Des tarifs réduits toute l'année avec le Programme Best Western Rewards® !

Chambre 1
Chambre 2
Chambre 3
Codes Avantages

Cricklade House Hotel, Sure Hotel Collection by Best Western, Cricklade

4.0/5  - basé sur 756 notations.
Common Hill, SN6 6HA, Cricklade, Great Britain - Voir l'itinéraire
Cricklade House Hotel, Sure Hotel Collection by Best Western - Façade Cricklade House Hotel, Sure Hotel Collection by Best Western est idéalement situé dans le centre de Cricklade. Venez découvrir et profiter de notre hôtel à côté des principaux sites touristiques. Réservation au meilleur prix et offres exclusives toute l'année.

Situé sur 12 hectares de domaine isolé dans la magnifique campagne du Wiltshire, le Cricklade House Hotel, Sure Hotel Collection by Best Western est le lieu idéal pour ceux qui sont à la recherche de tranquillité, de détente et des conforts traditionnels de la maison. Situé près de la charmante ville de Cricklade dans les Cotswolds, entre Swindon et Cirencester, cette grande maison de campagne restaurée avec goût dispose de 45 chambres spacieuses et 3 salles de réception idéales pour les mariages et les manifestations professionnelles. Si vous souhaitez vous détendre, vous pourrez profiter d'un déjeuner tranquille sur la terrasse, nager dans la piscine ou faire une partie de golf sur notre parcours 9 trous. Vous pourrez également faire le plein de soleil dans notre superbe jardin d’hiver de style victorien, qui s'étend sur toute la longueur du bâtiment d'origine. L'hôtel offre de nombreux services, et vous n’aurez peut-être pas envie de le quitter pendant votre visite. Mais si vous avez envie de partir à l’aventure, la ville historique de Cirencester est à seulement 15 minutes en voiture. À proximité de l'hôtel se trouve également le parc aquatique de Cotswold, où vous trouverez des réserves naturelles, vous pourrez pratiquer des sports nautiques, et le ball-trap, et vous pourrez même profiter d'une plage ! Les fans de magasins trouveront de bonnes affaires au Swindon Designer Outlet Village et au parc commercial Orbital, tandis que les amateurs de sport pourront profiter du circuit de courses et des courses de lévriers au stade Swindon.

Sure Hotel Collection

Cricklade House Hotel

Itinéraire vers cette adresse

Départ:

Arrivée:

Les points forts de l'hôtel

  • Internet haut débit gratuit
    Internet haut débit gratuit
  • Café-restaurant
    Café-restaurant
  • Piscine
    Piscine
  • Bar-salon
    Bar-salon
  • Réception 24 heures sur 24
    Réception 24 heures sur 24
  • Coffre-fort
    Coffre-fort
  • Sauna
    Sauna
  • Court de tennis
    Court de tennis
Voir plus Voir moins

Avis de nos clients

En partenariat avec tripadvisor fr
Basé sur l'avis de 756 voyageurs
Note attribuée
Excellent
243
Très bon
282
Moyen
132
Médiocre
53
Horrible
46
CONSULTEZ LES AVIS POUR
En couple En couple
372
En famille En famille
120
Escapade entre amis Escapade entre amis
107
Professionnel Professionnel
84
Voyage solo Voyage solo
8
RÉSUMÉ DES NOTES
Propreté
Emplacement
Chambres
Service
Literie
Rapport qualité / prix

"Relaxing stay"

4
02/10/2018

My husband and i stayed at this hotel last month as a birthday treat.(September). On booking in, i was disappointed that the swimming pool and hot tub were unavailable due to a boiler breakdown. I mentioned this at reception the first evening of our stay. The next morning, they upgraded us to a first class room which was absolutely delightful, a beautiful view and a four poster bed, and to our astonishment, that evening after our meal, we were approached and told that the meal was with compliments of the hotel. They certainly made up for being unable to use the swimming pool, which was available to use by the Tuesday afternoon anyway. The staff could not have been friendlier, nothing was too much trouble and the food was great. Highly recommended.

