ROOM 1
ROOM 2
ROOM 3
Promotion code

Best Western Plus Hotel Salinas Valley Inn & Suites, Salinas

4.0/5  - basé sur 286 notations.
187 Kern Street, 93905-2016, Salinas, United States - See map

Visit our hotel in Salinas, California, the Best Western Plus Salinas Valley Inn & Suites, to enjoy a comfortable stay near top activities and attractions. You'll enjoy every minute of your visit to our Salinas hotel, thanks to our array of amenities, starting with the outdoor heated pool and spa. Don't forget to enjoy our free, full breakfast, which includes hot eggs, meat, pastries, coffee and more. With free high-speed wireless Internet and a business center that offers copy, fax and computer services, you'll have everything you need to stay connected on your journey. Located off of Highway 101, our central California hotel has 17 suites for extra space and comfort, some of which features its own hot tub and others featuring two separate rooms. All guest rooms boast cable TV with HBO®, microwaves, mini refrigerators and desk areas. You'll find no shortage of things to do and see near our hotel in the Monterey Bay area, including the popular Salinas Rodeo and the Salinas Pro National Motorcycle Races at the nearby Salinas Sports Complex. We're located very close to Historic Downtown Salinas, the Steinbeck Center, Monterey Bay Aquarium and the famous Laguna Seca Raceway, so you can enjoy a wide variety of activities. Don't forget to check out the California International Air show at the Salinas Municipal Airport or the many car shows and races nearby. Then, of course, there are the beaches of Monterey Peninsula which offer the perfect place to relax and catch some sun by the cool Pacific Ocean. Those traveling for business will enjoy our Salinas hotel's close proximity to government offices, courthouses, agricultural companies and healthcare providers. We also offer meeting and conference facilities for those who need it. Book your stay at the Best Western Plus Salinas Valley Inn & Suites today, to experience all that the beautiful central California coast has to offer near our Salinas hotel! Enjoy your stay.

Best Western Plus

Hotel Salinas Valley Inn & Suites

LABEL_ITINERAIRE

LABEL_DEPART:

LABEL_ARRIVEE:

Hotel advantages

  • Free parking
    Free parking
  • Outdoor parking
    Outdoor parking
  • Onsite laundry
    Onsite laundry
Show More Show Less

Guest reviews

In partnership with tripadvisor fr
based on 286 guest reviews
NOTE ISSUED
Excellent
102
Very Good
97
Average
43
Poor
28
Terrible
16
REFER TO NOTICE
Business Business
48
Couples Couples
77
Family Family
99
Friends getaway Friends getaway
20
Solo travel Solo travel
16
SUMMARY NOTES
Cleanliness
Location
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Value

"A wonderful trip"

4
26/07/2018

A 5 night stay and very enjoyable at the Beat Western Plus Salinas Valley Inn. The staff was welcoming and pleasant. My room was clean and I slept very well in the room. Breakfast was just right to start my day! Thank you BW!!

"Very Clean!"

5
19/07/2018

Hotel is clean and comfortable. We usually stay at Marriott properties but they were full. We weren't sure what to expect and were pleasantly surprised. There are two Best Western properties on this street - be sure you get this one. We will definitely stay here again!

"Clean and Comfortable"

5
19/07/2018

This Best Western was very clean and comfortable. The staff was very friendly and helpful regarding all my requests. The daily hot breakfast was a huge plus, as I would be up and leaving for work relatively early in the mornings. I hope to stay here again the next time I am in town.

"Comfortable and Welcoming Stay"

5
16/07/2018

This Best Western was pleasantly located near downtown Salinas, and close enough to the freeway, that it was a >30 min. drive to Monterey. The room was very clean, and I was able to use their fitness center and eat complimentary breakfast every morning. I hope to stay here again the next time I am in town!

"Clean, comfortable and convenient, but dissapointment with breakfast."

4
06/06/2018

As a Best Western member I have confidence in their properties and standard of service. Front desk staff late at night were efficient and helpful and the allocated room (314) was excellent. Large, very clean with an extremely comfortable bed. Overnight no problems at all. Our disappointment related to the breakfast buffet. Very well appointed and presented, spotless and regularly updated, but somehow the food (eggs, oats, bacon) lacked taste. (Personal observation the parking area was full to capacity overnight. The majority of vehicles appeared to be 'contractor's trucks'. However, eating in the Breakfast room between 7.15am and 8am we were surprised that it was almost empty, and never more than three people on a midweek morning).

daniel o, Manager at Best Western Plus Salinas Valley Inn & Suites, responded to this review
Thank you for the excellent review and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

"Disappointing"

2
27/05/2018

Checked into room after front desk discounted King Suite room for $159. When went to Room overhead light in bedroom didn't work because of short in two switches. I asked for another room and was told none was available and no refunds. This is against the law. When I said I'd call another hotel, front desk lady all of a sudden said she had another same room was available. It wasn't same size room but adequate for my needs. Didn't appreciate bait and switch tactic but new room was better. Out of principle and being in legal profession I wouldn't recommend anyone should be asked to sleep in a room with an known electrical short in the wiring

daniel o, Manager at Best Western Plus Salinas Valley Inn & Suites, responded to this review
We apologize for any inconvenience during your stay. However all the other lights worked except the one over the ceiling. It looks like the light bulb was out. Even though we were sold out as per your request desk clerk moved you to a different room. Sorry you had to move and we can not control light bulb going out.

