if you have kids to take care than .. you'll better be very clear at the moment of the reservation. The staff is nice and the rooms are a little bit fancy. Overall a good experience. The hotel is downtown.

"Comfortable hotel for a stopover"

4
02/11/2015

Stayed here on a trip from Lake Constance to the Loire and were pleasantly surprised by the hotel and and the city. Definitely worth a return visit. Comfy room in the annexe, which doesn't look like much from the outside but which has been renovated completely inside. Parking place in front of the door and an excellent breakfast, with a wide choice of cheese and sausage, jams and artisan yoghurt. Only a short walk from the city centre.

"Nice Hotel"

4
13/10/2015

My wife and I recently spent one night at this hotel in Besancon and enjoyed the experience. The hotel seems to have been updated and the room was very nice (although small -- typical for a French hotel).The service was very good. I made advanced arrangements for a parking spot and I am glad that I did. The cost was 10 euro, but, the spot was very conveniently located in their courtyard. They allowed us to extend the stay for parking the car without additional cost, which allowed us to explore the city a bit on a second day. I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone planning a visit to Besancon (which I also recommend).

"One-night stop when returning from a holiday in Italy."

5
11/09/2015

The hotel was attractive and the staff were nice. Breakfast was excellent. The rooms were a little small if you want to open up a large suitcase on the floor. Because Besancon centre is an old, historic town, there are many one-way streets and it is difficult finding the hotel by car. When you send a room confirmation it would be good to add a detailed map showing 2 or 3 routes in.

"Excellent Hotel"

5
23/08/2015

Very nicely renovated hotel.We stayed for one night in July when the temperature was 40 degrees. Luckily the a/c worked very well. We didn't have any problems with wifi as previous guests mentioned, the bed was very comfortable, and it was nice to be able to make a cup of coffee in room. Christie at the front desk was very welcoming and professional, gave us a map and highlighted places to see in the town. We booked a rate with breakfast included (which was very good), and also booked parking for a small fee. Because of the hotel's central location, it was great to be able to leave the car, and wander around the town.

"Worth a Visit, But a Few Improvements Needed"

4
20/08/2015

In a little courtyard the hotel proved a little difficult to find, but was well worth finding. Pleasingly unusual styling and décor to the foyer and basement breakfast room make it a hotel you'll remember. Shame there's a shortage of free parking. Our room for two nights was comfy, modern and clean with almost everything you'd expect including A/C. Regrettably for the travelling Brit there was only one English language TV channel, so this could be better, and the advertised free Wi-Fi was non-existent In the bedroom, which is a complete downer in this day and age. I did not like the fact that our room was 'made-up' whilst we were at breakfast - please wait till we've left for the day. I have an ongoing grumble about the design and fitting out of hotel bathrooms - it's a shame the designers don't have to use them themselves for a few days because there are frequently inadequacies that could be improved, not with spending a fortune but with a little commonsense. And that applies here. Our bathroom gave an excellent first impression despite being a little short of 'towel swing' space and for once, and this is good, there was plenty of bathroom shelf space for lotions and potions. But a few grumbles: the shower was massive but not powerful enough and for the older traveller a grab handle would not go amiss; their was not enough towel-hanging space (if nothing else put some hooks on the back of the door); the lighting was too dull and the two spotlights, the only lighting, in the wrong place - a ceiling spotlight over your head is no good for shaving or make-up. Finally, why is it always a freezing experiment to work out how the shower controls work - put up a notice, I'm only here for a night or two, I don't have time to experiment. Disappointingly, the breakfast room felt more like a student canteen - too much 'clatter' and too much walking about to find what you want - positioning of foods seemed illogical. The food was pretty basic (little imagination), the options were pretty basic (no eggs (except boil your own), bacon, tomatoes, marmalade or marmite!) and the quality pretty basic - why in France, the home of the croissant, does the hotel offer the smallest ones known to humankind. It's France - get real! Overall adequate, but a bit disappointing. Sounds like lots of inadequacies, but it's not, it's mainly a list of relatively minor matters that could be easily and cheaply improved, that wouldn't stop us staying here again. We actually liked the hotel, its position near the town centre, its overall character and ambience and the helpful reception staff. Give it a try.

"Great find!"

5
18/08/2015

A beautifully renovated old building which does not belie a typical best western. We were very pleasantly surprised by the size of the rooms, the quality of the finishings and how funky the foyer and public areas were decorated. The pricing was excellent too and very affordable for our large family of 7! Breakfast was very good too and worth having. I would return to this hotel.

"Comfortable, Clean and Quiet..."

5
09/08/2015

Those are the 3 things most important to us in a hotel stay. The staff are all very friendly and all speak English. Old town Besancon is such a beautiful place to wander around. It was easy to do with this centrally located boutique hotel