ROOM 1
ROOM 2
ROOM 3
Promotion code

Best Western Hotel Metropoli, Gênes

4.5/5  - basé sur 1001 notations.
Piazza Fontane Marose, 16123, Gênes, Italy - See map

The Best Western® Hotel Metropoli is located only few steps away from Via Garibaldi, the ancient Via Aureate recently included on Enesco's World Heritage List. The hotel looks out over one of the most charming squares of Genova, surrounded by buildings from the XVI century. The "Carlo Felice" opera house and Palazzo Ducale are just around the corner, as are the distinctive antique shops. The fabulous Aquarium of Genova is a short walk away through the famous Caruggi of the historical centre. The Best Western® Hotel Metropoli will welcome you with its comfortable rooms with pastel colors, chestnut furniture and parquet floor. The welcoming foyer is divided into elegant and comfortable lounges, decorated by splendid paintings by contemporary artists. Here you can enjoy a relaxing atmosphere with soft lighting and background music. Whether returning from visiting the city or after a working day, it is the ideal place to relax, perhaps sipping a cocktail or a glass of good wine. You will enjoy the rich buffet breakfast with fresh seasonal products and the typical "Focaccia Genovese" bread, and last but not least, for those travelling with a laptop computer, there is fast and free Wi-Fi connection throughout the whole hotel and lots of other services. But the main differences you will find at the Best Western® Hotel Metropoli are the professionalism and enthusiasm our staff will provide every day, to let you enjoy the true spirit of Genova and its people, poets, musicians and sailors. So for an unforgettable adventure in Italy, book a stay at the Best Western® Hotel Metropoli today. Enjoy your stay.

Best Western

Hotel Metropoli

LABEL_ITINERAIRE

LABEL_DEPART:

LABEL_ARRIVEE:

Hotel advantages

  • Air conditioning
    Air conditioning
  • Cocktail lounge
    Cocktail lounge
  • 24-hour front desk
    24-hour front desk
Show More Show Less

Guest reviews

In partnership with tripadvisor fr
Certificate of Excellence 2018
GreenLeader Silver
 
based on 984 guest reviews
NOTE ISSUED
Excellent
445
Very Good
449
Average
61
Poor
21
Terrible
8
REFER TO NOTICE
Business Business
149
Couples Couples
292
Family Family
341
Friends getaway Friends getaway
87
Solo travel Solo travel
61
SUMMARY NOTES
Cleanliness
Location
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Value

"Perfect"

5
13/09/2018

The hotel is located in the heart of genoa and 5min walk from piazza de Ferrari. The airport shuttle and all transportation is easily accessible. The staff is very kind and helpful. Choose the room with the front view. Room are well designed and convenient. The breakfast menu is good, they even pack you a box if u leave earlier than 7am. They have a common room for reading and a buisnes center as well. Cant ask for more, ah yes! It's well priced, better to book in advance. Bosco

"Nice hotel,awesome personnel "

5
09/08/2018

I recommend this hotel. the staff is very kind and hopeful.They help us to find nice places to visit,and good places/restaurants to eat. The breakfast has not the largest offer but is plenty of things to choose from. The room was spacious and clean.

"Pick this hotel "

5
07/08/2018

Lovely staff that make you feel welcome , very friendly and happy. Great location near all the main attractions. Breakfast is a must, a lot to choose from for just 5€. Would def come back! Delorean!!!

"Gem of a Hotel"

5
31/07/2018

We stayed here in May 2018 for three nights and were really surprised for the excellent rate we were charged to find a Hotel with staff that were so welcoming and helpful to us. Situated in a fabulous position in the small Piazza delle Fontane Marose, it is surrounded by alleys with great shopping on a bus route to everywhere. Our room overlooked the Piazza and was large with a marble bathroom with twin basins. Plenty of everything you would need. We paid $5.00 Euro for Breakfast and wow what a spread as well as good coffee you had made especially for you and a selection of food and beautiful cakes (!) for your choosing. It was an unbelievable rate for what you could select. The staff were especially nice and recommended a Restaurant Le Rune which is located not far from them- walking distance and you could not better it for food and local content. I would recommend anyone to stay here as it is located just where you need to be.

"Can't be beaten for location, views and friendly, professional reception "

5
31/07/2018

We were delighted by this hotel (thank you former Trip Advisor reviewers!) With fabulous views over a historic square excellent, our room was clean and well appointed and offered quite a lot of charm. A nice touch was the free samples of Botanicals shampoos etc to try. Breakfast was excellent value at 5 euros. But best of all was the extremely friendly welcome from Irene at reception. She was a real delight and she and her colleagues were very helpful when we realised that we'd left something in the safe and had to come back for it a week later. As everyone else has mentioned, it's beautifully located in the old town. Genoa is a gem of a city and the Metropoli is a perfect base for exploring it.

