Bienvenido al Best Western® Gustaf Wasa, el mejor hotel de Borlange y un establecimiento ampliamente conocido por sus habitaciones de primera calidad y por su galardonada arquitectura. Nuestro hotel se encuentra en el corazón del distrito financiero de Borlange, cerca de algunas de las mayores empresas de Suecia en los sectores del acero, los ferrocarriles y las autopistas. Además, nos encontramos en la conocida región turística de Dalecarlia, que cuenta con atracciones tales como la estación de esquí alpino de Romme, la mina de cobre de Falun y Carl Larsson. ¡El calor y la simpatía de nuestro personal le harán sentirse como en casa!
My boyfriend and I stayed for two nights and slept terribly. The beds are hard, and they only offer twin beds, not double, unless you upgrade to superior. Furthermore, it is so hot in the rooms, and there was no thermostat to be found. We were on the first floor and so sleeping with the window open made us super uncomfortable, but sleeping with it closed reduced us to a sweaty mess. To balance this review, the breakfast was fine. Good considering that most hotels have given up on buffet breakfast due to the pandemic. All the staff were very nice and friendly. In order to improve the experience here I suggest getting better mattresses and turning down the thermostat.
Easy parking outside, very friendly reception and excellent rooms. Very good breakfast and safe distance between tables in covid time. The thing I missed on a Sunday evening was something for dinner (restaurant was closed). OK, no problem to go out for some shopping but I was not really in the mood for it this time. Sn Italuan restaurant close by had an open sign but it look too deserted and gloomy. WiFi worked well, bed was very comfortable and cleaning spotless. My room faced an inner courtyard. On hot summer nights, with no AC, I can imagine noice from people outside. My stay was overall pleasant and except on a hot busy summer day, I am happy to return next time in Borlänge.
Hotel is perfect for business stop. There is parking just near entrance. Do not forget to give your car registration nr at reception. Room was OK. Breakfast very good- I couldn't just find some fruit yogurt- strawberry for example to musli.
Really nice hotel with friendly staff. Big parking lot, but almost no free space. Clean spacious rooms. Can't recommend the restaurant though. The menu is boring, lacks green/vegetarian options and staff seem confused and stressed.
First impression in the lobby is deceiving. Rooms are dated, especially the bathroom (with a disgusting poop-brown plastic carpet and worn beige tiles). It was also colder than what I'd prefer in the room and no way to adjust. As for the noise, we had a room where we could hear the traffic very well, our neighbours peeing, music and a couple having loud sex where the woman took too much inspiration from porn. We also noticed that we had only lukewarm water for our shower, which made it beyond unpleasant. The food in the restaurant was overpriced for what we got - portions were small and it only tasted like salt. The beds were uncomfortable and we did not sleep very well. There was also no electric outlet on one side of the bed so charing the phone overnight were you could reach it was not possible. Breakfast was mediocre. While the breads and meats were fine, the warm dishes were overcooked and dry. And no service - you had to get a tray and clear out your table yourself. Considering we've payed the same or lower and gotten a higher standard of breakfast serving leaves us quite disappointed. Other family members had much nicer rooms in the newer part of the hotel. If you do stay here - ask for a room in that section.
BWGWHotel, Front Office Manager at Best Western Gustaf Wasa Hotel, responded to this review
Dear Jane, Thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our property. On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we offer a better experience for guests in the future. We have just started our renovation of our bathroom and next year all rooms will have new nice bathrooms. Sad to hear that you were disturbed by the night, we had more than happy to give you a new room so your experience had been better. We sincerely apologize again for your bad experience at our hotel I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience. If I can provide any assistance, please don't hesitate to contact me directly at 0243-217400. Sincerely, Receptionen Best Western Gustaf Wasa Hotel
Very friendly staff in the reception and the restaurang, the staff speaking with us and have time to do it also, kidding with us but was anyway serious at the same time. The breakfast room was very modern and have a lot to eat, maybe to much...!!!
We stayed for 5 days in this hotel that has a great location next to the train station that makes it easier for commuting. It's also a central place for visiting many other nearby places. The breakfast was simple and good. However, we were extremely dissapointed by the superior queen room that we took. It's a good place for 1-2 days and not more as per our experience. The reception staff were very good.
Traveling in the area on work and this hotel was recommended based on location... immediately adjacent to the train station. The staff was very friendly and spoke excellent English. The rooms were very basic and almost spartan but clean and comfortable. Also was a very quiet hotel. There is a decent restaurant attached for convenience as well. The breakfast is excellent!!!!!
I would say that this hotel is what you can expect from a best western in Sweden. Simple rooms, a bit old, but clean. Nice lobby and great breakfast. Booked a single room but got a double room, which was nice. Only thing was that the room was a bit cold for my personal preference, but nothing to bad. Next to the hotel is a very nice burger place, with a large selection of beers.
