ROOM 1
ROOM 2
ROOM 3
Promotion code

Hotel Esplanade, Sure Hotel Collection by Best Western, Stockholm

4.0/5  - basé sur 342 notations.
Strandvagen 7A, 11456, Stockholm, Sweden - See map

Welcome to the Hotel Esplanade, Sure Hotel Collection by Best Western, located on the fashionable Standvagen, an extraordinary 4 Star hotel that many call their second home. Within a comfortable walking distance from cultural attractions, shopping, first-class restaurants, the archipelago and round-trip boats, this beautiful boutique hotel stand with pride.

Sure Hotel Collection

Hotel Esplanade

LABEL_ITINERAIRE

LABEL_DEPART:

LABEL_ARRIVEE:

Hotel advantages

  • Cocktail lounge
    Cocktail lounge
  • 24-hour front desk
    24-hour front desk
Show More Show Less

Guest reviews

In partnership with tripadvisor fr
Certificate of Excellence 2018
based on 342 guest reviews
NOTE ISSUED
Excellent
147
Very Good
120
Average
45
Poor
23
Terrible
7
REFER TO NOTICE
Business Business
66
Couples Couples
145
Family Family
52
Friends getaway Friends getaway
35
Solo travel Solo travel
30
SUMMARY NOTES
Cleanliness
Location
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Value

"Comfortable stay"

5
01/07/2018

The staff were very helpful. We exchanged email before we arrived and they booked boat trips for us. The room was clean and comfortable. Breakfast had a wide choice of cold food, scrambled eggs and bacon. Tea, coffee and biscuits were also available. There are comfortable lounges and a very small balcony.

Johanna S, Receptionschef at Hotel Esplanade, Sure Hotel Collection by Best Western, responded to this review
Dear Stella Thank you for this lovely review. So happy you enjoyed your stay with us. Tell your friends and come back to us soon. Kind Regards Team Esplanade

"Very nice stay"

4
30/05/2018

We stayed three nights at this hotel prior to boarding a cruise ship. The staff is very friendly and helpful. Our room was good size for a European hotel. There is no elevator, so if you can't lug your suitcase up to the 1st floor, this might not be the place for you! Buffet breakfast was delicious and covered all the bases: yogurt, fruit, museli, eggs, bacon, cold meats and cheeses, lax, and various breads. Coffee and tea were always available. We had a room with a small balcony which was nice to sit on and have coffee. The location was great for walking to Gamla Stan (20 mins), Central Station (20 mins), and the Vasa Museum (20 mins).

Johanna S, Receptionschef at Hotel Esplanade, Sure Hotel Collection by Best Western, responded to this review
Thank you Tomten for this lovely and accurate review. What our guests experience is extremely important to us. Hope to see you or any of your friends with us soon. Kind Regards Team Esplanade

"Beautiful art-deco hotel, perfect location!"

4
29/05/2018

This has to be one of the most beautiful buildings in Stockholm! The interior design is wonderful; old wooden furniture and wall-paper to match the building. I loved the breakfast! Home-made granola and scrambled eggs made of real eggs! High quality food in a beautiful breakfast room! However the hotel is in need of a proper cleaning, some new paint (hopefully linseedoil) BUT I do hope the owners will not change anything.

Johanna S, Receptionschef at Hotel Esplanade, Sure Hotel Collection by Best Western, responded to this review
Dear Ylva Thank you for you comments, what our guests experience is extremely important to us. Happy you enjoyed our style and our beautiful building. Our owner is very passionate about keeping it in stile. We refurbish continuously and do paintwork as often as our availability allows. Please tell your friends and come back soon. Kind Regards Johanna Front Office Manager

"Baltic ocean cruise"

3
29/05/2018

Stopped at this hotel before boarding a Viking cruise ship. Great location and very quaint grounds. Nice people also. The downside was the room. It faced the dirtiest and messiest back side I have ever experienced. Pigeons and their droppings were our view. The room was rather small and the shower ran water trrough out the bathroom. If you seek a room there, don't take one that doesn't face the front or, at least, the court yard. Do not accept room 27 unless you like the view I described.

