Situated on the Port of Bonifacio where cruises begin for the Lavezzi Islands, the Best Western Hotel du Roy D'Aragon has been completely renovated and welcomes you with a variety of 38 rooms. All rooms have air conditioning along with other amenities that include a TV, telephone, hairdryer and free Wi-Fi. We have a cafe with a terrace by the sea which is ideal for breakfast or to enjoy one of their delicious appetizers. The hotel is located close to many shops, bars, restaurants and beaches making it a perfect base for visiting the famous city of cliffs. The marina is closed to traffic from April thru November. For parking, the hotel offers guests an access card (for a refundable deposit) for a free open public parking lot located 200 meters from the hotel. For any area information you might need upon arrival, you can check at the hotel reception at any time.
The location of the hotel of course is GREAT in the Marina of Bonifacio. The most outstanding quality of the hotel is the exceptional hotel staff, Astrid, Florence & the hotel manager Madame Ducos. These folks know how to show hospitality in the extreme. Their helpfulness, kindness, and smiles will make your day! Not only that, they super knowledgeable about what to see and where to go.
Le Best Western Hôtel du Roy D'Aragon, Autre at Best Western Hotel du Roy D'Aragon, responded to this review
Hello Miss , Thank you so much for your feedback! We can only answer that you are the BEST GUEST on the PLANET ! After 2 years without seeing you, it was a very very nice surprise to see you again, a real pleasure for us all. We've been thinking a lot about you ( and Bébé and Angélique too) and will continue to check in regularly in the future. For information we have sent you a photo on your private email and will gladly receive yours ! Thank you so much again, you have a special place in our hearts. You are welcome to Bonifacio and we hope to see you both again next year!! Mme Ducos,Florence,Astrid :)
The location is the big plus for this property. It's right in the heart of the marina and on the main pier where all the restaurants and bars are. We had booked a Privilege room with a balcony overlooking the marina. The room itself was very small, even for European standards. The balcony view was fantastic. The rooms are newly renovated and in top condition. The materials and finishings are of high quality and almost exclusively made in Europe, even the cover of the tissue box was made in Italy. The bathroom was spotless and had a great rain shower. However, we did miss a minibar or at least a little fridge. The bed was spacious and very comfortable. Breakfast was mediocre at best, the selection of cold cuts and cheese was unspectacular. The free parking was a great help as Bonifacio suffers from a lack of parking spaces. Service was good, yet not over the top. All in all a good stay, however too pricey for what you actually get. Location 5/5 Room 3/5 Service 3,5/5 Value for money 2/5
Bonifacio is too expensive and value for money is jot great, same apply to this hotel. Few defects noticeable in public areas. Booked a room with balcony on the harbor but no privacy with room next door. Staff friendly overall but will not stay there again.
Extremely well-located in the harbour, next to restaurants, boat and little train tour departures and even next door to a supermarket (35c for 1.5 litre of water). Harbour view room worth splashing out for, junior suite super comfy, spacious and very new-looking (in fairness, we did not need all that space, but it felt good anyway). Very friendly staff - let us store our baggage until the room was available (we arrived early) and worked miracles to get us a taxi on departure day. Nothing is particularly cheap in Bonifacio, but here it was money well spent.
We had four nights stay at this property and learnt one day before our stay that they had an techincal issue also known as overbooking which is confirmed by our agent that they do not have the room because of overbooking. They couldn't find an hote for us in Bonifacio so we had to stay in Sartene for one night. It would be fairly okay but the tone and arrogance was way beyond it. They have said literally nothing when we arrived not even a sorry as well as no courtesy of offering something for our troubles. If you plan to stay at this hotel, watch out you may not have a room due to “technical problems”. Let me be clear, we had reservation and confirmation from them, everything was settled.