The hotel was great, perfect location (close to city center and close exit to Romme Alpin ski area), excellent breakfast (healthy options included, like smoothies shots :)), coffee, tea and amazing cakes offered during the day was such a nice surprise, clean, good services, the only issue was the wifi doesn't work properly in the room. NIce stay overall.
I have stayed in a 1 bed room, but the bed was large and very comfortable. Nice bathroom, tea and coffee facilities, and a large TV, with local channels (some also in English). There is no minibar in the room. I have arrived in the evening and though the parking lot was full after about five minutes managed to find a space to park, which is a massive plus. Talking about parking, it's free for customers. I have only used the restaurant for breakfast, which offered a nice continental selection, fresh juices, fruit, etc. The hotel was centrally located next to a railway station, but I heard no noise from the trains, and shopping centres were also in the walking distance.
Do not expect what you pay for. Communal areas are nice and modern but the room we got was from the 90's.... and not properly cleaned. It is situated 10min walk from the shopping mall and right next to the station.
Although the reception area was remodeled, the rooms, the b-fast area, the corridors feel 1990. Was disappointed by the breakfast too. Scramble eggs were not creamy at all (water/condensation instead), bread tasteless and to the cereal the did not have yogurt with berries (only plain). To finish on a positive note, the beds are comfy:) All in all, the overall guest experience is NOT at par with both the room price and the 4 stars one could expect.
Two nights spent here, and I enjoyed it, the breakfast choice is amazing, the room; although small was comfy and cozy. Lots of free onsite parking, just a few minutes walk into town. Very friendly and helpful staff
The hotel is ideally situated if you are traveling by train, since it's just opposite the railway station. In all other aspects it was mediocre... Not bad, but not really that good either. The room (and especially the bathroom) was outdated, breakfast was average, the restaurant was "pub style"... Well, if you are located just opposite the station maybe you don't have to renovate your hotel every decade...
We stayed for a weekend this winter. Great staff, very friendly, no problems getting an extra bed (I have 3 children). Both the kids and me enjoyed the pool and the sauna, wonderful when you have been sking all day.
Usually with Best Western hotels, you get a good stay with no frills. So is the case with BW Gustaf Wasa as well. Modern/half modern decor/furnishing. Clean, comfy beds, large breakfast. Nice reception area with "self service" fridge bar - actually much nicer than mini bars on the room (which are disappearing more and more). Although a little bit on the edge of the town centre, it's convenient enough - Borlänge is not very big... And there's plenty of parking space. All for a very fair price. If you need to stop over in Borlänge, this hotel supplies a good accomodation for a night or two.
We stayed in the Wasa during a ski weekend in nearby Romme. The hotel in itself is nice and clean although the rooms are in desperate need of refurbishment. The hotel details on the site claim that there is an indoor /outdoor pool, but be warned this is not true. After finding the steam room that also had a hot tub I checked with reception who confirmed 'no pool'. This was not a disaster as the rest of the stay was still very pleasant, finished off by a fantastic breakfast! If I were in the area again I would probably go back.
The reception staff were friendly and efficient and check in/out was a breeze. The was perhaps not the most modern in terms of interior design but it was clean and quiet with a comfortable bed. The breakfast buffet was surprisingly good and I left fuller than I intended.
The hotel is in the center of Borlange so its easy to go everywhere. Interior of hotel is, how to say, quite strange. Combination of rustical and modern parts is not so pretty and some parts were under construction. The room was tiny. I did not expected dance hall but its really small. But interior was comfy - flat tv, fluffy bed, small table and chair. Temperature was okay, also the breakfast (continental) was great. One thing i didnt like - the curtain in shower was old and dirty.
Second time stayed on this chabby-balticum joint. The feeling from east germany early 80-t is close. First stayed dec 2012 and now on work this september. Rooms renoveted thats a big plus. But the breakfest studio is really depressing and the olerys restaurang in the same buliding is ok. But the feeling is depressing. The staff is sometimes ok sometimes strange also. Sorry to say but Falun Best Western has loads of potential and things to work on. Not sure that i would recommend this, depends alot on the price i guess.
A wonderful hotel for both pleasure and business. It is fresh and clean and the staff are always nice and helpful. Parking is easy outside of the hotel and they have a nice gym, pool and sauna. The breakfast is superior and the US & Mexican restaurant Broken Dreams (connected to hotel) has a very tasty menu. I particularly like the bed comfort at this hotel making it my favorite in the mid of Sweden! // Per
BWGWHotel, Receptionen at Best Western Gustaf Wasa Hotel, responded to this review
Thanks you for your thoughts about the hotel.
It's an ok business hotel. The rooms are dated and worn, the bathroom do the job but the towels are tiny. Breakfast is usual Scandinavian affair. The gym is not bad for a BW. The rest of the hotel is worn and frayed, that said some renovation started while I was there, so maybe improvement is on the way.
