Promotion code

Cricklade House Hotel, Sure Hotel Collection by Best Western, Cricklade

4.0/5  - basé sur 704 notations.
Common Hill, SN6 6HA, Cricklade, Great Britain - See map

Set in 30 acres of secluded grounds in the glorious Wiltshire countryside, the Cricklade House Hotel, Sure Hotel Collection by Best Western is the ideal retreat for those in search of tranquility, relaxation and traditional home comforts. Located near the pretty Cotswold town of Cricklade between Swindon and Cirencester, this tastefully restored and extended country house has 45 spacious bedrooms, plus three function rooms perfect for weddings and business events. If you want to unwind, you can enjoy a leisurely lunch on the terrace, swim in the pool or enjoy a round of golf on our nine-hole course. You can also sun yourself in our wonderful Victorian-style glass conservatory that runs the entire length of the original building. With lots to enjoy in the hotel itself, we cannot blame you if you just want to stay put during your visit, but if you do fancy heading out and about, the historic town of Cirencester is only a 15-minute drive away. Also nearby are Cotswold Water Park, where you will find nature reserves, water sports, clay pigeon shooting and even a beach! Shoppers can pick up a bargain at the Swindon Designer Outlet Village and Orbital Shopping Park, while sports fans can enjoy speedway and greyhound racing at Swindon Stadium.

Sure Hotel Collection

Cricklade House Hotel




Hotel advantages

  • Coffee shop / restaurant
    Coffee shop / restaurant
  • Heated pool
    Heated pool
  • Cocktail lounge
    Cocktail lounge
  • 24-hour front desk
    24-hour front desk
  • Safe deposit box
    Safe deposit box
  • Sauna
  • Tennis court
    Tennis court
Show More Show Less

Guest reviews

In partnership with tripadvisor fr
based on 704 guest reviews
Very Good
Business Business
Couples Couples
Family Family
Friends getaway Friends getaway
Solo travel Solo travel
Sleep Quality

"Great 4 day stay with Groupon Deal"


Booked using groupon deal for 4 days. Check-in was smooth and friendly. The wine that was included quickly arrived chilled. Our annex twin room was clean the decor was modern but the furniture was old fashioned. Large spacious bathroom. The only downside with the room was it faced the courtyard and people walking passed could see straight in. The only option was to have the blind down which made it very dark. There was also a lot of noise from the room above. The spa facilities were a 1.2M deep pool which was a bit cold. There were glass sliding doors that looked out onto a beautiful view just such a shame you were not allowed to open them. It would have been amazing if they could have opened the doors and had sun beds outside this would have made such a difference especially in the hot weather. The jacuzzi had seen better days as had the changing rooms and steam room. All still usable but need updating. Breakfast was nice though quite a lot of flies, the food would have benefited from being under glass/protective covers. We had a lovely stay and it was a good base for visiting Bath and the Cotswolds. This hotel could be perfect with just a little work but for the money we paid it was great value.

James H, Operations Director at Cricklade House, responded to this review
Thank you for your review Candyholiday We appreciate your feedback and will incorporate it into our refurbishment plans. I hope we get to welcome you back in due course. Kindest regards and best wishes, James

"Most enjoyable stay"


We came back here after a one night stay in a terrible cannot fault the staff here. They seem to work ling hours yet always have a smile for you. The Turkish barman goes out of his way to help you.the facilities are brilliant although the steam room needs a lick of paint. The hotel has had a refurb since we stayed here 4 years ago. Now we can't wait to get back the food is really good too. And the location is really good too. Thank you to all the staff we look forward to seeing you soon

James H, Operations Director at Cricklade House, responded to this review
Thank you for your review John. I am delighted you enjoyed your stay - I will be sure to pass on your feedback to our staff, particularly Ahmet on the bar. I truly hope that we get to welcome you back in due course. Best wishes, James

"Work stay over"


Hi There stayed 6 & 7th august this year as working at my head office up the road.Room was absolutely spotless really clean as was shower room.Eat in the restaurant food was outstanding and waitress's were all very friendly and pleasant also table service was really fast.I think bored to death the lovely lady on the reception when i checked in at 6.30pm on Monday 6th she was a joy to talk to and so helpful.Keep up the good work i will be back. Many Thanks Robert Edmead