We booked into the hotel today. Receptionist not friendly. We have been travelling around Corsica for 2 weeks and have excellent accommodation. We still have 2 weeks to go in Europe so have lots of luggage. The room is so small we can hardly fit our suitcases in. It almost feels like a dormitory room but at a high price. € 150 per night is not cheap. We have just stayed in the most magnificent 5 star hotel in Porticcio for € 200 per night. We are here for 2 nights and went to tell reception we will be booking out after 1 night. Her response was we will charge you for 2 nights even though this was not prepaid . Parking is about 400m away. Not a welcome feeling and will not be returning nor recommending this hotel. Have stayed in Best Western before but this is possibly the worst hotel we have stayed in on all our travels over the years
I had written a review very recently but for some strange reason it does not seem to have got published by Tripadvisor. Very strange. The receptionists in this hotel are totally untrained and rude and crude (mathieu/ Florence/and ? astrid). Avoid. After having reserved and paid for 4 days with my family, when I arrived there with my family after a full day's travelling,the receptionist was extremely rude and told me there was no reserevation in my name told me bye bye summarily. While I showed them a printout of my booking, they claimed it was from next day onwards, which was clearly false according to the printed booking that I showed them. On realising their mistake they offered us a room for the night but this was only after I demanded to see the manager---by the way the manager Mrs. [-]was really very nice but the damage had been done. Since this hotel is a no no its no pint my giving feedback on the other aspects-- most of which were OK except very noisy at night
If you are ok with putting up with compact living spaces in refurbished Older buildings, then this hotel is an absolute catch. Fantastic location coupled with heritage charm makes this place unbeatable in this neighborhood. LOCATION: Located at the edge of the marina/harborfront with easy access to all the bars, cafes and restaurants DINE + DRINK: Lovely lobby level coffee shop that whips up mean espressos and Americanos! ROOM: We stayed in 203, so this review is based on that; VIEW: Absolutely boring view of Inside walls of the Hotel! ; SIZE: Super Small room and felt like we were staying inside a matchbox!; AIR-CON: DIdnt seem to work or was heating up instead of Cooling down!; BED: Comfortable bed that played the expected part to put me to sleep; BATHROOM: Stand in shower; TOILETRIES: Random cosmetics, Bring your own! FACILITIES: No Gym or Pool, Pure Island Chill SERVICE: Friendly staff that took care of all my needs with a smile and made us feel pampered and well taken care of. Special Shout out to the staff at the lobby level coffee shop! HOW WIRED YOU WILL BE: Free high speed Wi-Fi that works well all over the property. Small Plasma TV screen dishing out dozens of channels spanning sports, news, music, movies and a wide variety of entertainment - but Primarily in FRENCH language only!
Excellent location on the Marina. Hotel is old needs some TLC Parking is offsite but is free Rooms, with some exception that face the water front, have poor view. Breakfast quite pricey for the available selection
We stayed at this hotel 2 nights while in Bonifacio and we were very happy with our choice. This hotel is located right at the end of the marina downtown Bonifacio. Excellent spot with more than a dozen nice restaurant near by all with a view of the pretty marina. They provide a free parking pass to a public parking very close by and this is good because you don't want and don't need to be driving in Bonifacio. The room was small but clean and modern and the rice was more than reasonable. I would definitely go back à again next time I visit this amazingly beautiful little town !
Fantastic hotel right by the marina, beautiful terrace with room that overlooked the marina. Staff very friendly and helpful, loevly clean and smart room with very comfortable bed. Ideal location to explore the old town and citadel
It is in an excellent location and great value for money. The views from the Hotel are incredible. The service from hotel staff was amazing. The room was clean, well furnished and fit for purpose. I was extremely impressed with the welcome my wife and I received upon our arrival. I have a basic ability with the French language, but found that the reception staff were extremely accommodating our needs.
We chose the hotel because of the location and it is definitely the best location if you want to be in the middle of harbor, only feet's away from fancy boats, restaurants and shops. The room was very clean, modern and comfortable. Breakfast was also very good. Last but not least- the service was excellent! The staff working there went an extra mile to provide the best service for us. Thank you! We will definitely stay there again next time we visit Bonifacio.