Johanna S, Receptionschef at Hotel Esplanade, Sure Hotel Collection by Best Western, responded to this review
Thank you for taking the time to write feedback to us. Sorry room 27 did not meet your expectations, most people chose it because it is quiet. I can happily announce that a new bird net has been installed over the courtyard as well as cleaning, so no more pigeon tracks. Did you approach our reception in order to change to any of our other rooms? We happily assist with this if we can. Hope you enjoyed your stay in Stockholm overall. KInd Regards Johanna Front Office Manager

"Nice location- NO ELEVATOR "

2
28/05/2018

We stayed here one night before a cruise. Lovely old hotel with nice breakfast. No elevator so had to haul big suitcases up and down winding staircase. Plus we had an awful stuffy room overlooking the concrete roof and the building next door. Would not stay here again.

Johanna S, Receptionschef at Hotel Esplanade, Sure Hotel Collection by Best Western, responded to this review
Dear Ellie Thank you for taking the time and writing your feedback to us. So sorry we did not meet your expectations. We would love to have an elevator however in a grade II listed building we are limited to what we can refurbish and not. However this is clearly stated on all booking venues and websites. Please note we also have lovely rooms facing both Stranvägen and the lovely Nybroviken bay as well as Artillerigatan and the courtyard by the entrance. Did approach our staff in order to change rooms? We are happy to assist with this. We do hope in spite of this that you had a wonderful time in Stockholm and a lovely cruise. Kind Regards Johanna Front Office Manager

"Hotel Esplanade"

4
03/05/2018

Nice location Average quality Near by the harbor with nice transport options. Breakfast was above average Little noise in the morning from traffic In general a good hotel with lots of charme. I might have a 2nd stay some day

Johanna S, Receptionschef at Hotel Esplanade, Sure Hotel Collection by Best Western, responded to this review
Thank you for taking the time to write to us. What our guests experience is extremely important to us. We realise out old style is not for everyone, and being a city hotel in our location, one is to expect some traffic noise. However we do have quiet rooms facing our courtyard for next time, call us and we will happily assign one of those rooms for you. Look forward welcoming you to our hotel soon again. Kind Regards Team Esplanade

"Small and very charming hotel"

4
29/04/2018

It looks huge from the outside, but Esplanade is a very small hotel, all rooms on the same floor. It's a bit worn here & there, but full of charm. We had a large and very quiet room, facing the courtyard. There's also a very nice longue on top of the stairs, where you can relax and have a drink. Good breakfast in the morning, definitely value for money and a lot more charming than the typical business hotels.

Johanna S, Receptionschef at Hotel Esplanade, Sure Hotel Collection by Best Western, responded to this review
Hello Knut Thank you for writing these very nice comments. SO happy you had a great experience with us. Please tell your friends about us. Hope to see you back with again soon. Kind Regards Team Esplanade

"What a gem!"

5
14/04/2018

We travelled to Stockholm to visit young friends and needed a reasonably priced place to stay but one with atmosphere and charm. The Esplanade Hotel has both! The staff are wonderful, the breakfast sumptuous, the room large - a little old - but clean and airy and a delightfully comfortable bed. The lounge at the top of the spiral staircase was a gorgeous place to sit and have coffee or a glass of wine. The property is in an area that makes the Old Town and most other tourist attractions easily accessible but is not crowded up in the midst of them. We will be back!

Johanna S, Receptionschef at Hotel Esplanade, Sure Hotel Collection by Best Western, responded to this review
Dear Ralphwho Thank you for your amazingly kind words. Nothing makes us happier than guests enjoying their stay with us. Please tell your friends about us and come back again soon. Kind Regards from the whole Esplanade Team

"Authentic classy stay"

5
08/03/2018

Very well located hotel at the waterfront in Stockholm. I got upgraded to a superior room with view on the water. Very nice, but if you want a quiet night, the street/waterfront can be noisy because of traffic. The bathroom is authentic as well, which means a lot of water on the floor if you shower. Breakfast buffet perfect but have been nicer to have fresh orange juice if you pay almost €200 per night (it did not help that they added juice from a cheap brand in view of the customer/guests). But I liked the stay.

