Des tarifs réduits toute l'année avec le Programme Best Western Rewards® !

Chambre 1
Chambre 2
Chambre 3
Codes Avantages

Hallgarth Manor House, Signature Collection, Durham

4.0/5  - basé sur 166 notations.
Pittington, DH6 1AB, Durham, Great Britain - Voir l'itinéraire
Hallgarth Manor House, Signature Collection - Façade Hallgarth Manor House, Signature Collection est idéalement situé dans le centre de Durham. Venez découvrir et profiter de notre hôtel à côté des principaux sites touristiques. Réservation au meilleur prix et offres exclusives toute l'année.

Installé sur un magnifique domaine privé à la périphérie de Durham, l’Hallgarth Manor House, BW Signature Collection est un hôtel plein de caractère au charme traditionnel. Il a conservé nombre de ses caractéristiques d'origine du XVIe siècle mais a été rénové avec soin pour vous offrir un lieu de séjour haut de gamme. Il comporte de nombreuses touches modernes ainsi qu’un restaurant élégant, qui propose une cuisine remarquable, ce qui en fait l’hôtel idéal pour savourer de délicieux repas. Ses 24 chambres sont toutes décorées avec goût, des chambres doubles confortables à la superbe suite Sanctuaire. Elles disposent d’une cafetière Nespresso, d’une Smart TV et d’un accès Wi-Fi gratuit. Vous pourrez également admirer une vue spectaculaire sur la campagne voisine ou sur les jardins entourant l'hôtel. Nous sommes à moins de huit kilomètres de Durham, l'une des plus belles villes de Grande-Bretagne. Vous pourrez ainsi visiter de nombreux sites historiques lors de votre séjour. Ne manquez pas la magnifique cathédrale de Durham et le splendide jardin botanique de l'université de Durham. L'incroyable musée vivant de Beamish est à 20 minutes en voiture.

Best Western Plus

Hallgarth Manor House, Signature Collection

Itinéraire vers cette adresse

Départ:

Arrivée:

Les points forts de l'hôtel

  • Internet haut débit gratuit
    Internet haut débit gratuit
  • Café-restaurant
    Café-restaurant
  • Réception 24 heures sur 24
    Réception 24 heures sur 24
Voir plus Voir moins

Avis de nos clients

En partenariat avec tripadvisor fr
Certificate of Excellence 2018
Basé sur l'avis de 167 voyageurs
Note attribuée
Excellent
89
Très bon
38
Moyen
22
Médiocre
7
Horrible
11
CONSULTEZ LES AVIS POUR
En couple En couple
66
En famille En famille
65
Escapade entre amis Escapade entre amis
14
Professionnel Professionnel
12
Voyage solo Voyage solo
3
RÉSUMÉ DES NOTES
Propreté
Emplacement
Chambres
Service
Literie
Rapport qualité / prix

"Mixed trip"

3
05/12/2018

The room I was first put in did not contain what it showed on the picture or what it said on the website. No desk or seating, no coffee machine and no water. The second room was the same even though it was an upgrade no additional seating . It was not the staff fault the rooms are not all as per website description staff did try and rectify. My issue is The room should reflect the description. There would be no issue if people know what they are getting and they get it . The restaurant staff tried their best but one night people were complaining as there was only on staff on the trying their best but there was a run of customers so they struggled. One meal was good the other was ok. This was the ribeye it was not the best. Breakfast ok nice selection of fruit. Staff friendly at breakfast in fact they tried their best to help during the stay. Just another small thing the shower get was not replaced for the second night so had to get some emergency out of my bag. I'm sure they would have given me some but inconvenient when I realised early morning. Overall it did not reach the grade of good.