James H, Operations Director at Cricklade House Hotel, Sure Hotel Collection by Best Western, responded to this review
Dear Wendy, Thank you for your review. I am delighted we were able to turn your disappointment around. I hope we get to welcome you back before long. Best wishes, James

"Fantastic stay"

5
30/09/2018

Just got home from a perfect stay at this hotel. Room and decor were excellent, staff were top class and food and facilities are excellent. Will definitely use the pool next time. Have just booked for a stay over the Easter weekend and we cannot wait

James H, Operations Director at Cricklade House Hotel, Sure Hotel Collection by Best Western, responded to this review
Thank you Louisem58, I am delighted you enjoyed your stay. I will be sure to pass your comments on to the team. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Regards James

"Weekend stay"

5
30/09/2018

Excellent stay fantastic Hotel Great facilities very good food very friendly staff. Close to Cricklade town and great location to visit Cotswold Water Park. Easy easy location to the M4 motorway. Enjoy the swimming pool in the jacuzzi

James H, Operations Director at Cricklade House Hotel, Sure Hotel Collection by Best Western, responded to this review
Dear Neil, Thank you for your fabulous review. I will pass your comments on to the team. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Regards James

"Not as Anticipated"

3
27/09/2018

Booked a Dinner B&B break expecting to stay in a country house hotel. Looked beautiful on arrival, long driveway, beautiful main building inside and out. So far so good. We were allocated Room 8. This was not in the main building but across the car park in what is called a courtyard, which was a small square surrounded by doors, our only outlook was of walls and doors. The lack of light made the room dark and depressing. There were curtains and a blackout roller blind. No nets, so people walking by the only window could look straight in. If you pulled either the curtains or blind you were in the dark. The bathroom is of a type last seen in the early 70's with o a shower curtain rail seen in hospitals. It was desperately requiring a total refurb. Shabby in the extreme. The carpet in the room was absolutely filthy with spill marks. The kettle perched on the chest of drawers had a cable so short it would not reach the only plug socket on the adjacent walls. The plus points of the hotel are the restaurant, the food served there was delicious and the staff are all lovely. The grounds, whilst extensive, are given over to golf courses, so very little space to walk unless, like we did, you walk down the driveway and back. Fantastic views from the terrace behind the restaurant. Would only stay again if guaranteed a room in the main house. The courtyard room we had was not worth the money at all, dreadful. Great place to go for dinner though. Spoke to the receptionist as we left regarding the state of the room and she advised there is intention to refurbish these rooms soon, one can only hope that happens.

"Family meet up"

4
24/09/2018

Lovely location with stunning views, even in the pouring rain. Great and helpful staff who are stretched to the max when busy but still smile and do their best to accommodate and help. Rooms okay, some in progress of being updated and some better than others. Beds on small side. Food very good although limited if staying for multiple nights. Would be nice to have more variety on cooked breakfast like veg option. Bar could do with more selection of beers and ales. Obviously work in progress to bring up to spec but for the price and service very good. Totally forgot about the pool and other facilities and feel these should be advertised more to guests! Will stay again if in area.

"Great food"

4
21/09/2018

Only able to stay one night, but enjoyed a delicious dinner and exceptional breakfast. Hotel under a minor(?) redevelopment, but no impact on the guests. One slight issue - delivery lorry arrived before 7am and there was considerable banging and crashing below our room overlooking the front entrance

"What an amazing hotel"

5
20/09/2018

We were bowled over by the fabulous staff, clean and beautiful rooms (my bed was so comfortable it was like sleeping on a cloud) gorgeous grounds which were nice to walk round after an evening meal. Our food was delicious and the whole atmosphere was great. We were a party of six with a little dog and we were all treated so well (including Benji - he was treated like a little prince) Thank you to the fantastic staff that really made the place.

"Good but could be better."

3
20/09/2018

Friendly staff, good food, easy parking, in a beautiful setting. Excellent for a bit of quiet relaxation. My only gripe: swimming pool showers in men's room could do with privacy curtains - not too much to ask!

"Beautiful property, great views, and very comfortable"

5
18/09/2018

Impressed immediately by the approach from the main gate. Inside was full of character, large conservatory area and patio with lovely views southwards across Wiltshire. Bedroom spacious with a little entrance hall, lovely chairs and was decorated tastefully. Sizeable bathroom with bath tub.

"Bad nights sleep"

3
18/09/2018

The bed was hard and lumpy. The receptionist did put a topper on it for me but it wasn't a proper topper it was just like a thin Duvet. I did double up the main duvet as well to sleep on and used a blanket, but still could feel the hard lumpy bed. Such a pity as this is a lovely hotel with great food.

