Room 1
Room 2
Room 3
Promotion code

Castle Bromwich Hall, Sure Hotel Collection by Best Western, Birmingham

Castle Bromwich Hall Hotel Road, B36 9DE, Birmingham, Great Britain - See on a map
Castle Bromwich Hall, Sure Hotel Collection by Best Western - castle bromwich grounds and hotel The Castle Bromwich Hall, Sure Hotel Collection by Best Western is ideally located in the center of Birmingham. Come and experience our hotel near the major tourist attractions. Best price guaranteed and exclusive deals.

Set in beautiful English country gardens, Castle Bromwich Hall Hotel, Sure Hotel Collection by Best Western is a delightful spot for a relaxing break. You can get away from it all in this peaceful rural setting while still being close to major transport links and Birmingham city center. This Grade I-listed manor house has an illustrious past as Elizabeth I once stayed here. Follow in regal footsteps as you enjoy the sophisticated surroundings of this 16th-century building and dine in style in The Great Hall. The hotel retains many of its original features including a grand staircase, intricate stone carvings and roaring log fires. Our 37 elegant bedrooms have all been lovingly-refurbished yet maintain their period charm. All come with free Wi-Fi and mineral water. After a busy day, sink into fine cotton sheets, cozy duvets and fluffy pillows. For the ultimate in opulence, choose one of our luxury suites, which include king-size beds, designer sofas and pleasant views of the grounds and gardens. The center of Birmingham is just six miles away. great for shopping at the Bullring, concerts at the Symphony Hall and watching precious metals being molded in the Jewelry Quarter. Sports fans are close to Villa Park and The Belfry, while families can discover how chocolate is made at Cadbury World and go on the adrenaline-filled rides at Drayton Manor Theme Park. The StarCity leisure complex, just four miles from the hotel, is ideal for rainy days and evening entertainment as it has a massive 25-screen cinema, bowling alley and laser tag.

Sure Hotel Collection

Castle Bromwich Hall

LABEL_ITINERAIRE

LABEL_DEPART:

LABEL_ARRIVEE:

Hotel advantages

  • Restaurant
    Restaurant
  • Lounges/bars
    Lounges/bars
  • Free parking
    Free parking
  • Outdoor parking
    Outdoor parking
  • 24-hour front desk
    24-hour front desk
  • Multilingual staff
    Multilingual staff
Show More Show Less

Guest reviews

In partnership with tripadvisor fr
based on 619 guest reviews
NOTE ISSUED
Excellent
226
Very Good
175
Average
91
Poor
69
Terrible
58
REFER TO NOTICE
Business Business
118
Couples Couples
232
Family Family
122
Friends getaway Friends getaway
64
Solo travel Solo travel
8
SUMMARY NOTES
Cleanliness
Location
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Value

"How did they ever get 4 stars???"

1
marnie176, Portstewart, United Kingdom 28/02/2020

What can I say....the first room in the attic of the Brew House had rodents having a party in the ceiling at 1am, add to this a bathroom with black mould badly painted over. The next room had a lovely bathroom but the inevitable dirty net curtains and drapes hanging off the rails. As for the food...fortunately the bar food was mostly ok but how can bought in wedges of Brie be consistently served cold and hard in the middle. Spinach and ricotta tortellini which was swimming in what resembled tasteless watered down cream. Rae in reception was always pleasant but the same can't be said for some of the other staff. I certainly won't ever go back.

"Lovely lounge and resturaunt,food very good."

4
O7288KVlindan, Dunstable, United Kingdom 24/02/2020

Really dirty net curtains in the bedroom,was told maintenance would deal with it,not nice to look at,nothing happened as it was the weekend,room by the bins,which kept blowing back across are window in the wind. Woken at 5.30 a.m. by the bins being emptied.

"Not all its cracked up to be"

3
RonLawrence, Poole, United Kingdom 19/02/2020

The evening meal was great with fine dining at its best with wonderful staff and great value for money. The bar and ground floor areas are pleasant and comfortable. So they have all this right. Let down by the bedroom. The bath had a great crack in it that had clearly been there for some time and either it leaked through the crack or the plug was not fitting properly because the water kept running out. There were loose tiles on the floor and mould on the silicon in the bathroom, the window in the bedroom would not shut, luckily we could shut the curtains in order to keep the cold away. When we told them about the bath they did agree to reduce the price of the room, however this never happened. They did say that they would look at the bath while we were having dinner, this then turned into 'when we had left'. Would be interested to know if room 314 has a new bath!!! Management must have known that the bath was like this, after all no one cleaning the bath could have not noticed a 3" split, if they didn't then they should have! Breakfast was well cooked, tasty, plentiful with great poached eggs. One pair of guests decided to take all the jugs of juice to their table and I would have expected the waitress to deal with this. She was easily distracted and had to deal with a mother who thought it was good for her child to spend the whole breakfast period running around the room with several boxes of cereal. The mother stood by our table to give the waitress her order and as a result the waitress confused our order and thus we had a long wait for breakfast. It was such a shame with a few pounds spent on the bedroom the stay would have been good and they could charge more and still given good value for money. When we left in the morning and walked to our car we noticed what looked like a tip, or where someone had been sleeping in one corner, not a good impression.

