ROOM 1
ROOM 2
ROOM 3
Promotion code

Best Western Hotel Spirgarten, Zurich

3.5/5  - basé sur 184 notations.
Am Lindenplatz 5, 8048, Zurich, Switzerland - See map
Best Western Hotel Spirgarten - Best Western Hotel Spirgarten The Best Western Hotel Spirgarten is ideally located in the center of Zurich. Come and experience our hotel near the major tourist attractions. Best price guaranteed and exclusive deals.

The Best Western Hotel Spirgarten is located in Zurich-Altstetten on the west side of the city, a five minute walk from the Altstetten train station. The city center is a six minute train ride away. The modern conference facilities offer the perfect setting for seminars, congresses, celebrations, cocktails and weddings for up to 1000 people. The restaurant 8048 onsite offer the perfect place to relax. The hotel offers 49 non-smoking rooms furnished with stylish modern furniture, parquet flooring and are completely renovated. Guests of the Best Western Hotel Spirgarten have free access to the swimming pool in Altstetten, which is just a three minute walk away. A city tax of 2. 50 CHF per person, per day is to be paid directly at the hotel.

Best Western

Hotel Spirgarten

LABEL_ITINERAIRE

LABEL_DEPART:

LABEL_ARRIVEE:

Hotel advantages

  • Coffee shop / restaurant
    Coffee shop / restaurant
  • Cocktail lounge
    Cocktail lounge
  • 24-hour front desk
    24-hour front desk
  • Safe deposit box
    Safe deposit box
Show More Show Less

Guest reviews

In partnership with tripadvisor fr
based on 185 guest reviews
NOTE ISSUED
Excellent
45
Very Good
69
Average
43
Poor
12
Terrible
16
REFER TO NOTICE
Business Business
75
Couples Couples
53
Family Family
21
Friends getaway Friends getaway
12
Solo travel Solo travel
18
SUMMARY NOTES
Cleanliness
Location
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Value

"Comfortable stay with good breakfast"

5
07/11/2018

A four-day stay for business. Being only 7-8 minute walk to Altstetten station helped. Good breakfast options and courteous restaurant staff. I was in a twin bed room and loved the sunlight cutout right above the bed - at least one night was clear and I could see the stars! I realised that I missed my Fitbit charger in the room, three days after checkout, and hotel confirmed that they have it :-) Only one thing I felt would be a nuisance to those with heavy baggages - there are couple of steps before and after corridors, on the way from elevator to the room hence would need to lift the baggages though those.

"Nice"

5
06/11/2018

Very good, clean, small but nice rooms. Staff very helpful, kind. Good breakfast,even lactose free Milk for coffe. Near tram,train station. A few food ang cloth store near by. Many good restaurants near by.

"Nice hotel but far from city center"

4
19/09/2018

The stay was pleasant. The staff was also good and helpful. Restaurant near the hotel was a plus point. The clock tower in front of the hotel was a bit annoying as its loud bell disturbs in night sleep. There is not enough space to keep luggage. The lobby area on 2nd floor was good and appealing. The hotel is far from city center and have to change trains from Zurich main station to reach the hotel. Overall stay was good.

Spirgarten, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Hotel Spirgarten, responded to this review
Dear Prateekaggl Thank you for your nice and kind Feedback regarding your stay at our hotel. Your positive comments, especially to our staff are very appreciated and a big Motivation for the entire Team to give their best every single day. Yes, it's right our queensize (cosy) rooms are the smallest, but cheapest rooms, for up to 2 People. We are sorry for the church bells, but unfortunately until now we only could arrange a stop from midnight to 6am. We hope you come back and see us again soon. Best regards Michaela Hauser, Guest Experience Manager

"My stay here from 9th to 12th August 2018"

4
01/09/2018

Nice hotel & very good cleanliness. Was received & handled efficiently by reception. The entrance to this hotel is not on the main road and is in a sort of arcade behind the main road. As is usual in Switzerland there is no air conditioning in the rooms. Good security as you have to open the respective floor's door with your room key card. One thing I would like to point out. There are too many lights in the walkway or corridor to the rooms. This causes additional heat & especially when there is no air conditioning in the rooms, this adds heat, especially during summers. Would suggest to either reduce the number of lights or use LED lights to reduce the quantum of heat. Nice restaurant on the ground floor with a good breakfast spread. This restaurant opens out into a sort of square, where there is a weekly sale of farm produce from local people. This is nice. All in all a good hotel. Would not mind staying here again.

