ROOM 1
ROOM 2
ROOM 3
Promotion code

Best Western Plus Kalmarsund Hotell, Kalmar

3.5/5  - basé sur 222 notations.
Fiskaregaten 5, 392 32, Kalmar, Sweden - See map

The Best Western Plus Kalmarsund Hotell is a pleasant 4 Star hotel with a personal and friendly atmosphere. We are located in the city center, close to shopping, interesting sights and the Congress Center. For your comfort we have our oasis on the roof, a relaxing environment with hot tub and sauna. Our restaurant and bar is an appreciated meeting place for hotel guests as well as local people, who value good food and personal service. At the Best Western Plus Kalmarsund Hotell, after a good night sleep in our comfortable bedding, you will wake up to a complimentary full breakfast buffet. The Best Western Plus Kalmarsund Hotell is an eco-friendly, 100% non-smoking hotel and labeled with the Swedish Svanen.

Best Western Plus

Kalmarsund Hotell

LABEL_ITINERAIRE

LABEL_DEPART:

LABEL_ARRIVEE:

Hotel advantages

  • Restaurant
    Restaurant
  • Spa
    Spa
  • Air conditioning
    Air conditioning
  • Cocktail lounge
    Cocktail lounge
  • Safe deposit box
    Safe deposit box
Show More Show Less

Guest reviews

In partnership with tripadvisor fr
based on 209 guest reviews
NOTE ISSUED
Excellent
21
Very Good
115
Average
60
Poor
9
Terrible
4
REFER TO NOTICE
Business Business
80
Couples Couples
68
Family Family
34
Friends getaway Friends getaway
24
Solo travel Solo travel
7
SUMMARY NOTES
Cleanliness
Location
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Value

"Nice hotel but....."

2
26/08/2018

This is a very basic 3 star hotel. The room was neat and clean and the staff were friendly. My only criticism is that it is in need of a refurbishment and cleaning. There were large spider webs and spiders which to me suggests it has t been cleaned properly in a while and the carpet in the common areas was full of stains. Clean your hotel more thoroughly

"Good Ironman Kalmar stay"

4
07/08/2018

Good hotel in Kalmar, centrally located with lots of restaurants, cafes, and shops nearby. The staff were incredibly friendly and helpful whilst booking, in the run up to our trip, and during our stay. Our room was large enough for us and also for our bicycle. It was light, clean, and had efficient air conditioning. The beds were comfortable and the shower was good. Good breakfast with lots of choice, convenient parking available underneath the hotel. Recommend for Ironman Kalmar, it's a short walk from the start and finish areas and also offers early breakfast on race day morning. Lots of other athletes were staying at the hotel, so it had a good pre- and post-race atmosphere and was not noisy at night.

"Great Stay"

4
02/07/2018

Friendly staff, very helpful, clean hotel, nice rooms, centrally located and within walking distance of numerous shops and restaurants. Overall a nice place to stay. Housekeeping was good, nice little patio out front for drinks and or food. Highly recommended.

"Mostly good!"

4
21/06/2018

The good: The people working at this hotel are all super friendly and very helpful. The hotel was pretty full when we were there, and the hotel seemed to be out of the key fobs for their garage, so every time we wanted in and out, someone would come out from reception to let us into the locked garage. They were so cheerful about it, that we didn't mind. Breakfast was good with lots of choices, including a waffle maker! (Yay!). It was crowded on the weekend, but they opened a 2nd room to accommodate everyone. The room was neat and tidy, if a bit small. It seemed like the hotel had been recently renovated. The location is good, near the main center part of town and walking distance to the castle and train station. The bad: There was no fridge in the room (the reviews I read before going said it did). No screens on the windows, so the room filled with mosquitoes when you opened the window, which was annoying. Our room overlooked the terrace, which meant that we got noise and cigarette smoke from the people on the terrace in our room. You have to pay for parking. Overall I would stay again.

"Drive through beautiful and charming Kalmar"

4
18/09/2017

Super friendly personnel, charming hotel and area around it, very central. Cheap parking just around the corner. The room was just big enough, the bathroom was on the small side but fresh and functional (thumbs up for the heated floor!). The bed was big enough and very comfortable. The jacuzzi and sauna facilities were really good, extra points for the long open hours (till 11pm on weekends!). The breakfast was good but most of the cooked dishes (pancakes, bacon, scrambled eggs etc) finished quite quickly and the service was rather slow (maybe good to hire extra set of hands on weekends?) :) Overall we were happy with our stay, recommending this hotel :)

"Kalmar, a Swedish pearl"

4
16/08/2017

We visited Kalmar for 24h and had a great experience. Staying at this hotel we were in the middle of everything. Lots of restaurants, close to the harbor and the sea. The hotel was very nice, although somewhat noisy around midnight, probably due to the Kalmar town party that started the Friday we arrived.

