ROOM 1
ROOM 2
ROOM 3
Promotion code

Regent Contades, BW Premier Collection Hotel, Strasbourg

4.0/5  - basé sur 558 notations.
8 Avenue de la Liberte, 67000, Strasbourg, France - See map

Prestige, history, elegance, cozy charm, located in the heart of Strasbourg, only a few steps away from the Cathedral, and close to the European Institutions, this is a magical place where time seems to have stood still. The Regent Contades, BW Premier Collection® is a magnificent 19th century mansion with a stunning facade. Located on the banks of the River Ill, our establishment is the ideal starting point for an on-foot discovery of Strasbourg, all its places of interest, and its gastronomic delights.

BW Premier Collection

Regent Contades, Hotel

LABEL_ITINERAIRE

LABEL_DEPART:

LABEL_ARRIVEE:

Hotel advantages

  • 24-hour front desk
    24-hour front desk

Guest reviews

In partnership with tripadvisor fr
Certificate of Excellence 2018
based on 550 guest reviews
NOTE ISSUED
Excellent
204
Very Good
260
Average
62
Poor
15
Terrible
9
REFER TO NOTICE
Business Business
61
Couples Couples
283
Family Family
98
Friends getaway Friends getaway
44
Solo travel Solo travel
17
SUMMARY NOTES
Cleanliness
Location
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Value

"Wonderful stay in a gorgeous city"

5
25/06/2018

Loved this hotel. Both rooms were ready when we arrived, and the service was exceptional. Perfect location to walk around Strasbourg, great staff and pretty rooms. Across the street from the Cathedral and the river, but feels very residential and quiet.

"Great Stay Just off the Ill River"

5
21/06/2018

The Regents Contades Hotel is first rate, offering luxurious clean, comfortable accommodations at a very reasonable price. Our room was large, with a sitting area, a big screen TV, A/C, and large bath with shower and even toiletries (shampoo, body wash, etc.) in the event you forgot to bring your own. Breakfast, consisiting of scrambled and soft boiled eggs, ham, cold cuts, cereals, fruits and other early meal staples, was served in a beautifully decorated dining hall. The service was great and everyone was very helpful, answering our questions about how to get to certain attractions, even helping us with our luggage as we left to catch our taxi (which they called). The hotel has a very nice sitting area and a very cozy bar where we watched a World Cup match. We heartily recommend the Regent Contades for its location as well, just off the Ill River and about a twenty minute walk to the main square and the Notre Dame Cathedral, whose spires tower above the city. We'll stay there again upon a return to the city.

"Once a Noble House"

4
06/06/2018

Once a fancy house of nobles, is now a hotel on the north side of town that is located in a quiet neighborhood not too far from the attractions. It is located right on the river that it makes it easy to always find. Unlike many tourists we like to split our time between two hotels in the same city to experience two neighborhoods. Maybe this travel hint will serve other tourist well in the future.

"Great location and breakfast "

4
13/05/2018

Strasbourg was our favorite city during our 3 countries trip to Europe this Spring. The Regent Contades is locates right in the edge of Strasbourg's old town. A 10 min walk will take you to the cathedral and it's surroundings, with lots of shops and restaurants. This is an older classic European hotel, with tiny AKA cosy rooms with queen beds. The hotel offers a surprisingly good breakfast buffet that was included in our rate. We parked on a side street for the night and it was free from 7pm until 9am. The hotel's parking cost 30 Euros per night with limited availability.

"Perfect base for a visit to Strasbourg and Alsace. Elegant."

5
15/04/2018

I love this hotel. It's the best place we've stayed on our world tour. Perfectly located along the river and an easy walk to trams and the cathedral. Our Deluxe room was lovely. Plenty of space, a comfy sofa and chair. Huge windows opening to a lovely view of the river, trees and church. Seperate toilet and bathroom was handy. Elegant tap ware. Big comfortable bed with the most wonderful sheets and pillows. No traffic noise. We stayed four nights and loved it.

"Great place reasonably priced "

4
14/04/2018

We had a large room which had a seperate bedroom and a lounge room with a pull out sofa. A great big bathroom with a spa. Our room was fantastic. Highly reccomend if staying in the area as it was well priced.