"One night at Cricklade House"

2
12/09/2018

We spent one night here while visiting relatives. The hotel itself was very nice, in a good location and the room was roomy and comfortable. It was let down by the food and I suspect a shortage of staff. The evening meal was what was called Nouvelle Cuisine - arranged as a work of art but with very little substance. I had the lamb rump which appeared as a small pile in the centre of the plate. Removing the meat from the top of the pile revealed two very small potatoes cut in half with a sprig of Broccoli and a spring onion. My wife had the chicken escalope which was accompanied by four marble sized tomatoes and four small balls of some kind stuffing arranged symmetrically around the plate. We sat down to eat at 6.45 pm and left at 8.45pm most of the time being taken up by waiting for service. Breakfast was more substancial but every guest had to queue for entry while the two staff cleared a table and served the other guests. We will not be returning.

"Excellent stopover"

5
10/09/2018

We stayed one night to break a journey from Lancashire to Cornwall, and were fortunate to find a deal for the hotel including afternoon tea and a bottle of wine. We were in one of the garden rooms, but unlike the reviews for many hotels offering such accommodation, these were not in the style of a 1960s office block, but blended in very well with the surroundings. The room was spacious, quiet, had 2 chairs and a bathroom with a window; everything we could want from a room. The bed was comfortable and the room had blackout blinds. We took our afternoon tea soon after check in, and though not great in quantity, it had a much more interesting range of sandwiches than many others we have had this year. Though the area around the hotel mainly comprised of a golf course, I was able to enjoy a pleasant stroll in the early evening and take in the quietness of the area. We were able to order our included wine at the bar which was brought to us on the outside terrace where we were able to enjoy the sunset overlooking the golf course (nobody was using it) and had a relaxing evening, before enjoying a comfortable nights sleep. Breakfast was also very good with a well presented cooked breakfast and a buffet with a good choice of cereals, fruits and pastries. Staff were always well presented, professional and friendly. In fact as somebody who is often critical of things not being quite right, I found very little to fault.

Ashley R, Manager at Cricklade House Hotel, Sure Hotel Collection by Best Western, responded to this review
Dear Peter, Thank you so very much for your wonderful words. You will be delighted to know that we are about to commence even further improvements. You will have to visit us soon to see the progress! First phase of our refurbishment will bring a new bar &lounge and restaurant before turning the focus on renovating all of our bedrooms ready for spring. We would love to see yo back to give us some honest feedback on the transformation of the hotel. I will ensure your praise is passed onto all those concerned and we very much look forward to being of service to you again in the future Kindest regards

"Cricklade"

4
06/09/2018

Excellent staff, nothing was too much trouble. The food was excellent and very resonably priced. We had our dog with us; the hotel is very pet friendly with bed, bowl and ball in the room. We would not hesitate to stay again.

Ashley R, Manager at Cricklade House Hotel, Sure Hotel Collection by Best Western, responded to this review
Dear Pat, We are very grateful you have taken time to leave a positive review. Thank you for your kind comments, from all of us at the Cricklade Hotel we look forward to welcoming you back on when you next stay with us. Kindest regards, Ashley

"mandy whiteman"

5
05/09/2018

chris makes me feel at easy and can have a laught ive stayed on 2 separate occasions at hotel chris is totally brilliant i love him to bits as he comes chats to you and is down to earth and normal my partner stuart gets on great with him and we all have good laught chris is also very perfessional and loves his job

Ashley R, Manager at Cricklade House Hotel, Sure Hotel Collection by Best Western, responded to this review
Dear Mandy, Firstly thank you for such a great review! Chris was made up when reading your kind comments you have made his day! We look forward to seeing you both again soon in the near future! Kindest regards,

"Awful afternoon tea"

1
29/08/2018

Booked an afternoon tea to celebrate a family birthday. Very disappointed in quantity and quality. Had to wait for food even though we had booked a time. My wife had to miss out on the sandwiches so there were enough to go around her guests. Never had scones served, already sliced with jam and cream already spread. Cakes were of poor quality. Coffee was like it had been stewing for hours. All in all very disappointing would not recommend as there are many other places which do much nicer afternoon teas.

Ashley R, General Manager at Cricklade House, responded to this review
Dear Ian, We appreciate the time you have taken to share feedback with us. It is surprising to read as since launching our new afternoon tea we have had a really positive response. However we will take your comments on board if others also share the same views we will look to make changes where necessary. Thank you,

"huge potential but not there yet"

3
29/08/2018

This is a beautiful hotel and grounds with really friendly and helpful staff. Sit and relax in the conservatory and soak in the views across the valley or swim in the pool. (which we had to ourselves twice) There does however need to be some investment. Firstly in Staffing. The wait at both breakfast and evening meal was far too long. The few staff that were in the restaurant were working their socks off but could not keep up meaning that at breakfast the buffet table kept running out. You were seated at tables that were not cleared ad waiting to have your order taken. It was the same in the evening when for the first 20 mins sat at the table we had a plate with 3 butter pats put on the table and nothing else. No drinks, no rolls and no one communicating the wait. The rooms are OK but looking tired and could do with some TLC as could the lockers in the swimming pool. However as I said at the start the staff are great and the location stunning.