Spirgarten, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Hotel Spirgarten, responded to this review
Dear HariJayanthi Thank you very much for your kind Feedback and your very nice comments to our staff and Hotel! Yes, it's right because of the swiss law to protect the Environment, but also because our hotel is a listed building we are unfortunately not allowed to have air condition, but we provide fans during the hot season. Thanks also for the note regarding the lights in the corridors. We already use led and energy-saving bulbs instead of normal bulbs to reduce the heat. Anyway, in the corridor of our newly built rooms, this is now additional handled and tested with light sensors. With such changes, however, the safety of our guests must be guaranteed at all times. We hope you will come back and see us again soon. Best regards from Zurich Michaela Hauser, Guest Experience Manager

"Nice hotel and location but beware of the bell tower!!"

4
18/07/2018

This hotel is about 12 minutes walk on flat ground from a train station which is about 10 minutes from the main Zurich station. The hotel is in an arcade in a small shopping centre with a plaza outside and a number of general shops and restaurants, cafes, etc in the vicinity. The room was clean and comfortable - modern in fact, but very small (when the bathroom door opens into the room, it hits the bed!) especially when two suitcases have to fit in it too, but the biggest drawback was the loud bell in the nearby clock tower which rings at odd times but very frequently. These two features spoiled a good hotel run by friendly and helpful staff. Meals (with charge-back to your room) are available in the restaurant accessed from the hotel lobby. There is a good selection of very nice food there. Our breakfast waiter was excellent and very professional. We were treated like honoured guests and when we asked if bacon & eggs were available, it was cooked for us rather than being included with other foods on the buffet. Don't be shocked that dogs are allowed inside this restaurant - it's a European custom to see dogs of all types and sizes in cafes and restaurants! Stephanie at the hotel front desk staff had a great sense of humour and when I asked for directions she became more of a personal travel agent than a Receptionist. It was good to have an English-speaking professional with a terrific sense of humour. I would stay here again in a bigger room but for that clock tower bell which unfortunately is the deal-breaker! (Hotel prices have been rated as "Mid range" below but remember that as Switzerland is extremely expensive, this rating does not reflect the comparison with prices in other countries).

Spirgarten, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Hotel Spirgarten, responded to this review
Dear Owen B Thank you for your kind and detailed feedback regarding your stay at our hotel. Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. Your positive comments about our staff, especially our breakfast waiter and Stephanie from the front desk were much appreciated and are a big motivation for our entire team, THANK you very much! You are right, that bacon and egg dishes are included in the breakfast price and for freshness and quality reasons, we decided to let them prepare directly to the preferences of each guest from our breakfast chef, instead of offering them on the buffet. We are very pleased and happy to read that you appreciate this service. We hope you will come back and see us again soon and once again thank you for your Feedback. Best regards from Zurich Michaela Hauser, Guest Experience Manager

"Convenient and Affordable"

4
10/07/2018

It is just 5min walk from the Altstetten train station, where you can get to pretty much anywhere at a reasonable price. Staff were very helpful and polite. My room was clean an comfy. It can accommodate well a couple with no kids. No air conditioning - it wasn't that bad though - the fan they offered sufficed. Plenty of restaurants around, including the hotel's "Restaurant 8048", which offers good quality options.

Spirgarten, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Hotel Spirgarten, responded to this review
Dear Giovanni_Sheffield THANK YOU for your kind and positive Feedback regarding your stay at our Hotel. Your positive comments about our staff and hotel are a big motivation for our entire team, thank you very much! We hope you will come back and see us again soon. Best regards from Zurich Michaela Hauser, Guest Experience Manager

"Mixed feelings"

3
04/05/2018

I arrived around midnight on foot from the railway station and found it hard to find the entrance which is not near the illuminated sign, and is an unassuming entrance in an arcade set back from the street. I was received efficiently, and went to my room which was a bit small. The television is on a protruding bracket on the wall just by the bathroom door, and on my way out of the bathroom it was not visible and I head my head on it, sinking to the floor more in shock than pain but not injured. The bed was quite comfortable, and the room quiet until 7am when the nearby church bell tower start a long series of chimes. Fortunately that was precisely the time I needed to wake up. I felt less ill-tempered when I went down to breakfast, which was good. I chose the hotel because (a) it was walking distance from the railway station (about 10 minutes) and (b) I have a Best Western loyalty card. I have to say that most Best Western rooms are nicer than this one. I would not want to put you off staying here but do mind your head!

"B W Spirgarten Hotel"

5
04/04/2018

Excellent reception on arrival. Exceptional helpfulness from staff. Clean, bright, and welcoming. Restaurant(s) close by. Beds are comfortable. Rooms with complementary water. Transport to city and airport close by and very good.

