Room 1
Room 2
Room 3
Promotion code

Best Western Hotel Le Val Majour, Fontvieille

22 Avenue D'Arles, 13990, Fontvieille, France - See on a map
Best Western Le Val Majour - Exterior day The Best Western Le Val Majour is ideally located in the center of Fontvieille. Come and experience our hotel near the major tourist attractions. Best price guaranteed and exclusive deals.

Between Camargue and Les Alpilles, Saint Remy de Provence and Arles, Avignon and Les Saintes Maries de la Mer, discover the Best Western Le Val Majour, with its 32 air-conditioned rooms, tennis court, large outdoor (not heated) swimming pool and a very large park with centenary trees. All rooms are decorated in a typical Provencal style, as bathrooms with old provencal earthenware. At the Best Western Le Val Majour, provence is in the park, at the reception, in the lounge, and in each room, a very nice trip in the heart of Provence. At your disposal we propose a tennis court not enlightened (even in winter), a swimming pool from Easter until October, a snack nearby the pool in July and August. Many authentic local restaurants are around the property and some of them participate to create the "Top French Cuisine Reputation'. Each morning a provencal market in a village around, visiting typical village, having a drink on a terrace as every provencal people, golfing, shopping, cultural exhibitions, horse riding, wine and olive tasting are some of many things to do. A bar all year long, a snack nearby the pool in July and August are available if you just want to stay at the Best Western Le Val Majour Hotel, which is anchored on the ground of a smiling God and perpetrates traditions to ensure your serenity in a verdant, peaceful harbor. Picnic pizza are not allowed in the hotel (rooms, terraces, by the pool, parking. . . ) Pets are our friends, on request.

Best Western

Hotel Le Val Majour




Hotel advantages

  • Catering Services
    Catering Services
  • Outdoor pool
    Outdoor pool
  • Air conditioning
    Air conditioning
  • Lounges/bars
  • Free parking
    Free parking
  • Outdoor parking
    Outdoor parking
  • 24-hour front desk
    24-hour front desk
  • Safe deposit box
    Safe deposit box
  • Multilingual staff
    Multilingual staff
  • Tennis court
    Tennis court
Show More Show Less

Guest reviews

In partnership with tripadvisor fr
Certificate of Excellence 2020
Travelers Choice 2022
Travelers_Choice 2020
based on 259 guest reviews
Very Good
Business Business
Couples Couples
Family Family
Friends getaway Friends getaway
Solo travel Solo travel
Sleep Quality


ginsengNewYork, new york 23/05/2018

Quiet, relaxing, unpretentious place in the countryside,minutes from Arles, Les Baux and ancient windmills! Our superior room had a small balcony, a huge bed with high quality mattress, and beautiful bathroom with walk in shower. But what makes this hotel special is the grounds: beautiful pine trees, a great outdoor terrasse where one can have breakfast, and a big swimming pool (I think they also have a tennis court). The whole atmosphere is one of relaxation, in the middle of provencal fields, with 2 neighboring donkeys! The village is steps away (5mns by foot) and has several small restaurants, as well as a market. Best of all, they have a wonderful owner, always smiling and ready to help. All in all a great place to stay. We'll be back!

"Excellent hotel for the price."

Michael I, Bangkok 28/08/2017

Here, we are not talking 5 star hotel for sure, but this hotel delivers on his promises. It's simple place but the place is nicely located in a very quiet area of Fontvieille, 5 minutes walk from the center. People are nice and very happy to accommodate the customer's wishes. There is quite small swimming pool, but it's there and the breakfast in the morning at the terrace is something very pleasant. I stayed there only two days on my way to the south but next time I will probably enjoy spending more time in this hotel more than acceptable to be a base for visiting all this wonderful area of France.

BWValMajour, Directeur général at Best Western Le Val Majour, responded to this review
We are very pleased with your visit to our establishment. Our hotel is actually located in the middle of many archaeological sites and we have a wide choice of walks that can satisfy our guests. It will be with great pleasure that we welcome you again and we will do our best to satisfy you. Best regards. Christine Decobecq and her team.

"Nice relaxing stay"

doudou27FrenchyinUK, Greater London, United Kingdom 26/06/2017

We arrived in the afternoon of a very hot day. The check in was very quick which allowed us to have a nice refreshing dip in the pool. We had the nice surprise to be upgraded. The rooms were nice, spacious with a very nice new Italian shower. The hotel is a very quiet area and we didn't any noise problem during our stay. We took our breakfast in the garden, everything was very fresh with plenty of choice to satisfy everybody

BWValMajour, Directeur général at Best Western Le Val Majour, responded to this review
Thank you for responding to our inquiry regarding your recent stay at our facility. Our desire is that each of our guests find, in our establishment, a moment of relaxation and tranquility. If we have met your expectations we are delighted. We hope you will come back soon. If, in the future, I can help you in any way, do not hesitate to contact me on + Again, thank you for taking the time to respond to our inquiry. We are sensitive to your loyalty to our brand. Best Regards,

"A great little hotel close to Arles!"