"BW Plus Salinas review"

1
09/05/2018

Overall I was very satified with the staff and amenities. I was checked in quickly, the room was clean, not fancy. Check out the next day was quick. I had a good hot breakfast that was satisfactory. Overall a good experience.

daniel o, Manager at Best Western Plus Salinas Valley Inn & Suites, responded to this review
On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we offer a better experience for guests in the future. I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience. If I can provide any assistance, please don't hesitate to contact me directly.

"Will definitely come back!"

5
22/04/2018

This hotel was easy to miss. There was another Best Western on the same exit 2 buildings away. Our room was clean, spacious, and quiet. Breakfast was also good, and I am a big fan of the oranges that they serve they are SUPER SWEET! Staff were all courteous and friendly. Will definitely be back!

"Pleasant Stay"

5
25/03/2018

This hotel was centrally located within Salinas; restaurants were easily accessible. My room was clean and the staff were very helpful with any requests I had. The breakfast was also great, they served eggs, bacon, etc.!

"Great stay"

5
25/02/2018

Spent 1 night here. This hotel was very nice and what I expect from a Best Western Plus. Rooms were clean with plenty of space. Front desk was friendly and we were given extra toiletries upon request. Bed was comfortable, tv worked well and fridge got cold. I will definitely keep in mind on any future nights.in Salinas.

"Great location and breakfast but some obvious glitches in service. Overall, lots of potential!"

4
27/01/2018

I give this hotel an overall grade of "A-" because this is a gorgeous hotel in a great location, but they overlooked some obvious details with regard to service. Unlike the other BW hotel down the street, this one is a little further away from the highway and McDonald's, so we just felt a little safer. I think this hotel is a fair value for the money and has a lot of potential. Positives: Location, location, location. We could hardly hear the highway due to this hotel being just a little further away from traffic. That was nice. The lobby is huge and beautiful, as was our room. Very clean, and the layout was very doable for our family. The hotel room was split between two adjoining rooms, so my kids had their own room. That worked out well! Also, breakfast was spot-on. Clean, large breakfast area with plenty of selection and beautiful presentation. The few staff members on hand were polite. friendly and attentive during breakfast. No detail was overlooked. Negatives: There were some obvious negatives that travelers should be aware of. First, the parking lot was under construction while we were there. Three-fourths of the parking lot was roped off and not accessible. The problem was that there no signage or visual aids warning guests that the parking lot was under construction, nor was there signage to support us in finding alternate parking or another route around the hotel. Another big negative was the sink handle. The water spout was reversed for hot/cold. The staff warned us that those were reversed, but that could be hazardous to small children who turn the water on for cold and get burned by the hot water. Another problem (a pet peeve of mine as a hotel reviewer), was the size of hotel staff. It appeared that there were literally 2, maybe 3 staff members running the entire hotel. This one lady was working the front counter, then doing the laundry, then doing like 3 other jobs. While I commend her work ethic, it should not have been like that. Half the time there was nobody working the front office. That's a security concern for me and an inconvenience to hotel guests like me. I personally think hotels should have a staff member at the front desk at all times.

"Salinas Valley Inn Best Western"

5
22/12/2017

We had a good nights sleep with a good breakfast in the morning. There were plentiful and quality food choices. We would definitely stay again. It was easy to access from the interstate and easy to find. The rooms were comfortable. The hotel was close to restaurants for our supper meal.

"A great and affordable place to stay"

5
13/11/2017

It's a great place to stay on trips to Monterey. I normally stay in Monterey itself, but when the hotels are booked or too expensive, Salinas is a great alternative. The rooms are excellent, and the beds are very comfortable.

"Highly recommend!!"

5
06/11/2017

We arrived at 9;00 pm after a 3 hour drive and a 10 hour work day. We were greeted by Mona at the front desk. she pleasant and friendly. I told her of the long day and said a cup of coffee word be great. She let us in the breakfast room and told us to help ourselves. Asked her when the Jacuzzi closed she said !0;00 pm but told us if we wanted to stay later we could. she made sure there were fresh towel for us and told us to enjoy.. So many hotels my wife and I go to always say no to bending the rules... Mona was the best and did everything with a smile!! Room was clean, nice and plenty of channels on the TV. I will definitely stay there again!

"This place gives Best Western a really bad name!"

2
02/11/2017

"We rang the bell at the front desk for 5 minutes before the hotel clerk appeared. I requested a room on an upper floor so I didn't have to listen to people walking around overhead, but was given a 2nd floor room(I was lied to by the front desk clerk that the third (top) floor was closed by the manager for repairs). I listened to people walking overhead all night. The room was clean, and the beds were comfortable. OK breakfast, but items ran out and there was no attendant to replace them or clean the tables. I don't recommend staying here." My wife and I have always preferred to stay at Best Western hotels in our travels for their dedication to excellent service and comfort. Shame on you, Best Western, for allowing this kind of irresponsible management to tarnish your reputation.

daniel o, Manager at Best Western Plus Salinas Valley Inn & Suites, responded to this review
Thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our property. On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we offer a better experience for guests in the future. I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience.

