ROOM 1
ROOM 2
ROOM 3
Promotion code

Best Western Hotel De France, Chinon

4.0/5  - basé sur 235 notations.
47, 49 Place Du General De Gaulle, 37500, Chinon, France - See map
Best Western Hotel De France - Private Terrace The Best Western Hotel De France is ideally located in the center of Chinon. Come and experience our hotel near the major tourist attractions. Best price guaranteed and exclusive deals.

We are in the heart of the medieval Vieux Chinon with an easy and direct access to the chateau by foot or car. The Best Western Hotel de France is an ideal place to discover the sweet lifestyle of the garden of France. The Best Western Hotel de France offers you a beautifully renovated, 16th century building complete with stylish, comfortable rooms with balconies overlooking the chateau and a charming square with a fountain. Inside the hotel, we welcome you with authentic charm, comfort and respect for tradition. It is said that the most beautiful French is spoken here. Certainly the language is softer. the food is more flavorsome and the wine very drinkable. We provide luggage assistance (no elevator).

Best Western

Hotel De France

LABEL_ITINERAIRE

LABEL_DEPART:

LABEL_ARRIVEE:

Hotel advantages

  • Safe deposit box
    Safe deposit box
  • Multilingual staff
    Multilingual staff
Show More Show Less

Guest reviews

In partnership with tripadvisor fr
Certificate of Excellence 2018
based on 235 guest reviews
NOTE ISSUED
Excellent
75
Very Good
112
Average
36
Poor
11
Terrible
1
REFER TO NOTICE
Business Business
16
Couples Couples
143
Family Family
24
Friends getaway Friends getaway
27
Solo travel Solo travel
9
SUMMARY NOTES
Cleanliness
Location
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Value

"overnight stay"

4
22/10/2018

we stopped here on our way over to the Atlantic coast because we know the town and love visiting the area. It is a lovely hotel right in the heart of the town. the reception staff were very helpful and welcoming with excellent spoken English. free wifi when we checked in and breakfast was good if a little expensive for what it was. but the best thing for us was the view of the castle from our bedroom window! the room was very clean and had everything we needed and the rest of the interior was very sympathetic to the building and it was great just to have a nose about... lovely stay.

"Nice room, pretty building—porter needed"

4
13/10/2018

We had a nice room at the top of several flights of circular stairs. If you are not comfortable carrying your luggage up several flights, ask for a lower floor room or choose another hotel. Staff were helpful when my friend left her jacket behind and went to collect it a day later.

"Perfect Location and Quiet"

4
16/09/2018

Nicely situated. Great shower and a nice breakfast. The room was very large - it had 4 chairs and a table. The largest room on our trip. It was very clean. The staff were very helpful. There are a large number of restaurants very close — essentially out the front of the hotel in the square. Nevertheless our room was very quiet.

france41, Directrice Hébergement at Best Western Hotel De France, responded to this review
Dear guest, Thank you very much for sharing your experience at Best Western Hotel de France. We hope to welcome again in Chinon where our staff stay at your service. Regards, Céline – Hosting Manager

"Good atmosphere"

4
31/08/2018

Smallish room but smart, and we liked overlooking the Square. Polite and friendly staff. It was our third hotel of our trip to France and the first one to offer hot food for breakfast -but no fried bacon unfortunately. Parking in public car park around the corner. Three and a half stars really; but there was something that felt characterful about this Hotel -maybe it was the decor in-keeping with the age of the building -so four stars it is! in my opinion.

france41, Directrice Hébergement at Best Western Hotel De France, responded to this review
Dear guest, Thank you very much for sharing your experience at Best Western Hotel de France. We offer different category of rooms with larger rooms. We hope to welcome again in Chinon where our staff stay at your service. Regards Céline – Hosting Manager

"Nice typical French hotel"

3
08/08/2018

The hotel was good but our room on the top floor (3rd floor) was very small, especially as we were staying for 5 nights; the posted price per night is 98 Euros per night, room only. We were aware there are no lifts in the hotel and it was hard work carrying a suitcase up to the third floor via a number of winding staircases, this hotel is not suitable for the very elderly or infirm. The bed was very comfortable and the air conditioning was efficient, we needed it as it was 36 degree C every day during our stay. However the air conditioning unit did leak during one night and deposited a lot of water into my wife's handbag which was open and underneath the air conditioning unit. Breakfasts were average for a French hotel with a reasonable amount of choice but only 3 choices of hot food. The breakfast room is very modern and clean. The staff were friendly and spoke English. Our room overlooked the town square with a lot of restaurants either immediately outside of a short walk away, despite overlooking the town square, with the windows closed we could not hear any noise at night. Our room also overlooked the Fortress on the escarpment above the town. Parking is in the public car park 1 minutes walk away, parking is cheap, about 1.5 hours for 50 cents. Parking is free in the car park near the fortress, it can be reached via the free lift in the public car park by the hotel, it takes less than 10 minutes to reach that car park.

france41, Directrice Hébergement at Best Western Hotel De France, responded to this review
Dear guest, Thank you very much for sharing your experience at Best Western Hotel de France. We are very sorry concerning the air conditioning inconvenience. It has been fixed We hope to welcome again in Chinon where our staff stay at your entire service to carry up suitcase in room Regards Céline – Hosting Manager

"Still amazing!"

