Promotion code

Best Western Hotel Rose Garden Inn & Suites, Mcallen

300 E Expressway 83, 78503-1608, Mcallen, United States - See on a map
Best Western Rose Garden Inn & Suites - Welcome to the Best Western Rose Garden Inn & Suites. The Best Western Rose Garden Inn & Suites is ideally located in the center of Mcallen. Come and experience our hotel near the major tourist attractions. Best price guaranteed and exclusive deals.

Choose the comfort and convenience of this Southern Texas hotel in McAllen, Texas. The Best Western Rose Garden Inn & Suites is the perfect choice for travelers seeking lodging in McAllen, Texas. Whether in town for business or pleasure, this hotel offers guests comfortable accommodations at exceptional rates. The hotel is located off Expressway 83, close to many sites of interest in the McAllen area, including nature facilities, bird watching places, and butterfly centers. Hotel guests can also enjoy easy access to medical and shopping centers in and around McAllen, Texas, as well as local events, concerts and rodeos. This Southern Texas hotel in Hidalgo County is also conveniently located just one mile from the Miller International Airport and seven miles from the Mexico border. The hotel offers comfortable rooms with a single king bed or two double beds. Suites which include both a king sized bed and a sofa bed are also available. All rooms come fully equipped with cable satellite television. This Best Western hotel offers other amenities to help guests further enjoy their stay, including an outdoor pool, free high-speed Internet access and a cocktail lounge. A complimentary hot breakfast buffet is also provided daily. The Best Western Rose Garden Inn & Suites also features meeting facilities--great for hosting corporate meetings and other small group events in McAllen. Book the Best Western Rose Garden Inn & Suites today at a low rate guaranteed only at bestwestern. com! Enjoy your stay.

Best Western

Hotel Rose Garden Inn & Suites




Hotel advantages

  • Outdoor pool
    Outdoor pool
  • Air conditioning
    Air conditioning
  • Cocktail lounge
    Cocktail lounge
  • Free parking
    Free parking
  • 24-hour front desk
    24-hour front desk
Show More Show Less

Guest reviews

In partnership with tripadvisor fr
Certificate of Excellence 2018
based on 386 guest reviews
Very Good
Business Business
Couples Couples
Family Family
Friends getaway Friends getaway
Solo travel Solo travel
Sleep Quality

"A very nice Hotel conveniently located"

User 19/04/2019

A nice Best Western Hotel that has all the requirements. It is clean, the service is friendly and professional and has all the things you need. Breakfast could have a little more variety, but overall it is a great place. Also very conveniently located to the freeway and the airport.

"Family traveler"

Go00279132284, Eagle Pass, Texas 25/03/2019

My son had a two day tourment so we booked at bestwestern rose garden hotel and price was just right. Also hotel provided contential breakfast, location was just perfect. The hotel had a location were most of the stores we buy our stuffs from.

BESTWESTERN44369, Director of Sales at Best Western Rose Garden Inn & Suites, responded to this review
Thank you for choosing to stay at Best Western Rose Garden Inn & Suites and providing your honest feedback. Providing the highest level of hospitality is our number one priority and we hope to serve you again whenever your travels bring you back to McAllen.

"Great stay."

Safari809584, south dakota 14/03/2019

Very clean,well appointed . Staff was very helpful..Seemed to really care. Comfortable large rooms. King bed slept well. Close to several eating places and a mall . Didn't use the mall but could have been handy if that's what u are looking for. Very pleased with how quiet the rooms were so close to all these things. My sister and I were in McAllen to visit a wildlife nature park. We were celebrating my 74th birthday. Got our 2 king rooms next to each other and were both very satisfied.

BESTWESTERN44369, Director of Sales at Best Western Rose Garden Inn & Suites, responded to this review
First of all HAPPY B-LATED BIRTHDAY, and thank you for choosing to stay at Best Western Rose Garden Inn & Suites and providing your honest feedback. Hope we can serve you again when you come back to McAllen Texas.

"Very nice, clean suite"

Curiosity43309473887, Magnolia, Texas 12/03/2019

We stayed over the weekend and it was a very pleasant experience. The property is very clean and the associates are very friendly. We like the location since it is close to a lot of shops and restaurants.

BESTWESTERN44369, Director of Sales at Best Western Rose Garden Inn & Suites, responded to this review
Thank you for choosing to stay at Best Western Rose Garden Inn & Suites and providing your feedback. Hope we can serve you again when you come back to McAllen Texas.

"Comfortable & Convenient"

ChefPatric, Eden Prairie, Minnesota 27/11/2018

Nice place, convienient to lots of the local birding locations Plenty of restaurants and shopping nearby as well. Friendly staff. Maintenance guy helped us with our luggage when we arrived. Lounge on site is open late.

