Room 1
Room 2
Room 3
Promotion code

Best Western Hotel Jena, Jena

Rudolstaedter Strasse 82, 07745, Jena, Germany - See on a map
Best Western Hotel Jena - Exterior The Best Western Hotel Jena is ideally located in the center of Jena. Come and experience our hotel near the major tourist attractions. Best price guaranteed and exclusive deals.

Welcome to the Best Western Hotel Jena. Our hotel offers modern comfort with an individual service to pamper our guests and to make them feel at home. The spacious and comfortable 160 rooms and suites are well equipped with bath/shower/WC, hairdryer, telephone, satellite TV, pay TV, radio, minibar and complimentary wireless LAN, which is also available throughout the hotel. Non-smoking rooms are available. Our wellness area is a source of relaxation. Take time out to enjoy all the benefits from our sauna, solarium, massage and beauty studio with natural products. The Best Western Hotel Jena moreover provides perfect function rooms for business meetings, conferences, weddings and gala dinners. With six rooms from 22 up to 300 square meters we can accommodate up to 250 people. All conference facilities are attractive with elegant settings and daylight, they can be darkened to give any ambience desired, all are air conditioned and equipped with the latest technology. Our friendly, professional team will care for your special needs and requirements. The city of Jena levies a surcharge of 2. 00 EUR per day per room which will be added to your final bill. Enjoy your stay.  

Best Western

Hotel Jena




Hotel advantages

  • Lounges/bars
  • Outdoor parking
    Outdoor parking
  • 24-hour front desk
    24-hour front desk
  • Safe deposit box
    Safe deposit box
  • Steam bath
    Steam bath
  • Multilingual staff
    Multilingual staff
  • Onsite laundry
    Onsite laundry
Show More Show Less

Guest reviews

In partnership with tripadvisor fr
based on 199 guest reviews
Very Good
Business Business
Couples Couples
Family Family
Friends getaway Friends getaway
Solo travel Solo travel
Sleep Quality

"Pleasant One Night Stay"

MrsWYN-R, Somerset, United Kingdom 19/05/2022

A large hotel although still quite empty of residents since Covid. As part of a coach tour around Europe, the hotel was very pleasant. Room was spacious and very clean and had a good peaceful sleep. Had an excellent meal in the restaurant our first evening. Food was very good and staff were helpful and attentive. Good choice at breakfast and nicely prepared. A very good stay.

"A sound experience"

BritneyNorthGermany, North Germany 02/05/2022

Pleasant hotel if somewhat dated in general furnishings and atmosphere. Not many of the rooms were occupied on my visit. Located on the southern edge of Jena but the terminus of the number 2 tram is a 7 minute walk away and a public transport ticket is included in the hotel price. Ample free car parking at the hotel. Rooms are comfortable with tea/coffee facilities, modern bathrooms (very good shower), large comfortable beds. The breakfast was fine, if a little uninspiring - standard selection, some regional touches would have been appreciated. I feel Covid is having a continuing effect on employing staff - throughout my stay there was never anyone on reception! Had to ring the bell for service; they were very helpful when they appeared!

"Overall good"

Lolabaracuda, Jena, Germany 10/08/2021

Stayed there using their 3 for 2 nights promotion. It was a great value and we got 2 rooms with connecting doors and a little kitchenette. Unfortunately, I didn't like the bed and pillows, so I didn't get to sleep well. However my husband and my son slept well and that's all that matters to me. Location was off the city center. We walked about 10 minutes to the nearest bus/tram station that took us to city center. Cleanliness was ok. Carpet floor was not thoroughly clean and we had to prevent our 4 year old playing on the floor, but of course he does when we didn't see. Check in and out were quick and staff were nice.

"Birthday Surprise for my Mom"

ellena696, Shanghai, China 10/09/2020

I did not stay in the property myself, however my mother celebrated her 60th birthday there. I got in contact with the hotel staff to arrange a nice surprise for her. My email was answered immediately and I was very happy with the way my request was handled! My mother was very happy. Special thanks to Mr Guenther!


Martin G, St Ives, United Kingdom 21/10/2019

Arrived late on a Sunday evening en route to Colditz and Dresden after visiting the Mohne and Eder Dams. The hotel was perfectly functional with good rooms, if somewhat quirky with the wash basin outside the bathroom in the bed room itself. There was a mini bar/fridge with tea and coffee making facilities. The bathroom and shower were a little dated, but OK for the one night. Good for an overnight stay.