5
06/08/2018

We didn't review when we stayed a few years ago, but wanted to this time. My wife, son and I stayed in a nice 2 bedroom suite which we highly recommend. The room was beautiful, very clean and quite spacious, with a touch of antiquity. The staff are absolutely awesome. Anything you need, they're happy to help. We opted for breakfast this time and it was a nice buffet with some quality ingredients. The location is in the main square below the forteresse, so you can't do any better. Parking is very close. We only have positive things to say and look forward to our next stay in Chinon.

france41, Directrice Hébergement at Best Western Hotel De France, responded to this review
Dear guest, Thank you very much for sharing your experience at Best Western Hotel de France. We hope to welcome again in Chinon where our staff stay at your service. Regards Céline – Hosting Manager

"Good place to stay in beautiful town"

4
23/06/2018

Booked to stay one night on way back to UK, which coincided with annual music festival. Slightly quirky design (due to its age and location), but welcoming staff and good breakfast. Thanks to Anthony for booking our dinner at Entrepôt, which was excellent. Chinon is a beautiful town and we would definitely book this hotel again.

france41, Directrice Hébergement at Best Western Hotel De France, responded to this review
Dear guest, Thank you very much for sharing your experience at Best Western Hotel de France. We hope to welcome for your next stay in Chinon where our staff stay at your service. Regards Céline Hosting Manager

"Coporate"

3
06/06/2018

Why does a hotel which has character decide not to utilise that character into its design and instead opt for the standard corridor behind its facade of old world French design . If you like corporate this is the hotel for you if you don't it isn't though the location is good . Staff not very friendly and breakfast very average

"Lovely but no elevator "

4
15/05/2018

This is a lovely small hotel at the center of Chinon and is very nice and cosy but it has an important constraint, there is no elevator and some rooms are located at the third floor which is a difficult climb especially if you have a heavy suitcase. If you can take only a small bag, it may be acceptable. Nice otherwise. Good breakfast.

"Great Hotel/Location"

5
10/05/2018

I was at this hotel for two weeks on business travel and was very happy with me stay. The staff was incredibly accomodating to the fact I was working nightshift and I could not have been happier with my stay. The hotel is located in the central square where anything you want is a walk away and free parking is a 5 min walk. If/when I go back to Chinon I know where I am staying.

"Hotel with character close to Chinon Castle and the Town Centre"

4
05/05/2018

This is an hotel with history dating back a couple of centuries. The room we stayed in was comfortable but not over spacious. The hotel doesn't have a lift to the upper rooms and the stairs are quite steep, so not suitable for anyone who can't manage the stairs. Our room was lacking any towels upon arrival. Breakfast is continental and self-service, but served in a bright, light area and there is plenty of choice including cereals, eggs, cheese and cooked meats.

"Great place, fantastic castle, good rooms, very good restaraunt"

5
21/04/2018

room was super, quiet, breakfast with French meal details was super. The staff is very responsive and attentive. hotel is almost in the castle! Magnificent French cuisine in the restaurant. ?hoose rooms overlooking the square.

"Old fashioned charm in a great location"

4
17/11/2017

Lovely friendly hotel in a central position in the old town. Old building full of interesting features. Great breakfast and useful wifi throughout. No lift, but help if necessary. Lots of public car parking only steps away.

"Great location, uncomfortable nights."

3
14/11/2017

We chose the Best Western over other options in Chinon because of its location. It's right in the center of town at a cute little square, and steps away from a large public (payed) parking. But this location was also a downside... even though I had requested a quiet room we were facing the square. A lovely view, but even with the windows closed this caused a lot of street noise to come in - from people saying their drunken goodbyes at midnight to street workers (garbage men?) clanking away at 6:30 am. As someone who's a bit sensitive to noise that was a big bummer. On top of the noise, the mattress wasn't great either :/ Too bad as this hotel had a lot of potential: it's nicely renovated (No room for elevators here so be prepared to drag your luggage up the stairs... ), and I personally loved the interior decoration, it really worked well. Rooms were small but clean and the staff was very friendly. There were a few patios available to guests as well, would have been lovely to spend a few sunny hours there! And the location really was great. About 50 meters from a little supermarket (terribly unfriendly staff there) where I grabbed yoghurt for breakfast, and walking distance to everything Chinon has to offer: good restaurants and the chateau (try to spot the brebis!). The parking lot nearby has free overnight parking, but you do have to pay during the day. There is a completely free parking lot at the edge of town (at the Marie Antoinette statue) but the caveat is that there's a market on Thursday morning so you'll have to remember to get out or get towed...