"They will treat you as a family"

jana66brown, Key West, Florida 19/10/2018

Great staff, everyone very helpful, professional, from the front desk to the housekeepers. Great service and we were treated like a family. Everyone from the staff went beyond their basic duties, everyone definitely did the extra step not just for us but as I could observe, for every guest. Convenient location next to good restaurants, Hooters, Applebees, Palenque = local restaurant. Place is super clean, housekeeping is doing wonderful job. Plenty of parking and near by many stores to buy things. Nice size pool. The room passed the test my husband does in every hotel: YES, the tv remote DID WORK. :) Breakfast is quite basic, but a good start in the morning, scrambled eggs, sometimes bacon, sometimes sausage, cereals, pastry, yogurts, toast .. plenty of coffee and tea all day long. Thank you Jorge, Kris and those two great young people at the front desk, who always had answers for my never ending questions. ... Jana and Mike


Fred S, McAllen, United States 03/09/2018

This Best Western has been my home for several trips. Rooms are large and comfortable. A/C works great in the heat of South Texas. Front desk staff are always professional and ready to help with any questions. Will continue to use as a base for future trips.

"Best Value"

pamela p, Arlington, Texas 28/07/2018

I have recently received numerous invitations fom other hotels in McAllen with the promise of extra airline points. I was interested so I checked out the other hotels on line and visually while I was in town. I believe the Rose Garden is the best value in McAllen. The grounds are lovely, the staff is very friendly and professional, beds are comfy, visible security officers and the pool is sparkling without the smell of chlorine. This is a senior as well as family friendly hotel. The price is awesome, too.


User 14/07/2018

good hotel, convenient location, friendly stuff, clean rooms price per room was very reasonable. no disruptions at night. very close there is a bar to eat, breakfast presentation great. No huge lines for breakfast.

"Well run, clean, and friendly staff"

Mimi_Ann2013, Lake Charles, Louisiana 23/06/2018

We were with a church group volunteering in McAllen. This motel was a perfect venue for families with children. The pool was clean and refreshing for all. The breakfast offered many choices, both hot and cold. Highly recommend!

"McAllen gem of a hotel"

User 21/05/2018

The hotel staff were very professional and courteous. Offered to upgrade to a suite and whether we preferred 1st or 2nd floor room. Very clean and comfortable room. Liked the breakfast, pretty good selection. Easy access to highway and located in close proximity to several shopping and eating establishments.

"Rose Garden Inn Best Western"

User 28/04/2018

Best of the Best Westerns we stayed at on a trip up to Northern California. We went to Morro Bay, Monterey, and Santa Rosa. Breakfast was great, gold member gift appreciated, and the ear plugs were a great touch!

"Garden Inn review"

Stanley C, Humble, United States 26/04/2018

The property is well kept, the people friendly, and the price is very good for value received. I will be staying here again and would recommend this location for anyone needing easy acess to the local shops, airport and restaurants.

"Greatest Place to Stay"

Francis J A, Miami Beach, Florida 15/04/2018

This is an outstanding place to stay. The breakfast was wonderful and the staff very friendly. The scrabbled eggs were actually fresh not the frozen kind. Fresh beans not canned beans. Cant say enough about their breakfast. Fresh fruit every morning. Lots of restaurants in the area (walking distance) and stores to shop at.

"Great hotel, bad check in experience!"

JLMartinez, Torreon, Mexico 01/04/2018

This hotel has a great location...there's the medical district, Hooters and places for shopping within walking distance, so that's a plus... The hotel is clean and's a Best Western, so I guess you know what you are getting... Now...the real "highlight" of my review is the horrible check in experience I had! I was travelling with two other families and my own, checking in on Christmas day. Since this was an impromptu trip and the other two families had decided to join mine at different times, we ended up having three different reservation confirmation numbers. Turns out, when checking in, the lady at the front desk could only find two of the three! What bothered me was that the front desk lady's attitude was like "you only have two rooms" (when I was showing her my three reservation confirmation numbers) and the most she offered to help with was with booking another room at their current rate, which didn't help at all because I had already prepaid my three rooms in full. So the front desk lady had me call the website I had booked on, just to have them tell me that my rooms were indeed confirmed and prepaid. I told the front desk lady just that and she said she still couldn't find them. I called the website again and I had to put my phone on speaker so the front desk lady could listen and interact with the customer service from the website. It wasn't until another hotel employee came in who told the lady in charge of my check in "how to look my reservation up" that my problem was solved, after 90 minutes of frustration! I have checked in on several hotels, several brands and have made reservations using a wide array of websites and had never had this issue before. I hope Best Western trains the staff they have on call during Holidays a bit better. I have always liked this hotel but I am not staying here in the future, just based on the check in fiasco I had and the very poor help I got from their staff!

Best W, Manager at Best Western Rose Garden Inn & Suites, responded to this review
Mr. Martinez We have heard from you back in December due to the lack of training the front desk had. I apologized and assured you that the issue would be fixed, which it has. Its been three months since your bad experience and since then the front desk has taken extensive training and we have spoken with third party reservation to fix their issues as well. I would have like you given my staff a second opportunity to redeem themselves like how we had spoken back in December. They have worked extremely hard since your bad experience.

