Promotion code

Best Western Hotel Svava, Uppsala

Bangardsgatan 24, 751 44, Uppsala, Sweden - See on a map
Best Western Hotel Svava - Hotel Svava The Best Western Hotel Svava is ideally located in the center of Uppsala. Come and experience our hotel near the major tourist attractions. Best price guaranteed and exclusive deals.

The Best Western® Hotel Svava located in the city centre, literally a stone's throw from Uppsala Central. Station, and is easy to get to, whether you travel by car, rail or plane and bus.

Best Western

Hotel Svava




Hotel advantages

  • Cocktail lounge
    Cocktail lounge
  • Safe deposit box
    Safe deposit box
  • Onsite laundry
    Onsite laundry
Show More Show Less

Guest reviews

In partnership with tripadvisor fr
Traveler's Choice
based on 130 guest reviews
Very Good
Business Business
Couples Couples
Family Family
Friends getaway Friends getaway
Solo travel Solo travel
Sleep Quality

"Väldigt bra"

Stay44118135697, Sundsvall, Sweden 07/05/2019

Clean and very close to the Centre. The only compain i have is aboit the double-bed, which was actually 2 single beds and they werw driving apart at night. But still comfortable. Nice, fresh and tasty breakfast in pleasant and quiet rooms.

"Good value of money and great breakfast"

Happiness19912629569, Kirkkonummi, Finland 29/04/2019

Good location, (railway and center), basic rooms, good value of money. Great breakfast and lovely and cosy athmosphare at the breakfast room. Can be recomended for short stay, specially if short acces to railway or bus station is needed

"Very small rooms, great location"

NishaVinay, Singapore, Singapore 13/03/2019

The hotel is located near the Uppsala central train station and the bus interchange. So location is great. Rooms are very very small but may be that's how they are in Europe to keep it cozy. Hotel staff was helpful. We stayed for 5 nights, it was the same menu for the breakfast every day. I wish they had variety. The breakfast spread was great, there were plenty of vegetarian options.

"Good hotel"

User 10/03/2019

Very good hotel and good location close to the rail station. Helpful staff and breakfast was good. My only complain was the desk in the room it was too small to get any work done. I would stay there again.

EvaR3497, Front Office Manager at Best Western Hotel Svava, responded to this review
Thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our property. Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come back and see us again soon. Best regards Eva Åhlander

"Reception staff "

petercF7200XV, Cork, Ireland 12/02/2019

Having arrived late Fanny in reception was very professional and accommodating and ensured I received premier treatment. Having had a long journey it was great to be treated so well and to find such accommodation and professionalism Many thanks

EvaR3497, Front Office Manager at Best Western Hotel Svava, responded to this review
Dear Peter, Thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our property. Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. Very nice words you wrote about Fanny, I will tell her about it. We hope you will come back and see us again soon. Best regards Eva / Front desk

"A bit dated"

LAETICOSTA, Bern, Switzerland 01/01/2019

Stayed 2 nights. Very convenient place as it is in front of the station. Many restaurants to choose and try around. The room and reception area were a bit dated. The room was pretty small but offers everything. Breakfast was a bit of a let down.

EvaR3497, Front Office Manager at Best Western Hotel Svava, responded to this review
Thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our property. Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come back and see us again soon. If I can be of assistance in the future, please don't hesitate to contact me at 018 13 00 30. Thank you again for taking the time to complete the survey. Best regards Eva / Front desk

"Lots to learn"

BigBill65, Salem, Oregon 07/12/2018

Well, I have spent the last nine days at this hotel, and there is a lot of info to provide you. We originally booked a small queen room, but were upgraded to a Superior room upon check-in. Very nice, friendly and helpful staff working the front desk. You should know that the rooms are small. The Superior room was bigger than the small queen, but it was only about 225 sq.ft. The bathroom was approx. 4x6, so it's a tight squeeze in the shower. There are only two spots to park out front and they are taken most of the time. But the parking garage is underground; go past the front of hotel and turn right on first side street, then turn down at first ramp underground. Park down there and ring the door for the front desk to let you in. The door says Svava on it. Pay for parking at front desk and put tag in car. Cheaper that way. There are four floors in the hotel. The bar is not really a bar. They have two barstools and a limited selection of beer, wine spirits and microwave food. The breakfast is fantastic! Everything you would want; eggs, sausage, bacon, fruits, vegetables, meats, cheeses, breads, cereal, yogurt, coffee, juice, pastry! This is truly the best part of the stay. The maids were efficient everyday, and there is a sauna here, but you need a key to get in. No pool, hot tub, or other amenities. 15 channels on tv with most showing English speaking shows from the 90's. All in all, a pleasant stay, but pretty bare bones other than the breakfast!

EvaR3497, Front Office Manager at Best Western Hotel Svava, responded to this review
Dear Sir, Thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our property. Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come back and see us again soon. Best regards Eva / Front Desk

"Two night stay for an academic presentation."

