ROOM 1
ROOM 2
ROOM 3
Promotion code

Best Western Plus Hotel Ajaccio Amiraute, Ajaccio

4.0/5  - basé sur 908 notations.
20 Boulevard Georges Pompidou, 20090, Ajaccio, France - See map

The Best Western Plus® Ajaccio Amiraute is ideally located close to the Congress Center, the harbour, the city center, and the airport. With its exceptional view over the sea, this property, will offer you all of the best, three star services: solarium terrace, heated swimming-pool (from March until November), private covered garage, Wi-Fi access, conference hall, business corner, office, restaurant, front desk and snacks 24 hours. We invite you to visit Ajaccio, Bonaparte House, Imperial Chapel, Fesch Museum, the wonderful Gulf of Ajaccio, with more than 20 kilometers of white fine sand, and Filitosa, Piana, Scandola, Bonifacio and Porto-Vecchio.

Best Western Plus

Hotel Ajaccio Amiraute

LABEL_ITINERAIRE

LABEL_DEPART:

LABEL_ARRIVEE:

Hotel advantages

  • Restaurant
    Restaurant
  • Spa
    Spa
  • Air conditioning
    Air conditioning
  • Cocktail lounge
    Cocktail lounge
  • Outdoor parking
    Outdoor parking
  • 24-hour front desk
    24-hour front desk
Show More Show Less

Guest reviews

In partnership with tripadvisor fr
Certificate of Excellence 2018
GreenLeader Partner
 
based on 909 guest reviews
NOTE ISSUED
Excellent
278
Very Good
450
Average
148
Poor
25
Terrible
10
REFER TO NOTICE
Business Business
98
Couples Couples
394
Family Family
266
Friends getaway Friends getaway
69
Solo travel Solo travel
36
SUMMARY NOTES
Cleanliness
Location
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Value

"Pleasant appartment in good standard hotel"

4
12/07/2018

Nice, clean hotel with helpfull and serviceminded staff. Great view of the Ajaccio bay from pleasant poolarea. Well equipped spacious appartment with large terrace. Wellfunctioning aircondition and WiFi. A car is recommended, parking no problem. About 30-40 minutes walk to city center, a buss is running but not in the evening and sundays. Hope to come back!

"Not close to town for the price"

3
25/06/2018

The people were pleasant, but not much of a service. Smiling face doesn't equate customer service. We were asked to come down for pillows, and the pool was closed early. Breakfast was amazing, but bathroom was smaller than on a plane.

"Lovely apartment, poor location"

5
25/06/2018

Lovely large apartment, with bedroom, living room, kitchen/dining area and a balcony facing the bay. Everything is very clean and seems new. TVs in bedroom and living room, but no English channels. Pool is warm but not very large. It was never over-crowded, so I guess the small size wasn't a big issue for us, but maybe at peak season it would be a problem. The same with sunbeds, we always found two together, but I imagine at peak season their may be a problem. The pool is nice and warm, with showers and changing rooms nearby. You can get pool towels from reception, and swap them as often as you like. Secure parking is available in a locked underground carpark. This was included in our booking free of charge. Reception staff were always friendly and helpful. The room was cleaned once during our 7 night stay, which is about right in my opinion. More often and your apartment feels more like a hotel and less like a home away from home.

"Lovely Apartment"

4
21/05/2018

Lovely staff at Reception booked us into our apartment soon after early arrival on learning we had been travelling since very early morning. They were helpful and pleasant throughout our stay. The apartment was spotlessly clean, very well appointed and larger than expected. We had a good sized living room with TV, settees etc. balcony with furniture and lovely views of the bay, kitchen with dishwasher, coffee machine, kettle, convection microwave oven, and hob. Plenty of crockery and utensils though small vegetable knife would have been useful, as would pepper and salt to save buying large packs in the supermarket nearby. There was a small welcome pack of washing up liquid and dishwasher tablets, and a bottle of water provided. The bathroom was well planned with a bath and powerful shower. Both bedrooms were a good size. Plenty of parking at hotel. The distance from the old town is a disadvantage, but the buses seem to run about every half hour in daytime. Driving and parking in Ajaccio is almost impossible - roads are very congested, traffic fumes are a real problem and all car parks and pavement spaces are full all day. We parked on the front beyond the old town and walked back. We ate at the Courtepaille restaurant twice, and apart from a poor steak food was reasonably good. The fixed price menus were good value. Staff are pleasant and friendly. Eating out generally is not cheap in Ajaccio. Visit the Isles Sanguinaires, Napoleon's house, Palais Fesch, and take the train to Corte - the town is touristy but the views from the train are not to be missed. The mountain drive to Tolla is worth doing, and the lake is beautiful, with a nice cafe. Weather in mid May was not really warm enough to use pool or jacuzzi.

"Nice, but too far from city center & little public transport options"

3
03/09/2017

Stayed there 3 days, and had chosen the place because they had a swimming pool & jacuzzi The pool is nice, but the jacuzzi (etc.) is very little and packed with kids (although not supposed to be there...). Overall, the hotel is fit for purpose, and the breakfast is really nice. Service is good. Being an international traveller, it is not really to be considered as a 4 star hotel, but still, it's a nice place without any wow factor. The real downside was it's location which was far away from the city (30mn walk) and the public transport stops quite early in the evening (so dining out is ok, if walking is not an issue).

