Room 1
Room 2
Room 3
Promotion code

Best Western Hotel De La Plage, Saint-nazaire

37 Rue Du Commandant Charcot, 44600, Saint-nazaire, France - See on a map
Best Western Hotel De La Plage - Exterior The Best Western Hotel De La Plage is ideally located in the center of Saint-nazaire. Come and experience our hotel near the major tourist attractions. Best price guaranteed and exclusive deals.

Discover the Best Western Hotel de la Plage, the only hotel right on the beach. It is located in the village of Saint Marc sur Mer, 10 minutes away from the business centers of Saint Nazaire and La Baule-Pornichet. Our hotel has unique rooms-all decorated with care, and equipped with the latest technologies such as flat screen television, free Wi-Fi access, and a business lounge. Our restaurant and its two terraces-with one on the beach-offers you a back-from-the-market cooking, with fresh and tasty products, mixing tradition and modernity. You will have an idea of the holiday atmosphere recreated in the famous Jacques Tati film -Les vacances de Monsieur Hulot-, shot here in the Hotel de la Plage in the late 60s, with M. Hulot as the main character. For your seminaries or private meals, we offer two meetings rooms with a view of the sea and equipped with the latest technologies- Wi-Fi Internet access and video projector, both are complimentary. Near the hotel, you can enjoy various water sports such as sailing, jet ski, diving and fishing. For your stroll periods, you can spend some time shopping in the center town of Saint Nazaire, or on the stylish avenue De Gaulle, in La Baule.

Best Western

Hotel De La Plage




Hotel advantages

  • Restaurant
  • Lounges/bars
  • 24-hour front desk
    24-hour front desk
  • Safe deposit box
    Safe deposit box
  • Multilingual staff
    Multilingual staff
  • Onsite laundry
    Onsite laundry
Show More Show Less

Guest reviews

In partnership with tripadvisor fr
Certificate of Excellence 2018
GreenLeader Silver
based on 429 guest reviews
Very Good
Business Business
Couples Couples
Family Family
Friends getaway Friends getaway
Solo travel Solo travel
Sleep Quality

"Unprofessional staff and sewage truck outside - avoid"

ekaterinam378, Pully, Switzerland 03/01/2022

My email to the hotel management which was ignored: Dear Madame I am writing to you regarding the situation that happened this morning at the Best Western hotel La Plage. We were staying in the hotel and eating in the restaurant for 2 nights. This morning (30.12) we wanted to sleep a bit longer as we had a long drive ahead. At 8:30 in the morning the sewage machine arrived outside of our windows and started to make unbearable noise and smell went into the room, as windows were open during the night. It wasn't possible to sleep or stay in the room with this conditions. We reported this to the women at the reception (she refused to tell us her name and we had to take a photo of her to identify in case if goes further). She replied that this is the restaurant and it's not her problem. We asked to call the hotel managed - answer was no, she informed us that manager will come by 11:00. We asked to call restaurant manager and the answer was no. Then she informed us that hotel manager will not come at all. This situation is totally unacceptable - I have an agreement with the hotel to provide accommodation and it was unusable this morning. The attitude of the person was below every hospitality standards. As a proof, I have a video of the truck with the sound outside of the hotel entrance. I would be happy to share it with you. In this circumstances I refuse to pay the full cost of the accommodation and will wait for the reimbursement from your side. In addition, I am informing and Best Western HQ about this situation. We are very sorry that this situation is coming to this. We tried to find the reasonable solution with the receptionist, but it wasn't possible to get any adequate response/ support from her. In addition to this note - there were two hotel staff smoking outside of the back entrance without the masks which made it impossible to use the alternative entrance to the facility. Best regards, Ekaterina