Spirgarten, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Hotel Spirgarten, responded to this review
Dear Pat THANK YOU for your very kind and positive Feedback! Your positive comments are a big motivation for our entire team, thank you very much! We hope you will come back and see us again soon. Best regards from Zuerich Michaela Hauser, Guest Experience Manager

"Nice Hotel"

4
18/01/2018

Good hotel in Zurich. Location is central. Public transport, food, restaurant and bars are nearby. The room size is small but it is good stay if nearby amenities are accounted for. The hotel restaurant offers average european breakfast.

"Good hotel, small rooms, OK prices for Zurich"

3
04/12/2017

I stayed there during the time it was being refurbished, so some of the facilities were a bit affected. It still wasn't too loud. The rooms and bed are comfortable but small, but that's expected at this price level in a city like Zürich. The breakfast was the highlight, varied buffet plus eggs served as desired. Delicious! The bar was friendly in the evening, with a neighbourhood feel. Seemed like the locals frequent it too. Good tram connections into town, train station in walking distance, with trains to the main station, airport and more.

Spirgarten, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Hotel Spirgarten, responded to this review
Dear Guest Thank you for your kind feedback regarding your recent stay at our hotel. Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come back and see us again soon and wish you a good start into a great and healthy year 2018. Best regards Michaela Hauser, Guest Experience Manager

"Currently being refurbished"

3
14/10/2017

Stayed overnight on a visit to Zurich. Accommodation adequate. Bed was soft but comfortable. No air conditioning but that is inapparently typical in Zurich. Several trams from central station will take you to Paradenplatz where you change to number 2 tram to Lindenplatz stop that is right outside hotel. Continental breakfast with option of scrambled egg or omelette had enough variety for most. We ate in restaurant in the evening. Menu limited but food was good. Enjoyed the flamm. If you don't want to pay for breakfast Co-op is right outside hotel and there is coffee/tea making facilities in room as well as free bottles of water. Church clock chimes until late in the evening and starts again at 6am but didn't really spoil our sleep. Our European adaptors didn't fit sockets but hotel provided a diamond shaped adaptor for us.

Spirgarten, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Hotel Spirgarten, responded to this review
Dear Sheona Thank you for kind feedback regarding your recent stay at our hotel. Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. Unfortunately we are not allowed to have air condition regarding to the law to protect the environment. I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience. Sincerely, Michaela Hauser, Guest Relations Manager

"Average Hotel, Could Be So Much Better Than Average If Hotel Management Take Action"

3
06/09/2017

Good points: Location is convenient for public transport, good choice of bars and restaurants near by, room well furnished, good shower, Comfy bed, kettle with tea and coffee in room, Receptionist staff very friendly & helpful, good wifi. Bad Points: Many TV channels not working (hotel staff told me is an ongoing problem, still not fixed), room was hot - no aircon - only noisy pedestal fan, nearby church bell was very loud making it impossible to get a good nights sleep.

Spirgarten, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Hotel Spirgarten, responded to this review
Dear guest Thank you for your detailed feedback regarding your stay at our property. We were happy about your kind friendly words towards our Front Office staff and hotel rooms. We value your feedback and by telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We are aware of the air con issue but unfortunately it is not only in our hands, due to some law restrictions. Meanwhile we were as well able to fix the problem with the TV channels. Looking forward to welcome you again soon and once again thank you for your feedback. Kind regards Michaela Hauser, Guest Experience Manager

"Business trip"

2
21/07/2017

A reasonable hotel at a convenient location. I had a single room overlooking the local market, but also facing south and as the weather was hot and the rooms have no air conditioning it was sweltering hot inside. They provided a ventilator, but that only circulates air and does not reduce the temperature. The breakfast is reasonable.

Spirgarten, General Manager at Best Western Hotel Spirgarten, responded to this review
Dear Hans110 Thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our property. On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we offer a better experience for guests in the future. Unfortunately we are not allowed to have air condition regarding to the law to protect the environment. I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience. Sincerely, Christophe Rouiller

"very nice"

5
08/07/2017

From the Airport we were advised to catch the train to Spirgarten,the hotel is located 8 minutes from the local train station, enter from the front the square you will see the best western theatre you enter there, the hotel staff were very friendly and helpful they upgraded us to the top floor and we were very happy with the room. amenities fridge, tea and coffee making facilities and a sofa. Most Swiss hotels do not have air conditioning but the hotel supplied a fan and advised us to open the windows which helped to cool the room. there are a lot of places to eat and drink outside the hotel and the local trams frequently to get into Zurich a must do the old town especially lovely

Spirgarten, General Manager at Best Western Hotel Spirgarten, responded to this review
Dear Derick Thank you for your very positive feedback. Your positive comments are a big motivation for our entire team, thank you very much ! We hope you will come back and see us again soon. Sincerely, Christophe Rouiller

"Nice room, very cool, felt like a mountain room"

4
28/05/2017

We stayed here on our Europe trip. The bed was comfortable, they had a remote control to open and close the window... how cool! Great staff, they had apples at the front counter that we kept eating. It's very expensive in Switzerland, so take all the "free" you can get. The location was good, it has a grocery store and some restaurants. I would recommend this room, or go back.

