ROOM 1
ROOM 2
ROOM 3
Promotion code

Best Western Hotel Executive Inn, Mount Gilead

4.0/5  - basé sur 133 notations.
3991 County Road 172, 43338-9529, Mount Gilead, United States - See map

Welcome to Best Western Executive Inn! From the Wyandot Lake Premium Water Park to the Mid-Ohio Sports Car Course, guests at this Mount Gilead hotel are never at a shortage for entertainment. Whether travelers are here for an event at Kenyon College or a meeting at a local business such as Kokosing Construction Company or Ytak, being close to everything makes for an easy commute and blending leisure with business. Medical tourists with Morrow County Hospital enjoy our comfortable, relaxing atmosphere while workers with Dana Corporation and Taylor Industries depend on us to be a home away from home. We welcome students at Kenyon College for extended stays, and families especially enjoy our outdoor pool. Spectators for the world-famous car course take advantage of blocked rooms for big events. Our Mount Gilead hotel is a short drive to major metropolitan Columbus, OH. Away from the hustle of the city life, we offer a charming countryside hotel in a historical community. Head to the Columbus Zoo and Aquarium for a day of exploration, or the Magic Mountain Aquarium for a real look at what’s under the sea. The Polaris Fashion Place Shopping Mall is a must for those who consider a great find akin to a great sport. No matter what type of entertainment you have in mind, it’s all easily accessible when staying at the right hotel. This charming and peaceful hotel is situated close to I-71 and a short drive to many local attractions and Columbus. The hotel is surrounded by historical landmarks in downtown Mount Gilead, and guests enjoy the scenic tranquility of Mount Gilead State Park and golf at the Pine Lakes Golf Club. Reserve a relaxing escape to Best Western Executive Inn today! Enjoy your stay.

Best Western

Hotel Executive Inn

LABEL_ITINERAIRE

LABEL_DEPART:

LABEL_ARRIVEE:

Hotel advantages

  • Outdoor pool
    Outdoor pool
  • Air conditioning
    Air conditioning
  • Free parking
    Free parking
  • 24-hour front desk
    24-hour front desk
Show More Show Less

Guest reviews

In partnership with tripadvisor fr
Certificate of Excellence 2018
based on 131 guest reviews
NOTE ISSUED
Excellent
52
Very Good
46
Average
22
Poor
8
Terrible
3
REFER TO NOTICE
Business Business
29
Couples Couples
31
Family Family
54
Friends getaway Friends getaway
7
Solo travel Solo travel
8
SUMMARY NOTES
Cleanliness
Location
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Value

"5 STARS for FRIENDLY"

5
11/09/2018

After a long day and night of traveling in constant rain we found this hotel right off the interstate. Melody who checked us in that evening and was our breakfast host the next morning couldn't have been more friendly. Being in the hospitality industry ourselves it is so important to us that people in this industry smile and are genuinely happy to serve as we are so it was a wonderful reprieve to see a smiling face along with a "whatever I can do" I will attitude. I asked Melody if there was some cold fresh fruit and asked if they had any strawberries or blueberries and Melody went beyond the call of friendly when she offered me her own personal strawberries! Thanks Melody for being such a great asset to the hospitality industry!

Prashant P, Owner at Best Western Executive Inn, responded to this review
Dear Guest, Thank you for choosing Best Western Executive Inn for your recent stay. Thank you very much for this great reviews. Melody is great Asset to our business. You are absolutely right about her "whatever I can do to make sure for guest's comfort" Team members like Melody makes the property great by offering great customer service. We appreciate your time and businesses and looking forward to welcome you in near future. Thank you

"Good Value"

4
05/09/2018

I stayed at the Best Western for one week in August. Nice, clean and recently updated. Front desk was helpful. Breakfast was basic eggs, meats and pastries. Gave only 4 Stars because the hotel is at least 20 min. from any entertainment or decent restaurant.

Prashant P, Owner at Best Western Executive Inn, responded to this review
Dear Guest, Thank you for choosing Best Western Executive Inn for your recent stay. Thank you for your time to review as we value your time and review. Thank you, Aarti Patel General Manager

"No Complaints "

3
28/08/2018

Good Basic hotel with great customer service. The rooms are nice and clean but not fancy. Breakfast is offered in the mornings and there is a pool. For a location so close to the highway I found the location to be very quiet

Prashant P, Owner at Best Western Executive Inn, responded to this review
Dear Guest, Thank you for your recent stay with Best Western Executive Inn, we value your great review. Looking forward to welcome you again in near future. We appreciate your business.

"Guest Services attendant Tina was very helpful and cheerful!"