"At the heart of the city"

5
23/07/2018

Excellent choice, since everything is pretty much reachable by foot. For example the aquarium is a 10 minutes walk. It has breakfast. The bathroom and everything is great, and get re-fueled (new towels for example) on a daily basis. Drawback: No slippers provided (but that must be standard in these 3 stars hotels I guess)

"Beautiful Hotel"

4
22/07/2018

Aside from the mattress being slightly too firm for my liking (subjective anyway), couldn't fault this hotel. Food was superb, restaurant staff were excellent and the hitel decor was lovely. Only stayed one night but would go back.

"Excellent Experience"

5
03/07/2018

This hotel was very convenient. We had a fantastic stay in Genoa largely because of the location and the ease of being at this hotel. The staff is friendly and helpful. The taxis have a stand right outside, there is a bus stop and a CitySightseeing stop right outside, it is positioned near two different train stations, and you are just a walk away from the Port, Duomo, and several Palazzos. The rooms are nice - if you are traveling with a small child be sure to ask for one with a bathtub, and a crib (cot) doesn't cost extra. The breakfast in the morning is excellent and complete, so be sure to get that, too. Refrigerator in the room makes it nice to have snacks. Definitely a wonderful stay!

"Great staff "

4
24/06/2018

Enjoyed our break in Genoa. Hotel was in a good location, easy to get most places on foot. Rooms were clean and breakfast good value. The staff was lovely and we were lucky that one of rooms were ready early so could fresh up before we went our first Italian coffee

"Ideal situation"

4
23/06/2018

This was a long weekend (Friday to Monday) so that we could visit Portofino. We booked through BA and we were not disappointed. The Hotel is only 3 stars but rooms are clean and tidy and the staff are SO friendly and helpful. We had not booked breakfast so added it when we booked in - 5 euros each as got to be a bargain for the spread that awaits you. There is a lift and in the afternoon there is free coffe and pasties, what more could you ask for.. When we come back to Genoa we will stay here as it is so central. The port to catch the ferry is about a 20 min walk away and there are many restaurant on the walk to and from the port. ( try Le Rune - near the Hotel). So overall a great place to stay.

"Wonderful!"

5
21/06/2018

Large room, large bathroom, well appointed, perfect location, very clean, comfortable, nice breakfast. The staff was very helpful and made great recommendations. Hotel Metropoli made our stay in Genova wonderful.

"Excellent location. . .without even realizing we had already been there years ago!"

5
19/06/2018

The ladies at reception are very polite and helpful! We stayed to meet up with very close friends dating back several years. During our stay, we went out to nice Pinoteche for "assaggini" as it is the fashion if you prefer to spend less on food and drinks! We also took a visit to a pleasant seaside resort on the railway line so easily accessible by the name of Camogli.

"Great stau"

5
19/06/2018

Great hospitality, clean place and friendly staff. I enjoyed the Italian coffee, local cheese and focaccia each morning for breakfast. Thank you team! Genova is a magnificent place to visit. I'll return for a holiday

"Peeeeerfect location"

5
31/05/2018

Positioned just on the edge of the historical part of the city, it has easy access to all the best bits. Ten minute walk to Brignole station. Two minute walk to Piazza De Ferrari (airport Volabus drop off/collection point) making for hassle free airport access. My wife and I checked in on the 25th May for 5 nights. We paid a little extra for a superior room with a view over looking the square. Comfy, clean well equipped room (safe, aircon, shower TV, minibar etc) and a nice king size bed. We opted not to have breakfast (only 5 euros) because we like to eat at the local cafes instead. Cleaned daily and nice enough decor. All the staff on reception were super, very helpful when needed, lovely people.

"MetrAHHHpoli"

5
26/04/2018

Ahhhh, what a great spot! We spontaneously booked two nights when we decided to spend a couple of extra nights in Genoa. The location was perfect! The staff was SO helpful and welcoming. The room was great. The breakfast was spot on. If you can arrange to stay in a room facing the piazza you'll be treated to a vibrant view and soundtrack. We absolutely enjoyed our stay and recommend!

"Location, location, location "

5
15/04/2018

Definitely when in Genoa best western. The location is SUPER central. The breakfast is amazing, everything fresh and delicious, plus a good variety. The rooms were tidy and clean. The service was also good.