Hallgarth07, Manager at Hallgarth Manor House, BW Signature Collection, responded to this review
Thank you for your feedback

"Tiny Room"

3
04/12/2018

I have to say that I really enjoyed the stay at Hallgarth Manor House. We ate in the restaurant in the evening. The food was lovely, however apart from one other party, we were the only ones eating in there. The "conservatory" dining area felt cold although it wasn't. This room was fine for breakfast in the morning, but maybe using one of the other cosier rooms as the dining room in the evening would be better. The standard of furnishings in the room was high and the bed was very comfortable. The big let down was the size of the room. Potential guests should beware that a basic double room is tiny. We stayed in room 3. There is no desk / dresser or work space for anyone who is using the hotel for business. The bedside tables are tiny and 3/4 of the space is taken up by the lamps. We had to put the kettle and cups on the floor to make a hot drink. The wardrobe is extremely narrow so you have to fit clothes / coats in at an angle to be able to close the door. The Bathroom is probably the worst part. It is beautifully appointed and decorated. The shower is probably the best power shower I have used in any hotel. The big issue is the size and space provided in the bathroom. The shower cubicle in my opinion is not fit for purpose do to size. Guest literally have to squeeze into the cubicle and it is not possible to bend once in the shower or raise hands above shoulder level. This was the aspect that disappointed me most about my stay. Other than the size of the room and especially the bathroom / shower, it was a pleasant stay. I would stay again but would pay extra for a larger room and bigger bathroom.

Hallgarth07, Manager at Hallgarth Manor House, BW Signature Collection, responded to this review
Thank you for your feedback

"Fabulous stay in a charming hotel"

5
03/12/2018

Hallgarth Manor We had a most fabulous stay at the Hallgarth Manor recently. We first visited the hotel 6 years ago but didn't stay for the night due to our tight schedule. This time, we made it a point to stay a night in this beautiful hotel, just for the experience. The hotel used to be a country home before it was sold to developers which turned it into the hotel it is today. It was recently refurbished - the rooms have been given a fresh, modern look, yet much of the charm of the house remains. The hotel is only about 15 minutes away by car from Durham City Centre, situated within walking distance to the historic Church of St Laurence. Ideal for a weekend getaway or for tourists who prefer a hotel situated in a idyllic, quiet setting instead of one in the bustling city. Although we stayed only for a night, the staff at the hotel made us feel so welcomed that we felt we had been there for days. Although we arrived earlier than planned (at around 11 in the morning), Margaret, the receptionist kindly allowed us to check in to one of the rooms first. This helped greatly as we were travelling with our uncle and aunt in their late 60s, and 3 young children (not forgetting a whole load of luggage). Another staff member, Ian, kindly helped us carry the heavier bags upstairs. (There isn't a lift installed in the premises, possibly to retain the charm of the original house). Another friendly staff, Christine, who was on afternoon shift at the reception, shared with us about the history of the house which we appreciated greatly. Rooms - We love the rooms! I had expected a small, old-lookiing room with simple amenities (afterall, the house was built in the 16th century). Instead, we were greeted with a warm, cosy and inviting room. The beds were very comfortable; the bathroom was clean, well maintained, and even equipped with heated towel rails. (I was particularly impressed with this feature, and especially so in winter!) There was even a mini Nespresso coffee making machine in the room to make the coffee drinker happy. Food - We had a fabulous lunch at the hotel's restaurant, The Tavern. We ordered the ribeye steak which was juicy and succulent, the best we had tasted in a long time. The slow-roasted pork belly, traditional fish and chips and margarita pizza were delicious too. The portions were huge, with interesting and tasty sides. Kudos to the chef, Tom, for the amazing food; and thanks to Amanda, the restaurant manager, for her superb recommendations and warm hospitality. Afternoon tea was a delightful assortment of beautiful desserts served on a 3-tier platter. They looked almost too good to eat! (I especially love the orange flavoured cake.) For the kids, there is a huge garden by the side of the house (just beside the dining room) where they could run around freely and be wild. Though the weather was chilly, our kids had loads of fun playing in the garden while we sipped on our afternoon tea. We enjoyed our stay and experience at Hallgarth Manor very much and will definitely return again. Thanks to the warm hospitality of the crew, we have wonderful memories of this very lovely hotel.

Hallgarth07, Manager at Hallgarth Manor House, BW Signature Collection, responded to this review
Delighted you gad a great stay and look forward to your next visit.

