Das hübsche Best Western Poway/San Diego Hotel im Herzen von Poway besticht durch eine unvergleichlich warme und herzliche Atmosphäre. Durch seine Nähe zu den Geschäftsbezirken Poway und Scripps ist das Best Western Poway/San Diego Hotel ideal für Geschäftsreisende. Nur 20 Minuten nördlich der Innenstadt von San Diego und des internationalen Flughafens von San Diego, ist das Hotel weit genug entfernt vom Trubel der Großstadt und bietet gleichzeitig eine gute Anbindung an alle Attraktionen von San Diego. Freuen Sie sich auf unübertroffenen Service und das gastliche Flair eines Landhotels. Wenn Sie sich für Meisterschaftsgolf und Tennis interessieren, sind wir das richtige Hotel für Sie. Auch für Wanderungen, Reitausflüge, einen Einkaufsbummel oder einfaches Entspannen am Pool empfiehlt sich das Best Western Poway/San Diego. Besuchen Sie unbedingt alle wichtigen Attraktionen, die San Diego zu bieten hat. Dazu gehören Seaworld®, der Zoo von San Diego, San Diego Wild Animal Park, Balboa Park, Historic Old Town und LEGOLAND® California. Im Gaslamp-Viertel erwarten Sie erstklassige Restaurant und hervorragende Einkaufsmöglichkeiten. Sportbegeisterte wird freuen, dass Petco Park (das Heimstadion der San Diego Padres) und Qualcomm Stadium (das Heimstadion der San Diego Chargers) nur eine kurze Autofahrt entfernt sind. Entscheiden Sie selbst, ob Sie all dies erkunden oder einfach nur entspannen. Die geräumigen Gästezimmer sind geschmackvoll eingerichtet und mit komfortablem Bettzeug ausgestattet. Als Gast im Best Western Poway/San Diego Hotel kommen Sie in den Genuss eines kostenlosen kompletten warmen Frühstücks. Entspannen Sie sich in unserem Swimmingpool (im Freien) und auf dem Sonnendeck. Möglichkeiten für ein belebendes Fitnesstraining bietetein voll ausgestattetes Fitnessstudio in der Nähe des Hotels. Das Best Western Poway/San Diego Hotel bietet kostenloses High-Speed-Internet, Haarfön, Kaffee- und Tee-Service sowie Bügeleisen und Bügelbrett. Und das Beste: Jedes Gästezimmer ist mit Mikrowelle und Kühlschrank ausgestattet.
I stayed at this place in May and was amazed by the wonderful hospitality. The person at the front desk was extremely courteous and gladly helped me check-in ahead of the check-in time, and also helped resolve a minor issue in the bathroom.
Love staying at the best western. It looks like a small place from outside but with their service and friendly behavior it is so worth it. This is probably my third or fourth visit and every time all the employees have been great. Two Spanish girls works there they go really beyond to satisfy the customers. When I am in poway I will allays stay there. They speak Spanish which is always a plus.
I always go to this place. It's a good place in poway. Me and my boyfriend sometimes go for get away and for the yummy breakfast. It is amazing. Staffs are always great. Always know which room I like and they try to give me my fav room.
Best western motel was great the rooms are cozy and clean friendly staff very helpful and I love the continental breakfast very nice...I have stayed here 3 times and enjoyed my visit every time I will continue to stay at best western
This hotel was nice and quiet. Close by where we needed to be. The staff was very friendly. Breakfast was adequate just not what we like. Coffee was delicious. Overall it was a nice place to stay and the best priced in the area.
The staff is very friendly and outgoing. I and Diya> The manager , we had a very cordial conversation. Staff, Maids, houseman and maintenances THe rooms were very clean and spacious . We had non smoking rooms, but we can still smell residue from tobacco products
Nothing to do and plenty of taco shops, staff was nice, breakfast could be better. Door was broke but fixed right away. 5 mile drive from highway, everything closes early in the area. Property was quiet.
Arrived on busy road and could not get into lot due to yellow tape closure for construction. Nearly rear ended. No warning when I booked and no visible sign when i arrived (small piece of cardboard with hand drawn arrow found later). Awful. Parked in back while whole hotel was 'power washed'; again, no warning or notice when booked. Add the power blowers and you have a perfect romper room!!! A small room, at thatbusy street. Good breakfast, though. Apologetic staff.
BWPowaymanager, General Manager at Best Western Poway/San Diego Hotel, responded to this review
Hello Mr. Jim C, We are very sorry that our hotel was not suitable for your needs. We apologize about the parking lot entrance being closed, not being very informative, however our second entrance was open. And also pressure wash if something that is being done in a timely manner to maintain the property condition and keep the property neat and clean. Again, thnak you for choosing to stay with us, we are sorry that we were unable to meet your expectations. Thank you, Hotel Management
Old fashioned motel in fine condition. Helpful staff. Clean and comfortable. Very reasonably priced. Spartan breakfasts. Free parking very close to your door. There is nothing left to say, but the software wants more characters, so ....
