ROOM 1
ROOM 2
ROOM 3
Promotion code

Best Western Tidbloms Hotel, Gothenburg

4.0/5  - basé sur 205 notations.
Olskroksgatan 23, 416 66, Gothenburg, Sweden - See map

The Best Western Tidbloms Hotel welcomes you to our hotel with a friendly staff and a building from the turn of the century, English style library and a restaurant in an original cellar environment. All this will make you feel welcome! The Best Western Tidbloms Hotel lies in a quiet area, only two kilometers from the city center and Svenska Massan/Liseberg. The tram station is close by, takes only ten minutes to the city center. Hotel parking is 195 SEK per night.

Best Western

Tidbloms Hotel

LABEL_ITINERAIRE

LABEL_DEPART:

LABEL_ARRIVEE:

Hotel advantages

  • Restaurant
    Restaurant
  • Cocktail lounge
    Cocktail lounge
  • Public area air conditioned
    Public area air conditioned
Show More Show Less

Guest reviews

In partnership with tripadvisor fr
Certificate of Excellence 2017
based on 204 guest reviews
NOTE ISSUED
Excellent
51
Very Good
97
Average
40
Poor
11
Terrible
5
REFER TO NOTICE
Business Business
68
Couples Couples
81
Family Family
29
Friends getaway Friends getaway
11
Solo travel Solo travel
9
SUMMARY NOTES
Cleanliness
Location
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Value

"Very tired "

3
13/09/2018

The only reason this place gets 3 stars is because the staff are great and helpful and the breakfast is excellent. The building and decor is in desperate need of a make over. Basic. This is a very quiet area of the city. Taxis are expensive, so if your trying to save money pay more for a hotel closer to the centre of the city and save on the taxi/transport costs. Sorry chose another hotel.

"Not worth the money I payed for the room"

2
24/07/2018

I stayed ther efor one night and payed a huge sum of money for it, I was hugely dissapointed. The room was tiny, the shower was very small and the amenities all together very tight. The elevator was from the time when Forrest Gump hadn´t started running across America yet and I got the feeling right away that I really-really do not want to get stuck in there! The breakfast wasw nothing special as well. That´s all I got to say about that!

"An amazing friendly hotel!"

5
22/04/2018

We have just arrived home from a weekend trip to Sweden and stayed in this beautiful hotel. We checked in really quickly and was shown our rooms. Our room was spacious and had great facilities such as TV and kettle with various teas and coffees. Bathroom had a brilliant power shower in a wet room styled bathroom very modern indeed! The beds were super comfy with huge pillows sinking you down for a good night's sleep just what you need after a whole day walking around sightseeing! Richard on the desk was so helpful and the young blonde girl printed out our boarding passes with no issue. nothing is too much for the staff. Breakfast was so delicious and set us up for the day. lots of selection of fruit meats breads cheeses and hot cooked breakfast such as bacon sausages eggs! Thank you so much for a great stay the staff are so fantastic we will be back!!

Tidbloms, Front desk at Best Western Tidbloms Hotel, responded to this review
Dear sir/madam, Thank you so much for your kind words! We are always happy to help at the hotel and we are glad to hear you enjoyed the breakfast as much as we do. :-) You guys are welcome back at any time!

"Comfy bed, fantastic breakfast"

5
12/12/2017

I enjoyed the few days I spent at this hotel. I slept very well and had a wonderfully huge pillow. The desk staff was friendly and helpful. Oh my, the breakfast was superb. So many delicious, high quality options. Parking was hard, but with a full restaurant/bar in the hotel and walking distance to a tram (and Systembolaget!) I'd gladly come back here next time I'm in Gothenburg.

"Great breakfast "

4
22/11/2017

Spent 2 nights. Service minded personnel in the reception the first evening, but a little bit slow when checking out. Small, but functional room, no luxury. Very soft bed, but I liked it. Clean. Really good breakfast buffet. Restaurant also offered a classic pub menu in the evening. All in all satisfied.