"Brief Holiday"

1
30/11/2018

No wardrobes in hotel: 6 hangers, 2 small drawers, 1 small high shelf for 2 people for 3 days! No tissues, no bottled water. Remainder of a bottle of red wine stored in fridge overnight. Restaurant advertised but not available. Had to eat either in cold orangery or dingy "pub". Sunday morning hotplate not plugged in so food not hot. Had to plug toaster in for DIY toast. Staff mostly very friendly and helpful but needed training. Even at dinner, the paper napkins were tiny and one ply. At breakfast we had to ask for side knives for spreading butter. By Tuesday morning, had run out of marmalade and natural yoghurt. Waitress stood by table while my husband pulled a long hair out of his breakfast and her only words were: "The chef's a man". No apology, no offer to bring a fresh meal. The shower was great and there was a shelf in the bathroom.

Hallgarth07, Manager at Hallgarth Manor House, BW Signature Collection, responded to this review
Thank you for your comments

"Night away for our retirement."

5
06/11/2018

I'd called earlier to arrange a bottle of prosecco in the room and left some rose petals to scatter in the room - which was no problem for them. We had the Lancaster Suite - a large room with roll top bath in the room, in addition to the spacious en-suite with a double shower. Large bed with provided an excellent nights sleep in Egyptian cotton sheets. Breakfast was cooked to order and was excellent with good quality ingredients, attentive staff.

Hallgarth07, Manager at Hallgarth Manor House, BW Signature Collection, responded to this review
Delighted to see you had a lovely time

"First Class Service"

5
22/10/2018

We live locally and have been visiting Hallgarth Manor since last year for food and drinks in the bar and restaurant areas. I was not impressed with the staff who all seemed miserable initially but having recently seen a new wave of polite, happy and helpful employees, the service levels have risen exponentially. The food from the bar menu is excellent and always served with a smile. We recently took our new born son down and the staff were lovely with him. The venue itself is great but it is the people that make this place somewhere to enjoy, relax and keeps us coming back. Keep up the good work guys.

Hallgarth07, Manager at Hallgarth Manor House, BW Signature Collection, responded to this review
Thanks for your great feedback

"Our Evening wedding reception!"

5
20/10/2018

We chose this lovely hotel about 18 month ago to have our home wedding party as married in Cyprus! We and all our guests loved it (apart from the hangover! Lol) we were all so impressed with the function room, the bar, the hotel rooms were lovely and actually quite spacious compared to other hotels! The mirror ball looked absolutley amazing!! We have since been back for a bite to eat and the food is tremendous! A big thank you to all the staff who helped organise this and an extra thank you for the bar staff for putting up with us! We loved it all! Looking forward to tryin Sunday lunch as spied one on our way out last week and it looked delicious! Would highly recommend this for a wedding or any type of large function! Or even a cozy night away :) Very welcoming and very accomodating!

Hallgarth07, Manager at Hallgarth Manor House, BW Signature Collection, responded to this review
Thank you for your great review and I was delighted to see you had a fantastic time. It was our pleasure to look after you. See you soon!

"Wonderful Traditional Country House Hotel with Exceptional Service."

5
16/10/2018

This 16th. Century Manor House has recently been very tastefully refurbished to a high standard whilst retaining its character. Its location is very peaceful, away from the hustle and bustle but within easy access of Durham. We stayed in October for two nights. The welcome at Reception was warm and friendly. Throughout our stay all the staff from Reception, Bar, Restaurant and Cleaning were exceptional for their service and attention to detail. The room on the first floor was lovely, clean and spacious with a very comfortable bed, excellent modern bathroom and a view over the gardens. The food was excellent value. We had both breakfast and dinner in the Orangery Restaurant over the two night stay and the quality and presentation was excellent, as was the service. This hotel is a hidden gem and the Management must have a formula for selecting fantastic staff! They all deserve huge credit. For us Margaret's personal input made our stay a very special one. Christine on Reception and Amanda at Breakfast looked after us so well. We just can't fault this hotel. This is not our first visit, we have returned to it over many years and it just keeps getting better! We would highly recommend it, it's really worth a visit.