This was such a nice, clean establishment! We were making a last minute trip to San Diego, I called the hotel and spoke with Diya. She was very helpful, worked with me on the rate which was quoted online and very professional. Upon arriving we were politely greeted , I'm sorry to say I did not get her name, but she made sure we had everything we needed. During our 3-day stay I made friends with Mariella and she was the best!! Very professional, friendly and knowledgeable about the area. We will definitely be back!! I would like to add that the rooms do need a small table with a couple chairs and lamps on the night stands. There are nice ceiling lights, but for reading in the evening those lights are way too bright!! Thanks for a great stay!
A good location for stopping through your journey, or putting you in the vicinity of the business district, in an area which does not require the use of the traffic plagued freeway system. The staff will even lend you their personnel cell phone charger, if yours gets lost. Washer and dryer available for a buck a load, and the breakfast kept me full until noon....
Shortly after checking in, a hotel employee, opned the door, stepped into the, romo, and simultaneously announced herself. she should have partially opened the call out. My wife and I were undressed and in bed at the time. After I verbally made it clear that the room was occupied, she with drew. I tried calling the front desk and the phone did not work. I did get a phone call, but there was no one on the other end. I went to the front desk to discuss the incident and my displeasure, The desk clerk apologized. I feel a partial if not full refund is in order.
Got a good rate on hotels.com for this property. Chose this hotel because my son lives a few minutes away. The room was just okay. Smelled to high heaven from room deodorizer. If they hadn't told me it was the last available room when I checked in, I would have requested a change to another room. A/C worked well and room was generally clean. The staff I encountered were helpful and friendly. The pool area was clean and there were pool towels available, which I didn't expect. Breakfast was just okay. On the second day of my stay, by the time I got to breakfast 45 minutes before it was done, there was no coffee, forks or sausage patties left. They run a very light staffing, so I couldn't find anyone to ask, at least for some fresh coffee. Would I stay here again? Probably not, but not because anything was terribly wrong. They just don't seem to be concerned with the details.
No customer service, (mold was in the bathroom, the room overall smelled molded, the air conditioner had fungus and orange mold on it and i was informed that was the only room available and it was on the back of the motel with alot of construction worker. the entire property looked like a motel/inn for riff/rafts not a Hotel, especially at $97 a night
BestWesternHotels, Corporate at Best Western Poway/San Diego Hotel, responded to this review
We are sorry to hear that your recent stay with us did not exceed your expectations. We appreciate your feedback and will use it to make improvements to offer guests a better experience in the future. We hope you will give us another chance and stay with us again. -Best Western Hotels & Resorts
Staff was helpful but the shower was dirty, the shower curtain looked like it had not been cleaned in months and they had very little tv channels. They also made a mistake while booking our stay and did not even bother to try and call me to let me know they didn't book it correctly.
Older property with newly renovated rooms. Rooms on the smaller size, but very nicely appointed. Excellent, friendly, professional staff. Uncrowded town, so a nice quiet stay. Usually stay in Best Westerns for business, bit this time with my wife for a weekend getaway. Paid for it with points & vouchers. Great rewards program.
It was a good place to stay for one night and be close to Ramona. It was not fancy but had the necessary items. The bathrooms were clean. The frig was big and the freezer was already cold so I could re-freeze my ice packs for the next day. It is close to good places to eat. It was quiet. The AC worked great.
If you have stayed at one Best Western, you are more of less stayed at most of them. Convenient location with acceptable wifi and clean room, undisturbed stay. Could be a bit noisy during high traffic hours.
Parking is easy in the front since our room was on the first floor. The room seemed cramped and claims to be wheel chair accessible but the bed was too close to the desk and TV. Breakfast was basic but the oat meal was good. A small dead bug was found on the bed. There was a small sink area in the bathroom and shower had a hand held shower head. This location may been here for a long time. Not our favorite,
We were here at the Best Western for two nights. I'm not impressed with the facility. It is an older Best Western. The king room is so tight it's difficult to walk around in it. While the bathroom is thoroughly handicapped-accessible, with walk in shower etc, I wonder how someone in a wheelchair could possibly get to it. Also soap looks like from the 50's, brittle and thin. Mattress needs replacing. The facility is older, and not up to standard of other hotel chains; outdated rooms need a good overhaul. Room does not feel clean even though the room appears to be clean, rugs need shampooing and air needs purifying. We would not stay here again; even though price is reasonable. Hotel is accessible by Highway, and there's plenty of shopping within walking distance. Pool is warm salt water and the outdoor areas are more pleasant than sitting indoors. Breakfast was typical and off very small lobby. Staff pleasant enough.