"Excellent Service"

4
06/04/2018

This is an excellent very small (28 rooms) hotel in a central location. The staff is wonderful and their English is excellent. They really go out of their way to make sure you are comfortable and happy. The rooms are nice, clean and well kept. The breakfast in the morning is nice and has healthy options. My only gripe. Even though there is room service, I really wish there was a full service restaurant. Also, I would have liked a gym.

"Good rooms bad smell in lobby"

4
01/04/2018

The hotel is nice a bit off the way of the historical town . About 10/15 min walk. Nor many restaurants in the area clse to hotel. You need yo walk into town .Rooms are comfortable and classic. Good beds. Try not to get a room on first floor , breakfast is there and a bit noisy. The only bad thing is that there was a disgusting smell of smoke at the lobby when one of the lobby staff was there .Please staff dont smoke inside the hotel! ! It was disgusting!!!

"excellent service"

5
26/02/2018

The staff could not have been more helpful and my wife and I had a lovely 3 nights here. The standard of the room was very good if a little small. Cleanliness and standard of decor throughout could not be faulted. The breakfast was excellent with a wide choice of all you could want. Definitely recommend

"Christmas Market trip"

4
06/01/2018

We spent a week going to Christmas markets with very good friends from Amsterdam. The hotel is grand and spectacular. Rooms are big and very comfortable. Well situated close to town. I spent my Birthday in the Hotel. A real Gem of a Hotel

"High comfort in a place of History"

4
06/01/2018

Gday All OK, we had just spend 4 nights in Paris and we headed home to Germany so we decided to stay at Strasbourg for a night (400+ kms from Paris). A great decision. The Regent Contades is beautifully positioned on a corner near the riverside and a beautiful cathedral. The Regent is stately and old and I was hopeful that the room we had booked was also full of character. No disappointment here. The room was large with a separate well decorated and appointed bathroom with large bath and separate toilet !!! The room was decorated classically and suited the building nicely. Staff were very friendly. Breakfast was held in a redecorated state room painted white on white with high ceilings, cornices and ceiling roses. The room faced the street and so if we liked we could see the cathedral easily. Highly recommended hotel Cheers All Robbee

"Excellent location, good quality rooms and linens, fabulous breakfasts"

4
03/01/2018

We booked three rooms, two deluxe and one deluxe-plus, which had room for a sofa, and a small round table with easy chairs. The rooms were exactly what we had requested - near the top of the building (to avoid road noise - which needn't have worried about, as it was not on a main road anyway) away from lifts and stairwells, and not directly above reception. The staff were pleasant, the breakfast was exceptional .... just about everything you could want including lots of healthy options and lots of eggs and bacon! It was an easy 10 minute walk into the centre of Strasbourg and the local neighbourhood felt safe. We were there at Christmas and Strasbourg was fantastic - full on Christmas decorations everywhere, masses of Christmas stalls and plenty of Strasbourg-style street food (i.e. potatoes, ham, bacon, onions, sausage etc). Colmar on the journey between Basel Airport and Strasbourg was simply stunning - it almost felt like characters from Harry Potter would appear and buy a jug of butterbeer! The only issue with the Regent Contades that was not quite right was that one room suffered from very noisy people in the room next door - turned up drunk at Reception at 1 a.m. and woke our family members up with the incredible racket they made and Reception had to be called to deal with things. Given that the people had to come through Reception in that state I would have thought some kind management of the situation at that time would have been good. It was made worse by the fact that the same people did the same thing the next night - something that management at the Hotel should have handled much better, I think. Overall, a very positive experience.

"Cozy hotel"

4
01/01/2018

As a first impression, I was a little surprised when the taxi stopped in fromt of the hotel since, as per photos, rating and price, I expected something more... luxury or impressive. The lobby is smaller than pics of course but cozy with a luxury touch. Anyway, the room was comfortable, very clean, and very warm which was a delight in the freezing weather. The bathroom is also very clean, only the shower was slow and needs a bit of renovation. Also at first, you might think that the hotel is not nicely located but on the contrary, steps from tram way and from Cathedral and you can access all sights on foot, place kleber, petite france... We didn't try breakfast since it was a little expensive for 21€ per person. As a summary, very good hotel with helpful staff to guide you and a nice location but a little overpriced.

