The Best Western Hotel de France is a three star hotel. The guest will enjoy an excellent location in the heart of Bourg-en-Bresse, at the foot of the Collegiale Notre-Dame and a stone's throw from the pedestrian precinct. Building dating from 1853, prettily renovated and redecorated, it combines comfort, elegance and refinement. Our hotel has forty-four spacious rooms equipped with every possible modern comfort (satellite television, air conditioning, complimentary Wi-Fi, mini-bar, hairdryer). Shaded courtyard and terrace with flowers. A private paying garage and a large public car park in the front of the hotel are at your disposal.
Nice room with all the necessary , even if too small , in particular the bathroom . Cleaning good and Service persons really kind and efficient. Restaurant good quality but price too much high and the chice in the menu is the minimum .
This is a lovely hotel - our room was large with a nice bathroom. I wish I could rate this hotel higher but unfortunately our room was positioned above the restaurant and the chef and front of house decided to go over the paper work with loud pumping music whilst smoking inside till 2 am. We had to go downstairs to complain twice. This is unacceptable. I would recommend this hotel but ask for a room high up away from the restaurant.
The Best Western is in a lovely building (dating from 1853) in a great central location and provides most of the facilities that a weary traveller needs (but no gym/fitness centre), including an excellent restaurant. Note, however, that at the time of writing (March 2018) downtown Bourg-en Bresse is undergoing an extensive renovation programme of its streets and squares so there is currently no parking alongside the hotel and navigating there can be a little challenging due to road closures. (Paid parking spaces are available nearby - charges apply from 9am to 7pm except for Sundays and public holidays.) Note also that some of the interior design and decoration of the Best Western has been rather ham fisted and institutional which is a great shame given the quality of the edifice (the room we used - no. 104 - has a thoughtless layout and the corridors outside are soulless). That said, the staff are friendly and efficient, giving clear and efficient instructions on how to drive out of town for example. The rooms are quite spacious with the necessary bits 'n' pieces (mini bar, coffee/tea, and room safe), the bed was comfortable and the bathroom well equipped. The buffet breakfast covers a good range of foods with an option to request freshly cooked eggs (worth bearing in mind as, when we were there, the scrambled eggs on display were a hardened mass). With a little more thought and investment from management this Best Western could be a delightful destination in its own right. As it is, the hotel is a decent stopping point.
We stayed here for a night while travelling by car to Italy. This is an older hotel with nice, spacious rooms in a central location. Could do with a little refurbishment but reminds you of traditional French hotels of yesteryear. Restaurant in front of hotel is not owned by hotel although they do provide room service for the hotel. Garage is to right of entrance (you have to reserve and pay a fee) - could be a bit tight for larger vehicles. Very good breakfast and pleasant staff. Would stay here again.
Beautiful mid range hotel in a lovely town set in a typical French square. Well worth a visit, comfortable decent sized rooms. The restaurant attached to the hotel was a great find also, really good food and service
The Hotel De France is a nice provincial French hotel with secure parking and pleasant rooms. The thing which sets it apart is a fabulous restaurant in a beautiful setting. The service is quite formal but the food is amazingly good - absolutely top quality and difficult to beat.
The location of the hotel is very good, however the problems may arise if you arrive by car (a regular size). We ordered a parking slot at 10EUR for night. While trying to get to the garage only one place was available (the one for disabled visitors). However, it took a lot of time and stress to maneuvre inside. The price of the breakfast (14.50 EUR per person) is also far above the average especially for such a town.
We were driving down through France and did not book hotels in advance. Arrived here and paid 89 euros - not the end of the world, but could probably have booked in advance for around 72. OK my fault, Room was ok, clean if very dated furnishings, Decent simple breakfast. Overall reasonable value. Nothing special but not expensive either. You can also park in public square just outside and do not pay until 9.00am or after 6/7pm
Good location in the city. Internet was good. Breakfast as normal in France. Parked in their small garage not for big cars! Room was old but ok. A/c worked good. Had lunch in the restaurant in the hotel, see separate Review.