"Great place to stay"

5
03/04/2018

I'm not a big fan of staying in the hotels in old buildings but I realized that if I want to be in the centre of Genoa I had to take it. But in this very case everything was perfectly fitted into the old building. Our triple room was very comfortable with a lot of surfaces for personal belongings, well-organized bathroom, safe and blackout curtains which made our sleep very sweet and long. They offer a delicious breakfast at 3 Euro only. Very good coffee, plenty of cold cuts, some hot items, etc. We always had a late breakfast and the breakfast area has never been overcrowded. The girls at reception are very helpful and always smiling. The location is great as well. Very central but quiet. No negatives at all in my opinion.

"Great little hotel"

4
29/03/2018

Lots of Pros - Centrally located hotel, steps away from old town, great shopping and great restaurants. Friendly and helpful staff. Service always with a smile. A breakfast buffet you want to wake up for; wonderful coffee throughout the day. Clean, standard room. High ceilings and tall windows makes it feel spacious. Good toiletries. Nice hot showers. All this at a very reasonable price Con - Accommodations in the original building may be a bit cramped

"Good location and price."

5
11/03/2018

The room was good sized and clean. Bed was comfortable. The desk clerk provided a map and recommended inexpensive food places in the area. Hotel is close to fountain, church, shopping, and bars. Reminder that voltage in Europe is not the same as US.

"Great Little find"

5
16/02/2018

A lovely little hotel slap bang in the centre of Genoa- right round the corner is main high street and the posh shops as well as the Palazzo Rosso. The hotel room was clean and tidy and the shower superb- nice hot water-plenty of room with a view onto the street below. The breakfast was delicious and a vast range of food was on offer at only 3 euros! We had a delightful stay at this hotel and the staff was super and friendly. Grazie Mille!

"Great Hotel"

5
16/12/2017

I stayed here a recently while attending a wedding in Genoa, it is a lovely hotel. The room was clean and comfortable. The service outstanding and the staff, friendly and very helpful. Breakfast was also very good. The location of the hotel is great, right in the center of the city, yet quiet.

"A gem"

5
25/10/2017

Such a helpful staff and comfortable, clean, and modern rooms. They recommended a restaurant we could walk to—La Rudin—and it was excellent with good service and prices. The mattress is a memory foam on the Queen size bed. This was in the newest part of the hotel. It can be hard to locate and the parking is also hard to pinpoint. Recommend calling for directions.

"Great Hotel--Great Location!"

5
16/10/2017

The staff at the Front Desk was extremely helpful and the location is ideal to the city square as well as the waterfront. The breakfast buffet for 5 Euros per person can't be beat. It is very close to the train station as well. A short taxi ride or the Front Desk said a 15 minute walk.

"Great!"

5
12/10/2017

Comfortable, very good quality, silent and accessorized rooms, and really close to lots of restaurants, rich breakfast and overall a perfect stay! Even staff is very kind and welcoming. I would recommend.

"Excellent in every way"

5
07/10/2017

I've stayed at the Metropoli several occasions.. dating back to the 1980s. In the past 4 yrs I've made it my go-to Hotel in Genova ( A city I once resided and worked ) . Perfect location : walking distance from Principe Station, all downtown areas, and located in an elegant, historical and well-kept section of the city. You are seconds away from the Piazza, Via XX Settembre, Piazza Corvetto, Palazzo Ducale and the nicest section of the famous historical center which has been rennovated and made tourist-friendly and safe in the past few decades. The Hotel is very clean and comfortable - As for the breakfast, it is perhaps the best Hotel fare I've experienced with local Genovese specialities: focaccia, pandolce and more. Staff are experienced, descrete, polite, helpful and expert. So It gets full marks from me on all levels and I am sure to return.

"Well positioned, comfortable hotel."

5
23/09/2017

Stayed here five nights, staff consistent in their friendliness and help throughout our stay. Breakfast good variation of breads fruit , conserves, cakes and cereals with personally made beverages to order. Hotel handy for old port , shopping streets and world heritage streets, useful bus stop and taxi rank outside hotel. Clean, comfortable , a pleasure.

"Excellent location, wonderful bed"

4
19/09/2017

Wonderfully located in an excellent area of town, the hotel is comfortable and friendly. Excellent staff, good facilities, clean and comfortable rooms and good size bathrooms.The downside is the lack of blackout curtains which means that your room is brightly lit all night long, the flight of steep stairs leading from the street to reception which makes luggage handling a nightmare, and the uncleared tables at breakfast this morning. Overall, an excellent hotel but a little more attention to detail would work wonders.