Spirgarten, General Manager at Best Western Hotel Spirgarten, responded to this review
Dear Mr Mark K Thank you for your positive feedback regarding your recent stay at our property. Your positive comments are a big motivation for our entire team, thank you very much ! We hope you will come back and see us again soon. Yours sincerely Christophe Rouiller

"Church bells ringing in the night"

3
05/04/2017

Nice hotel, small, but clean rooms. Good location for my trip, good connection with S-Bahn to the city center. Nice breakfast, the choice in the restaurant for dinner is rather small. One horrible characteristic is, that there is a church near the hotel and its bell was ringing every hour till 1.00 AM and started to ring again at about 7.00 AM. No sleep at all.

Spirgarten, General Manager at Best Western Hotel Spirgarten, responded to this review
Dear Nadejda S Thank you for your kind feedback regarding your recent stay at our property. We would like to apologize for the disturbed night, because of the church bell. We know about this problem and are still trying to solve that properly, unfortunately we only could negotiate a bell ring stop between 11pm and 7am. I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience. Yours sincerely Christophe Rouiller

"Bad Atmosphere!"

2
09/03/2017

I was here yesterday and it wasn't a good place to stay at all. The hallway smelled like your are in a hospital and the bathroom was really small ! I felt uncomfortable and I gave two rates only for sleeping there !

Spirgarten, General Manager at Best Western Hotel Spirgarten, responded to this review
Dear Mr. Lavafan Thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our property. On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we offer a better experience for guests in the future. I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience. Sincerely, Christophe Rouiller

"Don't stay here if you plan on sleeping "

1
01/02/2017

Tiny room. Very basic. I have never been so a hotel so noisy - staying on a Wednesday and being away on business this was not great. On arriving at my room I found a note advising there was a concert being held. Would have been nice to warn me before arrival or at check in. But having paid at check in (should have been a warning sign) I could hardly now move hotels. Although the expense of two hotels may have been worth it. Throughout the evening something happening outside made it sound on several occasions someone was coming through the door. I could hear someone else walking (a marathon perhaps) of circles around the room in high heels and another neighbour rearranging the furniture. Somehow I eventually slept through all this to be woke at 12:30 when the bar / restaurant below closed and so everyone piled out cheering and shouting for about 20 minutes. I called reception to find out what time they expected the street party to end and they hung up. I am writing as I'm unable to get back to sleep so I may have more night surprises yet to come. Never again!

Spirgarten, General Manager at Best Western Hotel Spirgarten, responded to this review
Dear Dawn1987 On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for the troubles and noise during your stay. Yes, we had a concert in our house who was supposed to end about 10pm and then load in. It's not our standard not to inform our guests on check in, we're sorry we missed that on your check in. I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience. If I can provide any assistance, please don't hesitate to contact me directly. Sincerely, Christophe Rouiller

"Nice bed and room "

4
01/01/2017

This was a good sized room and really comfortable. There was a function the night we stayed which was very loud but this was New Year's Eve so understandable. Tramline 2 stops right outside the hotel and is about a 25 minute journey to the centre of the city. The hotel can sell you tram passes. Really nice hotel staff who were most helpful.

Spirgarten, General Manager at Best Western Hotel Spirgarten, responded to this review
Dear Guest, Thank you for beeing our guest and completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our property. We would like to apologize for the loud noise on New Year's Eve. Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come back and see us again soon. Thank you again for taking the time to complete the survey. Yours sincerely, Christophe Rouiller

"Amazing!!"

4
27/11/2016

The experience was fabulous. This hotel has an excellent location. Right in front of it there is a Tram station which takes you to downtown. It seems you are in a sightsee bus. The subway station is either close, 5 minutes walking and from there you can go anywhere. The staff is pretty nice, polite and always ready to support with any request. The room is a bit closer however very clean, comfortable and equipped with heater. The only annoying thing is a church behind the hotel whose bell rings a bit loud every 15 minutes :( So, I definitely recommend the Hotel. You'll find a good cost benefit rate.