"Nice apartement, quite good location"

4
23/08/2017

The apt was big enough to host 6 pers. Clean and well equiped, nice terrace. The location is quite far away from the centre town and the beach but if you have a car is ok. The pool is also nice so except the price, wich is very high in august (like everywhere), everything was ok.

SASCPH, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Best Western Plus Ajaccio Amiraute, responded to this review
Dear Cliente, Thank you for your feedback, the team of the hotel is pleased to see that your stay with us gave you full satisfaction. We are happy that you enjoyed the comfort of your apartment, the quality of cleanliness and facilities of the hotel. To receive the best rates, we recommend to contact our reception on your next visit to the pleasure of welcoming you soon, Best regards, Salih, Guest Relations

"perfect stay in a butiful island"

5
21/08/2017

we had an apartment, two bedrooms, large balcony, two bathrooms, kitchen and living room. all perfect . the cleanliness was very good and the desighn good for our size of family. couple with 3 douthers age 12-21-31.

SASCPH, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Best Western Plus Ajaccio Amiraute, responded to this review
Dear Client, Thank you for your feedback, everyone is pleased to see that your stay with us gave you full satisfaction. We are happy that you enjoyed the comfort of your apartment, the quality of cleanliness and facilities of the hotel. See you soon, Best regards, Salih, Guest Relations

"Ajaccio for short stay"

3
14/08/2017

Stayed 4 days at the Best Western in Ajaccio.We were in room 417 with a good view of the sea promenade. Clean room and decent size shower. Convenient location,Bus stop (Line 1 takes you to town/port) just outside on the left . 1 euro for a ride or buy a booklet of 10 tickets for 8 euros. However it is not a beach property only a sea view one.Closest beach would be plage campo towards the airport or plage st francois near the citadel. 15 min drive away from the airport, Taxi ride would cost 20 euros during the day. Breakfast was OK. Nothing special for 12 euros.The express breakfast(5 euros) early and late mornings is a good concept and value for money too. Restaurant on site is very pleasant.Good food and fair service.It is a convenient visit when you do not want to venture out in the hot afternoons. Hotel swimming pool is a plus. Reception extremely helpful and speak very good english. They are very patient with instructions and suggesstions for trips etc.Thank you. All in all a good short stay.

SASCPH, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Best Western Plus Ajaccio Amiraute, responded to this review
Dear Client, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on your stay in the hotel. We are very happy that you keep a good souvenir of your stay. Regarding the location, a beach is 400 metres from our hotel. To visit the other beaches of the city, electric bicycles are available for rent as well as buses, with two bus stops close to our hotel, to get to the airport or "Les Sanguinaires", as you could make that clear. During your next stay, don't hesitate to contact our reception to have advice on beaches and places to visit in the pleasure to receive you soon, Best Regards, Salih, Guest Relations

"Nice hotel close to the airport"

3
05/08/2017

We stayed here our first and our last night during our visit to Corsica, mainly because of the closeness to the airport. Free parking, helpful staff in reception. Rooms were nice, but our first room had an unpleasant odeur from the bathroom, which we finally detected to come from the shower drain. I would have asked for another room if it hadn't been in the middle of the night since we arrived very late. We did not have the same problem in the room we stayed in the second night, however I sensed a slight smell of smoke in the room, despite the fact that smoking was not allowed. Plus for a kettle so that we could make coffee in the room and a bottle of free water in the fridge. Pool area nice and satisfactory clean. Pool towels to lend from reception. We did not have breakfast. Wi-fi really, really bad, difficult to log in and only one device could be logged in with the same e-mailadress.

SASCPH, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Best Western Plus Ajaccio Amiraute, responded to this review
Dear customer, First of all, thank you for the comments regarding your recent stay at our hotel. What a pleasure to see you enjoyed the comfort of our hotel and attentive hospitality of our staff. Indeed, our hotel is non-smoking and please believe that we bring attention to this rule however, despite our efforts, exceptions may occur. Your comments are very constructive for us, because they allow us to report any situations that may escape us. We are surprised to read your comment about wifi, in fact, the network covers the whole of the hotel site with a high speed thanks to the many points of access installed on the site. Indeed, as in many hotels, it is recommended to connect that with one e-mail address for security measures. Moreover, we regret that you didn't have not informed our receipt of this situation to assist you towards a solution. Hope to see you soon for a new stay Kind regards, Salih, Guest Relations

"Nice hotel close to the centre"

4
19/07/2017

Bus stop just outside the hotel. We always walked to the centre in about 30minutes Pros: nice swimming pool, big room with nice view (4th floor in building next to the reception), spar close to the hotel, big fridge. Close to the airport (10minutes)

"10 minutes walk from small beautiful beach - but far away from city center."

4
12/07/2017

The apartment is very spacious and well equipped. We stayed here for 9 nights with three children (9,13,15) and there was plenty of space. Nice balcony and astonishing view to the Bay Area. On the negative side: we have met only one person who was able to speak English. And the real exciting tourist things happens 45 minutes walk from the hotel. You can take the train or bus though to the city center. Bakers and grocery shopping was 5 minutes from the hotel.