If you arrive by ferry, as we did, a hotel on the port is preferable to carrying luggage up hill to the old town or organising a taxi when there are only 5 in Bonifacio. This hotel is ideal. Both women we met at Reception were helpful, pleasant and efficient- and spoke excellent English. The hotel is among the restaurants and bars of the port which is very convenient. Small supermarket next door. Our rooms were not at all noisy. We had chosen two doubles without a view, which was cheaper. We didn't hear any noise from within the hotel or from outside. Both rooms were beautifully quiet. Our room was modern, well appointed, good lighting, power points etc. It was a small room but still fitted our two large bags easily and the bathroom was spacious. Clean. Plenty of hot water in the shower. Quiet, effective air conditioner. Comfortable king bed. The convenience of a safe. There is a lift to access the floors. Good, free wifi. Breakfast came in three price ranges. We chose the top one, 13 euro buffet which was quite good with yoghurt, some fruit, cereals, cakes, hot omelette, sausages etc and cold cheese, meat etc. Pain au chocolate and croissants are excellent quality. Although not a cheap hotel it was quite good value given Bonifacio prices. Recommend. It ticked all the boxes.
Fabulous room, the most comfortable of all on our stay in Corsica. Newly refurbished, spotlessly clean. Great maid service and lovely staff. Choice of 3 different breakfasts offering great value for money. Great location. Parking is difficult but only because Bonifacio was extremely busy at the time we visited. Park in the car park on the marina for free for 40 minutes then the hotel give you a token for free parking once you've checked in. Don't make the mistake we did as try to follow Google Maps to the hotel! Our room was advertised as 'courtyard view' but, in fact, the view was just of the room opposite (about 6ft away) this is a minor niggle though and did not detract from our stay.
Very central, our room was too the back and didn't have a nice view. Staff were helpful. Very central to the harbour. Great idea being able to make a cup of tea in your room. Room and bathroom was lovely. Plenty of restaurants to choose from and, supermarket close by.
We had a room for three people which had windows facing the harbor. It was beautiful and comfortable and the hotel staff were very pleasant. It's very close and convenient to everything. If you are driving you should first get a parking pass from the reception. Then drive to P2 lot to park your car for free with the card they will give you.
We stayed here two nights on our touring holiday of Corsica. This hotel is in a very good location for the Bonifacio Port and Marina, probably one of the best spots. We had requested a good view room of the Marina and we received this in Room 205 which overlooked the Marina, and we had a fully open window which was great in seeing all the activities. Great ambience and the Marina was bustling, with so many super yachts arriving and sailing. How the ultra wealthy spend their money! WiFi was complimentary and worked well. The room and bathroom was large enough with a good shower, but no bath. This did not bother us. The continental breakfast at 9 Euros was very good, and we felt better value than the buffet. The hotel has no car parking but they provide a card to use the Marina Car Park 2 for free. However this is 5-8 minutes walk away so it is important on arrival to go to the 40 minute free Marina car park which is right by the hotel (not so easy to find if this your first time) register unload your baggage and collect the card to go to the proper car park. The hotel gives you a good map! If necessary talk with the hotel about this before you arrive. We enjoyed our two night stay here.
Cannot fault this hotel , everything you need right in the heart of it. Very clean , very helpful. Room has all amenities, shops bars restaurants right on doorstep. My French is rubbish but their English is good.
Right on the water front in a building with a charming exterior and friendly face at reception. Parking in P2 which is a five mins walk away. Reception will give you a pass which allows you to park for free (usually €18:80 a day) +ve Location Free parking Shower- giant sunflower head and very powerful -ve No fridge
The hotel is very good located at the harbor, close to restaurants, bars and shops, and within walking distance to the old city, up the hill. The room was clean, but not very big. The hotel serves breakfast, but there are other options nearby, even a supermarket next door. You can park the car for free close by for about half an hour to unload your luggage and check in. The hotel can help you with a parking place after that. Staff is friendly.