Spirgarten, Manager at BEST WESTERN Hotel Spirgarten, responded to this review
Dear Igor Thank you for your very positive feedback regarding your recent stay at our property. Your positive comments are a big motivation for our entire team, thank you very much ! We hope you will come back and see us again soon and send our best wishes to Brazil. Yours sincerely, Christophe Rouiller, General Manager

"Nice stay.."

4
04/11/2016

The hotel was nice, comfortable and clean. Exactly what you need after a long travel. It is easily accessible from the metro station and the super market. We rented bicycles from near the metro station to visit the city centre.

"What an Experience"

5
04/11/2016

Visiting the city on business I have always stayed at BW in any country. Wasn't sure about this hotel but Wow what a fantastic place, the room experience was incredible and the food was even better. It is certainly something I will not forget and I will be returning

"Switzerland in 10 days"

4
05/09/2016

My wife's "bucket list" trip has always been to visit Switzerland. Every since she saw "Heidi" as a child, she has yearned to see the Alps. In August we did. We stayed a at the Hotel Spirgarten in Zurich and rented a car so we could get up close and personal with the beauty of the land. The Spirgarten is a modern looking site in the midst of a city that is hundreds of years old. It is affiliated with Best Western. We were booked in a "cozy" room which is a bit smaller than some, but as we were using the hotel as a base of operations to sleep in and spending our time out in the countryside it was good. The rooms were clean and well-maintained. The hotel staff were wonderful and helped us learn to use the public transportation and answered any questions we had graciously.

"Women discriminated in the restaurant"

1
29/08/2016

When you order a hamburger in the restaurant there is one "ladies" version and one "gents" version - no joke they have one hamburger for women and one for men. The difference is the amount of meat you get - you get much more meat for just a few franks more with the "gents" version. If you order the male version as a women all hell breaks loose: the restaurant staff will literally argue with you for ages that you cannot possibly eat that much food as a woman. Ever thought that this frail dame might be on the Atkins diet? It doesn't matter - a CHF 35 burger shouldn't come with a side order of chauvinist BS. Simply appalling. @Spirgarten - at least have the decency of calling the portions "big" vs. "small" instead of making assumptions on peoples eating habits based on what they have between their legs.

"Comfortable Stay an good location"

3
19/08/2016

We stayed here for 4 days, stay was very comfortable. Location of the hotel is also very good (around 5 minutes walk from Altestten Station, which is very well connected with Zurich HB station ). Coop a grocery strore is just outside hotel (which provides food and other stuff at relatively reasonable prices). I must confess, dat Zurich is one of the most expensive destination , i have ever visited.

"Good Property at Convenient Place"

3
04/08/2016

The location of hotel is convenient as one can come by train from Airport.The bus stop is just outside Railway Station and it takes you to hotel.There are Super Markets in Vicinity.Rooms are compact but have all necessary infrastructure in place.You can enjoy complimentary hot cofee in restaurent and get Best Western Reward Points

"an old gal well kept with great staff and location"

5
28/07/2016

Great for business travellers or non frivolous people. Good location very polite and helpful staff. They don't believe in aircons but had fan in room. The building is not new but the rooms are modern, a bit small and really clean. The bed and mattress was great.

"Great Stay"

4
22/07/2016

Besides the sound from the clock tower that chimed every 30 minutes or so, I had a great stay here. I was quite surprised that the hotel was next to a wide variety of amazing restaurants. I definitely enjoyed the scenery and I also had a wonderful time in our room 358. I would describe the room, somewhat unique. The room was unexpectedly small, but had all the requirements a hotel needed. For instance, the room contained double beds, a clean bathroom, and a work space. I'm not going to complain about the air conditioning, because there was there was plenty of ventilation to keep me cool in the humid weather. I would not recommend staying in the outside the hotel to long in the afternoon, because the air is completely polluted with tobacco from those many smokers. In fact, I could smell some tobacco right outside my room right now. Besides my complaints, I'm going to have to give this hotel a solid 4 stars.

"Good little find"

4
14/06/2016

Stayed here for three nights to explore Zurich and surrounds. Had room 224 which was right above the square and had a good outlook. The room was a good size and the bed was extremely comfortable. Friends were in room 269 which was right next to a clock tower that chimed every half hour and hour until late at night so I would recommend a request for a lower number room on each floor. The room had a safe for valuables, good speed wifi and a pretty good buffet breakfast solution. The only minor downside was no fridge and the size of the shower. It's not often that one gets claustrophobic in a shower but this would be the place for it. Funnily enough the bathroom is still an okay size. There is a train station (Altstetten) an easy 8 minute walk from the motel which gets you into Zurich central in about 10 minutes (second stop). You can also catch the train to the airport from the train station from here which cost 6.60CHF and took about 20 minutes. There are a large range of restaurants in the area, a small shop next door and it's a nice suburb to walk around in. Would definitely stay here again.