5
23/08/2018

My wife and I were in town for the event at Cardinal Center. We had a great experience at this location and we plan on coming back next year. The new owners are doing a great job at updating the hotel. Their breakfast is really good and Tina was there to make sure everything was stocked for guests.

Prashant P, Owner at Best Western Executive Inn, responded to this review
Thank you so much for choosing Best Western Executive Inn for your stay. We value your feedback and time. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with. We are looking forward to welcome you next year as well. We appreciate your business. Thank you, Aarti Patel General Manager

"Super clean and surprisingly modern"

5
17/08/2018

What a great little hotel in such a small town. Clean rooms, friendly staff and most notedly the rooms have a modern decor that I did not expect. Beds are VERY comfortable. The new owners are very attentive, you would not be disappointed in the value offered here.

Prashant P, Owner at Best Western Executive Inn, responded to this review
Thank you for your recent stay at Best Western Executive Inn, We value your feed back. Thank you for the great review. Our top priority is to able to offer a very well- maintained and comfortable atmosphere. It would be my pleasure to welcome you to our property again. Sincerely, Aarti Patel General Manager

"A great place to stop for the night"

4
15/08/2018

We stayed here for one night and it was really nice. Clean, comfortable room and very friendly, helpful staff. Conveniently located right off Rte. 71 with gas and restaurants nearby. Decent breakfast, not the best but certainly acceptable. This two story hotel does not currently have an elevator but they just got their permit to have one installed. Until then stay on the first floor is need be (line the lovely elderly couple we met at breakfast who also enjoyed their stay). I would definitely stay here again.

Prashant P, Owner at Best Western Executive Inn, responded to this review
Dear Wendy W, Thank you for your recent stay at Best Western Executive Inn. Thank you for the great review. I'm so happy that you found our staff warm and friendly and our hotel nice, clean and comfortable. It's always a pleasure to welcome you as our guest. We hope to see you back at Best Western Executive Inn at Mt. Gilead , Ohio. Warm Regards, Prashant Patel

"Best hotel stay"

5
10/07/2018

My family of four only stayed one night but was the best hotel stay we have had in a long time from Colorado to Ohio the desk clerk Melody was very sweet and helpful room was extremely clean pool was great breakfast was delicious thank you best Western executive in in Mount Gilead for such a refreshing hotel experience it was like home away from home will definitely be coming back

"Clean and Comfortable"

4
29/05/2018

I didnt need anything fancy, just a reasonably priced clean, comfortable hotel for a night, and thats exactly what I got! Very conveniently located right off the highway, but far enough away so that it was not noisy at all. Some of the staff was extremely nice, others were a bit less so; but overall I enjoyed my room, and the breakfast.

"Race weekend"

4
30/04/2018

Was a nice quiet place, staff was friendly and helpful, especially sense we didn't get to the hotel until almost 3 am. Rooms were clean and there were plenty of pillows on the bed. Only negatives was breakfast ends at 9am witch is a little early to me. All and all it is a nice place and would stay here again.

"Very Clean"

5
22/04/2018

My daughter had a volleyball tournament 2 hrs away from home so we decided to book a room so that she could get a fresh start in the morn. We got the hotel the staff who greeted us was so nice and welcoming. I'm a stickler for cleanliness the room was spotless. Breakfast was a nice little touch and the worker who was in charge of it was so sweet. For the price this was a very nice place to stay.

"Ok Hotel"

3
04/04/2018

The hotel is ok, little outdated, rooms are outdated. Very small hotel, well lighted parking lot. There is a Wendys next to the hotel and its not far to walk to. This hotel also has big truck parking and does take pets.

"Clean comfortable room, nice and quiet. Decent breakfast"

4
27/03/2018

Pet friendly. Clean quiet room. Decent hot breakfast. Courteous staff. Right off the interstate. Traveled to the area for a funeral. Price is cheaper if you call the hotel direct. We were very pleased with our stay.

"Best best western"

5
11/03/2018

This was the best Best Western we stayed at in our month adventure south. The service was excellent at check in and check out. The room was very spacious and clean, the bed comfortable. We had a good night.

"Another great family weekend"

4
27/12/2017

Thank you so much for making our family Christmas a wonderful experience. We got to put up a table top tree in the room, decorate cookies in the breakfast bar and share the holiday spirit with our grandkids.

"Excellent place to stay, very nice hotel"

5
26/12/2017

I love this hotel, excellent place, I would recommend everyone to please try it out. Lovely staff personnel and managers and love the cleanliness of this property and not to forget the breakfast bar was enjoyable.

"Nice hotel"

4
19/12/2017

I travel to Mt Gilead several times a year and usually stay in Marion. It was so nice to learn of a closer option. I was very happy with the room especially the cleanliness and comfort and will be returning here several times a year.