Berlingo11, Brighton, United Kingdom 14/11/2018

Chose this hotel because of it's central location in the city centre and within walking distance of the University, it also offers secure parking in an adjacent and separately managed parking lot. The reception staff could not have been more helpful and whilst the rooms were on the small side, they were perfectly adequate for a short stay - the units are built around a small shopping mall and views from the windows are slightly unusual in that guests are looking over various shopping units including the shopping aisle of a small surpermarket. Breakfast was included in the room rate and was of very good standard on a self service basis. Recommended for 2/4 day stays.

EvaR3497, Front Office Manager at Best Western Hotel Svava, responded to this review
Dear Sir, Thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our property. Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come back and see us again soon. Best regards Eva Åhlander / Front Desk manager

"Good location and close to train station"

Danette P, Palm Coast, Florida 06/11/2018

If you stay here be sure to ask for the rewards on your Best Western account. We booked through third party and manager first said no, but then they gave us credit when I checked in. The location is like a 3-4 minute walk from train station. The breakfast was good and the selection was fresh and plenty. They do have an ice machine which is great for Americans! Just ask at the front desk.

"Excellent location"

shellReading, Reading 04/10/2018

Close to the railway station and bus station, so excellent for access and travelling around. Also close to main tourist attractions. The room was comfortable, although there was an absence of shelves or drawers to put things when you unpacked and only limited hanging space, this was surprising as there was plenty of space in the room to rectify this (we had a deluxe room). The bed was comfortable. The breakfast was excellent with a very wide choice of fruit, yoghurt, col meat, cheese etc, everything you would expect, also delicious scrambled egg.

EvaR3497, Front Office Manager at Best Western Hotel Svava, responded to this review
Thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our property. Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come back and see us again soon. Best regards Eva Åhlander / Front desk

"Central and very good quality"

allandale2018, Gothenburg, Sweden 20/09/2018

The hotel is near to the Central station and near to the castle, the cathedral, parks, shops, beautiful bridges, restaurants and conference center.Good if you do a short visit to Uppsala for work and at the same time would like to enjoy the city.

EvaR3497, Front Office Manager at Best Western Hotel Svava, responded to this review
Dear Allan, Thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our property. Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come back and see us again soon. Best regards Eva Åhlander / Front desk manager

"Great location. Great breakfast. Reasonable rooms"

AllyJPally, London, United Kingdom 05/09/2018

I think you get what you expect at this hotel. The rooms are small but serviceable. The view of the supermarket is weird but you can get over that. The breakfast was really brilliant - fantastic range, choice and freshness. The location is great - right by the train station and close to lots of bus routes. Lots of shops and restaurants near by. No marks for beauty but top marks for functionality if you need a night or two in Uppsala!

"Nice hotel"

RiikkaK238, Helsinki, Finland 08/08/2018

Hotel was quite nice. Room was small but clean and bed was nice. Breakfast was great, fresh vegetables, bread, warm dishes, yojugrt etc. There was parking hall downstairs where you get your car. It cost 300 kronor/24 h.

"close to the railway station"

saronic, Zurich, Switzerland 07/08/2018

This hotel, named after a valkyrie of Norse mythology, has a very convenient location close to the railway station, but is also in easy walking distance to the town center with the main square, the river and most sights. The standard room I got was on the second floor and facing the street. Soundproofing was very good and I was not bothered by any noises. It had two beds, but I don't know how I would have managed staying there with my wife, since there is very limited storage space. For one person it was just okay. The bathroom was fine. It had a 'gentle soap' by the washbasin and in the shower, but no shampoo. The breakfast - on the same floor I was staying - had a nice choice of items, among them some of a more unusual kind like a 'ginger lemonade without sugar' and a very special, refreshing salad, consisting of water melon pieces, cucumber, fresh spinach leaves, cashew nuts, dried goji berries.

"Got a very strange room"

Pirividite, Oslo, Norway 03/08/2018

The hotel itself is completely OK, although nothing out of the ordinary. Conveniently located close to the railway station. However, my room was rather strange - very narrow and long, with a window close to the bed looking directly out into a sort of a patio. Neighbours could see me sleep if I kept the curtains open. Would recommend asking for a room towards the street instead!

"This hotel needs work"

SMWPDX, Portland, OR 18/07/2018

This hotel has a nice breakfast. But our first floor room was hot (the AC was very weak) and had an intermittent smell of sewage in the bathroom that we determined was coming from the shower drain. It was gross. The hallway carpeting on the first floor near the elevator is severely stained and in desperate need of replacing. It should never have been allowed to get to that state. I can't recommend this hotel.