This hotel has a lot of positive futures. Great location in the middle of the harbor, free parking in a lot 5 min walking away, clean and efficient rooms. Everything was in good working order from the shower, the AC and the internet. Some of the rooms have a great view of the harbor but they are more expensive and can be very noisy. There is no much of a lobby and common space.
The view from our window was perfect, across the harbour of the lovely boats and yachts. Hotel was clean, comfortable and the wet room was brilliant! Perfect location in bonifacio, within walking distance of the harbour and citadel. Free parking if you leave an €80 deposit for P2. P2 is about a 5-10 min walk from the hotel.
At late notice we travelled from south Sardinia to meet up with a French friend in Corsica. Chose the Roy D'Aragon as was alongside the harbour. Lovely location. Modern, clean and very well presented. Bath and shower in our room. Highly recommend to anyone.
On the water, on the harbomr, in the center of the actton and with free parking. The rooms are very small but have terraces; ours overlooked the harbor. The hotel staff are happy, outgoing and helpful to a fault. Our 2 night stay was loovlh.
Our research on this hotel on TA was a bit confusing. There were two issues: noise and parking. It is true that the walls of the rooms are quite thin but we had no problems but this is the reason we have awarded very good rather than excellent. Neither did we have an issue with the nightlife going on in the restaurants below. This was probably because in October, the disco which was a little way away was not working. Parking was easy. You can park outside the hotel to unload but this involves a complicated journey up into the old town, round the one-way system and down again to the port before navigating the very busy narrow road between the hotels and shops and the quayside restaurants. Recommend using the 40 minute free car park on the edge of the quay about 25 yards from hotel, or the public car park opposite (about 2E worth of time to drop luggage). The hotel give you a card to use for a car park about 200 metres away, an easy less than five minute walk. This car park is well placed for driving out of town. The hotel itself was very good. Everyone was friendly, large comfortable bed and very clean. There is a kettle in the room but no fridge. However, we found the long-life milk that is sold everywhere lasted in the room for the length of our 7 night stay. Next door to the hotel are two small supermarkets. We would happily go back to this hotel.
If you wish to be at the heart of Bonifacio, within a few paces of the port and several excellent restaurants, and with easy (but steep) access to the Citadel then the Roy D'Aragon may be the hotel for you. Although access to the hotel is at times by foot along the quay there is a small municipal car park offering free parking for 30 minutes less than 100 metres from the hotel entrance. Overnight free parking is also available through the hotel at another municipal car park about 250 metres away, although quite difficult to find during our visit due to local roadworks. The hotel is traditionally French. Our double room was relatively small but comfortable and well appointed. Initially we were given a room overlooking an inner courtyard which was disappointing but on request we were promptly moved to a room with a slightly better view at the back of the hotel. However, if you should want a harbour view do specify this when you book! The highlight of the visit was an excellent continental breakfast on a sun bathed covered terrace on the quay and overlooking the harbour from where we watched Bonifacio wake up. For a one night stay this hotel offers very adequate facilities in an excellent location. We would stay there again.
The plus points : friendly staff, good breakfast (not included), free parking. The min points : our (comfort) room was extremely small, with a "courtyard view" meaning a view into a wall. Poor sound isolation. The average points : location - you can argue if the old town is not a better location.
the hotel is very conveniently located at the start of the harbor, with plenty of eateries nearby, and a supermarket right next to it. the rooms were looking freshly refurbished, very clean with comfortable beds. The breakfast comes with a supplement, but is plentiful and offers a wide choice. The only con is the fact that our window gave a view on a very small patio, your view is actually the window of the room opposite in the building. Very little light as the building is 4 levels high, and we were at the first. It is OK for one night, but I would not want this for several days, so make sure to clarify when you book...
We had 3 wonderful days in Bonifacio. The hotel is nice and clean. The comfort room is a bit small and the view was not good. So we decided to change our room and get a front room with terrace overlooking the marina. Really nice. Breakfast was rich and the price reasonable.