"Excellent Hotel."

Beth C, Harlingen, Texas 12/03/2018

Awesome staff, clean rooms, fast service, no delays. Love the location. Close to the plaza mall and restaurant's. Excellent hotel. Suites are beautiful and space is just right. Its my first choice. Thank you.

Best W, Manager at Best Western Rose Garden Inn & Suites, responded to this review
Thank you for choosing Best Western of McAllen Texas. We are glad your stay was a comfortable.


Lee H, Calgary, Canada 13/02/2018

Stayed in a king suite...lots of room, although a bit dated. Room was quiet and clean, pool was nice, breakfast was good( lots of choice ). The wifi also worked well at all times.Very good value for money.

Best W, Manager at Best Western Rose Garden Inn & Suites, responded to this review
Mr. Lee Thank you for choosing Best western in McAllen.

"Beware of security"

raymondq2018, San Antonio, Texas 11/01/2018

Overall stay was great except they don't have a workout facility but rooms were clean and hotel was clean as well there was always some one cleaning inside and out of hotel and the fact that they have a full bar in the back was nice but beware of top flight security of world he will stand right behind you during checkout and have his hand on his gun and he isn't very friendly what a shame that's the one thing that I will remember most about my stay very sad

Best W, Manager at Best Western Rose Garden Inn & Suites, responded to this review
Mr. Raymond I apologize for the inconvenience you experience during your stay. I have spoken with the security company that we hire concerning this situation and will correct this situation. I understand how his behavior might of made you feel. On behalf of my entire team we apologize and hope that we can get a second opportunity to redeem ourselves. We do thank you for choosing Best Western for your stay and are glad that we as the staff of Best western made your stay a comfortable one.

"Family visit to S Texas"

398harry1, Rockton, Illinois 10/01/2018

I stayed at this property in Feb 2017 2 nights and again in Dec.9 nights. The suites are well furnished,comfortable bed,clean,wet bar, refridge,all well maintained. The included breakfast area was monitored. Clean tables were available at all times, as well as the food stocked by the kitchen staff. All of the staff were cordial and willing to make our stay pleasent. There is a clean, outdoor pool, chilly and invigorating, seasonal I am sure. I'll stay here again.The palm trees are great.

Best W, Manager at Best Western Rose Garden Inn & Suites, responded to this review
Thank you for your review and your comments. We are pleased that your recent stay at the Best Western in McAllen was a comfortable one. Hope to see you again.

"Awesome place to stay"

Oscar M, Oklahoma City, Oklahoma 01/01/2018

We love to stay at these location we have everything around here all kinds of stores and restaurants and entertainment centers can ask for more oh and lots of security and hospitals I don't know about any other place like McAllen tx it's awesome

Best W, Manager at Best Western Rose Garden Inn & Suites, responded to this review
Mr. Oscar Thank you for choosing to stay and rest at the Best Western in McAllen. We appreciate your comments and are glad your stay was an enjoyable one. Thank you.

"Nice hotel, good location"

Jacquelyn A, Brownsville, Texas 31/12/2017

This hotel is right around the busiest part of mcallen. You have access to restaurants and other business nearby. Very clean, and comfortable. I requ dyed an early check in and was told there were no rooms available. I requested to be called as soon as one was. I waited in the lot and watched people check in to new rooms and never received a call.

Best W, Manager at Best Western Rose Garden Inn & Suites, responded to this review
Ms. Jacquelyn We apologize for the inconvenience you experience during your stay. We are sorry we failed at the front desk to provide you with exceptional guest service. We will take immediate corrective action to fix this issue. Once more we apologize and thank you for choosing Best Western.

"Hotel Stay"

donaldpP617YF, Laredo, United States 20/12/2017

Hotel is in a great location and is very friendly. Only thing is they do not provide your free snack nor do they offer it. Besides that it is very recommendable to stay there and they also have a bar that is allright in the back.

Best W, Manager at Best Western Rose Garden Inn & Suites, responded to this review
Hello. I apologize for the lack of communication we had with you upon your check in process. We apologize for not thanking you or offering you the snacks for a reward member. Although we failed at informing you of the options a Reward member has, we did applied Bonus point to your membership as a way of thanking you for your loyalty. Once more I apologize for our error.

"Great location, Clean, Friendly and Amazing Breakfast!"

User 20/11/2017

What a nice experience staying at the Rose Garden, Rooms were clean and location just near everywhere to the stores district. Since arrival personnel was friendly and relaxed, and she anticipated a great weekend breakfast buffet next day. And she was right! Hot full meal with many choices for their guests. I definitively keep this hotel to stay next time.

Best W, General Manager at Best Western Rose Garden Inn & Suites, responded to this review
TRAVEL4CASH We are glad you enjoy your stay with us at the Best Western. Thank you for your comments and your feedback.