BWPowaymanager, Manager at Best Western Poway/San Diego Hotel, responded to this review
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. It is our goal to consistently provide superior service and accommodations and your comments are very important to us in that process. I sincerely apologize for any inconvenience you experienced during your stay with regards to the guest room amenities, room sizes and overall stay. We actually offer all Best Western approved supplies in our hotel. We are a small property and king rooms are our biggest rooms. Once again, we appreciate you taking the time to share your comments with us and will take these comments under review to order to provide a better stay experience for all guests. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas that are in the process of being improved. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back at our hotel. Thank you, General Manager
Mariella was very helpful and charming. She went out of her way to make our stay a pleasant one. Kudos. The cable signal quality was excellent. The breakfast was well presented and tasty.The room was cool and quiet.
We wanted to stay close to where my son lives. The Best Western Poway worked perfect for out proximity. Nice hotel, wonderful and welcoming staff. I would recommend to our friends and family. Should we return to visit again we will definitely stay there.
Excellent customer service by desk person Mariella. She is awesome. Clean and neat rooms. Appears to be renovated and painted. Parking lot well lit. Parking lot appears to be resurfaced. Sink is separate from the toilet/shower. Ironing board, good size motel refrigerator, microwave, cold AC. Located in what appears to be a nice area. The temperature adjustment in the refrigerator was removed; however, the refrigerator and freezer worked flawlessly. The included breakfast was excellent. I highly recommend staying here.
hottest week in San Diego area, hotel was about 100 degrees on check in, non-smoking room smelled like smoke, light fixture in bathroom hit my daughter on the head, closet door broken, slammed my finger, staff smiles and nods, does nothing. Room was left open by housekeeping.. scary and unsafe upon return.
BWPowaymanager, Manager at Best Western Poway/San Diego Hotel, responded to this review
Thank you for choosing to stay with us and giving us your feedback. We apologize that some of the things were not in well condition during your stay. Unfortunately, we were sold out in all of the days and not able to move you to a different room. When maintenance person tried to fix some of the issue the room had do not disturb sign. We are looking at all the issues and is being taken care of. Again, we apologize for things not working properly in the room. Thank you for choosing to stay with us, we appreciate your business. Regards, Hotel Management
Loved the experience. Great rooms, very clean & new. The front desk gal Marcelia was super nice & helpful. Will stay again when I come back. I slept very good. The beds are very comfy and clean. Thank you!
There were multiple rooms around us with drug users coming and going.I guess this just how a lot of Cali is now, but I didn't it expect it so much in the San Diego area. I was going to report the first time pot smoke was coming into our room, but when I walked outside, there were multiple drug users coming and going. So I figured it was so common that it would be useless. Other than that, the hotel is itself is OK. It is old and they are trying to add comfort items to the rooms, but they are small, the hotel is very old and it needs renovation.
BWPowaymanager, General Manager at Best Western Poway/San Diego Hotel, responded to this review
Thank you for taking the time to bring this to our attention, We strive on providing excellent customer service, and we have fallen short of executing this. Please accept my apology for your experience during your stay, feedback is crucial and we appreciate it as we can only grow and develop our team from these types of feedback. I will look into this matter, and address it immediately. Once again I do apologize and we hope to serve you again in the near future at the Best Western Poway/San Diego Hotel.
I had a room with a kitchenette but there were no pots and 1 small pan. After a few hours of waiting the did bring me a pot some dish soap and sponge only for the stove to barley work. It took about an hour to get water to boil. There is not nearly enough parking for the amount of rooms and had to park off the property on the street.
BWPowaymanager, Manager at Best Western Poway/San Diego Hotel, responded to this review
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback regarding your recent stay. I am deeply disappointed to hear of the negative experience you had with our Kitchen rooms. We are updating the kitchen rooms with all the necessary items and updating the stove as well. We have all together 50 parking spots for 43 rooms, however sometimes on our busy days we do get extra cars from guests. Again, sorry that you had to encounter the parking issues with your stay. I truly appreciate that you shared your thoughts with us and I hope you will give us another opportunity to deliver you exceptional service as we are known for.
The hotel room had some needed repairs. The swimming pool was dirty for two days prior to being cleaned. After I asked about it at the front desk. The staff (custodial, front desk and substitute pool maintenance worker were all very nice.
BWPowaymanager, Manager at Best Western Poway/San Diego Hotel, responded to this review
Thank you A8767YWlorip for your feedback on your recent stay with us. We apologize we were not able to provide you with the quality of services you deserve. Unfortunately, one of our pool equipment was broken leading us to a very dirty pool and we have taken action immediately and it is fixed now. We are doing constant updates and repair to the rooms as well. Again, we are very sorry that you did not get the quality of service, your satisfaction is very important to us and we try hard to make sure all of our guests have a rewarding stay. Thank you again for your feedback and we hope you will consider staying with us again.