"What a disappointment"

2
02/09/2017

Place located in a deserted part of town. No restaurant or bar service available on a Sunday afternoon. Parking is a joke with a hike to a private garage with slots that can fit a moped. Public transportation is also a hike away. Not my cup of tea - sorry

"Cosy hotel, pretty close to the city centre."

4
06/08/2017

If you like staying in hotels that have some history behind, you should try it. There is a tramway station nearby if you plan to go to the city centre. The restaurant offers tasty food as well as comfortable and climactic lounges.

"One Nighter. "

3
20/07/2017

Nice old style Hotel with soul. Had an early boat to Denmark, and this hotel is convenient for that. Paid parking in front of Hotel, not expensive. Check in took 2 min. Room quiet tiny, however fine for 1 person, 1 night. Room 211 Very clean, coffee facilities, small TV. Average comfort bed, noise from street due to windows open. High temperatures and no AC. Great Sports-bar, with decent menu. Good quality food. Distance from City. Did not try breakfast. Probably be back.

"Good Hotel with excellent breakfast"

4
12/07/2017

The hotel is out of the centre of Gothenburg but it is easily accessed by tram or walking. Our room was small but was OK for our visit The breakfast was excellent with a good selection breads, cooked meats and cheeses, cereals and cakes plus a hot breakfast of bacon and eggs etc. Please note that the hotel parking charges have just increased from SEK 95/day to SEK195/day and parking on the meters outside is very limited. We parked at the nearby Circle K Parking House without problems @ SEK 60/day

"Tidbloms Hotell - Personal Service"

5
27/02/2017

I have stayed at this Hotel for more then 20 years. They do the little extra to make you feel at home. Very kind and proffessional staff. My warmest recomendation to choose this hotel. It's not in City Center but close to Hotel you can take the city Train downtown. Takes only 10 minutes.

"Excellent service very friendly staff"

5
01/02/2017

Hotel has basic facilities and a traditional feel. Great food and really friendly staff. Nothing too much trouble for them. Short walk to tram stop where you can get right into Gothenburg city centre. Have stayed here twice for business and wouldn't hesitate to stay again.

"Great hotel for our 4 day vacation with an DELICIOUS breakfast"

5
08/01/2017

Visited Gothenburg with my girlfriend for the first time and we found this hotel a great place to stay. It's located just outside the city center with good communications. The room was a bit smaller than we had expected but sufficient and included all the essentials. The room was kept clean and tidy. The staff was helpful and kind and we do not have much to complain there. The best part of the hotel was its breakfast buffet which was included in the price :) The selection was spectacular and included everything you can think of and it will keep you full for a long time :) We really enjoyed our stay here and will probably stay if we visit Gothenburg for a second time.

"Gothenburg in October"

3
20/10/2016

I visited Gothenburg for work in October and was in room 104. This is on first floor but on ground floor at back of the hotel overlooking a bit of a rubbish area. The location is a little outside the main part of Gothenburg so you need to be able to get there. If fit you can walk in to the centre in 30-40 minutes, just following the cycle ways signs. There are also regular (every 10 mins or so) trams from not too far away to the centre. The room was clean and had free Wi-Fi and a good shower which were main things. One thing it didn't have was air conditioning, there was a fan and heater, but as room was an ground floor not sure I would open the window. The attached gastropub was also good for a nice included breakfast, but also for an evening meal. The main clientele seemed to be Swedish and included a few locals in the evening. I did take a walk out around the area one evening (it was dark) and had no problem doing so or felt it any way worried doing so. If had to stay there again would do so with no problem, but would have preferred somewhere a little more central as could more easily walk out and about and have access to more restaurants. The reception staff were helpful and check in/out were simple.