"Clean, comfy and friendly"

pageantnana, San Antonio, Texas 10/10/2017

If you are looking for luxury this isn't it. Howevever if you are looking for comfort, cleanliness, easily accessible and good service for the right price this is it! Close to restraunts, shopping and good parking. Safe area and friendly staff. Includes breakfast

Best W, General Manager at Best Western Rose Garden Inn & Suites, responded to this review
Hello, Thank you for your comments on your recent stay. We are glad that your stay was a pleasant one. Hope to serve you once more. Sincerely, Sandra Villasenor General Manager

"a very pleasant stay"

Jeff T, Corpus Christi, Texas 25/08/2017

Located good rate on internet. Comfortable room with parking just outside the room door. Close to resturants and stores. Pool was nice evening activity, except dirty with leaves and bird feathers. Room was very quiet. A very good breakfast and nice eating area. Be sure to check the cookie jar in lobby next to coffee dispensors.

Best W, General Manager at Best Western Rose Garden Inn & Suites, responded to this review
Hello Mr. Jeff Thank you for your comments on your recent stay at the Best Western in McAllen, Texas. We value your feedback and will take corrective action with the pool issues. We apologize that it was something we couldn't help you with. Hopefully you'll choose us the next time you are in McAllen. Sincerely, Sandra Villasenor General Manager

"Excellent Stay"

delfad2017, MCALLEN, United States 14/08/2017

Clean , helpful, restful stay! We could have chosen another hotel from around the area , but we keep going back excellent stay.Hotel surrounded by stores good restaurants , expressway accessible, clean pool, and great staff.

Best W, General Manager at Best Western Rose Garden Inn & Suites, responded to this review
Hello, Thank you for your comments on your recent stay at the Best Western in McAllen, Texas. Thank you for choosing us and giving us the opportunity to serve you. We are glad that your stay was pleasing and comfortable. Once more thank you for choosing us. Sincerely, Sandra Villasenor General Manager


katherinebC9778MB, Mineral Wells, United States 02/08/2017

This was a great facility. Cleans room, lobby , pool, breakfast area. Extremely friendly and helpful staff. Excellent full breakfast included. Food and shopping next to Hotel. I would recommend this hotel for any family vacation.

Best W, General Manager at Best Western Rose Garden Inn & Suites, responded to this review
Hello Katheri Thank you for taking the time to comment on your experience at the Best Western in McAllen, Texas. We appreciate your feedback and thank you for choosing Best Western. Sincerely, Sandra Villasenor General Manager

"My Best Western Experience"

388shandraf, Killeen, Texas 29/07/2017

There was a problem with noise around the pool area while we was trying to sleep. I made a call to the front desk and they told the pool around the pool area to lower their voices. The rooms were clean, but I didn't like the fact that the tub leaked water all night.

Best W, General Manager at Best Western Rose Garden Inn & Suites, responded to this review
Hello, Thank you for taking the time to comment on your experience at the Best Western in McAllen, Texas. We greatly regret that we did not meet your expectations for a pleasant stay. I apologize for the lack of maintenance due to a leaking tub, we have looked into it and have taken corrective action. We hope that you would give us a second chance in the future to redeem our service and provide you with an exceptional experience. Once more please accept our apologies. Sincerely Sandra Villasenor General Manager

"Only missing Microwave and Refrigerator"

U259PKrobertm, McAllen, United States 23/07/2017

The only things missing from the perfect overnight at Best Western Rose Garden was no Microwave or Refrigerator in the room. However, the ice machine was close, so a ice run was not required. The location is great1

Best W, General Manager at Best Western Rose Garden Inn & Suites, responded to this review
Hello, Thank you for taking the time to comment on your experience at the Best Western in McAllen, Texas. In reference to the ref and micro in the rooms, we do have rooms with these items in them. I apologize for the lack of communication we had with you. We hope you can give us another opportunity in the future where you can experience one of room with these items. Sincerely, Sandra Villasenor General Manager

"Inaccurate reservation / billing."

F3817BIbeatrizs, Greeley, Colorado 20/06/2017

Attendant couldn't verify prepaid reservation, had to wait until he made several calls and waited for a fax, and even then he couldn't give a definite answer about billing!!! Had to worry about them billing me twice!!

Best W, Manager at Best Western Rose Garden Inn & Suites, responded to this review
Hello Ms. Sanchez, We greatly regret not meeting your expectations on your recent stay at the Best Western Rose Garden Inn & Suites. My front desk team has been made aware of your feedback and have taken immediate corrective action. As I had mentioned to you via the Best Western comment page earlier this week, please feel free to contact me for further feedback or comments. Once more please accept our apologies on the lack of service. Sincerely Sandra Villasenor General Manager

"Elizabeth J"

elizabethjU1791WX, Laredo, TX, United States 24/05/2017

Service was excellent. Staff was very accommodating and most helpful. The rooms were clean inside and the grounds also looked well kept. the pool was inviting and everybody was having a good time. Breakfast was plentiful and we enjoyed it.