"Fantastic location, beautiful view, you want room 417"

5
04/07/2017

Great location, about a half hour walk from the old town. Beautiful view of the ocean. I was in room 417 and it was great. There is a door from the hallway you use your keycard to go through and then there are only two rooms down another short little hall, so it's very quiet, you don't hear all the goings on out in the hallway people coming and going. The view is amazing. Room is modern and very spacious (love that I'm working from a mobile computer stand over the bed). The bathroom is very large and excellent as well. Free wi-fi is very fast and there is tons of free parking. Highly recommend.

"Worst hotel experience ever"

1
17/06/2017

The Hotel has the worst services we have ever been. No one speaks English or another language, the communication ended up being done by mime or signals. This is unacceptable in an international hotel chain. Worst check-in and check-out experience. The day we arrived we were made to wait 5 hours to give us the room. We arrived at 11.30 at the hotel and it was over 16.00 and we did not have our room. And we had reservation and the voucher in hands. And they did not warn our travel agent about the check in time was 16.00. Well, not enough terrible service, today at 11.30 in the morning began calling, telling us to leave the room because the check-in was at 11! It's mean that we had to wait 5 hours to get into our room and now we had to leave at 11! My father leave things in the room and could not come back because they demagnetized his key, I had to ask a maid to open it. Worst hotel experience ever. Best Western never again. They do not have proper service and posture.

"Good hotel for a car trip"

5
10/06/2017

We stayed for two nights at this hotel during a long weekend visiting Corsica by car and were impressed by the clean room, good service and excellent location for drivers. It is close to the airport and a short drive away from city center.

"Best stay on our 3 week trip."

5
07/06/2017

Only had one night here unfortunately as we had to move on the next day. We had a room on the 4th floor(412) with a grest view overlooking the bay, the room was spacious with a great bed and it was very quiet during the night. Not far from the hotel is a bus stop where you can go into town for €1 as it was a lot easier to do this than of driving the 4kls.

"Ok hotel where the AC does not work"

3
27/05/2017

It's an ok hotel with little or no character. Air conditioning is poor, smell in the shower, pillows too small . I would not come back or recommend the hotel. The chain hotels these days have absolutely no charisma or warmth . Hospitality is missing and the so called processes too are not in place due to lack of supervision and managerial presence

SASCPH, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Plus Ajaccio Amiraute, responded to this review
Dear Client, Thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our property. On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologise for not exceeding your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we offer a better experience for guests in the future. I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience. Yours sincerely, Salih, Relation Client

"A brilliant Hotel at the verge of Ajaccio City."

5
25/04/2017

Friendly Hotel Staffs. Beautiful rooms, lovely breadfast, a nice swimmingpool overlooking the sea. I can only recommend it further to you all out there planing to come down to corsica. Price compare to other same standard, I will say average. Stayed two night with my family and we had a great time. Thank-you Best Western!

"Good value nice apartment"

4
07/02/2017

We rented a nicely equipped apartment which was clean and large enough with a nice balcony. Free easy parking is a bonus and the wifi worked well. At the other end of the port but for fit people the less than 3km walk into the centre of the old town is easy and quite pleasant.

"Good hotel but location is a bit far from city centre"

4
19/01/2017

A good quality of hotel with helpful staff. Comfortable clean rooms. No English channels on TV, not even BBC World News but this can be pretty standard for most French destinations. Restaurant served good standard of food, and breakfast buffet was also okay but some of the buffet items were not always restocked. Parking outside off main road and also secure underground parking if required. All in all a reasonably good clean hotel at a good price. Ajaccio is a good location for touring the beautiful island of Corsica. The main downside was the lack of alternative eating in the vicinity as the nearest was at least a twenty minute walk away. On a Sunday night in January there was nowhere else open that we could find apart from street vans and Pizza take away.

"65th birthday trip with friends"

3
01/11/2016

We chose this hotel based on an all inclusive flight/hotel package and it was a very good deal price wise. The hotel was modern and the facilities would have been excellent if the bar(s) had been properly staffed. For instance, happy hour only happened if you were able to summon a bartender from the back regions; it might have been that we were quite late or just off season. That apart, the reception staff were charming and helpful. The service/food in the Courte Paille restaurant next door was variable. Ajaccio is fabulous.

"Good value"

4
04/10/2016

Were there twice in the last 3 weeks. Very convenient because very close to airport. It also offers free parking. The saff is well trained, helpful and friendly. The rooms are cleaned and well appointed and the price is right. Good breakfast and beautiful pool. I would however offer management 1 suggestion: First, since the restaurant Courtepaille located just beside the hotel is a total NO NO, Best Western should think of opening the own restaurant within the hotel. Otherwise, Courtepaille will eventually affect the hotel business Otherwise ( in my case) I will have to select another hotel closer to downtown and other . restaurants.