"Overnight stay"

4
11/04/2016

As others have said - there is a tram right outside so very easy to get to. Both the night and morning staff we spoke to were excellent (the morning receptionist was a little happy crazy but I liked that - character!!!!). There are plenty of places to get food around the area so no issue with no breakfast. I would recommend.

"Great hotel, bad timing"

4
31/01/2016

Good hotel in great location. Staff was extremely friendly and helpful. We didn't have the right converter and they were able to provide us one for the night we stayed. The room was small but comfortable. The tram was right outside the building which made transportation easy. The only downside to this stay was that there was some sort of event going on in the hotel. The music was loud and it kept us up until about midnight. They left a note on our bed to let us know about the event but we weren't notified about it while booking. After the event, we were woken up again around 0130 due to the band packing up loudly right under our window. Other than the loud event, this hotel was a great stay.

Spirgarten, Geschäftsführer at BEST WESTERN Hotel Spirgarten, responded to this review
Dear Sarah G We are happy to hear, that in general you enjoyed your stay with us and I would like to thank you in the name of the entire team for your positive comments. It is true that on some particular days we do have functions which end late in the night and unfortunately we are not able to eliminate the noise completely. We are very thankful for your understanding and would like to apologise for the inconvenience caused. However we are looking forward to wellcome you again soon. Thank you again for your feedback and best regards from Zurich. Christophe Rouiller - Host

"Short stay"

3
22/12/2015

My friend and I have been staying here for the last two nights, and when we first pulled up we didn't know what to expect. Travel agent told us it was more hostel like then hotel. We caught a taxi from central big mistake! It was almost 50CHF, do yourself a favour buy a 24hour ticket (stamp on at the blue machine on the tram platform) catch tram 3 towards Albisrieden, get off at Stauffacher then catch tram 2 towards Farbhof and your stop is Lindenplatz. This is really simple and saves you a lot of money! Okay to the hotel itself, we walked in expecting it to be like hostel from what we were told, walked in to a pleasant surprise.the lady who is on the afternoon/night recpetion is amazing. She is extremely helpful and funny, she told us all about the trams and trains and where to go in Zurich itself. You can also buy the tram/train tickets from recpetion. The room was a lot better then what we were expecting, however you are on a platz and the Switz seem to have a thing for bell/clock towers, so if you are a light sleeper and wake up at sounds this is probably not the place for you. The walls as well, were very thin. We could hear next doors tv and conversation (I can tell you they weren't yelling), so obviously they could also hear us talking. The bathroom was amazing. That is the only way I can describe it. I could move the shower head all the way down to my height and my friend could move it up higher to suit them. The towel rack is heated, they have a hairdryer and under the sink is complimentary items. There was also a tv in our room, desk, multiple sockets to charge, storage area, mirror and bedside lights that you could adjust. Also being on a platz there is a supermarket, chemist and other shops if you do want anything. I probably wouldn't recommend more then a couple of nights as the bell tower did drive me a little insane as I am a relatively light sleeper, but the hotel definitely had its positives.

"Transport at the door"

4
19/12/2015

This was a nice budget hotel which had been recently renovated. The staff were friendly and helpful. By far the best aspect of this hotel for us was the tram right outside the door. Breakfast was not included in the price , and there was no hot breakfast on offer but it was adequate for the 15 Francs charged. The only negatives were a smallish shower which resulted in bumped head or accidently bumping the taps, and the uncarpeted floor which seemed to get quite gritty. Overall though a nice little hotel.

"Good hotel"

4
15/12/2015

Very good place to stay. Budget friendly. Direct train from Zurich Airport to nearby railway station. Very nice staff. Good food. Just next to tram stop. Coop and other departmental stores are a walk away. Many restaurants nearby.

"Great hotel!"

5
11/12/2015

Me and my partner are currently.on a europe trip and this is the 4th hotel we have stayed in so far and probably one of the best. The hotel room was really nice and had everything we needed. We were very happy with the fact that you could play movies off of an external hard drive through the TV, it's the only hotel so far that we have been able to do this in. The staff were very kind, delightful and helpful. They helped us out with tram tickets each day and any other questions we had. The hotel is in a good location it's right near several grocery stores (which was helpful for us as we didn't have any breakfast included). There is a tram stop right out the front as well which gets you to the city within 20 minutes. Thank you very much!

