Codice vantaggio

Best Western Hotel Murchison Lodge Motor Inn, Burnie

4.0/5  - basé sur 123 notations.
9 Murchison Hwy, Somerset, 7322, Burnie, Australia - visualizzare mappa
Best Western Murchison Lodge Motor Inn - Facciata dell'albergo Il Best Western Murchison Lodge Motor Inn è situato nel centro di Burnie. L'hotel è vicino alle principali attrazioni turistiche. Approfittate tutto l'anno del miglior prezzo garantito e di offerte esclusive.

Il Best Western® Murchison Lodge offre sistemazioni a tre stelle e mezza nel Somerset, a soli cinque minuti dalla zona industriale e commerciale di Burnie e a dieci minuti in auto dall'aeroporto di Burnie/Wynyard. Soggiorna nelle nostre camere comode e pulite, con stanze da bagno ristrutturate di recente, televisione via cavo e accesso wireless a Internet gratuito. Il ristorante Jetty all'interno dell'hotel offre ottimi piatti dedicati a chi ama mangiar bene. Siediti, gusta una bevanda e ammira le splendide viste del fiume Cam nell'atmosfera rilassata del bar e ristorante "Jetty". Aperto sette giorni alla settimana per colazione e cena e da venerdì a domenica per pranzo. Potrai inoltre cucinare in modo autonomo nel giardino o sulle rive del fiume, attrezzati con barbecue a gas gratuiti. Durante il tuo soggiorno al Best Western Murchison Lodge potrai visitare numerosi luoghi di interesse, come la Regional Art Gallery e la Tulip Farm, dove potrai ammirare i magnifici tulipani colorati che fioriscono in primavera. Non perderti una visita a Fern Glade la sera o al mattino presto per scorgere esemplari di ornitorinco. Stanley e Cradle Mountain sono tra le destinazioni più popolari, a breve distanza in auto dalla nostra struttura. Per un servizio clienti di qualità superiore e una comoda posizione a Burnie, prenota oggi stesso e risparmia al Best Western Murchison Lodge!Ti auguriamo un soggiorno gradevole!

Best Western

Hotel Murchison Lodge Motor Inn




i vantaggi dell'hotel

  • Ristorante
  • Lounge bar
    Lounge bar
  • Parcheggio gratuito
    Parcheggio gratuito
  • Sicuro
  • Servizio di lavanderia in loco
    Servizio di lavanderia in loco
  • Valletto
più info vedi meno

Pareri dei nostri clienti

in collaborazione con tripadvisor fr
Certificate of Excellence 2017
Basato sul parere di 124 viaggiatori
Molto buono
Nella media
Affari Affari
Business Business
Da solo Da solo
Di coppia Di coppia
In coppia In coppia
In famiglia In famiglia
Viaggio con amici Viaggio con amici
Qualità del sonno

"Car Club Visit"


I booked this motel for 35 people for the last three nights of a two week Tasmanian tour and not one single complaint. The rooms were spotless and fully serviced everyday not just a quick make over, all the staff were friendly and helpful and the cleaning staff were meticulous, a credit to the management. We had our final dinner in the restaurant and again everybody enjoyed their meal and a fitting end to a very good stay.

"Good for price and friendly service "


We were in the area for a family event and spent one night here. Had booked a basic room but on arrival was offered an upgrade for $10. The lovely lady was worried I'd booked a basic room as apparently they're “very basic”. I took the upgrade and am glad I did. Room was still quite basic but bigger than expected. It was very clean and the king bed was new. Service on check in was fantastic. Will definitely stay here again next time I'm visiting in the area.

"Cold in Winter"


Wish Burnie had more hotels, and less motels like this one. In winter, the outward facing door leads to cold drafts, and the radiant heater could not keep up. Room was clean, onsite restaurant was good.

"Very basic, rpobably more 2.5 star."


Because this was a 'corporate' booking, I didn't get the choice or know the cost. I constantly wonder at the mindset that power outlets are only in the rooms to service the needs of the business, not the customer. Not one power outlet was available for the user, that didn't need a double-adaptor. The upside: the owner/reception was very pleasant and helpful.