"Stay"

4
05/11/2017

Nice place. For wheelchair individuals the beds are extremely high to transfer into. The bathroom offered all have a tub and no roll in showers. This did not meet my needs. Also expensive if you can't use the amenities.

"Convenient but disappointing"

3
04/11/2017

I arrived early in the evening. The staff member was on their phone and even though the place was quiet and they were not busy it took them a few moments to acknowledge my arrival and help me check in. The room had an odour and there was noise that easily transferred from the hallways making it difficult to settle in for a decent nights rest. I had to be up very early to catch a flight and found this disturbing. There were cracked tiles on the bathroom floor and corners were dirty in appearance. The bed thankfully was quite comfortable. Check-out proved to be just as disappointing. The staff couldn't log into the computer to send out an e-mail copy of my receipt. They took down my information but never did follow through and send out the requested receipt. The location was convenient, but the site and staff were only average at best.

"Good Place"

5
27/10/2017

A very good place. Clean, friendly staff, breakfast look good. I do not eat breakfast but I did drink the coffee and it was good. The staff is very friendly. T.V. was new. (I had to have help finding the channels.) Right on interstate. Not far from 8 Sisters bakery, a great place. You must check it out. You can see it from motel. Only problem was an old sofa that was way too uncomfortable and needed to be thrown out. Other than that it was great. Stayed five nights. Good price for rooms.

"Overnight stay"

4
27/09/2017

We stopped on our way east and were very pleased. Close to the highway but about 8 miles from any non-fast food, clean comfortable room, good breakfast although there were very few tables in the breakfast room. Sherrie, the desk clerk, recommended an excellent Mexican restaurant (La Cabanita) in town.

"Excellent choice"

5
25/09/2017

Was looking for a place to stay overnight while making a 15 hour drive. We chose this Best Western hotel because it was the right location at the right place but couldn't have been more pleased with our decision. The staff was helpful, friendly and expedient. The room, lobby and breakfast are were clean. The bed was extremely comfortable and the shower had great water pressure. Breakfast was between 6 am and 9am which worked for us but if we wanted to sleep in I might have preferred it to be open a little later but for us it worked out fine. Would highly recommend this place to anyone looking for a hotel in this area at a reasonable rate.

"mls trip to columbus"

4
11/09/2017

used best western this trip for our hotel as always. the hotel itself was very good, very well kept and located near the interstate. the rooms were comfortable and clean and the front desk staff was very friendly and helpful at check in/check out and when we had questions. the only issue we had was a non-working coffee maker and the lack of shampoo in a dispenser provided for that purpose.

"Very nice hotel"

5
08/09/2017

The prices are reasonable, the staff is friendly and helpful, and the room was clean and comfortable. We stayed after Labor Day so the pool was closed, but we expected that anyway. We will definitely stay here in the future.

"Best Western Mount Gilead"

5
05/09/2017

I was very pleased with this motel. It was very clean and all of the amenities worked the way they should. No broken air conditioner grills. lamps, tv remotes etc. Beds were comfortable and bath had plenty of room. Thanks for the comfortable stay!

"great place"

5
24/08/2017

Very Clean building and staff very nice when we arrived and all through our stay. The Breakfast area was clean and well kept. We joined the rewards program as it seemed like a very good idea. WE got credit for our room that very day when we left to go check out! We will certainly travel to Best Westerns again.

"Nicely updated, quiet area close to our venue"

4
21/08/2017

The rooms have been painted and there is new decor. Housekeeping did a good job. Coffee and breakfast was satisfactory. Nice to have the mini fridge when you are staying several days. Hotel was close to Marengo where we were traveling to each day. We did not use the pool but it looked nice.

"Not Bad for the Price"

3
17/08/2017

Budget hotel, priced fairly for what you get. They offer breakfast, but make other plans. Both coffee urns were empty when we went to the breakfast room in the morning.Luckily there was a Keurig in the room, but there was only one pod for regular coffee. The other was decaf. Hotel is good for a one-night stop.

"Clean hotel, just no dining options nearby"

4
31/07/2017

Great hotel and staff. Very clean and the breakfast was good. My only issue is no dining options nearby. Staff provided an option but it was about 15 minutes away. Outdoor pool was very nice! The room was very clean and the bed was very comfortable. This is a great place to stay for the night. We wen to the IndyCar race and the track is only about 20-25 minutes away, I just wish there was more around the hotel.

Ken P, Manager at Best Western Executive Inn, responded to this review
I am glad you enjoyed your stay. I appreciate you taking your time to give us a review. My staff and I also thank you for your kind words. We take pride in our service we offer to our guests. We hope to see you again in future.

