Welcome to Best Western Plus Hotel Lord Forrest, covering all of your needs for accommodation and dining. Located in the centre of Bunbury, we are a short 5 minute walk to many attractions such as the Bunbury Regional Art Galleries and within a short 5-minute stroll of Bunbury Regional Entertainment Centre. Book a stay in one of our 115 well-appointed guest rooms and suites. All rooms feature your own private balcony, many with ocean views. Features and facilities include 24 -hour reception, free WiFi and refrigerators. Take a refreshing swim in our Indoor pool, or relax and unwind in our Restaurant, Bar or Lounge from 6. 00am weekdays and 6. 30am weekends till late. Or take advantage of our in-room dining. We look forward to welcoming you soon!
Best Western Plus
We had a great weekend in Bunbury, couldn't fault the Lord Forrest for location. Parking was easy, rooms clean and well appointed. Loved the view looking down at the indoor atrium! Would definitely return.
The best part of this hotel is the centre atrium. The staff at reception were uninviting and looked bored. The room was dirty, bed uncomfortable & the main bed was so tight up against the window you could hardly get out of it. Was very noisy..window rattled all night in the wind and kept us awake all night no matter what we tried. Hot water was difficult to adjust & all the glasses and plates in kitchenette were dirty. The manager did request we email her with some more details so they could compensate us, but we have ad no response from the manager.
Hotel is older style, rooms need an update. Room smelt unclean, like a dirty bathroom.Main problem is the aircon is set for the whole hotel and not individual for rooms, it's set on heat in mid October. Room was hot, didnt have the 'heating on' had to sleep with balcony door open all night, trying to get some cool air in, this made it very noisy.
Big thankyou to the lord forest for a lovely breakfast. The staff are polite and helpful, the chef cooks to order as well as buffet and delivered us a fantastic carrot cake in person. The restaurant is quite comfortable and has very tasteful decor. Overall an excellent experience and well worth a visit.
Never stay here again. The room was Overly priced. No air conditioning - could not control the temperature of the room. I ordered room service however the attendant “Andrew” who answered my call for room service was so rude & declined to take my order. I had to call the front desk to place my order. Rude cleaner. The cleaner kept coming in and asking when I was leaving and it was only 11am. Never stay here again
The Lord Forrest hotel was clean... comfortable... close to all cafes, restaurants, bars and local amenities in town and close proximity to the beach...Small indoor pool and spa... ocean views available...
The best part of this hotel is the centre atrium. The staff at reception were uninviting and looked bored. The room was dirty, bed uncomfortable & the main bed was so tight up against the window you could hardly get out of it. Was very noisy..window rattled all night in the wind and kept us awake all night n matter what we tried. Hot water was difficult to adjust & all the glasses and plates in kitchenette were dirty.
ctkt199, BDM at Best Western Plus Hotel Lord Forrest, responded to this review
Hi Aunty Mia, I am very sorry to hear about your experience. Are you able to email me at [email protected] with some more information including the room number you stayed in as I would like to rectify this and reimburse you in some way. I look forward to hearing from you, Caitlin Business Development Manager
I had not stayed at the lord Forrest for many years and to be honest my last memory was not that great. Well things have certainly changed for the better. Nice clean modern rooms of a good size. Friendly staff that certainly makes you feel that you could be staying in a high standard hotel anywhere. Keep up the great work.
This hotel has great staff and is good value for the money you pay. Enjoy the room service meals were wonderful and they were huge (enough for two). Wifi is not very good. Breakfast was really nice. King superior room was nice and spacious. Standard rooms are tight.
ctkt199, Business Development Manager at Best Western Plus Hotel Lord Forrest, responded to this review
Hi, Thank you for your kind review. We are currently upgrading our wifi to the NBN network so hopefully the next time you stay it is up to standard. I am glad you enjoyed our room service meals - we don't like our guests to go hungry! We look forward to seeing you next time,
Staff are so accomodating and the restaurant is so romantic??we had a lovely meal and my partner had no complaint as to her steak cooked to perfection?and the cocktails were sublime????My choose was ribs and a very generous serving..it was a wonderful start to our weekend we were upgraded to an apartment "wow"it was a lovely lovely room ocean views and we stayed three nights we will certainly come back when we are next in Bunbury ????