"Lodging in Salinas CA"

4
27/10/2017

Not too many choices available, so this option shines by comparison. Nevertheless, the quality is good. Lots of consistent roar from freeway so perhaps better soundproofing would be in order. Otherwise, quite satisfied with our stay.

"2 room suite is huge and very comfortable"

5
23/10/2017

We booked the king/queen 2 room suite, and it was perfect for our family of 4 with 2 big kids. Most other hotel chains can't accommodate us comfortably in their suites. It's always a struggle, but this was perfect.

"Manager was rude"

3
16/10/2017

Checkin was rude, Breakfast was great and the day staff was really good. Checkin lady wasn't there for 5 minutes as i stood at the desk. The manager was rude when one of the parents had an issue with the room.

daniel o, Manager at Best Western Plus Salinas Valley Inn & Suites, responded to this review
I apologize for any inconvenience during your stay at our property. If there was an issue with a room please be more specific on what the problem was, so that we may resolve the issue. Thank you

"Clean hotel, convenient highway location"

3
08/10/2017

Spacious, clean rooms, friendly service, convenient location off the 101 freeway. Breakfast included within room rate, but poor quality & presentation; although this seems to the standard with BW hotels in the US.

daniel o, Manager at Best Western Plus Salinas Valley Inn & Suites, responded to this review
Thank you for your response regarding your stay at our hotel. With your comments we will make every effort to improve the breakfast.

"5 Star"

5
02/10/2017

I was pleasantly surprised by the quality here. It was a last minute booking so I was desperate. I will definitely keep them in mind for future booking. The room was a good size, it was clean, and the breakfast was great.

"Tired and worn..."

2
02/10/2017

For $179 per night, surely you can find a better value for a weekend hotel stay. The carpet in the room was dirty, hot water a scarce commodity, and the breakfast buffet had some really funky tasting eggs. While the staff was nice, this is a facility I'd avoid, especially for the price tag

, Manager at Best Western Plus Salinas Valley Inn & Suites, responded to this review
On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we offer a better experience for guests in the future. The room rates due vary based on weekend and special events. I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience.

"New and everything is in order"

5
11/09/2017

This is a relatively new property and everything is new and clean just as it should be. Includes the Plus breakfast, eggs, bacon, waffles, etc. Nice option to start off the day with hot food. Staff was courteous.

"Wayyyyy Overpriced!!"

2
04/09/2017

Hotel was just OK, but clearly needs renovating and updating. One night stay, regular room, including fees was $297. Wow, what a rip! Hallway to room not well lit, multiple visible patches along hall ceiling where work had been done? Room A/C unit was noisy and not very effective. Tiny, tiny dressing area sink and mirror next to exit door. TV reception poor. Overall, this stay was a mistake!

, Manager at Best Western Plus Salinas Valley Inn & Suites, responded to this review
I'm sorry to hear that your stay was not pleasant after seeing the access panel along the hallway ceiling. It's unfortunate you had to pay the higher room rate when traveling through the Labor Day weekend. However this is normal during holidays and peak summer season. Thank you for your response.

"Family time"

4
04/09/2017

Pool could be cleaned more often. Never saw a maintenance guy cleaning it. Beds were great. Good service, nice and friendly. Breakfast could use more variety. Overall stay was great. Would stay again if I was in the area.

"Great hotel"

5
02/09/2017

I stayed here one night in August, 2017. The room was spacious and clean, quite comfortable. The location was perfect for accessing all restaurants and shopping. Actually, the sunset view from the balcony was lovely.

"Cleanproperty, average breakfast"

3
01/09/2017

Nestled among a cluster of many places to stay near the Salinas Convention Center, this motel offered an average+ experience. Nothing out of the ordinary, just a dependable place to stay for a night or 2, close to Monterey Peninsula. Breakfast offered eggs, hot cereal, yogurt, waffles, and the other things that make a full breakfast. Breakfast room a little crowded.

"Relaxing Stay for Vacation"

5
29/08/2017

Stayed here since Monterey hotels had no vacancy, or were over-priced. This was a great place to stay, as it was only half an hour away from the coast. We will definitely be staying here again the next time we visit Monterey.

"Pleasant Stay in Salinas"

5
29/08/2017

This was a great place for me to stay and get rest during my business trip. The complimentary breakfast and wifi were also a huge plus. The staff was also very respectful and helpful whenever I asked for directions or extra supplies.

"personal"

4
27/08/2017

Very clean and very comfy bed. Only one comfy chair in room so needs a couch or at least another comfy chair. The staff were wonderful, cleaning lady and the young ladies working in the breakfast room.