Best W, General Manager at Best Western Rose Garden Inn & Suites, responded to this review
Ms. Elizabeth, Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay at the BEst Western Rose Garden Inn & suites in McAllen, Texas. We are very happy that we were able to meet your expectations and make your stay a comfortable one. We hope to see you again. Thank you. Sincerely, Sandra Villasenor General Manager Best Western Rose Garden Inn & Suites McAlle, Texas

"One night stay"

Juan R, Monterrey, Mexico 18/05/2017

The room is big enough for four people, it is a little unclean, the carpet is filthy, you do not really want to step on that carpet without shoes. The staff is ok. The breakbast is very good. I will return but ask for a hypoallergenic room, expecting it is cleaner. The restroom is very big.

Best W, Manager at Best Western Rose Garden Inn & Suites, responded to this review
Dear Juan, Please accept our apology on the service you encounter during your stay at the Best Western Rose Garden. My team has been made aware of the issue you encounter and we have taken corrective action to fix the problem. We hope you can give us a second opportunity to serve you. Once more we apologize and thank you for your time. Sincerely Sandra Villasenor General Manager Best Western Rose Garden Inn & Suites McAllen, Texas 78503

"Disappointing stay!!"

txchappy, San Antonio, Texas 17/05/2017

I had an overnight stay for business and booked my stay at the BW Rose Garden. Upon entering the room all seemed okay until I tried to shower that night. Upon waiting for hot water that never came out of the faucets, it was impossible to stand and shiver under cold water. I contacted the front desk and the maintenance guy came by to say he had reset the boiler and it would take some time to heat up. At 11:00 pm still no hot water. At 7:00 am I turned on the sink faucet and there was hot water. I took a late shower in the morning, 10:00 am and low and behold NO hot water again. Just barely could stand to quickly take a shower. There were several long hairs twirling around the drain, diffidently not mine as I have short hair. Nasty to say the least!! Shaving over the sink wasn't any better as the drain must have been clogged that backed up the water with the shaving cream. I had to put down a towel near the bathroom floor to soak up water that had been there before my entrance. I am very disappointed in this room and hotel!! :-( I spend about 1-3 days per week in hotels and BW is usually my hotel of choice due to convenience of locations, rate and quality of stay.

Best W, Manager at Best Western Rose Garden Inn & Suites, responded to this review
TXCHAPPY My name is Sandra and I'am the General Manager at the Best western Rose Garden Inn & Suites. I would like to apologize for the inconvenience you experience during your stay. We are so sorry that the service we are custom to was not what we offered you. There are no excuses for the lack of service and working amenities you received. The only thing that I am able to do at this point is to offer you a sincere apology and to ask for a future opportunity to redeem our self. Please feel free to contact me with any further comments or concerns. Once again please accept my apology. Thank you for your time. Sandra Villasenor General Manager Best Western Rose Garden Inn & Suites McAllen, Texas 78503 956-630-3333

"Great and clean place to stay"

John D, Los Angeles, California 16/05/2017

The room was a good size, clean, and very friendly staff. The even provide breakfast on the go for people that have to leave before breakfast is officially served. We left before 6 and the hotel clerk himself just went and go us something to take along.

Best W, Manager at Best Western Rose Garden Inn & Suites, responded to this review
Mr. John We take pride in giving the best service possible and hearing your comments makes our job fulfilling. Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay at the Best Western Rose Garden Inn & Suites. We are very glad that we were able to make your stay a comfortable one. Thank you.

"Real King Suites"

Sissy S, Mountain Home 27/04/2017

The king suites has a door between the bedroom and the living room, unlike most of the other hotels.... Always a very pleasant stay, the staff are also pleasant as well...The only thing that I can thank of that would make it better would be a Texas Waffle Iron.

"Very nice stay"

Kate C, Roswell, United States 26/04/2017

I stayed at this hotel when in town for a wedding because the hotel block was more expensive. This hotel was great. It was easily located next to the highway, clean, and nicely presented. The staff were friendly. Breakfast was varied and tasty - especially the salsa. The suite was spacious and comfortable. I would recommend this hotel.

Best W, Manager at Best Western Rose Garden Inn & Suites, responded to this review
HI, Ms. Kate, Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay at our property Best Western Rose Garden Inn & Suites. We take pride in offering our guest the Best experience during their stay. We hope to serve you again in the future. Sincerely, Sandra Villasenor General Manager Best Western Rose Garden Inn & Suites

"One Great Hotel"

javiersZ4053XH, Copperas Cove, United States 16/04/2017

If you ever in McAllen Texas and need a great place to relax in the pool or enjoy a nice drink at the bar at night and enjoy a great night sleep Best Western Rose Garden Inn & Suites is your hotel. Staff are friendly and great. They are there for your needs and will do there best to accommodate your needs as best as they possibly can. This hotel has very clean lobby,rooms, and breakfast kitchen area. I have stay and all the rooms choices this hotel has double bedrooms,king bedroom, ,king suite upstairs and downstairs. You will wake up to a great breakfast in the morning. So just asking you to give this hotel a chance to exceed your needs when your in town.