ctkt199, Business Development Manager at Best Western Plus Hotel Lord Forrest, responded to this review
Hi Peter, Thank you very much for your kind words - we are so happy that you enjoyed your stay and the restaurant team made your night so wonderful. We hope to see you again soon! Caitlin
From check in it was great, its not our first time here so we parked in the carpark out back and made our way in to reception, we got a corner room was wonderful since the last time we were here the bathrooms had a makeover they look absolutely wonderful now, chair and table on balcony a very big plus, a bigger dinning table would have been nice (used to be a 4 seater) now just a bar looking this with 3 stools, not pratical for bigger family's or dor familys with small children who want to eat in like we did. Beds were comfy. Staff were all great was a great stay once again.
Not the best. Had a fire alarm go off which is fine but they never rung to say we could come back into the hotel. Went to the restaurant for dinner no service had to get our own table, menu an water. Had to go to reception re service they said the person was in the bar I said this is not my issue.
Great hotel with extremely friendly staff. Fantastic location in center of Bunbury so walking distance to many restaurants and cafe`s. Very comfortable bed and modern furniture. Well appointed bathroom. Mini bar, which we didn't use, and tea/coffee making facilities.
Missing equipment from the room. Internet speed lacking causing frequent buffering when using Netflix. Makes extra charges to your credit card days after leaving without notice or information. Hard pillows and a stiff mattress.
Very pleasant Hotel to stay at. have been here many times over past 15 years. Location great, close to center of town, tariff very reasonable and included breakfast, breakfast excellent, good choice on offer, staff very obliging and helpful
We chose to stay as it used to be a vibrant hotel complex with a cool bar and lots of atmosphere. Times have changed and it's now a sleepy hotel. Room was nice, clean and spacious. Shower had a curtain ewwww but overall the room was fine. Where has the rest of the extras gone at the hotel though. Nothing else was there.
This hotel was a great place to stay. Heated indoor pool for kids and even a pool table for the whole family to play. Close to shops, restaurants and beach. Nice room and comfortable beds. Accomodated 5 of us in one room. Good value for the money we paid.
Visiting for a wedding, we stayed in a 2 bedroom unit with aging morher & grandson. Next door same type of room - daughter's family with young children & there were other family in various rooms. Our room was excellent - clean, comfortable beds & linen, plenty of bedding. Kitchen had all the basics. We largely self catered to keep costs contained for a large group. My daughters room was similar but not as clean as ours. Another family member with a room close to lift reported noise from lift kept them awake. Another family member who is well travelled & generally picky reported her room to be excellent. Great location - close to main street & a few minutes walk to interesting shopping & eating options. Not far to walk to beach or inlet foreshore, great view from balcony. Staff were excellent & very responsive. Atrium area well appointed. Indoor pool area enjoyed by the kids- although water was a little cold for June. We's stay again & can recommend.
My partner and myself recently spent the weekend at Lord Forrest Bunbury. We had a lovely stay (as usual) and would like to give a big thank you to Steele for looking after us. He seemed to be running the place single handed. He was extremely attentive, friendly and polite at all times. Thank you Steele for making our stay warm and welcoming. You're an absolute asset.
Came in Bunbury for working reason and hotel chosen by my agent. The location is great: exactly in the middle of this little Australian town. The foyer is big and great with a ice area to relax. The staff is very gentle and kind. My room was in the 2nd floor, on the opposite side of the reception. This maybe the reason why internet was not working well at all. Also in the reception area a lot of time it momentarily stops. The room is a bit outdated compared with the photos you see around but fully equipped. Generally a good hotel. Can not comment on the price since it is not paid by me
The room I stayed in this week was ok, however the bathroom needs some serious attention, the taps to turn the shower on are so low that I nearly scolded myself trying to turn them on and off. The movable screen on the bath/shower allows the water to go onto the floor which made me slip...... No view other than an office building so had to ensure I kept the curtains drawn. The reception staff were friendly enough however I felt they lacked enthusiasm. I doubt I would stay again.