"Interesting hotel"

Catherine T, Southampton, United Kingdom 15/04/2019

Nice hotel in interesting old building. Had the buffet dinner which actually was excellent, and then breakfast was good too. Room was nice - a little tired maybe but perfectly fine for the brief overnight stay we had. Not much around it, but not a problem for us.

"Perfect if you just need to pass by"

343veronikak, Brussels, Belgium 22/07/2018

We stayed in this hotel when traveling through Germany and we stayed one night only. It was the only hotel which was able to accommodate us at 1 am and provide us with a baby bed at this late hour. We made the last minute booking. The rooms are quite old but beds are big, so you can sleep comfortably on one bed with a small child and they have everything you need and they are clean. The staff was very polite and helpful.

bwjena, Front Office at Best Western Hotel Jena, responded to this review
Dear Veronika K Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We appreciate you as our guest and we are looking forward to welcoming you again. With BEST regards, Bernd Eisermann

"Best Western Hotel Jena"

W R, Colchester, United Kingdom 20/07/2018

A pleasant hotel with air conditioning and tea and coffee making facilities in the rooms. The breakfast was ok, plenty of fruit, cheese, ham, rolls etc. Cooked breakfast was ok but only scrambled eggs, sausage and bacon.

bwjena, Front Office at Best Western Hotel Jena, responded to this review
Dear Wendy R Thank you very much for the feedback given. By sharing with us what you have enjoyed and what we can do to improve it, you help us to make your stay with us even more enjoyable for you and other guests. We hope to see you again soon. With BEST regards, Bernd Eisermann


Ivortheboneless, Derby, United Kingdom 09/06/2018

What a super hotel, comfort, good food, excellent staff. Shame we only stayed one night. This hotel is situated deep in the heart of what used to be East Germany when it was under communist rule. Well they have pulled their socks up since the wall came down in Berlin.

"Did its job fine!"

Big_Jeff_Leo, St Helens, United Kingdom 20/04/2018

This hotel is quite large. Breakfast was fine and the rooms well appointed. The service was good and the restaurant food was also good - had three courses! The bar area was relaxed and I enjoyed the Beer selection!. A good stop over hotel, with decent value of money.


DeirdreK50, Kloof, South Africa 24/01/2018

Nice hotel with good breakfast. Clean and comfortable. Coming from South Africa we are used to big duvet covers that go over the edges of the bed- not in Germany! So that was a strange and quirky thing.

bestwesternjena, Empfangsmitarbeiter at Best Western Hotel Jena, responded to this review
We would like to thank you very much for your review and hope to welcome you again soon.

"Good value for money, comfortable"

ministry0ftruth, London, United Kingdom 29/12/2017

As far as Best Western Hotels go, this must be one of their better ones, as the rooms were clean and to a good standard! Double bed was comfortable, and reasonable size. I had difficutly connecting to the wifi, and ended up having to spend 30 minutes or so configuring and changing various things with the network settings of my laptop - I don't have to do this anywhere else. Also there were no tea/coffee making facilities in the room - everything had to be ordered from the bar. I needed a camomille tea (always bring my own travel pack of herbel teas) but had to explain what I wanted at the bar and order the tea rather than just get hot water. Breakfast was mostly good, catering to European and US tastes. Location is remote but bearable if you've got a car, or can figure out the public transport.

bestwesternjena, Leiter Front Office at Best Western Hotel Jena, responded to this review
Thank you for your feedback. We would like to apologize for the inconvenience during your stay.

"Old and tired"

prof_hutchinson, Adelaide, Australia 25/09/2017

I had a couple of days of business in Jena and was put up at the Best Western. It is a very large hotel in a moderate sized city. The staff are helpful and responsive (although still no irons). The rooms are well sized, but very dated. This place was in the need of a makeover 5 years ago. The breakfast is ok, but the coffee is hot and strong. I probably would try and stay somewhere else next time I am in town.

bestwesternjena, Leiter Front Office at Best Western Hotel Jena, responded to this review
We just can say thank you for being our guest and sorry for the inconveniences during your stay. BEST regards Carolin Meißner Front Office Manager

"Nice hotel - breakfast not worth the money"

teaki78089, Villingen-Schwenningen, Germany 04/09/2017

The Best Western Hotel Jena is conveniently located to anything you want to do in Jena and also easy reachable from the motorway. What I liked - Nice and quiet rooms - Convenient beds - Large and modern shower - Free parking and large enough - nice beer garden with friendly staff - Friendly check-in What I did not like - The downside of the hotel is the breakfast. Not only that you hunt a service person down every morning to get a coffee before you actually have finished breakfast (they are unfriendly and slow) paying 16 EUR for a mediocre quality and bad service is just too expensive. If you stay here DO NOT HAVE breakfast. - WiFi is bumpy and slow - Air conditioning old, loud and not effective I can recommend staying here - just avoid breakfast.