L'équipe de l'hôtel de la plage hotel de la plage, Service clients/Réception at Best Western Hotel De La Plage, responded to this review
Bonjour Madame, Je fais suite aux déconvenues rencontrées lors de votre dernière matinée dans notre établissement le Jeudi 30 Décembre dernier. J'aurais préféré être présente lors de ces évènements afin de trouver une solution ensemble, et éviter que cela ne prenne les proportions que vous évoquez dans votre mail, or, je ne suis pas présente quotidiennement. Tout d'abord, je tiens tout comme la réceptionniste présente ce matin là à m'excuser pour la gêne occasionnée par le camion intervenant dans les cuisines du Restaurant La Plage de Monsieur Hulot. En effet, nous sommes partenaires et partageons les mêmes locaux mais sommes bien 2 sociétés indépendantes et malheureusement ne sommes pas au courant des interventions prévues de leur côté. Je ne manquerai pas lors de mon retour de leur faire part de votre mécontentement et leur demanderai à l'avenir d'être particulièrement vigilants sur les horaires d'intervention de leurs prestataires afin de ne pas déranger nos clients souhaitant profiter de la quiétude de leur chambre en matinée. Pour ce qui est des faits que vous évoquez dans votre mail au sujet de la réceptionniste "elle a refusé de nous dire son nom et nous avons dû la prendre en photo pour l'identifier au cas où cela irait plus loin". Je ne comprends pas bien pour quel motif la réceptionniste aurait souhaité aller plus loin à votre encontre. Je vous informe que chaque personne physique a légalement le droit à l'image et au respect de sa vie privée, chose que vous n'avez pas respecté en enfreignant cette loi et en vous exposant à des suites pénales dans le cas où la salariée souhaite déposer plainte après l'avoir prise en photo sans son consentement. Les réceptionnistes ne sont pas habilitées à proposer un quelconque remboursement à nos clients, il est donc normal que cette dernière ne donne suite à votre demande. Enfin, je suis au regret de vous informer que cette situation, pour laquelle je vous renouvelle mes excuses, est malheureusement indépendante de notre volonté. Cordialement. Doriane NOIRTAULT Responsable d'Exploitation

"Great location on the beach with local shops/bars"

David G, Conwy 24/05/2021

Sea view rooms are worth the extra. Would have expected a fridge and in-room coffee maker at the price but free coffee machine in foyer. Staff are friendly with good restaurant (inside & beach). Handy for the coast path. Small Proxi supermarket for basics and a Patisserie as well as cafes/bars within 100-200m. Quiet location for working and sleeping, comfy large bed.

L'équipe de l'hôtel de la plage hotel de la plage, Guest Services / Front Office at Best Western Hotel De La Plage, responded to this review
Dear Guest, Thank you for your nice comment about your stay at Best Western Hôtel de la Plage*** We are happy to read that you had a good time by our side and that you enjoyed the amazing location of the hotel. I hope to welcome you very soon in Saint Marc sur Mer. Kind regards. Front Desk Officer - Eléonore

"Good view, friendly staff, not a great room"

Lena M, London, United Kingdom 29/07/2020

We booked a room with sea view and a terrace. Looks great on the website, however it was disappointing in real life, as the room was quite small and dark, and the terrace was not great. No hair dryer. Internet connection was terrible, almost non existing. Constant drop outs, to the extent it was entirely useless. Loading a random news website - like the NYT or BBC or Reuters would take you about three to four minutes. This definitely needs an urgent upgrade. However staff was very friendly and the location is good, right at the seaside, basically on the beach.

L'équipe de l'hôtel de la plage hotel de la plage, Guest Services / Front Office at Best Western Hotel De La Plage, responded to this review
Dear Lena M, Dear, Thank for your comment concerning your stay at the best western hotel de la plage. You booked a classic room with terace and sea view with 14 square meters. For an eventual next stay, we have superior room sea view with 23 square meters. Cordialy, The reception.

"Bien placé mais chambre minuscule"

245albertg, Pibrac, France 13/07/2019

On the cons side, rooms are really small. No air conditioning. Decoration needs a refresh. Parking is tricky. You have to leave your car behind the hotel by a tiny back road, Not very secured. On the good side, it is very close to the beach. They will charge you extra for the beach view ( note, I came late, a beach view room was available still they did want to charge me extra despite being a loyal customer). Breakfast is very basic. Used to be much better. I will come back still. Not for the hotel. For the restaurant in the hotel owned by a different company.