"Comfortable and convenient"

4
10/12/2017

Hotel has a convenient location to the old town of Strasbourg. It was pricey -likely because we were there during the Christmas season, which is really something to see. The city is decorated beautifully with markets setup all over the island. I spent very little time in the hotel because I enjoyed walking around the old town so much. We drove and so used the hotel to park our car somewhere offsite. (was a little worried about that but turned out ok) Room was comfortable and a reasonable size. We also had a bathtub which was nice to relax in after many hours of walking. Linens were of high quality, too. Room was expensive - I think 233/ night but the trip to Strasbourg was definitely worth it.

"very good location"

4
02/12/2017

Conveniently located away from the old city centre hassle but still at a distance of 10 mins walk to here. hotel is very close to Galia tram station which makes it very convenient to travel around the city by tram. Parking is not a problem, they usually have vacant spaces in front of the hotel. Very good staff and efficient check-in. breakfast was good. rooms a bit outdated. Housekeeping services need some improvement. Was a bit pricey maybe due to vacation season. I would recommend if you can find good rates.

"Very disappointing experience"

1
12/11/2017

It has been a very disappointing experience for an hotel that claims to be a 4 stars. I booked a standard double bedroom, but I received a twin bedroom. The result? An annoying and very uncomfortable “canyon” in the middle of the bed. When I told the manager the issue, he simply (and quite rudely) said that he had no other rooms available. Nice! The room itself was quite old. Only one plug available, in the middle of the room, made charging our devices (phones and computer) quite interesting. And the bathtub had a very nice cultivation of mildew (please see pictures attached). Really far from a 4 stars standard. The final touch, at checkout, the receptionist didn't even bother to ask how the stay was and didn't even bother to say a routine “thank you” or even “goodbye” when we left. Frankly, the staff should learn basic education first, then how to run a “luxury” hotel. Maybe some training in a student hostel, just to begin with. Definitely not recommended.

"Beautiful room, limited service"

4
08/11/2017

Large room, comfortable, clean. The location is excellent, at edge of center yet still quiet with parking. The little bar/cafe is fine, however limited service without food. Many restaurants are close. I would definitely stay again.

"Strasbourg Gem"

5
29/10/2017

This is a great little hotel for a stay in Strasbourg. The four star rating reflects it great location and comfort/ cleanliness. Close to the University or a short walk across the river to the university pub district and the main cathedral square. Far enough away from traditional tourist areas to provide a less crowded experience. Also about a 30 minute walk to the EU district.

"Overpriced "

3
21/10/2017

The rooms are ok they are a bit tired and could do with a refurb. Our main issue was the heat the aircon was blowing out when turned off. We eventually moved rooms yet this took reception 4 calls over a 2 hour period from us for this to finally happen.

"Simple"

3
11/10/2017

Stay there for 3 nights, old fashion hotel with a beautiful breakfast room. Bedrooms are nice very clean . Sink in the bathroom was blocked . The staff is very polite , welcoming and helpful. Thé carpets on the hall on our floor is old and very over used looks dirty and some of the walls too. Buffet breakfast with a lot of very good choices. Thé hôtel is super well located 10mn walk from the main old town attractions. This is a nice average place to stay over priced for sure considering the town and the season .... But overall it was a very pleasant stay .

"A Good Choice"

4
27/09/2017

We stayed here for ten days and had an overall positive experience. The location is nice for most everything in the tourist district, but we found it to be a long walk to some of the sights in petite France. I appreciated that it is quieter at night than some of the hotels in the main tourist area. The staff are always friendly and ready to help, which was one of the best reasons to come here. The room was a decent size and clean. The air conditioner made a lot of noise but didn't seem to work. The best cafe in town is just around the block, called Cafe Michele. There is also a small grocery store around the corner and a post office. One drawback is there is no parking in front of the hotel so when you arrive you have to drive to a garage that is a few blocks away. The staff are always helpful to bring in your luggage and will park your car for you if you prefer. We rented from Avis which was about ten minutes away at the main train station, so it was easy to return the car on our way home. The breakfast was expensive, but it was quite good and I think it was worth the price.