We have stayed at this hotel for over 20 years, always visiting the attached restaurant Georg Blanc. Rooms vary, and just a few suit our tastes. ALL rooms are reasonably priced in general, but not all rooms share the same decor, maintenance or standards. Their largest, most expensive suite needs proper furnishings and renovation. It is huge, that is all. Having booked a particular room (as we always do) for a 70th birthday, driving 5 hours from Paris, the room was given away to other clients. The management decided all was done to meet our needs after escalated complaints. We were told to book directly with the hotel, for better communication. Their BW site wasn't working so booking was the answer, I always try to book directly. We were given extra points for a future stay, but well below the cost of the room. We were offered breakfast, but only on leaving were we told. Yes, we wre given 2 glasses of wine as we waited 2 hours for a room. Basic courtesy. For anyone who visits the same establishment for 2 decades, simply offering the same room on another date would seem simple. THIS is all we asked. No, I don't think this is self-centered. It is simply caring business for regular folks who've spent a good deal here. I have given this hotel kudos on TA for years. Bottom line, Best Western feels their own policies were in place. A 70th birthday dinner was ruined, arriving one hour late; , 2 hours of waiting were wasted finding a correct room (when it was available at check in, just NOT cleaned as we learned at the end of 2 hours) in a hotel where we for years had a relationship.
Virginie_Langlais, Directeur général at Best Western Hotel De France, responded to this review
It is our aim to always meet our guest's expectations and we must admitt that we could not succeed in that instance. Although we did not offer a complimentary room (as requested) to compensate for the fact that the "desired" room was not available, we believed that the compensations we presented you with were appropriate. We still believe so and can only be sorry that we were not able to get your acceptance of this. Best Regards
We stay very regularly at this hotel on our journeys to the Mediterranean. It has recently been renovated & a lift has been installed. The rooms are all very comfortable and offer all the amenities, though a bit soulless since the redecorating as they have lost a bit if the old word charmThe staff is very friendly. The added advantage is there is a very nice Brasserie on the ground floor & the hotel offers secure parking
I stayed at the Hotel de France while driving from Italy to London with my three pets. I was given a room with two bright windows overlooking the beautiful square and a large bathroom. My cat managed to find a niche in the bathroom where it was impossible to retrieve her and she would not get out. Every one at the hotel did everything possible over three hours to help me, including enticing the cat with food and toys, and dismantling the shower. In the end we got the escapist cat. Not only no one complained during the ordeal, but everyone was most helpful and in the end they offered me breakfast to recover. I am really grateful and highly recommend a stay - hopefully with better behaved pets!
Virginie_Langlais, Propriétaire at Best Western Hotel De France, responded to this review
Dear Guest, It was indeed quite an adventure that we will all remember. Thank you very much for your comment.
Hotel is situated in the heart of this rather cosy town. Nicely surrounded by a sizeable square and at walking distance from the theatre, shopping centre, restaurants and medieval cathedral. Hotel has rather comfortable rooms, some with a bath and some with a view upon the square. Wifi available. No fitness facilities or leasure facilities, which can be a lack for the business traveller. Great restaurant. Tip: take the menu if you stay for a couple of nights; very affordable and good to great cuisine. Breakfast satisfactory. Staff: correct. However, command of English is limited.
Driving into Bourg en Bresse without reservations -- my daughter and I were recommended 2 options by the Office du Tourisme when I said that I was looking for a reasonable hotel with some charm. They were not wrong. Hotel de France (Best Western) is a nicely renovated, beautifully situated hotel. the room was perfect-- with all amenities to make our overnight stay comfortable... great bed, thoughtful design and even though described as 'cosy' by the reception-- large enough for us. In fact the bathroom was enormous-- with everything we needed. Most importantly-- the hotel is in the heart of the city-- with ample safe parking, boulangeries and cafes around and walking distance from all Bourg sites. Would definitely recommend staying here.
We were greeted with a sewer smell when we arrived. Not pleasant! Rooms were very large and appeared newly renovated. Nicely located, within walking distance to all the sites. Reserved parking available. Breakfast was the most disappointing of our four days of traveling.
A very welcoming hotel in this attractive town with private car parking so your car is safe, lovely rooms and we had one of the upper rooms but did not think the small windows were a problem at all. We had a large ensuite bathroom which was beautifully appointed and the staff were excellent, well visit again.