This hotel was mid-reno when we stayed there. Negotiating the boom lift into the main foyer I was pleasantly surprised by the grandeur of the hotel. Our reception was flawless and the man who served us was extremely helpful and friendly. He offered us a value pack including breakfast which we gladly accepted. The proximity to downtown Bunbury is ideal and surrounded by shopping and dining options. Our room was newly renovated and the bed was a definite 10 out of 10 for comfort. The only downside was the air conditioning or lack thereof. The 1980's style air cond is in need of immediate replacement and basically all it did was make a noise without supplying the necessary cool air. So we slept with the balcony door open to combat the hot room. Fix up the air con and I would love to return. Oh, and the buffet breakfast was very nice indeed.
The motel rooms are run down and need a serious make over. It feels as if the place needs a good scrub, water marked windows in elevator, dust covered air conditioner ducts in atrium and over all very poor maintenance. The only saving grace was the staff, I'd give them 10/10
We've been coming here for years. It's starting to feel outdated but that doesn't matter when the service is excellent. The very friendly and helpful Sharah-Lee knew my first name when I mentioned my surname, without looking at a screen! Highly recommended.
We booked this hotel last minute over the Easter break. The hotel location is quite strategic, very close to a number of restaurants and an easy 10 minute walk to the beach. We booked a basic room and it was spacious, clean and mostly comfortable but nothing special. The bathroom was not very comfortable for my husband who is 6'5; the shower is over the bath and he struggled to stand up straight as the roof was quite low. Room service was nice but very expensive for what we ordered and the charge of $6 room service delivery fee is a bit exorbitant. Overall, this place is ok for a basic overnight stay but I am sure there are better accommodation options in Bunbury.
The room felt outdated with only basic amenities, and our television was faulty. However the staff were very helpful and courteous. The location is very good, right in the heart of Bunbury. The lobby is very unique, with an indoor pool, a pool table and an open restaurant. We ate inside the bar, and the staff were kind enough to turn the music off and switch to the football. The food was very good and was delivered quickly; we had a pizza which was delicious and reasonably priced. Overall, the Lord Forrest was okay and with some renovations this could easily become a 4-star hotel. We enjoyed our stay!
Having stayed here over the last 20 years, I've seen all the progressive changes. Right now the decor is at its best, if you get one of the refurbished rooms. There are still some old 80s schemes if you get unlucky. The prices are verging in moderate, where as I've always considered them fair in the past. Any higher I'll look elsewhere. The restaurant looks great although with so many options on the Main Street, I tend not to eat there or have room service these days. The bar is completely unreliable. You could never plan to meet friends or clients there as it's never open. This is a shame as it's a lovely bar, but not supported by locals for some reason, hence the reason it's often shut. The reception is super friendly and smooth, car parking is good and the whole place is extremely clean and tidy.
Booked basic room which was on first level. Loud whistling noise only alleviated by opening balcony door. Sort of fixed for 2nd night. Room service very good and food was of a good standard. Fittings in the room were old and tired.
well laid out hotel with all rooms set around a central atrium with lovely restaurant and seating areas nice swimming pool all in the same areas rooms very nice clean and well appointed balcony overlooked rear of building so could be noisy with extractor fans, staff polite and helpful.central to Bunbury town and coast
Stayed for 2 nights. Reception was friendly although a little slow to be served. Staff in the "café" were very attentive, drinks expensive (although you expect that in a hotel). Pool table for the kids and a pool in the main central arcade - strange set up !! Rooms were clean but the bedding leaves a lot to be desired. An uncovered, ripped duna, with a cover on top. Are the staff too lazy to actually put a duna cover on the duna ? Air conditioner in the room didn't work, no help from reception, which meant we had to open the window overnight which meant no sleep because of the music from the pub next door and the hooning of the cars up the main street. We will not return
I hadn't been here since this place was built in the 80s and to be honest not too much had changed. I hope the sheets were changed. In the 80s this place was five star I recall, but a few stars have clearly fallen away in the last few years. Average, on all counts. A shame because it truly was once spectacular.
We stayed one night mid week. It was very quiet while we were there, saw no-one. The staff were very helpful and our room was nice although the bed was a little hard for me. It is a perfect location the all the lovely restaurants and cafes in town. All in all, a good stay.
