ROOM 1
ROOM 2
ROOM 3
Promotion code

Hotel Esplanade, Sure Hotel Collection by Best Western, Stockholm

Strandvagen 7A, 11456, Stockholm, Sweden - See on a map
Hotel Esplanade, Sure Hotel Collection by Best Western - Hotel Esplanade, Sure Hotel Collection by Best Western The Hotel Esplanade, Sure Hotel Collection by Best Western is ideally located in the center of Stockholm. Come and experience our hotel near the major tourist attractions. Best price guaranteed and exclusive deals.

Welcome to the Hotel Esplanade, Sure Hotel Collection by Best Western, located on the fashionable Standvagen, an extraordinary 4 Star hotel that many call their second home. Within a comfortable walking distance from cultural attractions, shopping, first-class restaurants, the archipelago and round-trip boats, this beautiful boutique hotel stand with pride.

Sure Hotel Collection

Hotel Esplanade

LABEL_ITINERAIRE

LABEL_DEPART:

LABEL_ARRIVEE:

Hotel advantages

  • Cocktail lounge
    Cocktail lounge
  • 24-hour front desk
    24-hour front desk
Show More Show Less

Guest reviews

In partnership with tripadvisor fr
Certificate of Excellence 2019
based on 380 guest reviews
NOTE ISSUED
Excellent
169
Very Good
128
Average
51
Poor
25
Terrible
7
REFER TO NOTICE
Business Business
73
Couples Couples
158
Family Family
60
Friends getaway Friends getaway
40
Solo travel Solo travel
32
SUMMARY NOTES
Cleanliness
Location
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Value

"Hotel Esplanade, Stockholm Sweden"

5
laurawensek, Woodbury, Connecticut 22/05/2019

Excellent hotel and location. Includes breakfast and was fantastic! Staff was extremely friendly and knowledgeable! Near everything you would want to visit very convenient. Rooms spacious and comfortable,

esplanade1910, Hotelldirektör at Hotel Esplanade, Sure Hotel Collection by Best Western, responded to this review
Dear Laura, Thank You for Your lovely feedback! I am happy to hear that You enjoyed Your stay at our hotel! We are proud of our fantastic staff and Your nice feedback will be forwarded. Once again Thank you and mostly welcome back to us, Patricia Häggblom GM

"Special Break in Stockholm"

5
Derby422, Derby, United Kingdom 29/04/2019

Booked 4 night break for at the Hotel Esplanade, Stockholm for a special birthday and family celebration. The hotel location was great and ideally located right in the middle giving easy access to the numerous boat trips, Skansen, city centre shopping and the old town area of Gamla Stan. The comfortable style furnishings made it feel such a relaxing place. The breakfasts were good with self serve buffet and more than enough choice. The staff were always available, very friendly and helpful. The whole experience was excellent value for money and certainly somewhere I would recommend to other travellers.

Johanna S, Receptionschef at Hotel Esplanade, Sure Hotel Collection by Best Western, responded to this review
Thank you for your great comments. So happy you enjoyed your stay with us. It was a pleasure having you as our guest and we look forward to welcoming you back to us soon.

"Old school charm in excellent location"

5
Inspire60048875545, Gothenburg, Sweden 28/04/2019

We booked a late stay and was upgraded on arrival to a large room with beautiful view over Nybroviken. Stayed hete before and thank this is a moore personal option then neighbouring Diplomat. Excellent lookation and possibility to park for free in streetparkng as weekend and not high season. Good breakfast with everything you sant and some moore without being extremly large

Johanna S, Receptionschef at Hotel Esplanade, Sure Hotel Collection by Best Western, responded to this review
Thank you so much for your great comments. It was a pleasure having you as our guest. Hope to see you soon again.

"Limitations"

3
206jod, West, Texas 27/04/2019

Grand old building, but hotel actually quite small and basic. Large rooms are just large but the tiny rooms are actually more comfortable. If your room is above the main floor, you get there by carrying your luggage up a winding staircase -- no bell staff. Furnishings in common areas rather ornate and elaborate, in the rooms austerely functional. Bathrooms were all added inexpensively, so tiny showers, a step up from the bedroom, etc. Best to walk 5-10 minutes to the right to get to shops and cafes. Staff very pleasant and friendly and the breakfast good -- scrambled eggs surprisingly good.

Johanna S, Receptionschef at Hotel Esplanade, Sure Hotel Collection by Best Western, responded to this review
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. Sorry we did not meet you exectations all the way. However I am happy to hear you found our staff and breakfast good. Hope you had a nice stay in Stockholm.