"Clean, Friendly, Basic"

Sidlee171, Crossville, Tennessee 10/04/2017

Stayed there for 4 nights, the rooms are large and very clean. The bed was comfortable but average. The room did not have a fridge or microwave, which was disappointing. The staff was friendly and helpful.


zacharym555, Town Creek 30/03/2017

Stay was ok and not much was bad. Pool wasn't clean ever because of wind but it was never too cold outside to get out of it. I'm not gonna be able to go back at the same time now and I'll get back into it lol

"Pros and cons"

travel963, Boulder, Colorado 14/03/2017

Cons: I assumed room would have a mini-frig, but none, so that's a con. I complained and got upgraded at no extra charge to a suite with a mini-frig, so that's a pro. Key for the suite did not work, had to go back and get a key that worked. Internet a bit complicated and rather slow at 6.78 Mbps. Hooters next door, a bit off-putting, but next to that is a Palenque Grill, great dinner. Pros: Excellent breakfast, high quality. Breakfast starts at 6:30 am, early is helpful. Room had good lighting, nice decor, clean, well-maintained. Price seemed like a bargain. Friendly staff. Would stay here again!

Best W, Manager at BEST WESTERN Rose Garden Inn & Suites, responded to this review
Dear Guest, We are glad to know that you had an upgrade to a suit to meet your satisfaction. Our employees are trained to accommodate our guest in the best way. I do apologize from behalf of our team and myself about the issue with the key card not working. We have already upgraded our internet so it can be faster for our guest to enjoy. We are more than glad that you enjoyed our breakfast and that each of our staff gave you a great experience. Sincerely Alejandra Amezquita Assistant GM

"Excellent stay"

640ulisesn, Mcallen, United States 09/03/2017

Staff is very friendly and hotel is nice and clean. Breakfast was great with hot food items and drinks to choose. Would definitely stay at this same Best Western hotel again. Price was definitely appropriate. Paid $180 for 3 ppl 2 nights.

Best W, Manager at BEST WESTERN Rose Garden Inn & Suites, responded to this review
Dear Guest, Thank you for your stay with us at Best Western in McAllen, TX it was a great pleasure having you and your family with us. We are more than delighted to know that you were satisfied in every aspect of your stay. We are happy to know that you would definitely stay with us again and we are more than excited to have you and your family as many times as you like. Sincerely, Alejandra Amezquita Assistant GM

"Dated But Nice Place to Stay"

PJ M, Napanee, Canada 25/02/2017

My wife & I recently spent a weekend at the Best Western Rose Garden Inn & Suites, and it was a pleasant stay with no issues. It is an older hotel but is in good condition and beds were comfortable. Staff were friendly and efficient except for a problem with out room phone which never worked the entire time we were there. Breakfast was very good and had longer hours than most places that we have stayed in during our travels. Lots of shopping nearby and handy off and on the expressway. We would probably stay there again.

Best W, Manager at BEST WESTERN Rose Garden Inn & Suites, responded to this review
Dear Guest, I would like to Thank You from behalf our team for your exceptional feedback about your recent stay. We are proud to make each of our guest feel welcomed into the Hotel. I would like to apologize for the issue about being with out a phone we have already looked into it and I can guarantee you it won't happen again. I would love if you would come back so that we can provide you an even greater experience. Thank You Have a Great Day. Alejandra Amezquita Assistant GM

"Not a good hotel to stay at"

User 02/11/2016

The service was not well, as we arrived for check in the front desk clerk Alejandra was a little rude would respond with attitude. This clerk was on her personal phone as we arrived by the way. The bed had some rodents on it and the restroom was not too clean. There was a lot of noise and we were not able to rest on our stay. Management should look into the cleaning services and front desk clerks need to be more attentive.

"Best Western"

User 27/09/2016

Previously I have stayed here and had no problems. Unfortunately I could not say the same for this trip. After check in and the hubby I were getting settled in and I was about to undress and get comfortable two people walked into our room. The error was the service desk made them the same key for our room. Thankful the hubby was still in the room since he was about to step out for a few. You never know what could have happened. Not feeling safe. The noise was also very loud -housekeeping having loud conversations outside your room. Some people like to sleep in -have some courtesy

"Good visit"

User 19/09/2016

The staff is nice and works very good. The rooms are very nice and clean, they are very accesible, you can park near your room. But the wi-fi could have been better and the breakfast definitely needs improvement, it was not good. Overall it was a good visit.


User 31/07/2016

Hotel was ok... nothing bad to report. room was clean. we were allowed to check in around 1130am, which was a plus. nice area lots of shopping. not more than 10 mind from anything... would stay again.