MurchisonLodge, Owner at Best Western Murchison Lodge Motor Inn, responded to this review
Hi Russell, it is disheatening to know that we did not meet your expectations of our room amenities. The power outlets may have been a little difficult to find, there is a double power point situated at the table, another at the desk and one near the bed plus a 4 point power board. The board at the bed is usually taken during the winter with electric blankets etc. We will definetely take your concerns on board and look at options for more vacant points at the bedside. Similar situation as that with the fridge Russell, located in the cupboard. Your reservation was for a Standard room, you may find our fully renovated King Superior rooms more suited to your requirements, usually an additional $37 - around $140 per night. We hope you will consider returning in the future. Kind regards - Cindi & Kevin

"Nice, quiet and out of the way"


Stayed here for 2 weeks on a recent work trip. Comfortable rooms at a nice quiet location 5kms out of Burnie. Close to all you need with shops just around the corner and 100 metres from the ocean. Only issue I had was a lack of water pressure that occurred when the motel was busy however that can't be helped.

MurchisonLodge, Owner at Best Western Murchison Lodge Motor Inn, responded to this review
Thanks for your review Mark, we hope to see you again sometime. Cindi & Kev

"Welcoming, Comfortable and Clean"


I think the Management and Staff at the Best Western Murchison motel were extremely friendly and cared for our every need. I will stay with them again and have recommended them to friends who are going to Tasmania in October. Thanks again for your hospitality, it was a pleasure to stay with you.

MurchisonLodge, Owner at Best Western Murchison Lodge Motor Inn, responded to this review
Hi Jenny, thanks for your kind review. Keep up the great promotions, hope to see you when you are back in Tassie - Cindi & Kevin

"Nice stay"


Excellent place to stay , nice clean room and bathroom . Room was nice and warm on arrival , stay/management very helpful and friendly . Adjoining restaurant Is definitely a must try , the food was excellent and fresh

"Comfy bed"


We had booked 2 rooms for an over night stay and on arrival we had been upgraded so that we could have 2 rooms together - which I thought was very thoughtful. Check in was very easy and friendly and everything explained. Our rooms were very nice and the bed super comfortable. Shower was nice hot water and the heated towel rail was a nice extra comfort on a cold night. There was a free dvd hire too - so over all a pleasant stay.

"Comfortable and clean"


It was arranged by my sons basketball association to stay here for 1 night for a early game in Smithton. I found the motel to be very clean and spacious. We had a queen and a single bed in our room. Staff at the reception was very helpful and welcoming and the motels ground looked immaculate, only negatives I have is that I wish I could have stayed longer!

"Good Value. Reasonable Spot."


Great service greets the weary traveller. While the hotel is a little dated, the bed is excellent, the rooms are clean and the location is handy for a quick early exit to the far NW Coast. In terms of proximity to Burnie, Somerset is close but there are options in town that also present good value options. Mid week is met with early starters so be prepared to potentially hear a few cars starting up before sunrise. Overall, this hotel is good value and the service is of a good standard.

"Just Gets Better"


This is our second visit and it just gets better, this time we were upgraded to a king room it was well appointed with every thing you would expect in a executive room. Very good bed and the bathroom was spotlessly clean. Very friendly obliging hosts.

"Great place very accommodating "


Stayed here for a night on a 4WD Tasmania trip to restock and sort out some mechanical issues. Rooms are clean and pretty good for the money, good size TV, coffee and milk provided, the shower is a little older but ok. The bed was comfortable and the room (7) was very quite. The Staff is super friendly, late check out was no issue as we still waited for parts. Would definitely recommend the place

"Business stay"


First time stay at the Best Western Murchison Lodge Motor Inn. Rooms are basic however clean, tidy and spacious. Hotel staff are friendly, helpful and the front desk offers a free DVD library. The hotel restaurant was a pleasant surprisee! Overall an enjoyable stay and plan to stop here on future travels.

"Excellent Customer Service"


I have had the pleasure of staying at this accommodation yet again and certainly highly recommend as a place to stay for business or private. Absolutely high level of customer service and very comfortable rooms. Highly recommended the restaurant as a place to be eating, with first class meals, service and the chef is a perfectionist.