"To be advised"

4
18/09/2017

In the centre of city. No parking at the hotel but guarded parking not too far . However hard to find. We had to change rooms as the airco made too much noise unfortunately that room was smaller Staff was very friendly

Customer_Care1, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Best Western Hotel Metropoli, responded to this review
Dear Erik, thank you for the nice comment about the staff! We really try our best to create an unforgettable memory for our guests. I'm sorry about the truoble with the a/c but, as we were fully booked and yet wanted to make sure you were comfortable, we agreed with you to move you in another room. I hope this did not spoil your idea of us and look forward to welcome you again. Warm regards, Cinzia Customer Care BEST WESTERN Hotel Metropoli

"Great place to stay"

4
28/08/2017

Good location, easily reached from either train station, with a bus stop only meters from the hotel. Wonderful staff, for whom nothing is too much trouble. Comfortable rooms, an excellent breakfast; should I return to Genoa, this is where I'll stay.

"Excellent family rooms!"

5
21/08/2017

I booked this hotel, having had excellent stays with Best Western hotels on the continent (but not in the UK). The hotel is located in a quiet piazza near to (2 minute walk) the famous Piazza De Ferrari. The hotel staff are very friendly and helpful and are a true asset to this hotel. Our family room was located on the top floor and had a kind bed and two very comfortable bunk beds for the children, which they loved! We were there during a heatwave and the air-conditioning was much appreciated. The bathrooms are a great size and the shower was amazing. We cannot fault our stay, as even the breakfast was excellent! Just around the corner is one of the best pizza restaurants I have ever eaten in, and the recommendations of the hotel staff for other restaurants were also great.

"Only place I would re-stay"

5
19/08/2017

Being a frequent visitor to Cinque Terre and the surrounding , Genoa has been our final stop over the 8 years and Best Western Metropoli our only choice for accommodation. The hotel is close to everything. The staff has always been friendly, courteous and very helpful over the years we stayed. The rooms we stayed were quite spacious , always neat and clean. Breakfast in Best Westerns has always been satisfactory in general, but we tended to love it more here. Will definitely keep coming in the following years.

"Nice location"

4
29/07/2017

The staff was very helpful and really cared, offered me maps, directions, tips and upgraded me to a better room with bathtub. I travelled alone and felt very safe. Close to shopping and the sea is just 10 min walking distance. Breakfast was good too. Would come back!

"Superb"

5
29/07/2017

This hotel close to just about everything, went above and beyond for us. The staff, was friendly, courteous and always helpful. The room although small by US standards was clean and bright and well equipped. Breakfast was included for a small fee and it was good. Especially the pastries. It's a really short walk to Porto Antico. This place will not disappoint.

"Very good location"

4
27/07/2017

We only stayed 2 nights in Genoa and we chose this hotel based on recommendations from TripAdvisor regarding its location and we were super happy to have done so. Everything was walking distance. The staff at the reception was very helpful and always smiley. As we were traveling with our celiac son, we were super happy with the gluten-free breakfast service they had at the hotel. They had a list of all he could eat from the open buffet and also many other options we could choose that were served separately from the kitchen to avoid cross-contamination. Perfect choice for a short stop at this historic city!

"Outstanding staff, comfortable hotel"

5
11/07/2017

Stayed here two nights to visit the sites of Genoa. My father fell ill and the staff could not do enough to help -- called a doctor, translated when we had difficulty with the bill, delivered food, enquired after his health and in between gave advice on the city. Our family room was well-designed and comfortable, with an excellent bathroom and breakfast, but the staff make this hotel shine. I booked direct, and from initial enquiry to check out, they handled everything perfectly. Special thanks to Irene and Nicole, who treated us like friends from the moment we arrived.

"The ideal starting point to explore Genova"

4
11/07/2017

If you are looking for a good hotel near everything in Genova, then this hotel could be your place. It is a three star hotel, but a good one, situated at a stone's throw of the main square of Genova, at one end of Via Garibaldi and at a nice walking distance from the port area. Even if it is in a square, with a bus stop near the hotel ( by the way, with bus no. 34 you can come from the Piazza Principe train station ) , it is a quiet area and a very safe one , from where you can reach any point of interest in no time. The rooms are good, clean, even if pretty small, or maybe with furniture not very well placed and this steal away from you the space you need to feel welcome. It has a mini fridge, some tea and coffee maker, safe and the bathroom itself is a plus, if you are not a bulky person -otherwise you could have a problem to enter the shower cabin. And I am very serious about it. A big minus for our room was that we had other building very close from our window and that's why the room was dark and it felt almost like in a basement. We were very disturbed of this being the kind of people used to having a lot of light in our house . They could have asked us before giving it if this could be a problem for us because it really was. To go on, breakfast is good with numerous choices of a good quality, even though it was the same for a few days in a row. To be honest, this is the same like in most of the hotels we stayed over the time. But it was perfect to give you the energy you need to start the day properly. People working in the hotel are friendly and helpful and make your stay a pleasant one. To conclude, I strongly recommend this hotel to you and in spite of our minor complaints, we would choose it again when we come back in Genoa.