Janne J, Ägare at Best Western Tidbloms Hotel, responded to this review
Hello Mike, thanks for taking your time to write us a review. Nice to hear you were pleased with our staff and breakfast, and yes we are a little bit outside the city center but as you say its only 10 minutes away by tram. Hope to see you again next time you visit Göteborg and maybe you can lend one of our bicycles, free of charge of course, for quicker access to the city center. Best regards Janne Johansson Hotel Manager Best Western Tidbloms Hotel

"Great breakfast and ok location"

4
14/09/2016

Location is at first sight a bit odd next to the highway. But only a five min tram to the city center makes it an ok location if you're coming by car. Rooms are rather small and average standard. But the breakfast is way beyond chain hotel standards. Freshly squeezed orange juice and a lot of homemade stuff (bread, jam, chocolate spread etc) gives the stay a little extra. Stayed for two nights and there were some variations to the breakfast. All in all a fine hotel in a city with overwhelming many restaurants and cafe's When we were there they had two MTBs for free ride.

Janne J, Ägare at Best Western Tidbloms Hotel, responded to this review
Hello Jesper, Thanks for your respons och for your great review. Nice to hear you that you liked our breakfast, a collaboration between Best Western and Tina Nordström, and which is an important part of your hotel experience. A warm welcome back next time you visit Göteborg. Janne Johansson Hotel Manager Best Western Tidbloms Hotel

"Best breakfast"

4
23/08/2016

The first room I had was on the first floor but because it's built on a hill it was effectively the ground floor. I didn't feel very safe as needed to have the window wide open because it was so hot, but someone could just have stepped in. The hotel was very obliging and found me another room quickly which was on the 3rd and much better. The breakfasts were fabulous, several different homemade granolas and mueslis, lots of delicious fresh breads. All in all a good hotel and reasonable because not in the city centre. Easy access to the tram which I used all the time, also easy to walk into the centre. Supermarket and System Bolaget nearby (state controlled alcohol store).

Janne J, Hotelldirektör at BEST WESTERN Tidbloms Hotel, responded to this review
Hello Jakradice, thanks for taking the time to write us a review. Glad we could help you by changing room. to make your stay as good as possible. Many thanks for your positive respons regarding our breakfast, which is a very important for every hotel guest. Which you a warm welcome back next time you visit Göteborg. Janne Johansson Hotel Manager Best Western Tidbloms Hotel

"Excellent breakfast and service"

4
16/07/2016

The standard rooms are not big, but good enough and kept very clean. Staff is really friendly and helpful. We arrived at the the hotel at 10.00 AM, and we were able to get into our room already at 10.30 AM. Ofcourse we did mention this up front with the booking, but nonetheless it was great to actually be able to get a room this early, especially after traveling really early in the morning/night. Beds are very comfortable, quite soft, but still firm enough. Breakfast is more than excellent. Besides the usual eggs, sausages, bread, cheese and ham, it consists of various types of cerials, loads of fresh products and even local and homemade stuff like peanut butter and jellies. Apparently a Swedish winner of a cooking program has put this all together, and she did a great job at it.

Janne J, Kundansvarig at BEST WESTERN Tidbloms Hotel, responded to this review
Hi drums79, Thank you for making the time and effort to write a review. I´m happy to see that you enjoyed your stay at Best Western Tidbloms Hotel. We try to meet all of our guests wishes. I´m glad to hear that we fullfilled yours. I hope that we see you as a guest soon again! Best regards Elin Perbring Best Western Tidbloms Hotel

"Bien"

4
23/06/2016

The service is good. The breakfast is excellent and the room is clean. A notice indicating the name and location of hotel should be placed on the main road and the street where the hotel is located. It was not easy to find the hotel.

Linda G, Receptionschef at BEST WESTERN Tidbloms Hotel, responded to this review
Hi Mary, thank you for leving such a good review. I'm so sorry you seem to have had a hard time finding the hotel, it's just a few hundred meters from the tram stop. I'm happy you found our hotel and seem to have enjoyed it. Most welcome back to us! Best regards, Linda Grinder Front Office Manager

"The Very Best Breakfast in Over 30 Years of Travel"

5
18/06/2016

As a salesman of 31 years I judged this as the very best worldwide winning breakfast of which I have partaken. I have eaten hotel breakfast all around the UK, Las Vegas, New York, Chicago, San Francisco, Cruises & Hawaii. The breakfasts included superb varieties of daily homemade breads, make-your-own, freshly squeezed orange juice and a vast array of local cold cuts, cheeses, pate, Swedish meatballs and scrambled eggs. There were also locally mixed healthy cereals and an exquisite composite to enjoy. Louise and Linda at the front desk provided exemplary service and always with perfect smiles.