"The hotel I cant wait to return to"

5
Trek53509237998, Oslo, Norway 25/04/2019

Such a lovely hotel, perfect location, central yet quiet. Beautiful interiors and cosy, comfortable rooms. And the staff, so professional and serviceminded, welcoming and helpful. Very good breakfast! I cant wait to go back to Stockholm and stay at the Esplanade!

Johanna S, Receptionschef at Hotel Esplanade, Sure Hotel Collection by Best Western, responded to this review
Dear Trek Thank you for your great comments. So happy you enjoyed your stay with us. It was a pleasure having you as our guest and we look forward to welcoming you back to us soon.

"A small intimate hotel in a superb location."

5
Herwidiati, Jakarta, Indonesia 24/04/2019

Great location! There are a lot of public transport options nearby: tram, bus, tunnelbana, even ferries. The room facing the esplanade was huge and has a fantastic view. There are a lot of choice for breakfast, including smoked salmon and pickled herrings, which were rare in other countries. Overall, we had very enjoyable experience staying in this hotel for 3 nights. Just note that there's no elevator, but the rooms are only on the first floor. Also, no coffee making facilities in the room. However, they provide 24 hours coffee making facilities in the dining room, just like being at home!

Johanna S, Receptionschef at Hotel Esplanade, Sure Hotel Collection by Best Western, responded to this review
Thank you for your lovely comment! Nothing makes us happier than guests having a great experience! It was a pleasure having you as our guest. We hope to welcome you or any of your friends to our hotel soon. Kind Regards Team Esplanade

"Fake photos and presentation"

2
User 10/04/2019

1)Booked on booking.com and photos were showing view to lake but instead we had view to garden. 2)Description was ''double bed'', but it was two small beds connected. Apart its position, nothing worth

Johanna S, Receptionschef at Hotel Esplanade, Sure Hotel Collection by Best Western, responded to this review
Thank you for taking the time to review us. We are very sorry we did not meet your expectations. We do have deluxe rooms facing the water in the hotel, if requested we always try to accommodate or offer an upgrade is someone is booked in a lower category. We do also have mattresses that zip together into one double bed if requested. If any of this is brought to our attention we always try our best to fix the situation. We hope you had a wonderful time in beautiful Stockholm and hopefully our great location contributed to that. Kind Regards

"Down town"

4
Elksab, Helsingborg, Sweden 07/04/2019

Great hotel with a super good breakfast. It's close to the big shopping streets. You have a nice place on the first floor to sitting ore a super small balcony. This place you looking out on the sea and all boats. This is close to everything to experience in Stockholm. Also the Strandvägen in amazing place to only walking on.

Johanna S, Receptionschef at Hotel Esplanade, Sure Hotel Collection by Best Western, responded to this review
Hello and thank you for these lovely comments. We are so happy you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to see you again soon. Kind Regards Team Esplanade

"Beautiful hotel in an amazing location!"

5
User 26/03/2019

If you are looking for an historic hotel located on the water in Stockholm then this is a great hotel for you. The courtyard at the front of the hotel is adorable and picturesque with the waterfront and boats right across the street. We walked to numerous places to shop including a department store and high end luxury stores, plus there are many restaurants and even a 7/11 on the corner if you need a quick item. Public transportation is also just a block away, although if you like walking, we walked to the Vasa Museum, the Abba Museum and the Nordic Museum, and also walked over to the departure point for an archipelago tour. I believe we even walked to Gamla Stan. The rooms are comfortable, don't expect anything too modern as they are in keeping with the 1910 designs. We brought square electric converters and all of the converters are round, so we had to find the round converters to plug them in to. There is also not a lot of storage in the room so we had to keep the majority of our items in our suitcase. There is a closet but it hold the ironing board and several shelves but no dresser. The breakfast every morning was AMAZING including coffee and a cappuccino machine. Lots of nice selections and if you love bread and cheese you will be in heaven! The staff was very nice and they did have the option for room service I believe. I would definitely stay there again if we visited again!

Johanna S, Receptionschef at Hotel Esplanade, Sure Hotel Collection by Best Western, responded to this review
Dear Aprildawn Thank you ever so much for this great and also informative review. Nothing makes us happier than our guests having great experiences while staying with us. It was a pleasure having you as our guests and we look forward welcoming you or your friends back to us. Kind Regards Team Esplanade

"Turning back, again and.. "

5
LindaLuSweden, Sweden 05/03/2019

If you are looking for a good place to stay in Stockholm, dont look further. I have stayed at this historical place severel times and Im keep coming back. Central, nicely located within walking distance to most sights and with a genuine touch.