"Wonderful hotel in Chinon's center"

5
06/10/2017

My wife and I stayed our second time at Hotel de France, Chinon. It is perfectly located in the center of town. Rooms are very clean and well maintained. We had a large room with air conditioning. The breakfast buffet is very good with a variety of choices. Parking is available close to the hotel for a fee, and free parking is just a short walk away at the Joan of Arc parking lot. Service and reception are superb. Celine at reception was very helpful and kind as always guiding us to various touring options in Chinon and the surrounding area. And Jules helped my wife with all our luggage. He brought all of it to our room while I parked the car.Reception service overall was excellent. We highly recommend this hotel, and we will be happy to return in the future.

"Quirky and comfortable."

4
18/09/2017

We stayed here one night and really enjoyed our stay. The core of the hotel is in a building dating from the 16th Century, so the absence of a lift is not really surprising. It's not a disaster either, the staff are only too willing to help with bags etc. The rooms are fairly small, but comfortable, the bathroom is perfectly adequate, the air condition a welcome bonus (this was the only hotel we stayed in in France with air-con!). The breakfast buffet was fine, served in an airy room in a new looking extension at the rear of the hotel. The hotel is very well located in the centre of town, with ample choice of local restaurants available nearby. Nice.

"Terrible Service and rigid in rheir policies "

1
17/08/2017

I booked to sray in Chateau Chinon and the Booking.com site brought up hotels in Chinon which is 400km away. I accidentally chose Best Western Hotel France and when i realised mistake at 8pm it was too late to travel their. I explained my situation to Hotel and the manager insisted on charging one night cancelation fee. This may be policy but it shows a very rigid approach to service and they would not even discount the amount. I would not recommend them to anyone and be wary of their policies as they are inflexible and prefer to take money from a person in a distressed situation rather than have some compassion. Avoid this place and their poor service.

"Lovely hotel for a one night stopover wish we had booked for longer."

4
11/08/2017

Air conditioned room overlooking the square, great start to our holiday easily the best accommodation and location of our 12 day trip wish we had booked this hotel for a longer stay. Very convenient for cafe's and restaurants around the square great atmosphere in the evening.

"Perfect Location, Great Staff"

4
11/08/2017

Used to be Hotel de France, so a historical building in a perfect location. Staff is wonderful, one of the front desk managers (originally from Paris) gave us fantastic wine, food and local information, and sold us a great bottle of wine (seriously, only in France can you get a fab bottle at a Best Western). I'd bet this is the best hotel in Chinon.

"Loved my stay in charming Chinon!"

5
09/08/2017

I had room 101, right up the spiral staircase from the lobby. It had a balcony opening up to the square but was also air-conditioned! The bed was comfortable, and the bathroom looked fairly recently remodeled. The wifi worked, and the front desk staff were friendly and efficient (with excellent English). This was my first trip to Chinon, and I enjoyed it so much! Tax was 0.90 euros per night. Breakfast not included in room rate; there is a grocery store on the square and lots of nearby restaurants and food shops. Hotel was fairly easy to find walking from the train station (a 15-minute, level walk--go straight out of the station).

"Lovely Interlude at Best Western Hotel de France Chinon"

5
01/08/2017

We are a "seniors" couple and stayed one night in a "Superior"'room overlooking the town square and castle. The small lobby, staircase and small seating area partway up the stairway to our room, were very tastefully decorated and maintained in keeping with the historic nature of this hotel. Our room was bright with a big window, well-decorated and well-furnished, and very comfortable and quiet. The bathroom was modern and clean and well-organized. We had not reserved hotel parking but the public lot was excellent, through a small archway at the end of the square but really almost along the side of the hotel. The hotel is a few minutes' stroll from the river and just two or thee minutes walk through the car park to the elevator leading to the castle. We spent a lovely long evening dining outdoors at Le Chapeau Rouge right next door - fine French/Loire Valley cuisine, chic decor but pleasant relaxed ambiance and excellent service. There are numerous other restaurants in the square and along the river. Hotel management and staff were very responsive to our questions before arrival and equally helpful during our stay. Breakfast room modern and practical and breakfast buffet well-varied and along the lines typically offered to travellers - a quick way to get our day going. We would absolutely visit Chinon and stay at this hotel again - it would have been nice to have had more time. Castle/chateau worth visiting for the views and the very well-presented history. Thank you for contributing to our wonderful holiday memories.

