Stay at this modern Wellington motel located in the northern suburb of Johnsonville, a five minute drive (7. 50 kilometer) to Wellington city centre and 20 kilometers from Wellington Airport. The Best Western Wellington is the most conveniently located accommodation in Wellington. Many visitors to New Zealand, traveling to and from the south island via the ferry, use the Best Western Wellington as an overnight refreshment stop. Business travelers and tourists use its proximity to Wellington as a base to conduct business or to see the city's major attractions. Best Western Wellington offers 22 luxury units and apartments with cable television and high-speed wireless Internet. Additional facilities at this Wellington motel include undercover parking (max 2. 9 meters), lift access to rooms and video surveillance for extra security and peace of mind. You can stroll to one of Johnsonville's many restaurants or taverns for a fantastic meal, or alternatively, you may choose to dine-in as all rooms offer self-catering cooking facilities with a microwave and sink, some are also equipped with hot plates and ovens. For superior customer service and a convenient location in Wellington, make a reservation at Best Western Wellington today! Please note: If you are arriving after 9:00 p. m. please make advance arrangements with the hotel to receive the "key in safe" instructions for after hour's access.
Amazing place! Can not fault it. So comfortable. Units very quiet at night, a great nights sleep! The whole complex including the units are so clean and spotless! Only 10 minutes to Wellington CBD. Highly recommend Best Western Johnsonville.
Lovely friendly service and a great location north of the city, with plenty of shops and food options Surprisingly quiet for being so close to the motorway, and the bed was very comfy, so we slept extremely well.
Super friendly and helpful hosts. Very close to city on motorway. Spacious room with we needed. The only reason for the 3 star is the noise from the motorway and the musty smell in the room which did go away after opening the window for a while but made it even noisier. Good quick washing machine for only $3.
Standard accommodation in a working district near Wellington. Easy check in and check out, Satisfactory breakfast. Good for one night. It is in convenient position if coming or going to the Interislander ferry Very basic furnitures, very near to a major motorway.
Down for a funeral and staying on to catch up with friends. Good motel, clean, right at the end of the Johnsonville shops so close to shops, food, groceries etc. Central location, close to the city and a 5 minute walk to the train station. Close to motorway, but keep the windows closed and you don't hear it. On site under cover parking and on site coin operated laundry. Room is pleasant and had all you need. Would stay again .
We spent a night here to catch the next-day 9am ferry to Picton after driving from Waitomo Caves. It is only about 12 mins drive to the Interislander Wellington Vehicle Check-In. Rm 33 is a 2-bedroom unit. It looked neat and clean with all the standard facilities but had a slight musty smell which went away after a little airing. However, it is facing the highway and the windows are not soundproof at all! The incessant traffic noise kept me awake practically the whole night and I barely had 4 hours of intermittent sleep! The unit is spacious and the staff was polite and helpful. Though a mall and many restaurants/eateries are within walking distance, many of them were closed when we looked around. Perhaps it was because it was a Saturday evening. We ended up eating Japanese dons at a takeaway shop called YuDon. This would have greatly satisfied anyone with cravings for Asian rice and moist tender chicken (as karaage/katsu with curry/teriyaki style). Overall, Best Western Wellington is a functional and practical stopover to catch the next-day ferry from Wellington to Picton. Just avoid Rm 33 at all cost!
A small but very well run hotel. Reception and checkout were efficient and friendly. Rooms was very comfortable and quiet. Fast wifi, all the required amenities and lots of restaurants within walking distance. Complimentary covered parking. Reasonable rates.
Straight off the motorway and right next to the fire station the noise isn't as loud as expected (still need earplugs) and the walls between are not soundproofed (heaters pretty loud as well - lol). Staff are welcoming and the rooms are spotless on arrival but daily room cleaning doesn't even meet the level of skimming (pull blankets up, rinse cups, wipe sink, leave). This is close to the city - outside of peak rush times you will get in within 10 minutes. No good quality restaurants within walking distance but there's a McDonald's a few minutes down the hill and you can Uber in for exciting eats in the city. Johnsonville isn't pleasant to get around so get friendly with your gps prior to arrival.