James H, Operations Director at Cricklade House, responded to this review
Thank you for your review Robert. Your feedback is greatly appreciated. We look forward to welcoming you back. James

"Good booking deal"


Our deal included bed breakfast £50 towards dinner and a bottle of wine on arrival so a pretty good start The food was good and service ok The room was a bit disappointing Steam room as you would expect We had a garden room thinking it might look into s garden but didn't

James H, Operations Director at Cricklade House, responded to this review
Many thanks for your review Damian, A bit of a mixed bag really - we'll take the positives and look to improve on the negatives. I hope we get to welcome you back in the near future. Kindest regards, James

"Good hotel just need a bit of attention to make Great"


We Checked in and went up to our room on the first floor, we had a fantastic view over the surrounding grounds and were not overlooked by anyone, The room was well equipped with everything you need it could have been lifted with some more lighting as the room was a little dark especially the bathroom, The room could do with some new furniture and the windows need replacement as they do not seal properly and leaked when it rained, but it was clean and the bed was comfortable, Breakfast on the first morning (Sunday) was Buffett style and very disorganised, we were seated and asked if we wanted tea or coffee, we went to get our breakfast and when we returned 5 mins later another couple had been seated at our table, so we were left standing plate in hand trying to flag down one of the staff who were not interested, eventually someone finished at a table and we grabbed it, this worried us a bit as we were staying for 5 nights and this was the first breakfast but thankfully the next 4 mornings things were very different, as we were seated given a menu and waited on by two very pleasant and organised ladies who if this is seen by the management are a credit to your establishment, We did eat in the restaurant one night the menu is fairly simple and a little high on price for what you get but the food was decent and well presented, we also used the facilities in the spa side the pool and jacuzzi were ok the steam room was tatty and falling apart, there was also a good snooker and pool table, that provided a good evening's entertainment, there was supposed to be a treatment room but this has been closed down, The location was great (for us anyway) close to main routes but far enough away for them not to be herd, it's very good for access to the water park and your half hour away from any of the main local attractions. You could see some areas of the Hotel have been recently decorated and you would hope this is being rolled out over the entire site, talking with some locals in the pool the hotel has recently been taken over so hopefully the weekend staff issue will get addressed, We will definitely recommend to others and stay here again.

James H, Operations Director at Cricklade House, responded to this review
Thank you for your review Tristan. We appreciate your comments and can assure you that we are indeed working very hard to make the necessary improvements to make the hotel great. As such, I will be sure to pass your details on to our Management Team to ensure that they are aware of your experiences (as well as ensuring the breakfast team get their recognition). We look forward to welcoming you back. Kindest regards, James

"Good but needs organisation"


Staff all very pleasant and rooms very nice-Ours was quite cool in a heatwave. The situation and the terrace and conservatory made for delightful evenings sitting and sipping. But. One morning so many people were at breakfast the restaurant was full. This is where the system broke down. There was no queueing system. We were asked to wait but some people had gone for a walk and come back - No-one knew who was next. There was great potential for arguments. Once into breakfast we were never asked to order our breakfast meal. We existed on toast and continental buffet stuff - what was left of it. That left us reviewing our opinions of the place.

James H, Operations Director at Cricklade House, responded to this review
Thank you for your review. I am very disappointed to have read your comments. Please accept my apologies for our shortcomings we have a new senior management team at the hotel and work is ongoing to make improvements that would be beneficial to your stay. Please feel free to contact me at the hotel directly to discuss further and to try to find a resolution. Kindest regards, James

"Great overnight stay"


Our staff was very brief so was unable to use all the facillities, however check in was efficient , the room was clean and comfortable and very spacious. Bed was comfy and the breakfast taken outside on the terrace was great. Staff friendly and helpful. We would have preferred a groundfloor room as had to carry our bags upstairs, but because the room was so good it made it OK. Would stay here again. The grounds are beautiful and was lovely to wake up an see the countryside

James H, Operations Director at Cricklade House, responded to this review
Many thanks for your review, although I must say your score doesn't seem to reflect your review! Is this correct? If it is correct and there is something that you have been unhappy with please feel free to contact me at the hotel to discuss further. Best wishes, James

"Appalling service, adequate accomodation"