"Welcoming and friendly, very near Altstetten station"

4
02/12/2015

I was working in Schlieren and this hotel was recommended for me. I found it very convenient and comfortable with a good breakfast but alternatively there is a COOP next door as well as many other restaurants including an excellent Japanese just a few mins walk away (see my other reviews) the train station is <5 mins walk and there is a tram and bus stop just out the front so I was able to make all my travel by public transport

"Very Good Hotel"

5
29/11/2015

Excellent Business class Hotel. Has all the facilities that are required during your business stay. The location is really good with Migros, Denner and Coop right next to the hotel. This is the most center location for going to office. Tram / Bus stop right in front of the hotel. Over all excellent stay

"Not so good"

2
29/10/2015

I didnt like the hotel very much. The staff was rude. There was no facilities provided in the hotel (no TV, no AC, no water). It was clean though but the "feel like home" factor was missing. I wouldnt stay in this one again

Spirgarten, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Hotel Spirgarten, responded to this review
Dear LoneTraveller, Thank you for feedback regarding your recent stay at our property. On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we offer a better experience for guests in the future. I am suprised to hear that our staff were rude, since we receive in general many compliments because of our friendly staff. However I am sorry for that. But another Thing I wonder, is the room you slept in, since all our rooms are equipped with a satelit TV and all our guest receive a bottle of free water upon arrival. If you like you can let me know the room number under [email protected] I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience. Once again thank you for your Feedback and best regards from Zurich. Yours sincerely, Christophe Rouiller, General Manager, BEST WESTERN Hotel Spirgarten, CH-8048 Zurich

"Mixed feeling"

3
29/10/2015

Small rooms, extremely small bathroom, the bed was way too soft. I did white socks on in the evening and was shocked when taking them off. The downside was not white any more although gray! Looks like I have cleaned the laminate with my socks -(. The restaurant is excellent. Only continental breakfast available. You need to ask to get a second cup of coffee. Would be good to install a coffee machine so the guests could serve themselves. I stayed for 2 nights, I will certainly take another hotel next time.

Spirgarten, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Hotel Spirgarten, responded to this review
Dear Bruno D, Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay at our property. On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we offer a better experience for guests in the future. I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience. If I can provide any assistance, please don't hesitate to contact me directly at [email protected] Yours sincerely, Christophe Rouiller, BEST WESTERN Hotel Spirgarten, CH-8048 Zurich

"Does the job"

3
29/10/2015

We stayed in room 264 which was small small small. We booked through our travel agent and got a good deal at € 263 for 2 nights with breakfast. But the room was small. Also unlike all other hotels in Switzerland we did not get a complementary travel pass for buses or trams. We had a Swizz pass and utilised that to get around. The receptionists were polite and the room was clean. Positive - 1. Neat clean room. 2. Polite & helpful staff. 3. Free WiFi in rooms. 4. Located not too far from the city center. 5. Tram station right next to hotel. 6. 10 min walk from train station. Negative - 1. Small room ( that we stayed in ) 2. Breakfast was unimpressive, we had better breakfast almost everywhere else in Switzerland. 3. There is a church nearby has a ringing bell that sounds every 15 mins, as the room was small we had to keep the window partly open for ventillation and so could not escape the sound. 4. No hot pot or coffee/tea sachets provided. ( hot pot provided on request ) 5. No travel card for free bus or train travel provided. 6. The room had minimal equipment, ie the wardrobe has no door, barely enough space to keep our luggage. 7. Bathroom was small too and u cant avoid getting water all over the bathroom floor even with the shower cubical door shut.

Spirgarten, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Hotel Spirgarten, responded to this review
Dear Vishwanathkarve, Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay at our property. On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we offer a better experience for guests in the future. I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience. If I can provide any assistance, please don't hesitate to contact me directly at [email protected] Yours sincerely, Christophe Rouiller, BEST WESTERN Hotel Spirgarten, CH-8048 Zurich

"Short stay in Zurich"

4
27/10/2015

Very firiendly staff. Hotel was helpful also with the small issues, such adapter for charge the phone. Good public transport conection. Be aware of market in front of the hotel at Saturday. Long sleeping is not possible then, but go to the market stalls, its fun.