Very happy with all aspects of our weekend stay. Our studio room was warm, comfortable, clean and modern. Very little motorway noise despite close proximity. Checkin and checkout quick, courteous staff. Would stay again without hesitation.
The Hotel is just off tge Johnsonville exit from the motorway into Wellington, bery easy to find. Room was clean and TV had plenty of channels. Service was friendly and efficient. Woupd I stay again, of course...
Best hotel we have stayed in for years! Cleanliness was exceptional, decor amazing, facilities were first class. Bed was so comfortable. Staff so friendly and helpful. Would recommend this hotel to anyone travelling to Wellington.
We stayed at this hotel as we did not want to stay right in Wellington. The room was spacious and clean and there was no traffic noise desipite being right beside the motorway. The undercover parking was vsry handy and the food establishments/supermarket was only a 5 minute walk. Recommended for families.
Pros Easy to find Good location Close to a variety of food outlets and within walking distance Easy parking, free parking Quiet Fair price Sky tv Cooking facilities Cons Rooms are a bit dated Shower/bath combination
A brief overnight stay before catching the Ferry the next morning. Easy 10min drive to the ferry. Despite this place backing onto SH1 our Room 5 was on the opposite side of the building and gave us a really quiet sleep. There's no Street frontage to this place as it's at the end of a driveway, making most things about this place quite relaxed and informal. However the Beds, linen and facilities are really good. Many food outlets within easy walk, I especially recommend the Irish Pub, The Inn Keeper as you receive a 10% discount if you mention you're staying at this Best Western. Con - bathroom fan is connected to light switch (personal hate of mine) and the fan needs replacing as its very noisey. Makes the guest reluctant to turn light on in the night as it'll wake other sleeping guests. Carpet needs a clean too.
I booked the Best Western in Wellington because of its close proximity to the ferry terminal. The location was awesome for this reason--it only took us 15 minutes to make the drive to catch the morning ferry. The room was very clean and had a heater which we needed because of the cold weather. Our room was very quiet and contained everything we needed. The owners were pleasant and accommodating for our needs. It was great having laundry facilities that we could use since we desperately needed clean clothes. The hotel is very difficult to locate (use your GSP) and be very careful on the last roundabout. The other drivers are not very patient as you try to locate Burgess Road. My only complaint is that there were many people cooking food in their rooms at night and the smell permeated the hallway. Luckily the rooms are sealed well enough that the food smells didn't come into the room.
One of us had a minor medical problem. Zoey was wonderfully helpful. Directed us to a local clinic. Things got resolved & back on the road swiftly. Room was clean, spacious & comfortable. Location was good. It put us north of Wellington traffic to begin the day.
Stayed here just one night. We got a free upgrade. Which was awesome. Zoe on reception you rock. The check in was fast and efficient. Her smiling happy face was a lovely sight for tired eyes. It is pretty close to the ferry terminal which was great because our ferry was delayed and it was a very choppy sailing and most of our group got seasick... so the fast check in was appreciated. The rooms were spacious and clean. Lots of towels and toiletries. Upon check out I saw they had the cookie time buckets I've been looking for. I asked Zoe if they sold them she said no but gave me a bunch for the kids. Would we stay there again? Absolutely!!!! Thanks Best Western you are the "Best"
My wife and I were due to stay at this hotel for three nights as part of a round trip of North Island. Unfortunately our studio room faced a very busy road and the noise was a constant source of disturbance. Without air conditioning we relied solely on the electric fan - we certainly could not open the windows with the traffic thundering passed all night. It was a great pity that this hotel failed to meet our needs as the young couple who run the place are clearly trying very hard to do their best for their guests. The room itself, although rather tired, was spotlessly clean. The following morning we were offered a room on the other side of the building but at this point I had booked to stay elsewhere. We were pleased not to be charged for the other two nights. We checked out two days early and drove up the coast to Wanganui for a much more tranquil stay.