This property is on a main street in Poway, CA. It is a short drive (4.5 miles) off one of the major freeways near San Diego, CA. San Diego is about 30 miles from this property. I booked this property online through the Beat Western web site. The web site is straight forward, disclosure of terms are available and interface for payment is presented in an standard format. I was here on a Friday night for one night and arrived late after 9 pm. The overall property exterior was clean and well organized. Parking could be a challenge because property is often sold out ( I spoke with the front desk about availability during the week and summer months) but was available. The front dest auditor accessed my reservation without a problem and check in went smooth. My room was appointed with up to date standard furniture and in good shape. One of my pet peeves is rooms that are not comfortable upon arrival in the summer time when the outside temps average above 85/90 degrees daily. I know the bottom line in any business is important but some consideration needs to be given at this property to keep the a/c running in the rooms to keep them at a decent temperature when it is averaging 90 degrees during the days. Most guests check in late (from 6-9 pm) and when it takes a couple of hours for the room to just cool down that is a major inconvenience for the guest and their overall experience. The breakfast was standard fare: waffles, eggs, sausage, toast, cereal and assorted juices and coffee. It was sufficient but there was not enough room to accommodate the guests. Many ate standing up including myself. Check out went smoothly. My overall experience at this hotel would be rated a 7 on a scale of 1 to 10. Part of this reflection on score is the price of over 200.00 with tax per night. I realize it is summer and a weekend night but the price, in my opinion, is to much for a hotel of this caliber. Overall experience is still a 7. Would I stay here again? Probably but not at this rate unless I had to.
I've stayed here twice, now, a total of six days. Newly re-modeled rooms and dining room are clean, modern and comfortable. Fast WI-FI and great breakfasts. The real stars here, though, are the staff! Great bunch of folks who really do go out of their way to make your stay a great one! Poway is a great town with lots to see and do, too!
no one wants to check into a 90 degree smelly room after traveling. assuming you fall asleep, then the lights are prone to turning on by themselves because of some new smart switch thing that no one on staff knows how to program properly
On vacation to see family in San Diego. It was a comfortable stay, and the whole staff was very helpful. We will definitely stay again in the future. The bed was very comfortable. The breakfast was very tasty, with a cozy area for eating. The location was ideal, as it was in a very quiet area of Poway.
Room was okay. Very quiet. Strong cigarette smoke smell. Staff was very efficient at check-in & check-out. No hair dryer in room. Staff was some what uninterested in the fact that I needed a hair dryer. I finally asked to use one in another room.
The hotel is an older property but rooms have been remodeled and are acceptable. Rooms are smaller, so just a place to shower and sleep. No relaxing space. Best Western's web site says they are non smoking rooms but upon check in we see that they allow smoking in rooms. So room smelled like stale cigarette smoke. OK. It was the cheapest hotel in the area for when we needed it. Don't expect too much....just a place to sleep an shower.
For price of room should have had better accomodations. two queen size beds not necessary. very crowded. bathroom too small. odor in room smelled like urine . sitting area not comfortable or convenient.
We are moving to Poway so looking for a place that's the reason happened to stay at the Best Western. Very nice place, cozy and small. Friedndly staff, helped to get my stuff in the room because it was heavy and gave me a room in the back side away from the street. Good choice of breakfast.
The room was dirty (the floors were dirty and the corners had dust and fuzz build up, the shower had hair in it still). The room had just been painted but very sloppy (still had masking tape covering some of the fixtures and dry paint glops everywhere). The fridge didn't work. The pool was dirty and there were no pool towels available.
Very good stay. Had one of the new room. Very nice upgrade. We will be again in Poway and will stay here again. Professional and friendly people. They had work going on but didn't feel any noise, I asked for room far from noise and got one.
We chose this hotel due to its proximity to our Daughter's apartment. We will not return. As other reviews have stated the rooms are incredibly small and this should be classified as a MOTEL. Our room faced directly into the parking area and we had headlights blasting in all through the night. It was not particularly clean and I would not walk on the carpet without socks or slippers. The walls we found out are paper thin and we seriously thought they were making XX rated movies next door. I went to the office and they basically said "sorry but they had no control over the screaming and moaning" Seriously not even a phone call or manager (?) Never again. Breakfast was as generic as they come. My advice is spend a little more and reserve somewhere else.
Dirtiest rooms I have ever stayed in. out of 8 pillows, 1 was clean. Out of all the towels I had 1 clean body towel and 1 clean hand towel. Everything else was stained. Didn't want to touch anything in the room.