"Great location with sea view"

Rashmi H, Munich, Germany 25/11/2018

The hotel is situated in a prime beachfront location, providing a great sea view although the weather in early November was not the warmest. We opted for a sea facing room and enjoyed every moment of our stay at the hotel. The hotel room was beautifully furnished, but the room was quite small, not enough space to move around. Overall, it was a pleasant stay!

hdlpSaintNazaire, Hotel Manager at Best Western Hotel De La Plage, responded to this review
Dear Rashmi H, Thank you very much for your back. Hoping to welcome you again! Best Regards Pierre Lefeuvre Hotel Manager

"Enjoyed scene of M. Hulot's Holiday"

Nancy P, Rye, New Hampshire 19/11/2018

Our trip to Bretagne ended at this hotel, which we were thrilled to discover on line. We loved Tati's movie and loved reliving it - with the beautiful beach - unbelievable views of the ocean - with M. Hulot's statue. We were given an upgraded spacious room with a deck overlooking the sea. We walked around the town recalling the details of the movie. What was most memorable was the sound of the sea Tati so completely captured. We ate dinner at the restaurant in the hotel (minus the swinging door) - portions were large and good. Breakfast was uninspired. The staff were very attentive and helpful. Because it was off season we had no problems parking in the hotel lot.

hdlpSaintNazaire, Hotel Manager at Best Western Hotel De La Plage, responded to this review
Dear Nancy P, Thank you for your commantary. Everybody was really happy to welcome you. Hoping to see you again. Best Regards Pierre Lefeuvre Hotel Manager

"Super location"

Sid_Severn, Bristol 22/10/2018

Super view over the beach - fortunately warm and sunny on the one day we stayed in October. Our room was large, recently decorated and clean, but the bathroom had no external window, so seemed a little musty. The hotel's restaurant was very popular, probably because few others were open locally - we thought the mixed fish dish was ok, but nothing special.

"Lovely hotel with terrible service"

ctjmolta, Angers, France 04/09/2018

BW bought the Hotel de la Plage from the Tati movie of Mr Hulot. Lovely setting. It all stops there. bathroom lights didn't work, but more importantly, due to the very tight parking situation for guests (beware do NOT bring a car here), our vehicle was vandalized in front of the checkin window on hotel property. Likely several hundred dollars damage, and when I reported it to the front desk, she coldly responded "what proof is there that you didn't do this elsewhere?" I was parked there all the time!!! The staff looks as though they were trained in customer support from France of the 1970's where the client was generally treated like dirt (I know since I have been going to France on business for decades). I thought that all of the old-school, arrogant and pompous front desk attitudes had been purged but this place shows it not to be the case. Although I love the setting, I would advise not to stay, and certainly not take a car there. Buyer beware. Oh, I forgot, there were fireworks at 11 pm that sounded like gun shots; quite an experience!!

hdlpSaintNazaire, Responsable Hébergement at Best Western Hotel De La Plage, responded to this review
Cher Ctjmolta, As mentionned in my 2 last private email conversation, I am sorry about your bad experience in our hotel. I understand your desappointment, but our car park is free for our customers and we are not responsible of this situation and disrespect of people. Morever, your car was parked during all your stay in front of a no parking board. Regards Pierre Lefeuvre Responsable hébergement

"Beautiful location. "

GingerB50, London, United Kingdom 31/07/2018

WOW what a view. We had a lovely large, airy, well decorated room with 2 huge windows with a view of the beach including the statue of Monsieur Hulot. Being a big fan of “Les Vacances de Monsieur Hulot”, it was wonderful to see where this was filmed. Lovely beach bar. Could hear the waves as you lay in bed at night. A beautiful room with an idyllic sea view. Parking was good. A very relaxing 2 night stay in a beautiful location. There was no mini bar or air con. Given the amazing location of the hotel I would have expected the staff to be a little more cheery. Access to the hotel by road was hard on a Sunday as there was a market blocking the road & the hotel is on a one way street. This is a very small place & the few shops & restaurants do close early.

"Beautiful hotel!"