"Good Hotel to Stay "


Hotel is a few kilometres west of Burnie town centre, just off the highway at Somerset. Still, it's a quiet spot with minimal road and other noise. Warm and detailed welcome was recieved upon check in. Room looked to have been recently painted. It was adequate for our needs with comfy beds, flat screen telly, fridge and good water pressure in the shower. Had a good sleep! Breakfast available via pre-order but their Jetty Restaurant was closed for whatever reason. If you don't mind driving 5-10 minutes into town for food/shopping options ect then this is a great spot to stay!

"Welcoming from the very start"


Fantastic service and greeting from the owner. She even spent time pointing out places to visit on a local area map and where to eat. Lovely clean room extra comfy king size bed. Restaurant on site, however was closed the day we arrived. Would definitely recommend.

"Tasmania travel"


Went to Tasmania to go to a conference and decided to extend the trip to see some of Tasmania after 30 years. Enjoyed my stay at Burnie as was able to go to the Tulip festival and farm. As well it was a good place to base myself while seeing other places in the north west of Tasmanis.

"Top facilities - excellent location"


We used the Murchison Lodge Motor Inn as our base to explore the Tasmanian North-West and found it perfect for our requirements. The staff were most helpful, assisting us by allocating a ground-floor room for access by a disabled person, and also with advice about local places of interest. The room was clean, spacious and very well appointed and the bed was comfortable. The only extra thing that would have been appreciated would be a microwave. The weather was very cold during our visit and so we found that we needed to use the fan heater supplied to supplement the small room heater. The location is ideal - in a quiet, attractive area but very convenient to Somerset, Burnie, local scenic attractions and the main highways.

"What a Lovely Place to Stay"


This motor Inn looks very much like most others on the net but we were greeted with a pleasant surprise. It sits on the edge of a delightful river, surrounded by stunning green plane trees with a sandy shore perfect for kicking back and relaxing. There's also a beach a hop, skip and a jump away. Parking is right at the door and the grounds are very pleasant. The rooms are great. Squeaky clean, modern and attractive with every convenience you need for a weekend stay. The staff were lovely. Really warm and friendly and genuinely interested in your comfort as their guests. Just to top it off, the restaurant was fantastic.

"Great place to stay"


Fantastic place to stay. Warm friendly service. Hosts Cindi and Kevin only too happy to assist with making your stay memorable. With a great on site restaurant serving very generous portions of a wide selection of food makes it an enjoyable one stop experience. Cosy, clean rooms with extremely comfortable beds. Would highly recommend.

"Great location, Great Motel"


You can always judge a motel by the number of vehicles in the carpark, Tuesday night,19 cars 23 rooms? Room comfortable, bed great, people warm and welcoming. Shower head too low for tall people but thats personnel, Second feature ,Restaurant excellent. Chrissy? with two 's' is big plus. Warm,friendly and a excellent host. steak was the best. Will come again when in area.



Rooms were well appointed and clean, staff were very friendly and helpful and a wonderful location for sight seeing. A very nice walk along the river to the beach which is quiet and secluded a excellent spot for a picnic.

"Nice Stay"


We stayed here for 1 night and found it really comfortable and the staff really friendly and helpful. The room has been recently renovated and it was quite pleasant. It was also one of the rare Motels that offered a fan, which for my wife and I we enjoy. I will most definitely return to this place when we return to Tassie again. The little river over the road is quite pretty to look at as well. I also highly recommend their onsite Restaurant - see separate review.

"Nice accommodation."


We used this motel on our return from Strahan and for an extra night to explore the north west from Arthur River to Somerset. There was not one downside to our experience. The room was large enough and contained all that we needed and was comfortable. The continental breakfast was a great base to start the day. The owner Cindi was most helpful and pleasant and her recommendation of the Beijing Restaurant for a meal as hers was shut , a big winner. Thank you to a very well run place.

"Overnight stay - really recommend it."


Rated well, so phoned ahead for a room. The nicest Best Western room I have ever stayed in - brilliantly redecorated and refurbished. Better than many 4+* hotels! Reception was friendly, efficient. Parking easy. Restaurant attached served good food at a good price. Good wine list.