Arrived and requested a room change. It was handled well except thatbit seemed to take a long time. Parking seemed a little limited but I had no problem finding a spot. Coffee and OJ machine stopped working but was promptly fixed
First off, the staff and owners are very friendly and made me really want to like this place, however, the facilities overcame that quickly. The room was freshly painted and reeked of fresh paint. The bed was soft and the tiny pillows were more of an annoyance. The hotel photos show about 6 on the bed, what you get are 4 and they are too little for my comfort. The shower was a joke. The shower head was a multi setting head that was stuck on the heavy flow that only works with very good water pressure., which they do not have. The room was a bit grungy with hairs from past guests in the bath room and sink area. The rooms are not nearly as nice as portrayed in the pictures. All the furniture is beat up and in need of a wood chipper. Good TV channel selection, but small TV and I wanted to burn the remote. It was covered with sticky crap from the people before me. Food was average for this class of hotel.
Hi, It was pretty good. But the shower head and pressure was bad. Light in bathroom kept going on by itself at night. Weird. But they had everything you really needed otherwise. Close to stores and such. Good breakfast in the AM. Kept clean.
This hotel seems to be somewhat in the industrial districts which we didn't expect but it really didn't matter since we spent our day times in San Diego. However this hotel is more like a motel in the fact that the room is so small and the only things that seemed to make it a "best western" were the items put in the room. We had a kitchen area in ours which was needed since I was cooking for our family. When we arrived it was disconnected but maintenance had it up and running within 10 minutes. We were depending on the breakfast for our family and we're quite let down by the options. Also the food was cold aside from the waffles which you make yourself. Overall this hotel served its purpose but did not go above and beyond our expectations. Next time we'll pay the extra to stay in San Diego
Great location in town; perfectly located for my visit. Staff very personable and helpful. Very caring for guests. Coffee machine was being repaired so they brought in Starbucks coffee! Beds are perfect and mattress seems new....had a great night's sleep.
The staff is fantastic. Good people. I am listing issues as pros and cons for me, your interests may be different. Pros Great staff Nice sized room Comfortable bed FAST wifi Fridge and Microwave in-room SAFE Hair dryer Location (food and beverage places) Cons Sloped parking (I am on a motorcycle) LIMITED parking Location (noise) 1 bath towel - ridiculous Blankets are too thin Hotel-style hangers - I HATE Noisy cooler/heater No plug on desktop Bedside clock does not work
This hotel was unlike a usual BW motel . Old decor and dated rooms. Disappointing guest room lighting and comfort. Awkward walls that felt claustrophobic. The value didn't match the room, simply too pricey for the room offered.
This group is very attentive to our needs and always willing to accommodate our needs quickly!! Thank you!! Always such a pleasure when you know the place you are calling are there for you. Thank you all for all you do to make us comfortable away from home.
Went to San Diego for our granddaughter's graduation. Stayed I this hotel. Very nice. Clean and a staff that is friendly. The price is affordable. We try to pick certain places to stay that are affordable and convenient. Bi
I decided to stay in Poway last minute. I normally stay at Best Western because the hotels are consistently very clean & staff is friendly. This hotel lives up to the Best Western brand. Clean rooms, friendly staff. I would recommend this hotel to anyone staying in the area. Easy to get to, close to many things.
This location is above all others we have stayed in ever. the staff is friendly, caring, and provides top rate customer service. even though it is an older property, it is well maintained,and extremely well kept. The rooms are neat and cleaned well, the breakfast presentation was fresh and well stocked every morning.
Was given a smoking room and front desk would not accomadate. I explained I was allergic to smoke having Asthma and staff didnt care. The juice at breakfast was thick and when I advised the attendant they didnt care to fix the issue. Which was a bummer a good Breakfast before a long drive always make your day. Not this one.
I am traveling alone and needed to be in Poway for a week. This location is ideal, and a great bargain. The staff here are all amazing. I feel very safe and welcome. The hotel is older but VERY clean and well maintained. The rooms are neat and tidy, the location is right on middle of town. I know that anything I need I just have to ask. They are knowledgeable and very anxious to help. This site is much cleaner and well kept then a luxury resort I was at before I came here. And the staff cares about their guests here Please consider this location if you need to be in San Diego area but don't want to be downtown. It will be a pleasant surprise- both cleanliness and cost.
I had a less than positive experience with this motel in the past but the current managers have really made great strides in improving this property to one I will now recommend to friends and stay in again. I stayed for 4 days this time. The staff was extremely helpful and friendly, allowing me to check in early and store luggage even earlier when my flight got in early. They allowed a very late check out when my ride back to the airport was delayed. I was able to do laundry at this facility, swim in a clean pool, the room was clean, hot water ample, TV and mini fridge and microwave all worked and were clean, breakfast included sausage, omlets as well as traditional continental breakfast items; in short, all of my needs were met. The property could use some updating, but the one or two small items I noted and mentioned to the manager are being addressed.