Nice room, lovely sea views overlooking the local unemployment office. A bit too pricey for the location & age of the building. Noisey at times from the traffic below during business rush hours, police cars - close to the law courts etc., across the road from Office Works. Short walk to main street with restaurants, but not many open mid week. Saying that we had a nice relaxing quiet time. Sheets rather scratchy & stiff
Well, here we are again. We are a group of ladies, who in the most part, enjoy getting together, sharing a meal and a laugh. Well last nights meal and experience was quite different. First impressions, great décor, quite funky chairs just outside where you could chill prior to taking your seat at the dinner table. The lighting was....hmm...on the dim side. In fact we got out our phones and used the torch function to read them!! No glasses on the table though we did have a water jug. Not too sure how we were supposed to drink the water but nevermind - they did eventually turn up. The waiter and waitress, jury is still out on those two. They were either very new to serving customers or quite honestly disinterested. I am hoping that they were new because to reach in front of one person to pass food to the person next to them is so wrong on so many levels. It's not as if there was an issue with space - we were the only ones in the restaurant! One of us ordered steak - medium rare. Not too hard to do you would think. Firstly, she was asked if she wanted chips and mash, chips and roast potatoes or chips and salad. Correct me if I am wrong but you usually only have one sort of potatoes on a plate, don't you? Anyway after deciding on chips and salad the order was taken. 6 out of 7 of us got our dinners, the Caesar salad went missing in action ?perhaps ran out of lettuce?? The steak.....it was anaemic, over cooked, soggy and cold! So it was sent back. 5 minutes later, keeping in mind we had all started eating, the waitress said the chef just 'put it back on the hot plate'...is that ok? Seriously, if it was over done in the first place, cooking it for longer isn't going to make it any rarer. So it was sent back again. So, by the time we had all finished, and by the way the Caesar salad turned up and was apparently the best ever, Wendy got her steak and it was hot, cooked reasonably well and had some colour and flavour to it. Would I go back? Probably not. Sue
Stayed in a disabled access room on 2nd floor. Bathroom ok, had to ask for a shower chair and mat even tho I had requested one when I booked. Q bed comfortable, kitchen had toaster, kettle. Small balcony and 2 chairs. Great for drying things while out during the day. Door to room was wide enough for wheelchair but opened on an angle. My husband had to get out of his chair, go in, hold the door open while I wheeled the chair in. Manageable but a nuisance. Everything was clean and bright, some re furbishment recently. First night, my husband got locked in the lift at ground floor level. I got out, turned to wheel his chair out and the doors snapped shut, lift refused to move in any direction. Staff appeared with piece of wood, wedge shaped with which they prised the doors apart. Must happen regularly. Lift was out of order for a couple of days. There was a backup lift fortunately. Mentioned the lack of a crossover outside the front of the hotel to gentleman on duty as we checked out. There is a high kerb which you cannot wheel a chair over. My husband had to get out of the chair to stay safe so that I could pull wheelchair up onto the path to the front disabled ramp. When you traverse the ramp to the automatic door to the hotel, there was, more often than not, 2 luggage trollies, on wheels, the kind porters use to transport suitcases in and out of the hotel, parked inside the door, which I would have to move to allow the wheelchair to get inside. These last two issues I discussed with the duty manager as I was checking out. He came with me to inspect the kerb and blocked disabled access .. He agreed that the kerb could be fixed and the porters weren't supposed to leave trollies blocking the doors. No big deal unless you are trying to get your wheelchair bound husband in and out of the hotel. Staff on front desk unfailingly helpful. We ate one evening meal in the hotel. We were going out but the lift episode left us both a bit shaky so we had a stiff drink and dinner and the food was quite ok. Curry and I had Fish. Well plated and cooked. We will certainly stay again soon. The hotel is within easy access (wheelchair) to back beach .. We had a great breakfast right on beach and enjoyed a long walk back towards the light house. Great views. The location of the hotel is great for us, so we will be back. Next time, I'll ask for help with our luggage on arrival and departure. No one offered , so I had to make two trips with the chair and its passenger, then a second for the luggage to the 2nd floor. I didn't see who worked the luggage trollies I kept having to move away from the exit doors but someone did. Just not when I needed them This mini break from Perth was by way of an experiment as my husband can no longer fly, or cruise, so we decided to have 3 nights in Bunbury, try the Lord Forrest and revisit the area we hadn't been to for many years. Bunbury was a lovely surprise so we will be back. If there is a new ramp/ crossover to make access easier I would be very pleased indeed.