Lovely and clean! Polite staff, good amenities. LOVED the spa bath Close to lots of food shops and only about 10mins from the ferry terminal The only dislike was the bed, it was uncomfortable but we were only there one night and you cant please everyones bed preferences
Nice tidy hotel. Friendly staff. Would recommend if you staying in Johnsonville. Nice sized lounge area, with two rooms one for the kids, and one for parents. Outside patio area. Good shower. Close to amenities.
Hotel prices are quite high in Wellington and we chose this Best Western because of better prices plus free wifi and parking. The hotel management and staff are extremely nice and allowed late check-out for us. Our room was large and quiet, although the decor is outdated and cheap. There was a kitchenette with cooking/eating supplies, two tv's, work desk, hot plate, etc. There is an on-site laundry available. Room was clean. The location is about a half hour drive from the airport or downtown Wellington, but the hotel is near malls and restaurants itself. We would stay again.
Central Wellington accommodation prices can be quite expensive. I had a rental car for my visit so 15 minutes travel was nothing and there is plenty of covered parking below the motel. Seemed an odd location, but is 2 minutes walk from the main Johnsonville shopping mall, supermarkets, eateries and fast food outlets. Some eateries will charge back to your room too. Staff were very friendly. I was able to arrange a late arrival and instructions emailed were exact and clear. Our rooms were ample all amenities you would expect in a hotel. We had complimentary wifi and Sky tv. Wifi reception was strong and no issues. The bath was spa type and the whole bathroom was clean. There was no air conditioning and as it is Spring, the weather wasn't too cold. A heater was provided and the rooms were nice and warm when we arrive late at night. The reception is located on the first floor (only two floors) which is accessible by a very slow lift or a stairway. Only a couple of things needed attention but our short stay, it didn't bother us. The mattress was a bit saggy on on side which gave my wife a sore back. The other was bathroom air extraction, the switch didn't seem to work and it was randomly operating. Overall, this was a very pleasant stay and recommend.
I was upgraded at no extra cost. The hotel was easy to find. The room was comfortable. I had to put the heaters on but they were very effective. The hotel is close to the motorway but that did not worry me.
Good value for a range of clients meeting locally. Rooms spacious, clean and comfortable. Staff friendly and helpful. Good quality continental breakfast. Facilities handy to shops and restaurants. Parking and wi-fi free.
Awesome experience, nice and clean room , handy location- 10 minutes driving to Wellington town, 5 minutes walking distance to mall and supermarket etc. very kind and helpful staffs . will definitely come back again!
The hotel staff were friendly and helpful on arrival and there is free covered parking which is not the case for many others in Wellington. The room was large but not very clean (still dirt and items on sofa from last guest, some substance spilled on wall next to sofa and beginning to mound) and the supplies were pretty minimal in the kitchenette. Over all it appears to be run and maintained on a tight budget. It will do for a quick over night but for the money I'm sure there are better places to stay in Wellington.
The room was decorated in an attractive manner and contained a few items to use for eating a meal. There were cafes and a grocery store nearby. Everything was clean and well kept. There was plenty of parking.
We stayed in the Best Western for six nights at the end January/ beginning of February. We had a one bedroom apartment on the top floor. We were at the end of the motel - away from the road and found our room quiet. The apartment had a pleasant view across looking across Johnsonville. The apartment was clean and comfortable. It has a small fridge, hot plates and enough utensils to cook breakfast and basic meals. It is in a handy location near a couple of Countdown supermarkets. The local area also has some restaurants and fast food outlets - in case you prefer not to cook. We did not have a car and found that the apartment is close to the train station. We found the trains clean and comfortable. We were able to get tickets on board for the ride into Wellington. The property has a guest laundry and charges $3 for the washer per load and $3 for the dryer per load. The Reception kindly lent us a clothes airer so that we could dry clothes that were unable to go through the dryer. The Reception staff were very friendly and happy to oblige.