The staff are cheerful and lovely, accommodating all requests. In addition the cleanliness of the hotel was so nice and refreshing. They allow pets and the dog run was amazing!! Clean grass, neat fencing, safe area. The room was very nice and had all the amenities, including refrigerator. Shower was nice, not strong or massaging but nice. No "motel" smell!
Decent rooms, clean, very comfortable bed. Very friendly staff! Downsides: 1. No exercise room. 2. Price seemed high compared to location and condition. Might have been the particular weekend that raised costs, but I would say this is a $70-80 per night room (I paid $125). At that price, I would give it a 9 or 10!
This smaller hotel, built many years ago, has recently been upgraded, and everything was clean and looked very nice.. Bed was very comfortable. The only drawback was the scrambled eggs at breakfast--Way over done. Also, the internet system was not self-explanatory, and we had trouble getting into the portal, then keeping hooked up to the wi-fi. I would stay there again, if I needed to stay in the area.
Friendly staff greeted us and the room is on the smaller side but very clean. We will be here 4 nights so I hope that it stays this nice. We will be hitting the pool at some point which also looks nicely maintained. Everything in the room works which is a plus over our last hotel.
I travel weekly and I prefer to stay at Best Western hotels because of the quality of service, room comfort & cleanliness of the facilities. However, this hotel lacked everything I have been accustomed to while staying at BW hotels. The rooms were dirty, lighting didn't work properly, the odor of the room was unbearable, the bed condition was in question and I was refused another room. This hotel staff could use a lesson in customer service and I will NEVER stay there again.!!
Us: Early 60s, Self & Spouse, visit family/leisure. Duration: 3 night stay. This is tough for me, as I hesitate to write negative TripAdvisor reviews.This review score is primarily being driven by the condition of the room. There are not many hotels in Poway, and while we most often stay in La Jolla or downtown San Diego for our semi-annual visits, recently my spouse & I have been staying closer to her family in "North County". Overall, the condition of this property is terrible. Room: The room had so many stains & dirt spots that is actually disturbed my sleep. After the first night, we did move from the first assigned room to another room that was better, but it was still very poor. Service: The staff was very friendly and helpful. For example, when I wanted to print a boarding pass for the flight home, I asked the staff to help, as the computer/printer combination did not seem to work for me. The staff member told me the computer was working, and immediately interrupted what he was doing to attend to my issue. Unfortunately, after 5 minutes of exploration, he did in fact confirm the fact that it was inoperative. (+ helpful staff ; - system did not work). Another example: There was a smell in the room, and the staff provided air freshener to cover it up. Breakfast: They offered a free breakfast with our rate. The coffee machine had an issue one morning. The other two mornings it was fine. The coffee varied from good to mediocre. (Fortunately there is a Starbucks nearby.) The apple juice was consistently good. The scrambled eggs were consistently good. I did not sample any of the other breakfast items. Final thought: I will not return to this property.
Room was musty and damp, check in service was poor, could not find reservation, bed sheets were dirtier after cleaning than before. Patrick was check in agent and gave us impression he wanted us to leave. We stayed at this property before and it was a much better experience. Possibly changed owners?
The bedding was stained and had numerous bugs in the sheets. The room and especially the bathroom are filthy. No other description. Total lack of cleaning. The front desk staff were friendly and helpful and changed the bedding but nothing done to clean the filth. It is nothing like the photos published on the hotel web site.
Very friendly staff, and decent rooms which are clean. Great breakfast which will keep you full till noon. The room was quite which allows for a peacefull sleep in order to recharge your batteries for the next day.
My stay was very very good as always. We have stayed here many times in the past, and everytime I come back to Poway to visit my family or friends I always stay at the Best Western Poway. It's a cute little small hotel with very caring and very helpful. Manuel (front desk guy) and Diya (manager) amazing, well done with great customer service and always making sure that I am comfortable and making me feel like family. In one word Great Hospitality.
Always have a great stay at the Poway Best Western. Great staff, delicious breakfast, they always make my stay enjoyable. Definitely recommended to everyone visiting the San Diego area. This hotel is a hidden jem in Poway. Nice town and very nice hotel. Will definitely stay here again and again.
Was not all that great. It was over priced and over rated by online reviews. It was cheaper closer by the beach. This town is so far away from everything their prices need to be in the 49 to 59 dollar range because, you are getting nothing what you pay for here.