france41, Propriétaire at Best Western Hotel De France, responded to this review
Dear Sir, I thank you very much for your commentaire. We hope to see you soon. Best Regards Mme Chionna

"A good Best Western Hotel"

4
09/07/2017

This was our 3rd hotel on our walking holiday, when we arrived in Chinon there was a vintage car rally that weekend with some very beautiful cars from the 1930's and cars from a lot of European countries, a great start. The hotel was situated in the main square so everything was right on our door step. A lovely hotel, excellent room and bathroom facilities however the bed was only a double not a king like most of the other hotels. A great breakfast the next morning and a excellent picnic, one of our better hotels and a lovely town with plenty going on.

france41, Propriétaire at Best Western Hotel De France, responded to this review
Thank you, we hope to see you soon Best Regards

"Overnight stay"

5
28/06/2017

We used Chinon as a stop off to the Dordogne. The hotel is based in the centre of the picturesque town. Would recommend it. The bedrooms are small but perfectly adequate. The team is very helpful and friendly which is always nice

"Excellent Hotel plus Great Location"

5
10/06/2017

My husband, daughter and I stayed in the suite for 3 nights and chose this hotel based upon the excellent reviews here and in guide books. Our suite was very spacious and comfortable. This was a perfect mid-trip stop to give everyone a little space and break from the small triple rooms of our other accommodations. The beds were restful and the air conditioning kept us cool. The staff is excellent with good advice and assistance. The breakfast was very good with a large selection. Nearby parking was perfect. We highly recommend Hotel de France!

france41, Gérant at Best Western Hotel De France, responded to this review
Thank you very much for your compliments. We hope to see you soon Best Regards Mme Martine CHIONNA

"Pleasantly surprised!"

5
07/06/2017

I confess that Best Western is not the first hotel chain I look for when traveling in the US, but I may give them more chances after our stay in Chinon. This was a delightfully charming inn with excellent service. It was our mid-way stop on a week long hike, and our only hotel along the way with air conditioning -- a welcome surprise. Centrally located and less than five minutes walk to everything. We would gladly stay here again.

"Stay in the heart of the ancient town Chinon"

5
05/06/2017

Last minute booking during our travels of France necessary because the Accor hotel group had cancelled our booking made months earlier at the Saumur Mercure hotel but without any communication with us. What a real gem the Hotel De France turned out to be. Our room overlooked the Place du General DeGall where all the restaurants had their outside tables, fantastic atmosphere and great food (although from the adjoining restaurant, hotel only serves breakfasts). Room was small but clean and comfortable with effective and quiet air con. Staff very obliging and speak English. Breakfast offered good selection of fresh hot and cold plates. If I have to mark them down slightly it's because they didn't serve decaf coffee. All in all a great hotel in a perfect location and definitely recommend.

"Clean, charming, and excellent location"

4
17/05/2017

We stayed here for two nights as a base camp for visiting the chateau's in the surrounding areas. Everyone was friendly and nice. It was quiet and clean. I loved that our windows opened and overlooked the fountain square. It's a very convenient location for this charming friendly town. I highly recommend it as a resting place in between castle explorations. I read the book Splendour Falls after I got back from my trip and it was delightful to hear the area and hotel described. It really makes me want to return. It's very close to the chateau de Chinon, restaurants, bars, shops, and chocolate store!

"Can't beat location but can be noisy in summer months"

4
29/04/2017

Stayed here several times since 2003. Rooms have been modernised and now include a/c but are a little small. If you have trouble with stairs then this is not for you as no lift. Great location in centre of Chinon overlooking square but rooms overlooking square can be noisy particularly in summer as bars/restaurants open till late and bin collections at 6 a.m can wake you up. Free wifi bonus.

"Very friendly and helpful service and a perfectly located hotel"

5
21/10/2016

My wife and I love this Best Western hotel from the pefect, central location, to the superior, friendly service at the reception desk and very courteous servers at breakfast. Our room was a junior suite with air conditioning which was needed because of the warm weather. The room was very clean, made up beautifully every morning, and it had a French balcony which faced the square with all the cafes and restaurants. There was no noise because of the double glazing on the windows. There is a upper patio/terrace on which to relax which was lovely. Some of the staff even helped me with my French. All of the staff was helpful with discussing items from parking to places to drive to in the area. There is no elevator, but the young gentleman at the reception desk brought all of our heavy luggage up to our room which was really nice. The parking was easy, very close to the hotel at a reasonable cost, and there was free parking at the Joan of Arc parking area near by. We would definitely highly recommend this hotel to anyone. What I like least about it was that we had to leave. We have found that Best Western Hotels in Europe are great value for your money, and many are really quaint and situated in beautiful buildings. This one in Chinon is aperfect example of what I mean.