Johanna S, Receptionschef at Hotel Esplanade, Sure Hotel Collection by Best Western, responded to this review
Dear FamDeManNL Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback. What our guests experience during their stay is extremely important to us. Some of our rooms face the street, but please note we do also have rooms facing the two courtyards we have, which are quieter. Let us know when you book next time and we vill assign one of those rooms for you. Great suggestion in regards to the orange juice, I will look further into that and see what we can do. Hope to see you back with us soon. Kind Regards

"We just loved it!"

5
06/03/2018

The hotel staff welcomed us warmly and treated us as special guests from the moment of our arrival. Corinna and Sandra helped chart our days and provided all kinds of assistance. The breakfasts were terrific and tea and coffee was available all day and night. The location could not be beaten and the rooms were spotless. Truly a great experience!!!

Johanna S, Receptionschef at Hotel Esplanade, Sure Hotel Collection by Best Western, responded to this review
WOW!! Thanks for your amazing review!! So happy you enjoyed your experience with us. Come back soon!! Best Regards Team Esplanade

"A quiet hotel with great location"

5
21/02/2018

A nice hotel tucked away from the bustle of the city. Great location with good traffic communications. Small but very quiet room with very comfy beds. The breakfast was delicious and it had lots if choice with some Swedish specialities. Friendly staff including the furry, floppy-eared night concierge!

Johanna S, Receptionschef at Hotel Esplanade, Sure Hotel Collection by Best Western, responded to this review
Dear Paulaast Thank you so much for your kind and quirky comments!! We look forward welcoming you to us again soon. Best Regards Team Esplanade

"Winter time in Stockholm"

4
04/12/2017

Hotel was at excellent location in the city center. Very close to all populat touristic areas. In the rooms and at the rest areas there were valuable furnitures. Breakfast was perfect and totally it was a lovely hotel

Johanna S, Receptionschef at Hotel Esplanade, Sure Hotel Collection by Best Western, responded to this review
Than you for your kind words. Glad you enjoyed your stay. Hope to see you soon again. Kind Regards Johanna and the team

"Quiet Hotel"

4
22/11/2017

Tucked away from the main street, the Hotel Esplanade is a real gem. Our room was an average size but quite comfortable. The bathroom is extremely small but a good, hot shower. Breakfast was included and comprised a small range of hot dishes but lots of cheese, meat, fruit and vegetables as well as cereals and yoghurt. Tea, coffee and biscuits are available 24/7 and a fruit basket in the evening. There is a very limited selection of offerings (soup and sandwiches) that can be ordered for dinner. The hotel desk is manned 24 hours a day and the staff are very friendly and extremely helpful. There is no elevator so luggage needs to be carried up the staircase. There are a number of lounge areas where you can relax and read the newspaper or a book or work on your computer using the free wifi. In a good location, close to public transport and within easy walking distance of many museums and attractions, the Hotel Esplanade is a good place to stay.

Johanna S, Receptionschef at Hotel Esplanade, Sure Hotel Collection by Best Western, responded to this review
Dear Val Thank you soooo much for this nice and accurate review. We hope to see you with us soon again. Kind Regards Johanna & the team

"Best price/quality ratio"

5
07/11/2017

This place is a boutique hotel in the centre of stockholm. All the major attractions are within walking distance. The hotel is managed with cure and they do everything for your well being. Bmthe hall at the first floor with free coffe/tee and view of the harbour is great.

esphotel, Receptionschef at Hotel Esplanade, Sure Hotel Collection by Best Western, responded to this review
Dear Marco, Thank you for choosing Hotel Esplanade for your Stockholm trip and thank you for sharing this amazing feedback! We hope we have the pleasure to welcome you back to us soon again! Best Regards, Emma Larsson

"Beautiful hotel in a beautiful neighborhood."

5
02/11/2017

This is a lovely hotel, set back from the street, in a lovely neighborhood of Stockholm, convenient to everything. The staff are extremely helpful for locating good restaurants and activities. Very quiet, very nicely maintained, great value.

esphotel, Receptionschef at Hotel Esplanade, Sure Hotel Collection by Best Western, responded to this review
Dear Kathleen, We are glad to hear that you had a pleasant stay with us at Hotel Esplanade and thank you for sharing your experience here. Happy to read that you estimated our fantastic location and that the staff helped you with restaurants and activities around the city. We wish you welcome back to Stockholm and Hotel Esplanade in the future! Best Regards, Emma Larsson

"Brilliant stay at this lovely charming hotel"