Johanna S, Receptionschef at Hotel Esplanade, Sure Hotel Collection by Best Western, responded to this review
Dear Linda Thank you for your wonderful comments. Nothing makes us happier than our guests enjoying their stay with us. It was a real pleasure having you as our guest and we look forward to welcoming you back to us soon. Kind Regards Team Esplanade

"Pensionat style hotel down town"

3
User 30/01/2019

Svensk ten styled swedish , little oldish hotel . Location is exellent , close to the water and in the very heart of Stockholm . Room have seen their best days , but bathroom was nice and new , tough pretty small . Bed was very comfortable with all the linings .

Johanna S, Receptionschef at Hotel Esplanade, Sure Hotel Collection by Best Western, responded to this review
Thank you for sending us your comments. So happy you seemed to have a lovely time with us. Sorry about the small bathroom. All our rooms are different, call us before your next visit and we will make sure you get a room with a larger bathroom. Hope you had the best time in Stockholm.

"Very nice hotel"

4
quarry_127, Yeovil, United Kingdom 26/01/2019

I stayed here for 2 nights last week. The hotel is very nice. The rooms are big and well decorated. The breakfast has everything you expect. My only disappointment was the size of the en suite bathrooms, mine was very small and squashed in. Also no bar or restaurant for the evening but there are loads of restaurants in walking distance. I would recommend this hotel.

Johanna S, Receptionschef at Hotel Esplanade, Sure Hotel Collection by Best Western, responded to this review
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. Sorry we did not meet your expectations all the way. We do have many different room and bathroom sizes, give us a call next time and we will help you find a suitable room for you. We have a selection of drinks and dishes which we sell from our reception desk, but as you say many good restaurants in the vicinity as well. I hope you enjoyed your time in Stockholm Kind Regards Team Esplanade

"Perfect stay"

5
AviG983, Cupecoy Bay, St Martin / St Maarten 03/10/2018

We stayed three nights at this little gem. Excellent location in the heart of Stockholm. Any easy walk to many museums, sites and restaurants. It mixes the old and the new. We had a quiet room on the courtyard side. The room was good sized with modern bathroom. The staff, especially Nicole, was extremely helpful. The breakfast was generous and tasty. Served in two dining rooms. The small number of rooms made for an intimate experience. Would definitely stay again. with modern bathroom. The staff, especially Nicole, was extremely helpful. The breakfast was generous and tasty. Served in two dining rooms. The small number of rooms made for an intimate experience. Would definitely stay again.

Johanna S, Receptionschef at Hotel Esplanade, Sure Hotel Collection by Best Western, responded to this review
Thank you soooo much for your lovely comments. So happy you enjoyed your stay with us. I will make sure to pass on to Nicole and the rest of the team. Hope to see you again soon. KInd Regards

"Lovely Hotel,Excellent Location"

5
JeffandMark, Philadelphia, Pennsylvania 29/09/2018

We stayed here recently for 2 nights prior to embarking on a Baltic cruise. The hotel is very nicely decorated in old world style. The staff was friendly, helpful and informative. The location is excellent. It has a beautiful view over the harbor . There is tram stop across the street and the metro station is only a short walk. If you are embarking on a cruise as we were, the cruise terminal is a 15 minute taxi ride max. Our room was simply but nicely furnished and best of all was HUGE!! Some rooms have small balconies. Ours did not but had a lovely bay widow with view over the water. There was a large common sitting room on our floor for all to use which opened onto a balcony. Breakfast was very good with a large selection of breads, pastries, cheeses, smoked fish, yogurt, etc. as well as scrambled eggs and bacon. It should be noted that there is no lift. Was not a problem for us but may be for some. We did not require any assistance with our bags but I'm certain they would have helped us if we needed it. We loved Stockholm and if we ever return I would stay here again. I highly recommend this lovely old grand hotel.