Best Western Wellington is a warm and friendly place to stay. Wonderful staff and close to everything you need. Just far enough out of the way so that you are not distracted by outside noise. Easy to get to and wonderful views.
Really impressed! Great friendly staff, Love the old comfort feel with all the photos and original decorating. The food was beautiful and well presented. Thanks heaps guys would definitely recommend and will be back again!
Excellent, polite and helpful staff from arrival to departure along with good, all be it very basic accommodation, make this a good all-round motel. Wellington can suffer with very bad wind, so having basement covered parking out of the wind, especially for our motorcycles, is excellent. A good location near all the facilities you will need, and near Johnsonville station which is a 20 minute ride from Wellington. Also, only 20 minutes from the interislander ferry port. Only thing stopping it from getting 5 is the high price for the basic offering.
We stayed for only one night in a two bedroom apartment. Instead of central heating, the apartment had a portable heater in the lounge room and each of the bedrooms. The night was very cold but we didn't feel comfortable leaving the heater on going to bed so we turned it off, resulting in us waking up to a very cold motel in the morning. The room was also not ready at the check in time for another one and a half hours. This didn't disrupt our travel plans but could be annoying for others. Apart from these two cons, the place was clean, there was free parking and the wifi was complimentary.
Zoe_BESTWESTERN_WLG, Owner at BEST WESTERN Wellington, responded to this review
Thank you so much Missjte21 for staying with us and taking the time to post your review. I am sorry to hear that you didn't like our heating arrangements in the rooms. Those portable heaters are 2200W each with built in timer, which we thought are the best for our guests in the cold wellington weather. So guests have the freedom to turn it up/down temperature and on/off whenever you want for guests' best comfort. For check in, my apology if that causes you any inconvenience. Our standard check in time is 1pm which is earlier than most of hotels/motels. And we are always flexible for checking in earlier before 1pm, if you let us know in advance so we can clean your room first. We'll look forward to seeing you again in the future to provide you a better experience. Best Regards,
This is a family run motel with 22 rooms in an area called Johnsonville just a few km out of the main city. We had a very nice one bedroom apartment. It was very quiet and the curtains were dark enough to keep the morning light out and for us to have a good sleep. The beds are very comfortable and there are TVs both in the bedroom and in the lounge. There is also one heater each in the bedroom and in the lounge. The shower is on top of a bathtub. There are free toiletries including shower cabs (the first motel to provide this since I set foot in New Zealand 2 weeks ago). The room is clean and a kitchenette with microwave and cooker hob is available. There was an abundant supply of tea and coffee. The only minor complaint we have is that the inside of the kettle was all brown and made it look very un-hygienic. I believe some inconsiderate guest before us must have used it to boil tea or coffee. The guest information book has details of restaurants nearby, some of which give a 10% by showing the room key. Free Wi-fi of 3GB is available. There is also a computer near the reception if you need it. The owners/staff are very accommodating and kind.
Zoe_BESTWESTERN_WLG, Owner at BEST WESTERN Wellington, responded to this review
Thanks so much for taking the time to post your review about your recent stay with us at Best Western Wellington - we're thrilled to know that you enjoyed your stay. I am very sorry about the kettle. I have checked myself in all the rooms now to make sure they are all nice and clean. Thank you again for letting us know and we'll look forward to seeing you again in the future. Best Wishes, Zoe
We chose this hotel because it was close (10 minute drive) to the Interislander Wellington terminal but far enough out that the (covered) parking was free. Check in was a breeze and the guy on reception was amazingly helpful. Very generous free WiFi allocation and a comfortable and quiet room. Dominos pizza is just down the road and there are a few cafes too. We would happily stay here again.