bestwesternjena, Leiter Front Office at Best Western Hotel Jena, responded to this review
We would like to thank you very much for your good review and say sorry for the inconveniences during your stay. Hopefully we will welcome you back again soon. BEST regards Carolin Meißner Front Office Manager

"nice hotel with mountain and valley views"

ehr100, Gloucestershire, United Kingdom 20/08/2017

Travelled with Leger on the battlefield tour. Hotel is nice and pleasant with polite friendly staff. Rooms from the second floor up have views across the mountain valley and have a balcony. Room facilities included bath/shower, tv, tea/coffee/kettle, air con. Our room had no mini bar but there is a bar downstairs in lobby. Restaurant is spacious and has room to cater up to 100 people. Buffet breakfast contains bacon,egg,sausage,breads,pastries,cereal,yogurt,juices and tea/coffee. Free WiFi throughout hotel and rooms which need log in details collected at reception as codes are changed regularly. The only fault I had was loud music noise from the room below us. On reporting to the reception this noise stopped after 10 minutes. So thank you for the fast response in sorting that out for us. On our coach journey en-route the Leger tour guide recommended the 3 course evening meal for just under 20 euros. Consisting of house soup,your choice from 3 mains and a dessert. We paid cash in the restaurant but guess you can put the cost onto your room account. Overall a nice stay. Thank you.

bestwesternjena, Leiter Front Office at Best Western Hotel Jena, responded to this review
Thank you very much for your good review. We are really happy to hear, that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel and we hope to welcome you back soon. BEST regards Carolin Meißner Front Office Manager

"Cannot Fault the Best Western Jena"

User 19/06/2017

Cannot Fault the Best Western in Jena, I really do think that it is the staff that make any hotel stay enjoyable, I was not disappointed, very friendly abd helpful staff, awesome food, really enjoyed my time here, thank you Best Western, I will be your guest again..

bestwesternjena, Front Office Manager at Best Western Hotel Jena, responded to this review
Thank you very much for your got review. We are really happy to hear, that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel and we hope to welcome you back soon. BEST regards Carolin Meißner

"Better than reviews suggested"

CocoaBerkshire, Berkshire 29/05/2017

Were we lucky, I don't know. Having read the reviews before travelling I was not expecting good wifi, which in fact was very good, or tea and coffee in our room, which there was. There are also two decent sized lifts, so no hassle getting to our room. If you are with Leger, I can recommend the evening meal which costs €20. Breakfast was good, but not very good. We had a bath with shower. Soap dispenser on the wall, but shower cap was provided. Sink and mirror not in bathroom as is common with Best Western. Beds comfortable. Air conditioning but we didn't use it. Overall a nice room.

bestwesternjena, Leiter Front Office at Best Western Hotel Jena, responded to this review
Thank you for taking the time to evaluate our hotel. We appreciate you as our guest and look forward to welcoming you back in our hotel soon. BEST regards C. Meißner Front Office Manager

"Clean rooms with basic American touch"

Flyhead, Taipei 18/05/2017

Friendly helpful staff during check-in. The rooms are clean and well maintained, just the style is simple and like in the US. Small tv with any kind of local as well international channels. For those who love to have Breakfast, you'll get a wide selection of all. Enjoy it!! The restaurant itself is good but the speed is sooooo slow. There was a bigger table with about 16 people who ordered just before me. I had to wait about 1h to get my food.... The hotel itself offers free bus and local transportation tickets with the room key, to get to the city center. If you like outdoor sports, there are some nice trails for hiking and running behind the hotel. Enjoy your stay!

bestwesternjena, Leiter Front Office at Best Western Hotel Jena, responded to this review
Thank you very much for your lovely review. We hope to welcome you back again soon. BEST regards C. Meißner Front Office Manager

"You'll survive!"