Due to an unexpected medical emergency I had to find a hotel for the night after admitting my husband to hospital. It had been a very stressful day - I arrived at the hotel at 9pm and the lady at reception was very compassionate and care. As the restaurant was just closing she spoke to a staff member in the restaurant and he arranged a meal for me. After parking my car the meal I ordered was waiting for me on a tray to take to my room. The service I received was exceptional. My room was very spacious and very clean. Thank you.
After an absence of many years I stayed overnight at this hotel as I had a business meeting in Bunbury the following morning. Pleased to note that the management has been taken over by Best Western and the improvements are taking shape. The staff on the front desk were professional, courteous, and offered every assistance to a guest on arrival.. Special recognition is afforded to Sharah-Lee who offered to assist me with printing a document which needed reprinting. Fortunately the Officeworks store opposite obliged. Ben in the restaurant prepared a quick meal even though the kitchen was closing within minutes. There are a few rough edges needed fixing and I have suggested some improvements to improve a business person's stay. I'd stay at this hotel again if I needed to.
The hotel has a nice lobby, eating and pool area. Room was clean and a good size, if a bit dated. Pool (and spa) were cooler than we like it, but the kids didn't seem to mind. We had pizza and chips at the restaurant one night and it was really really good! The other meals are a fair bit more expensive.
This was my second stay in a few months. I chose to stay again since the location is amazing and the rooms are reasonably priced compared to other complexes in the area. Although the hotel is a bit dated (our room looked recently renovated though) it actually gives a bit of a relaxed and comfortable vibe when staying there. We stayed Christmas Day and the hotel was well staffed for a major public holiday and the staff very friendly and super helpful too!
Stayed with my wife and three kids. Excellent from the start! Attentive service from all the staff right in the heart of Bunbury and close to all the Bunbury has to offer. The rooms we were in were spotless and balconies added an excellent area to view the surroundings and also dry out the wet bathers! Onsite parking is a must in regional areas and we found this very convenient. The kids loved the indoor (lobby) pool. This was great for us as we did not have to travel too far to have the kids use up a little more of their endless energy. We had the option to eat in the lobby restaurant or outside the hotel where there was a huge selection of eating options. This hotel is situated right in the heart of the restaurant district. The Coles and shopping complex is an easy 5 minutes walk. Ah, the onsite bar was a great option for that sneaky beer away from the kids. We would definitely recommend the Best Western Lord Forrest Bunbury for couples and families.
This was a return visit, a very enjoyable stay and excellent service from the pleasant, courteous and attentive staff. We stayed in one of the renovated room with ocean views, large comfy bed which aided good sleep throughout. Breakfast / dinner, food quality and quantity (flavoursome and plentiful) which is a bonus for a hotel good value for money. Restaurant staff polite, knowledgeable and attentive to customer needs. Unwind, is a very relaxed environment to have a couples meal or with family, something that is rare in Australian restaurants these days. The hotel does require some investment in the common areas, but when a hotel provides polite courteous staff and good service you can forgive that. Will be back.
Stayed in a refurbished king room on the 4th floor. Very comfortable with good amenities. Hotel is close to good restaurants and other services. Just booked for one night but will be back for a longer stay.
We stayed for the New Years long weekend just to have a quick getaway out of Perth for our 10 year anniversary. We selected this venue due to the location and based on the reviews of previous guests and on both accounts were not disappointed. Every single staff member we came across was genuinely polite and helpful, the room was faultlessly clean and very modern and comfortable, fully equipped with all the things we needed (the kitchenette was impressive) and the bed very comfortable to get a lovely relaxed nights sleep. We upgraded to the deluxe suite on 4th floor for ocean views which was lovely. Yes, officeworks ruined the views a bit with their ghastly big blue lit up building but apart from that the views were gorgeous. For new years we had walking distance access to all the happening places and during the day we had several lovely walks to shops, places to eat, and monuments. I highly recommend this place for all couples who want to feel special and enjoy a romantic getaway. We hope to return again. What would I change about this place? Tiny things like a couple of extra towel hooks on the back of the bathroom door, and a full cutlery set (forks & spoons) and larger plates in the kitchenette, but that was all. If you have a bad back or heavy bags, be sure to drop them off in the front door when you check in because the undercover basement parking only has stairs to the hotel so you will get caught out walking up steep narrow stairs with suitcases.