"Not what's advertised"

2
Businesstraveller181, Sheffield, United Kingdom 12/02/2020

I booked a superior double room expecting a spacious double room with period decor and a bathroom with a bath. I was given a classic double room that was clearly an out of place unused office room turned into a basic bedroom. I rang reception and stated that I had booked a superior double room and I didn't think I was placed in the right room, I was told they were fully booked and would knock £20 off my room rate (I'd already heard them say this to someone else on the phone whilst I checked in) I also asked at reception if they offered room service, which they do, to then get to my room and find no menu. The room is freezing, the window won't shut properly so there is a constant drift coming in. Bathroom is lovely and modern, just disappointed there was no bath like I expected. It is not what I expected at all, I stay in Birmingham with work quite a lot now but I won't be staying here again.

"Impromptu Afternoon Tea with Cakes"

4
judyhI1061LB, Birmingham, United Kingdom 12/02/2020

Just dropped in with two friends and asked if it was possible to have pot of tea for 3 persons with cakes. It was and the service was excellent, the tea and cakes were delicious at a very reasonable price. Thank you for a pleasant afternoon in cosy surroundings.

"Amazing hotel"

5
User 03/02/2020

Amazing service (Asim gets a special mention), but the staff are friendly, polite and are an asset to the business. Fantastic stay in a historic hotel steeped in history. Can not praise it enough. Will be staying again

"A lovely short stay"

4
User 19/01/2020

We stayed for two nights and really relaxed. Very quiet. Nice gardens.Food was all fresh, reasonably priced and good quality. A lovely, rich in character property. Staff were courteous and friendly. We will come again. :)

"Could be so much better"

3
AlisonH448, Birmingham, United Kingdom 12/01/2020

Myself and three family members booked here for the 12:30 Christmas Day lunch. I have both good and bad comments to make so I'll start with the bad, get them over & done with and then end on a high! We arrived to a very warm welcome and were told punch & mince pies were waiting. Mince pies BEFORE dinner?? Bit odd. Anyway couldn't see them anywhere - must've been in another room! We sat down pretty quickly as we had two disabled people dining with us. Drinks came quite quickly as did each course. We all thought the portion size of the main meal was a bit meagre; no roast parsnips and one very tiny (the smallest I have ever seen) pig in blanket. Veggies came in a separate dish so we could all take what we wanted. Although I prefer fairly crunchy veg, we all thought these veg were just on the very hard side. I had chocolate brownie for dessert which was more like a chocolate sponge but the ice cream was gorgeous and I ate it all anyway as it tasted very nice irrespective. Bit of an odd thing with the cheeseboard - we waited and waited but in the end I had to ask (it was listed on the menu). I hadn't seen anyone else being given the cheeseboard at all. The chap looked a bit taken aback when I asked and I reckon they had to go & milk the cow before actually making the cheese, it took so long, but what came was acceptable. Nothing to write home about, a very basic cheeseboard, one between two, with no butter for the crackers and not nearly enough crackers to go around. Could have been so much better because the cheese was a very nice selection & very tasty. Seemed like it had been rushed & not put together properly. Despite all these niggles, we did enjoy the food and we had a very nice time. It's just a shame that some things could have been so much better with not much extra effort to be honest. We were asked literally about 8 times during our meal if everything was ok. Seemed a bit over the top, but I'd rather be asked too often than not at all. What I liked about this Christmas Day lunch was that each table was served at its own pace rather than the whole room being served each course all at the same time. This building is beautiful and the Great Hall is such a lovely room to have Christmas Day lunch in. This place has everything it needs to be a superb choice for Christmas, but some really small (and odd) things let it down. Hopefully next Christmas will be better!