"Great hotel"

5
14/06/2017

Great location, had all the amenities of a BW hotel--clean, friendly staff, wifi, TV, room safe, refrigerator, AC, elevator. Irene was a great desk manager. She spoke good English and helped us with all our questions. Fantastic breakfast at a very reasonable price, 3 euros! Parking is not convenient and was expensive but expected for much of Europe. I would definately recommend this hotel.

"Great location "

4
28/05/2017

It was the first time that we stayed in a Best western hotel, and nothing to complain. Good service, clean hotel and tidy hotel. We stayed on the 4th floor (406 room) we had a nice view. The room is small but really clean and comfortable. The mini bar have lots of choices and the prices are affordable, which is not normal. The breakfast is really delicious, go for it. The location is really central, we traveled by train and is 10 min walk from both main stations. Next time in Genova we will stay there for sure. Definitely recommended

"Very good option..."

4
01/05/2017

The hotel is well located, very close to the Palazzi dei Rolli, and a few minutes walk from other main attractions (e.g. palazzo Ducale, etc.). Even the port area is just 15-20 min. walk. Personnel is extremely kind and breakfast is excellent. You can enjoy high quality local products (from olive oil, taggiasche olives, ricotta and other cheeses, very good jam and marmelade and the typical focaccia). The room was clean and functional with a nice view on the small piazza. Ask for 4-5 floor rooms.

"Attentive to gluten free diet"

5
27/04/2017

We stayed several nights at this hotel in April. It was family friendly -- there were even small bunk beds in our room for the kids. The location is great, everything was quite clean, and the front desk staff was extremely helpful in recommending a restaurant for us on a Sunday for dinner as so many are closed. I especially appreciated the breakfast selection, which had things that many American palates would want at the beginning of the day, and also included many Ligurian or Italian specialties as well. In addition, they went out of their way to point out gluten free items available for our celiac, and even brought him a plate of his own rolls each morning, with separate Nutella that hadn't been gluten'd up by anyone else. Overall I have to recommend Italy as a travel destination for celiacs. People are quite conscious of the ways in which contamination can happen, and restaurants frequently had GF pasta on hand to serve when asked. Bravo!

"Go for the breakfast and stay for the night"

4
26/04/2017

This is generally a very nice hotel centrally located to all the attractions in Genoa. We stayed there two nights and walked to all the sights of Genoa. They have one of the best breakfast buffets that I have ever enjoyed; everything to suit just about any ethnic background. The staff is very courteous and helpful, the room was comfortable although not especially roomy. Great value for the price however. Definitely would recommend it be considered for your stay in Genoa.

"Excellent stay"

5
28/03/2017

Excellent value for money.. perfect location. Very good food, especially breakfast. Super friendly and helpfull staff. My room views were spectacular. Decent sized rooms, with very comfortable beds. Very clean. Will go back when in Genoa

"Pre cruise"

5
30/01/2017

This hotel has the most welcoming and helpful staff. good size comfortable rooms with excellent walk in shower,the breakfasts for 3 euros would put 4/5 star hotels to shame very central situation only problem was stairs to hotel reception but staff willing to carry luggage up would certainly stay here again

"Genuine Genoa"

5
09/01/2017

The location of this hotel is perfect. It's a 20-minute walk from the Principe train station or you can take bus 34. We loved the alleyway next to our hotel as well as being in close vicinity of Piazza Ferrari. Besides the location, we were impressed with the friendliness at the reception desk and the high quality of the dishes served at breakfast. The Latte Machiatto was to die for. We stayed here for two nights and relied only on public transportation. We loved Genoa, adored its food (especially its pesto) and appreciated the authenticity of the city. I'm glad we were near Garibaldi street, home to some of the most beautiful palazzos in Genoa and near the tourist office. We would definitely stay here again.

"Very comfortable welcoming hotel"

4
22/12/2016

Although officially rated as 3 star, we found the BW Metropoli to be a very pleasant and comfortable hotel, worthy in our view of a higher rating. The location is excellent being only a few yards away from the World Heritage site Via Garibaldi and the airport bus stops about 200 yards away in Piazza Ferrari. Breakfast at an extra charge of 3 Euros is excellent value. Free wifi is widely available. Complimentary newspapers and pastries are available in the lounge areas. The staff are friendly, helpful and welcoming.

"Renovating???"