Hallgarth07, Manager at Hallgarth Manor House, BW Signature Collection, responded to this review
Thank you for your kind comments. The team are thrilled

"Highs and Lows"

3
16/10/2018

This has real potential to become a 4* hotel but at the moment I can understand why it's sticking at a 3*, we booked the Sanctuary Suit for 2 nights, the rate we got for this and breakfast both mornings was more than reasonable. The room 6/10 - so for me the shower was amazing, partly the sole reason I booked this room was because of the shower pics shown, I wasn't disappointed. The bed was comfortable and a super king I believe. The down sides - the room could do with a lick of paint, many scuff marks which makes it a little tired looking, to add to this, small things that could be rectified like the blind working and handles on taps, a hairdryer in the room etc. Breakfast 6/10 - nice, enough choice, catered for veggies. The vicinity it was held within was very in keeping with the country manor theme, we were able to sit looking out over the garden with little squirrels running about. Staff - 10/10 all staff we dealt with were very friendly and no problems at all. Unfortunately whilst there on the 2nd night we had to nip down to reception as the hotel had been playing ABBA music pretty much non stop all night - it would appear our room was above the bar where the music was playing and the speakers were in the ceiling therefore it was as if we were at an ABBA concert, we just dealt with this but once it got to 10pm and had switched to rap music this we could stand no longer - abba was bad enough! We were up early the next day and needed sleep so my husband had to make x2 trips down to reception to get this situation sorted. Overall a nice hotel, would recommend the sanctuary suit but the music parts really did put a dampener on things for us.

Hallgarth07, Manager at Hallgarth Manor House, BW Signature Collection, responded to this review
Thank you for your feedback

"Excellent"

5
15/10/2018

A wonderful property, close to Durham and the A1. Recently refurbished to a high standard. Warm friendly welcome. Dinner in the restaurant was excellent value, and good size portions. Breakfast, cooked to order was very good as well. The room was spacious, with a superking bed. Bathroom, shower etc very clean and well equipped. Checkout simple, and again staff were just lovely. Highly recommended. Would return any time I am in the area, very enjoyable

Hallgarth07, Manager at Hallgarth Manor House, BW Signature Collection, responded to this review
Delighted to see you had a great visit

"We stayed for one night as part of a bed and breakfast trip"

4
06/10/2018

We found this hotel very comfortable and friendly. The room was good with a very comfortable four poster bed and, although the room where we had dinner was rather dim the food was very good. The staff were very welcoming and friendly and I would happily stay there again.

Hallgarth07, Manager at Hallgarth Manor House, BW Signature Collection, responded to this review
Delighted you had a great stay

"Wedding venue"

4
03/10/2018

Arrived for the wedding fare for one last look as we have booked up our 2020 wedding, having visited many times we know the staff so it makes it more relaxing. On arrival we tried to book in and it appears when I booked forgot to put my surname down. I was known as Lee with nosurname. Very amusing with the reception staff and manager. The room was really nice. With parts of the building been listed the shower was quite small and a tight squeeze. The wooden beams inside the room gathered a lot of cobwebs. The bed was so comfy. We decided to eat in the tavern. The food was really nice. The atmosphere was relaxing. We also had breakfast booked. The presentation of food was really nice. Overall a very nice experience. The staff are really great. Always smiling and very professional. The staff have a good sense of humour and join in our conversation. One big happy family. Great weekend. Thank you all.

Hallgarth07, Manager at Hallgarth Manor House, BW Signature Collection, responded to this review
Thanks for your great feedback. See you soon

"Return visit"

4
03/10/2018

Thought we would give Hallgarth a return visit after last year's meal problem at hotel. What l find with this hotel is the staff are one of its greatest assets, found most to be very friendly and very helpful, credit to them. Had a slight issue with room when arriving, and this was dealt with quickly and efficiently by lady on reception and operations manager to our satisfaction. Food was very nice, good quality, and presentation of it was excellent, with a high standard of service in what l think it was in a new dining area from last visit. Found room to be very peaceful overlooking gardens, so nice to relax and enjoy the quietness and fresh air.

Hallgarth07, Manager at Hallgarth Manor House, BW Signature Collection, responded to this review
Great to see you had a lovely stay.