Linda G, Receptionschef at BEST WESTERN Tidbloms Hotel, responded to this review
Hi Christopher, thank you so much for your kind review. We are very happy to read you are so satisfied with your stay with us - and especially our breakfast buffet. You are most welcome back to us! Best regards, Linda Grinder Front Office Manager

"Good food, Good hotel, close to tram line to city centre."

4
22/05/2016

Nice hotel with helpful staff. Buffet breakfast, served from 7.30 to 10.30, was lovely with great selection. The hotel is a 5-10 minute walk from the tramline straight into Gothenburg city centre. We got the Gothenburg city card so all tram trips were free so we didn't mind the short journey as the hotel was very reasonable. Will return when next in Gothenburg.

Linda G, Receptionschef at BEST WESTERN Tidbloms Hotel, responded to this review
Hi Helen, thank you so much for leaving a review. I'm very happy to read you enjoyed your stay with us. It's correct that we are located in a calm area and it's very easy to take the tram to the city center. Most welcome to us next year, Helen! Best regards, Linda Grinder Front Office Manager

"Charming hotel in old building."

4
18/05/2016

Tidbloms Hotel is very charming, a bit oldish in a good way. We stayed there one night and were very satisfied for the hotel. In the evening we even got to loan the cable for the laptop-tv to watch the Finnish icehockey, and we won! :) Breakfast buffee was very good, especially the possibility to make your own orange juice. Good parking place.

Linda G, Receptionschef at BEST WESTERN Tidbloms Hotel, responded to this review
Hi Eija, thank you so much for leaving a review. I'm very happy you enjoyed the stay with us, that you enjoyed our breakfast buffet and good parking facilities. And the most important thing - Congratulations for winning the game! Best regards, Linda Grinder Front Office Manager

"Good hotel, good food, good service, but quite far from city centre"

4
16/05/2016

Attended an event at the hotel - had lunch and dinner in the hotel restaurant. The short breakdown: Good hotel, good food, good service, but quite far from city centre - 10-15 mins. with taxi (appx 180-260 SEK, depending on time of day).

Linda G, Receptionschef at BEST WESTERN Tidbloms Hotel, responded to this review
Hi Christer, thank you so much for your kind review. It's correct that we are located in a calm area with the city center only a few minutes away by tram or a 20 minutes walk. We also have a parking and it's very easy to reach the high ways. I'm very happy you are so satisfied with your stay with us, with both our restaurant and our hotel. I hope to see you again soon. Most welcome back to us! Best regards, Linda Grinder Front Office Manager

"Excellent hotel with character, great bar but quite far from city centre"

4
21/04/2016

This is a nice hotel with an excellent bar and lots of character. I was on the fourth floor (the highest floor) and the room was small but had a lot of charm with its layout and furnishings. The only issue is that the hotel is quite far from the city centre and Gothenburg central station (15-20 minute walk to central station). There are trams only a couple of minutes away that take you directly into the city. The area is quiet but there are a couple of nice cafes and restaurants (pizza). The room-rate included free breakfast which is of the highest quality. The breakfast is served in the restaurant / bar area and there were plenty of options from breads, cereals, fruits, meats and cheese. The bar has a lot of character and charm similar to that of an old English pub. The draft beer selection was fantastic with 8-10 selections. I'd definitely recommend it as the room-rate is great value and the hotel is clean and basic but just take note that it's not in the city centre.

Linda G, Receptionschef at BEST WESTERN Tidbloms Hotel, responded to this review
Hi Scott, thank you so much for taking your time to leave such an excellent review. We are really happy you enjoyed the rooms, the breakfast buffet with all its choises and our restaurant with its English pub Environment. I hope to see you again soon. Most welcome back to us! Best regards, Linda Grinder Front Office Manager

"Great location and I enjoyed the breakfast"

5
21/03/2016

I was in Gothenburg for a dance festival and the receptionist helped me with directions to the venue and gave me more information on attractions to see in the city. The room was comfortable and I was pleased with the wide variety of breakfast items on offer.