AKraftS, Oslo, Norway 28/07/2018

Beautiful hotel on the beach of Monsieur Hulot. Friendly straff, very good breakfast, nice restaurant (same Building as hotel, but not part of the hotel). On the beach outside the hotel were available chairs, free of charge. A nice place to spend days!

"on the beach !!"

User 24/07/2018

Very nice an quite small on the beach hotel with breakfast service, bar and restuarant. Rooms are quite small but very clean and comfortable. Staff is friendly, Nathalie in the reception stand out as very helpful and service minded. Book a normal room with a terrasse, then you have a small room but a fantastic large terrasse with umbrella, sun chairs and a cafe table with chairs for a very reasonable cost.

"Fantastic location, on the edge of the beach."

mike s, los abrigos 05/06/2018

We came not for the hotel, but for the restaurant. On our first night, the food was good. The service was excellent , despite being full, with approx 120 diners, and we dined on the outside terrace, overlooking the beach. The second time, 2 weeks later, my food went back once, with the meat being raw, not medium, as requested. My wife's 2 times. Firstly overcooked and inedible scallops.Second time hole meal cold. No excuse, in that the restaurant was very quiet. Disappointing, as we have been eating here since 1971, and this is the first example of bad service and food that we have had.

"Beautiful view"

LarieM, Indre, France 02/10/2017

We reserved one of the four sea-view rooms with a terrace overlooking the ocean. Beautiful view! The rooms are well furnished & clean, although the shower needs some serious cleaning to remove fungus around the bottom edges. Also, the rooms are quite small. There is a desk & chair in front of the bed, but it's practically useless since there really isn't enough room to pull out the chair & comfortably sit at the desk. Even with the inconvenience of the shower & desk, we returned for a 2nd night on our way out of Brittany, because the view really is exceptional, and hey, I'm on holiday so don't need the desk! The restaurant in the hotel also is excellent.

"Not my favorite"

RichMugrat, Aylesbury, United Kingdom 25/09/2017

I felt a little disappointed with the place which is clearly living off the reputation of the famous film. The most positive thing I can say is that the seaview from our room was amazing. The most disappointing thing was that I could not buy a beer in the hotel at 1700hrs. Luckily we went to Phil Good next door and found it to be an excellent bar with great music and a genial host. Would go back to the bar again. Not sure about the hotel

"Lovely balcony, lovely view but there is a but...."

Scubadoo7, Haworth, United Kingdom 16/08/2017

This is a five star place by any reckoning. Room was quite small but well appointed, comfortable and the linen crisp and white. Hotel service is friendly and efficient. Breakfast was very good. Dog friendly hotel but... what is it with all of these dog unfriendly beaches? No dogs allowed on any of the beaches in the area. So much for liberty. That fact alone means we will not be back which is a shame as we really enjoyed the room itself, especially our spacious balcony with chairs, loungers, table and parasol. Views from our balcony were lovely. Not cheap at two hundred euros for one night - and that was an offer price - but a really nice place and made famous apparently because of the film Mr Hulot's Holiday. By the way, not many eating establishments nearby and hotel menu is on the pricey side.

"On the Beach - Literally"

Mark_and_Ann_Reilly, Guildford, United Kingdom 04/08/2017

A wonderful location. The facilities are basic. The rooms are small. The staff are young, courteous and helpful. We enjoyed a peaceful stay, with a view of the Atlantic and the sound of the waves to lull us to sleep.

"enjoyable stay"

paul p, Worcester, United Kingdom 03/08/2017

stayed at this hotel for 3 nts booked with Brittany ferries, we were given a lovely large room sea view inc. part of the package with Brittany ferries, the staff on reception were very helpful & informative. nothing was to much trouble for them. breakfast was a delight with lots to choose from. with beautiful sea views to compliment. the hotel is very well located, ie right by the beach. there is a bus to st nazaire 200yds from the hotel, which runs every 30mins & takes 25mins to get there. 3euros return// or you can walk to st nazaire along the cliff tops 6 ks. & take the bus back as we did. all in all we had an enjoyable stay. and woild not hesitate in staying here again


marleenv753, Angers, France 22/07/2017

No value for your. money. Great location, but the hotel and the restaurant are seperately owned. Dogs are allowed at the rate of 10€ per night in the hotel, however no access to the restaurant allowed, not to mention that to my surprise the whole beach is not accessible for dogs. Very disappointing and poor service.