2
19/12/2016

Renovating rooms while keeping the hotel open seems unacceptable to me. No way to have a rest during the day. When traveling for work this is unacceptable. Very friendly staff and clean rooms though...

Customer_Care1, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at BEST WESTERN Hotel Metropoli, responded to this review
Dear Jonathan, I'm sorry for what happened during your stay and I would like to apologize. We are literally building 4 brand new awesome rooms which will be ready soon at the beginning of next year and the workers know they must start late in the morning and finish at the end of the afternoon and keep it down. Thank you for the nice words you spent for the staff and I hope to see you sometime soon to prove you how good you can rest at the Metropoli! happy Holidays, Cinzia, Customer Care

"Good for family travel and a short visit"

4
08/11/2016

We stayed with our family here and enjoyed our time. The free breakfast was nice and the three bed options were great for our family of 5. The hotel is in a great location of Genoa as well and lots of sites and restaurants are easily within walking distance.

"Comfortable, clean and reasonable"

4
31/10/2016

The Best Western Metropoli sits amid the old town precincts and is handy to most of the attractions of Genoa. The Genoa City Hop-on-hop-off bus stop is adjacent to the hotel which allows the ability to move around without fuss. The hotel is comfortable and the breakfast, which may be included in the tariff, but if not, costs a mere 3euro is more than adequate. Helpful staff to find suitable restaurants etc were most acceptable

"center of town"

5
31/10/2016

2N3D in genes, this hotel is really well situated,plenty to see, walks from here to discover the town, restaurants/bars/shopping all close bye. Cant go wrong.The price was correct, the staff(Irene) and the others,fantastic, with all their help and great humour. Bus stop just 20 seconds from the entry. Good breakfast for only 3 euros per person. Safe at night. the beds in this Hotel are amazingly comfortable.

"Charming hotel in the centre"

5
18/10/2016

Hotel Metropoli is between the Old town and Modern city. The Rolli palaces are just around the corner. The hotel personnel is smiling and helpful. The room, bed, bathroom, and view are of good quality.

"Central, clean hotel. Excellent breakfast and helpful staff."

5
12/10/2016

Central, just a few minutes walk from Paizza De Ferrari. Clean pleasant room as well as reception and breakfast room. Travelled solo and booked a single room overlooking the small Piazza Fontane Marose. It was a good size and well laid out. Kettle and selection of tea and coffee bags in the room, as well as a well furnished mini-bar, also with some space to put own stuff if needed. Didn't like the very high fixed shower much. Excellent choice and quality at breakfast. Staff very helpful. I plan to book this hotel again as I travel through Genoa every few months.

"Great location in historic district"

5
12/10/2016

Charming, modern and pleasant hotel in historic district. Close to all of the major sites you will want to visit. Staff were incredibly helpful and courteous. Breakfast variety far exceeded expectations. Room was very quiet - able to sleep well with windows open at night.

"Very good hotel in the middle of old city"

5
03/10/2016

This was a clean hotel right in the middle of old part of Genoa, good location for walking around and seeing the sights. Excellent breakfast and staff and service brilliant! Thank u for a great stay, we would definitely come agin if we were in Genoa

"Nice place, but needs parking"

3
17/09/2016

The hotel is well located, but suffers from the Italian parking problem. It isn't cheap, but more moderately priced than similar hotels in Genoa. It was a great base to explore the city from. There are numerous sights and restaurants nearby.

"Very good service"

4
07/09/2016

There is a parking place for one car in front of the hotel : you can park there when checking in and the hotel staff bring your luggage to the room while you drive to the parking lot about 500 metres away. The breakfast is excellent both in quality and friendly service.

"Great location and extremely helpful staff"

5
23/07/2016

Centrally located so that one can conveniently enjoy the historic city plus eat at good restaurants that the hotel recommended just around the corner . Irene and Nicole could not have been more helpful untangling a mistaken reservation that I had made with Booking.com. They made me a convert to Best Western and I became a member because of them. Caution for elderly: We only experienced if guests must walk up stairs to enter the hotel lobby, I don't know if they have an entrance with an elevator. I didn't see it.

"great location"

4
18/07/2016

my partner and I stayed for 1night. parking is away from the hotel but there is a space in front of hotel where you can park while being given directions. staff very friendly. rooms clean, well decorated. nice view on to square. hotel in great location for bars, restaurants. will recommend to friends and family

"Excellent 3 star hotel in top location!"