"Restuarant Only"


I can only review the restaurant as I live local and no need for accommodation. The restaurant meal we had was delicious. We shared a traditional Bruschetta (first time for my partner) and it was lovely. Very fresh with a tasty balsamic vinegar. Oddly enough we both had the same main each which was the Rack of Lamb (special of the day). The lamb rack was huge and the lamb itself was succulent and moist but not under cooked (sorry MKR but not too rare please). Mashed potato's and carrots with some broccolini and a plum jus. In all it was an extremely good meal and we will be returning soon. Only slight negative was the flies buzzing around, maybe shut the door?

"Nice location"


Nice accomodation, loved the location across from Cam River with nice walk under bridge to lovely swimming beach. Restaurant was closed at the time which was a slight disappointment so had to head to Somerset Chinese restaurant for quick take away. The rooms were clean and tidy but the only real downside was no air con and this was particularly warm in Tassie at this time so had to use tiny fan and leave room door open to get some cool air in. I know Tas is known for the cold weather but it does have its high 20s low 30s in summer, being a born and bred Tasmanian I am aware of this. We extended our stay as we were happy with the comfort and great location to both Wynyard and Burnie, plus the great park with play area for kids and swimming even picnic tables. Rooms had the best wifi I have seen in any hotel or holiday park so that was an added bonus. Management very helpful and welcoming. We had an upstairs room with a slight view of river and park across restaurant rooftop with good privacy. Unfortunately there were some loud guests downstairs on our last day, not at any fault to management, some people just are not considerate of others. We would happily recommend this place to others looking to stay in the area. Loved the owners cats too!

"Gateway to The West Coast!"


This little gem of a place is superbly situated at the start of the Murchison Hwy to head off down the west coast. It was very comfortable, quiet and just perfect for a good night's sleep before you head off on the long trek south west. The staff were lovely and I would thoroughly recommend anyone to stay there.



A motel style Best Western, nicely decorated with very friendly and helpful staff and management. The room was comfortable and well presented,, checked, cleaned and replenished each day. We had continental breakfast each day, this was delivered to the room each evening so you could have it at a time convenient to yourself (fruit juice cereal & toast - toaster in each room) There is an on site restaurant which serves excellent meals but sometimes the service can be slow. Would definitely stay again if we were ever in the area. One tiny critcism, the florescent tube lighting in the room can make it feel stark.

"Great service"


As this was a last minute stay due to not able to travel to our booked accommodation in Tullah I wasn't expecting anything. But we will definitely stay here again. The king room was lovely, bed was extremely comfortable. The owners are lovely & friendly and nothing is too much trouble. The room service for breakfast is fantastic and very prompt. Top service guys xx

"Hotel offered what was required"


stayed here on a short business trip to Tasmania. Wasn't quite what i expected from the reviews and photos I saw before booking. Its a little out of the way on the expensive side compared with others i looked at and if you are looking for something quiet it will suffice. Restaurant down stairs was convenient but a little on the expensive side also, room was very basic but clean and tidy, staff were good and informative.

"Lazy processed food"


I went to the Jetty Restaurant for a special dinner. I had previously heard the ads on the local radio many times, there was also an employee who stated they were ranked highly on this web site. The waitress was lovely and efficient. The menu had minimal choices. As it was a special night, we got the sea food platter for two. After all we were so close to fresh seafood suppliers and the sea itself. Also the place was called the Jetty restaurant. One would like to think when ordering such a dish for the exorbitant price asked, that the quality of the seafood would be delectable. The seafood platter for two was delivered to our table fresh from the fryer. Resting on a mountain of chips was four heavily battered pieces of fish. Around the edge were mussels and oysters. In shells, these oysters were the smallest oysters i have ever seen. Fresh? I have my doubts. The prawns were tasteless and likened to the prawns you can get mass frozen, shelled and deveined yet with the tail intact. These were served swimming in a watery cream and bottled garlic sauce. There was a portion of smoked salmon, straight out of the smoked salmon packet. I must say the only saving grace was the calamari tube lightly battered and sliced on one side, to fan out over the platter like its crowning glory. So soft, perfectly cooked and FRESH. For the life of me i could not work out how this could cost the price it did, or how the chef could be proud to construct and send out such a meal.