"Disappointing"

2
31/07/2017

The rate was too high for quality of room and amenities offered, compared to other hotels I had stayed in on my trip, including other Best Westerns. The room smelled of tobacco smoke, even though it was supposed to be a non-smoking facility. The decor was dark and dismal. The availability of TV channels was limited.

Ken P, Manager at Best Western Executive Inn, responded to this review
I am sorry to hear for your unpleasant stay. We have recently renovated and we are completely a non-smoking facility. We also have over 150 channels with our DirecTV Residential Experience service. Once again I apologize for your experience. I hope you give us another opportunity to serve you better in future.

"Hidden gem"

5
28/07/2017

This probably one of the best BW I have ever stayed at. The rooms are newly remodeled and the ambiance of the hotel felt welcoming. The breakfast was good, there was an array of TV channels to chose from, beds were comfortable, and the shower was amazing. The staff was also very polite and very quick with check in. Would definitely recommend anyone to stay here and I will certainly stay again!!

"small town hotel"

3
23/07/2017

Stayed here for a softball tournament. Breakfast was so-so but found 8 sister's bakery right around the corner went there for breakfast 2 of the 3 days. Outdoor pool closes at 9 even on a Friday which was a bit of a bummer being that there was nothing else for the girls to do. Felt it was a little pricey for such a small town and minimal amenities.

"Good for a tight budget"

3
23/07/2017

Your basic BW, no frills, no paper tv directory(scrollng via tv is time-consuming),given only one small bar of soap for all needs. Breakfast, quite spartan. A new small excellent breakfast spot within a block east of hotel.

"MANAGER UNCOOPERATIVE"

2
17/07/2017

After screwing up our total nights stay, they charged me double for staying an extra night, after we were there 4 nights already. After calling and telling the manager I brought 3 other families into stay at his hotel and we would be coming back next year, he refused to give me a respectful credit, so 4 families will not be going back there to stay.

Ken P, Manager at Best Western Executive Inn, responded to this review
I am disheartened to hear that we failed to deliver exceptional services to you and your family. Please accept my apologies. Your feedback is appreciated as it will provide a way for us to improvise in the area where additional attention may be required.

"Adequate"

3
03/07/2017

Overall adequate. Breakfast wasn't the best. The coffee tasted bad and the eggs and sausage weren't very good. The orange juice was watery. I did like the waffle the next morning. The rooms are clean and the cleaning staff were friendly. We were disappointed with the small uncomfortable pillows and the uncomfortable couch. The bed was ok, my husband liked it but I prefer a softer bed. The bathroom was very clean.

"Very nice"

4
24/06/2017

Definitely will stay at this hotel again! My son had a shoot at the Cardinal Center and this hotel was only 10 minutes away. The hotel was clean, updated rooms and comfortable beds. The hotel staff was very kind and pleasant.

"Great stay"

5
18/06/2017

The room was clean and the hotel quiet it was away from things but I'm used to driving!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!' The only problem was they were out of toner for there printer which made go to an office max before my morning meeting

"Happy Customer"

5
04/06/2017

The appearance from the outside was neat. The Manager was very neat and very polite and professional. Upon entering the hotel it was very neat and clean. Our room was very clean and housekeeping did a great job keeping it that way. We plan to stay here the next time we are in town and highly recommend this hotel to others.

"Good value for the price."

4
19/05/2017

I was very happy with my stay here even though it was for only 6 hours. The room was clean and the shower hot. The location cannot be beat, just 40 minutes or north of Columbus and right off the highway.

"Outstanding hotel"

5
08/05/2017

The Best Western in Mt. Gilead has been recently remodeled. It is spectacular. The nicest Best Western we have stayed at in years. I highly recommend stopping there. Close to the highway. the front desk staff were excellent. Polite and caring.

"Quick night stop"

4
22/04/2017

The hotel doesn't look like much from the outside, but the rooms were updated and very clean. It was a nice stop for the evening. Not many places close by but they did offer complementary breakfast that was enough to fill us up for the ride home.

Ken P, General Manager at Best Western Executive Inn, responded to this review
We really appriciate you staying with us. Also, thank you so much for taking some time out from you busy day to leave us this awesome review! So glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to serve you better again in the future.

"Very clean! Nice updates and a friendly staff!"

5
03/04/2017

Went to visit family stayed here in the past. I would say avg back before updates. Stayed this year and WOW wonderful updates, clean, nice rooms, like the location keeps us out of busy Columbus and shortens our trip home the next day. Very quiet and pleasant.

Ken P, General Manager at Best Western Executive Inn, responded to this review
We thank you so much for the 5 star review. We are glad you see the changes and that you liked the changes we have made to the rooms. Thank you for taking time out of your busy schedule to write about your stay. We really appreciate your feedback. We hope to see you back agian in future.