Ashley R, General Manager at Cricklade House, responded to this review
Dear Guest, We really appreciate the time you have taken to leave some very important feedback. We welcome all feedback as it helps us ensure we are forever improving the experience for our guests. I have asked our food and beverage manager to investigate the issues you encountered regarding dining service. Our complete refurbishment of all guest bedrooms will rectify the tired impression. Thank you for the praise of our staff and we hope you visit us soon to see the progress will have made. Kindest regards, Ashley

"Dated, good location, nice staff and about to be refurbished"

3
28/08/2018

Booked a one-off night so we could use the leisure facilities. The hotel is looking very tired and is destined for a full refurbishment soon. Staff pleasant and helpful - but our large room was more shabby than chic. Breakfast was good - although some improvements could be added in. Complained to the front desk and discussed the situation with the manager - got a good rate reduction and OK. I just don't think they should be charging high rates when the place needs such a lot of work - make it clear when booking and when checking in that the rooms need the work. I think with that then customers are likely to return once the refurb is all done. The pool / spa bit is limited but was nice and quiet for us to use. Tennis court would need resurfacing ideally. Lovely rural location though! Good place to travel from if needed.

Ashley R, General Manager at Cricklade House, responded to this review
Dear Keanoo, Thank you for your review and the constructive feedback therein, this is very much appreciated. It was good to sit down with you briefly and give you an insight to the complete refurbishment and the issues you mentioned are being addressed as part of this. I am sure that next time you stay with us you will be more than impressed with the transformation taking place. Once again, thank you for your review, it has been most helpful Kind regards Ashley

"Celebrated our 25th Wedding Anniversary in this wonderful hotel"

5
27/08/2018

My wife and I considered a number of options for our Silver Wedding celebration including self catering at local village halls in the West Swindon area. With around 50 guests we decided to consider the hotel option and following a tour of the facilities and estimated costs we were sold. What an incredible evening. With our own bar and staff we welcomed guests as they entered (we set a limit for free drinks which worked very well). Our home grown live band was brilliant (Jazz set to start the evening and welcome our guests). Followed by a superb covers setlist (can highly recommend if interested). The house DJ (Jon) filled the gaps with tasteful background music and then after the band finished took over the evenings entertainment judging the demographic and music tastes superbly. Open to requests and judging the general mood he built the dancefloor and ended on the song from our wedding dance - perfect and emotional. Another big hit was the buffet - Fantastic feedback from our guests with particular favourites, smoked salmon sandwiches, lamb keebabs, french fries, chicken goujons, spring rolls. Perfect mix for all tastes. As part of the package we had a free family room (huge) and a special rate for guests (feedback excellent for rooms and breakfast - recommend the eggs benedict!) Thank you Cricklade Hotel (Zoe - Duty Manager, Charlotte - Events Manager) for making our celebration a fantastic evening and fitting of such an occasion. Ian and Helen

Ashley R, General Manager at Cricklade House, responded to this review
Dear Ian and Helen. It was a pleasure hosting your special event. Thank you for your review which has put a smile on everyone's face here and I am pleased we were able to create an enjoyable experience for your anniversary celebrations. Your feedback has been shared with our team, Zoe and Charlotte are very appreciative of your kind mention. We all look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel again in the near future, Kindest regards, Ashley

"A lovely stay at Cricklade house"

5
27/08/2018

Just spent a lovely 2 days at Cricklade House. Far above expectations. Lovely staff, lovely food. Had a lovely evening meal. Excellent breakfast. Used the pool and jacuzzi. Very enjoyable, not crowded. Will definitely revisit. Couldn't fault it.