Stayed there for one night and firstly the hotel itself looks nice but the moment you step in you will get a very bad smell of sewage hitting you, also the service is good but seem to be fake, the heater was not working in the entire hotel, the rooms are refurbished but not in a good way (Cheap carpet on the floor, the bathroom is very basic, and the comfort of the bed and linen is not up to standards). If you are planning to have a good night sleep, please book elsewhere as you will not be able to sleep, you can hear anyone walking in the corridors and above your head as it is not isolated. It is really not a good value for money. Just the location is great as it is close to everything.
I've stayed in several Best Western hotels in UK and they've been ok, but nothing special. This hotel was, however. We were driving from Calais to Lake Garda and chose Bourg for an overnight stop. The hotel is an imposing building, with a grand entrance and staircase, set on a quiet and leafy square in the middle of Bourg. We found it easy to park directly outside and received a friendly and efficient welcome. We'd asked for a quiet room and were given one at the back of the hotel which had a small balcony and everything one could want, including (for a French hotel) decent pillows! We ate at the restaurant in the hotel, which was good but quite expensive, but chose not to have breakfast as this seemed to be overpriced.
I stay since 10 years 2-4 times /year in Best Western Hotel le France in Bourg-en-Bresse. The hotel has been renovated during the last 10 years. It has some big nice double rooms with the windows facing Place Bernard, the fountain and the church tower will bells. There is a nice restaurant in the same building and there are also the Brasserie du Theatre and a few other restaurants a 5-10 minutes walk away. Aircondition and a small refrigerater for bottles were in the rooms I have slept in. Ask for a indoor parking if you need it, before you arrive it,s 10 euros. Otherwise there is a public paying parking outside the hotel.You may hear people walking in the corridors and you can hear noise from the rooms beside yours. The church bells and the fountain makes sounds in the daytime.
Had to extend my stay from 1 to 5 nights for health reasons. The staff was very nice, could not have been more helpful. The room at the back was basic but quiet and clean. Parking in the hotel is limited, but outside is very easy except on market days when the whole square turns into a souk. Very good breakfast. Good restaurant in the hotel
Once we found the hotel (due to major roadworks in the town center and many diversions) it was as expected. Secure parking for the bikes but despite requesting twin beds one room had a large double, no twins available so the receptionist offered to put an additional bed in the same room. No problem. Good breakfast, restaurant looked OK but a bit pricey so we explored the town centre, no bar as such but a few within an easy walk.
Beautiful classic hotel with lovely rooms in nice French provincial city. Except for the room doors and hallways, all seems original. Simply gorgeous. Stayed here a few times now. Not very suitable for smokers, as even de the window seals have no-smoking signs ... on the outside! Restaurant very good, but a little over-priced. Nevertheless,it suits the hotel.
This Hotel has the fairly unusual policy of pre-authorising your card on arrival for double the room cost, giving the minibar as an excuse, (even though in fact I did not have one in my room). They will then issue a closure ticket on departure, and charge you seperately for your bill. However in my case the 150 euro pre-auto stayed on my account for two and a half weeks after I left, which is obviously not ideal. Whilst I accept they may require a deposit, I recommend that anyone staying here proposes a forward payment for the room (more normal these days) and a cash deposit (cash machine 50m away) which apparently they will accept unless you want to risk the same issues. I brought up this to the Hotel receptionist on a return visit to Bourg en Bresse ten days later, only to be told it must be my fault or my bank's fault.. (which it is not I checked with my bank and Visa in the UK) I tried, but an unsatisfactory resolution results in my mentioning it here.. Now for the good news, I like this Hotel. I believe to get the best value it would be worth upgrading to the superior rooms as the smaller ones on the third floor and at the rear might not be up to expectations. My room was very pleasant overlooking the quietish parking area at the front. I particularly liked the fact I could lie in a foam bath whilst watching BBC world, a possible one off quirk of my room layout.. There is a small garage with good height for larger vehicles ie SUV's, and the Hotel is in the best location in town. Parking is quite busy so probably best to reserve a place. I did not use the restaurant, although it looks lovely, prefering to try the top tripadvisor Brasserie in town this time, which I thoroughly recommend. Look forward to returning to this good hotel, will just keep my card in my pocket next time..