"Visiting Durham"

3
01/10/2018

Was visiting Durham and looking for a nice Hotel to stay and come upon this Hotel so i looked on there website and showed dinner,bed and breakfast offer on the Sunday 23 September so i telephone and booked, when i arrived i was very pleased . the lady on reception made us very welcome then to our room which was large with shower room,very nice. later on we went down for dinner, a young lady showed us to our table and give the set menu which was set at £16,95 for three courses. When we booked we had a £ 25 pound each so i asked Clare the waitress about this so she said we could make this up in drink which i said this was unsatisfactory . we went along with the menu which had Goats cheese tartlet for starter which i believe had been made some were else come in frozen, the Roast Beef dinner come next with two roast potatoes and vegetables, on the menu it had said creamy potatoes which we never got, the Yorkshire pudding which must have been made in the morning and reheated in the microwave was to hard we could not cut it never mind eat it ( very disappointing), we had dessert and went up stair to bed, we had a good nights sleep. Next morning we come down for breakfast and greeted by another nice lady who looked after us ,the breakfast was fantastic. the room was nicely presented with every thing you would want. It's a shame we didn't get this the night before.When checking out the receptionist had not been told about the night before so she sorted this out for us , many thanks to her and the breakfast waitress for looking after us again. I blame the manager for not checking the menu and the chef who made our visit to Durham very disappointing again,

Hallgarth07, Manager at Hallgarth Manor House, BW Signature Collection, responded to this review
Thank you for your feedback

"Nice room, mixed experience at dinner"

3
22/09/2018

We stayed for a night in the cosy double which was still a nice size (if low ceilinged!) We'd been downgraded from the deluxe double so were offered a complementary meal. My partner had the steak she enjoyed, I had the veggie burger which was poor. Overall our stay was ok but for what we paid I hoped for a bit more.

Hallgarth07, Manager at Hallgarth Manor House, BW Signature Collection, responded to this review
Many thanks for your feedback

"No frills"

3
21/09/2018

Visited recently for a one night stay while in the area. Room was cheap and included breakfast. Lady on reception polite and helpful. Bedroom was clean as was ensure although very small. Not much soundproofing so could hear other guests. Food mediocre and restaurant could of been cleaner. Despite all being very pleasant, staff lacked service skills. Overall, ok for the price I paid but wouldn't want to stay again.

Hallgarth07, Manager at Hallgarth Manor House, BW Signature Collection, responded to this review
Thank you for your feedback

"A lovely country house hotel"

5
20/09/2018

My wife and I stayed for two nights to allow a first time visit to Durham after watching our daughter in the Great North Run. It was lovely to enjoy a break in a quaint hotel far from the madding crowd yet only a couple of miles from the Park and Ride ( highly recommended for getting into Durham ). The room ( number 8) was very comfortable as were the beds and with lovely, creaky floorboards! Breakfast was fine as were the evening meals we had, although we were aware that on one night (Sunday), a number of guests were not happy with their meals. The staff were very friendly. We very much enjoyed our stay there.

Hallgarth07, Manager at Hallgarth Manor House, responded to this review
Delighted to see you had a lovely stay

"Excellent service fantastic food"

5
15/09/2018

Held the British Association of Removers Northern area meeting at Hallgarth Manor on 13th of September. Thanks to all the staff who were brilliant as always. Food was fantastic service was very good members and guest speakers who stayed the night said facilities service and breakfast were fantastic. Thanks again to all for making this another fantastic meeting. Kind regards Alan Hoggin of Britannia George Bernard Shaw Removals and Northern area Secretary BAR

Hallgarth07, Manager at Hallgarth Manor House, responded to this review
Delighted you had a great time. See you again soon

"Lovely hotel"

4
15/09/2018

We booked this hotel as a last minute break and were not disappointed! Close to Durham, nice, clean rooms (ours was overlooking the gardens to the back) comfy beds and I recommend the breakfast, lots of choice of fruit, cereal pastries etc as well as various cooked options!

Hallgarth07, Manager at Hallgarth Manor House, responded to this review
Thank you for your great feedback