Ashley R, General Manager at Cricklade House, responded to this review
Dear Guest, It was fantastic reading through such a warm review of your recent stay with us. We can assure you your comments will be passed on to our team We hope to see you again soon, Thank you,

"Needs more active management"

3
24/08/2018

Our room itself was fine, quite spacious with a good bathroom. The view out onto a shabby courtyard was a bit disappointing, with people walking past the window regularly. We had two nights of dinner and breakfast. The food at (both) dinners was excellent. Service was a little slow, especially on the busier of the two nights when I heard one of the waitresses say they were short-staffed - and they were clearly struggling albeit doing their best. A lady near to us received the wrong main course, and another customer I spoke to later said they had been served the wrong wine (twice); my bill had someone else's drinks included on it. But, there was no sign of a Manager on the spot to sort things out when they were obviously needed. At breakfast on the first morning we ordered the standard breakfast. It was badly undercooked, the bacon was pale and the sausages raw inside. We sent it back and received a properly cooked plateful with 'apologies from the chef'. The next morning we stuck to eggs, but noticed on an adjoining table that a family had been served similar pale insipid bacon - most of which they left uneaten. Undercooked pork is not good : did no-one wonder why people were either complaining or not eating the food ? Again, no sign of a manager to keep on top of things. I dont know why there was such a contrast between the quality of the evening meals and the breakfast. The hotel has lots of parking, a reasonably comfortable bar and lounge area, and a pleasant south-facing patio with long views. It is a bit isolated and walking to and from Cricklade not really practical, certainly not in the dark - a pity as it is a lovely little town/village.

"Stunning views."

5
24/08/2018

We had a very pleasant stay. The staff, the room, the food were all excellent and the hotel offers a wide range of facilities. The nearby town of Cricklade is also well worth a visit for its historical interest.

"A great place to relax"

5
23/08/2018

Nice, quiet comfortable room, fantastic views, good pool, great ambience. Lovely evening meal, with attentive staff( are they mind readers?). No rush in the morning, plenty of time for a swim before breakfast- with a good choice.

"Enjoyable stay.....we will be back!"

5
23/08/2018

A really super hotel, where the staff were extremely helpful and friendly from the moment of our arrival with Ella on reception. We had two rooms in the courtyard, rooms 3 and 4, which were large, well equipped, very comfortable and quiet. The main thing which impressed us was the lighting in our rooms.....spot lights in the ceiling plus several lamps, unlike many hotel rooms which are dark and badly lit. The whole ambience of the hotel was lovely. We had an enjoyable meal and were really well looked after by Hannah, Ashley and Chris. An enjoyable experience and one which we plan to repeat with other friends.

"Weekend break."

4
23/08/2018

We both had a most enjoyable stay here, stopping for one night. All the staff seemed very friendly and pleasant. Although, we were somewhat disappointed to find that to eat a Bar meal, such as Fish and Chips, we had to somehow negotiate dining on low tables, which we found most awkward and messy. One other point... Breakfast was served until 10:00. When we arrived at 9:30 we had to wait quite a few minutes while a table was set up ready for us in the main breakfast room.

"Great 4 day stay with Groupon Deal"

4
14/08/2018

Booked using groupon deal for 4 days. Check-in was smooth and friendly. The wine that was included quickly arrived chilled. Our annex twin room was clean the decor was modern but the furniture was old fashioned. Large spacious bathroom. The only downside with the room was it faced the courtyard and people walking passed could see straight in. The only option was to have the blind down which made it very dark. There was also a lot of noise from the room above. The spa facilities were a 1.2M deep pool which was a bit cold. There were glass sliding doors that looked out onto a beautiful view just such a shame you were not allowed to open them. It would have been amazing if they could have opened the doors and had sun beds outside this would have made such a difference especially in the hot weather. The jacuzzi had seen better days as had the changing rooms and steam room. All still usable but need updating. Breakfast was nice though quite a lot of flies, the food would have benefited from being under glass/protective covers. We had a lovely stay and it was a good base for visiting Bath and the Cotswolds. This hotel could be perfect with just a little work but for the money we paid it was great value.

James H, Operations Director at Cricklade House, responded to this review
Thank you for your review Candyholiday We appreciate your feedback and will incorporate it into our refurbishment plans. I hope we get to welcome you back in due course. Kindest regards and best wishes, James

"Most enjoyable stay"

5
13/08/2018

We came back here after a one night stay in a terrible hotel.you cannot fault the staff here. They seem to work ling hours yet always have a smile for you. The Turkish barman goes out of his way to help you.the facilities are brilliant although the steam room needs a lick of paint. The hotel has had a refurb since we stayed here 4 years ago. Now we can't wait to get back the food is really good too. And the location is really good too. Thank you to all the staff we look forward to seeing you soon

James H, Operations Director at Cricklade House, responded to this review
Thank you for your review John. I am delighted you enjoyed your stay - I will be sure to pass on your feedback to our staff, particularly Ahmet on the bar. I truly hope that we get to welcome you back in due course. Best wishes, James