"Very clean "

4
20/03/2017

We stopped here last minute to get a nights sleep. It was extremely clean and had pretty decent breakfast options Which was helpful since we have a long day of traveling ahead of us still. We would definitely recommend it.

Ken P, General Manager at Best Western Executive Inn, responded to this review
David-Nicole R, Thank you so much for taking some time out to give us a feedback. Our staff thrive to provide every guest a pleasant stay. We appriciate also for recommending us.

"Very clean, Very quiet"

5
19/03/2017

Nice place to stay. The only problem was that we had to drive to Mansfield to eat a sit down meal after 8:30 pm. Nice quality for free breakfast. I could not ask for a nicer room for the family. Clean and safe!

Ken P, General Manager at Best Western Executive Inn, responded to this review
Jay J, We really appricate for the 5 Star review. It is an honor to have gained the opportunity to serve you with our services. Your feedback is very much appreciated and it will help the staff to stay motivated and perform better each and every day.

"Wonderful !!!"

4
15/02/2017

Great room, excellent customer service (thanks Sarah & Mary !!!) Arrived late, cold, tired & was warmly greeted. Sarah found a room that exactly fit my needs. Lovely, spacious, spotless. Fridge/micro & flat screen TV. Free wifi with great signal. Gorgeous granite counters in sparkling clean bathroom. Easily accessible bedside outlets for chargers, laptop, etc. Slept well on super comfortable bed with nice linens & lots of fat, fluffy pillows. Keurig coffee maker in room, nice touch !!! Continental was well tended. All they lacked was automatic front doors. There is a Knight's Inn nearby but don't waste your time there...BW is far superior & worth every penny. Would DEFINITELY stay here again :-)

Ken P, General Manager at Best Western Executive Inn, responded to this review
Linda H, It is a pleasure to be able to assist our guests after a long day of traveling. I am certainly thrilled to learn that my staff is more than willing to accommodate our guests' need. Thank you for sharing your wonderful comments with us. Please do come back and visit with us again.

"My Review"

4
23/12/2016

This is a great place to stay if you are traveling and need a pitstop for a night. The rooms are clean, and it is right off the interstate. The only negative sides were the lack of vegan/vegetarian options at breakfast.

"A great stop!"

4
28/11/2016

Great customer service, very attentive staff. Supper clean, comfortable place that offer breakfast for those who want to stay for a little bit or are just passing like my family. We recharged our batteries to continue our trip back home safely.

"Nice Suprise"

5
23/09/2016

So pulling up in the middle of the night in the middle of a corn field I was like what am I getting in too. " Is this a best western? I looks like a 70's Super 8 from the out side?" Check it out, clean outside, nice clean lobby, Staff was not the most friendly but it was 3 am when I checked in. SO I will give him a pass. Get to the room and bam. Everything looks shinny and new. Nice design, smelled good, clean. I was surprised.

"A beacon in the dark of night"

5
05/09/2016

This facility has been recently renovated: paint, carpet, furniture, etc. The breakfast was the correct temperature, plentiful, and tasty!!! The night auditor checked us in the middle of the dark hours with a welcoming joy displayed with his voice and manner. Having read a few of the previous reviews that were less complimentary than this one, check this location out again. We would happily stop here again, even if we checked in earlier than 1:30 a.m. We fell into bed and slept wonderfully with lots of hot water to revive us for further journeying in the morn. The check-out team was super, also.

"Nice Little Inn"

4
01/09/2016

This is a small hotel in a small town - it is right off the interstate and easily located. There isn't much to eat around but there is a Wendy's you can walk to easily from the hotel. Reception was warm, friendly and the clerk efficient. The lobby is smallish but it does include a comfortable, nicely decorated sitting area. The room seemed clean, fresh and new. Carpet was in super shape and the walls painted a very soft blue. The dark brown accents made for a serene, atmosphere. I liked the abundance of landing places for luggage - there was a particularly capacious deep bench in the room. The AC worked perfectly and the bed was comfortable. We had a ground floor room since the hotel does not have an elevator and I did hear people walking above me at 2300 but they soon settled down. Breakfast was simple but sufficient: egg and sausage patties (no bacon when we stayed), bread and sweet rolls, yogurt, cereal and a waffle maker. The coffee was a solid middle of the road blend and the OJ was more of an orange drink but it did the job. All in all this was a nice stay.

"BE BACK IN 10 MINUTES"

4
30/08/2016

That will be the only complaint that you will hear from me. Staff was very helpful and everything was as it should be. The pool was clean and refreshing, the room was clean and tidy, breakfast was super.The only thing was when I checked in and when I checked out I had to wait about ten minutes (like the little sign said).

"Great Value"

5
29/08/2016

Great value, only 2 stories and no elevator but otherwise awesome. Morning staff was super helpful with us using a Best Western rewards card. Its a good location for us to visit our daughter at Kenyon College in Gambier.