User 10/05/2017

If you want to live in isolation without contact to the outside world whilst on your business trip then this is the place for you. If you want to eat here I'm sure you'll find something that you may want to digest without paying too much over the odds. Taxi fares in Jena seem to be quite expensive, so I suggest that you use other means of local transportation or use the trotters that god gave you and walk. The hotel friendly and helpful and could really ask for more, especially when they offered a free 1 way shuttle to my place of work which was incredibly generous. Now considering the mobile signal is quite poor here, it says a lot when a mobile hotspot is faster than the hotels wireless internet network, which was about as much use as mammary glands on a sub aquatic creature. Furthermore, not that you can use more than one device at a time, you are restricted to 2 devices connected at any one time so it's a bit of a 'faff' when you want to connect a different device as you have to log one off to log one on. The ensuite room that I stayed in was a good standard, although it was a struggle to open the vents to get heat out of the outdated storage heater. There was a small kitchenette in the room which worked, however with no pots, pans, crockery or cutlery there wasn't much point to even attempt to use it. The best thing about the room was the shower. Overall an average stay, for which the only thing that made up for it was the beer. I would stay here again but this is mainly due to a fairly average selection of hotels in the area.

bestwesternjena, Leiter Front Office at Best Western Hotel Jena, responded to this review
We would like to thank you very much for your review and say sorry for the inconveniences during your stay. Hopefully we will welcome you back soon. Best regards C. Meißner Front Office Manager

"I am overall totally satisfied with the service"

mita4etodim, Sofia 01/12/2016

The staff were friendly, the service was on the desired level, it was clean and the restaurant was on the expected level. I was really happy with the overall experience. The very positive surprise for me was realizing there's a sauna - much deserved after a very tough business day. Thank you!

"Better than UK Best Westerns"

User 09/10/2016

Its rare I stay at a Best Western hotel, but I found it slightly better than the UK hotels. Check in was quick and easy, the room was lovely, bed was nice and comfy for a change. The staff at breakfast were helpful.

"Confortable bed, good breakfast however its old"

User 25/08/2016

Clean room with everything on its place. (bathroom sink was in the room (outside of the bathroom), not so nice but its OK) Room is equipped well, there's all what you need for an overnight. Breakfast was nicely served and was enough. Staff nice, pleasant and smiling.. :) The hotel looks and it is old, the location of the hotel is inadequate for the people how are visiting the city without a car, because its to far away from city center. It was a weary good price

"Good hotel at best location"

amitkapr, Ghaziabad, India 27/07/2016

I stayed at this hotel for one week. The location of hotel is best in my opinion. One can have nice view of Jena city from room balcony (if the room is at front side of hotel). The hotel offers free wifi which is now common in all hotels of Germany. The breakfast menu offers a big variety of items. One can surf the full city as the hotel room key can be used as a ticket in local buses and trams. Overall very good experience with the hotel.


Donald E, Jena, Germany 30/05/2016

Really like everything about the hotel including breakfast. Plenty of room at the best price we experienced in any hotel on our Germany vacation. Downtown Jena is nearby..we chose to drive rather than take public transportation. Very friendly staff.

"stayed for one night on a ledger battlefield tour"

skimpys, Sheffield, United Kingdom 02/05/2016

decent 3 courses for 19 euros . needs updating . telly in room was one i had in the 1960s lol . staff very friendly . good base to stay . breakfast was bog standard but u ll not go hungry . tiny lifts , 3 people wiyh cases and thats it .

"Clean, great courtesy, free parking and free internet"

Massimiliano_Germany, Graz 05/04/2016

I spent three night for a business trip. I stayed in a room with a colleague. The room was big, clean and with a balcony. Even the view was beautiful. The price was cheap for the quality of the service. In front of the elevator there was an amazing machine for cleaning the shoes. We got a card to use for traveling for free with the public transport of Jena. We did not eat but I had a hot chocolate with rum one evening and it was delicious.

"Basic hotel with a good view."

User 16/03/2016

Okay, very basic, worth the price. Some of the facilities could do with an upgrade. Try and get a room facing the city (facing the front of the hotel), these rooms have a great view of the city and the mountain(?). Rooms at the back have a boring view of a steep hill and a few houses. The food, functional no frills. The breakfast buffet does have a decent variety. Spent 5 days here and I had no complaints about the staff, well they could smile once in a while though.

"Special for that city"

drfbehnia, Tehran, Iran 07/02/2016

A good hotel in Jena. There is a balcony for each room and you have an amazing view of city or at behind rural view of city border. It is placed at one side of city and one should take a taxi to reach the downtown. It takes about 10 minutes by taxi. The hotel has polite and kind staff serving every moment as you need. There is no private safety box in the room. It is necessary to consider. Food and breakfast are simple. There is a spa but no one is responsible there about absence of its staff. I only recommend it to business men who may resist in this hotel.