"Good stay overall"

4
10/08/2017

Spent one night here with wife and two kids. I felt it was bit overpriced, probably due to location. Staff was friendly enough. Breakfast was decent. There was a foul smell in the corridors, stairs and elevator but the room was clean and no smell. Overall decent stay.

"Comfortable and clean... But oh thar breakfast! "

3
09/08/2017

Importantly rooms were large and clean and the lady who checked was friendly and helpful. All was perfect until breakfast. The choice was fine but bit dazzling and making our own waffles was fun. Coffee was dreadful instant Nescafe from a machine - why not a decent machine with freshly beans?? Very good annoyingly the cutler was the cheapest plastic variety totally incapable of cutting bacon or stabbing a piece of bread! I understand they want to use plastic, but better functional ones are available.

"Excellent Service and Amenities"

5
09/08/2017

The staff at this hotel was very welcoming. They readily listened to my requests, and made the effort to ensure I enjoyed my stay. Complimentary breakfast is also a huge bonus! I will be sure to stay here again the next time I am in town.

"Choose a Different Location"

1
03/08/2017

I stayed at this BW+ with my wife and toddler. We had reasonable expectations considering the price point: a quiet room, a comfortable bed, and a peaceful night before a long drive the next morning. Unfortunately, none of these expectations were met. The walls at this hotel seem paper-thin. We heard loud guests in the room next door, thumping from guests above our room, and slamming doors from the parking lot exit and fitness room all night. Asking the front desk to intervene did not solve the problem. The beds were not comfortable, although the hotel did attempt to compensate with lots of pillows. It was, unfortunately, one of our worst experiences at a hotel. I do not recommend the BW+ Salinas.

, Manager at Best Western Plus Salinas Valley Inn & Suites, responded to this review
Dear Christopher We apologize for any inconvenience during your stay at our property. However this is a busy summer season and lots of guest are traveling. Perhaps we can offer a upgrade to a suite unit on your next visit to the area at no additional cost. Thank you

"Inhospitable to toddlers"

1
28/07/2017

Made a reservation weeks in advance to get a crib for our baby; was told upon checkin that they won't be providing one. They actually suggested that they could provide a blanket and a pillow -- is the baby expected to sleep on the floor in best western plus nowadays? Never coming back here.

, Manager at Best Western Plus Salinas Valley Inn & Suites, responded to this review
I apologize for any inconvenience our insurance will allow us to provide cribs. Thank you

"comfortable stay"

5
27/07/2017

I had a great experience at this hotel and it exceeded my expectations. The hotel staff was very friendly and helpful. The Room was clean, the shower had good water pressure, the in room refrigerator was a plus, and the pillows were great.

"Problem stay"

2
25/07/2017

About 5-6 minor problems. Had to wait 20 minutes for their hot breakfast. The Best Western Plus was a minus this time. They need more staff. When breakfast arrived it was fair. Staff in the morning was over worked and expected to do too much.

, Manager at Best Western Plus Salinas Valley Inn & Suites, responded to this review
Thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our property. On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we offer a better experience for guests in the future. I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience. If I can provide any assistance, please don't hesitate to contact me directly at 831 751-6411. Sincerely, Daniel Oh Manager Best Western Plus Salinas Valley Inn & Suites

"Service with a smile"

4
21/07/2017

I pulled in about 9:30 pm exhausted after a very difficult stay. The woman at the reception desk could not have been more pleasant. We had a nice conversation and she even offered to move her car if I could not find a spot on the sight. She greeted me with a smile and a "caring" feeling....

"Good Value priced hotel to stay"

4
10/07/2017

We always look for BestWestern hotel to stay when we are on the road, it is clean and price wise, it is reasonable and right too. We recommend Bestwestern hotel for everyone who is looking for a clean room with reasonable and affordable price

"Just your basic hotel"

3
07/07/2017

The best western is ok, but it is nothing special. The breakfast is average with some eggs and bacon, waffles, cereal, coffee, juice, yogurt and oatmeal. The rooms are large in size but the new auto light switches (which are probably a new code requirement) are annoying, not to the fault of the hotel, but still annoying, you constantly have to turn them on, they shut off when you are in the bathroom or in the shower too. The staff was ok, again nothing out of the normal, they did their job.

"6/28/17"

1
30/06/2017

Way too expensisve for an average hotel in Salinas. Did not offer a corporate rate. Breakfast was not up to the same level as a Holiday Inn or Hampton Inn. It was very clean but the room was small. Alot of noise due to the close proximity of the freeway

, Manager at Best Western Plus Salinas Valley Inn & Suites, responded to this review
Mr. Kenneth, It's unfortunate that you had to come on a busy weekend to stay with us. The room rates are seasonal. We did give a 10% discount on the reservation. Every property offer different items to there breakfast menu. Not all guest rooms are located next to a highway.

"Very Pleased"

5
20/06/2017

The accommodations at this hotel were very comfortable. The staff was friendly and helpful. I would definitely recommend this hotel to those staying in the area. Some friends and I took at 7200 mile trip on motorcycles. Best Western became our hotel chain of choice because of their service and comfort of the accommodations.