I went to the main Resturant for lunch today with 33 other people, after 1hour and 10 mins when everyone else had finished there meal I got mine. Nobody should have to wait that long for a meal. Not impressed. In saying that my chicken parmy was delicious, and they gave me my coffee for free. But really if u cannot handle that many people and a few more in the resturant u should not be running one. Please get it right as your meals r very nice
Staying here at the moment for a few days and have to say it's so relaxing! Great classy atmosphere, food is amazing, customer service is wonderful so friendly the bar is funky, rooms are clean and modern. Has a pool. Walk out the door and your right smack bang in the cbd such a great spot!
High rise block with limited tight parking spots. We luckly secured one and went to our room. The doors to all the rooms are off ahall in an atrium overlooking the lobby down below. Should have been given a clue by the guests out of their rooms and hanging over the waist high wall looking into the atrium. We were given an "ocean view" room on an upper floor and sure enough away in the distance was some water but imposing in this view is Office Works right next door.The room was hot and the afternoon sun was pouring in. My husband attempted to turn on the air con tomgive some relief,but to no avail. No cool air came out.We thought the air con was broken. The room was itself was quite nice. My husband went down to reception as we coudnt get help on the phone.He was told the air con was centrally controlled and was still on winter service,warming not cooling. The manager said that the service could not be switched over to cooling . Individual room split system air cons need to be installed. All that was blowing out was warm air. Awful. We were offered a small reduction in the room rate and breakfast but we could not have survived a nights stay in these conditions. Rom rate was $225.00...expensive. We went a short distance away and found a nice motel with a room over looking a park and the rate was around $135 including breakfast..great price. Great saving and the rooms had indiividual air cons THAT WORKED.
I stayed here with my girlfriend overnight on a Saturday as I was competing nearby. The lady in reception was lovely and helpful. The room was clean and very happy with comfortability and location was very central. Few let downs though..carpark was full from a function that night so had to squeeze the ute into a matchbox space. I had a sneaky peak at the menu to their restaurant online and was impressed. Headed down for a feed and we were told the online menu (also put up in the lift) was 18 months out of date and due to big function there was only a bar menu with 4 or 5 meal choices or nibbles. We stayed positive and ordered. But instead if asking us if we minded a different version of fish and chips to the one on the menu, they decided to just give it to us and apologise afterwards. On checkout I was trying to be friendly with a "good morning" to which I got no reply but a vacant look from the grumpy dude on reception. Nice hotel but need a little work on customer service.
This hotel appears to be getting renovated and rooms are clean with good facilities. The restaurant serves great meals and a substantial buffet breakfast. Hotel was fine for a one night stop over and in good location to shops , restaurants and bars .
So after staying here 5 times a year for the last 5 years, it's funny that because I booked on hotels.com, I'm treated like a substandard guest. The guy at reception even commented on this like I was an alien. 1st floor room, next to the service room, laundry, gym and elevator. I know this is the least desired room in the entire hotel. If they had checked their history on me, they would have discovered I'm a regular guest. Perhaps given me a renovated room. But no, old room, roof and air con unit views. The air con is still hot... I now have a fan in the room to keep it at least cool. I try to stay here, but this is probably my last stay.
Really happy with the cleanliness and friendly staff we booked a room with beach side views and a bath only to be informed once we checked in that we would have to take the bayside which is on the opposite side of the hotel with great views of the car parks and roof tops and no bath but apparently with room was suppose to be an upgrade seeing how we couldn't get the room we booked it was extremely noisy due to other guests and what sounded like a night club with extremely loud and noisy music and people screaming and shouting until after 4:30 in the morning we left tired and exhausted a lot of the noise within the hotel so we found out the next morning was due to a room right next door to us was a storage room that staff were in and out of all day night and morning
Wherever Life Takes You, Best Western Is There®
Each Best Western® branded hotel is independently owned and operated.