"Work stay over"

5
12/08/2018

Hi There stayed 6 & 7th august this year as working at my head office up the road.Room was absolutely spotless really clean as was shower room.Eat in the restaurant food was outstanding and waitress's were all very friendly and pleasant also table service was really fast.I think bored to death the lovely lady on the reception when i checked in at 6.30pm on Monday 6th she was a joy to talk to and so helpful.Keep up the good work i will be back. Many Thanks Robert Edmead

James H, Operations Director at Cricklade House, responded to this review
Thank you for your review Robert. Your feedback is greatly appreciated. We look forward to welcoming you back. James

"Good booking deal"

3
10/08/2018

Our deal included bed breakfast £50 towards dinner and a bottle of wine on arrival so a pretty good start The food was good and service ok The room was a bit disappointing Steam room as you would expect We had a garden room thinking it might look into s garden but didn't

James H, Operations Director at Cricklade House, responded to this review
Many thanks for your review Damian, A bit of a mixed bag really - we'll take the positives and look to improve on the negatives. I hope we get to welcome you back in the near future. Kindest regards, James

"Good hotel just need a bit of attention to make Great"

4
09/08/2018

We Checked in and went up to our room on the first floor, we had a fantastic view over the surrounding grounds and were not overlooked by anyone, The room was well equipped with everything you need it could have been lifted with some more lighting as the room was a little dark especially the bathroom, The room could do with some new furniture and the windows need replacement as they do not seal properly and leaked when it rained, but it was clean and the bed was comfortable, Breakfast on the first morning (Sunday) was Buffett style and very disorganised, we were seated and asked if we wanted tea or coffee, we went to get our breakfast and when we returned 5 mins later another couple had been seated at our table, so we were left standing plate in hand trying to flag down one of the staff who were not interested, eventually someone finished at a table and we grabbed it, this worried us a bit as we were staying for 5 nights and this was the first breakfast but thankfully the next 4 mornings things were very different, as we were seated given a menu and waited on by two very pleasant and organised ladies who if this is seen by the management are a credit to your establishment, We did eat in the restaurant one night the menu is fairly simple and a little high on price for what you get but the food was decent and well presented, we also used the facilities in the spa side the pool and jacuzzi were ok the steam room was tatty and falling apart, there was also a good snooker and pool table, that provided a good evening's entertainment, there was supposed to be a treatment room but this has been closed down, The location was great (for us anyway) close to main routes but far enough away for them not to be herd, it's very good for access to the water park and your half hour away from any of the main local attractions. You could see some areas of the Hotel have been recently decorated and you would hope this is being rolled out over the entire site, talking with some locals in the pool the hotel has recently been taken over so hopefully the weekend staff issue will get addressed, We will definitely recommend to others and stay here again.

James H, Operations Director at Cricklade House, responded to this review
Thank you for your review Tristan. We appreciate your comments and can assure you that we are indeed working very hard to make the necessary improvements to make the hotel great. As such, I will be sure to pass your details on to our Management Team to ensure that they are aware of your experiences (as well as ensuring the breakfast team get their recognition). We look forward to welcoming you back. Kindest regards, James

"Good but needs organisation"

3
02/08/2018

Staff all very pleasant and rooms very nice-Ours was quite cool in a heatwave. The situation and the terrace and conservatory made for delightful evenings sitting and sipping. But. One morning so many people were at breakfast the restaurant was full. This is where the system broke down. There was no queueing system. We were asked to wait but some people had gone for a walk and come back - No-one knew who was next. There was great potential for arguments. Once into breakfast we were never asked to order our breakfast meal. We existed on toast and continental buffet stuff - what was left of it. That left us reviewing our opinions of the place.

James H, Operations Director at Cricklade House, responded to this review
Thank you for your review. I am very disappointed to have read your comments. Please accept my apologies for our shortcomings we have a new senior management team at the hotel and work is ongoing to make improvements that would be beneficial to your stay. Please feel free to contact me at the hotel directly to discuss further and to try to find a resolution. Kindest regards, James

"Great overnight stay"

1
02/08/2018

Our staff was very brief so was unable to use all the facillities, however check in was efficient , the room was clean and comfortable and very spacious. Bed was comfy and the breakfast taken outside on the terrace was great. Staff friendly and helpful. We would have preferred a groundfloor room as had to carry our bags upstairs, but because the room was so good it made it OK. Would stay here again. The grounds are beautiful and was lovely to wake up an see the countryside