5
17/07/2016

The superb location of this hotel makes the interesting sites, including the port, within easy walking distance. The historic town with its winding alleys, shops and restaurants is located just behind the hotel. Bus stops, including the sightseeing Hop on Hop of bus, a taxi stand and ATM machines are right in front. Very friendly and helpful multilingual staff.The breakfast buffet was excellent and had a good selection to choose from. I had a nice single room with flat screen tv and airconditioning facing a quiet alley however, my only negative was that the bed and pillows were a bit too hard. The bathroom was good and had some complimentary samples of skin care which I thought was a nice detail. A minibar which thankfully had ice cold drinks versus some minibars that don't cool well and you end up having warm water and sodas. An ideal hotel for a weekend trip! All in all, a lovely experience where I got good value for my money. I would definitely stay there again.

"Excellent location in Genoa"

5
01/07/2016

This hotel is superbly situated on the fringe of the old city. It is easy to walk to many restaurants and bars, ice-cream suppliers and the like. All the things we wished to visit, like the Royal Palace, the Cathedral, the Palazzo Rosso and Bianco, and Via Garibaldi are well within easy walking distance - and I am 80 year's old next year. The hotel is actually at the end of Via Garibaldi. The breakfast buffet is very good and ample.

"Everything comfortable and nice, except for showers"

4
01/07/2016

Dislike: The windows were on a main square - what I expected, since it is a central location - but it ment it was quite noisy. Needed to sleep with windows closed - fortunately, soundproofing is good, so everything ok! Another big problem are the showers: they are fixed from above, you can not wash properly and your hair get wet anyway. Access through stairs, not easy if you got large suitcases. Like: Staff was very helpful and the hotel is very clean and new. Beds are comfortable. Good soundproofing. Nice bathrooms. Fresh fruits at breakfast! Location very central, without being too much exposed, and medieval building in front! I definitively recommend it!

"Quality 3 star accomodation"

4
23/06/2016

This renovated older style hotel has most things a budget travel requires including friendly helpful staff. Rooms are larger than average and well kept. While situated in a fairly busy area there were no noise issues.

"Great location. Professional and enthusiastic staff."

5
18/05/2016

This is a superb location, well run by professional and enthusiastic staff. They provided us with excellent restaurant recommendations as well as insight on what to do during the day. The room was average but welcoming and clean. I highly recommend.

"Last minute, best customer service "

4
23/04/2016

Very pleasant, welcoming service for an emergency late night room. Breakfast lovely, receptionists and staff especially lovely. Lovely and clean room and in a very central location filled with lovely places to eat and shop. Thank you very much for everything.

"Great stay !"

4
17/04/2016

Hotel is well located near shops, restraurants and transport etc. Room were ok but a bit small ( however this is typical for European hotels ). Reception at check-in was a bit cold and not very welcoming. Breakfast was great with plentiful supply of hot and cold food.

"Roomy and convenient."

4
14/04/2016

I came here as the hotel I booked did not respect my reservation. Attention was Superb, all my doubts were answered and make me feel better after not having where to stay. Hotel is close to main streets, eateries, and touristic places, also Metro station is just a couple of blocks. Rooms are big, and comnfortable, the decoration is somewhat outdated but still you can have a good rest. The breakfast is included and you can have a good assortment of local products,I really liked that, is not very common to see hotels support local farmers. you can have several cheese, bread, jelly kinds. Only thing i found bad was the elevator, is tiny, but still my experience was good, I'll stay here again

"Great location, but loud at night. Helpful staff."

4
09/04/2016

Friendly and really helpful staff. Room (408) overlooked main street, which was fun for watching in the day, but noisy all night. Location was great, in the old town, perfect for seeing what we came here for. Our room was large enough and light enough. Wifi usually worked, although not always. Nice linens. Shower door was difficult -not a big deal, but it didn't close properly and the shower was very small. Breakfast was varied and plentiful. Hotel was a great value. The main negatives: small, stuffy elevator that bounced some...made me anxious every time. Some of the fruit at breakfast was clearly past prime. It should have been more carefully checked before serving.

"Trattoria San Carlo Felice performances."

4
28/03/2016

Very well located, clean, comfortable and very friendly hotel. Breakfast was varied with fresh baking and fruit. Reception staff were particularly welcoming and helpful. The hotel is five minutes from the theatre and two minutes from the famous Via Garibaldi. The quaint funicular is also minutes walk away.

"So close to main attractions"

4
23/03/2016

As you already know from the the title of this review, the hotel is close to tha main square, Piazza Raffaele de Ferrari, Palazzo Ducale, tha fashionable Via Roma and one of the best avenues I have seen, Via XX Settembre. On the other side, you will fin de Centro Storico and you will soon understand why this area was so difficult to take by those invaders. Walking through this are, you will find the harbour with the Aquarium. The staff was gentile and helpful. There's also something important, there's a laundry a few blocks form the hotel, inside the Centro Storico.