"Gold Metal!"

User 31/07/2016

We were in town for the TAAF Games of Texas. This was our first visit to McAllen. This hotel was great! Our kids LOVED the pool! The breakfast was very good. I really liked that I didn't have to stand and wait to make my own waffles/pancakes! They were already made:-) The front desk staff was very helpful and friendly. We didn't end up needing a third night and they were very helpful in changing that for us. The location was great too. There are soooo many restaurants in McAllen!! Everything you can think of is within just a few minutes. Even a Pappadeaux! Yum! I also liked being close to shopping: Steinmart, Target, Pier 1, Tuesday Morning. If my daughter makes State in track again next summer, we will definitely stay here again. Mucho gusto!

"Great as Usual"

Rick A, Austin, United States 09/05/2016

This Best Western is a great value and a super hotel to stay at. I always stay here when I'm in the RGV. Location, quality of service and quality of the hotel is great. Grounds are well maintained and has 24 hr security.

"Weekend trip "

Mike G, Houston, Texas 01/05/2016

Great Stay- we stayed here as a kid, over 20 years ago....this weekend I stayed in suite 212 and had no issues. The place was quiet, clean rooms, and friendly people greeting you. I would definitely stay here again for the price and location!!!!! The did you upgrades since I last stayed here for the better. Can't go wrong.

"poor customer service from Management"

tonnyvn, McAllen, Texas 28/04/2016

OK and clean, close to the mall and the main stores. But the manager Mr Esparza do not care about people 0 customer service do not expect any help from management. I forgot my ID and after been told they were going to saved for me, I was told by Mr Esperza that "why he would care helping me out..."

"First and Last"

Jimmy M, California, United States 11/04/2016

Clogged toilet that took 11/2 hours to fixed. Maintenance man speaks spanish only and need a translator. Loud music(drums) playing until 2:30am. Pool needs to clean from debris(leaves,etc) Day personnel are helpful and friendly. Location is good.


Deborah S, Dubuque, Iowa 28/02/2016

Clean but very poor lighting....Loud party above us and couldn't sleep the last night of our stay....... I reported the problem when checking out at 5:00 AM.....Issues with the check out statement and they were to email with explaination but no response.

"Excellent Service"

Claudia O, Houston, United States 22/02/2016

Hotel staff was very nice and cheerful at check-in. Beds were comfortable, and room was neat. Breakfast was great! The dining area was very well kept. This was conveniently located off the highway- easy access to multiple stores.

"Great location, rooms"

Sebastianhr77, Monterrey, Mexico 21/02/2016

This hotel gas a really nice location, near everything you need in Mcallen. Breakfast is average, the rooms are nice and bed/confort. I dont like to stay on hotels with exterior doors I prefer interior rooms but this was last minute booking.

"A nice, inexpensive place to stay"

Mary H, New Braunfels, Texas, United States 07/02/2016

We were visiting the South Texas area and wanted a centrally located hotel from which we could explore many places of interest. We wanted something under $100/night and this fit the bill. The furnishings were very nice with lots of storage and table space. The beds were comfortable and had a blanket instead of a duvet/comforter. There is a flat screen TV although we never used it. The bathroom was split into two areas with the sink and counter separate from the shower/bath tub and commode. This helps keep the mirror from fogging up and allows two people to use the two separate areas at the same time. There is plenty of counter space in the bathroom which I really like. There is a coffee maker in the room but no mini fridge. The shower/bath tub combo is a single preformed unit and you have to step up to get into the shower/bath tub. There is limited space above your head so if you are over 6'4" tall I think you would have trouble fitting without hitting your head. This also means the shower head is a little lower and hits your chest rather than your head level. This is not a big deal. The light in the shower/bath tub area takes a while to come to full light so be patient. There is good lighting over the sink and counter with a hair dryer supplied. I had trouble with the room being too cold. I asked for an extra blanket and I was told that they don't have extra blankets. I was surprised at this since most hotels I stay at have an extra blanket in the closet or in a drawer. It seems that the A/C and heat unit blows cold air for about 20-30 minutes before heat comes out. Then it shuts off and it gets cold again. I was very cold sleeping there the 3 nights we stayed there. It made for a lack of adequate sleep those nights. I resorted to sleeping with my winter coat on during the nights for warmth. Remember that it is unusual for South Texas to get cold for very long so I imagine the A/C unit works fine but I don't know. The hotel supplies the usual hot and cold selections for breakfast in the main lobby area. You have to get tickets from the front counter in order to eat there but it is free to guests. The food was adequate and you won't go hungry. There is a large flat screen TV with news but the sound is off and you can read the closed captioning. My biggest complaint was the music over the speakers in the breakfast area. It was (for lack of a better word) very energetic and not conducive to an enjoyable meal (at least to my senior citizen ears). Maybe a teenager would be very happy with the choice of music. This is an adequate hotel/motel for under $100/night. I am not sure I would stay here again. I much prefer the Hampton Inn or Marriotts or Hiltons but it is budget friendly.