"Great Hotel that had all the basics"


Great little place to stay, was clean, modern, freshly painted, bathroom was what we needed and the room was just comfortable. Perfect place to stay that is not expensive and is comfortable, we were there for four nights and enjoyed it. The restaurant 'The Jetty' is fantastic too! Was not expecting it to be such high quality but we enjoyed eating there a couple of times. Highly recommend.

"Outstanding service - Great location"


A very pleasant stay for 2 nights while on business. Despite being somewhat dated, this motel shone because of top class customer service, clean & functional room, quiet & convenient location. Having a library of DVDs to loan was a great idea. Staff displayed good local knowledge & appropriately suggested options & ideas for local dining, tourist routes & attractions. Management & staff "make more than the best with what they have" with this less than modern motel - top stuff! I have already booked again for my next visit.

"Great motel"


Had a lovely one night stay after coming off the ferry. Room was clean and comfortable AND the staff were super friendly. As we checked out the lady gave us some fantastic local knowledge to help us get the best out of our day.

"Travelling Family or business stay , all welcome ! Chain property with some style."


The friendly and informative greeting at reception by proprietor Cindi Forsyth set the standard for my stay. My room was recently refurbished with everything I needed for an overnight stay. The heater was on and the room was comfortably warm on a cool evening. The furnishings are of good quality , suit the room and are practical while comfortable. The bed and pillows were great! The heated towels in the practical , well set out bathroom, was a great addition. The little things add up and these guys do little things well. Room service meals from the onsite Jetty Restaurant are an added bonus too. I was very pleasantly surprised at the standard of service, quality or accommodation and overall experience of this property. Don't judge this book by its cover.

"Friendly service, Very comfortable accomodation"


Staff at reception were welcoming and friendly, the room had almost everything you could ask for. I found the bedding to be very comfortable. Breakfast was ample and very nice. Only issue (sorry) is no reverse cycle air conditioning which meant the room was very cold. It was a cold winter night but that is what we expect in Tasmania. I do live in Tassie so I am used to the weather but I as genuinely cold.

"Lovely Quiet Stopover"


Our party of 40 spent two nights at the Lodge and we found it very good. The management were extremely helpful and ensured our stay was enjoyable. Would be quite happy to return on a future trip to Tasmania. Ideal central point for visiting Stanley, Cradle Mountain etc.

"Excellent friendly service"


We stayed one night in a beautifully renovated and clean room. Exceptionally helpful and friendly staff who went out of their way to assist me to recover items I left in the room. Very impressed and will stay again, thank you very much!

"reat location and very comfortable lodgings."


Very comfotable and affordable. Great spot to stop for a night after coming across on the ferry and taking a day trip up to Stanley before heading south. Delicious meals and very generous portions. Never been let down yet by a Best Western and lived up to expectations. Would stay at Murchison Lodge Motor Inn again if travelling to Tazzy.

"Old Style but good"


We stayed for one night at this older style motel. The room we were given was one of the newly renovated rooms. The décor was lovely and the owners did a great job modernising the décor. It is located opposite a river inlet but on a main road close to Somerset shops and Burnie which you would need to drive to rather than walk. We had an issue with a really bad smell coming from the shower drain pipe but the staff were very helpful in fixing the problem and were apologetic. The bed was very comfortable. Only problem is with this motel it has thin walls and we could hear the couple next door talking and they had the tv on most of the night. Staff were really nice and helpful even recommending a place for breakfast after we left, which turned out to be a gem. Bruce's Café on the scenic road to Wynyard, awesome food. We would recommend this motel for a short stay.

"A pleasant, relaxing stay."


This motel is close to the main hwy., 5 mins from Burnie. A lovely quiet relaxed setting. It is an older style motel, but very clean and comfortable. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The restaurant has a good ambiance and good food. I would definitely stay there again.