"great hotel"

5
09/06/2017

my family and I really enjoyed our stay, the room was very clean and spacious, the bed was extremely comfortable after a long day. We will use this hotel if in the area again, it was so easy to find and close to the freeway. the staff went out of their way to make our stay enjoyable

"Would stay again"

4
06/06/2017

Aside from the coffee pot leaking while brewing, we really enjoyed the room, the breakfast, the hot tub/pool, and fitness room. The bed was SO comfortable, don't think I moved all night! I would definitely stay here again.

"Average"

3
05/06/2017

Average hotel. A little attention to detail would help. Our room had dirty socks from the previous guests in the corner of the room. Housekeeping took our soap from the shower the next day, and didn't give us a replacement. Also, they left us with two towels when there were four of us in the room. It was easy to ask for the items, however that shouldn't be necessary when staying at a hotel.

, Manager at Best Western Plus Salinas Valley Inn & Suites, responded to this review
Thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our property. On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we offer a better experience for guests in the future. I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience. If I can provide any assistance, please don't hesitate to contact me directly at 831 751-6411. Sincerely, Daniel Oh manager Best Western Plus Salinas Valley Inn & Suites

"Very accommodating staff"

5
04/06/2017

We reserved 2 rooms and requested they be next door to each other. When I called the hotel the night before to explain that we would be arriving late, but were concerned about our request, the manager blocked off our rooms the night before, as an accommodation for us.

"Convenient location"

4
30/05/2017

Clean room, comfortable bedding, larger rooms. Staff was pleasant, wifi was a bit weak and the noise from the street quite loud even with the windows closed though. But easy access to freeways, stores and walkable to fast food

"Ms. Dominique Rivera"

1
29/05/2017

This was the worst guest relations I've ever experienced in my entire life. Dan Oh is not fit to represent this brand standard. His staff is terrible from their demeanor to representation to their hygiene! The only help we received after they fumbled on 16 rooms was a new girl training named lisa that followed me out to help. Christi and Dan are a epic fail.

, Manager at Best Western Plus Salinas Valley Inn & Suites, responded to this review
On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we offer a better experience for guests in the future. This was a tentative reservation no group contract was initiated and no payment was received by your tour operator. Therefore is was not a guarantee booking. If I can provide any assistance, please don't hesitate to contact me directly at 831 751-6411. Sincerely, Daniel Oh Manager Best Western Plus Salinas Valley Inn & Suites

"Travel with Dad"

5
19/05/2017

It can be difficult traveling with an elderly man but the staff was very helpful and friendly. The breakfast room was clean and neat. I would stay again. It made our stay a lot easier. We would definitely stay there again. In fact, we plan to return in a couple of months.

"Disinterested Front Desk"

4
02/05/2017

On the night we arrived, the front desk person never even noticed that were were there. We were the only persons in the lobby. I guess she was totally immersed with her "facebooking" activity. I had to "cough" to call her attention that we need our room and that we just drove 337 miles to get there.

"Great Experience"

5
01/05/2017

The staff was friendly even though we checked in late in the evening. The room was very clean. The breakfast was delicious and all items were available even though we were there towards the middle/end of the breakfast time. Great experience!

"Thanks for letting my dog stay!"

5
29/04/2017

Not all Best Western Inns allow dogs. You just have to go in and ask. We had just been at another BW not far from Salinas Valley Inn and it was a definite No. So, I was a little apprehensive. The attentent at the desk said she would call her boss just to be sure. He even worked the fee for my dog into the amount for a regular room. Very nice of him!

"Clean rooms, convenient location. Friendly service"

4
17/04/2017

Stayed at the hotel for two nights. Nice sized room. Very clean. Breakfast was decent which for a BW is surprising since it is not made in a restaurant kitchen but in a microwave or toaster oven. I will definitely be returning here whenever I am staying in Salinas on business.

"All but the Pillows"

4
04/04/2017

Nice stay, clean and quiet. Friendly staff and free parking. Outdoor pool and spa area. Poor vending choices and no market store to really speak of. Close to restaurants and shopping. Very uncomfortable pillows (at all BW properties).Otherwise a pleasant stay for business.

"Don't come for the breakfast"

3
31/03/2017

The room was comfortable & fairly quiet. The hallways and breakfast room looked more like a public health facility. My great disappointment with breakfast began with the Nescafe, sorry, but I really prefer real coffee. The breakfast items choices were rather scarce, and poorly presented. The hotel seems understaffed, and those few staff members look overworked and a little grumpy. Other than that, it was great...

"Staff"

3
27/02/2017

Very disappointed in that we requested a fireplace, never advised no wood included then purchased wood that would not light...even after purchasing additional starters and burning a full magazine (we do know how to start a fire).