"Nice Place"

User 31/01/2016

Stayed here while in town on business. I was happy with my stay and would stay here again. The front desk staff was friendly and helpful. The hotel is in a good area with lots of restaurants nearby. My room was clean and comfortable with no odd hotel smells.


User 05/01/2016

The hotel is OKAY. Its in a good location and the service is good. The facilities are average and the food is average. I recommend it but do not expect more than an Okay stay. I think it could definitely improve.

"Bad Management to say the least"

mako252280, Port Aransas, Texas 31/12/2015

Overall stay was fine, a typical cheap hotel. I had a billing issue and spoke with the manager (Sandra), who was very impolite and even had the nerve to hang up on me. I had to file a formal complaint with Best Western International to get the problem fixed. Stay away from this hotel unless you want future headaches. There are MANY more options in the McAllen area in the same price range that are much better choices.


Raquel C, McAllen, Texas, United States 30/12/2015

The staff was very friendly and helpful. The suite was large, and the beds were very comfortable. I like the fact there had were two televisions in the suite, no fighting over the remote. The breakfast was delicious and filling.

"Optimize your budget"

Rafael H, Laredo, Texas 05/12/2015

I definitely recommend this hotel. It has nice clean rooms and restrooms, and excellent beds. The whole facility is clean and well kept. The breakfast although continental is pretty good. A nice and clean dinning room; scrambled eggs, crispy beacon, a variety of cereals, bread, juices and good coffee Staff is also courteous and helpful. You get a lot for your money.

"I love Best Western!!!!!!"

Michael C, Seattle, United States 05/11/2015

The rooms were excellent and the staff very friendly. There was a scalloped folding motif for towels, cleanex, TP that I have not seen in a long time. Folks went out of their way to provide the little extras.

"Family trip for Celebration of life"

Maurice B, Eaton, CO, United States 30/10/2015

This hotel was comfortable and priced well for our trip. It was located in a good location allowing us to meet our family living in the valley. However, it is a little difficult to find after sunset. We suggest more information be provided on line to better see how to find the location.

"Older, but nice hotel."

Charles L, Metairie 29/10/2015

This hotel has a solid comfort level for any traveler on a restricted budget and should be considered for short stays. The staff did whatever was necessary to make their guests comfortable. The pool is excellent and their internet service is fast and always functional. The business center is small, but everything works, including the printers.


James W, killeen tx, United States 28/10/2015

we enjoyed the location, plenty of shopping, yet not to close to downtown. there was a slow drip in the shower( reported ), otherwise the room was very nice. the bird droppings need to be cleaned up more often. the breakfast was one of the best we've had in a long time.

"Our stay"

User 21/10/2015

Hotel staff courteous and friendly. Room clean and well decorated. It was a very pleasant experience. Breakfast was ok. Caters to the predominately Hispanic clients. (no biscuits and gravy). On 1st day breakfast was mediocre warm. Second day hot and delicious. 3rd day not ready - breakfast not served before we were ready to leave.


User 26/09/2015

It was raining when we arrived. This hotel has no elevator and no stairs from the inside of the lobby (making it practically a motel). The nearest stairs didn't have a roof and it was practically flooded. The guy from the lobby was flirting with a woman and didn't care to make it clear that the other stairs were a better option to get to our room. On the other hand our room was clean. We chose this hotel thinking it would have the Best Western quality, but we were quite disappointed. Probably won't stay here again.

"Very nice, affordable hotel."

Leona M, san miguel de allende, Mexico 18/09/2015

Hotel staff were very helpful and congenial. Rooms are clean and nice and beds comfortable. It is quiet. Location is great for shopping at most of the large stores and the mall. Breakfast is quite good, although most of it is prepared/canned food. Fresh, of course, is better. The only real problem with this hotel is there are throngs of large birds that roost in the trees. As a result, you get bird poop on the bottoms of your shoes and track it into the room. There is no avoiding it.


Eric W, Austin 02/09/2015

Was there 3 nights. No issues with the hotel or staff, good price, nice area, close to hotel, shopping and eating. Standard hot breakfast, pool was clean, staff was friendly. I would recommend this location to anyone looking for that middle price range hotel.

"Best Hotel in Rio Grande Valley"

Robert Lee P, Bells, Texas, United States 30/08/2015

Best hotel value for my business travel. Clean and safe location and always friendly staff at the front desk. A real bonus is the hot , made ready breakfast every morning. I would recommend this hotel to anyone that is looking for a easy in and easy out location. Clean, Clean, Clean

"Will stay again next time in McAllen"

Stan H, Houston, Texas, Usa 27/08/2015

One of the better Best Western's I have stayed at. Only 2 issues 1. assigned room 111 and the a/c was not working, 93 degrees in room. 2. assigned room 109 the refrigerator was not there even considering this I will return

These reviews are the subjective opinions of individual travelers and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.