Bonnie G, Phoenix, Arizona 16/06/2017

This small hotel is just outside of Arles, very close to an old Roman aqueduct and grain mill and the beautiful Montmajour Abbey. The rooms were cool, comfortable and attractive. The breakfast was very good, and the pool a very refreshing treat after a hot day sightseeing. We found the staff to be very pleasant and helpful. There was plenty of free parking and tennis for those who play. We highly recommend this hotel.

BWValMajour, Directeur général at Best Western Le Val Majour, responded to this review
We are very pleased to have received Au Val Majour. Your comments and appreciations are really important to us, They allow us to improve ourselves for the well-being of our guests. Our establishment is actually located in the middle of many archaeological sites and we have a wide choice of walks. It will be with great pleasure that we will receive you again in our establishment. Best regards. Christine DECOBECQ and her team

"A discovery..."

luc_demeulemeester, Grimbergen, Belgium 09/06/2017

On our way back home we stayed here for one night, and we shall remember it. Beautiful hotel, in the middle of the nature, very clean with a lovely garden and swimmingpool. Very friendly lady on the reception. Because we arrived much to early (we arrived by boat at 08:00 AM in Marseille), she did all what was possible to give us a room and even updated our standard room to a higher class (for the same price). Breakfast was also unique: 2 prices, namely a small breakfast at € 6 and a breakfast à volonté for € 12.50... Finally, the hotel is about 15 min. walk away from the center of the village. We certainly coming back once:-).

BWValMajour, Directeur général at Best Western Le Val Majour, responded to this review
We are delighted with your comments and appreciations, the goal of all the team of Val Majour and myself is to make the stay of our hosts pleasant, and if we participated in your well being we are satisfied. We hope to see you soon at Val Majour. Best regards. Christine DECOBECQ and her team


norha, israel 02/05/2017

We stayed at the hotel 2 nights. The hotel is very close to the city of Arles. The building is a former farm with a huge garden and a pool. Rooms clean (although old) excellent breakfast (have it in the out side garden (weather permitted) Very polite treatment. Price- about 100 Euro per couple.

BWValMajour, Directeur général at Best Western Le Val Majour, responded to this review
We are very pleased to have received Au Val Majour. Your comments and appreciations are really important to us, They allow us to improve ourselves for the well-being of our guests. The hotel is undergoing restoration and as you can see all our bathrooms are refurbished. The modernization of our room will be part of a second installment of refurbishment and refrigerator installation in the larger bedroom and study. We hope to see you again at Au Val Majour. Best regards. Christine DECOBECQ and her team

"A pity it is only B&B."

kwosimodo9, Luxembourg City, Luxembourg 24/09/2016

Overall, I liked this hotel and would recommend it. It is a big airy place but beyond its former glory. The large outdoor pool is refreshing and clean but the poolside bar area (closed) and shower are hints of yesteryear. The same goes for the decaying restaurant building (closed down) increasingly hidden by over growing trees. Our room faced the back garden with pool and the sunshine streamed in through charming french doors leading out onto the shared balcony. The room, like the hotel, was dated but clean. the bed was uber comfy and with the air con unit, it was probably the best night's sleep I had on the trip. Breakfast was satisfactory. The staff was welcoming and helpful.

BWValMajour, Directeur général at Best Western Le Val Majour, responded to this review
We thank you for your appreciation. We try to make of the stay of our hosts a moment of relaxation and peace and we wish to have answered all your expectations. Actually the hotel is rather former and since our repurchase in April, 2015, we began his renovation. We began with bathrooms in 2015 and are going to continue in 2016. We hope that during your next stay among us, you can notice all these renovations. All the team of the Valley Majour joins me to thank you of your kind comments. Very cordially

"Once more, one of the nicest small hotels in Provence"

Krautrocker, Winterthur, Switzerland 22/09/2016

We stayed there again this summer on our way to Spain. The hotel is a really nice 3-star place, the rooms are a bit small but have nice terraces (garden view), the pool is lovely and Fontvieulle is a beautiful small town in the middle of Provence. All sight seeing places are in easy reach. Normally I don't like Best Western hotels very much but this is truely a gem in the chain, it feels much more like a family run place and the staff is very kind.