Linda G, Receptionschef at BEST WESTERN Tidbloms Hotel, responded to this review
Hi Nigel, I'm so happy to read you had such a nice stay with us. That you found your room comfortable, enjoyed our breakfast and got such good help from our front office staff. Most welcome back to us! Best regards, Linda Grinder Front Office Manager

"Correct, but cold."

2
09/12/2015

I got a cold in the room because the heating is not efficient enough. Coming from hot countries, I got sick at night. The bed was also too soft for my back. With both of these problems, I spent a bad night. Hopefully, it was for one night only.

Linda G, Receptionschef at BEST WESTERN Tidbloms Hotel, responded to this review
Hi Asaur, I'm so sorry you got sick while visiting us. I hope you got better quick and that you had a pleasant time in Gothenburg, despite your cold. Best regards, Linda Grinder Front Office Manager

"Great Value"

4
26/10/2015

Great for the price with a half decent breakfast - just make sure you get up on the early side or your eggs may be cold : ) Soft, comfy bed; minimal but nice room; tea and coffee making facilities in the corridor and a cosy bar/restaurant (not open Sundays). Supermarkets and trams stop just a few minutes walk away at Redbergplatsen, along with Halta Lotta Krog if you fancy a beer in the evening - it doesn't take long to get into town on the tram and costs about 26 krona / 2 each way. Overall - clean and cosy hotel in a quiet neighbourhood. Very reasonably priced and not too far from town, we walked it the first day but it took a bit too long. Don't be shy to use the tram - just get on and swipe your bank card on the blue machine.

Linda G, Receptionschef at BEST WESTERN Tidbloms Hotel, responded to this review
Hi Missmeeno, thank you so much for leaving a grade and for all tips. This means a lot to us and to all our guests. Most welcome back to us! Best regards, Linda Grinder Front Office Manager

"Good hotel for correct price."

5
22/10/2015

Quiet area, half an hour walk from downtown, you can take the tram as well, 5 min. walk. Friendly staff, Linda is always smiling, good restaurant for dinner, nice draft beers. Excellent breakfast with fresh orange juice! Will come back if I'm in the area.

Linda G, Receptionschef at BEST WESTERN Tidbloms Hotel, responded to this review
Hi, thank you so much for leaving such a good grade with your kind Word. This means a lot to us. We hope to see you again soon. Most welcome back! Best regards, Linda Grinder Front Office Manager

"It's ok .. No more"

3
30/09/2015

The room I had was very small, and single bet too. Coffee is at the end of each corridor which is novel!! Breakfast is served in the bar and is pretty limited and is 100% self service. I didn't see any staff in three days Worst part is the location. It's a good 2km to main 'downtown area ' and not much in terms of restaurants nearby There's much better in Goteborg

Linda G, Receptionschef at BEST WESTERN Tidbloms Hotel, responded to this review
Hi Stuart, I'm so sorry to hear you weren't pleased your stay. First of all we have different kinds of rooms and I guess you have chosed a smaller one. There are other options for you. Regarding our breakfast I'm very surprised you didn't see any staff since they are there all the time it's open. It doesn't feel realistic... We have, like most hotels in Sweden, breakfast buffet at our hotel. You can pick whatever you want and is mostly highly appreciated. Well, I hope to see you again some time and then offer you a larger room. Most welcome back to us! Best regards, Linda Grinder, Front Office Manager

"A pleasant surprise"

4
30/09/2015

We chose the place for our two nights stay solely by good deal and were pleasantly surprised. The room was tiny as ever but clean and came with a balcony. The bathroom was on the small side too but seemed like recently remodelled so it was fresh and almost stylish. The staff at the front desk were very friendly and helpful, even sharing the hotel's ghost story (and of course we had to do some EMF readings later ??). The gastropub downstairs is cozy, but we found the summer menu a bit limited. We did however enjoy our burgers after a day of travelling. Breakfast, which is nice and fresh with a good selection and freshly squeezed orange juice, is also served at the pub. The ambience and the smaller size make this hotel a good choice if travelling on a smaller budget.