"Disappointed no one got back to me"

3
anitat740, Birmingham, United Kingdom 10/01/2020

I chose this hotel for my partners birthday , on the 1st January 2020 it was close to home and a beautiful looking building . On arrival I was very happy with my choice the hotel looks stunning and is set in lovely gardens. Our room was equally as lovely I had chosen a superior room so that it would be in the main building as the other rooms are in a separate building. The bed was comfortable and the room had everything you could need for a night away.. Bathroom was equally as lovely if not a bit modern for the building ( could have done with being renovated to its era for that extra special wow). I'd also booked the restaurant for a 3 course meal which was ok but didn't leave us feeling wow, cost for a 3 course meal for 2 with a bottle of wine was around £80 . After dinner we decided to relax in the lounge area by the bar, sitting in the comfy sofa area I was horrified to see a mouse walking around the floor!! My partner did tell the man on the desk as he walked in and is response was to move a mouse catching devise from one side of the room to the other. This then ruined was was a lovely evening because I couldn't settle . Breakfast at the hotel was much nicer than the evening meal with a good selection of continental items plus the choice of a cooked option. Over all for one nights stay with breakfast at £180 I'd say I've stayed in better for less, Sadly after speaking to 2 separate people regarding our concerns about mice and emailing the hotel no one seems to be concerned

"Christmas lunch"

2
186402, Birmingham, United Kingdom 03/01/2020

booked 3-30 didn't get seated until 5 o'clock upstairs room which was not very Christmassy. Main meal was nice apple pie came freezing not eaten had ask water cheeseboard wasn't best definitely not worth what we paid lacked that Christmas Day feeling definitely wouldn't book again . Few other tables complained

"Boxing Day Disaster"

1
User 02/01/2020

AVOID AVOID AVOID!!! We had booked a table for 12 on Boxing Day, starters only 8 starters had came out, 4 starters came out 15 minutes later than the rest .. The MAIN course was an absolute disaster, it started when one of the young waiters came it with 4 turkey dinners when only 1 had been ordered, 1 was placed down and left to sit while they tried to scramble to get the rest out, still getting it wrong the second time they then tried to rush the 3rd time, this time serving RAW beef (not rare) because the service was so bad people had finished their mains 45 minutes before some people were served their raw mains, and when they did try and serve the good 1's an hour later, they hadn't cleared the raw meals from the table #SHAMBLES! A 50% discount was reluctantly accepted, I do in feel in this case a full refund should have been offered!!! Such a shame!!! Avoid the plague at the moment!

CBHH-Reception, Reception at Castle Bromwich Hall Hotel, responded to this review
Good Afternoon Foodie01211, I am very sorry to read this review and to see we fell short on this occasion for you on Boxing Day. Please can I ask you to contact us directly so we can get this resolved for you, I can see you already were offered a 50% refund but we would like to discuss this matter further for you. If you can contact us at your earliest convenience on 0121 748 0030 or info@cbhh.co.uk Kind Regards Reception Team

"Could do better - we only had lunch there"

2
Jon E, Birmingham, United Kingdom 19/12/2019

We regularly drop into the Hall for a coffee or lunch as we love the location so much, my wife's grandmother was a chambermaid at the Hall and we find the building stunning, however the food is very hit and miss. We dropped in for tea and coffee today which was of a good standard and well presented, we usually read their complimentary newspaper over coffee but the staff couldn't find the paper today. We then decided to stay on for lunch, my wife opted for winter vegetable broth and roll and I went for pie of the day and confirmed the waitress confirmed it was ok to exchange the mash for chips. We explained that we wanted the soup and pie as mains and wanted them served at the same time. The waitress brought my wife soup and me soup together so we explained again we wanted the soup and pie together and that I had not ordered soup.. She apologised and said my pie would be with me in 2 minutes. It wasn't. My wife was very disappointed with the winter veg broth - it was hot water with courgettes and onion, she ended up leaving half, the roll and butter were fine. My main was served 5 minutes after my wife had finished, The pie was really nice and turned out to be ham and mushroom I think. But was ridiculously salty. The chips weren't chips as we have had previously (triple fried) but were a few fries in a bowl. The new general manager came over to us and asked us if we were regulars and asked us for feedback, which was good and we gave him very honest feedback on today's food. In hindsight we should have sent both meals back to the kitchen. It is 2.5 hrs later and I am still thirsty from the very salty pie and we have just noticed from the bill we were also overcharged, being charged for the 'chips' as and 'extra' which I actually exchanged for the mash. Its a great location with huge potential just needing to up the food standard and be consistent in the food quality.