Helen S, General Manager at Best Western Hotel Svava, responded to this review
Hi, Thank you for reviewing your stay with us. I am sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us! I hope you contacted the front desk so we were able to offer you a new room! I would also like to note that we are in the midst of renovating our hallway, we painted the walls and are changing the carpet in our hallways as well. Later this year we are also getting new elevators and our breakfast area fully renovated! We do hope that you will come and stay with us again! Sincerely, Helen

"Nice hotel close to the station with generous breakfast"

luciomoreno, munich, 12/07/2018

Nice hotel close to the station with generous breakfast. We booked a family room for our three young children (5,3,1) and the room was spacious. Staff nice and helpful. You can even have a free delicious espresso anytime.

Helen S, Hotelldirektör at Best Western Hotel Svava, responded to this review
Hi, Thank you so much for your nice review. We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and we do hope you will come back and stay with us again! Sincerely, Helen

"Not impressed."

Pappa37, Nossebro, Sweden 15/06/2018

When booking I was given the choice of "small room" or "standard room". I took the more expensive standard room, knowing from experience how small "small" can be. The standard room I was given was on the fourth floor, had windows that could not be opened and led into an indoor food court. There was no ventilation and the room, that was the size of a wardrobe, smelled food and bread. I really wonder what a small room is, because it was hard to see how anything could be smaller than this "standard room". And - there was no mini bar - rather disappointing!

Helen S, Hotelldirektör at Best Western Hotel Svava, responded to this review
Hi, Thank you for reviewing your stay with us. I am sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us, our standard rooms are fairly small in size but are equipped with the essentials. We also have superior rooms that are larger in size! All of our rooms have adjustable AC that can be controlled from a little unit right by the door. I hope that you contacted the front desk so that we were able to offer you another room! And even though we don't have a mini bar in all rooms, our guests can ask the front desk if they wish to keep something refrigerated and we will be happy to help. When we renovated, we decided to not use mini bars in the rooms for environmental purposes. We hope that you still enjoyed Uppsala and you are welcome back any time! Sincerley, Helen

"Lovely stay"

jacquilou22, London, United Kingdom 07/06/2018

We stayed 2 nights here for a family wedding. Parking was easy and it was simple to find. Good location right near train station, in middle of town. Staff were very nice and rooms were immaculately clean. Our Aircon didn't work in our room so we were given a fan (it was late when we got in) and we were moved without question in the morning when we flagged the issue. Also breakfast both days was delicious. This was the cheapest hotel we could find in the area for our dates and were Very pleasantly surprised with the outcome.

Helen S, Hotelldirektör at Best Western Hotel Svava, responded to this review
Hi, Thank you so much for reviewing your stay with us. I am happy that you enjoyed your stay and that we were able to quickly adress any issues that you had! We do hope that you will come and stay with us again! Sincerely, Helen

"SUPER(market) view"

User 03/03/2018

Horrible experience, the structure is quite old and run down. Rooms are very small and there's no space even to walk. Above all, half of the rooms have windows with an awesome view on the below supermarket: you can see people winding around and buying food underneath your bed! Breakfast is poor and the guests are noisy. Besides I heard a strong and annoying music coming from somewhere outside till late in the night. Never had such a discomforting stay!

Eva R, Front Office Manager at Best Western Hotel Svava, responded to this review
Dear Emiliano, Thank you for completing the surevy regarding your recent stay at our property. On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations. Your satisfaction is imoprtant to us and we will be using the feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we can offer a better experience for guests in the future. I wish that you had called the front desk during your stay so we could have helped you to a better view and if possible a bigger room. I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we have another chance to porvide you with a superior experience. If I can provide any assistace, please don´t hesitate to contackt me directly at [email protected] Sincerely, Eva Åhlander Front Desk manager

"Quite hotel, clean minimalist room,good location, excellent breakfast"

User 05/12/2017

I travel a lot, see a lot of hotels, usually I don't like BW due to inconsistency in their quality standards, but this hotel scored well for being centrally located, quite, clean, and featured a great breakfast inspired by a Swedish celebrity chef.

Eva R, Front Office Manager at Best Western Hotel Svava, responded to this review
Dear "Frequentbiztravel" Thank you for taking you time to answer the guset survey. I am glad you liked our hotel and I hope to see you here with us at Best Western Hotel Svava soon agian! Best regards Eva Åhlander

"Great staff, convenient location"

F K, Sthlm 27/10/2017

I stayed here for five nights. The staff was really welcoming and helpful without being to much. It was really something extra, great! The room I got was a standard room with a nice bed and large tv (for being a hotel). The breakfast had everything that I expect from a hotel of this class. The quality of the different food and drinks was however over my expectations (Brämhults orange juice to namn om example). I will definitely recommend this hotel to friends.