Johanna S, Receptionschef at Hotel Esplanade, Sure Hotel Collection by Best Western, responded to this review
Dear Jefff & Mark Thank you for your lovely review. It was a real pleasure having you with us! Hope to see you again soon!! Kind Regards Team Esplanade

"Experience a stay in a historical building site"

3
Alyaarene, London, United Kingdom 22/09/2018

Hotel about 20 min walk from the station and close to a harbour. Hotel located in a historical site, very old style decor. No lift available which was annoying considering that I had a heavy luggage to carry up myself on a spiral staircase. Room was good size, designed in the same fashion as the hotel itself. Very nice toiletries to use from the Rituals collection, with shampoo, conditioner and shower gel available. Tried to use the iron and ironing board available in the room but iron seemed to be a bit out of use and was leaking water.. stopped that. Breakfast was nice with a small selection of Swedish regulars like knäckebröd or cracker bread, salmon, yogurt and cereal. Coffee and tea is available in the breakfast room at all times.

Johanna S, Receptionschef at Hotel Esplanade, Sure Hotel Collection by Best Western, responded to this review
Dear Linda Thank you for writing about us. Seems like overall you enjoyed your stay with us. Apart from the lift & iron situation. As much as we would love to have a lift installed it is a grade II listed building and we are not allowed to. However our staff is much stronger than they look and happy to pitch in with bags if needed. In regards to the iron, did you contact us for another one? I will go through our irons and update where needed. Hope you had a lovely stay in Stockholm. Kind Regards

"Grand old hotel with awesome staff"

5
Tombjl, Spruce Grove, Canada 06/09/2018

Stayed for 3 days and were most pleased with our accommodations. Older (very clean) Hotel with lots of personality and great view of the harbour from the beautiful sitting room on top of the spiral staircase. Desk staff were very extremely helpful with suggestions of venues and sites to take in as well as shopping suggestions for the ladies. Very good traditional breakfast buffet which we enjoyed and will stay at this hotel again when we return.

Johanna S, Receptionschef at Hotel Esplanade, Sure Hotel Collection by Best Western, responded to this review
Thank you for your awesome review. So happy you enjoyed your stay with us! Hope to see you soon again. Kind Regards Team Esplanade

"nice location"

4
Ness34, Uppsala, Sweden 12/08/2018

family visit, we had two rooms close to each other rooms don't have view and just the second floor is hotel rooms. there isn't any elevator and help with carrying the lugages through the steps but the location is very central with the water. there are a lot of parking space on streets around the hotel 15kr per hour

Johanna S, Receptionschef at Hotel Esplanade, Sure Hotel Collection by Best Western, responded to this review
Dear Ness Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Yes being an old building we unfortunately do not have an elevator, however we normally offer to help out with bags. We must have missed this time. Glad you enjoyed the location and you found parking alright. Kind Regards Team Esplanade

"Great hotel"

4
marcope67, Washington DC, District of Columbia 09/08/2018

We stayed here for a family vacation. Great location. We walked everywhere since we like to do that. Easy to get to everything. In the nicest neighborhood, near old town and shopping. Easy to get to all major attractions. Breakfast was very good with everything fresh and replenished frequently. Room is a bit small, but good enough and the staff is super nice and friendly. They helped us with dinner reservations and suggested great places. We had a room that faced the inner courtyard and it was quiet and the curtains were dark enough that it was easy to sleep. Only bad comment is that the bathrooms are micro sized, but it was clean and it worked fine. Nice bathrooom toiletries. Overall a great place to stay in Stockholm.

Johanna S, Receptionschef at Hotel Esplanade, Sure Hotel Collection by Best Western, responded to this review
Thank you for this great review! So happy you enjoyed your time with us. We do have different types of rooms and sizes, call us next time you are coming and we will happily assist to find a bigger room with a larger bathroom for you. Hope to see you soon. Kind Regards Team Esplanade

"Comfortable room"

3
OATEK, Sydney, Nsw 27/07/2018

Having read good reviews we booked this hotel for two nights. On the plus side the room was spacious, overlooking the courtyard. The hotel is well situated for visits to the Vasa and National Museums via the No7 tram that passes by out front. There is also a metro station about 500 metres away that can get you to Gamla Stan and other parts of the city. On the negative side there was no lift and we had to struggle with our luggage up stairs, which was uncomfortable for a pair of sexagenerians. Also the breakfast was more suited to Scandinavians than us. On our last day at checkout a cab was called but owing to afternoon peak hour traffic we stood outside for 45mins, waiting for a ride to the airport.