Direction C, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Plus Ajaccio Amiraute, responded to this review
Dear Guest, Thank you very much for your comments, we are really happy you enjoyed your experience with us and we would like to apologise for the experience you had in the Courtepaille restaurant, we hope we will have the opportunity of welcoming you again in a close future. Sincerely, Marc Guest Relation

"Poor value for money"

2
25/09/2016

We paid 143 euro for a double room without breakfast. We arrived at 3pm but we were informed we could only check in at 4pm. O be fsir we did know that from booking it. Then we waited in reception then queued at 4pm to check in at reception. The main issue I had was customer service. Staff were ok but very unproactive in simply being friendly. No advice available regarding general area. To have a restaurant right next to hotel that got such bad reviews was also bad. The pool looked fine though I didn't use it as weather not good enough (time of year dependent of course). The bathroom is designed to be lifted straight in to a hotel so it's like something on a ship ie all plastic and a unit on its own. Room was fairly small. Breakfast was unfortunately extra. We booked a taxi from hotel to airport but taxi man tried to overcharge us. Not a great exoerience. Disappointed more so as every other Best Western we stayed in in other countries other than France were lovely. Eg best western in Garmisch-Partenkirchen in Germany. A shame.

Direction C, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Plus Ajaccio Amiraute, responded to this review
Dear Guest, Thank you very much for sharing your opinion with the TripAdvisor community. We would like to apologise for not meeting your expectations about your stay, we can assure you such a situation won't happen again and we will be very happy to have the opportunity of welcoming you again to show you all of our knowledge. We would be more than happy if we could make you change your mind about our hotel and the Best Western brand in a close future. Sincerely, Marc Guest Relation

"Appartments are very good , well worth 4 star."

5
21/09/2016

Very comfortable and with everything you need in a self catering facility. We had a one bedroom apt with the ability to sleep an extra 2 in the living area. Kitchen equipment - everything you would need. Big fridge. Great views from balcony. Cannot fault the appartment. However, the attached and shared restaurant is not to the same standard. Pity as the hotel complex is a long walk from town. If you have a car, fine. You cannot rely on either the timing of any busses or in fact if they will turn up at all. Taxi facilities seem very limited after about 19:00. Busses do not run after about 20:00. So be prepared to walk.

Direction C, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Ajaccio Amiraute, responded to this review
Dear Guest, We are happy you enjoyed the comfort of your apartment and it's sea view. We would like to apologise for the experience you had with our partner restaurant the Courtepaille, I will transfer your comments. We hope we will have the opportunity of welcoming you again. Sincerely, Marc Guest Relation

"Magnifique"

5
21/08/2016

We stayed here for part of our honeymoon and the room we were allocated was lovely. The flowers and formations were such a great surprise and made us feel very welcome. Thank you to all of the staff who have been very helpful and friendly. The hotel room, all of the facilities and especially the pool are excellent. We will recommend this hotel to others. Thank you again.

BW-Ajaccio, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Ajaccio Amiraute, responded to this review
Dear Tonyellyot, It was a real pleasure for us to transform your stay into a lovely experience in Corsica. Your compliments have been passed to our teams who were really pleased to read you. We hope you will have the opportunity to come back and we wish you a very pleasant honeymoon in Corsica. Sincerely, Marc Guest Relation

"Nice stay"

4
02/08/2016

Nice hotel, excellent facilities with helpful staff at a very good price, served our purposes well, would definitely stay here again if I was in Ajaccio, the description we found did say the hotel was on the beach... My idea of a beach is probably different to theirs!

BW-Ajaccio_Bastia, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Ajaccio Amiraute, responded to this review
Dear Chris, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with the TripAdvisor community We are really happy you enjoyed your stay at the Best Western Amirauté, I will transfer your comments to our teams and we wish we will welcome you again. Could you please contact us on our Facebook page and tell us more about this description about our hotel, so we can get it changed. Thank you. Sincerely, Marc Guest Relation

"Good hotel near the airport"

4
31/07/2016

The hotel is lovely, very clean and a beautiful view of Ajaccio harbour. The swimming pool is great and very good spa pool with jets. The breakfast is varied, with bread, cheese, cereal and scrambled eggs plus fruit and pastries. The rooms are extremely fresh with lots of space and a good quality bathroom (although we only had a shower). The location isn't great but a bus stop is nearby and only €1 to get into town. Because it's not in the town there is a nice view of Ajaccio bay. Definitely recommend staying.

BW-Ajaccio_Bastia, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Ajaccio Amiraute, responded to this review
Dear Laura, We are really pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay at the Best Western Amirauté and that you will recommend it. During your breakfast I hope you had the opportunity to try our Corsican specialities. We are looking forward your next visit. Hope to see you soon. Marc Guest Relation

"Nice hotel, but far from the center"

3
27/07/2016

This place is great for one night while just passing by. A bit far from everything, no nice restaurants close by. Hotel itself is tidy and comfortable, pity the location isn't a bit better. Hotel recommended, the location not so much.

BW-Ajaccio_Bastia, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Ajaccio Amiraute, responded to this review
Dear Guest, Thank you for reviewing your recent stay at the Best Western Amirauté. We are sorry if our location was not what you were looking for, but we hope we will have the chance of welcoming you again. Sincerely, Marc Guest Relation

"Disappointed. "

3
24/07/2016

After reading the reviews and seeing the pictures, I was excited to stay at this hotel. However, after spending two days here, I wouldn't stay again. This is mainly because it is too far away from Ajaccio if you don't have a car. Walking took an hour and the bus was irregular and non existent after 8pm. Other minor complaints were the bizarre check in time (4pm), which is not good if you arrive on the morning ferry and the intermittent wifi. However, the positives were the large, modern and spacious rooms and wonderful pool. Overall, only stay here if you have a car.