Eva R, Front Office Manager at Best Western Hotel Svava, responded to this review
Dear F K, Thank you for taking your time to answer the guestsurvey. I am happy to see that you enjoyed your stay here with us at Best Western Hotel Svava. Hope to see you here soon again at your next visit to Uppsala. Best regards Eva Åhlander

"A fine little, centrally located hotel"

Nielsjespersen, Denmark 14/10/2017

The room was OK, the hotel is very close to the station. The staff is very friendly. The breakfast is nothing special (it is advertised together with a top swedish chef - not something that I noticed in the selection, except for an avocado salad and the heerings). On the service side: the web page mentions ironing boards and irons in every room - mine had none so I asked the reception. They gave me the door code to an ironing room in the opposite part of the hotel where I could either bring my shirts or iron them - or I could carry a board and an iron to my room myself.

Eva R, Front Office Manager at Best Western Hotel Svava, responded to this review
I'm glad you had a nice overnight stay with us. I am sorry if it says on any bookingpage that we have an iron and ironing board in all of our rooms. These we took away when we renovated last year and we had hoped that all booking channels had removed that information. Hope we get the pleasure of seeing you here with us on your next visit to Uppsala. Best regards Eva Åhlander

"Great hotel"

Mikael R, Lowell, Massachusetts 13/10/2017

My family and friends stayed at this hotel to attend a wedding in Uppsala. The hotel was great- we were all very comfortable and slept well. Excellent rooms. Friendly staff. Delicious breakfast. Great location close to restaurants and transportation. I highly recommend this hotel.

Eva R, Front Office Manager at Best Western Hotel Svava, responded to this review
Dear Eva, I am glad you and your family enjoyed your stay here with us. I hope to see you here again! Best regards Eva Åhlander / Front desk manager

"Good location and clean"

Sisani, Dubai, United Arab Emirates 05/09/2017

We stayed at this hotel for 3 days, the staff was friendly and helpful, it was clean and very well located across the road from the train station. We found it very convenient to have a small supermarket right next to the hotel. We did not have a mini fridge in our room which made it difficult to store milk for our little son. Otherwise we really enjoyed our stay

"Fantastic hotel across from train/bus station"

VicBCTraveller, Victoria, BC 11/08/2017

This is a terrific little hotel. The room was large and very comfortable (love the wallpaper feature of a full-size fireplace - very cozy), and it had the best hotel bed I have ever slept in. I haven't slept so well in years - I wish I could have stayed longer. There is tea/coffee in the room, and breakfast is included. The breakfast room is nice and sunny, and there is a wide selection of hot and cold food. There is no restaurant in the hotel - just breakfast - but there is a small bar downstairs by reception, with complementary coffee, tea, and biscuits. There's also an actual computer in the lobby, which is handy. Nice staff, too. The Svava is across the street from the main station, and despite facing a fairly busy street, the rooms are very quiet. It's next to an indoor shopping area complete with supermarket, so snacks are close at hand. I've stayed in the Radisson and the Park Inn, and the Svava beats them both for comfort and value.

"City center, clean hotel"

kayuk970, Leicester, United Kingdom 27/07/2017

Great location in Uppsala city center. near to Train and bus station. clean and comfortable place. absolutely amazing breakfast, honestly one of the best breakfast I've tried in hotels. overall good experience.

"Optimal location, minimal space!"

Ritva M, Helsinki, Finland 24/07/2017

Svava is located very centrally, just one block from railway and bus station. Parking is possible around the corner in a private parking garage, from where you could enter the hotel without going outdoors. Very friendly service. Buffet breakfast quite adequate, nothing to praise though. General cleanliness was flawless, least some of the double rooms are really, really small! There was no other place to open your luggage than the bed. There was a stand for small luggage hanging on the wall, but its metal hooks were so low that only a very slim luggage could be placed on it - so absolutely no use at all. The only place for luggage was under the beds. Poor you if you have more than one cabin bag! Have you ever seen a wardrobe broad hardly 25 cm? Ok - if you just spend a night, but very uncomfortable for longer stay.

"Nice room and great service"

Malin_o_Jonas, Halmstad, Sweden 10/07/2017

Stayed for one night in my job, and the location is perfect. Room was clean and rather nicely furnished. Bed was really comfortable and I had a good night sleep. Very service minded and nice staff in the reception. Breakfast was good, there was a good selection of both hot and cold items. Would definitly stay here again.

"Clean, efficient and great breakfast"

Snapperseeker, Kawakawa, New Zealand 09/07/2017

We stayed 3 nights in the smallest of rooms but it was tidy, great location and friendly.. They do have an extensive breakfast to satisfy most choices. It was very good value for money. It is handy to the bus and central train station with coffee houses around.

"Good location, nice hotel"

User 28/06/2017

My wife and I visit uppsala frequently in the year and always stay at this hotel. It's situated in the centre of town and only a stones throw to the railway station and bus depot. There are many bars and restaurants on its doorstep. The breakfast is typically Swedish with a wide variety of food. Staff are great and helpful with info about the city. We will be staying here every time we go back to this charming city

"Pleasant place in the center of town"

User 20/06/2017

We had a lovely large room, although it faced the main street, and that meant some noise when the windows were open. The rooms facing the side street or the internal courtyard are probably quieter. The breakfast is copious. The locations is very convenient for the train station, so less wrangling of luggage. And it's a short walk to nearly everything else.