CBHH-Reception, Reception at Castle Bromwich Hall Hotel, responded to this review
Good Afternoon Jon E, Thank you for your feedback following your visit. I am sorry that on this occasion we fell short. Please be assured steps have been taken now and changes are being made so we would love to welcome you back soon to show this to yourself. Kind Regards Reception

"Disappointing birthday trip"

2
AryMook, Nottingham, United Kingdom 01/12/2019

We chose this hotel based on the lovely pictures, for a memorable birthday break for my boyfriend. We pulled up to the hall and were impressed with what we saw. However once we checked in, we were told we were based in Dove Cote and not staying in the main building. This was quite disappointing as when I booked the hotel, I put in a note stating that we were staying for a birthday etc. Nothing was accommodated for that which was disappointing, as we've had great responses in the past from other hotels. Dove Cote is on a different road to the main building, you can walk over but will need to move your car over to the separate building. It's like a converted horse stables or something similar. We stayed in a room on the top floor and had the floor to ourselves. The room had its bathroom downstairs and the bed upstairs. We went back to reception to see if there was any possibility of changing rooms/upgrading but the receptionist was quite blunt and rude when saying the hotel was fully booked. Also the bathroom wasn't cleaned properly. There's was urine at the back on the seat, which was there when we checked in. Super gross! Hated to think what else hadn't been cleaned properly! We wouldn't stay at this hotel again and felt like we were falsely advertised a room.

CBHH-Reception, Reception at Castle Bromwich Hall Hotel, responded to this review
Good Evening AryMook, I am disappointed to read your comments regarding your stay with us. We have a variety of room options such as superior rooms and suites which are situated in the main building of the hotel, on this occasion I can see you booked through a travel agent and booked a classic double room I am very sorry if this was not explained clearly to you. I would like the opportunity to discuss the service you received further and also to discuss the cleanliness of your room as this is not our standard. Please send a personal message and we can get this solved, otherwise please call the hotel on 0121 748 0030. Kind Regards

"One night stay"

4
2outandabout2019, Bexhill-on-Sea, United Kingdom 29/11/2019

Stayed one night while in area visiting Jaguar Manufacturing Tour. Was bit concerned after booking due to the negative comments left by others, but needn't have worried. We stayed in the Devereux room which was very large with wood panelled walls, and fireplace, plus an ENORMOUS bathroom with two sinks, bath and great large shower. Had great nights sleep. Bar area was lovely with comfy seats - we'd eaten in the Toby Carvery down the road before arriving, but would have had no reservations about eating here. We had breakfast in our room due to an early start and it was fine. Large on-site car park and prompt helpful staff.

CBHH-Reception, Reception at Castle Bromwich Hall Hotel, responded to this review
Good Evening 2outandabout2019, Thank you for your lovely feedback from your stay here at the hotel. I am very pleased to see you enjoyed the Devereux suite, I will be sure to pass on your comments to the rest of the staff also. We hope to welcome you back soon. Kind Regards

"1 Star breakfast"

1
traceyh1600, London, United Kingdom 25/11/2019

Nice character hotel but severely let down by the breakfast. Buffet style with such a limited selection. One type of tinned fruit, cardboard cheap sliced bread, where the brown had ran out. Pastries, well best not talk about them. And the cooked breakfast, well the 15 or so fried eggs on heated tin tray looked inedible. So I asked if asked if the ‘chef' could cook me something poached eggs. Where the young lad returned and said the ‘chef' wasn't cooking poached eggs today. I use the word ‘chef' very cautiously because the limited breakfast looked like it had been cooked a 6 year old. Management: I am not the only one commenting about the breakfast. How can you let your ‘chef' present such a low standard 1970's style little chef quality food. Poor show and severely let's your hotel down.

CBHH-Reception, Reception at Castle Bromwich Hall Hotel, responded to this review
Good Evening traceyh1600, I am very sorry to read your feedback regarding your stay here. I can assure you we have looked into your comments and have made the necessary changes. Please give us a call on 0121 748 0030 to discuss this further as we would love you to give us a second chance and to change your opinion. Kind Regards

"Great hidden gem"

5
AngBev66, Birmingham, United Kingdom 20/11/2019

This lovely hotel hosted a surprise 80th birthday meal for my mother and 17 guests. We had the pleasure and privacy of the garden room which was perfect for the occasion. The Manager and his staff were very accommodating and so helpful to pull the surprise off and service was second to none not only to top off our celebration with a selection of well cooked hot dishes, steaks, lamb shanks, soup of the day and freshly cooked bread rolls. I highly recommend this venue for dining and the grounds are beautiful.

CBHH-Reception, Reception at Castle Bromwich Hall Hotel, responded to this review
Good Evening AngBev66 I am delighted to read your feedback on your recent visit here. I have passed on your comments to all the team including the chefs and bar staff. We hope to welcome you back very soon! Kind Regards

These reviews are the subjective opinions of individual travelers and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.