BW-Ajaccio_Bastia, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Ajaccio Amiraute, responded to this review
Dear Guest, We are sorry if we didn't meet your expectations about your stay in Ajaccio. We are pleased to read that you enjoyed our installations and we really hope you will have the opportunity to come back with a car, letting you discover what's around Ajaccio. Sincerely, Marc Guest Relation

"Nice hotel but a little way from the town centre"

4
24/07/2016

Found this hotel on Trip advisor at the last moment and at a reduced price. We arrived into Ajaccio by ferry from Nice and weren't sure where the hotel was relative to the port. After enquiry we found it was a 2 km walk so eventually got a taxi which cost us Euro 45. The reception staff were very helpful and we still able to get some thing to eat. The hotel has its own pool and hot tub and is popular with families. Breakfast is extra as indeed are all meals and drinks but not too expensive. We found that the Number 1 bus could be picked up a 3 minute walk from the hotel and for Euro 1 took you right into the heart of the town at Place de Gaulle. The main attractions are around the old streets laden with little bistros and bars and if you want to get a quick tour get on the Petit Train which goes from Place Marechal Foch. On the return we walked back to the hotel which took about 30 minutes. Pleasant hotel but Ajaccio has not a lot to offer after 2 days.

BW-Ajaccio_Bastia, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Ajaccio Amiraute, responded to this review
Dear Brook, Thank you for taking the time to post your review on TripAdvisor, we are happy you enjoyed our hôtel and we hope we will be welcoming you again. Sincerely,

"Perfect for overnight-stay after arrival"

3
19/07/2016

We needed a stay as our flight arrived late. We booked a family-room - but we were suprised when having a whole apartment with balcony with sea view! The distance to the centre is about 20 minutes to go (taxis are LATE in this area). We visited the restaurant by the hotel - just to have something to eat. Disappointing! Both food and service. Would rather walk for 20 minutes instead of this. The hotel has a nice clean pool. The breakfast was alright, but with no service! Too hot for them??

BW-Ajaccio_Amiraute, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Ajaccio Amiraute, responded to this review
Dear ViggiLillehammer, Thank you for letting us know what you liked and dislike about your stay, your comments are helping us to improve our overall quality and to offer you, day after day, a better experience in Corsica. We hope we will be welcoming you again soon. Sincerely, Marc Guest Relation

"Excellent hotel & position to Ajaccio"

4
14/07/2016

The rooms are just ok - good beds & adequate bathrooms. Nice pool & breakfasts. Lovely friendly front of house staff. Good free parking in hotel. Good 1/2 hr walk into Ajaccio along the lovely port. Ask for room facing the pool for view over the port. Would def recommend & return one day. Also 5 mins from Ajaccio airport. Also provide towels for the pool. No beach close by - need to drive or bus to one. Thanks for a lovely 7 night stay.

BW-Ajaccio_Amiraute, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Ajaccio Amiraute, responded to this review
Dear Jean, Thank you for your comments, we are really happy you enjoyed your stay at our property and we are waiting for your next stay. Sincerely, Marc Guest Relations

"Disappointment"

1
13/07/2016

Very disappointed. I search for a hotel for my even birthday and especially checked if pets were allowed. On searching TripAdvisor Best Western showed up under this category. Arriving at the hotel we were told dogs were not allowed in the hotel.

"lovely hotel"

5
06/07/2016

I just finish a week vacation, in this hotel and apartments not too far from the center. With its exceptional view over the sea, a wonderful solarium terrace with a swimming-pool front Gulf of Ajaccio. You can relax with your family. A very nice place where to be, hopefully I will repeat again in the future this vacation.

BW-Ajaccio_Amiraute, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Ajaccio Amiraute, responded to this review
Dear Guest, Thank you for sharing your comments with the trip advisor community ! We are really happy you enjoyed your stay at our property and we are waiting for your return. See you very soon, Marc Guest Relation

"Depends what you're looking for"

3
01/07/2016

We chose this hotel as much for the easy, free parking as anything, since it isn't that clearly available at places closer in to the town unless you go for the expensive hotels with lots of facilities that we wouldn't use. That did mean that it is some distance from the centre – suggested as 30 minutes' walk but probably nearer 45, and through some not all that salubrious areas, OK in the day but perhaps a little worrying at night. There is a bus, but it apparently doesn't run beyond about 8:30pm. This is a fairly standard modern hotel (note: the apartments are separate); not a bad one by any means but just rather uninteresting. If you want such things, there is a large hot tub and a smallish swimming pool and sun-lounger area. Staff on reception were very helpful and friendly, not always matched by those in the bar area (not unpleasant just, it seemed, a bit overworked at times). The superior room we took seemed a little on the small side, though it did have a desk and a sofa bed as well as the main king size double, which was comfortable. The wardrobe was quite tight, probably aimed at fairly short stay business people. The bathroom was certainly a bit small – a standard ‘pod' that wouldn't have been out of place on a cruise ship. To be fair, it was all kept spotlessly clean and had good, free, Wi-Fi. Air-conditioning wasn't all that effective unless temperature turned well down, but at least you can open the window. The hotel do a cold buffet breakfast at €12 (seemingly becoming the standard price in French hotels) or an express one for half that (coffee, juice, pastry), though there are places along the road into town (seems to be a couple by the Spar supermarket a couple of hundred yards on the right, or go a little way up the road to the right a little way beyond it). Only restaurant is a Courtepaille in the complex, a bit like Little Chef – can be OK or, as we found one night, relatively poor. Quite a distance to another one – the one we found was a good 15-20 minute walk around the seafront, though there are a number in the leisure port a little further along and probably some up the roads off the road into the centre. This hotel does what it sets out to do fairly well, in some cases very well, so you need to decide if the modern blandness and location are what you want. For us, in retrospect, it wasn't.