Spirgarten, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Hotel Spirgarten, responded to this review
Dear Axel, Thank you for your Feedback regarding your recent stay at our property. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Your compliments are a big motivation for our entire team, thank you very much. We are looking forward to welcome you again soon and send best regards from Zurich. Christophe Rouiller, General Manager, BEST WESTERN Hotel Spirgarten, CH-8048 Zurich

"Beautiful hotel at the heart of city.Just adjacent to Tram Station"

5
24/10/2015

You can visit this place if planning to Zurich city or any nearby tour.For ex Mt Titlis.This hotel reception is spacious.Wi-Fi free based on code per devices.For us we have to wait for long time at reception as we were early but they managed soon.

Spirgarten, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Hotel Spirgarten, responded to this review
Dear Abhishek, for your positive feedback regarding your recent stay at our property I would like to thank you. Your positive comments are a big motivation for our entire team, thank you once again very much ! We hope you will come back and see us again soon and send many regards from Zurich. Yours sincerely, Christophe Rouiller, General Manager, BEST WESTERN Hotel Spirgarten, CH-8048 Zurich

"OK but..."

3
13/09/2015

This is a nice and well equipped hotel but... the shower stink, the bed was way too soft, some of the wood decorations inside the room were damaged. So it probably deserve a better than "average" rating, but certainly not a "very good" one

Spirgarten, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Hotel Spirgarten, responded to this review
Dear Ajtyer We would like to thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay at our property. On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we offer a better experience for guests in the future. I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience. Meanwhile sending best regards from Zurich, Yours sincerely, Christophe Rouiller, General Manager, BEST WESTERN Hotel Spirgarten, CH-8048 Zurich

"Well connected but small rooms"

2
09/09/2015

I stayed with this hotel for a week. Customer service is excellent and so is the spread for breakfast. However the rooms are very very small. I stayed in a single room at 3rd floor which has minimum space for you keep your luggage and move around. Bathroom is good. This hotel is well connected by bus, tram and taxi. There are mall and supermarket in walking distance as well as banks and restaurants. Good for a business trip but room not big for a family. At least the one where I stayed as it was a single room. I I'll give 5 star on customer service and hospitality.

Spirgarten, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Hotel Spirgarten, responded to this review
Dear Paikshit, We would like to thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay at our property. We are glad to hear that in general you enjoyed your stay with us. In regard of the entire Team I would like to thank you for your very positive comments concerning customer service and hospitality. We are looking Forward to wellcome you again in the future and send you best regards from Zurich. Christophe Rouiller, General Manager, BEST WESTERN Hotel Spirgarten, CH-8048 Zurich

"Worst Hotel I have ever been to"

1
31/08/2015

Hotel not worth your money!!! Definately expensive for what it is. We stayed there one night and it was our biggest nightmare not to mention we barely got any sleep that night as there were Indian wedding till 4 am in the morning with loud music and bum bum that without earplugs it was impossible even to fall asleep. Not to mention the church which is just next to the hotel and which starts to ring before 8 AM and rings every 15 min! I am not kidding every 15 min. So you can be sure that before 8 AM you will be up. And for such service we paid 189 CHF for one night with parking and breakfast. Breakfast choice also is really poorly and I had even old bircher but I guess for 15CHF per breakfast you can not expect anything better. However, we pay for hotel to be able to get good night rest and not stay there just to stay there for fun. So avoid this place if you can.

"Very good choice for 1 night"

5
26/08/2015

I had only one night in Zurich. This hotel was the most able-to-get based on price. The area is beautiful, lots of buses, including to the railway station. Breakfast was simple, but completely. Rooms are small, bed is very compact, shower is also very small.

Spirgarten, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Hotel Spirgarten, responded to this review
Dear Ekaterina Thank you for your positive feedback regarding your recent stay at our property. Your positive comments are a big motivation for our entire team, thank you very much ! We hope you will come back and see us again soon and wish you a great and sunny Indian summer. Best regards from Zurich. Yours sincerely Christophe Rouiller, General Manager, BEST WESTERN Hotel Spirgarten, CH-8048 Zurich

"Comfortable stay"

5
23/08/2015

Beautiful place to stay and staffs were fantastic. Food was amazing. Varieties of drinks at bar. Supermarket and pharmacy next to hotel. 1 minute walk to bus stop, 30 sec walk to tram stop.lot of restaurants around and take a bus to go to station takes 2 minutes.

Spirgarten, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Hotel Spirgarten, responded to this review
Dear Bhumit P We would like to thank you for your positive feedback regarding your recent stay at our property. Your positive comments are a big motivation for our entire team, thank you very much ! We hope you will come back and see us again soon and send you best regards from Zurich. Christophe Rouiller, General Manager, BEST WESTERN Hotel Spirgarten, CH-8048 Zurich