"Love the bacon"

4
27/08/2016

This hotel is close to the highway but very quiet. This is the second time we stay at this hotel. The room is in good condition (they were under renovation when we stayed the first time). The breakfast option is limited, but they do have the bacon.

"stay at best western"

5
24/08/2016

other than the check in experience when I checked in this best western was actually very nice. The rooms where clean and decorated pretty nice. the lobby was clean and the breakfast was sufficient too.

"Everything I Expected"

4
06/08/2016

Nice, clean, reasonably priced, efficient, sufficient, slightly more than a continental breakfast included with a waffle maker, coffee, juice, pre-made egg rounds, biscuits, gravy, cereal, milk, sausage, bacon, muffins, doughnuts, pastries, etc. Wi-fi worked well. Easy to get to from the main highways. Reasonably priced with comfortable beds and a good shower. Would recommend this hotel if passing through this way.

"Overnight stay"

4
21/07/2016

My husband and I were traveling back to Buffalo, New York after a long drive from Nashville . We needed a place to stay after finding that there was absolutely nothing in and around Columbus . We found the Best Western executive Inn to be available, clean, pleasant , new and comfortable . There was a small fridge and microwave in the room and all amenities needed. Would highly recommend for an overnight when you are tired from driving.

"Not worth the money they charge on spot"

2
07/07/2016

motel was ok thats all i can say but the prices are equivalent to 5 star cos i was in a bind and had to take a break for my journey during night. ended up here and got ripped off.168 dollars a night you kidding me??

"Clean"

5
31/05/2016

This motel was clean and peaceful. There is fast food very close. Some rooms have a refrig and microwave, but not all of them have both. The staff was very helpful and offered to help with our luggage.

"Highly Recommended"

5
23/05/2016

I can't say enough good things about my recent stay at the Best Western motel in Mount Gilead, Ohio. To begin with, when I called to make reservations, my requests were very specific, as I was traveling with my disabled Mom. Every need was met and every question was answered in detail by Carol, the always-friendly desk person who took my reservation. When we arrived, Carol helped us check in a little early (not necessary, but it helped a lot), explained everything to us, and helped me get my tablet connected to the motel's wi-fi. The room was completely clean and comfortable, the free breakfast was delicious and well-maintained, and the rest of the staff was very friendly and helpful. I've stayed at many motels over the years, and I'm rarely treated to customer service of this high level. Best Western in Mount Gilead does everything right.

"Disappointing"

2
22/05/2016

We do lots of road trips. In order to simplify our hotel reservations, we decided on this trip to only stay at Best Westerns. This worked great until yesterday. I was looking for a Best Western and found this one with an advertised price if $74 for a room. Tried to book for that night w no luck. Called Best Western and the rate was $175!!! Military discount was $152...:( We booked and arrived about midnight. Drove past it twice in the dark looking for a tall BW sign. Finally spotted it with a ground level sign set back from the road. No elevator, so we had to schlep our bags up. Tiny bath. 1 small shampoo/con combo, 1 tiny bar of soap. Continental breakfast...meh. Room very basic. Very unimpressed. Only bright spot was Nathan, the night clerk. He helped us get pizza delivered and offered to help me with my bags. Paid more than enough for an executive level BWestern experience. This was not it!

"Newly remodeled"

4
21/04/2016

I had stayed at this location about a year ago. It was acceptable at that time, but now it has been remodeled. Everything was much nicer including the breakfast. As expected though, the price did go up.

Ken P, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Executive Inn, responded to this review
Your feedback is of great value to us. I appreciate your comments and it certainly helps the staff to continue performing at their best level and strive to improve. Our goal is to give the guests the best product that we can offer. We appreciate the comments about the changes we have made. Thank you for taking the time in providing us with your feedback.

"Right off main Rd."

4
18/04/2016

Hotel was not bad. They have refurbished the hotel in the last couple of months. Everything was very clean. The one thing I noticed is the shower/bathtub is very cheap. I felt like it wasn't very secure....cheap plastic. Other then that it was a good one night. Breakfast was good, eggs, sausage, biscuits, waffle maker, were the hot items, and then they had the usual breads and pastries and cold cereal, oatmeal, juices, fresh fruit, yogurt. There was something you could definitely find to eat to start your day.

Ken P, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Executive Inn, responded to this review
Thank you so much for your feedback. I appreciate your comments about our changes. It certainly helps the staff to continue performing at their best level and strive to improve. It is our goal to exceed our guests' expectations.