We spent 2 nights, family of 4 with 2 children 16 & 18. We were lucky to arrive off the rush hour ( around 3pm on a Wednesday) so the access to Bonifacio with very easy and we got our pass for the carpark from the Hotel Reception. The double bedrooms are small and one was facing a wall, the other one had 2 windows on the back road. The style is quite modern. We could hear everything in our bedroom from the corridor. Beds large and comfortable. Nice staff. Breakfast is served at extra charge in the hotel restaurant or on the harbour just outside.
We found this hotel to be everything that we'd hoped for a family stay. The rooms were recently updated and beds more comfortable than we expected. It was bright, clean and modern. We stayed in a quad room, which turned out to be 2 rooms with a jack and jill style bathroom and short hallway with built in narrow cupboards that could hold beach toys, towels and extra luggage, . This was perfect and gave everyone plenty of room for luggage and also a little more personal space. The bathroom was a good size with a shower/tub combo - the only small thing to improve on was that a small amount of water sometimes splashed out onto the floor because the glass wall designed to keep water in the tub was a little short. Not a big deal considering everything else. The rooms were very quiet at night, allowing for a good nights sleep. The location near the end of the harbor was good, within easy walking to everything on the harbor and hilltop citadel, but a little quieter than some locations as the bigger restaurants and bars were several doors away, closer to the mouth of the harbor. Staying on the harbor allowed you to walk out of your hotel for a morning stroll to look at the beautiful boats in the harbor. It has a more resort town like feel, where as the citadel has a sense of it incredble history but also is much more crowded with shops and restaurants and feels a little more "touristy" (although, of course, both areas are full of tourists) We enjoyed the walk to the citadel but the pedestrian walkway is both cobblestoned and a little steep, which might be harder for travelers with mobility issues. There was also a small grocery store and a great sandwich/ice cream shop nearby, which had the option of getting the sandwiches to go- handy for taking on the boat tours or a day at one of the many nearby beaches. The front desk was most helpful. It was a fairly windy for part of our stay and they checked the conditions at several locations nearby to help us determine the least windy beaches to visit, which day would be least windy for a boat tour and which days to plan to go to the other side of the island. The hotel also has parking, but it is several blocks away in a public. It is still worth doing because it allowed for in/out privileges. Hotel du Roy d'Aragon is a really goodl place to stay in Bonifacio! In fact, it was much better than I'd been expecting based on trip advisor ranking and am so glad we choose to stay here.
We LOVED this hotel for the charm, location, terrace and view of the harbor. Be sure to ask for a room with a terrace on the 4th floor. It costs more, but it is well worth it. The terrace is shared with two other rooms but separated by well-kept plants so it affords a little sense of privacy. Room 404 was TEENSY TINY but was clean and bright and charming so we didn't care. The old town up on the hill is easily walkable up a steep walkway, or one could take the little train that takes off right next to the hotel for 5 euros. The boat tours take off right next to the hotel.It was really helpful to have 2 supermarkets right at the base of the hotel as well. The blonde woman at the front desk is nice and very helpful!
This hotel is great. I took the ferry over from Sardinia and was able to quickly walk with my luggage on a short (flat) road to the hotel. It's right on the pedestrian road of the marina, right in the heart of everything. It's about a 10 minute walk through the marina up to the top of Bonifacio. I picked up a rental car and they gave me a free parking pass which is great as parking is limited in this tiny town. Room is quite spacious and the bathroom is new and modern. Good sized shower and water pressure. Free wi-fi is very good and fast. The view of the courtyard is really just looking at a cement wall, but you're there for the city not the courtyard view. The marina view rooms would be amazing, so book those if you can. The blonde lady at the front desk is delightful and very helpful!
Stayed here one night and really liked it. Very convenient, being right on the port and next to many good restaurants. We had an upper floor looking right on the port and up to the high city. Nice staff and there is free parking. Wifi works fine.