"A small but cosy hotel looking over a pleasant square in the town centre"

4
13/10/2016

We had a very comfortable one night stay in early October. Comfortable bed and well appointed but small room. The en suite was fine but on the small side. We had a balcony overlooking the square which fortunately was not in the least noisy. Very good breakfast in the self service style. Parking in the adjacent public car park, free overnight but otherwise cheap. The hotel is adjacent to the lift that takes you to the chateau on foot so very convenient location for visiting the superb chateau. Very friendly staff. A compact hotel with considerable charm and best western standards.

"Do you want to be Taken back in time"

4
29/09/2016

This best Weston will take you back in time with its fantastic detailing, very old building but well appointed and smack bang in the middle of the towns square, it's easy to find and loads of parking right next to the hotel, it has a restaurant that serves traditional French cuisine that leans more towards fresh seafood but for the meat lovers out there don't despare as there are is an abundance of choice literally on your door step. A hotel not to be missed and reasonably priced.

"Very nice hotel in the heart of town"

4
29/09/2016

The hotel is perfectly situated adjacent to the Chinon town square. You walk downstairs and have a nice choice of eateries and some small shops. The hotel staff is terrific.....they were all extremely courteous and helpful. They are a amazing team! The room was spotless at all times. It must be noted that there is no lift and the rooms are on a series of floors. My room was on the third floor but included more than 3 "flights" of stairs. It is a winding staircase with rather narrow steps. My view was of the fort on the hilltop which was lit at night.....simply gorgeous.

"Fab location, gorgeous town and incredible staff"

5
20/09/2016

We went there for a wedding and the hotel is right in the centre of the town. the facilities and room was clean. the staff especially Stephen was so helpful and courteous. will definitely go back to this hotel.

"Misrepresentation of facilities"

2
18/09/2016

Our booking was clear - we we asked for a room for three people as we were three independent travelling friends. it was a special occasion as I was about to my 60th birthday and we were meeting up with another couple in the hotel. When we booked we asked for a room in the hotel that included all the facilities advertised including air-conditioning and tea and coffee making facilities. However when we arrived in this lovely town we were given what the hotel called the apartment in an entirely separate building. This was not what we had asked for or were expecting and it was a strange mixture of hotel room and rather shabbily appointed apartment. It bore no relationship at all to the facilities advertised at the hotel. It also advertised free car parking on its website which when we arrived was clearly not available

france41, Propriétaire at BEST WESTERN Hotel de France, responded to this review
Dear Madam, Thank you for your message. You booked by booking.com a apartment not a room. In your booking reservation,you may read that the apartment is with a double room and a sofa not 3 beds. It's not mentionned air-conditioning in the apartment. It's not indicated that the hotel has a free car parking. We would make you a discount you did'nt accept ! The mentions on the website booking.com were not wrong. Awaiting your answer because the bill is not paid. [email protected] Mme Chionna

"Gorgeous Hotel and Town..."

5
18/09/2016

Hello Folks, We stayed for a night on Saturday 3rd Sept, 16. The room without breakfast was charged at 139 Euro. You reach a beautiful little square at the end of the road and the hotel is on your right, nestled amongst bars and restaurants. If you drive under the archway, there is cheap public parking there, which we found safe. I think we paid something like a 1.5 Euro to take us to 6.00p.m and then it was free until around 8.30 the following morning. Hotel reception were kind and friendly. The room was lovely and worked well. A/C, free safe, clean and tidy and free coffee / tea. The hotel enjoys a prime location and I would highly recommend. Just a shame there was no breakfast for 139 Euro ? Many Thanks Gary.

"Great location, incredible view"

4
14/09/2016

Great location on square with incredible night view of Castle. Our room was small (they vary) but clean. No elevator but not a problem. There was life on the restaurant filled square at night but since there was no loud music it was not bothersome (we don't drink and retire early). Rooms on back side are more quiet but lack view. Parking lot easy access on side of hotel through arcade. Recommended by Rick Steves and he was right. The sign said Best Western which almost put us off but it is Hotel de France, privately owned as most BW are in France (we were told). Absolutely, we would stay here again.

"Clean hotel in a good location. "

3
14/08/2016

We recently stayed for two nights and found the hotel to be well located for exploring Chinon. The junior suite was clean, with a comfortable bed and had nice views overlooking the town square. There is also a nice private roof terrace where guests can enjoy a drink in the sun. One complaint was that the power to the room seemed to have been switched off prior to our arrival (as the alarm clock was flashing 00:05 when we entered the room), which meant the fridge took almost 24 hours to chill a bottle of wine! However, the gentleman on reception was helpful and went to a nearby restaurant to collect some ice. I would also recommend getting two key cards for the room as ours stopped working 3-4 times over two days. The hotel is not staffed overnight and you wouldn't want to be locked out of your room after dinner!