BW-Ajaccio_Amiraute, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Ajaccio Amiraute, responded to this review
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to write this review and to share it with the TripAdvisor community. I can assure you that our neighbourhood is completely safe, even at night, and that there is absolutely nothing to be scared of. We are really sorry if we did not met your expectations about your stay, I will transfer your comments to our team members and to the restaurant Courte Paille we work with. Do not hesitate to ask our receptionists about restaurants, they can advise you depending on what you would like to eat and they can order you a taxi if you don't have a car. One more time i'm sorry if our hotel wasn't what you were looking for. We hope we would be able to make you change your mind on your next visit to Ajaccio. Sincerely, Marc Guest Relation

"Solid Hotel"

3
25/06/2016

Stayed there for 4 nights. Short distance from Ajaccio airport, 5-10 minutes drive. A bit of walk from downtown Ajaccio, 30 minutes approx. Bike rental not far away and we rented a bike, although it's a bit tricky to bike in Ajaccio. Liked the stay at the hotel, pool was clean, breakfast okay, average room, wifi free of charge. Find it though rather expensive compared to 3-4 star hotel but I assume it's normal price for Corsica and S-France standards.

BW-Ajaccio_Amiraute, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Ajaccio Amiraute, responded to this review
Dear Guest, We are really happy that you liked your stay in our hotel and we hope you will come back during your next stay in Ajaccio. Hope to see you soon, Sincerely Marc Guest Relation

"Very pleasant stay."

5
01/06/2016

My wife and I stayed at the Best Western Ajaccio Amiraute between 22 – 29 May 2016, we occupied room 414. Our room was on the top floor with a cracking view across the Bay of Ajaccio. We watched the cruise ships and ferries come and go. Our room was air conditioned, clean, modern and spacious. It also included free wifi, fridge and small safe. As mentioned in previous reviews, the hotel is about a 25 – 30 minute walk into town. Within a short walk there is a boulangerie and a Spar Hypermarche. There is also a Courtpaille (the ‘last straw' - it certainly was!) restaurant attached to the hotel. For convenience we ate there twice, on both occasions the food left a lot to be desired. We personally would not recommend eating there. There is a bus stop just outside the hotel (number 1 bus) which takes you into town for a euro. Once in the town there is a myriad of bars, cafes and restaurants to choose from. We found a Moroccan restaurant off the beaten track, the food was excellent and inexpensive. The owners were very friendly and gave us free Moroccan tea. The ‘infinity' pool again, looks across the bay, there was also a spa – which was fun! The pool/spa area was immaculately clean as were all public areas of the hotel. We had a few small issues during our stay; these were resolved quickly by the hotel Directeur, Stephane. The staff were professional, helpful and friendly. We have to say a ‘special thank you' to receptionist Veronika and the barman Raul. They both made our stay at the hotel that bit more special. They are are both an asset and a credit to Best Western Hotels. Thank you again. We would stay at this hotel again.

Direction A, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Ajaccio Amiraute, responded to this review
Dear Stewart,  Thank you very much for your review, and for taking the time to share it with the TripAdvisor community. We are really pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us, and more particularly the equipment and cleanliness of our rooms, the Wi-Fi connection, the staff, the infinity pool and the spa, the view...  I will transfer your message to Veronika and Raul, they will be pleased to receive it. One more time thank you very much for your compliments! Hope to see you soon. Best regards, Marc  Guest Relations

"A pearl on the Ajaccio seashore"

5
29/05/2016

Excellent hotel, with good position on the seashore, even if not exactly in town center (30 min by feet). All services was excellent, especially breakfast, with high quality service and great choice of food and beverages, in a nice location with a seaview terrace. Room had good services, but refrigerator is working only when guests are in room, and electricity is turned on. Restaurant on franchise Courtepaille was near the hotel, with a good choice of food and a variety of prices, good for every need. Pleasant stay, we were sad when leaving...

Direction A, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Ajaccio Amiraute, responded to this review
Dear Edoardo, Thank you very much for your comments, and for taking the time to share them with the TripAdvisor community. We are really pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay, our location on the seashore and our service quality, your satisfaction is our priority and the most beautiful success for our teams who strive day after day to make you live the best experience in Corsica. Concerning the refrigerators, I'm afraid you are mistaking: they are not related to the energy saving system installed in the rooms so they are cooling down even when you're outside. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you soon. Best regards, Marc Guest Relations

"Nice and clean, that's it"

3
27/05/2016

Location is good, opposite the ferry / cruise ship harbor, therefore a interesting view, also to the town. Pool small, but fairly enough sun chairs and umbrellas. Rooms are clean and typically modern furnished (IKEA style). Windows are good to block the noise from the main street a couple of meters in front of the hotel. Staff is average friendly. Don't like that much to go the client friendly extra miles for some special requests or questions. Overall, a type of hotel which does what you ask for.