"Again BW :)"

User 27/05/2017

Some reasons BW gave now nice offers thats why again here. Its amazing locationfor Uppsala next main station and city center. Few supermarket in 1min and kiosk downstairs etc etc. Nice crew in hotel and really good breakfast

"Great heritage hotel in beautiful Uppasala"

Rudra2013, Bengaluru, India 24/05/2017

Very conveniently located in Uppasala, lot of places nearby to roam around, dine and shop. Very well connected to Central, Solna and other places Hotel is pretty good, with comfortable stay. And don't miss the special breakfast spread designed by celebrity chef Tina. A nice and comfortable stay over a business trip. Recommended.

"City tour"

TottieZainab, Turku, Finland 15/05/2017

Likes+++++ Its very clean Good location Good breakfast Comfortable beds Sound proof rooms There is a shop inbthe same building as the hotel Very close to the train n bus station --dislikes Pretty small lobby Gym is outside the building

"Convenient location"

User 14/05/2017

Great service, convenient location near centrum and bus station, excellent breakfast. We enjoyed our stay at this hotel and will definitely consider it for future trips. The breakfast was delicious and good selection of eggs, bacon, juices, cold cuts, yogurts, fresh fruits.

"Amazing hotel"

iva_naynay, Sofia, Bulgaria 14/05/2017

This hotel is lovely, comfortable, clean, quiet and the staff is extremely polite and helpful. The location is top. The central station is across the road. There is big shopping center next to the hotel and all many places for eating and to be seen.

"Functional and modern ro"

Bibliotekarien, Sweden 04/04/2017

Stayed for one night in April during a business trip. Was greeted by very nice members of staff who assisted with early check-in. Room was small but very functional and with a modern look. Very, very comfortable bed! Although my window faced the window of a grocery store, it was very quiet. No noise slipped in from the outside or from adjacent rooms. Breakfast was absolutely delicious with an exquisite touch. Would probably not stay here agin with family because of the small room, but will definitely stay here again on a business trip or when travelling with my husband.


ProfessorSassaroli, Pescia, Italy 14/02/2017

Nice location, close to the local station and the city centre as it is it just ok but to be fair they were renewing it so hopefully it will improve in the very next future! Staff very nice and helpful! Still a good option

"Great breakfast, good location, small room"

James P, London, United Kingdom 12/02/2017

The Hotel Svava is in a great location, right in the centre of town, next to Uppsala's central bus and train station and a short walk from most of Uppsala's main attractions. We stayed here for three nights in a twin room but, whilst it had two single beds, it wasn't really a twin. The beds were so close together they were basically touching and there wasn't any room to move them further apart. The room in general was a bit cramped but the bathroom was nice and had a great shower. We had a very good free breakfast included in the price. Loads of choice: a cereal area with pots of nuts and fruit to add to your bowl, lots of types of bread, cold meat and cheese, crackers, bacon, sausages and scrambled egg, fruit, yogurt, tea, coffee, biscuits and cake. I was a little annoyed that what was available changed over the three days we were there. Not planned changes in the menu, random things which suggested machines were broken or the staff just forgot e.g. on the first day there was no toaster and on the last day a juicer appeared. On Sunday morning the breakfast was packed, there simply weren't enough tables and chairs and we had to go away and come back later. However, no allowance was made for this when it came to what time breakfast finished so a load of people were frantically stuffing in their breakfast whilst staff cleared away the food. Overall I was happy and would stay here again. It was clean and comfortable, staff were friendly and the breakfast and location were great. The rooms are a bit small and whilst the breakfast was great a little more care needs to be taken with its delivery.

"Excellent location, small rooms"

IC4658, Turku, Finland 30/01/2017

I stayed at this hotel for one night during a business trip. The location is excellent, close to the train station and bus stops. I noticed that there was an ongoing renovation, but since I basically just slept at the hotel, I cannot tell if there was any extra noise during daytime. The room that I stayed in was clearly recently renovated, which was very nice. The bathroom was clean and fresh, although a bit small. The room itself was also quite small - it was a double room but it would have been a bit crowded for two persons. The breakfast was good, and the staff very friendly.

"Good location, convenient shopping"

User 20/01/2017

The location is very central and close to the railway station. In the basement there is a convenient supermarket for shopping. The breakfast was good but not that different from other swedish hotel breakfast (even they used the TV chef Tina to design it). Didn't like the pillows, they were too fluffy/inflated.

"Good location"

SwedenSkibum, Sweden 28/10/2016

The Svava hotel is located in down-town Uppsala just across the street from the railway station with good connections to Arlanda airport. The room seemed to be recently renovated but was still partly worn down, especially in the bathroom. Otherwise an good hotel at a decent price with nice staff, a good breakfast, and hassle-free wifi.