"Great Spot! Really friendly & helpful staff."

5
03/08/2016

Right in the lovely little town centre, this was a great find, overlooking the outdoor restaurants in the little square, great views of the old buildings & castle, and close to shops, markets, and the river. Room had a little balcony, and everything was fitted out really well. Whole place was spotless! Staff really lovely - genuinely helpful, and taking time to talk. Perfect!

"Perfect base for 4 days of cycling out of Chinon"

4
10/07/2016

We booked a junior suite which was up one level from the entrance. The room was very comfortable and there was plenty of room. I would not have wanted to carry luggage to a higher level. There is a small garage where we were able to lock our bikes each night and the hotel stored our luggage both on the day we arrived and on the day we checked out so that we could have full days of biking. The public car park in back of the hotel was never full so parking was not a problem. We appreciated the mini fridge in the room. The receptionist gave us a small bowl of ice each evening. We had to let them know we needed ice in advance. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Our room overlooked the square and it was not noisy. There are many good restaurants within walking distance. The hotel is in a perfect location.

france41, Propriétaire at BEST WESTERN Hotel de France, responded to this review
Thank your very much for your compliments. I hope to see you soon. Best Regards Mme Chionna

"Comfortable, friendly, good location"

4
11/06/2016

This hotel is in a great location. The room is small but well appointed. Steep steps, no elevator. Good AC, laundry service. The staff are very helpful. Nice assortment of fresh food for breakfast. Free WIFI

"Belle Chinon"

5
05/06/2016

Brilliant location in a fabulous little town. Our room was on the 3rd floor so on the plus side: terrific views over the rooftops of the town, over the town square and of the castle. On the down side: no lift and very steep winding staircases, and a fairly small room with shower but no bath. Also as the room overlooked the main town square, there was constant noise and bustle from early morning to late at night. The room, bed and bathroom were all very clean and the breakfast pleasant and efficient. The hotel has probably the best location in the town: nowhere is far away by foot and you are within a minute of the free lift up to the castle. Chinon is a town which seems to rely on the tourist trade so in every business the staff spoke English and were friendly and helpful.

"Great central location"

4
22/05/2016

The Hotel de France is right in thee middle of old Chinon ville, just a minute's walk to the stairs or escalator to the Castle and a nice square with bars and restaurants. Our room was clean and a reasonable size, with air-con, TV & kettle etc. There is a garage onsite which we only found out about on departure (which was a disappointment as we'd have liked to have parked our motorcycle in it!). Breakfast is standard continental fare, nothing special. There are cheaper hotel options just over the bridge which appear to be very similar apart from not being so central. The hotel has character (beams, art, history), but no lift.

"Love the location but not the room size"

4
27/04/2016

We have stayed at this hotel previously but this time it was only for one night. Love the position in a nice town square and we were not disturbed by cafe owners putting out their tables and chairs.One of the things we like about France is the outside eating and drinking. The reception area and stairs still retain much character. How ever the bedrooms have been subdivided from much larger rooms and are now very small. You can actually hear people next door, going to the loo and showering so better insulation was needed. Since our last visit, a new dining room has been made and although very modern, we loved the furniture and decor. Breakfast was limited for choice and nothing cooked at all. The two ladies we met on reception were very pleasant and chatty. We would stay here again for an overnight stay but not for longer because of the bedroom size.

"Gem of a find"

4
31/10/2015

The rooms are small but clean and nice bedding. The shower was good. The receptionist was so polite and helpful, one of the best we have had on our three week trip of Europe, You use the public car park which is just behind the hotel so no problem

"Nicely maintained hotel in a classic French style. Surprise! It's Best Western."

5
27/10/2015

I chose the hotel because it looked very classic French. And it was well maintained. Also it overlooked the square where we had a delightful midday meal just outside the door of the hotel. And the next day we met our French niece and family for a long lunch in the sunny square drinking a delightful rose vin. I felt like we were characters in "A Year in Provence." This is definitely not like any other Best Western but it proved very charming. The manager recommended places for lunch and dinner and was very helpful. We didn't get exactly the balcony that I had wanted and asked for, but she moved us the next day.

"Quaint Hotel"

4
15/10/2015

I would describe this hotel as warm and cozy. The front desk staff were polite and helpful. The hotel room was clean but nothing spectacular. It's an old hotel, so we could hear everything. I had a little trouble with the stairs, they are quite steep. Overall, the hotel was lovely.