"EXCELLENT- Newly Renovated - Great value"

5
14/04/2016

We like staying outside the city and this was an excellent choice. The staff was very friendly, the beds new and very comfortable. The facility has been totally renovated, crisp, clean and convenient to the interstate. The breakfast offerings were great! Waffles, eggs, sausage, rolls, biscuits and choice of beverages. Do not hesitate to stay here!!!

Ken P, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Executive Inn, responded to this review
We are pleased to hear that you were satisfied with your stay at our hotel. It is our goal to exceed our guests' expectations. We have recently upgraded all the rooms and will continue improvising the hotel for our guests needs.Thank you again for providing us with your valuable feedback.

"FANTASTIC! "

5
11/04/2016

Pulled in at 1030pm looking for somewhere clean to sleep. Beyond expectations! Freshly renovated. Quiet. The rooms are quite lush,new mattress, towels, new key card entry. There was even a disinfected remote in a bag. BWish every stay could be like this. Hot breakfast was very good, even a waffle maker. Very quiet area so I turn fan of a/c unit, it had a little rumble.

Ken P, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Executive Inn, responded to this review
Thank you for taking your valuable time in providing us with your feedback. We appreciate the comments about the changes we have done. It really helps our staff and management to serve the guests' better in future. It is our goal to provide excellent services to each of our guests. Once again, thank you for your kind words.

"OK place too stay"

3
04/04/2016

Breakfast area too small. Breakfast foods were ok. They did not serve real eggs. Room rate was too high for being under construction. Rooms were clean. Beds are firmer. One room smelled like cigarette smoke even though the building is non smoking.

Ken P, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Executive Inn, responded to this review
Please accept our apologies for not meeting your standards while visiting us. Although we take great pride in our facility, it is disheartening to hear that we failed to make your stay satisfactory. It is my promise that I will certainly meet and exceed your expectations in the future if you chose to give us another chance.

"watch out children over 12 charged extra $10 fee each, even using existing bedding!"

1
01/04/2016

Very disappointing! Book this hotel through trip advisor not realizing when the site didn't allow me to add children we would be charged extra $20 upon arrival. Beware your kids are adults at age 12 here. Remolding and horrible paint smell. No elevator so you have to drag your lugage up the stairs. Hallways full of work materials ect...Beds don't even have fitted sheets, just flat sheet with a hole in it over mattress pad. You must ask for more blankets because no comforter on beds. Would have moved to another hotel if any were avaliable.Will be avoiding Best Western hotels in the future. Will be inquiring with BBB.

"Would stay again"

5
21/12/2015

From the outside you might not chose this hotel, but we were pleasantly surprised. Very nice, would stay again. 4 pillows are not enough on the King beds. the breakfast was nice, conveniently off the high way, right next to a mall if you need anything.

Ken P, Manager at BEST WESTERN Executive Inn, responded to this review
Your business is of much value to us all. Thank you for providing us with your feedback. Please come visit us again.

"Middle of nowhere Ohio"

2
17/12/2015

I have stayed at Best Western hotels in my travels to California and for the price the one in Gilead Ohio was way overpriced for the location and what they don't offer. The hotels need to revamp all their rooms not just the ones in California. I would not stay at this hotel again, the Super 8 we moved to after 1 night in this hotel was much better than the one in Gilead. Cleaner, better room amenities and set up better for travel with two small kids.

Ken P, Manager at BEST WESTERN Executive Inn, responded to this review
Please accept my apologies for not meeting your standards while staying at this hotel. Currently, we are under renovations with rooms and other parts of the hotel. We hope you give us a chance again in the future. Once again I appreciate your feedback.

"Very nice, excellent value."

4
10/12/2015

I spent a night in this hotel while my daughter was doing an overnight visit to Mount Vernon Nazarene University, about a half hour away. It was an excellent stay. I was particularly impressed by two things: an excellent hot breakfast, with good protein choices, and an extremely friendly staff. I was consistently greeted pleasantly by every member of the staff I encountered during my brief stay. Kudos to the staff training and expectations by the management. The basics were all there as well -- a clean, comfortable, spacious room with several amenities. The only small complaint I had was that the desk was positioned so that the power strip mounted on it could not actually be plugged into a wall outlet. This did not actually create a problem for me as my laptop cord is long, but a guest might have to move the desk in order to use the power on it. The location is also good -- it is very close to I-71, but positioned so that there is no highway noise in the rooms, even on the side closest to the interstate. The view is not great but not unpleasant. The location is somewhat remote, being several miles outside the nearest small town, and about 45 minutes from the Columbus area. There are a few fast-food places and gas station/convenience stores in the immediate area, so necessities are accessible.

Ken P, Manager at BEST WESTERN Executive Inn, responded to this review
Thank you for taking the time to provide a wonderful feedback about your recent stay at our hotel. It is our goal to deliver excellent services to each of our guests, and it certainly feels great to hear such great remarks. We are under renovations and now it will be easier to use the outlet from the table. So I hope you consider us for your future stay.