"Wonderful Hotel in Strasbourg"

5
22/08/2017

This hotel is a beautiful, old but well maintained hotel in Strasbourg. The room we had was on the 5th floor. It was big, by European standards. It had a separate water closet that was next to the bathroom. The beds were comfortable. The room was spotless. One word of warning, the elevator only goes to the 4th floor. Be prepared to take your luggage up another flight of steps if you are assigned a room on the 5th floor. The hotel is about a 7-10 minute easy walk from the Strasbourg Cathedral. The city is easy to navigate by foot. There is a tram stop very close to the hotel if you chose to get around by the efficient tram system. The staff was very helpful and friendly. I would definitely stay at this hotel when visiting Strasbourg again.

Direction_Strasbourg, Hôtel Manager at Regent Contades, BW Premier Collection, responded to this review
Dear nptp84 We are truly delighted that you appreciated the service and the Hotel's style. It is a great pleasure to read that you truly enjoyed each of your experiences with us and that the service met your expectations. We hope to wecolme you back again soon. Sylvie ABADIE

"Discrete excellence"

5
24/07/2017

This hotel is in a wonderful central location. It is over 100 years old but has been very tastefully and professionally renovated and modernised. The rooms are of an extremely high standard and are great value for money. Perhaps the most excellent aspect is the superb service received from all staff.

Direction_Strasbourg, Directrice Exploitation at Regent Contades, BW Premier Collection, responded to this review
Dear GloriousGrey, We thank you for your comment regarding your recent stay at the Régent Contades Strasbourg. Your kind comments about our hotel are highly appreciated. We are delighted that you enjoyed you stay in our establishment with its architecture and design. Our aim is to provide our guests with memorable experiences and we are delighted to read that we were able to leave a positive impression. Best thanks , Sylvie ABADIE

"Great Hotel"

5
21/07/2017

Having looked at many hotels online within Strasbourg I was reading mixed messages on the locations and experiences. This hotel appeared to be a little out of the main area but in reality was in a perfect location. The hotel is bijou by comparison to larger hotels only the charm, stature and its location is in my opinion not to be underestimated. The staff are welcoming and friendly, helpful and accommodating. We booked two rooms which were large with excellent facilities and well serviced by the room staff. Buffet breakfast was also excellent within a bright airy room on the 1st floor. We weren't aware if the hotel catered for evening meals as we ate out in some of the hundreds of restaurants and cafes in Strasbourg centre. A steady 10 minute walk took you into the centre of the city next to the cathedral and all the attractions. 100m away at the end of the road from the hotel there is a tram stop and a small super market with an excellent sandwich shop around the corner. The hotel is surrounded by tree lined avenues and spectacular buildings. After a days trekking around the city there is a bar and seating area near the hotel reception area which was a great place to unwind and have a drink. This hotel is perfect, just minutes walk to the busy city yet located in a quiet and peaceful avenue next to the river. Looking forward to a return visit. An after thought for disabled is that the hotel reception and entrance leads down a number of steps and didn't recall if there was access for disabled you would need to ask the hotel only I'm sure they could accommodate.

Direction_Strasbourg, Directrice exploitation at Regent Contades, BW Premier Collection, responded to this review
Dear guest, We thank you for your very nice comment regarding your recent stay at the Regent Contades in Strasbourg. Your kind comments about our hotel are highly appreciated. We are delighted that you enjoyed you stay in our establishment with its architecture and design. Our aim is to provide our guests with memorable experiences and we are delighted to read that we were able to leave a positive impression. We stay at your entire disposal for any future stay in Strasbourg. Sylvie ABADIE

"No Wow Factor"

3
16/07/2017

The place has a classic facade appearance. We had a room on the 5th (top) floor. But the elevator only goes to the 4th floor. So we have to walk up another 20 steps or so to get to our floor. From street level you have about 10 steps down to reach lobby. Have to carry luggage bags, cannot roll them. Definitely not very convenient. Our friends had a room on the 1st floor and complained about noise in the morning from trash removal. So 2nd - 4th floor rooms maybe ideal. The room is a bit small but comfortable and clean. There is street parking available, free between the hours of 7pm - 9am. Walking distance to the university, cathedrals and La Petite France. An morning stroll from hotel along the river to La Petite France is the highlight, and a number of good restaurants along the way.