"Characterful Hotel in beautiful Chinon"

4
28/09/2015

I wanted to stay here because I read a novel where the heroine stays in the hotel !(The Splendour Falls by Susanna Kearsley). Anyway it is exactly as described --quirky, old, beautifully placed and our room had, as requested, a view of the castle, which is lit up at night and amazing ! The hotel is situated in a little square with a fountain and tables to sit outside --perfect. However wonderful old hotels do have their downsides and our room at the front was VERY noisy at night --especially Friday and Saturday when people were shouting to each other till after 2am. Also rubbish collection and the putting out of cafe tables starts very early too so not ideal if you are looking for peace and quiet. We had to pay to put our car in the public car park behind the hotel --this was cheap but a nuisance as you had to keep remembering to top up and have the right change --there is a hotel garage though we were told there was no room in it (a shame when we were there for six nights). One thing to note if you have any mobility problems--the stairs are very steep to the second floor and there is no lift. The breakfast room is hideous --you could be anywhere in the world and the continental breakfast is dull and lacks variety however the restaurant next door --linked to the hotel is excellent for an evening meal -great food and lovely atmosphere. On balance though, I loved this hotel and Chinon too and we will certainly go back but take earplugs !!!

france41, Propriétaire at BEST WESTERN Hotel de France, responded to this review
Dear Madam, I thank you for your commentary. L'HOTEL DE FRANCE is a building of XVI° century with stairs, wood and tapestry like indicated in the book. For the comfort of the guests, the rooms and bathrooms are renovated. We have put in air-conditioning in each room so it is not necessary to open the Windows when it' hot. If you sleep with the window open,its normal you hear noise of the town. The decoration of the breakfast is a portrait of Gargantua writen by François Rabelais and the food of the buffet breakfast is varied, fresh like all the hôtels of Best Western. But I read you enjoyed you stay and you would like to come back. I'm waiting for you with pleasure Best Regards Mme Chionna

" Chinon stay"

4
23/09/2015

This was a lovely ; friendly hotel. Situated on a small square . We loved it. And they took good care of us... The only thing I realy did not like was the art work in the breakfast Room...... I found this truly revolting .

france41, Propriétaire at BEST WESTERN Hotel de France, responded to this review
Thank you very much for your compliment. The portrait in the breakfast room is Gargantua written by Francois Rabelais. Best Regards Mme Chionna

"Charming little hotel "

5
18/09/2015

Located in a paradisiac medieval town, this couzy hotel has been the best in our trip in France. It is a very old construction but with modern and comfortable facilities. Located in a beautiful square with a lot of restaurants nearby. The most friendly staff welcome us (Olinda and Cindy) and helped us to carry our baggage to the second floor. They also reserved a place to eat dinner so late at night. And the most wonderful thing: just in the ample parking they have the elevator to climb to the beautiful castle in the top of the hill. It is not an elegant castle but the sight from there is the most beautiful I have ever seen. I really recommend this hotel, its lovely castle and its medieval town.

france41, Propriétaire at BEST WESTERN Hotel de France, responded to this review
Thank your very much for your compliments. Best Regards Mme Chionna

"Good place not very helpful reception again especially 6-am"

5
10/09/2015

Stayed therefor the second time this year as they take dogs €15 car park €15. Room was more expensive than in May same room twin but that's Augustfir you although it was last minute as I had to return early fir a funeral restaurant we wanted to eat dinner but they were ful and was told we should have booked in advance !!!

france41, Propriétaire at BEST WESTERN Hotel de France, responded to this review
Thank your for your message. But I think your mistake the hotel because we don't accept animals and we don't have garage. Best Regards Mme Chionna

"Charming little hotel in a good central location done inside to high-quality modern standards"

4
03/09/2015

As with many buildings in Chinon, this hotel is originally medieval but modernised internally to a high standard. Prices are quite reasonable. It overlooks a centrally located, beautiful square (Place du General De Gaulle). Most of the rooms are on the small side (although comfortable and spacious enough, especially if you go for a room with balcony). Chinon abounds with restaurants, all within easy walking distance, and behind the hotel is a funicular (elevator) which takes you most of the way up to the fortress. There is free overnight parking in this same area just off the Place (the hotel's garage is currently being re-done). But you need to pay for this parking after 9:00am. There is also no lift (elevator) in the hotel. Staff are very helpful and speak good English.

"48 years later..... ."

4
19/08/2015

we returned to this little gem. Not so little now! I could imagine we almost had the same room - 212 overlooking the square. Then it was Bastille Day, now a busy weekend a bit later in July, and we had a Friday and Saturday stay. But this weekend was a scorcher. The room is small, but very comfy. Lovely beds, very effective triple? glazing, aircon, bath with shower over in new bathroom, and a tiny balcony for people watching. Windows open whilst relaxing for an afternoon snooze to the sounds from the square drifting up was magical! Yes - carrying suitcases up narrow staircase wasn't easy, but the receptionist helped! Parking through the archway is fine. No restaurant now, but so much on offer round the square and in streets. Very buzzy. Reception recommended three places, so we looked at menu's, and then decided on a simple dinner directly opposite hotel, on the lower corner. Very good. Breakfast buffet was plentiful, though we overslept and missed it on last day!