"Old building but still comfortable"

aquauomo, Toronto, Canada 11/09/2016

The room was old but surprisingly clean and fresh, i think was painted recently and the carpet still in good condition. A strange smell still persistend from the times smoking was alowed in the room but overall good conditions. I was there last night. Its all about location with this hotel. Right across the street from the main station and steps away from the old town centre. One thing i have to mention, i am not sure if this happens every day, but today, Sunday September 11, it was a mini buffet, free, for the hotel customers between 6 and 8 pm. Basic, but enough to cover for diner, thank you very much. A very good creamy ginger soup, a few cold cuts, 2 types of chease, some french style stuffed eggs, fresh bread and sallad with creamy dressings. Not very much but that was a nice touch from Best Western. There were people knowing the whole ritual and chatting with the waiter so i assume this had a precedent. The Single Room is small, see pictures but i dint soend much time indoors and why would you pay for more than you need? Shower is small and awkward shape but good water pressure, so not much to complain about that. Again, not top notch hotel but definitely a good return for your money.

"Best Value, five minutes walk from central station at Uppsala"

User 09/09/2016

You will soon find out that everything is just a couple of minutes walk away from this hotel. I remember that we enjoyed the atmospher and the hospitality at Uppsala. Down town was plenty of nice restaurants and bars just along side the river. Really enjoyed the stay at this hotel, the rooms had recently been renovated even the bathrooms and everything was clean. The breakfast was also very good and the service perfect.


MichaelBM, Hove, United Kingdom 30/08/2016

Location is excellent. I was there for 5 nights for a conference and found it useful to be so close to the centre of Uppsala, a few steps from bus station and railways station and a few minutes from the historic centre. Despite being so central, my room, overlooking the street was quiet. Other positives include an excellent breakfast and kindly, helpful efficient staff. My only reason for withholding a fifth star was that my single room was a bit tired and I didn't like the dipped floor shower which left the bathroom soaking. However, the hotel is undergoing major refurbishment, and my room was one yet to be refurbished, so there is every chance that things will be better in future. Although extensive building is going on, doors have been fitted in the areas being altered and there is no disruption, with building noises carefully restricted in number and timing. I would certainly return.

"Perfect location"

AnnikaCF, Vienna, Austria 23/08/2016

Best Western is always a good choice if you want something solid and not too expensive. Very nice staff! Rooms clean - nothing fancy. Location is perfect, as it is close to the train station and just a 2 minute walk from downtown Uppsala. Approximately 15 minute walk to Uppsala castle. If you bring your dog: one of the few hotels not charging extra for the dog. And: free coffee!! :) What more do you need.

"Very convenient location, clean and comfortable"

Phil H, Brighton, United Kingdom 21/08/2016

This hotel is in a very convenient location, close to the railway station and ideal for exploring the centre of this lovely city. Rooms are small but well equipped, and while some look a bit dated (and renovation is ongoing at the moment) they were very clean. If you have read the Lonely Planet guide to Sweden, you'll have seen this described as an upmarket business hotel; this is certainly not the case,but the hotel provides a comfortable base for a short stay in Uppsala. The breakfast (buffet) was very good, and the staff were helpful. The room rate was very reasonable.

"I would go again. Overall good experience"

Cosmopolitaly, London, United Kingdom 03/08/2016

I was in Uppsala for work and spent one night in this hotel. I paid 750 sek for a single room with breakfast. The hotel is located few steps from the train station and 10 min walk from the cathedral. My room was on the third floor overlooking a garden and was therefor very quiet. The room was clean and so was the bathroom. A tea&coffee set with a kettle was provided. Staff at the lobby were kind and helpful. Some parts of the hotel look a bit old and they have started renovation on the second floor. The building itself from outside would benefit from a renovation. My overall experience was good and I would return to this hotel again. There is a sauna in the basement which is free for the hotel guests but must be booked at the recepiton (consider reserving it at least 30 mins in advance as it needs to be heated). The sauna is a pinewood sauna with 4 benches (ideal for 4 to max 8 people). There are 2 open showers, a toilet and a small relaxing area with armchairs. Towels are provided. This is a coed/mixed sauna this meaning you may find other naked people using it (no bathing suits or flipflops should enter the sauna). I would suggest the hotel management to do some maintenance to the sauna area showers as it gets immediately flooded and slippery. Breakfast was good with a nice variety of savory food but lacking on the sweets side (no cakes or croissants). So it was perfect for me but not for those who prefer a sweet breakfast. Wifi in the room was ok. I think this hotel is a good option for a few nights in Uppsala and there is a big supermarket (open 7am-10pm) just moments away.

"Nice hotel close to the central station and the core of the city"

Per787, Esbjerg, Denmark 14/07/2016

Best Western Hotel Svava is a nice hotel with a good atmosphere. It is situated close to the shopping streets of Uppsala and close to the Railway Station. The staff were friendly and helpful, the rooms were clean and comfortable. I can recommend the hotel and would stay there again myself.