Johanna S, Receptionschef at Hotel Esplanade, Sure Hotel Collection by Best Western, responded to this review
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on us. Yes being an old building and hotel from 1910 we unfortunately do not have an elevator. However our staff is always happy to help when they can. Sorry you did not feel the breakfast was to your liking, normally we get great reviews for both local and foreign guests. What were you missing? In regards to traffic we are a hotel in peak location as you described it, but unfortunately being in a capital city, that does mean traffic. Our front office is well aware of this and always recommend booking taxis ahead of time during these peak hours. Very glad to see you were happy with the room and our location and I hope you had a wonderful time in Stockholm during your stay. Kind Regards Johanna Front Office Manager

"Return review by return guest"

5
MagnusBvi, Paris, France 22/07/2018

Once a year in Stockholm, always at Esplanade. Room 16 is large and airy, with a side view over the water, we adore the vintage comfortable Scandinavian style. Fantastic breakfast as always, attentive and very friendly front office and super-good housekeeping gentleman, same as last time :) The living room with its balcony over the water on first floor is unbeatable in Stockholm. Thanks!

Johanna S, Receptionschef at Hotel Esplanade, Sure Hotel Collection by Best Western, responded to this review
Dear Magnus Thank you for your raving review! Hope to see you back with us again soon! Kind Regards Team Esplanade

"Nice stay at excellent location"

3
katarinalauning, Oslo, Norway 21/07/2018

Ok stay - the hotel is charming, quiet and very personal - a super nice hotel and I have stayed there before. This was a heat record summer, and this hotel wasnt suited for that. With airconditioning lacking, and windows facing south with the sun baking all day, the room got unbearably hot. Hopefully they will do something about this in the near future. The location is excellent, close to Djurgården and Stockholm City.

"Comfortable stay"

5
1939stella, Southampton, United Kingdom 01/07/2018

The staff were very helpful. We exchanged email before we arrived and they booked boat trips for us. The room was clean and comfortable. Breakfast had a wide choice of cold food, scrambled eggs and bacon. Tea, coffee and biscuits were also available. There are comfortable lounges and a very small balcony.

Johanna S, Receptionschef at Hotel Esplanade, Sure Hotel Collection by Best Western, responded to this review
Dear Stella Thank you for this lovely review. So happy you enjoyed your stay with us. Tell your friends and come back to us soon. Kind Regards Team Esplanade

"Very nice stay"

4
Tomten175, Boston, Massachusetts 30/05/2018

We stayed three nights at this hotel prior to boarding a cruise ship. The staff is very friendly and helpful. Our room was good size for a European hotel. There is no elevator, so if you can't lug your suitcase up to the 1st floor, this might not be the place for you! Buffet breakfast was delicious and covered all the bases: yogurt, fruit, museli, eggs, bacon, cold meats and cheeses, lax, and various breads. Coffee and tea were always available. We had a room with a small balcony which was nice to sit on and have coffee. The location was great for walking to Gamla Stan (20 mins), Central Station (20 mins), and the Vasa Museum (20 mins).

Johanna S, Receptionschef at Hotel Esplanade, Sure Hotel Collection by Best Western, responded to this review
Thank you Tomten for this lovely and accurate review. What our guests experience is extremely important to us. Hope to see you or any of your friends with us soon. Kind Regards Team Esplanade

"Beautiful art-deco hotel, perfect location!"

4
Ylva R, Helsingborg, Skåne Län, Sweden 29/05/2018

This has to be one of the most beautiful buildings in Stockholm! The interior design is wonderful; old wooden furniture and wall-paper to match the building. I loved the breakfast! Home-made granola and scrambled eggs made of real eggs! High quality food in a beautiful breakfast room! However the hotel is in need of a proper cleaning, some new paint (hopefully linseedoil) BUT I do hope the owners will not change anything.

Johanna S, Receptionschef at Hotel Esplanade, Sure Hotel Collection by Best Western, responded to this review
Dear Ylva Thank you for you comments, what our guests experience is extremely important to us. Happy you enjoyed our style and our beautiful building. Our owner is very passionate about keeping it in stile. We refurbish continuously and do paintwork as often as our availability allows. Please tell your friends and come back soon. Kind Regards Johanna Front Office Manager

"Baltic ocean cruise"

3
oakbluffsmv, Oak Bluffs, Massachusetts 29/05/2018

Stopped at this hotel before boarding a Viking cruise ship. Great location and very quaint grounds. Nice people also. The downside was the room. It faced the dirtiest and messiest back side I have ever experienced. Pigeons and their droppings were our view. The room was rather small and the shower ran water trrough out the bathroom. If you seek a room there, don't take one that doesn't face the front or, at least, the court yard. Do not accept room 27 unless you like the view I described.