Room was clean, location was good, people working the desk were efficient & friendly. There are restaurants close by and shopping close by. There is traffic noise during the day but the night was quiet. Includes breakfast buffet. Also small fridge and microwave in room, dishes, and 2 burner stove.
i was very pleased with the staff and their hotel. i will be coming back everytime i need a getaway. The rooms were spacious and comforting! i recommend this hotel to anyone looking for this price range because it is the best hotel for this price.
One night, last minute business trip. Room was well used, but adequately maintained. Evening and AM desk staff very courteous and pleasant. Pleasantly surprised by variety in complementary Breakfast bar. Only real downside was the roughness of the bed linens, only decaf coffee in the room, and the heating/cooling system. The AC unit either blew hot/cold air directly across the bed all night or blew the curtains open. Overall good value and a good place if you need to crash for the night
Hotel is okay but a little over priced in my opinion. Staff were courteous and place appeared clean. Breakfast was typical free small chain breakfast. Really wished all the rooms were non smoking as we booked two rooms and they only had one non smoking available.
The hotel is a nice place and the staff is pleasant. The room had a microwave and refrigerator, but the fridge was not plugged in, and it had to be moved well away from the wall to access the plug. Bathroom; Clean and nice towels. TV: Flat screen, No local TV channel guide so you search for CNN or ESPN or whatever. Bed: Comfortable but thin, worn out blanket. Cooler/Heater: low-on-wall mount, low noise, worked fine. Ice machine: Works great. Breakfast: middle-of-the-road, lots are better, lots are worse. No serious complaints. Parking: Excellent. Value: Low-to-moderate. $110 for on night in a 3-star is expensive. I asked for a ground floor in the reservation and I got the most convenient room in the hotel. Nice.
When we first arrived the gentleman was very sweet, but our room was not ready so we decided to come back after a few hours. We came, back to a rude with staring issue sir (at first he ignored us and kept talking on the phone). He gave us our key, did not even tell us where our room was located and didn't even bother giving us any help or service. After searching for our room. a nice lady helped us out (she did say she talked to the rude sir after helping us). When we arrived to our room and unpacked. We noticed a spider in one corner of the room, so we followed its web....good thing we did. The room was infested with spiders!!!! So make sure you check the ceilings and all corners of the room! There was a nest of spiders right behind the curtains above the ac unit. We brought it up to their attention and they gave us a new room. It didn't contain as much spiders or bugs, so we had to be okay with it since it was the nearest and only hotel in the area we found. We did check out the next day (we scheduled two days of stay, but we didn't want to stay at the hotel any longer due to the uncleanliness and staff), even though we did not have a pleasant stay and had a restless night due to the spiders, we were still charged the days we did not stay. Very disappointed with this Best Western and we've only stayed at Best Westerns in our travels..... I don't know about the idea anymore.....
Poway Best Western accommodations were very comfortable and warm. The room wasn't to small and was easy to get around, plenty of space to put your luggage without getting in the way. Bathroom was large with good lighting and great mirrors. The price was very reasonable for the size of the room. We would definitely book a room again
Comfy bed. Clean (though dated) room. Sausage on the free breakfast menu. Smart manager. It was quiet. The towels weren't old and worn out like some in this price range. Good TV with lots of stations. Morning staff was nice. Evening guy was kinda lazy but no biggie.
Pros: clean room, helpful staff, free WI-FI internet Cons: Towels not ready upon check-in, refrig in room noisy, not centrally located to most attractions in San Diego, Room smelled of smoke (Not hotels fault) was smoking room but could not change out.
I honestly had an enjoyable experience at best western. The entire staff made me feel like I was at home. I will definitely consider Best Western for my future hotel stays in the San Diego area. Absolutely fantastic!
Lovely staff but average hotel, room quite dark, commercial retail location. I was on business so practical location for the visits I had to make. if I visit this area again I probably would look elsewhere
Clean rooms and grounds. Pool in very good condition and clean. The staff was very helpful and accommodating. Nice location in quiet area. Good food. Great area for our dogs; fenced and grass; clean. Would definitely stay there again.
Wake-up call system does not work properly, insuring you are late for your meeting, which hows lack of professionalism. Room renovation junk scattered through the halls, and the noise from these renovations at night. Skimping on products (shampoo) requires a trip to the store for your own bottle....
I had booked this hotel for my sister and mother during their stay here for my 21st birthday. Well the hotel was already pre paid for and my family didn't show up due to the snow storm so my husband and I stayed at the hotel. I had booked the hotel for 3 nights. The first night was alright, besides all of the construction workers sitting around and drinking beer and making noise all the way up till 1100pm. My husband was paranoid due to the workers standing outside our door, so he didn't get much sleep. On the second night there were stains on the sheets, and the microwave did not work. We also heard a fire alarm going off that night. It went on for about 20 minutes and then stopped. My husband and I were ready to leave so we packed up our things and went outside to put our bags in the car. When we went outside we instantly smelled a fire. We didn't know if it was from the auto shop behind the hotel or in a room at the hotel. After that experience we no longer felt safe and it was time to go.