"A great little hotel in a beautiful village"

5
11/08/2015

The Best Western was excellent. We had a nice little room with a balcony and reasonable size bathroom. The staff were really helpful and friendly and the location in Chinon was superb. Don't be afraid to eat in the square nearby - food is good and prices are OK.

"What a lovely hotel!"

5
10/08/2015

As we drove into the Place du General De Gaulle we started to panic. It is a narrow road around a busy square full of umbrellas and people. My wife went into the hotel and was told to drive to the top of the square and through the archway into the public car park. I put about 3 Euros into the machine which gave me about 4 hours parking until 7pm. After that, parking is free until 9am the following day. We had booked a Superior room at around 130 Euros and breakfast is an additional 12 Euros per person, which is a little expensive compared to other hotels we stayed in. The room was recently renovated and of a good size. It had air con and the bed was very comfortable. The bathroom contained a corner shower and I would have preferred something a little larger. However, the bathroom was modern and well equipped. The hotel is perfectly situated. The modern glass elevator in the car park takes you straight up to the entrance of the Chateau du Chinon for sightseeing and amazing views. The hotel is in the small square. Restaurants surround the square, but most of the tables are set up in the square itself. We spent a magical evening eating and drinking on the square on a very hot summer's night and only had to walk a few yards back to the hotel. Chinon is a beautiful old town to stroll round and the views of the river and back to the Chateau are stunning - a photographer's dream! We loved Chinon and hope to return!

"Nice hotel in beautiful surroundings"

4
03/08/2015

Stayed overnight at this hotel on our visit to Chinon to see the fortress. Very nice hotel in a great location. Rooms were clean, Wi-Fi and everything else worked and service staff was reasonably friendly and accommodating. One big drawback was the lack of an elevator even though it was advertised as having one. Negotiating the narrow stairways to the 2nd floor room was a bit more challenging that it should have bee, given the size and weight of our luggage. There is a parking lot about 100 yards from the hotel entrance but finding a space could be difficult at times and was only free until 9:00 AM so that could be an issue if you are driving. Eating here was a pleasure with numerous restaurants right outside the entrance to the hotel. Would recommend this hotel if lack of an elevator is not an issue for you.

"Oasis after a day of biking"

5
19/07/2015

What a wonderful surprise after spending a day on the bike. The room was clean, well-appointed and best of all, air conditioned. The bathroom was modern and had a full shower, which is added bonus especially for my 6' 2' son. However there was a slight gap between the bottom of the shower door and the floor. We were lucky to have a room at the front of the hotel that overlooked the town square. It provided a wonderful view of the quaint city center but the once the windows were shut, we didn't hear any noise. The complimentary breakfast was also very good.

france41, Propriétaire at BEST WESTERN Hotel de France, responded to this review
Madame, Monsieur, Je vous remercie de votre commentaire et de la satisfaction que vous avez eue à séjourner dans notre établissement. Vous avez pu apprécier notre hôtel, sa situation. Nous sommes toujours à l'écoute afin d'améliorer le confort, le bien-être de nos clients et nos prestations. Bonne journée. La Direction

"Gem in Chinon"

5
11/05/2015

Clean rooms, updated baths, good breakfast, helpful staff. Great location in the town square, just below the chateau. Parking is behind hotel, free from 1900 until next morning. Rooms were modern and recently updated which was in contrast to the "classic" appearance of the hotel and lobby.

"Great find"

4
25/06/2014

As an interval between many B&B's this was a great find and a great mixture of typical good modest French hotel and American familiarity. An excellent value with the most perfect location. The front desk is manned by several ladies who are very helpful with quite excellent English language skills making it very easy even for those of us with a smattering of French skill.

"Central, but may too central due to evening noise."

3
10/06/2013

In general staff were very friendly. It is a nice old style hotel, with modern bedrooms. We had a balcony looking out of the main central square in chinon, viewing restaurants and a fountain and the castle. There were some pluses and minuses. The location is the most central you can get, but maybe this is not what you really need - the noise from the restaurants went on into the late night, then early in the morning was bustling with deliveries. The bedroom was clean and modern, just a little tight. The garage was extremely dusty and smelly. The towels looked like they had been used 1 too many times. The "pancake" on the breakfast buffet was hard and inedible. The breakfast was in a shabby room that I didn't feel like lounging in for my breakfast, that wasn't the most appetising. The coffee ran out and it took about 5 minutes for the waitress to get more coffee. All in all Chinon is a pretty little town on the Loire which we enjoyed walking around, but had planned to go canoeing but the Loire was flooded ! Enjoy Chinon but stay in Hotel Diderot or somewhere less central.