Direction A, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Ajaccio Amiraute, responded to this review
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with the TripAdvisor community. We are really sorry that your experience did not met your expectations, be certain that we have spread the word to our teams. However we are pleased to read that you enjoyed our location and the view from the hotel. We hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you again in order to demonstrate the friendliness of our staff and transform your stay in an unforgettable experience. Best Regards, Marc Guest relation

"Good hotel for business and vacation"

5
09/05/2016

Good hotel for business and vacation nice rooms, good breakfast buffet, nice steakhouse nearby, very clean and nice rooms, wunderful service, small pool in front of the hotel, enough parking lots directly at the hotel

"Hotel Made the Trip Worth the Visit"

5
13/02/2016

My wife and I were traveling through the French Rivera for our wedding anniversary. True the other reviews about this hotel, it's a fabulous place to stay in Ajaccio. It's located very close (about 10 mins drive) from thenairport, very well connected to all the major city htspots, and also with the highway exits to other parts of the country you may want to visit (Bonifacio, Calvi, Bastia, etc.). The hotel property is quite huge, has ample parking for all guests, both free (open) and paid (garage) parking. The checkin process was extremely smooth and easy. We were well directed to our apartment, and had ample assistance. At one point, the GM of the premise walked with us himself to guide us to our apartment. The suite was FANTABULOUS. Big, spacious, clean, with all amenities like WiFi, Sofa's, dining areas, Fridge, etc. the balcony opened up offer a view of the Port and the ocean. Overall, we couldn't have chosen a better place than this to explore the Ajaccio and around, than this very hotel. Best Western Amiraute, you guys were great. Please keep up the good work.

Direction A, Directeur général at BEST WESTERN Ajaccio Amiraute, responded to this review
Dear Guests, Thank you very much for sharing this wonderful review about our hotel. This is the kind of feedback we work so hard for. We are delighted that you had a great time in Ajaccio and that you enjoyed your stay at the Best Western Ajaccio Amirauté. I am sorry we did not know before, on behalf of the entire team I still wanted to wish you and your wife a happy belated wedding anniversary. Regards Stephane Mozziconacci

"Much better than anticipated. "

4
28/12/2015

Arrived at hotel unsure. The hotel is a 10 minute drive either by bus, cab or car from the old city. We had a very spacious apt with two bedrooms, kitchen, living room and large terrace. The bathroom and separate toilet are wheelchair accessible. The apt was well furnished, newly decorated, very clean and the heat was terrific. The reception staff were accommodating. Free parking and free internet in the apt. Definitely a repeat!

"Not bad"

4
05/10/2015

The pool area is quite nice, breakfast was good, the room modern and comfortable. The location is not ideal, but you have a bus station nearby from which you can catch a bus to the centre or to the airport.

"Comfort and a great view!"

5
23/09/2015

The hotel is located a 35 to 40 minute walk from the old town, it is a pleasant walk along the sea edge, but if you prefer you can catch a number 8 or number 1 bus from the bus-stop outside the hotel. It costs 1€ each way and you pay on the bus! The hotel staff were very friendly and efficient and there is plenty of car parking. We parked in the open air car park, free of charge. We had booked a superior room for our three night stay, but on arrival we were allocated a two bedroom 63 square metre appartment in the adjacent 'Residence' instead! There was a large lounge area and a kitchen diner with good cooking facilities; so we went to the local supermarket, cooked and eat in looking at the great view over the harbour and port. Very romantic!! The bed was very comfortable and as the hotel is set back from the road, it was also very quiet. Recommended.

"Nice room but at first, left in the dark"

4
09/09/2015

We arrived at the hotel after dark and after several hours of travelling we were looking forward to relaxing in our room. On inserting the key card into the power slot, nothing happened - no lights. A technician was sent to remedy the situation while one of us held the door open to get some light from the hallway. After 20 minutes of fiddling with the switches, he thought he'd fixed it and we went down to get some dinner. On our return, same problem - no lights. Again we went through the same process, but there was still no light. We were told the hotel was fully booked so we couldn't have another room. A standard lamp was brought up so we could see into the bathroom. The switch was fixed the following day and on checking out, as compensation we were not charged for breakfasts. In the circumstances, we would have expected our first night of inconvenience to have been free of charge. The room itself was quite nice with good views over the town and harbour. Its one weakness was the bathroom, which was incredibly small - tiny shower, hand basin and toilet like one would find in a small boat. The hotel is a little way away from centre of town, so there was only one restaurant in easy walking distance - the Courtepaille attached to the hotel. This is part of a large chain offering pretty ordinary fare. The breakfasts at the hotel were fine. There was plenty of free parking behind the hotel. The airport is just 10 minutes drive from the hotel.