Made a group booking here for 17 people (July 2018) as I thought that it looked like a lovely hotel and had the facilities that my group would enjoy. The hotel is dated, but I note from other reviews that they are spending money on it. The staff were inattentive, inexperienced and arrogant. For example; ordered a beer at the bar and it was a glass of foam, when we explained that it was clearly a new keg and the head wouldn't settle, the barman just replied "so, what do you want then?". Dinner service was dreadful and breakfast service was no better (given it was the same team that served us for dinner, no surprise there). Example: on the first night there were five of us. Most of the tables in the restaurant are set for four. When we asked for a bigger table the waitress just shrugged and said, "we've only got one and that's being used" after a few seconds of embarrassed silence we asked if we could move a small table, adjacent to ours. "No, we're not allowed to do that" was the reply. There was a litany of laughable poor service standards. In all unhelpful staff and reminiscent of Fawlty Towers. Sorry to report this about staff, it's not their fault that they have been badly trained (if at all).

James H, Operations Director at Cricklade House, responded to this review
Thank you for your review. We are sorry to have read your comments. Please accept our apologies for our shortcomings. Following the recent purchase of the hotel work is ongoing to make improvements that would be beneficial to your stay both in terms of investment in the property and in the team. Please feel free to contact me at the hotel directly to discuss further and to try to find a resolution. Kindest regards, James

"Very Nice Overnight stay"


Had a overnight stay here on Saturday 28th July with 6 friends. Hotel is lovely and currently undergoing a upgrade. Our room (29) was large with a walk in shower and large sleigh bed. It was really clean and the pillows very nice. Food in the restaurant was great. There was a power cut when we attened and completely not the hotels fault but all staff coped with it really well. We enjoyed the buffet syle breakfast. However, I cannot beleive that on check out I witnessed 2 older ladies complaning about everything to get a few quid off their bill. The power cut was not the hotels fault.

James H, Operations Director at Cricklade House, responded to this review
Thank you for your review Amanda, I will be sure to pass on your wonderful comments and I hope we are able to invite you back very soon. Kindest regards, James

"Sunday Lunch"


Sunday Lunch,,, we don't partake in eating Sunday Lunch out very often so when we do i would like it right. We came here last Sunday for a family event, the venue is very pleasant and the view out over the grounds is great. If you go here don't expect the best service, although they young girls serving did seem to be working hard and doing their best, there was no coordination or direction from any supervisor or manager. The food however was very good, hot and well presented, not a lot of it, but then again I like big portions. Beef was cooked really well along with the veg, starters and desserts where also good. The bar is not great, could do with a more personable bar man, the beer was also off as in not available. On the whole an ok experience but need to do a lot better in the service area......

James H, Operations Director at Cricklade House, responded to this review
Thank you for your review Chris. I will share your comments with the team, including the supervisor who served your lunch (you may not have been aware they were a supervisor as they are dressed the same). Nevertheless we are currently reviewing all standards of procedures and retraining all of the food and beverage staff. I hope we are able to welcome you back in the near future and show you the improvements we have made. Kindest regards James



The hotel is in a lovely setting and could be fabulous, but unfortunately there seems to be no management what so ever! We have visited several times over the past few months and can see no improvement under the new management. It takes an age to get served at the bar, all staff seem very young and very inexperienced. No table clearing throughout the day - either not enough staff, or maybe uninterested staff. We stayed in a court yard room which had apparently been refurbished, I could see no sign of re-furbishment, tired, dated room. Such a shame as the views from tbe terrace are outstanding.

"Not a restaurant for non residents..."


Drive by this place all the time, so thought we'd pop in and ask if they were open to non-residents as it says restaurant outside....What we should have done was read the menu outside the doors, it would have made us think twice as there were limited choices...However we had the most beautiful view from our table and were very pleased. The food wasn't great to be honest, edible but mediocre. The worst part was the service. Whether it was because we were non residents or not I'm not sure, but other customers who were residents seemed to get served quickly. To the point where we sat with our dirty plates infront of us whilst the staff served other tables with mains, were cleared, ordered and delivered ice cream, finished that and left their table before anyone came to take our main course plates away...Think they were a bit surprised we didn't order a sweet. But we had sat there for about half an hour. The setting for this restaurant is beautiful and have been to the odd ‘do' there over the years which has been fine. Sadly I wouldn't recommend it as a good food place.