"Lovely frontage right on the riverside"


Arrived early from the Spirit ferry and the young girl on reception was really helpful and friendly, arranged for our room to be cleaned next so a quick coffee in Somerset and we were able to access our room. The facility is fairly old but is very clean and welcoming, we had breakfast delivered to our room and for $11 it was good value. The owner was very helpful and she gave good advice on what to see in Tasmania even offered to ring ahead and book something for us in Strahan.

"Very comfy beds, good rooms"


Stayed here three nights after booking with the delightful Chelsea. We upgraded to a room on N side with a very comfortable king bed. Cindy, was extremely helpful providing optional dining places around town and suggestions for day trips which were very interesting. We ate at the restaurant where a main and salad kept the two of us busy and happy. Unfortunately, some of the meals are expensive as is the wine. They need to have a $20 option in their wine list - probably have to source from mainland or Dan Murphys as Tassie wine is expensive !!

"Inviting and relaxing"


Wish l could have stayed longer, rooms are clean and fresh..bathroom has a powerful head great to wash your hair, reception was welcoming. Great location for a before dinner stroll. Meals to room....this property has rooms upstairs, BBQ and basketball hoop.. Restaurant is on property as well...

"Should have stayed a little longer"


One of the few motels we stayed at which had breakfast included. It's just outside Burnie (5 mins) and is right on the beach. The rocking chair in the room was a nice touch and the bed very comfortable. Overall everything was clean and tidy and priced accordingly. The motel is just across the road from a small inlet which is very popular at high tide judging by all of the families there. Unfortunately we didn't have time to be there just at the right time.

"Clean, comfy beds and convenient location"


This was our first night of our driving holiday in Tasmania. It had everything we needed and was very reasonably priced. We received a nice, friendly greeting and it wasn't too far from Burnie and places to eat. It was great value budget accommodation.

MurchisonLodge, Manager at BEST WESTERN Murchison Lodge, responded to this review
Thank you Karen Y for your great review of our motel, We are glad to hear that you were happy with your stay and found our location convenient for all your travel needs. We hope the rest of your driving holiday around Tasmania was enjoyable and look forward to seeing you next time! Kind Regards, Best Western Murchison Lodge

"Clean and Very Comfortable"


My husband and I stayed here for 3 nights and the service and friendliness of the reception staff was outstanding. Our room was very comfortable and spotlessly clean. The motel is very quiet and not too far from a supermarket and a few other shops. We had dinner in the Jetty Restaurant and our meals very excellent, I have to say that it is the best vegetable stack I have ever eaten. We would recommend The Murchison Lodge to our family and friends if they were staying in that area. Thank you so much for such a great stay.

MurchisonLodge, Manager at BEST WESTERN Murchison Lodge, responded to this review
Dear snowowl110, Thank you so much for your wonderful review of our motel, it is great to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are happy to hear that you found our motel quiet and the rooms comfortable and clean. I will also pass on your compliments to the Jetty Restaurant, they will be pleased to hear that you enjoyed your vegetable stack! Until next time, Best Western Murchison Lodge.

"Excellent stay very pleasant and clean"


Very helpful had family room which gave us 2 rooms which had door in the middle 2 singles in 1 and queen in other room very clean but could do with update but told by owners the in the process of renovations great room for families,laundry next to room which was great put cloths in morning and was told by very helpful owner and receptionist that she would put in dryer and found them folded on bed when arrived back after day out .Resturant was nice but disappointed that meal i was served had frozen prawns i can get from home would have like fresh prawns being that we on the coast overall pleasant meal.

MurchisonLodge, Manager at BEST WESTERN Murchison Lodge, responded to this review
Thank you for your review of our motel, I am glad to hear that you and your family had an enjoyable stay with us. I will also pass on your compliments to the Jetty Restaurant. We look forward to seeing you during your next visit to Tasmania. Kind Regards, Best Western Murchison Lodge.

"Great service!"


We arrived early to the motel without calling first. I asked if it were possible for us to check in or at least leave our bags. The front desk girl was so friendly and helpful. We checked in and off we went exploring thanks to all the info brochures in the foyer. The room was clean and comfortable, a good resting place on our travels around Tassie. Breakfast was simple and all we needed to get us going.