"Poor plus"

2
21/02/2017

Overall it did not meet my previous experiences at a BW Plus. I always try to pick a plus as they are generally nicer . The person who welcomed us was very unwelcoming and I was the only one in the lobby. Did not ask if I would like a certain floor. Did not tell us about wifi, breakfast or anything.

salinasvalley93905, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Salinas Valley Inn & Suites, responded to this review
Thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our property. On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we offer a better experience for guests in the future. I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience. If I can provide any assistance, please don't hesitate to contact me directly at 831 751-6411. Sincerely, daniel oh manager Best Western Plus Salinas Valley Inn & Suites

"Loved it"

5
26/01/2017

The beds were comfortable the room was updated and clean! The full service breakfast and staff. My flight was delayed and i arrived later than expected and they were so kind they had everything ready for me i just had to sign the dotted line and I was off! I had a few questions about charges on my card they were sure to cover everything and make sure I had everything answered before leaving. My family is in Salinas and whenever I visit this will be where I stay.

"Beware you will be charged for staff errors"

1
08/11/2016

Stayed at Best Western Plus 187 Kern St returned home from a wonderful 3 week vacation to see I had an extra charge of 242.00 .Called talked to manager Dan said the bed cover was red the sheets were pink. Yes the cover was a reddish brown the lighting in the room with every light turned on was still very dark so I did not notice the pink sheets. Known Fact white mixed with colors using bleach would cause the pink sheets and brown cover to turn reddish DO NOT STAY OR PAY FOR STAFF ERRORS

"Nice"

5
29/10/2016

The entrance is well lit. The front desk area is open and clean. The room was nice. We had to eat our breakfast quickly as we had to be somewhere. The waffle makers are easy to use and everything tasted good. We enjoyed the fresh oranges and apples as well. The small sized shampoo, conditioner and soaps seemed ok, nothing special so I'm glad I brought my full-sized items from home.

"A stay on the way to Pinnacles National Park"

4
27/10/2016

I always choose Best Western Hotels and I was happy with the property in Salinas. I was on my way back from a 8 day trip up to Redwoods National Park and decided to stop for the night in Salinas. I wanted to venture to Pinnacles National Park the next day and Salinas was a good stopping point. I liked the ease of access to the hotel from the freeway. It was well lit at night which was good since I came in later in the evening. The property was clean, well decorated and easy to park and access the front of the hotel. I felt safe entering and exiting the hotel. The rooms were nice, bed was comfortable and amenities all worked and were functional. Breakfast was satisfactory. The only issue I had was hot water. It seemed to be lacking and only was able to take a luke warm shower. Other than that, everything was great. I would stay there again if I needed too.

"Best Western Plus Salinas Valley Inn & Suites"

5
24/10/2016

I would definitely recommend this hotel, rooms are very clean, with more than adequate space. Hotel staff was excellent and efficient. If wanting to stay near the coast for reasonable accommodations, this hotel is about 15 minutes away from Monterey and would highly recommend.

"Excellent value"

5
18/10/2016

Excellent hotel at a reasonable price. Nothing was missing and all in order. Clean, attentionned personnel and excellent breakfast. First time at this hotel and I will come back. I strongly recommend this hotel.

"Not a good night sleep - get a room not facing the highway"

2
09/10/2016

We got a Suite room for 4 (King + Queen) on the far end of the hotel facing the 101 highway. Noise isolation was very bad so the highway was heavily felt. This really hurt our sleep. For the price I'd expect better soundproofing, maybe we should have asked for another room after we head the cars and trucks when we stepped in. Other than that, hotel was nice and clean. Regular boring breakfast, staff was OK.

"Good Service"

5
16/09/2016

Enjoyed my stay at the Salinas Best Western. The Staff was great. I would defintly return back there. I also like the city. it had lettuce every where. it is also close to santa cruz. Can you send a free night for the next time I go? thank you.

"Best Western in Salinas"

5
16/09/2016

Excellent all the way around from staff, to rooms to breakfast selection. This is the first Best Western Plus that I have stayed in and I travel extensively for business. Excellent choice and will continue to stay here in the future. Was an excellent location to where I conducted business, easy off and on freeway.

"not worth the cost to stay"

2
06/09/2016

bath rooms were clogged with bobby pins and and plastic, dirty the noise is loud near the door theirs a air gap on the bottom of the door and can see the outside lighting and amenities were missing in the room. should have the king in the main bedroom area and queen in the living area buts it backwards.

"Good Quality"

4
25/08/2016

A highly specced hotel for the price, with a pool, multi-room suites and a launderette. Teh location is alright if you are prepared to drive, but there are only a few restaurants within walking distance. Breakfast choices were excellent.

"Definitely recomended"

4
10/08/2016

A lot better than Bakersfield best western plus one. More like what expect from best western plus level hotel. Clean lobby, nice room, bigger room, a larger queen bed, clean carpet, bathroom and bed. BW should review their hotel if it does not qualify plus level, demote it. If we book a plus level, we have certain level expectation. Not just book, hope the best. Fitness room needs yoga Matt, a large excerise ball, clean towels etc.

"Over zealous cleaning staff"

2
06/08/2016

Standard roadside hotel, nothing special. Horrible stench of bleach from the bathroom, even with the door closed, and even after taking a shower and running the fan. The manager was actually surly and rude when he contacted me to follow up after I asked the front desk to contact him. A second manager called me later, and she was much better. Swimming pool was dirty, breakfast basic, service mediocre at best. I could hardly wait to get out of there.