Linda G, Receptionschef at BEST WESTERN Tidbloms Hotel, responded to this review
Hi Pietari, thank you so much for leaving your opinion. I'm very happy you seem to have enjoyed your stay with us! Most welcome back to us! Best regards, Linda Grinder Front Office Manager

"Decent hotel in the centre of Gothenburg with spectacular breakfast"

4
16/08/2015

This hotel was chosen as a stop-over accomodation for our holiday trip to Denmark. An initial negative experience was that the hotel did not provide a children bed and bed linen for our child although the hotel was informed in advance that two adults and a three year old child would be spending the night there. At this price range, we would have expected to get an air-conditioned room which was not the case here. As the room was quite warm, we decided to leave the window open during night which did not cause too much noise problems since the room was facing away from the main road. The car could be left at a guarded and fenced lot at 75 crows per night which is a good deal considering the high rates that are charged at public spaces througout this central area of the city. The staff did their best to make our stay an enjoyable one by giving directions to the restaurant of our choice and helping with travel arrangements such as looking up check-up times for the ferry travel. The big trump in the sleeve of this hotel is the breakfast buffet which is among the best that I have ever seen. They offered a wide variety standard breakfast options (scrambled eggs (made from real eggs and not the cheap instant powder product), bacon and sausages) different types of hams and cheeses as well as higher quality cereals such as canola. Offered were delicious oven-fresh rolls and ciabatta-style and whole-grain bread (and rolls) and milk products such as sour milk. There were oranges for preparing freshly squeezed juice. Another tasty and healthy but unusual option included water-cress that worked well with cottage cheese. One was able to choose from a variety of fresh fruits including a delcious melon-cashew-cucumber-basil salad. The morning tea could be enjoyed with fresh mint leaves and chocolate cake.

Linda G, Receptionschef at BEST WESTERN Tidbloms Hotel, responded to this review
Hi, thank you so much for leaving your opinion! Children are aloud to stay for free in parents bed, but if you want a crib we can of course arrange that as well. I'm very happy you liked the breakfast so much. It's designed together with a famous Swedish chef. I hope to see you as our guest again soon. Most welcome back to us! Best regards, Linda Grinder Front Office Manager

"The only 3 star who offer fresh Orange juice!"

5
01/08/2015

?Came late to the hotel as I had problem to reach it by car. Its in the eastern part of town where traffic restriction makes it difficult to get the direction?s? right. But of course at the same time its a quiet neighborhood because of traffic?those? restrictions. I finally arrived and I loved ?the place?. Good price, nice clean rooms, One sees that the management think?s? about their clients ?by adding/offering ?small ?unexpected ?details. The breakfast had everything and I could make my fresh orange juice I like so much. Last time I had a fresh orange juice at breakfast was at a 5 star hotel priced 4 times higher than this one?. If you don't have to stay in the heart of town - this is a good and economical alternative.?

Linda G, Receptionschef at BEST WESTERN Tidbloms Hotel, responded to this review
Hi Rudi, thank you so much for leaving your opinion. We are very happy you enjoyed your stay with us, especially that you appreciated the calm area around our hotel and the freshly made orange juice. I hope to see you as our guest again. Most welcome back to us! Best regards, Linda Grinder, Front Office Manager

"Great people in a nice place"

4
07/07/2015

Nice welcome, great breakfast. Always a pleasure to come to this place when in Göteborg..... Will be back soon hopefully. Of course nice weather in July helps love the hotel. And since I am requested to write 200 signs, I can only repeat that this is a nice place, simple and for the 3rd or 4th visit, still nice.

Linda G, Receptionschef at BEST WESTERN Tidbloms Hotel, responded to this review
Hej Francois, tack så mycket för ditt fina omdöme - det värmer! Jag hoppas på att få se dig som vår gäst snart igen. Varmt välkommen tillbaka! Med vänlig hälsning, Linda Grinder Receptionschef