"Elegant interior, fun private spa, large and lavish rooms. Great sleep and stay!"

5
14/07/2017

This was a wonderful hotel. The check-in process was swift and the staff very accommodating. Informed we were receiving a "smaller room" I was astounded - it was massive, with a split level: the bathroom was downstairs, the large bedroom and ample closet space upstairs!) The staff helped us ensure our driver was set for the morning - something they did not set up but offered to facilitate the call and pick up time. Despite every room being sold out, there was no noise or disruption - the rooms were sound-proof! The bed was extremely comfortable - I slept so soundly. The bathroom was very large and the shower worked nicely. A nice added bonus was the private spa. Although small, it contained a sauna and shower and all the amenities including robe, toiletries, slippers and multiple towels. One reserves it with the front desk - I was informed I would have to retrieve the key there. I was surprised by a visit by the bell hop bringing the key to me ten minutes early. How nice to have a private spa! I unfortunately did not get to enjoy the provided breakfast, nor did I get to enjoy the bar, but the rooms were both very nice. The hotel is a close walk to the city center, without being right in the fray. I'd happily stay here again.

Direction_Strasbourg, Directrice exploitation at Regent Contades, BW Premier Collection, responded to this review
Dear chickenoregg We thank you for your comment regarding your recent stay at the Regent Contades -Strasbourg. Your kind comments about our hotel are highly appreciated. We are delighted that you enjoyed you stay in our establishment. Our aim is to provide our guests with memorable experiences and we are delighted to read that we were able to leave a positive impression. We stay at your entire disposal for any future stay in Strasbourg. Sylvie ABADIE

"Perfect"

5
14/07/2017

The front desk staff at Regent Contades was friendly and helpful. We had to wait for our room to become available so we started exploring the lovely city of Strasbourg. When we returned our luggage had been placed in our room. We stayed in Room 307 which had lovely view of the river and of St. Paul's church. Our room was large with king bed, TV, small sitting area and a nice desk. The bathroom was large with a separate water closet. There was lots of storage space across from the bathroom. There also was a small fridge. The A/C worked very well and the room was exceptionally quiet. Breakfast in the morning was very good. Scrambled eggs, lots of meats and cheeses as well as smoked salmon, breads, yogurts, etc. The location of the hotel was perfect. Easy walk into town but far enough from the crowds and noise at night. The neighborhood is very nice and safe. We really enjoyed our 3 nights at Regent Contades and would recommend it to anyone traveling to Strasbourg.

"Nice rooms and corridors"

4
28/06/2017

This is a nicely situated hotel, walking trip to the centre and big institutions, University and COE and EU. The equipment of the room was very nice, but these days I like to have body lotion as well. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful.

"Good but room for improvement"

3
13/06/2017

Located in a quiet area but close to the historic centre and the restaurants. Unassuming entrance which you could easily miss. Our room was a fairly small size and a bit dated but had a shared balcony. Aircon (or fridge) was very noisy. Nice breakfast. Slight annoyance was the drinks we had in the bar whilst awaiting for our bike tour rep. It seems that our request for 2 gin and tonics was translated as being a cocktail, as the price was very high.

"Room with a view"

4
01/06/2017

Occupying a gorgeous Haussmannian building in an elegant neighbourhood, just off the old city centre, and away from the crowds. Our classic room was small, comfortable and clean although starting to look tired; bathroom was big, bright and beautiful. Splendid view of the Îlle river and promenade, as well as the St Paul church from our window. Located just 300m from the old city, it was a short walk to all the historical sites and about 1km from the cathedral. Not a lot going on in terms of F&B on the property although there is a smart but very quiet bar. Le Michel café brasserie a block away serves a lovely light breakfast for about €5, and good, unpretentious food all day at reasonable prices and a good vibe for a quick drink. With a lot of tourist traps in the old city, we found Le Michel to be our best bet close to the hotel. Public parking available on the main street, free on weekends and bank holidays. In a nutshell, the hotel has a great, quiet location, and satisfactory rooms in need of some updating. We would choose to stay here again.