Hotel room was clean & room was updated. The courtyard view however, is like a view of an outdoor elevator shaft. The room 303 was tiny, not large enough to open 2 suitcases-ok, if you open one on the bed it is! The room had great a/c, wifi & a kettle for coffee or tea. One English TV channel~yay! Elevator is a plus.This room is great for a single person, not great for 2. You can't park at the closest public parking lot unless you want to spend €5. per half hour. You can use the nearest parking lot for free for 40 minutes to unload your luggage & check in. Then you get a card from the hotel for free parking a few blocks away, less than a 5 minute walk. Didn't buy the breakfast; they had multi options, but a bakery, market & many cafes are right out the front door. The old town is a few hundred meters down (then up) the street. The ferry terminal is there too. Tour boats can be booked right out the front door. Lots of boutiques & shopping in this interesting tourist town. Best to park the car & walk~
Nice, clean, friendly hotel close to harbour. We had a room advertised as overlooking courtyard - the courtyard was tiny, more like a lift shaft with a close view of the room opposite. Big breakfast selection but a bit pricey though probably average for France. Free wifi was fast.
My husband and I had a new, clean, and well appointed room with a separate suite to put our suitcases with a sofa. There were plenty of restaurants near by and we enjoyed a great evening strolling along the water where the boats were docked.
I really liked staying at this hotel. It's in the Marina area next to several restaurants and bars. I stayed at room 406 which was very quiet. It was a comfort room. Standard rooms are smaller. The front desk staff was really nice and helpful. Astrid, Florence, and a guy whose name I don't remember, all friendly. Rooms extreme clean. There are two grocery stores next door which have boulangeries which are very convenient and cheap. My only regret is having to leave.
We spent town nights here and found it to be very pleasant. The location is perfect and the staff very helpful. We had a large balcony room overlooking the harbor. It was great for a sunset wine. The room had all the amenities.
Great location. We stayed for one night to catch the ferry next morning to Sardignia. It was March and hence like most of Corsica, Bonifacio was "closed" for everything. We walked to the castle uptown. It was an easy walk. Also easy walk was to the ferry dock. The hotel is right next to a super market (SPAR). Our room was a "comfort room" on the 6th floor from where one can see the hills. Pleasant enough view. Big room, big bathroom but no refrigerator and chemical crap like 3-in-one coffee. Very pleasant front desk persons. We did not have breakfast or dinner at the hotel and can not comment on those.
A beautiful hotel that has been renovated to a very modern spec. but still retains some of the charm of the original building. We had a room facing the harbour and had a lovely view of the boats there.The room had AC and was of a decent size. Very friendly staff and a lively waterfront just outside. Old town was a nice walk along the harbour and climb up some steep steps.
Bonifacio is located directly on the Mediterranean Sea, separated from Sardinia by the Strait of Bonifacio. The city of Bonifacio is split into two sections. The vieille ville (old town), or la Haute Ville (the Upper city), on the site of a citadel, is located on the promontory overlooking the Mediterranean Sea. The citadel was built in the 9th century with the foundation of the city. The Citadel has been reconstructed and renovated many times since its construction and most recently was an administrative center for the French Foreign Legion. Today it is more of a museum. The city and its fortifications also extend for some distance along the cliff-tops, which are at about 70 meters (230 ft) elevation. The cliffs have been undercut by the ocean so that the buildings, which have been placed on the very lip of the precipice, appear to overhang it. The appearance from the sea is of a white city gleaming in the sun and suspended over the rough waters below. It is good to take the little train to go up and it is easy to come down to the port again. These hotel gives the possibility to see the city easily.