BWGWHotel, Front Desk at Best Western Gustaf Wasa Hotel, responded to this review
Greetings! Thank you for your thoughts about the hotel. We are doing a major renovation of nearly all public areas. Welcome back and check them out when they are done.
Hotel location to town was perfect walking distance! Rooms were fine, no issues! Dinner wasn't amazing, but breakfast was good! Had tea and coffee facilities in reception, including biscuits! Location to train station is right across the road easy!
BWGWHotel, Front Desk at Best Western Gustaf Wasa Hotel, responded to this review
Thank you for your thoughts about the hotel.
Welcoming staff. Good breakfast. The hotel is clean and tidy but needs a facelift. I would have appreciated either a bigger towel or an extra one. The attached restaurant Broken Dreams, is not recommended. Low value of money and meager menu. There are better places out on the town, or a burger joint.
BWGWHotel, Front Desk at Best Western Gustaf Wasa Hotel, responded to this review
Thank you for your thoughts on your stay at our hotel.
This hotel have no negative aspects. - Nice and social staff - Great breakfast - Nice resturant in american style - Nice rooms, well equipt with tv, comfy beds etc. - Newly built spa, including sauna and a jacuzzy - Only 5 min to city center and 20 min to the hills of skiing
BWGWHotel, Front Desk & Bookings at Best Western Gustaf Wasa Hotel, responded to this review
Dear Michael Harrison, Thank you for sharing your thoughts on your laast stay with us We value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come back and see us again soon. BEST WESTERN Gustaf Wasa Hotel
Nice hotell for weekend in Borlänge. I came with family to ski in Romme just outside the town. We appriciated a nice resturant and a brand new relax department. Both new rooms and som in older style. Ask for new rooms when booking. realy comfortable king size beds in the new room.
BWGWHotel, Reception & Bokning at Best Western Gustaf Wasa Hotel, responded to this review
Greetings! Thank you for your nice thoughts about the hotel. Welcome back!
We were travelling from Oslo to Gävle in Sweden on the day before Midsummer, a day with strong traffic. We therefore chose to drive via Borlange in order to avoid too much stress on the road. We chose the Best Western Gustav Wasa.The hotel was awarded for its architecture. By all means, it is well deserved. However, already before entering the front door you see that the most important first impression is shabby. Our room was clean, actually no further complaints, but you have this feeling it just is a run-down place. The Wasa restaurant is closed at least it got some furnitures which are not fitting in. The pool was closed as under construction. The water basin in the garden wasn`t cleaned for years, I guess. The other restaurant was obviously outsourced as the staff didn`t even know when breakfast was served. It was a kind of a Western saloon and they managed well. People and ofcourse families seemed to enjoy their food and the entire atmosphere, and so did my wife and myself. The breakfast is probably the reason for blaming for bad management. I do not want to be too picky, but it would extend this report out of proportions and this just after a one nights stay. Again, it could be a very nice hotel if management would look to details. You are staying in hotel from the mid-80ies and almost nothing has happened since a part from the flat tv which was placed on the wall in front of the beds - I would have gone for a smarter placement. Now, the rate they were asking for was in compliance with what we experienced. I think, the people from Best Western should talk to the hotel management.
We booked a trip to Darlana from Stockholm for Midsommer. Of course the hotel was not going to be that busy but I feel that the hotel did not really cater for any guests that were staying there. For the three days that we spent there the hotel bar and restaurant were closed. When asked if we could get anything to eat the reply was "There is an Indian restaurant open somewhere". Second night we ended up going to the local bar which was nice. Also there was a sign on the door of the Swimming Pools saying "Open early June". Despite it being June 21 it was still not open.
Easy to park and across the street from the train station, if you travel by train. Small but nice hotel rooms. Good price for the quality of service. Very good included breakfast. My preferred hotel at Borlänge.
Stayed 1 night at this hotel - 2 couples, 2 rooms. We found it great in every way. Front desk staff were friendly, helpful and efficient. The rooms were decent size and clean, comfortable. The included breakfast buffet was great, lots of choice and well presented. We had dinner at the restaurant, and enjoyed the atmosphere and food very much. Very much an American music theme to the decor. The lobby area was spacious, with seating and a TV, and free coffee and tea available. The free WiFi also worked perfectly via a supplied password... an important feature when you want to Skype home. Overall, I would return here if my travels took me back.
I stayed here for one night in May. It is very convenient for the railway station, but expensive by UK standards at £85.46 a night. The reception staff were friendly and helpful, spoke good English, and even made some fresh coffee. As their restaurant was not open they recommended an Italian restaurant just round the corner and this was excellent, both for the food, service and value for money. Breakfast was well up to Best Western standards.
Wherever Life Takes You, Best Western Is There®.
Cada hotel Best Western® está gestionado y dirigido de manera independiente, siendo sus propietarios igualmente independientes.