MurchisonLodge, Manager at BEST WESTERN Murchison Lodge, responded to this review
Thank you for your wonderful review of our property! It is great to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and all that our beautiful town has to offer! We look forward to seeing you again in the future. Kind Regards, Best Western Murchison Lodge.

"Disappointing experience"


Although a quiet venue and very clean, these premises are very tired and in need of renovation. Admittedly there was a new handbasin in the bathroom, but everything else was uninspiring. Very old towels are used when quality towels are so cheap to buy nowadays. The beds were not comfortable and the hot water was so cool that you could shower under it without using any cold water. Their description of a "delicious" breakfast referred to a tray in your room of cereal and toast. However, the restaurant attached to the hotel (Jetty) was very good.

MurchisonLodge, Manager at BEST WESTERN Murchison Lodge, responded to this review
Thank you for your review, please refer to our response to your concerns as per your Best Western review. As you are aware we are currently updating our rooms and we hope you may reconsider staying with us in the future. Kind Regards, Best Western Murchison Lodge

"Very accommodating "


Very accommodating people who despite my late arrival time due to flights, prepared and kept a meal for me. This is the type of attention to detail and service most chains forget about. Thank you. Amenities included TV, radio, panel heater (which I needed and was on as I entered the room), towel rail heater that was also on so towels were toasty.

MurchisonLodge, Manager at BEST WESTERN Murchison Lodge, responded to this review
Thank you for your wonderful review of our property! We are glad to hear that your stay was an enjoyable one. We hope to see you again soon. Best Regards, Best Western Murchison Lodge



This is an excellent motel on the bank of the beautiful Cam river, and close to Somerset beach. I've now stayed there twice, and the rooms are impeccably clean and comfortable. The restaurant serves hearty meals. The motel is central to trips to Circular Head (Stanley, Smithton and the Edge of the World) and the West Coast (Strahan and Queenstown). On the basis of a late booking, and even later arrival, the manager had turned the heater on in my room, that's consideration for mine.

MurchisonLodge, Manager at BEST WESTERN Murchison Lodge, responded to this review
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. I am pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and found our hotel to be clean and comfortable as well as the location to be convenient for your travel needs. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future and thank you for the recommendation. Kind Regards, Best Western Murchison Lodge

"Too cold for me"


I stayed here recently for the first time on a business trip The staff are very helpful and friendly The rooms are very clean. You even get free movie rental from the reception The on site restaurant is also very nice. A bit dated but food and service is great. My concern is the outlay of the room. It appears that the bathrooms were refurbished a while ago. They smell a it damp but otherwise fine. Now we're the old bathroom or toilet used to be is now a walk I. Wardrobe The old tiles are still on the wall but most important, the old bathroom window has a 3 cm gap which doesn't close. Given that the temperature is at times below 0 It feels like having a window open all night. No doona, just some wooden blankets. The little wall heater just doesn't cope and I was awake as I was freezing all night I had mentioned it on leaving the reception and was to.d they get new heaters and the rooms will be refurbished soon. I would check before re booking as I would not recommend to stay there the way it is right now.

"Excellent place to stay"


Great motel located close to the beach ,river, parks and both areas of Somerset and Burnie. The motel is older style one but with nice, albeit small, rooms that are clean and well maintained and enough updates not to feel dated. Tariff is quite modest considering the standard of the rooms. Staff and owners are very helpful and friendly.i liked the free DVDs and players to use in the rooms with good modern movies not old dodgy titles or pirated discs. On site restaurant was really great with both food, service, and atmosphere being superb.



We stayed here overnight after a weeklong final holiday for myself and my terminally sick wife as part of a "bucket list" holiday for her. Disgusted in the room - bed was so hard and uncomfortable that we got no sleep (rest my wife needed), the bathroom door had to be left closed due to the smell of sewer permeating from it and the heating did nothing to warm the room. Needless to say we left exceptionally early the next morning! Only positive was the friendly staff. So disappointed that our final holiday together was finished on a sour note!

MurchisonLodge, Owner at BEST WESTERN Murchison Lodge, responded to this review
We are very sorry to hear of your wife's illness. For this reason, we will refrain from a public response to your concerns. We are reviewing your request for a full refund.