"Very Good Value"

4
11/07/2016

I often stay here when attending races at Laguna Seca. It is a 20 minute drive, however the price is often an excellent value compared to other hotels in the area. The rooms are comfortable, well furnished and clean. The staff has always been helpful & courteous. The breakfast food is very well prepared, and has reasonable variety. I have never used any of the facility "extras," pool, fitness room, etc.

"Business Trip"

5
13/06/2016

The hotel staff is very helpful and pleasant. The hotel itself appeared very clean. My room was clean, the bed was very comfortable and the breakfast was better than average. Definitely would stay again.

"Stranded in Salinas"

5
30/05/2016

We were heading for graduations and fun with family for a month in our truck and camper. We left on Thurs and Fri our transmission dumped its fluid as we were parking in an RV park in Monterrey. We ended up in Salinas at the Ford dealership where we were told our transmission had to be replaced. When we checked in to the Best Western Plus we told our story and the staff did everything to help us have a pleasant stay. We were given a microwave and an extra chair and everyone was very good to us. We were there for 8 days. After the treatment we received we will stay at Best Western wherever we find them.

"Not impressed"

2
28/05/2016

This was one of many Best Westerns where we've stayed and it was just below ok. The desk staff don't seem well fitted to the hospitality industry. They just go through the motions, not particularly friendly or welcoming. No "thanks for staying with us" or "how was your visit?" A man behind the counter who appeared to be the manager never even looked up from what he was doing to say hello or smile. The room was adequate, clean and quiet. Our request for a room away from the freeway was honored. Breakfast was deficient. It seemed to be the bare minimum of items available to call it a full breakfast. The plastic cups for juice were so stuck together they were unusable. No additional creamer flavors for coffee. Not too much seating either. Some of the lobby they have could have been utilized for more tables & chairs. Will not stay here again.

"CAUTION, worse experience ever"

1
28/04/2016

Worse experience ever! My wife and I are still trying to get over the trauma this place caused us. windows won't close/lock, all windows NEED replacing noise not clean place was "improved/remodeled" un-proffesional, corners cut and apparently on a low low budget. worst breakfast ever, glass like bacon, nasty white eggs in while liquid, old and dried pastries service was horrible, unwilling to make up for their many many shortfalls. on paper and in pictures this place looked like high class and something real nice but in person its a dump. I wish nobody else the same experience my wife and I had at this place. list goes on, too many to list

"Average Best Western"

3
04/04/2016

Came here with my 5-year-old son for a one night stay. On the bright side, check-in went smoothly and the room was clean. However, this is not a great location for families. It was too windy to use the outdoor pool, but we probably wouldn't have stayed in the pool long anyway because of the car exhaust coming from the freeway. And as for service, when I have checked in with my son at other Best Western Pluses, the staff often offer suggestions as to activities in the hotel (such as board games) or in the surrounding area. Not so here. Neither the decor nor then staff seemed warm and friendly--just sort of void of personality. Also, the area isn't particularly pleasant to stroll through with kids. There is another Best Western on the same block. It probably would have offered better value.

"Surprise in Salinas"

5
04/04/2016

The Best Western PLUS was a surprise to have been found in Salinas. All the aspects of the property were excellent, and the staff was efficient. The breakfast was a little deficient in that not all items were available at the 6:30 am opening time. There was a minor plumbing problem with a slow tub drain, but overall the experience was delightful.

"Nice hotel for the price"

4
30/03/2016

Stayed one night while traveling summer, 2015. The staff was friendly. Complimentary breakfast was the typical selection. Breakfast area was small. The refrigerator that contained yogurt was a bit obscured. It was on the floor underneath a countertop. I did not notice it until I saw someone squat down to open the door and remove a yogurt.

"Great Service, clean, easy to get to, and best breakfast"

5
25/03/2016

I have stayed here several times, and they are consistently one of the best motels I have stayed in. I especially received good service when having to checkout early on this last trip. I will definitely be back.

"great stop, right off of 101."

4
24/03/2016

comfortable, good breakfast, pretty good gym. in a good location to break from our coastal drive from LA to San Francisco. i wish the fan could have been set to run constantly, that helps me sleep. Coffee was cold and had run out by the time I got to breakfast.

"Broken clothes dryer and unhelpful staff"

1
18/02/2016

We stayed in the suite because the king size bed was big enough for our three kids and the queen size for use was in a separate room. Enough space for us and lots of luggage. BUT: after four days on the road we did a load of laundry and discovered that the dryer didn't work. Asked the hotel staff to let us use the hotel's dryers and they refused - they offered to refund our two bucks, but only in the morning when the manager came (after the time we needed to leave). Had it not been for this, it would have been ok - our youngest was happy that the TV had PBSkids, the wifi worked alright, there was a fridge that we made use of. The room design isn't ideal - if you turn on the light over the sink, it illuminates the king size bed. And the hinges on the bathroom door tilted the wrong way so that it would swing open if not latched shut, instead of swinging closed like it should have. But for $169, it was ok.