James H, Operations Director at Cricklade House, responded to this review
Many thanks for your review, although I must say your score doesn't seem to reflect your review! Is this correct? If it is correct and there is something that you have been unhappy with please feel free to contact me at the hotel to discuss further. Best wishes, James

"Appalling service, adequate accomodation"

3
31/07/2018

Made a group booking here for 17 people (July 2018) as I thought that it looked like a lovely hotel and had the facilities that my group would enjoy. The hotel is dated, but I note from other reviews that they are spending money on it. The staff were inattentive, inexperienced and arrogant. For example; ordered a beer at the bar and it was a glass of foam, when we explained that it was clearly a new keg and the head wouldn't settle, the barman just replied "so, what do you want then?". Dinner service was dreadful and breakfast service was no better (given it was the same team that served us for dinner, no surprise there). Example: on the first night there were five of us. Most of the tables in the restaurant are set for four. When we asked for a bigger table the waitress just shrugged and said, "we've only got one and that's being used" after a few seconds of embarrassed silence we asked if we could move a small table, adjacent to ours. "No, we're not allowed to do that" was the reply. There was a litany of laughable poor service standards. In all unhelpful staff and reminiscent of Fawlty Towers. Sorry to report this about staff, it's not their fault that they have been badly trained (if at all).

James H, Operations Director at Cricklade House, responded to this review
Thank you for your review. We are sorry to have read your comments. Please accept our apologies for our shortcomings. Following the recent purchase of the hotel work is ongoing to make improvements that would be beneficial to your stay both in terms of investment in the property and in the team. Please feel free to contact me at the hotel directly to discuss further and to try to find a resolution. Kindest regards, James

"Very Nice Overnight stay"

5
30/07/2018

Had a overnight stay here on Saturday 28th July with 6 friends. Hotel is lovely and currently undergoing a upgrade. Our room (29) was large with a walk in shower and large sleigh bed. It was really clean and the pillows very nice. Food in the restaurant was great. There was a power cut when we attened and completely not the hotels fault but all staff coped with it really well. We enjoyed the buffet syle breakfast. However, I cannot beleive that on check out I witnessed 2 older ladies complaning about everything to get a few quid off their bill. The power cut was not the hotels fault.

James H, Operations Director at Cricklade House, responded to this review
Thank you for your review Amanda, I will be sure to pass on your wonderful comments and I hope we are able to invite you back very soon. Kindest regards, James

"Sunday Lunch"

3
29/07/2018

Sunday Lunch,,, we don't partake in eating Sunday Lunch out very often so when we do i would like it right. We came here last Sunday for a family event, the venue is very pleasant and the view out over the grounds is great. If you go here don't expect the best service, although they young girls serving did seem to be working hard and doing their best, there was no coordination or direction from any supervisor or manager. The food however was very good, hot and well presented, not a lot of it, but then again I like big portions. Beef was cooked really well along with the veg, starters and desserts where also good. The bar is not great, could do with a more personable bar man, the beer was also off as in not available. On the whole an ok experience but need to do a lot better in the service area......

James H, Operations Director at Cricklade House, responded to this review
Thank you for your review Chris. I will share your comments with the team, including the supervisor who served your lunch (you may not have been aware they were a supervisor as they are dressed the same). Nevertheless we are currently reviewing all standards of procedures and retraining all of the food and beverage staff. I hope we are able to welcome you back in the near future and show you the improvements we have made. Kindest regards James

"Mr"

2
22/07/2018

The hotel is in a lovely setting and could be fabulous, but unfortunately there seems to be no management what so ever! We have visited several times over the past few months and can see no improvement under the new management. It takes an age to get served at the bar, all staff seem very young and very inexperienced. No table clearing throughout the day - either not enough staff, or maybe uninterested staff. We stayed in a court yard room which had apparently been refurbished, I could see no sign of re-furbishment, tired, dated room. Such a shame as the views from tbe terrace are outstanding.

"Not a restaurant for non residents..."

3
18/07/2018

Drive by this place all the time, so thought we'd pop in and ask if they were open to non-residents as it says restaurant outside....What we should have done was read the menu outside the doors, it would have made us think twice as there were limited choices...However we had the most beautiful view from our table and were very pleased. The food wasn't great to be honest, edible but mediocre. The worst part was the service. Whether it was because we were non residents or not I'm not sure, but other customers who were residents seemed to get served quickly. To the point where we sat with our dirty plates infront of us whilst the staff served other tables with mains, were cleared, ordered and delivered ice cream, finished that and left their table before anyone came to take our main course plates away...Think they were a bit surprised we didn't order a sweet. But we had sat there for about half an hour. The setting for this restaurant is beautiful and have been to the odd ‘do' there over the years which has been fine. Sadly I wouldn't recommend it as a good food place.