Johanna S, Receptionschef at Hotel Esplanade, Sure Hotel Collection by Best Western, responded to this review
Thank you for taking the time to write feedback to us. Sorry room 27 did not meet your expectations, most people chose it because it is quiet. I can happily announce that a new bird net has been installed over the courtyard as well as cleaning, so no more pigeon tracks. Did you approach our reception in order to change to any of our other rooms? We happily assist with this if we can. Hope you enjoyed your stay in Stockholm overall. KInd Regards Johanna Front Office Manager

"Nice location- NO ELEVATOR "

2
Ellie B, Martha's Vineyard, Massachusetts 29/05/2018

We stayed here one night before a cruise. Lovely old hotel with nice breakfast. No elevator so had to haul big suitcases up and down winding staircase. Plus we had an awful stuffy room overlooking the concrete roof and the building next door. Would not stay here again.

Johanna S, Receptionschef at Hotel Esplanade, Sure Hotel Collection by Best Western, responded to this review
Dear Ellie Thank you for taking the time and writing your feedback to us. So sorry we did not meet your expectations. We would love to have an elevator however in a grade II listed building we are limited to what we can refurbish and not. However this is clearly stated on all booking venues and websites. Please note we also have lovely rooms facing both Stranvägen and the lovely Nybroviken bay as well as Artillerigatan and the courtyard by the entrance. Did approach our staff in order to change rooms? We are happy to assist with this. We do hope in spite of this that you had a wonderful time in Stockholm and a lovely cruise. Kind Regards Johanna Front Office Manager

"Hotel Esplanade"

4
fdi2018, Skive, Denmark 04/05/2018

Nice location Average quality Near by the harbor with nice transport options. Breakfast was above average Little noise in the morning from traffic In general a good hotel with lots of charme. I might have a 2nd stay some day

Johanna S, Receptionschef at Hotel Esplanade, Sure Hotel Collection by Best Western, responded to this review
Thank you for taking the time to write to us. What our guests experience is extremely important to us. We realise out old style is not for everyone, and being a city hotel in our location, one is to expect some traffic noise. However we do have quiet rooms facing our courtyard for next time, call us and we will happily assign one of those rooms for you. Look forward welcoming you to our hotel soon again. Kind Regards Team Esplanade

"Small and very charming hotel"

4
Knut S, Oslo, Norway 30/04/2018

It looks huge from the outside, but Esplanade is a very small hotel, all rooms on the same floor. It's a bit worn here & there, but full of charm. We had a large and very quiet room, facing the courtyard. There's also a very nice longue on top of the stairs, where you can relax and have a drink. Good breakfast in the morning, definitely value for money and a lot more charming than the typical business hotels.

Johanna S, Receptionschef at Hotel Esplanade, Sure Hotel Collection by Best Western, responded to this review
Hello Knut Thank you for writing these very nice comments. SO happy you had a great experience with us. Please tell your friends about us. Hope to see you back with again soon. Kind Regards Team Esplanade

"What a gem!"

5
ralphwho, Brisbane, Australia 15/04/2018

We travelled to Stockholm to visit young friends and needed a reasonably priced place to stay but one with atmosphere and charm. The Esplanade Hotel has both! The staff are wonderful, the breakfast sumptuous, the room large - a little old - but clean and airy and a delightfully comfortable bed. The lounge at the top of the spiral staircase was a gorgeous place to sit and have coffee or a glass of wine. The property is in an area that makes the Old Town and most other tourist attractions easily accessible but is not crowded up in the midst of them. We will be back!

Johanna S, Receptionschef at Hotel Esplanade, Sure Hotel Collection by Best Western, responded to this review
Dear Ralphwho Thank you for your amazingly kind words. Nothing makes us happier than guests enjoying their stay with us. Please tell your friends about us and come back again soon. Kind Regards from the whole Esplanade Team

"Authentic classy stay"

5
FamDeManNL, Brielle, The Netherlands 08/03/2018

Very well located hotel at the waterfront in Stockholm. I got upgraded to a superior room with view on the water. Very nice, but if you want a quiet night, the street/waterfront can be noisy because of traffic. The bathroom is authentic as well, which means a lot of water on the floor if you shower. Breakfast buffet perfect but have been nicer to have fresh orange juice if you pay almost €200 per night (it did not help that they added juice from a cheap brand in view of the customer/guests). But I liked the stay.