LOVE Bonifacio and this hotel!!! Got really lucky reserving the best Terrasse top level Room #404 with views of the Citadelle and the port! Supermarket and laundry mat are steps away! Instead of staying 3nights, I stayed 7 nights here in this charming, tiny town. Walked up to the Citadelle daily and/or along the cliff top hiking path. Gorgeous views of linestone cliffs and the beautiful blue ocean! Vacationed in Corsica for 2wks, Bonifacio was my FAV R&R charming tiny town. Tons of restaurants and tiny boutiques to browse. I LOVE this hotel and will return every time I return to Bonifacio! Steps away from the bus stop, easy to take quick bus trips to Sartène and Propriano, but you need to find out the bus schedules!!! Not many buses so timing is critical! Can't wait to return to my hotel terrasse one year soon! Citadelle lights up with colors and art symbols on some nights. Beautiful, charming tiny town!!! :0)
I had chosen this hotel for the view on the port and had specifically booked a room with a terrace on the last floor for two nights. For some reason 3 weeks prior to our trip I had to cancel the first night. To reach the hotel you have to park close by in a tiny parking (max 20 mns) that is always full. The hotel is easily reachable. Good welcome although I discover we have been given a family room. I tried to explained that I had booked a room with a view and terrace but the receptionist advised me that the code received from best western was for a family room which consists of a leaving room with a sofa bed and a bedroom). Since the hotel is full we cannot change. Room was spacious, cleaned and seemed to be recently renovated. The only inconvenient is that the room was at the back facing the road to the Citadelle and the traffic with it. so forget opening the windows. Mattress was of good quality, pillows a little thin. bathroom was of good size. don' t really understand the taps but water is overflowing, not practical. Wifi was good. location is great as in the center butt disappointed not to get the room initially booked.
We really enjoyed the hotel – the room was not too spacious, but very clean, bed and linens high quality and comfy, and excellent shower. Well located for exploring beautiful Bonafacio. Free parking is available, its about a 5 minute walk away. Park in the parking lot beside the harbour that offers 40 minutes free, then move to the free parking lot provided by the hotel.
We called in for a drink and a wifi session, to be told that there was no wifi, despite us having a good signal and the hotel having an internet corner.. Clearly they were uninterested in passing trade and were only there for their guests. As an aside the drinks were ok if a bit pricey.. You can do much better in Bonifacio.
We never thought we would stay at a Best Western Hotel (big chain tour bus type hotel) but this one exceeded our expectations. We booked a sea front room and were given a room on the 3rd floor with a large terrace overlooking the marina and old town. The room and bathroom was renovated and modern. Location was perfect on the waterfront. Front desk (especially a lady named Florence) was very helpful and cheerful. The only negative was that the walls are abit thin and we could hear people leaving and closing their doors in the mornings. Bonifacio is a very nice town
we spent two nights in this lovely hotel located right in the Bonifacio Harbor. The rooms are clean and well equipped. The price is reasonable for that location and the staff is friendly. We will definitively go back to Hotel du Roy d'Aragon if we ever go back to Bonifacio.
The pros: - Great location in a great city - Free parking (ca. 300 m from the hotel) - Large family room, newly refurbished - Nice port view for some rooms - Nice welcome at check-in The cons: - INCREDIBLY noisy: there is an open air bar / club on the port (the B52) with REALLY VERY loud music until 2am, Friday night was OKish, but Saturday night was a nightmare, to the point the windows (single glazing!) were shaking. I find it hard to believe that some reviews praise the hotel for quietness - At check-out, not a word of apology when I complained: they don't seem to care - Non-smoking space for breakfast very limited, we had to insist with the waiter so as we could have a smokeless breakfast with our 3 years old child All in all, I really advise people who want to sleep to avoid hotels facing the port (if you don't mind noise, then the Roy d'Aragon is probaby one of the best choices). Bonifacio is a small town and hotels further from the port are not very far.
The rooms are very modern and comfortable. This was the nicest hotel we stayed at in Corsica. It is located right in the bustling area of the lower part of town. The views are great as you can see the town get moving in the a.m. from your room window. The desk staff, meh...they weren't too friendly but then again it is a tourist town. MAKE SURE you get the parking down. Do not leave a parking lot once you get in...purchase a new ticket because parking is very, very difficult.