"Bad Service"

1
11/02/2016

No manager on site to handle things when problems arise. I was told I need to call the following day and talk to Dan, the manager because he had the day off. No supervisor on site either. Staff/front desk just gives you the run around.

"Choices Choices"

4
11/02/2016

You have a choice between this Best Western or the Best Western Colonial just two doors down. Good value for the dollar. Freeway access to Hwy 101 just 100 yards down the road. Close drive to eateries or hit the Mexican Restaurant right down the street. Staff is friendly and provide you with all the information you need for the local area. I will stay here again...

"clean and comfortable"

4
16/12/2015

very clean, spacious room, nice granite bathroom counter, desk for laptop with plenty of room, comfortable bed, hd television with a good television line-up, plenty of outlets for charging stuff, restful stay, close to shopping and restaurants, helpful staff

"NICE HOTEL QUESTIONABLE LOCATION"

4
08/12/2015

Large clean room, comfy bed, friendly staff. I wouldn't stray too far from the hotel on foot - sleazy neighbourhood..We chose this as a cheaper alternative to Monterey hotels and drove the short distance back and forth. It worked for us and we would probably stay again.

"REPORT ALL LOOSE SINK & SHOWER HANDLES"

1
30/11/2015

Turned shower handle to off position but water kept running. Tried again and handle came off in my hand .Reported this and was moved to another room . Manager wanted to charge me $200.00 even after showing him how flimsy handle was in "new" room. Manager told me that he would drop charges to $50.00 if I gave all 10 on review.

"Staff sociable and flexible"

4
14/11/2015

Our daughters softball team and families stayed her during a recent tournament, the staff were very accommodating of our needs, room changes, big crowds in the pool and hot tub and lending us the breakfast room for a team Chinese takeout. Would stay there again

"Not a great value for what we paid"

3
11/11/2015

Hotel itself was very nice - looked new or recently refurbished. Room was large, beds were comfortable. However, the pillows weren't terribly comfortable, the toilet clogged for no reason, the bathtub didn't drain properly, and the hot water was not consistent. Not sure if I'd stay here again.

"Best western plus "

4
07/11/2015

I really enjoyed my stay here. Great breakfast in the morning! They really do everything they can to take care of you. Also, it is a short drive away from some beautiful places, like Monterey Bay. It was the perfect place to stay for what I needed. I loved it!

"Good nights sleep"

4
01/11/2015

We stopped here when passing through for a visit to Pinnacles National Park following a long drive up the coast from Channel Islands National Park. Room was comfy and clean and hotel staff was friendly. The area was interesting with all the farming going on so we googled info and found out this is where a large portion of lettuce is grown in the U.S.

"Great stay after initial check in frustration."

4
02/10/2015

We had reservations for 5 individual nights in September. Upon arriving late, we had our last full day at Yosemite National Park, for check in we were informed the first 3 nights had been cancelled due to the credit card not going through. We recently had a fraud issue and had been issued a new credit card number. They were pretty full due to the wildfires in the area, but did have a room for two nights which was the type room I had reserved. After making some phone calls and evaluating the situation, the third night was reserved and they also found the remaining two nights reservations (I had been told they didn't have those initially). Lesson learned for all rewards members - make sure your cell number is linked to your account. Due to high fraud and reissuing credit cards I'm sure this happens frequently. The next day I called home to retrieve messages and discovered the staff had called my home the day before prior to cancelling the three nights reservations. My original rates were honored as I had reserved several months in advance. As far as the stay, the room was clean and bedding, towels, etc. comfortable. We did not have any other issues. We did not use the breakfast area, nor the pool or fitness area. If I had my cell phone number in my account I believe the frustration issue would have been avoided. We would definitely stay at this location again in the future if we are in the Salinas area. We enjoyed our stay at this Best Western very much and would definitely recommend it.

"Very clean and accomodating"

4
25/09/2015

Requested a room on ground floor due to my husband's recent knee replacement and it was perfect. Do not usually take advantage of the free breakfast but had time and it was wonderful as well as their brewed coffee. No odd, stuffy odors in the room and it seemed spotless so I was impressed with that. The rates were high because of the Monterey Jazz Festival but that is my only complaint.

"Always helpful"

5
17/09/2015

i have stayed at this motel many times. It surpasses even many other Best Westerns in service and quality, especially the one almost next door which almost caught on fire and the owner refused to call the fire dept. Since then, we have always stayed here and never been sorry.

"Great value for the money!"

5
13/09/2015

I was impressed with the value of this hotel for the price especially compared to other area hotels. The free internet and free breakfast were both above average. I'd stay here again if needed for sure! It was a really quiet hotel as well especially with how close it is to the freeway. I never heard a peep.

"Excellent Clean Hotel"

5
09/09/2015

We stayed at this location twice over the Labor Day weekend whilst visiting the San Francisco area. My wife said that this was the cleanest hotel that she had ever stayed in and even told the lady cleaning the rooms how impressed she was with the cleanliness. The free breakfast in the hotel was good and the staff were very friendly and answered all of my questions. The rooms were quiet, a good size and the beds were nice and firm, we all slept very well.