James H, Operations Director at Cricklade House, responded to this review
Thank you for your review. I will use your observations to discuss with the team the importance of attentive service. I hope you will return in a few months to see the improvements. Best wishes, James

"Pyschic & Holistic Fayre Weekend "


We were luckily enough to stay in a newly refurbished room in the courtyard. It was an amazing room, the bathroom had mood changing lights and lights around bottom of bath for a relaxing experience. The main room also had the mood changing lowlighting feature also. It was a beautiful room, beautiful decorated. Definately value for money, quiet location, and the Hotel is in beautiful suttoundings. Breakfast is lovely. The staff are always helpful and friendly. I would highly recommend staying here and will definately be coming back ??

James H, Operations Director at Cricklade House, responded to this review
Thanl you for your lovely revie.w I am thrilled you enjoyed your visit. We look forward to welcoming you back. Regards, James

"Interesting stay !"


Return visit after a gap of 7 years which has recently had new owners. Nicely sited and set well back from the main Malmesbury - Cricklade road on the outskirts of Cricklade. Surrounded by its own golf course and with tennis courts in the grounds. On this occasion had room 46 on the first floor with views across the tennis courts and golf course to the countryside beyond. Room nicely presented, clean and tidy, but bed and chairs were tired and in need of replacement. Well equipped bathroom, but a little dated. We understand the new owners have a refurbishment programme for the hotel which is underway with new carpets in public areas confirming this. Dinner in the restaurant on the first night was disappointing. Good quality food but lacked flair and presentation. Long wait to be seated at the unmanned check in desk with passing waiting staff assuring us they would be with us shortly. Had an excellent dinner out the following night at The Bull at Fairford. Self service breakfast cold buffet table of starters with good selection of cereals, fruit juice, fruit etc with main dishes cooked to order and served to the table. Noticeable lack of any management, and poor attention to detail, and again the delay in being shown to a table. Excellent looking brioche loaf on self cut, but no protective serviette so that the loaf was handled by guests with bare hands. Beautiful sunny morning terrace doors and windows wide open but ground staff then appeared to sweep up the debris from the evening before on the adjacent terrace - not ideal 6ft away whilst your having breakfast. No launch platform in position on the conveyor toaster exposing guests to burnt fingers putting the bread on the conveyor, rectified once I pointed it out to staff. All points of detail which could be handled better with visible supervision. Staying on a prepaid package. when we came to check out presented with an account to pay for two nights B & B, followed by the dinner charge to my credit card which I was asked to approve. Produced documents confirming prepayment and charges were withdrawn, and the credit card charge cancelled. Excellent location and wish the new owners every success with their refurbishment programme

James H, Operations Director at Cricklade House, responded to this review
Thank you for your review. I hope you will return in a few months to see teh progress we have made. I will discuss your feedback from the team to ensure we learn from them. KIndest regards, James

"Afternoon tea"


Disappointed. Sandwiches were good however the quality and selection of cake was poor. Expected something more from this experience especially as new owners are now in place and should be making more effort to attract clients. Service was poor due to lack of staff.

James H, Operations Director at Cricklade House, responded to this review
Thank you for your review. We are making improvements daily - as such i hope you will return in the next few months to see the progress we have made. Kindest regards, James

"Lovely hotel"


We had a one night stay for our anniversary, the reception welcome from Ella was very good. Our room was in the courtyard area, clean and spacious, with iron/board, tea/coffee facilities. We had afternoon tea on the patio, which was very nice... wasn't great service, but okay. We used the snooker room, pool and hot tub, all good. We went out locally for dinner to The White Hart Inn in Ashton Keynes... very nice. The bed in our room was far too soft!! If your partner moved.. it would wake you! Breakfast was served 7-10...we went at 9 and the continental part was fairly gone, needs to be replenished a bit more. Cereals, fresh fruit, pastries, breads for toast and fruit juices... then the waitress takes your cooked order.. Full Cricklade breakfast and the eggs benedict were lovely, waitress Jannet was lovely too! There's lots to see in the area although we didn't stay long enough to your around. Overall a lovely stay.