"Good hotel but not great"

4
27/05/2017

I stayed in the Régent Contades for one night and I liked it. The room was excelent (although not quite the "suite" room announced on the walls of the fifth floor, as it was just a bedroom without an adjacent living room): clean, spacious and elegant, with the biggest TV I have ever seen in a hotel (Interesting the "occupied" light outside of each room that is activated when the guest lights up the room). The quality of the room was however contrasted with the poor condition of the corridors: an overall feeling of old and decrepit common areas, elevator going only to the 4th floor, not up to the 5th where my room was, corridor carpets full of stains. The exception was the breakfast room, with fabulous crown mouldings in excellent condition. The building is quite old and I understand the difficulty of bringing up to date such a building, but changing the carpets, curtains or the decor of the common areas is not so difficult.

"Good hotel"

4
23/05/2017

Nice friendly welcome when we arrived, however this would have been better if we'd been told some other information, for example, what time and where breakfast was and about parking. The rooms are nice, clean and comfortable. The breakfast was pretty good but the breakfast room was very hot and became a little uncomfortable. The location of the hotel is fantastic, only ten minutes walk to the centre and to all attractions. Overall, a very pleasant stay, would recommend!

"a wonderful experience"

5
17/05/2017

The room was very comfortable and clean ! The location of the hotel is the ideal one to walk around the city, visit the historical city centre and have access to public transportation means. Breakfast was very delicious. The hotel staff were really kind and helpful !

"Excellent choice!"

4
16/03/2017

That is a beautiful old building, a part of Center but 2 minutes walking to there as Strasbourg is small. Hotel has a nice room, excellent bathrooms, excellent (but quite expensive) breakfast, smiley and available staff and a nice bar near reception. We (me, my wife and my messy and noisy 14 month's old baby) stayed there two nights and all staff was very comprehensive. It was a great choice for us looking for some privacy with a little child.

"Hotel does not fully utilize its potential "

4
04/03/2017

To rate the hotel, it took me some time to decide whether I could grant it with 4 or 3 mark. So, lets go step by step Location is amazing. The building itself is to die for. Any sight is at walking distance. The neighborhood is quite fancy. Really - could not be better The room is a bit shabby as furniture calls for renovation. However, a modern and huge plasma shows the touch of modern age. And I was really surprised with a normal (not digital) key - it's charming but not convenient at all The bathroom is super modern, and I was glad to see Villeroy & Boch products that indicate real quality The only flaw I found was a dirty towel - it had red drains that made me rewash my hair. Still wondering what it was - and hoping it was not blood. I told the receptionist about this issue - and I received a complimentary breakfast. The attitude was good but the choices were not impressive for a 4* hotel. Speaking of staff, I should say that they are really welcoming. Many other hotels should take lessons from those guys - they are really considerate and friendly. To sum up, the hotel needs to be a bit renovated and to put more attentions to a cleaning vendor. After all, it could be one of the best and the most luxury hotels in Strasbourg

"Excellent location...but parking can be a problem"

4
08/02/2017

The hotel is well located and only a 10 minute walk to the Cathedral and 20 minutes to La Petite France. There are numerous restaurants within a 5 minute walk. Public transport (trams) can also be boarded adjacent to the hotel.The rooms are a good size (we had an executive double room #102) with a large bath and the usual amenities including bathrobes. The breakfast is extensive with a full range of hot and cold food, breads, fruits etc. My wife loved the scrambled eggs and smoked salmon.The only downside is that on-street parking is extremely limited and as the hotel is on a one way system it can take a while to loop around the hotel again (as we found out). However you can pre-book parking. We did this but were told our car (Audi Q3) was too big for their underground parking. Fortunately, after we left the car on the kerb outside of the hotel, the reception were then able to offer us a place in the garage (the car was suddenly the correct size) so the car was valet parked . It is €21 per day so quite expensive. Other than issues with parking I highly recommend the hotel. Excellent for a weekend visit.