Zoe_BESTWESTERN_WLG, Owner at BEST WESTERN Wellington, responded to this review
Wonderful review - thanks for your kind words and we hope you get to come back to see us again when you next in Wellington. Thank you, Zoe
It was a fair bit drive from the city, the room was amazing especially for the amount of people we had staying there. Lovely lady in reception was very kind towards us. We stayed for a couple of days here and I will definitely stay again in this place and tour this beautiful city. Good location close to shops and restaurants.
Zoe_BESTWESTERN_WLG, Owner at BEST WESTERN Wellington, responded to this review
Lovely to have hosted you for your stay with us and it's always our pleasure to accommodate our guests. Thanks again for choosing to stay with us. Looking forward to welcoming you again. Best Wishes, Zoe
We stayed at this motel at Johnsonville for 3 nights, we chose this because there is free parking and wifi. We are happy to find out that the car park is covered and free wifi is well enough to use during our stay, we had 5GB quota during our stay. And it just took about 5 mins walk to the nearest Johnsonville shopping mall, tho' is pretty small but you can find a few nice cafes for breakfast and it is not expensive. KFC is just around the corner of the motel, and countdown supermarket is also very close. There are some fish and burgers and other restaurants around. It is also close to CBD where it only takes around 15 mins via the highway. The manager of the motel is friendly and helpful, he came to fix up the ceiling light in 10 mins after we have reported the problem to the reception. Room is pretty big but it's rather old-fashioned. It's quite noisy during late night and early morning as our room is just behind the highway that we could hear the traffic noise. Toilet is not quite clean and sometimes there is some odour from the drain. Kitchenette is basic but we dare not use the water kettle as it still had some coffee stain left from previous occupants.
As I started to writing up the feedbacks for my NZ trip last year. Our experience with this motel was unforgettably negative. We didn't really recall what was the attitude of the old man in the reception during check in, because we were too tired from a long flight. When we were in the room, we heard the sound that something dropped down from the toilet. There was a light cover (arm length size) dropped to the centre of the floor from the ceiling. We immediately let the man in the reception know as it seemed unsafe for us. The man angrily told us IF WE THINK ITS NOT SAFE HERE, WE CAN CHOOSE TO LEAVE, BUT HE WONT COMPENSATE A NIGHT FOR US. I couldn't imagine his attitude could be more rudeness. First, I didn't scold at him and I didn't ask for any compensation but just showing my concern on room safety but in return I had no idea why he showed very angry and asked us to leave! It absolutely ruin our mood for vacation. He continued he was not the owner so he won't be responsible for hotel safety. We were surprised and angry but we were too tired to argue with this crazy guy and there was no other person in that motel to complain to (maybe that's reason why he was no control on his attitude), we just didn't extend our stay in this terrible motel!
Zoe_BESTWESTERN_WLG, Owner at BEST WESTERN Wellington, responded to this review
HI Joe, I am completely shocked by your experience in our motel last June. I am truly and deeply sorry for my motel minder's behaviour/attitude. Motel operation is a 24/7, 365 days. So we take 2 breaks each year and we had minders to look after the motel while we were away. I have dug up the minding report for last year and find your incident with the falling heat lamp cover. That cover is fitted well with the ceiling. It could be the cleaner knocked it loose when cleaning the wall and ceiling. Please accept my sincere apologies over this matter. Thank you for your review and letting us know about our minder. We had to completely rely on them to look after the motel when we are away. That minder couple have retired now. We will be very careful next time. Thank you and Sorry again.