Johanna S, Receptionschef at Hotel Esplanade, Sure Hotel Collection by Best Western, responded to this review
Dear FamDeManNL Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback. What our guests experience during their stay is extremely important to us. Some of our rooms face the street, but please note we do also have rooms facing the two courtyards we have, which are quieter. Let us know when you book next time and we vill assign one of those rooms for you. Great suggestion in regards to the orange juice, I will look further into that and see what we can do. Hope to see you back with us soon. Kind Regards

"We just loved it!"

5
LuvTaTrek, Teaneck NJ 06/03/2018

The hotel staff welcomed us warmly and treated us as special guests from the moment of our arrival. Corinna and Sandra helped chart our days and provided all kinds of assistance. The breakfasts were terrific and tea and coffee was available all day and night. The location could not be beaten and the rooms were spotless. Truly a great experience!!!

Johanna S, Receptionschef at Hotel Esplanade, Sure Hotel Collection by Best Western, responded to this review
WOW!! Thanks for your amazing review!! So happy you enjoyed your experience with us. Come back soon!! Best Regards Team Esplanade

"A quiet hotel with great location"

5
User 21/02/2018

A nice hotel tucked away from the bustle of the city. Great location with good traffic communications. Small but very quiet room with very comfy beds. The breakfast was delicious and it had lots if choice with some Swedish specialities. Friendly staff including the furry, floppy-eared night concierge!

Johanna S, Receptionschef at Hotel Esplanade, Sure Hotel Collection by Best Western, responded to this review
Dear Paulaast Thank you so much for your kind and quirky comments!! We look forward welcoming you to us again soon. Best Regards Team Esplanade

"Winter time in Stockholm"

4
Emnuzt, Izmir, Turkey 04/12/2017

Hotel was at excellent location in the city center. Very close to all populat touristic areas. In the rooms and at the rest areas there were valuable furnitures. Breakfast was perfect and totally it was a lovely hotel

Johanna S, Receptionschef at Hotel Esplanade, Sure Hotel Collection by Best Western, responded to this review
Than you for your kind words. Glad you enjoyed your stay. Hope to see you soon again. Kind Regards Johanna and the team

"Quiet Hotel"

4
Val J, Melbourne, Australia 22/11/2017

Tucked away from the main street, the Hotel Esplanade is a real gem. Our room was an average size but quite comfortable. The bathroom is extremely small but a good, hot shower. Breakfast was included and comprised a small range of hot dishes but lots of cheese, meat, fruit and vegetables as well as cereals and yoghurt. Tea, coffee and biscuits are available 24/7 and a fruit basket in the evening. There is a very limited selection of offerings (soup and sandwiches) that can be ordered for dinner. The hotel desk is manned 24 hours a day and the staff are very friendly and extremely helpful. There is no elevator so luggage needs to be carried up the staircase. There are a number of lounge areas where you can relax and read the newspaper or a book or work on your computer using the free wifi. In a good location, close to public transport and within easy walking distance of many museums and attractions, the Hotel Esplanade is a good place to stay.

Johanna S, Receptionschef at Hotel Esplanade, Sure Hotel Collection by Best Western, responded to this review
Dear Val Thank you soooo much for this nice and accurate review. We hope to see you with us soon again. Kind Regards Johanna & the team

"Best price/quality ratio"

5
User 07/11/2017

This place is a boutique hotel in the centre of stockholm. All the major attractions are within walking distance. The hotel is managed with cure and they do everything for your well being. Bmthe hall at the first floor with free coffe/tee and view of the harbour is great.

esphotel, Receptionschef at Hotel Esplanade, Sure Hotel Collection by Best Western, responded to this review
Dear Marco, Thank you for choosing Hotel Esplanade for your Stockholm trip and thank you for sharing this amazing feedback! We hope we have the pleasure to welcome you back to us soon again! Best Regards, Emma Larsson

"Beautiful hotel in a beautiful neighborhood."

5
Kathleen L, Ithaca, NY 02/11/2017

This is a lovely hotel, set back from the street, in a lovely neighborhood of Stockholm, convenient to everything. The staff are extremely helpful for locating good restaurants and activities. Very quiet, very nicely maintained, great value.

esphotel, Receptionschef at Hotel Esplanade, Sure Hotel Collection by Best Western, responded to this review
Dear Kathleen, We are glad to hear that you had a pleasant stay with us at Hotel Esplanade and thank you for sharing your experience here. Happy to read that you estimated our fantastic location and that the staff helped you with restaurants and activities around the city. We wish you welcome back to Stockholm and Hotel Esplanade in the future! Best Regards, Emma Larsson

"Brilliant stay at this lovely charming hotel"