"Gorgeous building, wonderful location, great breakfast"

4
30/01/2017

The hotel is in a good location and has a great breakfast. The hotel room and bathroom were a great size. It was so easy to walk anywhere I needed to go, so the fact that there wasn't much directly next to the hotel was not a problem. A few issues: there wasn't a ramp, so if you have a lot of luggage or you're in a wheelchair, it'll be quite a challenge to get in. I could smell cigarette smoke in the bathroom the whole time I was there - I had to keep the bathroom door closed to keep me from getting a headache. I think that's just an issue because it's an old building and the vents might not be efficient.

"Lovely hotel in a great location"

4
17/01/2017

Our family stayed in two rooms on the top floor overlooking the river and a large church. The rooms were very clean, very quiet and the maids maintained them beautifully the week we were there. Breakfast offered a large choice of foods and the staff was most accommodating and attentive. We also found the front desk staff most accommodating any time of the day or night. They happily stored our double stroller each night and afternoon and were quick to answer all our questions and meet all our requests. We would stay again in this hotel and recommend it without reservation.

"Great location and friendly staff "

5
27/11/2016

Friendly staff, nice rooms, easy access to Strasbourg markets. Staff helpful when a couple of small issues around hairdryers not working or noisy cleaning early in the morning. Try and get a first floor room.

Direction_Strasbourg, Directrice d'exploitation at Regent Contades, responded to this review
Dear Guest, First of all, thank you very much for taking the time to share your comments regarding your last stay at the Régent Contades hôtel. Your comments will help us to improve the service we are supposed to deliver to our guests. We hope to welcome you again in our House. Sylvie ABADIE Hôtel Manager

"Lots of room to improve"

2
04/11/2016

At our arrival, I sensed that booking this hotel was a mistake because unlike their high prices suggested the building and our room looked very dated. I think they DID have done some renovation on bathrooms, but still the room looked old and dingy.. Also like some other reviewer mentioned, I had some problems with some of the staff communicating in English so they failed to meet my requests in correct and timely fashion. They were friendly, though. Wouldn't stay here again.

"Good location, comfortable"

4
22/10/2016

The hotel is OK, although it needs renovation. The breakfast is not included in room price and it is quite pricey. The personnel is helpful and kind but they have problem with English language. Location is excellent, you need 10 minutes to city center.

"A Geat Hotel in good Location"

5
19/10/2016

We stayed at the hotel for a few nights and had a large room with views of the river. The location and amenities are excellent. Bathroom and bed comfort were great. Breakfast is served on a first floor corner room and was good.

"character"

4
11/10/2016

Beautiful old mansion turned into a hotel. Overall a bit dated, but the room was nice, the bed comfortable and the staff amazingly friendly. The breakfast failed to impress me and was rather minimal in variety. Lots of good vibes during my stay, which I enjoyed, thus my 4* rating which is based mostly on atmosphere than on any specific impressive aspect. It is also not the best located, you need 10-15 minutes of walk to the center. But on the other hand it is a quite location, without many tourists.

"Friendly helpful staff and good location"

4
10/10/2016

Nice location in the city centre, paid affordable parking, friendly staff, loads of restuarants to choose from. Plenty of good local wines to choose from. Many museums to visit. Recommend the river boats cruise to get a quick overview of the city.

"Could use a bit of freshening up"

3
25/09/2016

For the price and its star rating, this place is looking a bit threadbare. Rooms are not large (no surprise there in a large French city) and ours seemed a bit drab. However, its prime location about 10 minute's walk from the cathedral and the very friendly staff go a long way to offset. Like other reviewers we had no problem finding street parking nearby and the hotel will sell you a city parking pass for eight euros a day (Sunday free). The desk clerk made a reservation on our behalf and despite the fact that I brought down the Michelin guide opened to the right page, he insisted on using the Internet and chose a hotel with an identical name in a town 25 km away. We didn't find out till we arrived at the "right" hotel. Other than that, the breakfast was excellent and included in the room if you book though on online source. Overall I would give it 3 1/2 stars if the system allowed.