We had an impromptu stop here as our travel plans were delayed. This hotel is a lovely very French imposing building on the main town square. Inside there is a beautifully tiled floor. Room was very spacious, spotlessly clean with a decent shower (albeit over the bath) and a very comfortable big bed. Staff were polite and helpful - the receptionist was particularly good as it was late when we landed. The whole stopover was so much better than the cheap motels that are the alternative! The town is pleasant with a market and excellent bakers serving good coffee just over the way.
These week have we visited several 3 star hotel in France, surprisingly we have found very good ones even in rural ó isolated areas. Tha is why one can expect a better quality in this hotel situated in the core of the ancient town. Besides, when it belongs to a chain, it should fulfil certain standard. This was not the case. We have to change 3 times the room because they were dirty. We found hairs in the bathtubs and the sinks, and the floor of the rooms were not well clean as well. The rooms are in general small, and the bathrooms need renovation. The price is too high in relation to the quality. To be fair, they should put one star down, and go down with the price down as well... Or face the necessary investments.
Arrived hot and sweaty on motorcycles. Parked right outside with dedicated bay parking. Very central hotel so walked to all venues Swift and efficient check in. Rooms large and very comfortable with a welcome fridge to cool our drinks Breakfast was a high standard with friendly staff. A good stop off on way to italy
lovely quaint little hotel in the center of the town just behind the church,satnav took us straight to it so easy to find ,theres public parking in front with about 30 spaces be sure to put a ticket in,or the hotel has separate spaces at a cost,the breakfast was adequate,the restaurant nxt door which is part of the hotel was very nice great desserts staff very helpful,close to a few shops,,would recommend,,
Very friendly staff, clean, quiet, close to everything, good parking facilities, breakfast OK. I would gladly return here if I had business in the area or for holiday. Better than other hotels in the best western chain, this one is really nice. Nice building with personality, i simply loved it.
Right in the Bar du Square this was great for us. We got upgraded to the superior rooms and the breakfast was good, It's been recently renovated, so we were quite happy with the spacious rooms, shower was kind of awkward, fell apart a few times.
Having got horribly lost, I needed a bed for the night............and here was my own personal oasis in the centre of Bourg en Bresse. Not a nice place in my opinion. Located right in the centre of town and on a leafy square, it's all very easy on the eye. Secure parking is part of the Hotel. The staff in the main were fantastic, especially on reception, however, one young lady at dinner managed to talk herself out of a 20 euro tip when spilling my wine and offering no apology. The room was large (a junior suite) but mildly confused where the refurbishment (still underway) had tried to turn two rooms into one and messed up. The bathroom/loo was a real afterthought. Bed comfy, aircon quiet and efficient, flies everywhere, but overall an ok place for one night. Dinner was very good, but lacking on veg. Wine list also top drawer and great value. The one major omission was the complete lack of a porter. The ladies on reception were expected to lug cases without any trolley all over. Totally wrong! Breakfast was excellent, but the room where it was being served, needed aircon. Overall, a very pleasant experience, and despite the grumbles above, I will go back at some point.
Situated in beautiful house in the middle of Bourg en Bresse in the departement Ain. 350 km from Lörrach and 550 km from Frejus. At a nice place with prking and a fountain. Private paerking indoors can be reserved by telephone before the arrival. Good resto in the same house. Nice restos also a few minutes walking away. Interesting Birds Zoological big park with nice picnic area about 50 km towards Lyon.
After 2 or 3 years we were once again travelling through France and decided to stay once again at Hotel de france, Bourg-en-Bresse. We were not disappointed as we found the welcome, the hospitality, the food, the facilities better than ever and will certainly return!
A room with a big good bed. Bathrooms are new. Big windows toward Place Bernard. Desk and armchair. Water boiler with coffe and tee. Breakfast is a little expensive for what you get. Nice staff who does everything possible to give you what you want. Car in a locked garage if you order it before you get there. 10 minutes to the restaurant Theater Grill or a little bit more expensive a nice restaurant in the same house at the hotel. You can get the breakfast served in your room and also a dinner from the restaurant in the house. I stay in Hotel de France about 4 times per year since 10 years back. And I am pleased.
Wherever Life Takes You, Best Western Is There®
Each Best Western® branded hotel is independently owned and operated.