James H, Operations Director at Cricklade House, responded to this review
Thank you for your review. I will use your observations to discuss with the team the importance of attentive service. I hope you will return in a few months to see the improvements. Best wishes, James

"Pyschic & Holistic Fayre Weekend "

5
16/07/2018

We were luckily enough to stay in a newly refurbished room in the courtyard. It was an amazing room, the bathroom had mood changing lights and lights around bottom of bath for a relaxing experience. The main room also had the mood changing lowlighting feature also. It was a beautiful room, beautiful decorated. Definately value for money, quiet location, and the Hotel is in beautiful suttoundings. Breakfast is lovely. The staff are always helpful and friendly. I would highly recommend staying here and will definately be coming back ??

James H, Operations Director at Cricklade House, responded to this review
Thanl you for your lovely revie.w I am thrilled you enjoyed your visit. We look forward to welcoming you back. Regards, James

"Interesting stay !"

3
14/07/2018

Return visit after a gap of 7 years which has recently had new owners. Nicely sited and set well back from the main Malmesbury - Cricklade road on the outskirts of Cricklade. Surrounded by its own golf course and with tennis courts in the grounds. On this occasion had room 46 on the first floor with views across the tennis courts and golf course to the countryside beyond. Room nicely presented, clean and tidy, but bed and chairs were tired and in need of replacement. Well equipped bathroom, but a little dated. We understand the new owners have a refurbishment programme for the hotel which is underway with new carpets in public areas confirming this. Dinner in the restaurant on the first night was disappointing. Good quality food but lacked flair and presentation. Long wait to be seated at the unmanned check in desk with passing waiting staff assuring us they would be with us shortly. Had an excellent dinner out the following night at The Bull at Fairford. Self service breakfast cold buffet table of starters with good selection of cereals, fruit juice, fruit etc with main dishes cooked to order and served to the table. Noticeable lack of any management, and poor attention to detail, and again the delay in being shown to a table. Excellent looking brioche loaf on self cut, but no protective serviette so that the loaf was handled by guests with bare hands. Beautiful sunny morning terrace doors and windows wide open but ground staff then appeared to sweep up the debris from the evening before on the adjacent terrace - not ideal 6ft away whilst your having breakfast. No launch platform in position on the conveyor toaster exposing guests to burnt fingers putting the bread on the conveyor, rectified once I pointed it out to staff. All points of detail which could be handled better with visible supervision. Staying on a prepaid package. when we came to check out presented with an account to pay for two nights B & B, followed by the dinner charge to my credit card which I was asked to approve. Produced documents confirming prepayment and charges were withdrawn, and the credit card charge cancelled. Excellent location and wish the new owners every success with their refurbishment programme

James H, Operations Director at Cricklade House, responded to this review
Thank you for your review. I hope you will return in a few months to see teh progress we have made. I will discuss your feedback from the team to ensure we learn from them. KIndest regards, James

"Afternoon tea"

3
11/07/2018

Disappointed. Sandwiches were good however the quality and selection of cake was poor. Expected something more from this experience especially as new owners are now in place and should be making more effort to attract clients. Service was poor due to lack of staff.

James H, Operations Director at Cricklade House, responded to this review
Thank you for your review. We are making improvements daily - as such i hope you will return in the next few months to see the progress we have made. Kindest regards, James

"Lovely hotel"

4
11/07/2018

We had a one night stay for our anniversary, the reception welcome from Ella was very good. Our room was in the courtyard area, clean and spacious, with iron/board, tea/coffee facilities. We had afternoon tea on the patio, which was very nice... wasn't great service, but okay. We used the snooker room, pool and hot tub, all good. We went out locally for dinner to The White Hart Inn in Ashton Keynes... very nice. The bed in our room was far too soft!! If your partner moved.. it would wake you! Breakfast was served 7-10...we went at 9 and the continental part was fairly gone, needs to be replenished a bit more. Cereals, fresh fruit, pastries, breads for toast and fruit juices... then the waitress takes your cooked order.. Full Cricklade breakfast and the eggs benedict were lovely, waitress Jannet was lovely too! There's lots to see in the area although we didn't stay long enough to your around. Overall a lovely stay.