hdlpSaintNazaire, GHP Hôtels at Best Western Hotel De La Plage, responded to this review
Dear marleenv753, First I would like to thank you for your back next to your last stay in our hotel. We are happy you appeciate your room "Prestige" with great sea view and terrace. As mentionned on our website, we asked an extra of 10€ per night for animal. I understand your disapointement about access dog in our breakfast room. Its only for hygienic reason, and next to a lot of customer's request. On the other hand, we suggested to take your breakfast in your guestroom. Morover, we suggested to take coffee and vienoiserie in an area where animals were accepted and you refused. The local authority refused dog's access from the 1st June till 30th September. Hoping to have the pleasure to welcome you for a second experience. Best Regards

"Historic hotel in a beautiful setting"

Gillian R, London, United Kingdom 07/07/2017

My husband is a big fan of M. Hulot's Holiday so we had to stay at the hotel used in the film. A loooooong drive from Calais, but a really pleasant surprise when we arrived. The hotel is right on the beach and we had a room with a sea view, which was stunning to wake up to. The parking is ample, the village has everything you could want and the hotel staff were all friendly and helpful. I couldn't fault it.

"Not just for Hulot fans."

460stewartg, London, United Kingdom 03/06/2017

An excellent beach front Hotel in a tranquil setting. Friendly and helpful staff, excellent value for money. The town of St Marc sur Mer makes much of the M. Hulot connection, and rightly so, but it is an exceptional location in its own right. Truly idyllic!

"Great Ocean view"

repbrock, United States 17/11/2016

Hotel de Le Plage is located in a fantastic location with an incredible view. The hotel isn't updated but clean. The restaurant has great food but speaking French would help. Parking is easy and there several nice pubs nearby.

"Comfortable and pleasant stay"

WingspanTravel, Bristol, United Kingdom 10/11/2016

We stayed at this hotel overnight and we were pleased with the accommodation which was clean and newly decorated. We were pleased that we were upgraded to a Seaview room and we felt this represented quite good value for money. We ate in the restaurant for lunch and dinner and this was quite good. However, we were disgusted that at lunchtime we witnessed the manager of the restaurant smoking in reception and actually complain to the reception staff but they did not seem to pay much attention to this. Apart from this we had a pleasant stay and would have no hesitation in coming back. We asked the reception staff to confirm this was a non-smoking hotel and they confirmed it was and when challenged as to why the manager of the restaurant was smoking we received no response. It should be pointed out however that the restaurant is run separate to the hotel but we do not feel this is an excuse!

"Fantastic location"

Sally R, Preston, United Kingdom 12/10/2016

Lovely setting right on the beach. Clean and comfortable room; we had a sea view. We arrived in the afternoon and the road was closed so we had to walk to the hotel; the road was opened up at about 4pm so we got the car in then. There was a street market on the Friday evening which was fun; there are some great bars and cafes along the street. We ate in the hotel restaurant the first night. It is a separate management and we thought it was over priced. The breakfasts were Ok but not outstanding. There was a kettle etc in the room but with paper cups and only plastic glasses. Not what I would expect in a Best Western

"Needs sprucing up"

Selina R, Southam, United Kingdom 28/09/2016

The Hotel is in an excellent setting, right on the beach, which is lovely.......but having stayed at several Best Western hotels recently, it really was rather shabby in comparison, we were given a room on the top floor, with a sea view, basically in the converted loft, with a beam , which I actually managed not to hit my head on which was quite an achievement considering it was almost blocking access to the bed ! We were going to move the bed over slightly, but it was bolted to the wall, so its obviously been done before ! It was a very small room too, Separate toilet from the bathroom too. I would not recommend these top floor rooms , especially if you are above four foot tall. Breakfast was ok, but again, not Great Western standards. The restaurant though.......which is in the Hotel, but not run by it , was absolutely brilliant, well worth having a meal there.