BWValMajour, Directeur général at Best Western Le Val Majour, responded to this review
We greatly appreciate all these comments, it is with great pleasure that we have received in our Hotel. We, the well being of our guests a priority, and we are delighted that your stay was enjoyable. If, in the future, I can help in any way, please contact me at + Again, thank you for taking the time to answer our survey. Best Regards,

"Could easily have stayed much longer"

tampen2016, London, United Kingdom 03/09/2016

We booked late (and cheap) after deciding on a quick visit to Arles, where parking is always a challenge. The village of Fontvieille is just down the road and turned out to be the perfect base for exploring the area (Les Baux, Provence etc). The hotel is like a mini country estate, impeccably neat and clean with a nice pool and plenty of restaurants nearby. We asked for a family room for four (two parents, two daughters aged 9 and 13). We were given room #1, a charming loft-style space at the top of an old tower (NB quite steep private staircase). Plenty of room for the four of us, the kids' beds behind screens. Excellent modern bathroom, state-of-the-art a/c. Someone complained about wasps at the pool but we swam there all morning without problems. Friendly and helpful service throughout. Highly recommended.

"Wonderful oasis in Fontvielle"

petermv, new york city 03/07/2016

We stayed here 2 nights as part of a cycling holiday in Provence. Easy walk into the center of town. The pool and back gardens are delightful, just what we needed after a hot day of cycling. Staff was very pleasant and the breakfast and overall service were quite good. If you're driving it's easy access to many of the surrounding towns

BWValMajour, Manager at Best Western Le Val Majour, responded to this review
We are very happy that your stay Au Val Majour it well, Our team does its best for your well being and that your rest is respected. It is with pleasure that we welcome you next time. Best regards Christine and her team

"Beautiful place, great service"

camilleandre90, Freetown, Sierra Leone 14/06/2016

Sommes restes cinq nuits a l'hotel Val Majour en Mai 2016. Personnel tres accueillant. Tres bel endroit, avec belle batisse amenagee et grand jardin. Court de tennis en bon etat et grande piscine. Fontvieille est l'endroit ideal si vous voulez visiter la region. Stayed five nights at the Val Majour hotel in May 2016. Very welcoming staff. Beautiful place, lovely older building and big garden. Tennis court and big pool. Fontvieille is the ideal location if you want to tour around the region.

BWValMajour, Manager at BEST WESTERN Le Val Majour, responded to this review
Madame merci d'avoir pris le temps de nous donner votre avis, Votre satisfaction est très importante pour nous et tous vos commentaires peuvent nous aider à améliorer votre bien être. Ce sera avec grand plaisir que nous vous accueillerons de nouveau Au Val Majour. Bien cordialement. Christine et toute son équipe.

"Pretty hotel, nice pool, very small room and ridiculous bathroom!"

SooseW, Guildford, United Kingdom 12/06/2016

We were allocated room 4 which was small for 2 adults. However it was clean and the bathroom had been refurbished recently I would guess. During this refurbishment they had put the loo so close to the basin that it wasn't possible to sit down on the loo - and I'm not tall or big. It was completely ridiculous. We did speak to reception who immediately recognised our problem but said there was nothing she could do - although she didn't charge us for our drinks. She said a couple of the rooms were built like this (I think it was rooms 1-4 but can't be sure). Needless to say the shower leaked all over the floor too - but that seems pretty standard. Breakfast was average and adequate.

BWValMajour, Manager at BEST WESTERN Le Val Majour, responded to this review
Dear Sir, Thank you for taking the time to complete the questionnaire, your opinion is very important to us and helps us to make improvements. It is true that we have 3 small rooms in our hotel we tried to renovate, unfortunately the hotel dating back to 1964 it was difficult to push the walls! We hope when you next visit to discover our other more spacious and functional rooms. Best regards

"Small room, very dated, uncomfortable bed & shower and very unsatisfactory stay"

Kaushik80930, Hong Kong, China 28/05/2016

My wife and I were allocated Room 17, down a dark corridor on the main level. The room turned out to be small and dated, but what was worse was that it was dirty and poorly maintained. Adding a few photos here since they speak louder than my words could. The Internet was slow and when I asked the lady at the reception (who appeared to be one of the owners) she responded that their service was recently updated and "all rooms were equally good" - which is of course impossible. The bed was very small for two adults and was at best suitable for just one person. Worse, there was a lot of light leaking from the top and the bottom of the drapes, making it very hard to fall asleep. Also, the A/c did not work and it was quite hot at night. I chose this hotel mainly because of my loyalty to Best Western, but in spite of being a Diamond level member of BW's program, I must have got one of the worst rooms at the hotel. Frankly, it was a big mistake to base my hotel selection due to its chain affiliation - there are many French hotel chains (e.g. Kyriad, B&B, Premiere Classe etc) which offer new, clean rooms at much lower prices. I was not aware of them earlier, but after this trip I know better!