This is our choice for over nighting before catching the Interislander.Five minutes walk to Johnsonville CBD, restaurants and train station. Clean and well presented rooms with all that is needed for the overnight stay.BUT watch out for the 80 km restriction down the Ngauranga Gorge. Staff were pleasant and helpful.Parking is under cover and has security cameras. Lift up to the floors
Peter and myself brought 7 people here with us as we operate a wee tour company. We booked three apartments for the couples and a 2 bedroomed apartment for the three ladies. The rooms were clean and convenient. Sonny and Zoe are great. Sonny even dropped three of our ladies down to a restaurant for us while we walked as two of them had walking sticks and it was dark and cold for them to walk there. We have booked again for 12 for one night in Oct to go to Wow. Thanks a million Sonny and Zoe Lynette
The Hotel was convenient to stay. It was convenient located near the market and for breakfast places. It was not too far from city. nearby places to visit in Wellington. The staff was friendly and caring.
The hotel was good overall. The room was clean room and staff were friendly. The only niggle I had was the distance from Wellington city, about 15 minutes drive in the car. As i booked by phone app and failed to notice the distance, perhaps my own mistake but the name Best Western Wellington is a little deceptive when the location is Johnsonville!
A local Motel at the far end of town opposite the fire station. It might be the only place to stay locally and is a popular overnight venue. The rooms are of various sizes and layouts and you are pretty close to the widest selection of fast food options anywhere.
We stayed here for two nights and was a pleasant stay. It us along side the jville motorway but we were on the Johnsonville side so the noise was not an issue. Decor was a bit tired but we were just after a bed in a clean environment so worked well. Recommended to a visiting family member too and they were also happy with their stay.
This hotel is actually located just outside the city, a 20 minute train ride into the city, and a short drive from the ferry terminal. That was great for us, because we don't like driving in strange cities, on the wrong side of the road! The room was spotlessly clean, and well appointed. The manager, Sonny, was very willing to point us in the direction of the restaurants and grocery stores. We had a medical emergency and he could not have been more helpful. Definitely recommend this hotel if you are touring the Wellington area. Hint--reserve early as he was completely full both nights we were there. Just one more little hint--the road to the hotel is at the corner of the KFC, otherwise it is a bit tricky to find.
We got a 2 bedroom apartment. It was awesome. Great location-close to all shops and eating places. Also has free wifi ?? It is great for individuals or small family. We spent 3 nights there and didnt have any problems. Highly recommended!
A little too far out of the city for our preference but beds were comfy. Staff were awesome and helpful. Unit was starting to age and not a lot of extras. Bathroom was very basic, one piece of soap and one flannel between us, one towel each. We expected road noise because of the promity of the highway but were pleasantly surprised that there was none.
Stayed just one night no food just a bed and go. Rooms are pleasantly spacious with wide hallway adding good relaxed atmosphere. Very clean tidy. Even a book stand in the hallway for insomniacs (cool idea) Would definitely stay again night manager was very helpful for directions. Was not the easiest place to find at night is only negative
Extremely clean and tidy, fully kitted out accommodation. The managers were fantastic. This visit was for a family event in Johnsonville, and it was an excellent choice for us. Handy to Johnsonville shops, and straight onto the motorway for travel into the city. Highly recommend this venue.
The hotel is in a suburb of Wellington named Johnsonville. It is a 20 - 25 minute bus ride into the CBD.The manager is very helpful and obliging. Room has a bathtub and the bed was comfy and the room quiet. Had dinner at the Innkeeper and the food was great and not expensive plus you got a 10% discount if you showed your betel key. Bargain. Best western also have senior rates.