5
magpiemaggie, Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom 25/10/2017

Stayed here for 3 nights while here for business meetings. The hotel was in an ideal position and overlooking the boats. Short walk to good choice of restaurants and shops. The hotel is charming and welcoming and very clean throughout. My room was a decent size for a single. Plenty of space to move around - just perfect for me. It was very clean and comfortable. Good shower and very comfy bed. Nice couple of lounges to relax in if you have the time. There was a lovely breakfast buffet with plenty of choice including scrambled or boiled eggs and bacon. Throughout the day and night you have access to coffee and biscuits for free in the dining room. The staff were very friendly and helpful especially Carina and also Elin. When I come back to Stockholm I will definitely be staying here again.

esphotel, Receptionschef at Hotel Esplanade, Sure Hotel Collection by Best Western, responded to this review
Dear, Thank you for sharing this amazing review regarding your stay at Hotel Esplanade! We are so happy to read your nice words about our hotel, rooms, breakfast and our staff. We hope that you come back to Stockholm soon again and stay with us again! Best Regards, Emma Larsson

"Classic and charming. "

5
Pasabeograd, Skopje, Republic of Macedonia 12/10/2017

We stayed in this hotel for four night and loved everything about it. The location is on the waterfront close to the centre of the new and old towns (10 - 15 min walk). The Art Deco charm of the place is perfect. None of your chain hotel features here. But still has all you could want. Big rooms, great showers, temperature of the room was perfect and comfy beds (a bit on the soft side). The breakfast was fresh with lots of choice. There were plenty of lounge areas to relax in (see photo) and you can get coffee, tea and a biscuit or an apple anytime for free. We'd definitely stay here again.

esphotel, Receptionschef at Hotel Esplanade, Sure Hotel Collection by Best Western, responded to this review
Dear, Thank you for your kind feedback and for choosing Hotel Esplanade for your Stockholm trip! We are so glad to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and estimates the hotel's unique style, rooms and breakfast. Please do not hesitate to contact us before your next visit so that we can ensure to make it as memorable and enjoyable as possible. We really looking forward to welcome you back to us! Best Regards, Emma Larsson

"Well located"

4
sullivtm, Brisbane, Australia 11/10/2017

We spent two nights at Hotel Esplanade. The room was perfectly adequate and the beds were very comfortable. The buffet breakfast was great with lots of choice including hot scrambled egg and bacon available. The location was good overlooking the quay and just a short walk to the old town and the museums. The staff were helpful and friendly. We enjoyed our stay.

esphotel, Receptionschef at Hotel Esplanade, Sure Hotel Collection by Best Western, responded to this review
Dear, Thank you for your kind review and positive feedback! We are so glad to have you as a guest and we look forward to welcoming you back to Hotel Esplanade in the future! Best Regards, Emma Larsson

"Old World Style, Cozy and Welcoming"

5
NYCJason, NYC 09/10/2017

When we arrived early the woman at the desk said, "Welcome to our hotel." That's always a nice beginning. Even nicer was our room was ready and we checked in at 11 AM. Most rooms are upstairs in this beautiful1910 building that is part of a larger complex on a courtyard overlooking the water, but ours was downstairs. It was small but perfectly adequate. The location cannot be beat - walking distance to everything a visitor might want to see. The common rooms are lovely - especially the 2nd floor living room. The breakfasts were excellent. Across the courtyard is the fancy Hotel Diplomat. They have a great bar for a nightcap (and a very easy walk back to your room!).

"Excellent hotel!"

5
781joaop, Sao Paulo, SP 20/09/2017

I had a great time staying at Esplanade. Fully recommend. Hotel has the perfect location combined with very good service and comfortable accomodations. Very nice people. Excellent breakfast. Good deal.

"stock(HOME) sweet home"

5
User 09/09/2017

*Wonderful staff service (attentive, considerate, friendly, made us feel at home and taken care of, helpful - gave us great tips for dining and transportation) *BEAUTIFUL VIEW (of the water front) *room was clean, spacious and had many amenities *easy walking distance from main tourist attractions *breakfast was included with stay and delicious and fresh - lots of variety - coffee and water available all day *felt safe *common rooms to enjoy in down time *computer and printer available for guests *the overall feel of the hotel was "make yourself at home" - it was small enough (only 40ish rooms) that you began to recognize faces (especially at breakfast time) and felt almost like a large family - it was a comforting feeling! Not the typical coldness there is at certain chain hotels

These reviews are the subjective opinions of individual travelers and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.