This hotel is right on Bonifacio harbor and is a real find. Ask for a room on the top floor with a balcony. You will love the view. I didn't realize that Bonifacio is really two towns, the harbor and the upper old city. Although there are more expensive hotels in the old city I didn't see any that Looked nearly as cool. Astrid at the front desk was lovely, kind and went the extra mile to help us feel comfortable. It's a bit of a challenge to get there with the car so ask the hotel to walk you through the parking and check in. Bonifacio is by far our favorite of the places we visited in Corsica. I would stay here at least two or three nights and use it as a base for visiting beaches, boat rides and exploring both towns. We stayed two and would love to come back.
The location of the hotel is perfect. The price is ok for location. You can walk to the old part of the city, and at night you have many restaurants close by. The hotel itself is basic. The bedroom is clean and small. The bathroom was modern and quite big for the size of the room. Breakfast on the outside terrace is great. The staff was very friendly and helpful. If you travel with a disabled person or children or wiht heavy luggages the distance from the hotel to the parking lot may be an issue (about 10 minute walk)
We did not stay at the hotel but on visit Bonifacio for the day we arrived early and has breakfast here, it was excellent, bread, yogurt, croissant pain ou chocolate endless coffee and juice. They call it the continental and was €9 each, it kept us going all day.
We arrived the hotel around noon and we were told that our room was not ready yet and that we have to come back at 3:00 pm. So we did. But, Mrs.Florence, who was in the reception, informed us that the room was not ready yet. We answered that we were very tired and the rule is to have the check in at that time. She start to shout that we have to wait. We insisted and she phoned to somebody that told her to change our room for one that it was already done. Simple like that. But she was really upset and she pointed his finger at the ready in my husband's face and screamed again saying one insults and threw the room key at the front desk. It was a very bad start in this hotel. We cannot believe that a hotel like BEST WESTERN has a employee like that.
We stayed for one night in July while visiting beautiful Bonifacio. The location is perfect with parking nearby. The hotel is right in the middle of everything and we spent a lovely evening looking at the boats, shopping and having dinner pretty much on the doorstep of the hotel. The location is good for less mobile folk as it is all flat and paved outside. (The old town up at the citadel is another matter). The staff were pleasant and check in efficient. Air con could have been a bit better but given that is was July it did the job. The room was small but adequate. I would recommend this hotel and if I am ever lucky enough to visit Bonifacio again this is where I will stay!
This hotel is located at the beginning of the port of Bonifacio with the public parking close by. Please don't follow your GPS as it will try to guide through the port, which you don't have access. There is a 40-minutes free parking to do your check-in near the port. Unfortunately, our check-in experience was a disaster. We initially had reservations of four nights and asked the check-in blond women to reduce to three nights (which I do 10-12 times in hotel brands without issues depending on travel plans changes) and this is where the rampage started. The check-in women was clearly not in love with tourist season as she start blasting us that July & August were the complaint season and the period where customers were full of requirements and needs. This lady wasn't born for customer service…In addition, she totally refuses to change my reservation and force me to call the head-office of Best Western to change my reservation, which they weren't able to do because I already check-in!!!! As a frequent traveler booking 70-90 nights a year in hotels, that was one of the worst check-in experience I had in a few years….Anyway, after a few arguments, we finally had our keys and the head-office of Best Western fixed the issue. Not something you want to handle in your vacation. The room was extremely small in Europe standard. The bed was totally uncomfortable and feels like sleeping on wood. We got the room facing the backstreet and you can hear cars / bikes / Buses going to Bonifacio 24/24 hours a day. If you sleep there, ask a room facing the port! On the good side, the room was very clean. On the positive side, the hotel is located on the port, close to all ports restaurants and bars, just beside a few groceries. About 15-20 minutes of walk to the old-town with a steep hill and a very safe area. Beside the check-in experience, service was good. Breakfast is 9 euros and parking was free in a lot about 5 minutes of walk from the hotel. And the check-out, it was a different women and the experience was way much better. Going back to area, I would certainly consider a different option at the best western didn't meet my criteria's to make a good stay (Bad check-in experience, Comfort of the bed, noise) and created me worries I had to fix in my vacation but the location can please a lot of people.
Wherever Life Takes You, Best Western Is There®
Each Best Western® branded hotel is independently owned and operated.