"Service saves the visit "

3
27/07/2017

On the plus side: great service, good location and nice breakfast. On the down side: dreadful view, food smell in the rooms and price too high for what you get. Yes this is the high season, but for a minimal price difference you can get a better room elsewhere. The smiles from the reception gives this three stars instead of two.

"Extended weekend in Kalmar"

3
06/06/2017

I visited this hotel while participating in a sports happening in Kalmar. The hotel is small and functions quite well. The staff is friendly and they try to make you feel welcome. The rooms are normal size, the furniture is nothing special but works OK. The beds are nice and the softness in different parts of the bed can be adjusted electronically. A variety of pillows is offered for your use (back sleepers, stomach sleepers, side sleepers, memory foam etc). The barhroom is nice and the towels are good. This hotel has a good breakfast with a large variety to choose from. I had dinner twice from a buffet. Also this food was nice. The hotel is located in the center at a walking distance to the different attractions.

"Good location, but small facilities and hard to sleep"

3
07/05/2017

Check-in was friendly and efficient and we were in the room in no-time. The room was small, even by swedish standards, with a slighly dated interior and a claustrophobic bathroom. A proper shower was a plus. There is free "mycloud" wifi available, but it won't let you connect to some VPN servers, so bear that in mind if you're thinking of doing a few minutes of work in your room. I couldn't sleep until 1 am, which was when the nearby pub closed, due to the drunk screaming people on the street outside. I took this up with the front desk upon checking out and got a shrug and a "yes, that'll be the student pub". The noise problem alone will make me consider other lodging options next time I'm in Kalmar. I'm surprised that management has not addressed this issue with the other establishments, as I'm sure I'm not the first customer they'll lose. Breakfast had the bare minimums, but no espresso machine that I could see. Also, if you're eating at peak hours, you may have a hard time finding your own table.

"Nice hotel in Kalmar, city centre"

5
04/05/2017

Great hotel. If you arrive by train, he hotel is in a walking distance, pebbled streets so you need extra effort to move about your suitcase. The hotel is near shops and restaurants you can walk about the area. In particular the hotel is clean and comfortable. The room has a nice size just enough to move about. The best part is that the hotel has a sauna and jacuzzi opened until 11pm, so bring your bathing suit. Great to relax and end the day. Breakfast has a nice assortment of food and staff are very helpful with tips and recommendations. I would definitely go back.

""Best(!)" in city?"

2
04/04/2017

Among the other options, you have no better choice actually in this region. This is a small village and i would not expect more. Breakfast buffet is extremely low class where i had real concerns for hygiene.

"Good hotel"

4
16/12/2016

Good hotel in the center of town. Clean rooms and nice staff. Even the restaurant (bistro 5) is quite good. Good breakfast. Occasionally with salmon. Hotel has own sauna and use of a sport facility in the street. Parking (not for free) in the parking under the hotel.

"Decent rooms good breakfast"

4
15/09/2016

The rooms here are clean and tidy. Facilities are limited to a sauna and a jacuzzi. Best part here: the very large and healthy breakfast options. From everything to put in your yoghurt to avocado's. Super experience, too bad i was here on business and i could not enjoy the breakfast for very long

jerseygirl1977, Chef at Best Western Plus Kalmarsund Hotell, responded to this review
Thank You!

"A suitable place to stay."

3
27/08/2016

This is a good place to stay should want to be in the charming downtown area and not far from the train station. Not bad but nothing outstanding either. When I first went in the lady at the desk asked if I had a reservation, I told her yes and gave her the booking number. She replied that is not a number associated with this hotel. She then looked up my name and said you must have booked through a booking agency, eventually found my reservation and let me in. The rooms are clean and sufficient. Should you not want get charged for parking just find a place on the street and park, as it seemed a rather safe town. Should you walk around the town you will plenty of restaurants to pick from and it is nice town to walk around in.

Ulrika W, Hotelldirektör at Best Western Plus Kalmarsund Hotell, responded to this review
Thank you for your review. Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come back and see us again soon. Thank you once again for your review.

"Fine for a couple of nights."

3
19/07/2016

The hotel was in a central but quiet position and had underground car parking. Our room, though quite small, was adequate and similar for the bathroom. The reception staff were friendly and helpful. I only gave this hotel 3 stars partly because of the small room but mainly because of the cramped dining room. We only had breakfast there which was fine, but there were simply not enough tables to accommodate everyone staying there. Fortunately the weather during our stay was excellent which meant that several people made use of the outside eating area (on the street) which left more room inside. It wasn't a major problem but it didn't make for a very relaxed breakfast experience. Having said all that I would stay here again if in the area.

Ulrika W, Hotelldirektör at BEST WESTERN PLUS Kalmarsund Hotell, responded to this review
Thank you for your review. Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come back and see us again soon.