"Nice surprise by the beach"

Kath L, Paris, France 24/09/2016

We arrived late on Friday night and the staff was helpful. Our room was small and decent but costs more than expected. The hotel is quiet but we could hear people coming back late at night. Best to ask for a room with ocean view, after all it's what you pay extra for being at a beach front hotel!

"Wonderful Location"

SulinQ, Dover, United Kingdom 26/07/2016

We came here because of the Mr Hulot connection and booked a room with a sea view. It was spacious and comfortable with tea and coffee and one(!) bathrobe provided. We checked in at the appropriate time, but our room had only just been cleaned and I had to call the chambermaid to empty the bin. The staff were very pleasant. A large party had had breakfast before us and there were no croissants left, however, the waitress cooked another batch. Dinner at the restaurant was lovely. One disappointment, given the lovely terrace overlooking the beach, was that it was impossible to buy a drink after the lunch service had ended, until they reopened for dinner at 18.30.

"Great location but tired hotel"

Jason B, Dubai, United Arab Emirates 21/07/2016

Location location location and this place has it. We're on our way up to roscof and this place happens to be near a rest area we picked. Beautiful little beach town and market on the day we were here. Hotel is just tired, for example no aircon (and it's hot when we were here) and exterior needs a paint and the place needs a modern eye.

"Thank You, M. Hulot"

MrWomby, Berkshire 14/07/2016

I had always wanted to stay at this hotel since watching the movie "M. Hulot's Holiday" and although the place had changed a great deal since the 1950's you could still sense the atmosphere. We decided to go for broke and booked a 'prestige' room which was large and had a terrace overlooking the beach with a magnificent view. The terrace had chairs, table, sunshade and sun loungers so we were feeling very pampered. The restaurant which is part of the hotel is actually run as a separate business, but hotel guests take breakfast there: the breakfast is excellent. There are several bars and restaurants close by, if you feel like a change. Having just finished our stay I can't wait to return.

"A great location by the beach"

User 26/06/2016

A trip advisor find whilst at St Nazaire, a great location, there was only one room left so we were lucky to book .. We had a lovely dinner, staff were great, and understood our French!! Room was basic, but clean .. Would come back, and will need to book in advance to ask for a sea view !!

"No go for Irish families!"

ntlbyrne, Dublin, Ireland 14/06/2016

A great hotel brand but with very poor customer service! Property stolen from us and it seems to have been lost with the laundry. Very poor customer service from this particular hotel. No apology yet! Do not bring any valuable or personal belongings such as underwear!

"Good value and outstanding staff"

PJones999, Cheltenham England 30/04/2016

This is fairly small hotel right on the beach. It has been modernised over the years and although, the rooms are smallish they do have there own bathrooms. The restaurant is good. The best part is the staff, they are very helpful, speak good English and the team at the front desk are simply charming. There are also a number of good restaurants nearby and access to the city centre is easy and cheap by bus.

"great sea views"

Lunchers85, Vendee, France 25/04/2016

If you are a fan of Jaques Tati's film M.Hulot's holiday this is a must stay . Although the original building is quite old they have managed to convert it so that the bedrooms are very comfortable and have their own bathrooms. A very good restaurant is on the ground floor and the sea veiws are very nostalgic.all the staff were most helpful too.

"Right on the beach and great food"

Richard B, Salisbury 19/04/2016

Highly recommended. Perfect location on this small beach with scenic clifftop walks. Rooms fairly basic but good value for money. Get one with your own balcony with sunloungers! Very good restaurant which is independent of the hotel.

"Boutique Beachside Hotel"

Streakyboy, Vine Vale, Australia 08/12/2015

Tucked away in a quiet beachside suburb of St Nazaire, is the Hotel de La Plage... Perched right on the Atlantic/Bay of Biscay coastline....Off street parking is available but limited, I would advise booking a space when making a reservation. We had an Ocean View room which was small but clean and functional, which afforded us a sweeping coastal view...(when the storm that blew in from the Atlantic finally cleared..!) The hotel restaurant was excellent with a great menu and wine list and the tale service was superb, menus are available in English.....I recommend the Fruit de Mare (Seafood Platter) . 10 mins by car from downtown St Nazaire......This hotel is great value we were here in May......when it was not so busy...I can imagine peak season it would be hard to book..? Would definitely stay here again..