We stayed in a one bedroom apartment on the second floor. The main room was very large with a kitchenette that included a two ring hob, extractor fan, sink, kettle and microwave. There was a good range of crockery, cutlery, cooking utensils and pans. There was also plenty of shelves and storage space for food. The bedroom was large, the bed was comfortable and there was a wardrobe, space for suitcases and a TV on the wall. The bathroom was also large with a very big shower over a spa bath, toilet, heated towel rail and large sink with good space for amenities. Overall I was very impressed with the size of room. There was also a balcony with two chairs and a table but it looked out on to a garage and industrial units so we did not make use of it. The hotel is up a small street set a little way back from the main road. There is traffic noise but not enough to cause a problem and I heard very little during the night. There is plenty of parking in good sized bays for larger cars. There is also a guest laundry room on the car park level. Overall, the hotel is very good and provides large and clean accommodation for a good price. It is a little way out of town and so you would need to drive 10mins to town for sightseeing etc. We parked each day at the museum (cost us $8-$20 depending on how long we stayed). So if you want to be close to the centre of town then this is not the hotel for you. Close to the hotel you have many take away venues (fish&chips, Chinese, burgers) and a few restaurants. There is also a large Countdown supermarket very close by for groceries. As a final point, I would mention that the WiFi was very unreliable and slow. On some days we could not connect at all and on others, when we did connect, it would be slow & then stop working altogether.
We stayed at the Best Western in Johnsonville for three nights. The check in was easy. The room spacious and the facilities were of the standard you would expect. WiFi was good speed and a generous allowance. Restaurants are a little hard to find in the locality but it has a shopping mall within an easy walk. Good value.
Best Western Wellington is an excellent hotel to serve as a stepping stone for passengers of the ferry to Picton. Nice and clean rooms, friendly and helpful staff, spacious parking facilities, quiet though nearby highway.
I cannot really fault the hotel: room had everything I could want. The staff was extremely friendly and the room was quiet. Unfortunately the village itself was not very nice and thus the view from balcony was not holidaylike. Also the train to Wellington took rather long, 30 mins and the Wellington taxi driver had no idea where this hotel is. If you plan to get here to sleep, this is a good place. If You would like to enjoy your local area, stay away from this suburb.
We turned off the main road and up a side road towards the fire station. We parked in the hotel's car park and, with trepidation, took the lift. One leaves the lift to see an open, bright area. Our reception was warm and friendly and we were given helpful information. The room was clean and comfortable. It must have overlooked the main road but we couldn't see it and were not troubled by it. Fortunately the WiFi was good because we had a issue with our bank accounts and were able to undertake internet banking without a problem. The hotel is conveniently situated for onward travel down into Wellington.
We had a lovely time at this hotel and we found it to be very clean and well equipped. The staff were most helpful and very friendly and we would certainly stay again if ever in the area. Easy reach of the city. can recommend the 1841 to eat, lovely meal both nights and you even get discount if you present your room key.
We went to the Edinburgh Military Tattoo in Wellington, along with thousands of other NZers. Accommodation was booked out Wellington wide when we got around to booking. A chance phone call by us resulted in the helpful people at Best Western having a cancellation and slotting us in. When we arrived they were incredibly helpful about all the sites in Wellington that we could see, where parking was, how to get there, restaurants/ takeways, and supermarkets in our vacinity. They were very well informed and available until midnight to help out. The room was spacious, quiet (no road noise), modern, clean and the bed was comfortable. We were close to the train, bus and actually quite close to Wellington CBD. Would definitely stay there again as a preference to being in a multi-storeyed hotel in town.
We used this motel as a base for exploring Wellington. It's a 25 minute train ride to the cbd and the train station a 5 minute walk. There is a mall, grocery stores and restaurants within a few minutes walk and it is very easy to access coming south on 1.
We asked to change to a quieter room where we could open the windows, no twin bedded ones were available. We had specified that we needed a quiet room on our reservation and the one we were given was right next to Highway 1 with no air conditioning. So our choice was to either swelter in a hot stuffy room or suffer the very loud noise, actually we were so close we could feel big trucks passing. It would have been fairer to tell us our request could not be met at the time of booking so we could have booked elsewhere. Wifi was very weak and slow in our room.
Hotel is located 8km from the centre of Wellington so if you're looking for an evening out in the city centre this hotel is a little way out. Having said that, it's friendly, clean and a decent night sleep so if you're just stopping over for the ferry the next day then it's great and there is a big supermarket next door as well as some decent restaurants.