"Like the Curate's Egg - good in parts"

caroleburrows9, Durham, United Kingdom 11/12/2015

Handily placed for the motorway but not so for the centre of town or the station. However, it's elevated site affords good views of the town and area and there was plenty of parking space around the hotel. Our room was comfortable, with a balcony, though we didn't use it much in December! As part of a tour group we had porterage supplied but that wasn't all that efficient. The rooms also have those strange card keys with punch holes almost a remnant of card punch information systems and you really have to push them in hard to activate and ditto, pull out firmly. We had set meal times and set meals. There was a vegetarian option but for the rest of us it was take it or leave for all three courses. The meals were quite decent but the desserts lacked imagination and the starter was soup every night. In view of the set time and menu it was a little frustrating one evening to have to wait half an hour for the starter to arrive! the staff were pleasant and helpful but not that many of them so delays could occur.

"Positive surprise"

Alex H, London, United Kingdom 18/09/2015

I did not expect much going into this hotel on the outskirts of the town but it ended up a pleasant surprise: clean, updated, quiet with a bar that stays open late. Patchy wi-fi in the rooms. Fast and friendly service.

"OK but not inspiring. A few disadvantages for business travellers"

BuissnessTraveller, Shrewsbury, United Kingdom 08/09/2015

I arrived in Jena at Goschwitz station and walked to this hotel. Unfortunately it is on the wrong side of the railway tracks which means a long detour either to the road bridges or to the underpass that I found, so it makes for a long walk, the last bit uphill. Not recommended. On arrival I was greeted by a sign saying the reception had gone away and to 'Have some patience". Quite a lot of patience later I was confronted by the unfriendliest receptionist I have come across for a long time. After travelling for 13 hours+ it would be nice to have someone on the desk who could at least pretend to be please to see you... I didn't eat any meals in the hotel except breakfast, which was standard German hotel fare... German style sausage, bacon and powdered scrambled eggs, selection of fish and meats and fruit, muesli and yoghurt. It was ok, nice enough if a bit generic. Most of the rooms have balconies. These seem to be popular with smokers, as I discovered when stepping on the balcony and wondering where the smell of smoke was coming from (Look over the edge and see three or four hands hanging over the railings all holding cigarettes!) Not a problem since the weather wasn't so warm and I kept the door shut, but might be annoying on a hot day. There is free Wi-Fi, but it didn't work for me on the top floor near the end of the building. A colleague of mine managed to watch a football match on it, but he was nearer the centre of the building. The room was clean enough, bit sparse. No tea or coffee (normal in Germany) but no bottled water either. There were vending machines in the lobby and ALDI, LIDL and a garage selling cold beer and hot sausages are all walkable within a mile or two, if you are fit enough and can brave the main road. (Head uphill!) What I didn't like so much is that if you walk out of the hotel you are on a main road with no pavements. The nearest tram is just a little bit too far away (Winzerla). It gives it a slightly isolated feeling if you have no car with you. They did run a shuttle which took me to the place of work I needed to visit in the mornings. Check out was efficient and the guy who checked me out was a bit friendlier ;-)

"Decent hotel."

MK13AL, Milton Keynes, United Kingdom 05/08/2015

Stayed one night with Leger. We didn't arrive until 2130 but they had kept the restaurant open for everyone but we just had a snack in the bar and they were excellent - bruschetta and tempura prawns. The bar staff were friendly and helpful with translations. The room was ok, standard hotel room style but reasonable size. bed and pillows were comfortable. Can't remember if there was aircon but we opened the windows (we were at the rear - very quiet) and it was ok. The breakfast buffet was good - standard continental fare but with a hot option. Note that the hotel is some way out of the town centre but id near the autobahn junction.

"Decent, Clean and Dated"

S D B, Dallas, Texas 17/07/2015

Rooms are clean though dated looking. the towels are basic, thin and seemed old but are clean. The Wi-Fi is free and not too bad but seemed like it dropped data. The hotel advertises air conditioning but many of the units don't work and they are all very dated, loud and unsatisfying. Breakfasts were good but never changing but the kitchen turned out decent food at a reasonable price until quite late. Parking is plentiful and free which is nice. It is close to the highway though and not in the city center at all. Overall it is adequate, the staff is nice enough and some are very friendly but there is also a certain something missing.

"Decent Hotel, Value for Money"

soumjkt, Jakarta, Indonesia 06/07/2015

Restaurant was good, with decent food, but Breakfast was boring, though The breakfast is exactly same everyday, almost like "ground hog day". Our room was furthest corner of the hotel on 3rd or 4th floor, with Big suitcases it was quite a walk and stairs involved.

These reviews are the subjective opinions of individual travelers and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.