"Unchanging traditional Franglais village"

Mark I, Leicester, United Kingdom 29/10/2015

As a tribute to Jacques Tati, this visit was to look at the setting for Monsieur Hulot's Holiday. This classic comedy from 1953 involves a lot of holidaying English people beginning to visit Europe after the war. The hotel is typical Best Western, an older hotel for character with modern facilities. The staff were very helpful. After a little negotiation I got to park my bike (in it's bag) in my room. They were unfailing in their greetings. Their local knowledge was useful. Market days are Sunday and Thursday. No cars allowed up the road to the hotel although you can park above it. There is a small car park there. The water is currently dangerous for swimming to my mind as the sand is steep causing big waves and rips. There are maps to show where is a dip notionally safe. This will change as the sand levels out or gets steeper. Plonichet down the road is billed as beautiful. If you like a vast bay of hotels facing a beach this is correct. For sitting in a dramatic situation (waves crashing over rocks) right next to your hotel this cant be beaten. The little pier is fun to access. The sand is not suitable for English sandcastles, but is delightfully coarse. If you want to eat out, forget Mondays, otherwise French restaurant service will look after you. Don't be too bold in your choices as the expectation is that English people have no knowledge of food and there will be polite checking about your decision. Did you know steak tartare is raw? well yes I did and ordered it deliberately. Choose a room with a sea view, well worth the hours of sea and people watching. Watch the film and go, really worth joining it all up.

"Great Food and Great Location"

David M, Chester, United Kingdom 15/10/2015

A wonderful hotel right on the seafront in a beautiful little town. Parking was not a problem although the car park was full when we arrived, the receptionist moved her car to make way for us, a very nice welcome. The sea view was stunning and the food was also excellent. Would visit again if in the area for sure.


User 04/09/2015

Quite a basic hotel for a best western. Bit overpriced for what you get. Beautiful location though and friendly staff. Just expected a bit more within the room compared to other hotels I've stayed in. I would recommend try and get a room over looking the beach.

hdlpSaintNazaire, GHP Hôtels at BEST WESTERN Hotel de La Plage, responded to this review
Dear Sir, First, we would like to thank you for your back. Your feeling is very important for us in order to improve our benefits. We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you for an other better experience. Sincerely

"Picturesque but old and overpriced."

MariaMat, Chalandri, Greece 23/08/2015

My wife and I traveled with our 16-year son to France in early August and had made a reservation for a three-bed room in this hotel months in advance. The hotel is ideally situated on the unique beach featuring the famous bronze statue of Mr. Hulot. It is a beautiful building with a typical local architecture in a dream-like serene environment overlooking the ocean. However, this hotel cannot hide its old age and outdated infrastructure. The rooms are small, rather dark and lack air-conditioning. As the temperature in August climbed above 30 degrees Celsius and the weather remained very humid, it was very difficult to stay (let alone sleep) in the room without air-conditioning. Also, my wife is disabled, uses a wheel-chair and the hotel was informed well in advance that we needed a room that could support a wheel-chair. Unfortunately a very bad surprise awaited us at the hotel, as we found out that there was no room with wheel-chair support. We planned to stay there for 6 nights but the small room, the lack of air-conditioning and the difficulty of using the bathroom made it impossible. The management tried to find us a solution round the problem, but it proved impossible. We stayed for one night in a two-bed room designed for people with reduced mobility (where a third bed was squeezed in) and decided to leave next morning, cancelling our reservation. We did not have a chance to try the hotel's beautifully situated restaurant. All-in-all a very disappointing experience. One last thing: Although that, in my opinion, it was not our fault that we were obliged to cancel our stay, the management of the hotel charged us with half the cost of our 6-night stay (980 euros i.e. around 1,100 U.S. dollars), mentioning that they would refund us if they managed to give our room to other clients. (They have not done so yet). In my view, I would not consider recommending this hotel, at least for the summer.