"Good value for the money spent"

4
04/12/2015

The room was clean and comfortable. The continental breakfast very nice, a large variety of food. Was about 20 minutes from my brother's house where we spent Thanksgiving day. Friendly staff. Would and will stay again.

"Good value!"

4
09/11/2015

This motel is about 40 minutes outside Columbus, and is a good value. It was clean, comfortable, and well priced. No complaints at all. I would recommend that they provide comforters on the beds, but without one I just adjusted the heat until comfortable.

Ken P, Manager at BEST WESTERN Executive Inn, responded to this review
Your review is much appreciated by the staff and I. We are happy to hear that your stay was excellent. Please come back to visit us again

"Great Value"

5
06/11/2015

We stayed at this hotel during my sister in laws funeral. It was not a good time but the hotel was perfect. Everyone was really nice. When I made the reservation over the phone through the 800 number I was told that they had no king rooms available except one with a jacuzzi in the room and it was 135.00 a night plus tax. I settled for 2 queen beds for 89.00 plus tax. When we arrived at the hotel and the whole 5 days we were there there may have been a total of 15 people. They gave us a king room for 89.00 - so don;t trust the central schedulers. Call the hotel directly. Overall this was a an excellent hotel and a great value. One warning though it is in the middle of nowhere and the closest town (Mt. Gilead) is about 20 minutes away to stores, rest and there is not a lot of those there either.

"Most definitely adequate and really should get a 3.5"

3
23/10/2015

Sometimes you just need a cheap place to stay in the middle of nowhere because it's en route to where you're going to need to be the next morning. And that's pretty much what this hotel provides. I did have some difficulty finding the place, as I arrived at night and the hotel sign was not illuminated. In face, there really weren't any lights on that I could see until I finally found the parking lot. (Which took a leap of faith in my GPS as passing the first turn off for the hotel puts you on an lit road by a cornfield.) The lady at the desk was nice, the room was clean and the decor wasn't really dated. My biggest complaint is that the weather had turned cold, but the bed still only had one thin blanket on it. I had to turn the heat up to a level I normally would not sleep with and also put towels over the bed as I really wanted a little more weight on me to facilitate sleep. The towels were okay, but the washcloth I used had holes in it. Good TV with a ton of channels was a plus though! Breakfast was OK. I opted for cold options, but my daughter went with eggs and sausage. She did not like them and did end up with an upset stomach. It was hard to have a conversation or listen to the news on the TV, as the indoor fountain was much too loud for the enclosed space with a tile floor. So the hotel got the job done. It wasn't terribly expensive, but then again it wasn't terribly nice either. I've been in better budget hotels, but then again, I've been in worse. If I could give this 3.5 stars, I definitely would.

"Whater ever"

3
16/09/2015

The hotel was clean. the room was decent, but the hotel is located in the middle of nowhere. I had a 60 minute commute into and back from Marion each day. The clerk assured me it was 15 minutes. It was not. you get what you pay for. it was clean and cheap.

"Awesome experience!"

5
13/09/2015

Very clean room, bed and pillows were very comfortable. Front desk clerks were so friendly and helpful. Very quiet, peaceful sleep. Everyone was very friendly and knowledgeable. Breakfast was a hot omelette bar, bacon and sausage and the regular breakfast items. I would definitely stay there again!! The value was also amazing!!

"Good for One Night"

4
10/09/2015

It was clean and comfortable and perfect for one night while on the road, and the staff was friendly. They did have eggs and sausage in addition the the standard hotel breakfast items. We didn't have time to check out the pool.

"Definitely stay here"

5
23/07/2015

lovely facility. clean rooms. comfortable bedding. A friendly, professional, knowledgeable staff. quiet in the evening for a good nights sleep. Plenty of hot water for bathing.. Convenient to major highways. Ample lighted parking lot I would stay here again when in the area

"Nice...but"

4
02/07/2015

Traveled all day til 130 am. Had a reservation prepaid through Expedia. Check in went well, hotel is nice, clean, lady at the front desk was very nice, helpful. Breakfast was ok, orange and apple juice was watered way down. Simple breakfast but sufficient. Again this was prepaid and she took my credit card and swiped it again. I questioned this as the room was paid for. She said I was not being charged just verifying the card. At checkout the next day, I get an alert on my phone from the bank I was charged..62.17 , price of the room before taxes. I called Expedia who then called the front desk. He was told (I stood there too) that it was a $50 charge for incidentals in case the room was damaged. I let him know it was more then $50. He helped me question this and after checkout the charge was removed..I feel if I had not questioned this I would have been charged.