"Your home"

User 14/06/2016

Excellent location very close to the rail station. Helpful staff. Good quality of food. Rooms are very clean with comfortable bed. The hotel offers a free bicycle It is exceptional. Really you will enjoy your stay .

"Go for it!"

Rim F, Catania, Italy 14/06/2016

This hotel has a great location in Uppsala, very close tot he train station and in the city center. Close to restaurants, shops, conference venue, .... . The staff are very friendly and helpful, the rooms are clean. I really enjoyed my stay!

"Nice hotel with great location"

User 05/06/2016

Good service, wifi (a bit inconvenient, if staying longer - 3 day passes,). Breakfast selections is large and tasty. Great location, near to the Uppsala C station and also not far from all the sights. 1st floor does not have a great view.

"Pleasant Stay"

Veronika660, Prague, Hlavni Mesto Praha, Czech Republic 04/06/2016

A nice hotel close to the railway station and all the major sights in Uppsala. I had a single room with a window facing the supermarket (meat and bread sections...). It was great to have a fridge and tea/coffee making facilities in the room. The reception staff was very kind. Good breakfast, though the breakfast room could be quite busy sometimes.

"Good for location"

Ola K, Southern Poland, Poland 28/05/2016

If you come for very short stay you can choose this hotel. Well located in the near city center lets to sightsee this old city. Quite good breakfast but not so convinient rooms. Hotel mostly for business trip.

"Good hotel let down by one awful experience"

DrHang, London, United Kingdom 22/04/2016

Stayed in this hotel twice last year in 3 different rooms. For the price range this hotel can be good value for money if booked in advance. The location is excellent as it is only a couple of minutes away from the train station, lots of shops around as well. Some of the rooms were a bit tired but the sauna was great. The breakfast was also good. The biggest let down for me was the inconsistency in their customer services. One evening my colleague and I were in the area and wanted to go in for a drink but the staff member on duty wouldn't serve us. I explained that I previously stayed there twice, and had another booking coming up in a few weeks' time which she could have easily checked on the system. Again, she just turned us away without a convincing reason. I emailed the Best Western headquarter about this and had a reply from a manager who apologised for the incident. Apparently they only ran the bar for staying customers as they didn't have a lot of space in the lobby area. If that was the case then fair enough but it wasn't written anywhere. Well actually, it was a Monday evening and there were only two people occupying a small table, and the lobby was quite big with plenty of sitting areas. So I cancelled my booking and never set foot there again. If they cared enough they could have followed up my last email, but they didn't. They didn't even confirm my cancellation as I booked directly. Hope the way I was being treated had nothing to do with me not looking like a local. To be fair when I stayed there the service was good, but one awful customer experience really ruined it.

"Average hotel"

JR66426, Ferrara, Italy 20/04/2016

The room sizes vary quite a bit. The rooms facing the main road are decent sized. The rooms in the back are small and on the top floor even worse. Some of the rooms need an update. Breakfast is good with a sufficient selection. In the evening a simple complementary buffet is offered. The internet works through telia for three days and needs to be renewed after that.

"No sunlight, good breakfast"

Charlotte G, Braunschweig, Germany 10/04/2016

The hotel room was clean and well equipped, although the bathrooms are very platic-y. Tasty breakfast is included in the price. One word of caution: I had a room on the fourth floor with a tiny window to the supermarket, so there was virtually no way to tell if the sun was shining or not. If staying here, you should ask for a room overlooking the street or at least not on the fourth floor.

"Excellent place for stay "

Kavin D, Stockholm, Sweden 21/03/2016

Everyone one must stay here. Best place for stay. Neat and clean washroom. Food was good. Staff was helpful. What ever we require they provided us. Thanks for helping us during our stay Highly recommend place for stay


nisseresa, Hallnas, Sweden 14/01/2016

Nice room . It was spacious, with all requirement needed. Silent, despite the central location near Uppsala Resecentrum. The breakfast buffe was very good and a good choise of glutenfree opportunities. Easy to check in and chech out.

"Fresh and convenient"

Rolle M, Linkoping, Sweden 12/01/2016

Stayed for two nights while my son played floorball in the city. The hotel is located very central near the train station, lots of pubs and restaurants in the area and plenty of stores close by. Nice room, perhaps a little small on the downside. Big nice breakfast and friendly staff. Recommended!!


Berninatraveller, Switzerland 05/01/2016

Best things are its location, opposite of the train station and tghe fact that you can borrow a byke to move around the (very attractive) town. My room was at the back and not very comfortable. Breakfast was good.

"Not bad. Good food."