5
24/10/2017

Stayed here for 3 nights while here for business meetings. The hotel was in an ideal position and overlooking the boats. Short walk to good choice of restaurants and shops. The hotel is charming and welcoming and very clean throughout. My room was a decent size for a single. Plenty of space to move around - just perfect for me. It was very clean and comfortable. Good shower and very comfy bed. Nice couple of lounges to relax in if you have the time. There was a lovely breakfast buffet with plenty of choice including scrambled or boiled eggs and bacon. Throughout the day and night you have access to coffee and biscuits for free in the dining room. The staff were very friendly and helpful especially Carina and also Elin. When I come back to Stockholm I will definitely be staying here again.

esphotel, Receptionschef at Hotel Esplanade, Sure Hotel Collection by Best Western, responded to this review
Dear, Thank you for sharing this amazing review regarding your stay at Hotel Esplanade! We are so happy to read your nice words about our hotel, rooms, breakfast and our staff. We hope that you come back to Stockholm soon again and stay with us again! Best Regards, Emma Larsson

"Classic and charming. "

5
12/10/2017

We stayed in this hotel for four night and loved everything about it. The location is on the waterfront close to the centre of the new and old towns (10 - 15 min walk). The Art Deco charm of the place is perfect. None of your chain hotel features here. But still has all you could want. Big rooms, great showers, temperature of the room was perfect and comfy beds (a bit on the soft side). The breakfast was fresh with lots of choice. There were plenty of lounge areas to relax in (see photo) and you can get coffee, tea and a biscuit or an apple anytime for free. We'd definitely stay here again.

esphotel, Receptionschef at Hotel Esplanade, Sure Hotel Collection by Best Western, responded to this review
Dear, Thank you for your kind feedback and for choosing Hotel Esplanade for your Stockholm trip! We are so glad to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and estimates the hotel's unique style, rooms and breakfast. Please do not hesitate to contact us before your next visit so that we can ensure to make it as memorable and enjoyable as possible. We really looking forward to welcome you back to us! Best Regards, Emma Larsson

"Well located"

4
11/10/2017

We spent two nights at Hotel Esplanade. The room was perfectly adequate and the beds were very comfortable. The buffet breakfast was great with lots of choice including hot scrambled egg and bacon available. The location was good overlooking the quay and just a short walk to the old town and the museums. The staff were helpful and friendly. We enjoyed our stay.

esphotel, Receptionschef at Hotel Esplanade, Sure Hotel Collection by Best Western, responded to this review
Dear, Thank you for your kind review and positive feedback! We are so glad to have you as a guest and we look forward to welcoming you back to Hotel Esplanade in the future! Best Regards, Emma Larsson

"Old World Style, Cozy and Welcoming"

5
09/10/2017

When we arrived early the woman at the desk said, "Welcome to our hotel." That's always a nice beginning. Even nicer was our room was ready and we checked in at 11 AM. Most rooms are upstairs in this beautiful1910 building that is part of a larger complex on a courtyard overlooking the water, but ours was downstairs. It was small but perfectly adequate. The location cannot be beat - walking distance to everything a visitor might want to see. The common rooms are lovely - especially the 2nd floor living room. The breakfasts were excellent. Across the courtyard is the fancy Hotel Diplomat. They have a great bar for a nightcap (and a very easy walk back to your room!).

"Excellent hotel!"

5
20/09/2017

I had a great time staying at Esplanade. Fully recommend. Hotel has the perfect location combined with very good service and comfortable accomodations. Very nice people. Excellent breakfast. Good deal.

"stock(HOME) sweet home"

5
09/09/2017

*Wonderful staff service (attentive, considerate, friendly, made us feel at home and taken care of, helpful - gave us great tips for dining and transportation) *BEAUTIFUL VIEW (of the water front) *room was clean, spacious and had many amenities *easy walking distance from main tourist attractions *breakfast was included with stay and delicious and fresh - lots of variety - coffee and water available all day *felt safe *common rooms to enjoy in down time *computer and printer available for guests *the overall feel of the hotel was "make yourself at home" - it was small enough (only 40ish rooms) that you began to recognize faces (especially at breakfast time) and felt almost like a large family - it was a comforting feeling! Not the typical coldness there is at certain chain hotels