hdlpSaintNazaire, GHP Hôtels at BEST WESTERN Hotel de La Plage, responded to this review
Dear MARIAMAT, First thank you for your back. We are really sorry you didn't appreciate your stay in our hotel. We tried to make all our possible for your comfort. Your request will be used to improve our service. Best Regards


GTSGuildford, GUILDFORD 18/08/2015

It is just such a nice place if you want an old fashioned style holiday, I mean that in a nice way. I really doubt there can be a hotel anywhere in the World as handy for a lovely, sandy beach. When you combine that with friendly staff, nice decor, clean and well modernised rooms, what more can you ask for? Actually you can, you can get a room with a that is sheer bliss! i suppose if I was nit picking, I would say that the rooms are quite small, but it is an old building. Alsoit is a bit strange that the ( very nice ) restuarant is a seperate organisation from the hotel, It isn't any great inconvenience it just means you have to pay as you go along in the restauarant and cannot add it to your overall bill. Anyway the hotel is a joy to

hdlpSaintNazaire, GHP Hôtels at BEST WESTERN Hotel de La Plage, responded to this review
Dear Guest, Thank you very much for your back!!! It's really very nice. We haven't any other word to add... Just see you for a next stay as soon as possible!!! Sincerely

"Friendly and comfortable"

Mike S, Brighton, United Kingdom 07/08/2015

This relaxing and well-located hotel is ideal for a short - or longer - break. Right on the sandy beach, the rooms are comfortable and the staff friendly. The food in the restaurant is of the finest quality and the staff, again, are excellent. A really great hotel and restaurant.

hdlpSaintNazaire, GHP Hôtels at BEST WESTERN Hotel de La Plage, responded to this review
Dear MIKE, First we would like to thank you for commantary. It was, for all the team, a real pleasur to welcome you in the famous hotel de la Plage. Our situation just on the beach in a lovely village is perfect place for holidays and quiet time. Hoping to see you again for new stay!! Sincerely

"Lovely hotel right on the beach"

Jasmin186338, London, United Kingdom 12/07/2015

Wonderfully attentive staff, fantastic restaurant, and beautiful views from our spacious bedroom. We spent only 2 nights here, and we felt that we never wanted to leave. It's a most welcoming and friendly hotel with superb food. We loved it!

hdlpSaintNazaire, GHP Hôtels at BEST WESTERN Hotel de La Plage, responded to this review
Dear Jasmin186338, Thank you so much for your nice back! It was a real pleasure to welcome you and to be at your disposal. Hoping to see you a next time! Best Regards

"Good location with M. Hulot connection"

James S, Dorking 10/10/2014

This hotel is situated right on the beach and in a small village with a few shops, bars and restaurants . Its listed as being located in St Nazaire, a large town, but in reality it is in the village of St Marc Sur Mer. The hotel has been modernised and the rooms are well fitted out. The rooms at the back overlook the village and can be a little small while the rooms at the front overlook the beach but are a lot dearer but perhaps worth the view. The hotel was used in the Jaques Tati film, "M. Hulot's Holiday", in 1953. The restaurant is within the hotel but run by a different company which seems very common in France nowadays. The breakfast has a good range of items, while the evening meals are very good. There are bars and at least one restaurant in the village while the hotel has a bar on the beach in front of the hotel. Nearby is a good, rather manicured, walk along the cliff top to Pornichet. There is also a children's club on one of the beaches to the west of the hotel.The reception staff mainly speak good English and are very helpful.

hdlpSaintNazaire, GHP Hôtels at BEST WESTERN Hotel de La Plage, responded to this review
Cher client, Merci pour votre retour et de faire partager vos impressions à nos autres clients. C'est un plaisir d’accueillir nos clients dans le célèbre cadre du film de Jacques Tati, Les Vacances de Monsieur Hulot. Bien cordialement à vous

These reviews are the subjective opinions of individual travelers and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.