This motel is tucked away and the landmark to look for is KFC. There is a gap in the traffic island to enter Burgess St when coming through Johnsonville. Access is easy. We were travelling with our adult daughter and my 86 year old mother-in-law so we booked a 1 bedroom unit. There is parking under the building with a lift to the accommodation which was great. Our unit was spacious, clean and comfortable. The Johnsonville shopping centre is an easy walk away, with takeaway food, supermarkets and restaurants available.
This hotel is a great find and one we will definitely use again, We had a very friendly and helpful welcome. The room was very comfortable and spacious and the hotel is ideally located just 10 minutes from the ferry terminal or CBD. There is also a good range of food outlets and a supermarket within a few minutes walk. I would recommend this to anyone.
If you are willing to stay outside the city then this place is good. Only a five minute walk from the train station and the surrounding area has places to eat. Showers and beds were both great and the room was roomy and clean. The only concern is the noise the doors make when they close in other rooms but the owners have put up signs to stop this so not much else they can do. All in all a great place to stay and would come back again.
Spent one night on way to Napier. The room was clean, quiet and comfortable. Parking was undercover. As we had telephone problems and had to use the hotel phone to contact Australia we were very surprised and pleased to find that the telephone call was not added to the bill. Many thanks.
Spacious , clean and comfortable rooms. Free parking, free wifi (500 mb daily). The staff were very friendly and helpful. There are lots of local shops and eateries in the area. To go to Wellington centre you can drive or take the train. If driving to town parking (not free) is available at the Te papa museum which has great exhibitions and is a must do for visitors to Wellington.
The room was very comfortable and clean. The staff had opened the doors and windows to freshen up the room which was an extra touch to our comfort. All amenities were suitable and clean. Beds were very comfortable and the overall decor very appealing.
A bit tucked away so look out for the sign as the hotel is off the road and down a driveway. Stayed 2 nights in a room which had bedroom with 2 singles and a queen in the main room. The room also had a small kitchenette and a large bathroom. Both the bedroom and main room had TV's which was good. The only downside to our stay was the amount of noise we could hear from the rooms above and next to us. Other than that the hotel is close to the city and there are a few eateries within walking distance.
An excellent location - both in relation to Wellington and its immediate area. Very easy access from the Highway, and a 5 minute walk to the station. So leave the car at the motel and enjoy the scenic journey into Wellington. Trains every half hour and no parking problems. The motel is located behind some workshops and next to the fire station. So it's really quiet! New, clean, well appointed and well designed, with friendly staff and comfortable beds.
I spent one night in this hotel and was very happy with the price and the location. The hotel had a small kitchen area and was very clean and modern in the room. The bar area provided a relaxing atmosphere to have a drink and unwind. There were all kinds of shops, restaurants and attractions very close to the hotel.
This hotel is tucked away so is a bit hard to find. Plenty of free onsite parking so easy to park and forget the car and walk the short distance to shops and restaurants. Owner was friendly and check-in was quick and easy. Room was comfy and clean with a kitchenette and decent sized bathroom. We only stayed for one night before catching the ferry and the hotel is an easy 10 minute drive to the ferry terminal. Wifi is free but limited.
Two nights here for a sales seminar. We actually used the lounge area for the small group seminar during the day and two of us shared the 2 room apartment. Everything we needed and nothing we didn't need. Clean and tidy and friendly staff. Good parking and plenty of food etc available nearby. No complaints.
We enjoyed our recent stay at the Best Western Wellington. The rooms are spacious and clean and include very nice kitchen amenities. There is a laundry facility on the premise which is very convenient to use. We liked that the Best Western Wellington is located within easy walking distance of good restaurants and a very modern grocery store. This property also has easy access to State Highland 1 and within minutes you can drive to the center of Wellington. Best of all the owners made us feel so welcomed. They provided us with very good advice for touring Wellington which made for a very memorable visit.
Wherever Life Takes You, Best Western Is There®
Each Best Western® branded hotel is independently owned and operated.