"Spyns Tours Seal of Approval"

5
27/08/2015

Recently spent a family week at this hotel with my three kids. I couldn't have been happier. The hotel has three buildings: the main building is a hotel and the adjacent two buildings are apartments. Starting with the positives, we stayed in the hotel but will probably book an apartment next summer. Our room was clean, had great bathroom, the hotel pool and Jacuzzi were perfect, and it's a 5-min walk to a great nearby beach. The breakfast was good for what we paid and I found the front-desk service excellent. Summer guests should be aware of a few things. First, this hotel is about a 20-25 min walk to the city of Ajaccio. This wasn't a problem for my family because gritty Ajaccio wasn't a huge draw for us other than for a few dinners in town. We rented bikes (ride to town was 5-10 mins) or took the #1 bus to town (again 5 mins). Second, this is a family-friendly hotel so there were be lots of screaming kids around the pool. Again not a problem for my brood because they made lots of friends but the 50-something Parisian woman trying to relax in the 'adults-only' Jacuzzi had to contend with lots of splashing kids with floaties. So I wouldn't list this is a romantic hotel in late August. Third, there is a 'Courtepaille' restaurant on site but the food got a bit boring after two meals there (lots French fries and meat). But nearby Ajaccio had lots of different restaurants. My final verdict: the hotel represents great value for families and I plan to return.

"Nice aparthotel, onsite restaurant, bit far out of town"

4
05/07/2015

We stayed for 3 nights at the Amiraute on our tour or Corsica. We had a 1 bedroom apartment, which was spacious and comfortable, very clean, and had a nice view over the bay towards the town. It is a bit out of town - about 45 minutes walk into the centre of Ajaccio, which to be honest is no great shakes when you get there. We were expecting more, given that it's the capital, but that's hardly the hotel's fault. There were (simple) cooking facilities in the apartment, so we made a trip to Carrefour and cooked one night, and also ate in the restaurant downstairs. Just a burger meal, but it was nice enough with very pleasant staff. Plenty of free parking for the rental car, and we also spent a few hours down by the pool, you can get a beach towel from reception for €2. Overall, a good place to stay, and reasonable value too. Happy to recommend.

"Good hotel, bad adjacent restaurant"

4
28/05/2015

We enjoyed our stay at this hotel, with our grandson. We were allocated a room with an adjoining room for our grandson, which was much appreciated by him! The breakfast was good, you could individually cook your own boiled eggs, which was a treat! It was a pity the adjacent restaurant was shocking. Our meal was very poor.

"Perfect place as a base for South and South Western Corsica"

5
09/02/2015

We booked in here for a week with the family for Christmas 2014. Perfect place for a base to visit all over the area. We had an apartment for three, very well equipped, very clean, kitchen with everything we needed, lovely view over the Port of Ajaccio (we were on the top floor), private parking, handy to amenities as supermarket, bakers and easy access to the centre of town. Lovely sunsets as we faced the West. We had taken the ferry from Nice with the car. In reality on arrival 10 minute drive from the ferry. Staff were very welcoming, showed us everything, helpful with any of our queries. We had a lovely stay there. We thoroughly recommend it, and would go back again.

"Clean and Quiet"

4
06/01/2015

Stayed here on New Year's Eve. It was a great find as it was out of busy downtown Ajaccio (although Ajaccio was disappointingly quite dead on New Year's). There is a bus that runs (very inefficiently) from near the hotel to the downtown. Otherwise it is about a 45 minute walk. The hotel should really offer a shuttle to the downtown as not all parts of the walk are very nice or pedestrian-friendly. The rooms are great. Very new and clean and extremely quiet. The hotel staff was nice for the most part although one of the front desk was somewhat rude -- but I would not let that dissuade me from coming again. The price I paid (91 euro/night) is a tad high as many of the competitor hotels are in 70s range, but as it was New Year's this was all that was available. But I think the price is not too outrageous given the quality of the hotel. The breakfast, which is great, is 12 euro -- a bit expensive for a breakfast in Corsica given that you can just hit a nearby boulangerie for a fraction of the price. I suggest that the hotel charge a bit more for the room and include breakfast in the price which is pretty standard practice in Europe.

"Quality apartment, off-putting welcome reception inventory exercise."

4
23/09/2014

We had a 4 * 2 bed apartment with an L shaped balcony. Very roomy. Quality fittings. Sea and harbour views. Access to the decent pool and jacuzzi. Easy parking. Loved the apartment. We did not use...

"Good stay"

5
16/09/2014

An enjoyable overnight stay. Staff were very pleasant and helpful. Comfortably appointed bedrooms. Good pool to refresh yourself after a day's travel or sightseeing. Only downside was having to pay €2 for a pool towel. Other restaurants, overlooking the marina, within walking distance. Would happily stay there again

"Lovely hotel with pool close to airport"

4
04/07/2014

We had a great suite overlooking the bay and the pool. It's kind of in an industrial area but you can look the other way!! We stayed the week in Porto Vecchio, but came back to Ajaccio for an earlish flight. The restaurant in the hotel is cheap and cheerful. Definitely recommend it if you're not looking for a gourmet meal. The hotel is a good 20/30 min walk from town but there is a cheap ( 1 euro) bus and the reception staff will give you a timetable- the buses are comparatively infrequent and finsh abou 6. I would definitely recommend this hotel.