BWValMajour, Directeur général at BEST WESTERN Le Val Majour, responded to this review
We are sorry for not being able to meet your expectations. The hotel is being renovated and will soon have a new room comfort. We hope to see you the Valmajour so you can see for yourself the improvements made to our institution. Best regards. Christine and all the team


olga770, Aventura, Florida 23/09/2015

We returned to this hotel after 5 years because we remembered the wonderful park like setting, how peaceful it was and how helpful and wonderful was the front desk agent.... And the 2nd time it was even better, the front desk lady offered suggestions of what to do, told us about a wonderful festival in her home town, she was just so nice and helpful..... Will be back soon....

"For the price - a great play so stop over."

Maureenta, Fumel, France 09/09/2015

We arrived after a very long and fraught day, so we didn't use the amenities, but the room, although small, had everything we needed. Mozzie doors, so we could open the French windows. Toiletries (inc tissues) tea and coffee in room and wonderfully comfy beds and pillows. Worth every penny.

"Tranquil, remote and beautiful"

SusanFLBlonde, Palm Beach Gardens, Florida 28/06/2015

What a wonderful find in a remote location in Provence. Recently added as a Best Western property. Beautiful architecture, lovely garden and large pool. Family orientated. All staff very friendly and knowledgeable of the area. Wonderful large breakfast in room. The best. Good coffee. Wonderful sitting area for drinks under the pines protected from the mistral (wind). Extremely quiet and peaceful.


Enni0anni0, Pavia, Italy 11/05/2015

We spent two nights at the hotel le Val major and we really enjoyed our stay! The hotel is located in a beautiful and quiet position just few minutes far from Arles. The position is perfect to visit Camargue, Avignon and Roussilion. Owners are really kind and careful to costumers request.

"look at the price, don't expect more"

pedrowei, Zurich, Switzerland 28/10/2014

our room towards the pool aerea was quiet, OK in size with toilet and shower in separate rooms. it was clean, not fancy. well some 50-60 years of history behind it. the matresses were a bit hard for my taste. and if your neighbour-room is occupied, you will get your share of noise. new flat screen TV, unfortunately out of 33 stations only one in german, and for sure the wrong one. who cares for a private-TV-channel with loads of advertising. a good and real fast WIFI (free!)... well, there were not many hotel guests around to slow down the WIFI !?! reception is efficient and friendly. there is no restaurant in house, only breakfast and that is of acceptable standard.

"Ideal stay"

Ian M, Cardiff, United Kingdom 26/09/2014

Situated some 15 mins outside Arles, this hotel offers excellent value for money. Pool, tennis court for relaxation and easy access to the many local restaurants. Hotel staff were always polite and helpful and if ever this way again it will definitely be our overnight stay.

Valmajour, Propriétaire at BEST WESTERN Le Val Majour, responded to this review
We really thank you for your nice comments. Hope to see you again... Kind regards

"Beware of Standard Rooms"

Pamela P, Frodsham Cheshire, United Kingdom 11/08/2014

The hotel stands in its own grounds on the edge of the village of Fontvielle, it is well located for visiting Arles and surrounding area, with good parking. The standard rooms are small based on our experience of using room No. 2 which is located on a corridor on the first floor, which has poor lighting. The room was 'tired', although it did have air conditioning. The bathroom was particularly small, to the extent that it is difficult to close the door from inside the bathroom. The shower was small and dated. Complimentary drinks need to be requested from the reception as does bottled water. There is no fridge in the room. Breakfast is not included in the standard package, making it more expensive than other comparable BW hotels we've used

Valmajour, Directeur général at BEST WESTERN Le Val Majour, responded to this review
Hello, We are sorry that you were not totally satisfy of your stay in Val Majour. We just want to indicate that THERE IS air-Co in your Room. The second point is that we do not propose package with breakfast because we let the person free to have it or not, and to choose between our 3 breakfast (room at 13.50€, buffet at 12.00€ or Express at 6.00€). And we want you to know that is true that our 3 standard rooms have small bathroom, but that is why we call it standard room, and each one is perfectly in the rules of 3 stars hotel in France.

These reviews are the subjective opinions of individual travelers and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.