No hair dryer, phone didn't work, phone had wrong rm # on it, microwave didn't work, smoking rm had no ash trays, ice machine didn't work and ice from manager was only 1/3 of a bucket (to ration), no elevator, bathroom floor had dirt in corners and paint flaking off, coffee pot band loose, no caffeine coffee packet one day, no internet one day.
Have stayed just as good or better by the beach at a cheaper rate. I think rate needs to be set at 59 dollar a night instead of a 79 dollars considering it is far away from any attractions, the beach or San Diego. My one night was nice and quiet. Clean room. Nice Flat Screen TV. Lady at the desk very friendly who checked me in. There was an issue with the Wifi having to call some tech support number and the upload speed was horrible when I tried to upload a 40 second video which was going to take over 90 minutes. Overall a very good place to stay.
Needed a last minute additional night to stay in Poway and Best Western was able to accommodate. This hotel is smaller, only 2 floors, and needs some exterior updates, but the room was very clean, the bed was comfy and the bathroom was very clean. Too bad the toilet was way too close to the bathroom door, you had to shut the door to use it. The sink was semi-clogged and the water pressure in the shower could have been better. Decent selection for breakfast. All in all, the need to stay somewhere for one additional night was adequate at this Best Western.
I always use this property when visiting family in Poway / San Diego. Friendly staff, clean, comfortable rooms. easy parking. I have used another brand before, but this BW does the trick for value & location, NO complaints.
Excellent motel and great staff. The rooms were very clean and we enjoyed relaxing by the pool with friends. Breakfast was very well presented....very clean and organized premises. Staff were very helpful and they warmly greeted us each time we entered the lobby or breakfast room for coffee.
I usually enjoy BW because of the value and the overall experience. This is the worst I've experienced. I wish I would have paid more and stayed somewhere else. It is a zoo of rowdy people - my room was run down and smelled. I ran the air conditioner 24 x7 to mask the smell. I will never stay at this BW again at any price. Special bonus for us was the drunk pounding on our door at 2 a.m. to get in because he could no find his own room.
This motel is OK for a budget option. Small rooms, thin walls and floors, safe in the open on the floor and problems with wifi service, but clean, reasonably priced, comfortable bed , small fridge and microwave, iron, good TV and decent breakfast. Good value overall,, but they need to fix the internet service problems. Busy street... get room in back.
Not the cleanest place. Room was fully stocked and provided internet access and AC but if you have allergies and prefer clean towels, this is not the place to stay. Perfect locations, in the middle of everything and quiet for the most part.
We stayed in this hotel in 2014 to attend a family wedding. It was old but clean so when we went back this year (2015) we stayed there again. Unfortunately it wasn't the same. The toilet in the bathroom was dirty! I actually had to clean it to get the grunch off the back of the toilet with a Lysol wipe. There was a kitchenette in the room and I could smell mildew. The fridge kept freezing everything we put in there and there was no way to turn it down. They didn't clean our room one day and we were gone pretty much most of the day. The manager or owner of the hotel was yelling at her staff member in front of a guest and his family, even one of our family members could hear it from the second floor. They do offer a continental breakfast and it was good again this time, however when we were in the room getting our meal the manager/owner of the hotel walked by me on the phone and didn't even smile at me or acknowledge me. She was just getting her own food/coffee and was talking to whomever on the phone in the lobby for all of the quests to hear. it wasn't a pleasant conversation. I sounded like she was talking to a bank and saying she didn't have access the that account. I heard it all! My husband looked over his shoulder at her and then back at me and said," Don't they have an office they could use?" Every time we went to the pool there were never any towels available or left. Last year we had a great time and the staff were lovely. This year it seemed no-one cared and they were just doing their time. So sad because we had 10 rooms booked last year and 4 rooms this year, but we will not be back. Sorry BW you blew it.
issues with door key, load guests ... unprofessional owner behaviour ... never any towels at the pool side ... made service is a hit and miss .. rooms could be much cleaner we loved the location and we had several family members staying at this hotel.. and a few never had made service daily no fresh towels and ran out of towel paper .. really WOW
I would not recommend this Best Western. The price does not fit the quality. My family and I went for business and leisure and it is definitely not a place to enjoy your stay. The room was small and we were greeted by a spider and moldy smell. I always enjoy stays at Best Western, but this is a misrepresentation. I honored first night and then canceled other 3 nights. Sorry
Wherever Life Takes You, Best Western Is There®
Jedes Best Western® Hotel ist unabhängig und privat geführt.