Rainer1964, Oulu, Finland 15/12/2015

The hotel is very conveniently by the train station. The room was smallish, but usable - I only slept there. I was positively surprised by the food: a good evening snack/meal and a very good breakfast. My favorite was the motorized orange press to make fresh orange juice. This is a chain hotel, and it has the feel of one, but otherwise ok. At the time I visited the hotel didin't have an alcohol license for some reason, and we couldn't get a beer at the bar or from the minibar. That is very strange.

"Happy Surprise"

enricocoste, Grenoble, France 01/12/2015

I booked this hotel because the one where I usually go was fully booked. It was a happy (also cheaper) surprise! The room was OK, maybe a bit small but just fine for me. The staff was friendly. What was really remarkable (considering the price I payed for the room) was breakfast: here was a very wide selection of different food: both sweet and salty, fresh fruits, pastry, fresh juices, ... a real plus!

"Really bad WIFI network"

George M, Athens, Greece 25/11/2015

The hotel is located just across the central railway station and just few minutes walk from the centrum. The room it was really clean but the decoration and the feeling that one gets is a room that has not been renovated for ages. Upon arrival you get prepaid vouchers for internet connection for free but the internet connection quality is extremely unstable and slow. Its ok to read and send emails but not anything more than that.

"This is a rather cheap centrally located hotel in Uppsala"

LarsRo, Malmo, Sweden 16/10/2015

The hotel is located just across the street from the railway station, and thus in the heart of the city. Rooms and beds are quite small, but clean and well kept. Free wifi. The breakfast buffet is quite good with a variety of cereals, bread, cheese, ham etc as well as scrambled egg and bacon. It's a good hotel if you are on a budget and want to stay centrally in Uppsala

"Cheap, central hotel"

Beff123, Forde, Norway 11/10/2015

I chose this hotel because it was cheap, and as a tourist, I wasn't planning to spend much time in the room. The hotel is located in short walking distance to the railway station. The hotel itself, wasn't very fancy, a bit old fashioned and tired. But it was clean, and the room was comfortable and spacious enough. The hotel didn't have a restaurant opened in the evening, but severed a simple evening meal of soup, bread and cold cuts and cheeses. The breakfast was simple but sufficient considering the room rate was as low as it was. However, the hotel was close to several restaurants for dinner. The hotel also lies in the same building as a small shopping centre, with a supermarket if you want snacks. The receptionist was very helpful with questions about sights worth seeing. I would stay in this hotel another time, because of price and location.

"Clean and well located"

Barbara C, London, United Kingdom 04/10/2015

This hotel is literally a few minutes walk from the station, which was great as I was arriving quite late at night. My single room was quite small, but not cramped, it was extremely clean, and the shower was excellent. The buffet breakfast provided a decent enough choice and very fresh bread rolls, and I especially liked being able to make my own freshly squeezed orange juice. I had perhaps the strangest view from my room from any hotel I've stayed - a birds' eye view of a supermarket below! It was fun for one night/morning, but the novelty would probably wear off ... :)

"Fantastic breakfast with delicate vegan dishes!"

User 01/10/2015

Fantastic breakfast with delicate vegan dishes! Tips on how to make yor own delicate avocado and cress hard bread sandwiches. Fantastic melon salad with cashew nuts and spinach. I will definitely be back!

"We felt welcome"

Monalara322, Trier, Rheinland-Pfalz, Germany 28/09/2015

After a long search for a hotel that also takes dogs in Uppsala, we finally found our refuge in the Hotel Svava. The staff was very friendly and helpful, the breakfast was very good. The only point is, that the room had only a window to a shopping mall indoors. That was a little bit awkward, but for one night ok.

"Highly recommended"

Maxi_SA, Port Elizabeth, South Africa 24/09/2015

I was a bit sceptical, having stayed in other fairly average Best Western hotels, but this is certainly quite different to the norm. I really enjoyed my stay in the hotel and in Uppsala. Positives: - Location is fantastic. Right opposite train station. Above supermarket. Short walk to major attractions. - Staff were friendly and helpful. - Room was comfortable with free wifi, good desk, mini fridge. - Bathroom was comfortable - although there was only a half shower door so water went everywhere (was the same in all the hotels I stayed in throughout Sweden so maybe normal?) - Coffee, tea, hot chocolate in rooms. - Very quiet once windows closed. - Breakfast was really special - one could squeeze ones own juice and they had interesting and different breakfast options. Only thing is that it got quite warm in the room with the windows closed, even if one switched on ventilation. But it was quite noisy with the windows open.

"Everything good in calm Uppsala"

Latebloomerz, Austin, Texas 23/09/2015

Room was large and very pleasant. Sauna was great. Breakfast buffet was great. When we checked in, the staffer said there would be a free light dinner; but it was actually plenty for a good meal. I don't know if that free dinner was a regular thing, as we stayed only one night, Sunday. Very close to train station, which makes it an easy move from hectic Stockholm. Uppsala is a nice calm place with a few major sights; we regretted not spending two instead of one night there.

These reviews are the subjective opinions of individual travelers and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.