"Very good hotel to stay in Kalmar main town"

4
26/05/2016

It is very good hotel located in central area of Kalmar town. Reveiw can based on following topics Location well with in central area of kalmar town from where all necessary areas can accessed like shoping food hotels etc. Restaurant in hotel very good restaurant in hotel good food quality nice breakfast menu. Nearby locations to visit Kalmat cathadrel Kalmar castle these locations are very near you can get there from hotel by walking. Pricing In economical range. Nice & good hotel to stay.

Ulrika W, Hotelldirektör at BEST WESTERN PLUS Kalmarsund Hotell, responded to this review
Thank you for your review. Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come back and see us again soon.

"Staying in Kalmar"

4
24/03/2016

We found this hotel to be a great place to stay. The staff is very friendly and helpful. It's located in an area close to what is best described as an old village in a new city. There was lots of shopping (everything under the sun) and all most any kind of restaruant you could need. Hotel was resonable and very nice for a good price well at least in March when wewere there. Also within walking distance of the Kalmar castle which was really exciting to tour. Lots of great history there and within 50 miles. Kings, queens vikings and castles. A must see area

"Terrible food"

2
15/11/2015

+ nice relaxing area + polite and friendly reception staff - TERRIBLE FOOD!! - had to wait 45 min for it - only offering sweets when notified about the poor food quality Will be back for relaxing maybe, but i would never eat there again! I would rather go to McDonalds, and that says a LOT!

Ulrika W, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Kalmarsund Hotell, responded to this review
Sorry to hear you had a bad experience at our restaurant. On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we offer a better experience for guests in the future. Best Regards, Ulrika Wirstam General Manager

"Very Pleasent Stay. Beatyfull City"

4
27/10/2015

Was on a Training Course in Kalmar. I fell in love with the city. The Hotel and staff and food was tops. The beer is just very expensive R160. No not a six pack a GLAS (maybe I'm just a cheap skate.) Every thing is close to the Hotel. Great nightlife. The station is walking distance from hotel.

Ulrika W, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Kalmarsund Hotell, responded to this review
Dear roelfvn, Thank you for review. Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come back and see us again soon. If I can be of assistance in the future, please don't hesitate to contact me at 0480-480 380. Thank you again for taking the time to complete the survey. We appreciate your loyalty to our brand. Sincerely, Ulrika Wirstam Hotel manager BEST WESTERN PLUS Kalmarsund Hotell

"Nice hotel in the heart of the city"

4
28/09/2015

Kalmar people say is pretty lively during high season, in late September it is not. It's a neat and sleepy town worth a chilling stay - same is the hotel. Which I can fully recommend. Rooms are not new but clean, equipped with TV, hairdryer and a kettle plus instant tea, coffee and chocolate bags. The room I had had a shower, no bathtub, mini bar with a small complementary bottle of water. Free wifi available in lobby and room. Staff was friendly. Breakfast with a lot of choices but no salmon. The hotel has a Sauna and a whirpool opend until 11pm which I found generous. Except the sauna startetd cooling down early enough to be cold at 11, this is something to be kept in mind. The hotel is located in the heart of the city, restaurants and shops in walking distance. Car parking in the street, the hotel has no own parking lot. We had no problem to find a close spot without a meter. One more good thing. If you like jogging, aim for the city's fortress at the seaside and enjoy a beautiful run through the woods close to the beach.

Ulrika W, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Kalmarsund Hotell, responded to this review
Dear , Thank you for your review. Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come back and see us again soon. If I can be of assistance in the future, please don't hesitate to contact me at 0480-480 380. Thank you once again. Sincerely, Ulrika Wirstam Hotel manager BEST WESTERN PLUS Kalmarsund Hotell

"The parking is not that bad"

4
25/08/2015

Clean, basic, fairly easy to find. Room was quiet breakfast ok. Really nothing noteworthy one way or the other. Town itself easy to poke around in. Basically a stop in the road. 200 characters? I'll never make it?

"Great hotel with good location"

4
25/08/2015

We stayed for two nights and enjoyed the experience. The room was pretty large and the bathroom was up-to-date. The free breakfast was great with a variety of different options and it was also possible to order additional items that weren't on the buffet (for example oatmeal).

"Nice hotel with good location"

5
28/07/2015

Very friendly staff and nice hotel with good location. Breafast was very good and our room very clean. Hotel was full and we get some better room so I don´t know the normal rooms conditions and prices, but this was good room.

"Solid hotel"

4
27/07/2015

Stayed 1 night in July 2015. A good solid hotel- excellent location, decent varied breakfast, good sized rooms with lots of space for luggage. Large sauna and hot tub to use on Level 1 (slightly dated but in good working order). Gym available to use but it is in the building opposite. Wifi worked consistently and was fast.