"Kindness and comfort"

5
27/02/2016

This hotel is in a very good location, close to the historic centre and just a minute or two away from Teatro Carlo Felice, which was the reason for my stay in Genoa. In the short time I had at my disposal I was able to walk along the famous Renaissance Via Garibaldi, which is just around the corner from the hotel and explore the waterfront. Also close to the hotel is a lift up to a marvellous viewpoint with panoramic views across the city and the sea. The staff at the Metropoli are exceptionally friendly, kind and helpful, and I felt really at home there. I had a very nice spacious room with a good bathroom, a comfortable bed, and there was a plentiful choice from the breakfast buffet. Highly recommended!

"A really good hotel"

5
16/02/2016

I happen to be in this lovely hotel for some days. The staff is very helpful specially the lady in the reception is very helpful. From arranging the personal computer to you up to arranging a hotel to your next destination will be done by her at your request. This is very helpful as we do not understand Italian language. The wifi is free and with a moderate speed. If it rains out side they will provide you an umbrella. Likewise you will be looked after very well.

"Short visit but I would love to come back"

4
18/01/2016

Our family of 4 (2 teenage sons) were traveling through Genoa by train. We wanted a place not too far from the train station. This was a very nice little hotel in a picturesque part of the city. We got a family room which was all we needed for a one night stay. It would be ok with 2 small children for a longer visit, but a little small with teenagers. Still, it was great for our needs. They referred us to the pizza place around the corner for a quick dinner. It was the best pizza we had in 10 days of touring Italy. Then we spent a few hours walking around the beautiful old town. Had to catch a train to Cinqua terra the next morning, but I would love to return to Genoa and this hotel.

"Great hotel"

5
01/01/2016

We stayed for a couple days while driving from France to Rome. Clean hotel, great breakfast, easy to walk to many places. My daughter had forgotten her watch. The staff quickly located it and returned it to us.

"Excellent Hotel, great location"

4
08/10/2015

The Hotel Metropoli is centrally situated in Genoa within easy walking distance of the Porto Antico and other local sights and landmarks. Front desk staff were knowledgeable and very helpful regarding trips around Genoa, even taking a personal interest in where we had travelled from and our intentions whilst in the city. Our twin room was immaculately presented and was to the front overlooking the street. It had complimentary tea and coffee making facilities - a great bonus after a long days sightseeing. There was some traffic noise during the day but, traffic wise, the street was very quiet from around 8pm to 8am each day and we enjoyed a good nights sleep. Breakfast was the fairly standard continental fayre with a selection of breads, pastries, cheese, meat and fruit etc. together with a small hot selection of scrambled eggs and sausages. We found it perfectly adequate for our needs. We would not hesitate to stay at the Metropoli on our next visit to Genoa.

"Genoa old town"

4
28/09/2015

Hotel is in the old town about 10-12€ ride from Genoa Exhibition Centre The hotel Metropoli is situated on one of the many lanes & side streets of this very busy city The Hotel is clean & tidy & has 5 floors My room is a single room on the 1st floor & faces the front of the building over looking a busy one way street my room is tidy & the breakfast is good A very nice hotel lanes

"Good location and friendly"

4
26/09/2015

good location in the heart of old Genoa ,1.6 km from Genova Piazza Principe train station 10 mins by taxi , there are stairs to the lobby level not easy for wheelchair and heavy baggage, only one elevator , its old building but renovated. nice lobby and modern and storage rooms , clean room good size and bright ,clean and good toilet with bathtub,minibar ,flat TV, old style room key. the beds are good and comfortable. average breakfast buffet,friendly staff,free wifi

"Great hotel in central Genoa"

4
21/08/2015

THe Best Western Hotel Metropoli is in a central location in the historic district, walking distance to Porto Antico and many Palazzos from the 16th Century. Also close to the elevators and funiculars up the hill for views of the city and the harbour. Bus stops very close by and not far from some great Genovese restaurants, beautiful churches and museums. Our room was comfortable and air conditioning worked, important on the very warm July days we were there. Great reading rooms, lovely welcoming staff and wonderful breakfast and rooms. Wifi in the room was a bit slow but fine in the public areas.

"Excellent Hotel!!!"

5
20/08/2015

Excellent hotel in the centre of town. Cute little room that was still spacious with a huge bathroom and very clean!! Room had a kettle and coffee/tea which is a nice touch as many european hotels do no include this! They also gave us a complimentary goody bag of high-end L'Occtaine toiletries!! Staff were extremely friendly and free buffet breakfast was substantial and impressive!! One of the cheaper but most impressive hotels in Europe that we stayed at. Highly recommend for all travellers!